View Full Version : JPA Law
sikballa
13-05-2008, 09:42 PM
Good day fellow Recomers...
I have been miraculously given the JPA scholarship to do law in the United Kingdom. I have confirmed my acceptance and is now awaiting further instructions from the JPA.
I have read through the programme structure, and it seems i will be doing a-levels here in Malaysia for a year and a half at an assigned private college. This worries me immensely as i might be sent to some unknown colleges(KT*, InT##) to do my a-levels.
I know that the most important, deciding factor to a success is self initiative, but for the past couple of months i had been doing my a-levels in KDU Penang, a fine college by all points of view. I am afraid of the culture shock i might experience as a result of being sent to a, ahem, lesser college.
Therefore, i hope any of your kind souls would enlighten me about the possible colleges i might be sent to to do my foundation.
Thanks a lot. I appreciate it.
13-05-2008, 09:43 PM
Thread moved to the scholarships section
13-05-2008, 09:57 PM
If you want to point out something that you think is of worse quality, it's better to say it out loudly and back it up with facts. Obfuscating your words like "KT*, InT##" is not going to help anything.
Intec is bad meh? (assuming that the inT## word puzzle means intec)
sikballa
13-05-2008, 10:04 PM
i meant lesser-known. Is it bad? well...i have seniors that say so. I'm not here to argue. I am just very concerned bout where i am heading.
syafiq07
14-05-2008, 01:44 AM
i meant lesser-known. Is it bad? well...i have seniors that say so. I'm not here to argue. I am just very concerned bout where i am heading.
wht did your senior said?Im interested to know as well.
ZhannaC
14-05-2008, 02:22 AM
Me Law Me Law Me Law! :laugh
Great to meet another Recomer who got law. =)
How on earth do you know you'll be sent to UK? How will they decide where to send us anyway?
If you think you'll be sent to UK because you told your interviewers that you want to go UK.. well, JPA will go bankrupt if they gave everyone their country of choice.. hehe.
If JPA were to take my choice into consideration means I'll get to go Australia! :whoo
'Culture shock'? From a *ahem* lesser-known college? :huh
Oh by the way, I tried searching for seniors who got JPA law.. haven't found any.
So guess you'll just have to wait for the official letter that will arrive soon.. that may list a *ahem* lesser-known college. So you'll have time to prepare yourself for the 'culture shock'.
Btw, in JPA's site they listed UK-bound students as having to do A levels for 24 months.. and AusMat students 18 months.. not 1.5 years for UK I'm afraid. :wink
sikballa
14-05-2008, 08:04 AM
Me Law Me Law Me Law! :laugh
Great to meet another Recomer who got law. =)
How on earth do you know you'll be sent to UK? How will they decide where to send us anyway?
If you think you'll be sent to UK because you told your interviewers that you want to go UK.. well, JPA will go bankrupt if they gave everyone their country of choice.. hehe.
If JPA were to take my choice into consideration means I'll get to go Australia! :whoo
'Culture shock'? From a *ahem* lesser-known college? :huh
Oh by the way, I tried searching for seniors who got JPA law.. haven't found any.
So guess you'll just have to wait for the official letter that will arrive soon.. that may list a *ahem* lesser-known college. So you'll have time to prepare yourself for the 'culture shock'.
Btw, in JPA's site they listed UK-bound students as having to do A levels for 24 months.. and AusMat students 18 months.. not 1.5 years for UK I'm afraid. :wink
yea i am aware after reading through the program structure thoroughly. Thanks for the reminders. I stated previously that i will be sent to uk because i thought uk is the only option for jpa scholars doing law. Well, go figure...
about the a-levels thingy, i seriously do not know much. A-levels is technically a year and a half program, if we are doing the GCE A-levels anyway. I heard the edexcel a-levels is slightly different. Maybe that is a cause for confusion?
Great to meet another recommer who's gonna do law. Lets keep each other posted bout the latest developments.
14-05-2008, 08:16 AM
Interesting. I thought they stopped sending students to UK for law. My best buddy got UK Law and is now in Cambridge. He did A-levels for 24 months in Sunway College. We were SPM 2002, I am not sure about the situation of the later batches.
ZhannaC
14-05-2008, 11:25 AM
yea i am aware after reading through the program structure thoroughly. Thanks for the reminders. I stated previously that i will be sent to uk because i thought uk is the only option for jpa scholars doing law. Well, go figure...
about the a-levels thingy, i seriously do not know much. A-levels is technically a year and a half program, if we are doing the GCE A-levels anyway. I heard the edexcel a-levels is slightly different. Maybe that is a cause for confusion?
Great to meet another recommer who's gonna do law. Lets keep each other posted bout the latest developments.
We'll have to learn English for a short period of time.. that's why they put 24 months for A-levels, and 18 months for AusMat. :)
I don't know the difference between all the A-levels you just mentioned..
Actually, I don't know anything about pre-U studies. Only considerably well-informed about STPM. :))
Any idea how they'll pick which country to send us to? How did you do for SPM, btw?
Interesting. I thought they stopped sending students to UK for law. My best buddy got UK Law and is now in Cambridge. He did A-levels for 24 months in Sunway College. We were SPM 2002, I am not sure about the situation of the later batches.
Sunway? Wow.
Cambridge?? Double wow!
Gee Youngyew you're making me dream..
*off to fantasise about Cambridge* :laugh
14-05-2008, 11:32 AM
wht did your senior said?Im interested to know as well.
well, if you guys wanna knwo more about INTEC, theres' a thread about INTEC and your future accomodation : Cemara/Akasia.. though i'm not sure if its that really updated.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5192
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5193
sikballa
14-05-2008, 12:31 PM
We'll have to learn English for a short period of time.. that's why they put 24 months for A-levels, and 18 months for AusMat. :)
I don't know the difference between all the A-levels you just mentioned..
Actually, I don't know anything about pre-U studies. Only considerably well-informed about STPM. :))
Any idea how they'll pick which country to send us to? How did you do for SPM, btw?
Sunway? Wow.
Cambridge?? Double wow!
Gee Youngyew you're making me dream..
*off to fantasise about Cambridge* :laugh
I got 10 1A's and 1 2A. Not spectacular, but maybe my certs and my interview helped. Of course. Some credit to lady luck.
well, for law the only available options are australia and uk.
You can find info on the esila website on the program stucture. It's pretty detailed. You should check it out.
Sunway? CAmbridge...god damn...i'm drooling....
ZhannaC
14-05-2008, 01:56 PM
I got 10 1A's and 1 2A. Not spectacular, but maybe my certs and my interview helped. Of course. Some credit to lady luck.
well, for law the only available options are australia and uk.
You can find info on the esila website on the program stucture. It's pