View Full Version : Straight A1 students who failed JPA
When i approached a politician (don't ask who) to appeal for jpa scholarship, he looked at my result and asked me since i did well, why i didn't take more subjects as i would have had a higher chance of securing the scholarship by doing that. This is contrary to government's aim to emphasize on quality and not quantity. So, i'm starting this thread to see how true this is. Those who got straight A1, please kindly state your name, chosen course and your result for this purpose. I'll start with myself.
Nick: Shn
Course: Medicine
Result: 10 A1
p/s:sorry if there is something wrong with this thread, i'm just a newbie anyway....
13-05-2008, 09:09 PM
another redundant thread...im lucky i didnt get straight a1.my friends who got straight a1 end up going to form 6.ridiculous isnt it.wasnt even called for educamp.
Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:13 PM
Well. more than 20 of my classmates (including me) who got 10 a1, din get any scholarship. and all of us din get called for any interview (khazanah... petronas... sime darby.. bla bla bla) back then.. (2 years ago)
so i wont say that whatever happened to you be ridiculous..
cuteranger
13-05-2008, 09:14 PM
cuteranger
accountancy
11A1 gce A2
gce A2 consider?
btw i got jpa
13-05-2008, 09:15 PM
didnt happen to me,i only got 7a1 and i got jpa.im soo grateful.
Please be considerate. Although this is an online platform where most people would never meet each other, common courtesy applies here too.
another redundant thread...im lucky i didnt get straight a1.my friends who got straight a1 end up going to form 6.ridiculous isnt it.wasnt even called for educamp.
dont simply insult others by saying this is a redundant thread. might trigger another quarrel instead. and please be more humble. thanks.
13-05-2008, 09:22 PM
im not insulting,just stating...luckily im not a moderator ha.hehe.
stupidboy
13-05-2008, 09:27 PM
didnt happen to me,i only got 7a1 and i got jpa.im soo grateful.
im not insulting,just stating...luckily im not a moderator ha.hehe.
State your race and we'll know if it's lucky! I'm not trying to be a racist here but you're just annoying. Don't simply go insult people by saying you're lucky you didn't get straight A1. And if you're a moderator, ReCom would fall.:P
Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:27 PM
When i approached a politician (don't ask who) to appeal for jpa scholarship, he looked at my result and asked me since i did well, why i didn't take more subjects as i would have had a higher chance of securing the scholarship by doing that. This is contrary to government's aim to emphasize on quality and not quantity. So, i'm starting this thread to see how true this is. Those who got straight A1, please kindly state your name, chosen course and your result for this purpose. I'll start with myself.
Nick: Shn
Course: Medicine
Result: 10 A1
p/s:sorry if there is something wrong with this thread, i'm just a newbie anyway....
Well.. "to emphasize on the quality" means... you got more than 95 for all the 9 subjects.. then rank yourself among the top 20 in malaysia... and get the scholarships automatically...
if not.. i guess it is always better to take as many subjects as you can without neglecting your eca...
Another straight A1 student rejected...quoted from the star
PSD rejects 10 A1 student for scholarship
By SYLVIA LOOI
IPOH: An aspiring doctor had her dreams dashed when the Public Services Department (PSD) rejected her application to study medicine overseas.
K. Kamine Devi, who scored 10 A1s in last year's SPM, said she had her heart set on becoming a doctor that she even participated in an attachment programme which exposed her to a doctor's job in April.
?I refused to believe my eyes when I found out on Sunday through the PSD website that my application was unsuccessful,? she said on Tuesday, adding that she checked the result of her application several times to confirm.
?I felt that my world collapsed that day,? said the 17-year-old former science stream student of SMK Ahmad Boestamam in Sitiawan, about 90km from here.
Speaking at a press conference called by State Health, Environment and Human Resources Committee chairman A. Sivanesan, Kamine Devi said her confidence was boosted when the PSD issued a statement recently guaranteeing scholarships for students who scored 9As in their SPM.
?I just want to become a doctor so I can serve the country,? said the daughter of a quality controller father and a housewife mother.
?With my father's monthly salary of RM3,600, he will not be able to send me overseas to study medicine,? she said, adding that she was active in her school?s co-curriculum activities.
To make matters worse, Kamine Devi's application to matriculation programmes was also rejected.
Sivanesan said Kamine Devi's rejection made a mockery of PSD's earlier statement.
?The PSD should have taken the top scorers result from the Malaysian Examination Syndicate and offer scholarships to the students.
?The onus is on the students whether they want to accept or reject the scholarships,? he said.
He also invited parents of children who face the same predicament as Kamine Devi to come forward and see him.
?I will assist them in writing to the PSD,? he said
13-05-2008, 09:39 PM
sorry if my words were a unfiltered...i usually say what i want to say without censor.a bad habit of mine.sorry again.didnt mean to cause any damage.and btw,i have no idea who artistic is.hehe.
please share out your status honestly. and the name of your previous school. thanks.
Well.. "to emphasize on the quality" means... you got more than 95 for all the 9 subjects.. then rank yourself among the top 20 in malaysia... and get the scholarships automatically...
if not.. i guess it is always better to take as many subjects as you can without neglecting your eca...
i don't understand about this whole taking more subjects to stand out in getting scholarship thing. i mean lets put it this way, i am aspiring to do medicine to become a doctor. how does taking irrelevent extra subjects that have absolutely nothing to do with medicine such as accounts, visual arts, music( just some of the extra subjects that my school mates took) going to help me in pursuing my dreams? it just proves further that our education system is merely exam orientated, and more a's means better, regardless of how irrelevent those subjects might be...
shn,my advice,go for political way. it might help you. i totally in same shoes as you.
smile!
13-05-2008, 09:47 PM
i'm sorry if i say anything wrong here.. but i guess it depends on luck.. and also some straight A1s students are good academically and also excel in kk while many of them might not be good in kk compared to other applicants.. maybe that's the reason they din get the scholarship? however, i know there are exceptional cases like my friend who are good in academics and kk but still din get. to me, it's luck.
HaveYouMetTed
13-05-2008, 09:49 PM
12a1. Gce a1. ko-ku 9.40. went for NS.
didnt get JPA.
ridiculour innit
shn,my advice,go for political way. it might help you. i totally in same shoes as you.
That's what i'm doing. you wont believe how many people i have approached about this, even the minister of higher education himself, directly. everything else depends on the guy upstairs....
13-05-2008, 09:50 PM
Indeed. We had an old thread discussing this very issue:
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1717
Lots of A1s, does it show anything?
faizin
13-05-2008, 09:50 PM
State your race and we'll know if it's lucky! I'm not trying to be a racist here but you're just annoying. Don't simply go insult people by saying you're lucky you didn't get straight A1. And if you're a moderator, ReCom would fall.:P
haha...i think race is part of luck:P...can we choose our races? so that is luck...lol and i think (my opinion only) you r trying to be racist:):)...but then i agree with you that he is a bit annoying....messing around n not being considerate for those who doesnt secure the scho.
oh n btw, if u want me to state my race too, im malay (bumi) and "im proud of it"(juz copying someone else who wrote this after stating his/her status in some topics)...:):)
13-05-2008, 09:52 PM
haha...seems like at this rate i'll get banned soon.hehe.
Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:53 PM
Very meaningless. Indeed. It will be so much better, if you did some attachments in hospitals, clinics, or you made it to some competitions at international levels.
However, it all falls back to the government. Firstly, the government has not choice but to follow what the people want since we are in a democratic country. IF someone who got 15 A1 fails to get JPA scholarships, what would the people say? (Unfair, Racism.. bla bla bla)... And then! You will start hearing news on the radio, seeing news on the newspapers, sayin that "Great Minds Neglected". So what happened to the government in the end, he has no choice but to give the scholarship to this student, just like the one reported lately on the star. Maybe the girl is really great, but the others might not be as great as her.
Sometimes life just isnt unfair... I feel so sorry for those who did not get the scholarships. I can understand that feeling, working so hard and to realize that all of the efforts are to no avail - and then forced to accept the fact that they are the unlucky ones. This is life, people.
Work hard, really hard, for your STPM. Take all these scholarship applications as a good experience. Tryin your best for your undergraduate scholarships. I believe that if you are determined enough, you will get it in the end.
Just have a lil faith.
Whatever it is, something will work out for you.
All the best in everything.
agree with Xianst tho i still have faith in appealing JPA.
the SUPP guy,told me,JPA actually give out Scholarships for STPM leavers also. and its 5 times more place than SPM leavers. its 10,000 places.but its local Uni.
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 10:09 PM
if enter stpm, u need to start all over again... if u RELI can score in spm, i blief u also can suceed in stpm. all the best for u. :amuse
milkshake
13-05-2008, 10:21 PM
10 A1
Pharmacy
Rejected!! =(
Maybe it's mainly cause im chinese n there isnt many places for chinese..... ironic isnt it how race play its role in this country...
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 10:28 PM
10 A1
Pharmacy
Rejected!! =(
Maybe it's mainly cause im chinese n there isnt many places for chinese..... ironic isnt it how race play its role in this country...
medic course is harder to get. cuz u need to competite with very outstanding chinses... and sum place is reserved for the malays..:huh
queendom
13-05-2008, 10:38 PM
Agreed...give me 5...
Rejected 10A1 2A2 for pharmacy. Joined NS. Study so hard no scholarship. Any chance after appeal?
milkshake
13-05-2008, 10:45 PM
ooo....i see quite a number of people got rejected for pharmacy... i really really hope there would be chances after appealing..
Glassylicious
13-05-2008, 10:48 PM
I was a 2006 SPM candidate who got 10 A1's, and wasn't even shortlisted for interviews from any of the scholarship organizations I applied to. Tough luck, I suppose. This goes to say that it's really hard to predict when it comes to the awarding of scholarships.
alepbing
13-05-2008, 10:52 PM
ooo....i see quite a number of people got rejected for pharmacy... i really really hope there would be chances after appealing..
oh dont say that you didnt get because you are chinese. there many other factors. i got a lot of classmates who did not get JPA, and most of them are bumis. and that 4 out of 7 JPA receipient in my class are non-bumi.
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 10:54 PM
dun worry... there is chance. i got senior who get medic after appeal :laugh
GuoSheng
13-05-2008, 10:56 PM
it is true isn't?
Vaporisers (http://vaporizer.org)
queendom
13-05-2008, 10:56 PM
Since everyone saying it depends on luck..or maybe faith??..speechless..
course : Biotech
result : 12 A1s
Rejected
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 10:57 PM
I was a 2006 SPM candidate who got 10 A1's, and wasn't even shortlisted for interviews from any of the scholarship organizations I applied to. Tough luck, I suppose. This goes to say that it's really hard to predict when it comes to the awarding of scholarships.
yar rite.... but i think u shud be selected to interview at least for jpa one... mayb this year they changed and let everyone enter the interview... cuz i saw sumone with 6As there..
it is true isn't?
no point lieing.. :amuse
13-05-2008, 10:58 PM
12a1. Gce a1. ko-ku 9.40. went for NS.
didnt get JPA.
ridiculour innit
thats because you got petronas.
same case here, only i have slightly more A1.
hey how did you know your co-cu marks?
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 11:04 PM
dun expect to secure 2 scholars at the same time... u shud be thankful for getting petronas. :laugh congratz anyway~~!
Glassylicious
13-05-2008, 11:04 PM
yar rite.... but i think u shud be selected to interview at least for jpa one... mayb this year they changed and let everyone enter the interview... cuz i saw sumone with 6As there..
Nah, it's not that. Well, to be honest, I did not really expect to get an interview anyway. I was a Science stream student applying for a Humanities course, without a single "Arts-stream" subject in my results. Apparently that's against their "guidelines" for applying to Humanities. Well, it's their loss for having such a silly policy. Was just trying my luck for JPA.
I did not expect to be ignored by BNM though. XD
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 11:05 PM
give chance to others :))
13-05-2008, 11:06 PM
i think there's no racism here...maybe those who didn't get the scholarship didn't do well in the interviews...or the course u applied for has a very tough competition and JPA have to choose those who really2 excel in academic, co-curricular and interviews. You cannot just depend on your result itself..
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 11:10 PM
i think there's no racism here...maybe those who didn't get the scholarship didn't do well in the interviews...or the course u applied for has a very tough competition and JPA have to choose those who really2 excel in academic, co-curricular and interviews. You cannot just depend on your result itself..
i agree with u. sumore i heard government server's kid stand a higher chance. cuz 70% in my place.. ppl who get r teacher's son/daughter....so result is not everything. :)
(i agree with tis cuz all the company r also doing the same, such as petronas, tenaga and telekom. workers kid had higher oppor... in jpa, same thing happened)
Lalala11
13-05-2008, 11:15 PM
I agree. Other qualities play very important roles also n not just ur spm result. I know lots of people before this who got 10A1 but got rejected (including my own brother). But after they appeal, they got accepted n are now studying in really good universities overseas. Besides, competition for medicine is extremely tight.
Just don't give up yea. I wish u luck! :)
13-05-2008, 11:17 PM
imagine u are the JPA/Petronas/etc person that is responsible to choose students to have ur scholarship and ur money to study abroad. Would u choose the 12A1 student that couldn't even speak in public?? (Just an example, sorry if it offended anyone)
Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 11:22 PM
I agree. Other qualities play very important roles also n not just ur spm result. I know lots of people before this who got 10A1 but got rejected (including my own brother). But after they appeal, they got accepted n are now studying in really good universities overseas. Besides, competition for medicine is extremely tight.
Just don't give up yea. I wish u luck! :)
sumtimes i wonder how they gonna give thru appeal... for sure juz use spm result rite, cuz there r no more 2nd round interview.... so all the straight A1s stand a reli high chance.
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:28 PM
true true.. i agree that race carries some weight in all this.. but there are other impotant factors to this...
consider this two true facts..
chinese student A, straight A1s, not active in KK.... failed jpa
chinese student B, staight A1s, super active in KK... secure jpa
ur KK makes a world of difference here... so does ur results...
chinese student C, 9A1 2A2, active in KK... failed jpa
indian student D, 11A1, active in KK... secured jpa
Would u choose the 12A1 student that couldn't even speak in public?? (Just an example, sorry if it offended anyone)
get this... my fren, 7A1s, went for petronas interview... not fluent in english... individual interview lasted less than 2 mins (cuz his groupmates b4 him were 50mins, 40mins, 30mins... the interviewers were hungry so chase him out to speed things up)
guez wad?? he got the scholarship...
oh oh oh.. guez wad???
he is chinese....
wad an irony..... :wink
13-05-2008, 11:31 PM
yep..agreed...so, don't blame anyone if u failed to secure the scholarship.. maybe ur luck is somewhere else. U can go oversea after ur first degree what..
true true.. i agree that race carries some weight in all this.. but there are other impotant factors to this...
consider this two true facts..
chinese student A, straight A1s, not active in KK.... failed jpa
chinese student B, staight A1s, super active in KK... secure jpa
ur KK makes a world of difference here... so does ur results...
chinese student C, 9A1 2A2, active in KK... failed jpa
indian student D, 11A1, active in KK... secured jpa
get this... my fren, 7A1s, went for petronas interview... not fluent in english... individual interview lasted less than 2 mins (cuz his groupmates b4 him were 50mins, 40mins, 30mins... the interviewers were hungry so chase him out to speed things up)
guez wad?? he got the scholarship...
oh oh oh.. guez wad???
he is chinese....
wad an irony..... :wink
he's so lucky then. What course did he got??? maybe Petronas think he has the potential to be a good Petronas employee..
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:32 PM
yep..agreed...so, don't blame anyone if u failed to secure the scholarship.. maybe ur luck is somewhere else. U can go oversea after ur first degree what..
i get wad u mean.. not to say luck.. its more to, u are meant for smth else somewer else... God wants u in another place and no matter how much u want smth, u wont receive it if God says no to it.... :P
13-05-2008, 11:33 PM
totally agree.. everything happen for a reason..kan??
Ivonne
13-05-2008, 11:34 PM
Me: Yvonne
Course: Actuarial Science
Results: Straight 10 A1s. Gce-english A1 as well.
Co-curriculum: 3 president position in various clubs. State representative for some science competition. School representative for chess, and a number of other competitions.
Combined income less than 3000.
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:35 PM
he's so lucky then. What course did he got??? maybe Petronas think he has the potential to be a good Petronas employee..
petroleum engineering in UTP... i think the ppl that process the list and stuff were impressed with his kk.. he is swimmer and asst head prefect in our skul.. along with many other positions in clubs and organization...
so here is solid proof that ur KK plays an extremely important part in the scholarship selection, not jz ur race...
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:36 PM
how to calculate kk marks?
10A1 nia, EST b3.. rejected.. cuz i think i don deserve it.. but base on family background, i shd not be rejected
petroleum engineering in UTP... i think the ppl that process the list and stuff were impressed with his kk.. he is swimmer and asst head prefect in our skul.. along with many other positions in clubs and organization...
so here is solid proof that ur KK plays an extremely important part in the scholarship selection, not jz ur race...
mind share out your school as well???
my school 15++ secured jpa. all non-bumis. for more info,ask SkyRainbow.
megatfais
13-05-2008, 11:39 PM
failing is a part and parcel of life.look at d bright side.we all have gained priceless experiences after going thru those interviewing and assesing processes.things happen for reasons.thus,have faith in yourselves.learn from ur mistakes and prepare for the upcoming challenges.
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:42 PM
mind share out your school as well???
my school 15++ secured jpa. all non-bumis. for more info,ask SkyRainbow.
apart from my swimmer fren, i hav another fren who got the petronas scholarship... 8A1s, indie interview less than 5 mins, interact club prez, prefect AJK, ajk of this and that club.... chinese oso....
but none of my skul frens got jpa scholarship (my skul 90%chinese)... however their results didn reli help them get the scholarship anyway... no one got more than 9A1s..
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:45 PM
ur talking bout lai yen hua? 7A1s swimmer bla bla?
13-05-2008, 11:45 PM
failing is a part and parcel of life.look at d bright side.we all have gained priceless experiences after going thru those interviewing and assesing processes.things happen for reasons.thus,have faith in yourselves.learn from ur mistakes and prepare for the upcoming challenges.
yep..be optimistic and open-minded..there are lots of other chances so don't run out of ur faith!!
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:46 PM
sherenesheep how's ur results?
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:47 PM
ur talking bout lai yen hua? 7A1s swimmer bla bla?
thats the one..
9A1, 1A2... freakin est....
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:48 PM
oo.. icic... good la.. congratz to him.. haha.. he got overseas, petronas?
oo.. wat's ur name sherenesheep?
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:49 PM
UTP... name is sherene...
ok no chit-chatting.. later kena ban.. hehe
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:49 PM
okay.. hahaa...
13-05-2008, 11:50 PM
haha.. want to chit-chat go to yahoo messenger la..
michaelbyz23
13-05-2008, 11:59 PM
no yahoo.. but got msn n friendster.. no chit-chatting
hey i think i saw ur friendster.. u drop zhia hwa some comments.. rite?
14-05-2008, 12:00 AM
Kindly use PM for personal communication.
Lalala11
14-05-2008, 12:04 AM
Me: Yvonne
Course: Actuarial Science
Results: Straight 10 A1s. Gce-english A1 as well.
Co-curriculum: 3 president position in various clubs. State representative for some science competition. School representative for chess, and a number of other competitions.
Combined income less than 3000.
Wow! N u got rejected? Did u do well in the interview?
14-05-2008, 12:07 AM
ur academic and co-curricular performance are excellent.. yeah, how's the interview?? did u make rayuan??
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 12:08 AM
Wow! N u got rejected? Did u do well in the interview?
no i think she got it.. rite???
Ivonne
14-05-2008, 12:10 AM
Yes, I didn't get the JPA Scholarship.
I didn't make any major mistakes for my JPA Interview. (In my opinion, that is). In fact, I sort of think I did more mistakes in Petronas Interview than JPA Interview (for the Pet interview I actually greeted them with Good Morning when it's clearly late afternoon about 5pm *bangs head on the wall*).
No, I didn't plan on appeal or rayuan. I accept Fate's arrangement. I don't go against it for no special reason.
14-05-2008, 12:12 AM
did u get any other scholarship? petronas maybe??
michaelbyz23
14-05-2008, 12:12 AM
Ivonne, u're my idol.. tats the spirit that we are longing for.. But don give up yet k? try to appeal. u might get a chance.. u're great..
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 12:13 AM
yeah i agree with michael.. u are an excellent student!!! u shud at least giv it a shot in appealing...
Ivonne
14-05-2008, 12:13 AM
Yeap I got Petronas XD. (The catch XDXDXD)
Idol??? Why?? O___O.
14-05-2008, 12:16 AM
ok la tu you get Petronas...i thought u didn't get any scholarships then that will be rather shocking..lol..congrats
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 12:17 AM
Yeap I got Petronas XD. (The catch XDXDXD)
Idol??? Why?? O___O.
lolz.. cuz u absorbing ur rejection well lik a sponge...
mochitor
14-05-2008, 12:21 AM
Well i see a lot of issues being discussed here. All i can say is, recommers stop whining about not getting JPA! Stop talking about racism, koko marks, results or even being children to government servants! To apply for JPA, u need results and koko, But to get JPA u need tonnes of luck! I feel this so badly! With straight 11A1s, good koko, parent civil servant and bla bla..too malas to say it.. I DID NOT GET IT! I put in so much effort into SPM and activities just to skip the struggle in STPM. I am still baffled that i am in form 6 now! So recommers who failed, dun giv up, study smart and struggle hard in f6, u'll be paid back handsomely!!!
Ivonne
14-05-2008, 12:23 AM
Thanks 06008 and Sherene and Michael.
Well, gotta accept it anyway...so what else can I do? There's already too many 13As and 14As roaming on the street and I only got myself to blame for not taking extra subjects.
They got quality AND quantity. ~~~ (speechless~)
And wow Mochitor cool down, I can feel the fire from here in front of my comp.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Well i see a lot of issues being discussed here. All i can say is, recommers stop whining about not getting JPA! Stop talking about racism, koko marks, results or even being children to government servants! To apply for JPA, u need results and koko, But to get JPA u need tonnes of luck! I feel this so badly! With straight 11A1s, good koko, parent civil servant and bla bla..too malas to say it.. I DID NOT GET IT! I put in so much effort into SPM and activities just to skip the struggle in STPM. I am still baffled that i am in form 6 now! So recommers who failed, dun giv up, study smart and struggle hard in f6, u'll be paid back handsomely!!!
true.. luck is oso another factor....
nanthini
14-05-2008, 12:30 AM
cuteranger
accountancy
11A1 gce A2
gce A2 consider?
i dnt tink so gce realy matters. a fren of mine got 5c for gce n she managed to get jpa.
anyway.
im nanthini
10a1
medicine
im broke:(
14-05-2008, 12:38 AM
Again, another reminder to ReComers! Please do not make any racial statements. There are too many ReComers who are hurling racist remarks, which would not be healthy for a forum, like ReCom.org !
Hope that you guys would respect one another. Understand how others would feel.
mochitor
14-05-2008, 12:47 AM
true.. luck is oso another factor....
I AM STARTING TO THINK IT IS THE ONLY FACTOR ONCE THE INTERVIEW IS OVER
nanthini
14-05-2008, 01:07 AM
race plays an important role in jpa.my dad kolled the officer in jpa (non- bumi) n he told us tht out of 500 medicine places offered ony two indian n two chinese got it.n so muc to say tht a fren of mine hu gt ony 8a1 n 2a2 n 5c for gce can get medicine.its nt tht the course ur applying is hard to get o wat.its the race tht plays an important role.ntg bout scoring high number of a1s.crap.no offence anyway.nt trying to be racist.n interview dsnt play a big role in u getting jpa.cz a fren of mine in the same grup as i am sucked lyk hell in hiz interview.hiz language was everywher n yet he managed to get engeneering.plus he didnt get straight a1s.
phoenix1892
14-05-2008, 01:15 AM
race plays an important role in jpa.my dad kolled the officer in jpa (non- bumi) n he told us tht out of 500 medicine places offered ony two indian n two chinese got it.n so muc to say tht a fren of mine hu gt ony 8a1 n 2a2 n 5c for gce can get medicine.its nt tht the course ur applying is hard to get o wat.its the race tht plays an important role.ntg bout scoring high number of a1s.crap.no offence anyway.nt trying to be racist.n interview dsnt play a big role in u getting jpa.cz a fren of mine in the same grup as i am sucked lyk hell in hiz interview.hiz language was everywher n yet he managed to get engeneering.plus he didnt get straight a1s.
While I agree that the places allocated for non-bumis are little, I doubt only 4 non-bumis get medicine. There are more than 4 non-bumis in ReCom who got medic scholaship from JPA. But, yeah, race does play a factor (no racism).
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 01:19 AM
While I agree that the places allocated for non-bumis are little, I doubt only 4 non-bumis get medicine. There are more than 4 non-bumis in ReCom who got medic scholaship from JPA. But, yeah, race does play a factor (no racism).
one of my skul seniors is in czech, doin medic under jpa.. i've seen pix... he seems to be the only chinese among the 50 of them!!! judging by his photos that is....
nanthini
14-05-2008, 01:22 AM
tht was wat the officer told my dad.based on tiz year's jpa result.ony 4.aint very sure of how it was in the previous years.
prince_J
14-05-2008, 03:09 AM
Well. more than 20 of my classmates (including me) who got 10 a1, din get any scholarship. and all of us din get called for any interview (khazanah... petronas... sime darby.. bla bla bla) back then.. (2 years ago)
so i wont say that whatever happened to you be ridiculous..
totally agree... i think for our year, there are too many applicants especailly we are born in the dragon year (means more student taking SPM that year)....
And worse still, all straight A1 non-bumi who applied medicine, pharmacy, or dentistry were denied JPA, and most ended up going to singapore for ASEAN or stay locally for form 6... it is kinda sad to see this happening... (i am one of the victim... :( )
hhhcce
14-05-2008, 05:03 AM
Well. I have been receiving quite a number of emails asking my opinions on their choices. Many of them want to be doctors because of money and parental factors. I mean seriously, it is a well known fact that race does play role in the selection of JPA scholars. But, does anyone really sit down and ponder upon the decision you made before? You know very well, either from newspapers or your peers that getting JPA medicine is like striking lottery twice. But still, everyone is aiming for it. And, sadly, judging from the emails I received, only a few persons, in my opinion, have the appropriate attitudes to become doctors. And, everyone just know to point his/her finger on the racial issue. I am by no way questioning your ability of making decision nor I am trying to neglect the racial factor here. But sometimes, if your interest lies on doing research, building the world tallest building, auditing and untangling a pile of unbalanced accounts or holding a scalpel, then go for it. Please don't consider the money or the parental factor. And lastly, if you feel even a slight sense of regret for not applying to the course you are interested in. Then, you really have to think about that ,like now!
I know that it is really a great experience to go oversea at least once in your life. But, if money is a factor for you. There are various ways to go oversea; but that is another story and I am not going to elaborate on that. I guess my point is do whatever you really want to do or is appropriate to do now (rayuan). Worst comes to worst, if you end up attending sixth form or matriculation, work really hard and I believe that you all will be ending at the same destination as those who get JPA.
Good luck in your rayuan or whatever and your future endeavors.
P/S Money factor I referred to above is the amount of money you are going to earn in the future. Parental factor I referred to above when your parents forced (okay persuaded) you to do something you really do not want to do in the future
mochitor
14-05-2008, 07:29 AM
Aiyaya, Can you people stop blaming race for failure in getting JPA? Of course the larger race will have more allocation, minority race small allocation. So being in minority we need to fight like hell la. I am not being ignorant or anything, but if you people the new generation are arguing based on racial grounds, Malaysia will never grow to become a nation where its people are known as Malaysians. So instead of wasting time accusing race factor, people pls go work on your appeal..
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 08:40 AM
Aiyaya, Can you people stop blaming race for failure in getting JPA? Of course the larger race will have more allocation, minority race small allocation. So being in minority we need to fight like hell la. I am not being ignorant or anything, but if you people the new generation are arguing based on racial grounds, Malaysia will never grow to become a nation where its people are known as Malaysians. So instead of wasting time accusing race factor, people pls go work on your appeal..
that is one of the probs in living in a multi-racial country...
yes race is a huge factor in all these scholarship applications... but over the years the msian gov have started to loosen up a bit.. they even let non-bumi students to go to matrix, which was once a 100% bumi learning institute... we all shud be grateful for that...
i believe even in scholarships application, there has been increasing numbers of chinese and indians who managed to secure a scholarship over the years...
who knows in the future that number will increase even further and will overcome racial boundaries.....
think of it as impossible??
think of the years malaysia has gone thru since its independance... look at how the msian gov gradually increase the involvement of non-bumis in its plans (education, politics etc.)...
this revolution wont stop here in 2008, but will continue on as long as our country countinues to rise and improve...
14-05-2008, 08:55 AM
i would not comment much on this scholarships things .
just a few sentences to conclude it: pls be considerate towards the gov, our malaysian is multiracial country and all the bumi always given a priority..read the perlembagaan malaysia and u will noe the rule and regulation concerned.Hak istimewa always given to who?of cos malay...why? becos the country we all reside is MALAYsia..simple.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 09:00 AM
i would not comment much on this scholarships things .
just a few sentences to conclude it: pls be considerate towards the gov, our malaysian is multiracial country and all the bumi always given a priority..read the perlembagaan malaysia and u will noe the rule and regulation concerned.Hak istimewa always given to who?of cos malay...why? becos the country we all reside is MALAYsia..simple.
omg that is wad i owez say... haha
malay and natives from sarawak and sabah are all categorized as bumiputera...
but in fact the malays are at a higher social ranking than us natives....
14-05-2008, 09:22 AM
hmm..can we please stop arguing about scholarship, race and the gov. It will make
things worst. You cannot change anything even if you posted thousands of posts
here...be a politician la when you grow up. You cannot get JPA scholarship if you tell all
the "ketidakpuasan hati" here...write a letter to them and appeal. Problem would be
solved if they decided to give u the scholarship...maybe they over-looked you while
choosing the candidates..or maybe someone is using "orang dalaman" to get their
scholarship even if they are not qualified so ur place is taken. Did u get what I mean??
its hard to explain here..haha
zureen
14-05-2008, 09:28 AM
kalau dah dapat Petronas, bising2 nak JPA.
dapat JPA, bising2 nak Petronas.
just be thankful u got offered by either one.
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:49 AM
i soo dont think race is a big factor
one of my best fren, hes bumi streta1 excellent cocu(got national certificate) and gceo a1!
i mean he lived in london for 4 years so hes very seriouly godly good in english!
sedih he x dpt..
why aR?
14-05-2008, 09:58 AM
unlucky..or he deserved something better
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 10:06 AM
what better? well, hes going uia, he wants medic sooo very much but he got asasi sains at uia! pity him a lot..
14-05-2008, 10:22 AM
really?
my friend is going there too..what's his name?
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 10:38 AM
luqman
=p
14-05-2008, 10:40 AM
First you should analyse the reason behind you failure, whether it's because you're outcompeted, or there are some other factors involved. To do this, first, you have to compare *only* with students who applied for the same course as you, the competition for every single course is different, don't compare medicine with pharmacy or dentistry or vice-versa, they are different courses. Different number of places are allocated for every course, and there are different number of applicants.
Then, sadly, I've to say there is an obvious different between bumis and non-bumis, where bumis will compete only with bumis and the same for non-bumis, we can't change this. So, don't tell that your bumi friend got a particular course with 8A1 but you fail to get the same course with 10A1.
Another factor would be family income which many people are concerned about. Okay, let's say JPA do really follow their criteria, family income weighs only 10%. A person might have family income more than 10k, but he scored, say straight 12A1s, and great koko, he just lost 10 marks, but another student whose family income below 3k, and has a result of 10A1 and 1A2, he could have lost more marks than what he gains in family income part, thus the scholarship still goes to the former. Anyway, the theory builds on the basis that JPA do really follow the criteria.
If after analysing, you're somehow more deserving than the other person, the must be some flaws, minus the factor that you already secured Petronas scholarship, since there are sayings that JPA work together with Petronas...
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 10:45 AM
lets not forget that the interview process is important.. we have heard of ppl who are excellent in both academics and KK, but during the interview, they either said or do smth stupid lik proclaim that he/she doesn lik BM (ture story), or they hog the interview which retards everyone else from speaking up. this actions caused them to fail in securing the JPA scholarship
or mayb it was how they carried themselves or their appearance.. first impressions are important, and u only get to do it once!!!
14-05-2008, 10:57 AM
lets not forget that the interview process is important.. we have heard of ppl who are excellent in both academics and KK, but during the interview, they either said or do smth stupid lik proclaim that he/she doesn lik BM (ture story), or they hog the interview which retards everyone else from speaking up. this actions caused them to fail in securing the JPA scholarship
or mayb it was how they carried themselves or their appearance.. first impressions are important, and u only get to do it once!!!
Really ?? Who is the person who want to ruin his/her interview ?
Honestly , I am really curious . A person who spoke garrulously is better or a person who gave brief answer and only answered when they were asked ?
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 10:59 AM
Really ?? Who is the person who want to ruin his/her interview ?
Honestly , I am really curious . A person who spoke garrulously is better or a person who gave brief answer and only answered when they were asked ?
some blardy idiot who doesn think b4 he/she speaks lo....
ur ans shud be precise, to the point. can elaborate abit but too lohsoh...
rmb to THINK b4 answering them... cuz one quez cud lead to another which will eventually turn into a death trap!! (happened to me during mara interview)
megatfais
14-05-2008, 11:02 AM
theres a very thin line between self confidence and arrogance.thus we always have to be careful.being to dominant in a group aint sumtin gud.everyone shud be given equal chances.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:06 AM
theres a very thin line between self confidence and arrogance.thus we always have to be careful.being to dominant in a group aint sumtin gud.everyone shud be given equal chances.
confidence: feeling good about ones self and being sure without a doubt in the world that he/she is able to accomplish wadever it is that is thrown in their faces.
arrogance: thinks that he/she is better than everyone else and looks down on other ppl. also liks to parade around in his/her success
14-05-2008, 11:07 AM
some blardy idiot who doesn think b4 he/she speaks lo....
ur ans shud be precise, to the point. can elaborate abit but too lohsoh...
rmb to THINK b4 answering them... cuz one quez cud lead to another which will eventually turn into a death trap!! (happened to me during mara interview)
If both give precise answer , but one of them don't elaborate and another elaborate too much ?
Personally , I think there's a certain yardstick used to judge us . It all depends on the interviewers .
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:10 AM
If both give precise answer , but one of them don't elaborate and another elaborate too much ?
Personally , I think there's a certain yardstick used to judge us . It all depends on the interviewers .
true.. the interviewer themselves are also an important factor... they are humans, so naturally they will feel bored/tired/hungry and will try to get rid of u a soon as they possibly can...
true fact to back this up:
for my petronas interview, my panel was patient and took his time with us
my frens panel was hungry and got rid of them fast...
14-05-2008, 11:12 AM
i have to agree with you on that. in retrospect, from what i was told before, the officers are actually looking at how well you would carry on in a conversation/interview rather than that of how well or how much you speak (read: hogging during the interview). what they want from you is actually to see how well you fare in managing a discussion such as being a team player and leader in discussion (ie leading a discussion and allow others to express their opinions from time to time) and of course to see your control in language to a lesser extent.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:15 AM
i have to agree with you on that. in retrospect, from what i was told before, the officers are actually looking at how well you would carry on in a conversation/interview rather than that of how well or how much you speak (read: hogging during the interview). what they want from you is actually to see how well you fare in managing a discussion such as being a team player and leader in discussion (ie leading a discussion and allow others to express their opinions from time to time) and of course to see your control in language to a lesser extent.
yeah seeing how u are able to manage a group is important.. they are trying to spot leadership quality in u...
so if u find that ur group mate is super quite, try to giv him/her tips (in forms of questions) to lead him/her on to a good answer..
14-05-2008, 11:26 AM
During my interview , they asked us to take turn to express our opinion , so we have no chance to discuss among ourselves , besides only one minute is given to jot down all the points .
true.. the interviewer themselves are also an important factor... they are humans, so naturally they will feel bored/tired/hungry and will try to get rid of u a soon as they possibly can...
true fact to back this up:
for my petronas interview, my panel was patient and took his time with us
my frens panel was hungry and got rid of them fast...
Very true . My interview session was the last session that day . The interviewers started to ask us to quickly finish our talk when it was 5 minutes before 4pm .
14-05-2008, 11:26 AM
<this is seriously out of topic..hahaha>
14-05-2008, 11:27 AM
During my interview , they asked us to take turn to express our opinion , so we have no chance to discuss among ourselves , besides only one minute is given to jot down all the points .
u r lucky enough they call u to jot down the points , in my case , we are not allowed to do so.just think watever in ur mind then express it out..
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 11:30 AM
hmm.. why caant they just accept ppl using meritocracy, results and cocus only!
interviews are a pain in the neck!
they can spot leadership what based on our positions held in school..
ive been to 7 interviews, and i was sooo tired! cant imagine my lil bro undergoing the same too. pity him..
=p
btw, my jpa interview was like an hour cuz theres only 15 ppl during my session.. so, theres only 3 groups and a lot of time.. the interviewers spoke more than us! haha! (my interviews in terengganu, sikit je org! =p)
again, it was soo tiring but its well worth it! alhamdulillah!
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:32 AM
ive been to 7 interviews, and i was sooo tired! cant imagine my lil bro undergoing the same too. pity him..
=p
but wad if one person holds more than 6 high position in skul, thereby killing other ppl's chance?? and the person who is jz as good if not better than that one person cud not hold position in clubs cuz parents don allow them??
wad if that one person has so many position jz cuz he/she is popular among his/her peers, even tho he/she does not have the full leadership quality compared to those students who are not as popular as they are???
this is very true.. it happens in my skul, and i'm damn sure it happens in other skuls as well...
interviews are a very important process
14-05-2008, 11:33 AM
To me, interview is more to a formality, it has little effect on the application...
14-05-2008, 11:33 AM
interviews is important for them to know whether the candidates are confident to speak and give out their opinion on something. good command of language also is important when they go study abroad...ur personality, level of confidence, etc are judged during interview. some of us may be smart on papers(exams, writing essays) but stinks when it comes to the real situation like talking in public, some are the other way round
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:35 AM
interviews is important for them to know whether the candidates are confident to speak and give out their opinion on something. good command of language also is important when they go study abroad...ur personality, level of confidence, etc are judged during interview. some of us may be smart on papers(exams, writing essays) but stinks when it comes to the real situation like talking in public, some are the other way round
i second that opinion
14-05-2008, 11:35 AM
=p
btw, my jpa interview was like an hour cuz theres only 15 ppl during my session.. so, theres only 3 groups and a lot of time.. the interviewers spoke more than us! haha! (my interviews in terengganu, sikit je org! =p)
You should be glad that you're selected to attend so many interviews . By the way , 15 person in an interview session ?? Cant imagine how they manage it , it must be disorganized .
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:38 AM
You should be glad that you're selected to attend so many interviews . By the way , 15 person in an interview session ?? Cant imagine how they manage it , it must be disorganized .
jpa is kinda disorganised.. one min they tel the medic students taht they don have to study phys, they nex min they say muz study phys (very close to exam time summo... they need to study two very very thick volumes of phys text book)
quote my senior under jpa medic prog, "they are disorganised and dunno wad they are doin"
:nuts
14-05-2008, 11:43 AM
but wad if one person holds more than 6 high position in skul, thereby killing other ppl's chance?? and the person who is jz as good if not better than that one person cud not hold position in clubs cuz parents don allow them??
wad if that one person has so many position jz cuz he/she is popular among his/her peers, even tho he/she does not have the full leadership quality compared to those students who are not as popular as they are???
this is very true.. it happens in my skul, and i'm damn sure it happens in other skuls as well...
interviews are a very important process
Frankly , that's what happened in my school as well , but it's not phenomenal . Because my teachers would interrupt , sometimes it's actually the teachers who made the decision . Anyway , you can't censure JPA for that . JPA interviewers barely know us .
jpa is kinda disorganised.. one min they tel the medic students taht they don have to study phys, they nex min they say muz study phys (very close to exam time summo... they need to study two very very thick volumes of phys text book)
quote my senior under jpa medic prog, "they are disorganised and dunno wad they are doin"
LOL ! I think it's better to don't over-depend on them , better consider seniors' experience and advises from others before we accept their decision .
14-05-2008, 11:45 AM
I suppose the subjects are set when they first enter pre-U? Physics is optional for future medicine students, but there are quite a number of universities in the world do look at physics rather than maths.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:47 AM
LOL ! I think it's better to don't over-depend on them , better consider seniors' experience and advises from others before we accept their decision .
I suppose the subjects are set when they first enter pre-U? Physics is optional for future medicine students, but there are quite a number of universities in the world do look at physics rather than maths.
frankly i don know wad goes on in the jpa system... but that is jz wad my senior said...
megatfais
14-05-2008, 11:47 AM
last time,during one of my interviews,i personally asked the interviewers,wat are they actually looking for during the interviewers.the most important point that i remember is,of course the soft skills.it means ur personal attributes,persona and individual traits.during interviews,they wana see how we carry ourselves,how we sell our achievements.some interviews they prefer to hear from us about wat have we achieved n our successes rather than reading from the application forms.becuz wen talking,we are indirectly showing our self confidence and our level of maturity.how we express our points,the scope of our thinking.all of those count.
sorry its kinda off topic.lol.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 11:51 AM
last time,during one of my interviews,i personally asked the interviewers,wat are they actually looking for during the interviewers.the most important point that i remember is,of course the soft skills.it means ur personal attributes,persona and individual traits.during interviews,they wana see how we carry ourselves,how we sell our achievements.some interviews they prefer to hear from us about wat have we achieved n our successes rather than reading from the application forms.becuz wen talking,we are indirectly showing our self confidence and our level of maturity.how we express our points,the scope of our thinking.all of those count.
during my petronas interview there was a short moment wer i totally forgot that i was in an interview (during group discussion) and i acted lik how i normally wud with my frens.. i even used the word, "Dussshhhhhhh"
after that i was lik OMG WTH AM I DOIN??????? :nuts
hahahaha
14-05-2008, 11:51 AM
I see....So they actually look at our communication skills . This has something to do with psychology .
14-05-2008, 11:52 AM
I think the discussion go out of the topic...
Yukie
14-05-2008, 11:55 AM
To me, interview is more to a formality, it has little effect on the application...
Hm, but I think the interview has some effect on the applicant. I got 11a1, 1a2 and 1b3 and I applied for the JPA scholarship. I didn't do well in the interview........ Then, I didn't get the scholarship.:cry
megatfais
14-05-2008, 11:56 AM
during my petronas interview there was a short moment wer i totally forgot that i was in an interview (during group discussion) and i acted lik how i normally wud with my frens.. i even used the word, "Dussshhhhhhh"
after that i was lik OMG WTH AM I DOIN??????? :nuts
hahahaha
LOL.i wud say diff interviewers have diff ways of approaching.
14-05-2008, 11:56 AM
I think the discussion go out of the topic...
yeah..out of topic..the discussion should be in the interview thread
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 11:57 AM
15 ppl one session divided by grouplaa
5 ppl one group
my interview started at 2 i was the third group, ended at 5.. imagine.. 1 hour or more for one 5 group interview..
terengganu got little applicantslaa
hikaru
14-05-2008, 12:06 PM
=p
i think interview is important 2 know our personalities
it's gud since u hav chance
well i agree tat it's veri tired
but at d end v got d scholarship so it's worth
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 12:10 PM
yeah, when we look it positively, all we hav to do is spend some money and a lil time of our life for a lifechanging chance..
besides, jpas supporting thousands ringgits for us, they cant simply choose and well, its worth it.
if u didnt get jpa, appeal, try ur best and find other alternatives. god saves the best for us! i believe in that, always! theres a reason for everything! and at least we get the experience right?
14-05-2008, 12:19 PM
Hm, but I think the interview has some effect on the applicant. I got 11a1, 1a2 and 1b3 and I applied for the JPA scholarship. I didn't do well in the interview........ Then, I didn't get the scholarship.:cry
Mind to tell what course did you apply for?
shakira
14-05-2008, 12:20 PM
my friend applied for pharmacy.. she got 11a1's and 1a2.. got rejected.. she registered for f.6..
starbie
14-05-2008, 12:24 PM
spm results: 11A1 2A2
course applied: actuarial science
rejected.
applied for 7 scholarships.. din get even a single one! :cry
btw, does anyone hv any idea which jpa courses are less competitive?
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 02:05 PM
btw, does anyone hv any idea which jpa courses are less competitive?
its very hard to tel nowadays.. i tot that acturial science wud be less competitive as not many ppl hav heard of it b4..
but mana tau u and my other fren apply for it but didn get it :(
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 02:06 PM
hmm try humanity or international relations
thats less ppl took
14-05-2008, 02:10 PM
hmm try humanity or international relations
thats less ppl took
btw, i am really blur with the current situation..humanity should be less competetive...why?
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 02:13 PM
cuz not many even know what the heck is humanity! and those course normally low scorer go for in local so its not really a choice of ppl to go oversea! u might hav a chance there!
14-05-2008, 02:19 PM
cuz not many even know what the heck is humanity! and those course normally low scorer go for in local so its not really a choice of ppl to go oversea! u might hav a chance there!
i doubt that do u noe psychology is oso under humanity?
hmm..well...pls clear my doubt about humanity course.Why do all the low scorer in malaysia go for humanity course in local university?
as far as i noe, humanity need a strong command of language..does it?
14-05-2008, 02:41 PM
Hold on a second.
Why does there seem to be a tendency for people to choose courses that would maximise one's chance of getting JPA, instead of something that you will feel like doing for the rest of your life?
First it was "must-do-medicine no matter what", then it became "must get JPA no matter what".
That's not the right mentality guys. If you do something that you end up regretting for life, it's not fun at all.
It's so much less fun than not getting JPA. You have my word for it.
yvonnesay
14-05-2008, 02:42 PM
well...i did apply 4 jpa oso..n da moz important thing is I didnt Cheat about da incum.coz i heard from my frenz tat many of them r cheating about da family incum..btplss no offence yea...my family incum surely more than 4k!.haiz..well i think tis matters them moz..2 rich 2 deserve it? cum on..wun u stil BeLIEve tat ppl nw stil can survive wif such low salary? except sum whose parents r retiree or from single family.anyway..i gt 9a1n 1a2 4 it..
14-05-2008, 02:42 PM
its very hard to tel nowadays.. i tot that acturial science wud be less competitive as not many ppl hav heard of it b4..
but mana tau u and my other fren apply for it but didn get it :(
It's actually quite popular, especially among the Chinese who seem to have this popular concept that "if you are good at maths, go study actuarial science to earn big money".
Well, I have a friend who wants to become a doctor but he decided to change his course to engineering as he scared he won't get JPA. When the results come out, he did get JPA scholarship but he seems unhappy cause it's engineering.
14-05-2008, 02:56 PM
Did interest matter the most or salary?
i choose humanity just because i like to interact with others and not merely feel that this course i will get becos less ppl opt for this course.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 02:58 PM
It's actually quite popular, especially among the Chinese who seem to have this popular concept that "if you are good at maths, go study actuarial science to earn big money".
lolz.. on the contrary, my fren who applied is a bit worried that after she graduates, she wont be able to find job.... so she's not in it for the money
14-05-2008, 02:59 PM
There's an interplay between interest and salary.
But if you are good enough (in terms of both academic aptitude and money "astuteness"), you are able to get a decent pay for most fields you go into anyway.
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 03:00 PM
Well, I have a friend who wants to become a doctor but he decided to change his course to engineering as he scared he won't get JPA. When the results come out, he did get JPA scholarship but he seems unhappy cause it's engineering.
ouch.. it shows that u hav to take risks in life or else u'l regret not tryin...
14-05-2008, 03:01 PM
lolz.. on the contrary, my fren who applied is a bit worried that after she graduates, she wont be able to find job.... so she's not in it for the money
between acturial science and humanity , hmm...which 1 u feel has less much job propects?
sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 03:05 PM
between acturial science and humanity , hmm...which 1 u feel has less much job propects?
sry i cant ans that cuz my knowledge in both sides is not sufficient enough to give u an accurate ans...
but i do know that i don reli hear/come across this profession: acutary....
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 03:16 PM
I think JPA takes into account how good the A1s actually are..
there is a great difference between a 80 marks A1 and 100 marks A1...
14-05-2008, 03:17 PM
I have heard of this claim quite often, but is there any source veriying this?
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 03:24 PM
I have heard of this claim quite often, but is there any source veriying this?
I dunn..
but there must be an explanation as to why those who get straight A1s fail to get the scholarship....
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 03:34 PM
my fren num 72 in msia
didnt get jpa
how do u say to that?
14-05-2008, 03:36 PM
Say, there are indeed non-academic factors in the selection process.
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 03:42 PM
my fren num 72 in msia
didnt get jpa
how do u say to that?
how come he know he is number seventy two??
Say, there are indeed non-academic factors in the selection process.
interview performance??
or the psychological test??
14-05-2008, 03:43 PM
my fren num 72 in msia
didnt get jpa
how do u say to that?
First, how he knew his ranking? I don't think MoE released the list, and the number is so exact... Then, did he get other scholarships?
interview performance??
or the psychological test??
There should be more than these...
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 03:53 PM
nah, he just got uia
err, he received a certificatelaa
our school announced it..
and he received money from terengganu for national achievements..
funny though, in the speech by sum guy who gave the cert says hes going to be guaranteed a scholarship.. but he didnt get any, bluff or what?
anyway, yeah, academics arent everything so stoplaa saying that all stra1 students deserve scholarships
grades arent everything, leadership, communication and interpersonality skills are more needed besides active involvement and well, high brain learning abilities! (got this from khazanah..)
14-05-2008, 03:57 PM
funny though, in the speech by sum guy who gave the cert says hes going to be guaranteed a scholarship.. but he didnt get any, bluff or what?
anyway, yeah, academics arent everything so stoplaa saying that all stra1 students deserve scholarships
grades arent everything, leadership, communication and interpersonality skills are more needed besides active involvement and well, high brain learning abilities! (got this from khazanah..)
Ask him to go find that guy, especially if the guy is a politician, I'm sure he can help, or rather he has to help, should stick to his own words...
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 03:58 PM
i dunno what they are really looking for..
ake me for instance,i told them we should change the government since they cannot handle many issues in a professional manner, and i got it
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 04:00 PM
yeah, my frens been appealing with the help of terengganus politicians..
14-05-2008, 04:04 PM
ake me for instance,i told them we should change the government since they cannot handle many issues in a professional manner, and i got it
In this case perhaps we can view it in another way, because you dare to speak up your mind, this is the quality they're looking for. Plus, you have a rather outstanding results for them to accept you, if I'm not mistaken, you have about 13A1s, right?
ChrisLee
14-05-2008, 04:09 PM
Name: ChrisLee
Race: Chinese
Results: 10A1s, GCE O-LEVEL 1119 -A1
COURSE APPLIED: MEDICINE
Almost all of my friends who applied for medicine are not awarded the scholarship.
-
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 04:12 PM
Almost all of my friends who applied for medicine are not awarded the scholarship.
-
how is your interview??
14-05-2008, 04:14 PM
You have got guts.
14-05-2008, 04:31 PM
cuteranger
accountancy
11A1 gce A2
gce A2 consider?
btw i got jpa
this thread is for those who failed JPA, my dear...
14-05-2008, 04:32 PM
this thread is for those who failed JPA, my dear...
Can't even understand simple English....
14-05-2008, 04:37 PM
-how is your interview??
I think the main reason is his results, he got only 10A1. I'm not saying he's not good, but the number is not good enough for JPA.
newney
14-05-2008, 04:42 PM
I think the main reason is his results, he got only 10A1. I'm not saying he's not good, but the number is not good enough for JPA.
Ya. Not enough A1.:wink
matchgirl
14-05-2008, 04:44 PM
Ya. Not enough A1.:wink
Luckily i took extra subjects...
Phew....
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 04:47 PM
lolz
not truelaa
my frenz 6a 7a oso get laa
up to ur self oso..
14-05-2008, 04:49 PM
lolz
not truelaa
my frenz 6a 7a oso get laa
up to ur self oso..
No, it's true... Don't forget that bumis and non-bumis are different... I'm not being racist here, but it's true... Also, for different courses, requirements are different, competition for medicine is extremely stiff...
14-05-2008, 04:52 PM
Name : Thung Senk Siang
Race : Chinese
Results : 9A1, 2A2, 1119-1
Co-curricullar : Head prefect, Pengerusi badan beruniform, Pengerusi Kelab Dharma, wakil
Sarawak ke Kursus Kepimpinan Pengawas 2006 peringkat kebangsaan, wakil
sekolah dlm acara taekwondo(pattern & free-sparring), Ketua pasukan
sekolah taekwondo, wakil rumah sukan dlm acara padang lempar cakera,
wakil sekolah Olimpiad Matematik 2007 kategori sulong dsb.
How i feel about the interview : I felt that I was leading the others in answering the
interviewer. I felt good after the interview, having high
hopes. But eventually....FAILED.
Plus point : I managed to get PETRONAS scholarship to study accounting overseas.
My point of view : Many friends that I know of(especially chinese), needs at least 11A1's
to get JPA. My friend, 11A1, 1B3, got it. while friends with 10A1's
failed. even 10A1 and 1A2 is nt eligible to get it. So, for those who failed to get anything, do not despair for too long. Appeal. If fail, get hold of yourself and don't make this as an excuse for you not to study anymore. Try Form 6. Remember,
ANYTHING THAT HAPPENS HAS IT'S OWN REASON. Trust me. A few things that happened that I thought was bad to me turns out to be a blessing in disguise. So, work hard and always try your best. Good luck in your future!!!
14-05-2008, 04:58 PM
Co-curricullar : Head prefect, Pengerusi badan beruniform, Pengerusi Kelab Dharma, wakil
How i feel about the interview : I felt that I was leading the others in answering the
Plus point : I managed to get PETRONAS scholarship to study accounting overseas.
My point of view : Many friends that I know of(especially chinese), needs at least 11A1's
failed. even 10A1 and 1A2 is nt eligible to get it. So, for those who failed to get anything, do not despair for too long. Appeal. If fail, get hold of yourself and don't make this as an excuse for you not to study anymore. Try Form 6. Remember,
ANYTHING THAT HAPPENS HAS IT'S OWN REASON. Trust me. A few things that happened that I thought was bad to me turns out to be a blessing in disguise. So, work hard and always try your best. Good luck in your future!!!
I had 11A1s 2 years ago but still failed to secure the scholarship.
14-05-2008, 05:02 PM
Co-curricullar : ...
What course did you apply for? It seems the main reason you did not get the scholarship is the number of As, it's not enough for JPA, plus, you have already got Petronas scholarship...
Anyway, since you have another path, good luck in your future undertakings...
14-05-2008, 05:24 PM
I had 11A1s 2 years ago but still failed to secure the scholarship.
Gosh.. I've got a feeling the requirements have changed over the pass few years.. My dad is a secondary school teacher and has analysed these things for my sisters and brothers. What's happening now is nearly the same with my brother's year(SPM 2003). Those who got straight A1's from 9 subjects didn't get the scholarship. The minimum was 10 A1 at that time. To get that extra subject, my brother took accounting and got 10A1. He is nw a JPA scholar and studies in Manipal, India. So, relating it to this year, since there is an extra subject which is EST, 11A1 is clearly the minimum requirement. And.. I don't know hw true is this, but my school teacher said the real statistics for the number of students achieving straight A1's in Sekolah Harian is only 600 plus people. The 500 plus are from private colleges and so on. So for those who got straight A1's, take credit from this. You are the top 600 brains in Malaysia. What an achievements. How i wish i could be one of you.. But it wasn't meant to be.
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 05:38 PM
well, maybe for meds need 11a1.. so, dont take meds! take others! whats up with meds? wasting 7 years of teenage life busy having no life.. not looking forward to that..
megatfais
14-05-2008, 05:39 PM
well, maybe for meds need 11a1.. so, dont take meds! take others! whats up with meds? wasting 7 years of teenage life busy having no life.. not looking forward to that..
that is for u.for those who are really into it,they dun mind doing that.
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 05:48 PM
yeah
i guess so
without those ppl this world will lack docs
thatd be a huge prob!
14-05-2008, 06:11 PM
[Some sentences censored by Youngyew: While you are trying to point out inappropriate attitude of a fellow ReCommer, unfortunately we do have a no personal attack policy so I have to censor them. Note that this doesn't mean I am biased towards the person you are referring to, and if he breaks any rule we will always act accordingly too, and we welcome report from all members regarding inappropriate posts.]
Gosh.. I've got a feeling the requirements have changed over the pass few years.. My dad is a secondary school teacher and has analysed these things for my sisters and brothers. What's happening now is nearly the same with my brother's year(SPM 2003). Those who got straight A1's from 9 subjects didn't get the scholarship. The minimum was 10 A1 at that time. To get that extra subject, my brother took accounting and got 10A1. He is nw a JPA scholar and studies in Manipal, India. So, relating it to this year, since there is an extra subject which is EST, 11A1 is clearly the minimum requirement. And.. I don't know hw true is this, but my school teacher said the real statistics for the number of students achieving straight A1's in Sekolah Harian is only 600 plus people. The 500 plus are from private colleges and so on. So for those who got straight A1's, take credit from this. You are the top 600 brains in Malaysia. What an achievements. How i wish i could be one of you.. But it wasn't meant to be.
Equivocal evidence. Enough said.
runninghorse
14-05-2008, 08:13 PM
oh n btw, if u want me to state my race too, im malay (bumi) and "im proud of it"(juz copying someone else who wrote this after stating his/her status in some topics)...:):)
Hi faizin... i am here to answer you question....:lol
you are actually copy from here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6812&page=4)
do refer the above link if you are interested...
Totally agree... while some of you might claim that you do super well during interview and yet dont get it... why is this so?
well... to me interview performance is very subjective... it depends on the feeling of interviewers themselves.... they dont think the same way as your opinion... if they dont like your performance even you think you are super good, then that's it... you wont be qualified no matter how many A1 you get and how well you koko... you are just finished... get what i mean?
while interview performance can be graded... the grading of it still have to depend on interviewer...
let's give an example... you talk a lot about your koko achievement during interview and very fluent english indeed... using a lot of good expressions
and this is what the interviewers might think...
Interviewer A: you are confident and proficient in english
Interviewer B: you are arrogant, not humble and thinks like you are the best in the world and purposely show off your english level.....
See... it is very subjective isnt it?
14-05-2008, 08:15 PM
Contrary to Petronas, number of As is the main concern of JPA throughout the selection process. From my experience, 9A1s are the minimum for engineering and A1 in science-related subjects (esp physic and add maths) is a mandatory in order to secure JPA. So, it's not advisable to specify a country during the application process (i.e. germany engineering). However, a friend of mine who scored only 8As (not straight A1s though) but performed splendidly in the EduCamp managed to secure Petronas to read economic in UK. Needless to say, without 11A1s, a JPA scholarship to pursue medicine is almost out of reach.
-non-bumi(indian)
-10A1, 1A2 (EST)GCE-O A1
-dentistry
-income,way more den rm1500
I guess all those bumi top scorers in my sch got it, 5 chinese i tink...n 1 indian guy...
Wats more frustrating...dey r frm da same class as i am...sum gt worst den me...gt da scholarship...so unfair!!!!!...But wat 2 do...Da world is an unfair place..Receiving rejection at dis age was da first 2 me, but I have learned sumtin..Everthing happens 4 a reason..If I cant get JPA, SO BE IT!!!! I am sure there is sumtin in store 4 me way better than dis...Have faith ppl!!!!!
haneulsag
14-05-2008, 08:20 PM
-non-bumi(indian)
-10A1, 1A2 (EST)GCE-O A1
-dentistry
I guess all those bumi top scorers in my sch got it, 5 chinese i tink...n 1 indian guy...
Wats more frustrating...dey r frm da same class as i am...sum gt worst den me...gt da scholarship...so unfair!!!!!...But wat 2 do...Da world is an unfair place..Receiving rejection at dis age was da first 2 me, but I have learned sumtin..Everthing happens 4 a reason..If I cant get JPA, SO BE IT!!!! I am sure there is sumtin in store 4 me way better than dis...Have faith ppl!!!!!
Yeah rite! Stay positive...
For those who face the same disappointments...always believe that there is something better in store for you...
I have always like the quote from Forrest Gump...
...Life is like a box of chocolate...you will never know what you gonna get...
Hold on to your dreams and don' t ever give up...
Jia you!
14-05-2008, 08:24 PM
-non-bumi(indian)
-10A1, 1A2 (EST)GCE-O A1
-dentistry
Fear not! You still have a bright future ahead!
WilsonCWJ
14-05-2008, 08:27 PM
I do not think so... It's very hard to take into account everything. By the way, the marks are not stated in the slip. I dont think JPA wud call lembaga and sort the marks by person for this purpose.
Btw i gt 10A1 and is rejected as well. Applied for engineering.
14-05-2008, 08:28 PM
I do not think so... It's very hard to take into account everything. By the way, the marks are not stated in the slip. I dont think JPA wud call lembaga and sort the marks by person for this purpose.
Btw i gt 10A1 and is rejected as well. Applied for engineering.
My heart goes out to you WilsonCWJ.
krwon
14-05-2008, 08:39 PM
I think those who got all A1 and didn't get the JPA scholarship was because of your parents socio-economic status....
Its not just the score..they take into account your parents income also....
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 08:40 PM
again.. streta1 is not everything..
WilsonCWJ
14-05-2008, 08:45 PM
Actually my parents income is around RM3k... I agree that stret A1 is not everything... but when compared with someone with more A1 but with A2, doesnt stret A1 signify quality? Why is it when government is encouraging students to take up less subjects, we often still look up for ppl with more A1s... So is the judging system in malaysia based on quantity or quality?
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 08:48 PM
again, theres cocu theres personlity..
haih bored ady with these stuffss
dont simply think that ur streta1 u can get evrything.. theres lotsa ppl with good results nowadays, thats why stretas doesnt really matter much!
14-05-2008, 08:56 PM
dont simply think that ur streta1 u can get evrything.. theres lotsa ppl with good results nowadays, thats why stretas doesnt really matter much!
Of course it matters!! It is of great recognition to those who poured sweat and blood into their work to ensure a string of perfect results. Not to say those who did not obtain straight As are lazier, but all in all, there is a difference!
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Of course it matters!! It is of great recognition to those who poured sweat and blood into their work to ensure a string of perfect results. Not to say those who did not obtain straight As are lazier, but all in all, there is a difference!
chill! i mean, intelligence isnt everything.. jpa wants ppl who could make a change in msia and contribute! so, they dont really want nerds or probleamtic personalities as their scholar. eventhough they are geniuses.. dunwan end up like sufiahlaa!
princessanicole
14-05-2008, 09:19 PM
chill! i mean, intelligence isnt everything.. jpa wants ppl who could make a change in msia and contribute! so, they dont really want nerds or probleamtic personalities as their scholar. eventhough they are geniuses.. dunwan end up like sufiahlaa!
sufiah is not a nerd. no nerds are sexy
megatfais
14-05-2008, 09:22 PM
sufiah is not a nerd. no nerds are sexy
agreed.she is a genius.but then i guess she must have had a very hard time trying to satisfy her parents.off topic sorry.
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:29 PM
ha? shes sexy? is it?
nerds are bookworms who focusses on academics and achieve high marks
with low sosial skills and leadership qualities
sufiah became a bad seed bcuz she isnt raised up to be mature in socializing.. at least thats what psycologists says
sikballa
14-05-2008, 09:30 PM
with all this hoohaa bout the criteria for being selected for the scholarship(race, coco, results, ironically, LUCK), i guess family background is one of the factor they take into consideration. I know a friend who was awarded the scholarship like me, both of our fathers have retired. Food for thought?
P.S i'm chinese, 10 1A's and 1 2A's, active in coco, did decently in the interview.
14-05-2008, 10:02 PM
Yes, I see your point.
989Lee
15-05-2008, 10:33 AM
It is because you got petronas. Jpa collaborated with petronas this year that those sponsored by petronas (most probably overseas, as some sponsored by utp still secure jpa) will not get JPA.
15-05-2008, 10:38 AM
For students who applied for Medicine and Dentistry with results of 10A1,1A2, but failed, you stand a rather high chance to get it through appeal, since you're just a little short from getting the scholarships, and also because there are quite a number of students who will reject countries like Indonesia, Russia, Czech Republic, Poland, and India, so just keep your fingers crossed...
Yukie
15-05-2008, 11:05 AM
Mind to tell what course did you apply for?
I applied for the Diploma Kejuruteraan Jepun (for non-bumi).
ChrisLee
15-05-2008, 11:47 AM
how is your interview??
I think i did fine in my interview. It went smoothly...luckily.. A few of the other applicants who went in with me during the interview said I did well. I dunno...i guess i'm just not one of the lucky ones...
For students who applied for Medicine and Dentistry with results of 10A1,1A2, but failed, you stand a rather high chance to get it through appeal, since you're just a little short from getting the scholarships, and also because there are quite a number of students who will reject countries like Indonesia, Russia, Czech Republic, Poland, and India, so just keep your fingers crossed...
Well,hope so...Cz I gt 10a1,1a2.
ame.zost
15-05-2008, 12:05 PM
It is because you got petronas. Jpa collaborated with petronas this year that those sponsored by petronas (most probably overseas, as some sponsored by utp still secure jpa) will not get JPA.
his result and co curicular activities doont mean that he is qualify to be awarded the scholarship......
depend how well u did during the interview..
some people are just like conquer during the interview, and macam over sangat...
tu pon tak dapat, coz it potrays ur personality...
this time around, i dont think there was any 'conquer' possible during interview since most of the jpa interview that i know of is individual and not group discussion.
WilsonCWJ
15-05-2008, 07:28 PM
Haih yet another person who acts immaturely... Of coz stret a1 is not everything, but it signifies the studying method dat the person adopts succeeded. Moreover, this thread is on stret a1s students who fail to secure jpa anyway... of coz ppl wud be introducing themselves and the number of a1s they gt here!! No offense.
artistic1412
15-05-2008, 08:00 PM
Haih yet another person who acts immaturely... Of coz stret a1 is not everything, but it signifies the studying method dat the person adopts succeeded. Moreover, this thread is on stret a1s students who fail to secure jpa anyway... of coz ppl wud be introducing themselves and the number of a1s they gt here!! No offense.
well, good luck! more and more ppl are getting streta1 nowadays.. so, if u say its signifies bla bla bla then, im sure 10years from now there'll be hundreds maybe thousands scoring 15a1 and above
jpa wiill hav a hard time then
Hamster
15-05-2008, 08:18 PM
Castle, you are just one arrogant kid. You may be lucky this time to get the JPA. I hope you stop showing off, and make sure your make the best out of the scholarship given to you as there are many many more deserving students out there looking at you.
15-05-2008, 09:27 PM
well, good luck! more and more ppl are getting streta1 nowadays.. so, if u say its signifies bla bla bla then, im sure 10years from now there'll be hundreds maybe thousands scoring 15a1 and above
jpa wiill hav a hard time then
JPA won't have a hard time, because during that time, 15A1 is a norm, like what 11A1 is today. Just look 5 years back, 11A1 is rare, but now, even 12A1 is getting common, last time students might be able to secure scholarships with 10As, but now 10As could mean nothing... Who to be blamed? Competition for scholarships? Or "kiasuism"? What can the students do? Even it's triggered by just a small number of students, other students have to follow the game rules, if they do still want the scholarship- take more subjects or you'll lose out in the fight for scholarship...
Miracle seed, what do you think about results like 9A1 and 2A2? Do these people with such results (including me) are able to secure the scholarship after appealing.
Actually I really don't care where they sent me coz I really need the scholarship as my parents couldn't afford the medicine course for me.
15-05-2008, 09:58 PM
quoted for truthHold on a second.
Why does there seem to be a tendency for people to choose courses that would maximise one's chance of getting JPA, instead of something that you will feel like doing for the rest of your life?
First it was "must-do-medicine no matter what", then it became "must get JPA no matter what".
That's not the right mentality guys. If you do something that you end up regretting for life, it's not fun at all.
It's so much less fun than not getting JPA. You have my word for it.
Miracle seed, what do you think about results like 9A1 and 2A2? Do these people with such results (including me) are able to secure the scholarship after appealing.
Actually I really don't care where they sent me coz I really need the scholarship as my parents couldn't afford the medicine course for me.
Medical courses in Malaysia in the public universities are more than affordable to anyone in Malaysia...
15-05-2008, 10:16 PM
I'm not saying it's impossible, but the chance is rather low compared to 10A1 students, and you have to consider the number of places available, and number of students on waiting list... If there aren't many students, then your chance is probably higher...
Anyway, like what vseehua said, medical courses in local public universities are highly affordable, to anyone, just you might need to work hard to secure a place... In this case, matriculation is much easier way compared to STPM
nanthini
15-05-2008, 11:11 PM
miricle seed.how about 10a1s thn?chances?
ZhannaC
15-05-2008, 11:13 PM
Straight 11A1s isn't enough to secure a medicine scholarship.. I know of someone who got straight 11A1s but failed to get JPA(medicine).
And another person with straight 11A1s but failed to secure JPA(pharmacy).
Both had only 1 working parent..
So much for 'quality A1s' vs 'quantity A1s'..
megatfais
15-05-2008, 11:17 PM
ive heard people talking that scholarship bodies are looking into our SPM marks not only grades.thus i wud say its d quality that matters.
ZhannaC
15-05-2008, 11:21 PM
ive heard people talking that scholarship bodies are looking into our SPM marks not only grades.thus i wud say its d quality that matters.
If I'm not wrong I read somewhere in Recom of a previous SPM top scorer a year or so back who was listed in the top 100 SPM top scorers in our country.. but failed to get JPA..
ayjiahui
15-05-2008, 11:25 PM
now that is just really disturbing! haha.
well then again medicine is a pretty tough course to pursue. the panel of interviewers probably look for more just than As to verify that one is able to cope with the pressures of pursuing medicine. =D
Kuekkuek
15-05-2008, 11:30 PM
ppl who failed to get jpa must be attributed by many factors...(other than spm result n koko, interview, family background(family income, family members, family working place...), n of course LUCK...
or tat person must hv secured Pet, bnm, or other well-known prestigious scholarships...
15-05-2008, 11:43 PM
miricle seed.how about 10a1s thn?chances?
Erm... I'm not sure, since I'm not JPA officer after all, anyway, 10A1 do stand a good chance, but I don't know how they rank 10A1,2A2, 10A1,1A2 and 10 straight A1...
nanthini
15-05-2008, 11:57 PM
Erm... I'm not sure, since I'm not JPA officer after all, anyway, 10A1 do stand a good chance, but I don't know how they rank 10A1,2A2, 10A1,1A2 and 10 straight A1...
ok.anyway tnx!keeping my fingers crossed.ngaha.
16-05-2008, 03:22 PM
Straight 11A1s isn't enough to secure a medicine scholarship.. I know of someone who got straight 11A1s but failed to get JPA(medicine).
So much for 'quality A1s' vs 'quantity A1s'..There are more >10A1s students than the amount of scholarships to be given out. So it's pretty normal that not every single one of them will secure it...
Shawn_Paul
16-05-2008, 03:41 PM
How those who got JPA will know which country they are getting? The letter hasn't reached them yet. So surely they won't tolak the offer.
mochitor
16-05-2008, 04:16 PM
So much for 'quality A1s' vs 'quantity A1s'..
Hey count me in too, make it a 3!
runninghorse
16-05-2008, 06:44 PM
i have started to believe it since there is so many cases where straight A1 students fail the jpa scholarship.... but how far it is true? there is 7000++ student shortlisted for the interview to be selected leh... and will the lembaga peperiksaan reveals our marks since it is confidential?
16-05-2008, 07:21 PM
hey come on .. why do u all juz carry out bout the straight A1s?? how did u perform in the interview? do u reli deserve for it?
but as a fact.. i have many straight A1s frends failed in securing JPA .. but mayb 10A1s is too little for medicine course huh?
hey come on .. why do u all juz carry out bout the straight A1s?? how did u perform in the interview? do u reli deserve for it?
but as a fact.. i have many straight A1s frends failed in securing JPA .. but mayb 10A1s is too little for medicine course huh?
I agree wit u...
I gt friend A:11a1,1b3,gce-o a1 (gt jpa medic/non-bumi)
Friend B: 10a1, 2a2, gce-o a1 (failed jpa medic/non-bumi)
But.......
Friend C:9a1, 3a2, gce-o b3 (gt jpa medic/non-bumi)
All frm da same school.
So da conclusion bout 10a1 not enough 2 secure jpa medic is half true half false...Haha:laugh
runninghorse
16-05-2008, 08:05 PM
yeah... maybe... i have two friends (non bumi) who both apply for jpa medic... one got 11A1 in spm and he eventually got the jpa .... the other get 10A1 and he fail it....
mochitor
17-05-2008, 12:21 AM
I agree wit u...
But.......
All frm da same school.
So da conclusion bout 10a1 not enough 2 secure jpa medic is half true half false...Haha:laugh
OMG..your examples just adds salt to my already septic and bloody wound...Sighness...
17-05-2008, 12:29 AM
OMG..your examples just adds salt to my already septic and bloody wound...Sighness...
Ewwwwwwww..... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sepsis)
mochitor
17-05-2008, 12:50 AM
Ewwwwwwww..... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sepsis)
Woi janganla ewwww pulak, i nak hiperbola kan..supaya nampak dahsyat..:nuts
17-05-2008, 08:54 AM
I agree wit u...
But.......
All frm da same school.
It's still quite true... Don't take bumis into account when talking about 11A1 for medicine, bumis and non-bumis are in different categories...
i don't understand the neccessity of discrimination when it comes to education and scholarship. why can't we be seen as malaysian students instead of bumi or non bumi.. there was about 1072 straight a1 student..and there are 3000 scholarship(jpa and mara) and 2000+ matriculation seats for non-bumi.if every straight a1 students are given either the matriculation or scholarship, we wouldn' have these complaints and there would still be a lot of space for other students in both matriculation and scholarship.
17-05-2008, 03:48 PM
i don't understand the neccessity of discrimination when it comes to education and scholarship. why can't we be seen as malaysian students instead of bumi or non bumi.. there was about 1072 straight a1 student..and there are 3000 scholarship(jpa and mara) and 2000+ matriculation seats for non-bumi.if every straight a1 students are given either the matriculation or scholarship, we wouldn' have these complaints and there would still be a lot of space for other students in both matriculation and scholarship.
Scholarship is one of the special rights of bumiputeras...
Yes, it's true that there are just about 1000 straight A1 students, but there are a lot more with straight As, sometimes even more As than those who got straight A1. I'm not saying who is better, but on paper, students with more A1 (not necessary straight A1) look better. Then we will have to know how many places are allocated for non-bumis and how many students who scored straight As.
For matriculation story, do not forget that the minimum requirement to enter is C6 for every subject, so there is no guarantee that students with better results will get it. Everything happens for a reason, I'm not going to tell here, but I guess we all know...
Even if JPA ppl use da quota system, it would sound fair if 1000 seats were given 2 bumi, 700 2 chinese n 300 2 indians...But no...looks like dats not happening..I jst found out dat only 34 indians were offered da jpa scholarship n dats like 1.7%...Is bumis given to much priority n speciality or wat???:notrust
17-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Scholarship is one of the areas specifically mentioned in the Malaysian constitution where the YDPA has the prerogative to reserve a reasonable number of seats for the bumiputera. Though "reasonable" is always up to interpretation and debates.
18-05-2008, 12:46 AM
hey. Funny.
=(
Olataro
18-05-2008, 01:03 AM
my friend, got 12a1..............he was not given matriks or anything....but a diploma course..... funny thing is..........he accepted the diploma course at The IPTA
Yvonne90
18-05-2008, 01:40 PM
tha fact tat only 2 chinese got medic out of 200 shud be wrong , coz i noe a number of ppl who got medic (chinese, more than 2) ..but of course, a lot more places are given to the bumi.
18-05-2008, 02:08 PM
my friend, got 12a1..............he was not given matriks or anything....but a diploma course..... funny thing is..........he accepted the diploma course at The IPTA
I am a failure...... i am some....wasted sperm.....feel grateful that you are not me.
One of the great mysteries of RECOM:
IS Vseehua a boy or a girl???wink no one knows
different ppl hv different path and fate.. juz accept it and work the best out of it. .^^
* y wld u take urself as a wasted sperm ? lol .. sound so depressing =(
Vseehua ? SHE is a BOY =)
cute cleverboy k?
smashingkiller
18-05-2008, 02:42 PM
hahaa...
diz iz wut i thin' da wrong thin' goes...
evrybdy thin' they r gud...
but from da intrviewer point of view,who knows...
myb they thin' .......look arrogant or wut durin da intrview....:))
no offense...
ame.zost
18-05-2008, 05:37 PM
maybe todays not your rezeki..
maybe next time...
Allah maha adil...
mochitor
18-05-2008, 06:12 PM
Wei u sure or not?! When i went to JPA, and met the pegawai, he told me all '800' medic seats were given out and none had rejected them as of 15th may!!! Btw whats wrong with you people saying no offence anyway rite after u say something that could potentially be offensive?! Keep it to yourself le...
OLATARO!!!
Don't call yourself a wasted sperm..the fact that you exist means sperm wasn't wasted! ...Try coming out with other phrases to show ur depression..kiki:))
maybe todays not your rezeki..
maybe next time...
Allah maha adil...
Yes i agree with you..god always saves the best for us..perhaps JPA is not the best for me..Tuhan memang adil..hanya manusia kadang-kadang tak adil...wahaha..Anyone want to second this statement?
skyrainbow
18-05-2008, 08:06 PM
2 straight 13 a1 student in my state didnt get jpa medic.
it's shown big in the newspaper. i was like shocked 2 read it.
both r active in coco. 1 is wakil sth in pingpong. the other is a winner in sony science competition.
juz cant believe it.
runninghorse
18-05-2008, 09:17 PM
both r active in coco. 1 is wakil sth in pingpong. the other is a winner in sony science competition.
juz cant believe it.
which state you come from?
if possible... can you please quote the newspaper article here or which newspaper are you reading? because i am interested to know the whole matter in deep...
18-05-2008, 09:57 PM
juz cant believe it.
Unbelievable! My heart goes out for the 2 students.
Caprio
18-05-2008, 10:16 PM
juz cant believe it.
It is believable, why not?
Just bear in mind that we live a non-meritocracy country, though our government claimed so.
sherenesheep
18-05-2008, 10:20 PM
juz cant believe it.
omg.. that is so unfair.....
don worry, hopefully they get offered smth better... lik the case of june tiong from kch... her results are always superb and is NATIONAL rep for squash.. but after her form 5, she was not offered a single scholarship... so she went to form 6, again, superb results and stil active in sports.... got offered to study in UK by one of the universities der... harvard, if i'm not mistakened...
juz cant believe it.
They may have screwed up their interview ;)
vimal06
18-05-2008, 10:29 PM
screwing their interview is only a stupid lame reason we all use when we know dead sure that the real reason is them being a good student in MALAYSIA>>> I feel so depressed to see so many of our deserving peers not given a chance while certain less deserving students are given the scholarship with a stupid grin on their face as if they earned it.. It is at times like this we realise wat is the major cause to our Super Brain Drain that is occuring.. Sigh...
WilsonCWJ
18-05-2008, 10:30 PM
Interview carries only 10% out of 100.... Even if they slacked their interviews, the marks is supposed to be covered up by co-cu rite?
skyrainbow
18-05-2008, 10:35 PM
both of them r from sibu.
the newspaper is sinchew ri pao. it's yesterday or the day before news. (sry. i cant quote - news 2 long n r in chinese)
1 of them said she is confident of her interview, but i oso dont think that interview matters, coz many who did moderate in interviews can get jpa.
one dad's a diabetes with leg cut of, so i dont think that she'll be rich.
70% - Academic
10% - Cocu
I can bet that almost all when for the interview with a 80% mark. So the competiton is very tight. A small slip-up can be costly.
And since JPA is coming up with the new policy (covering private institutions too), I don't think we should complaint that much now.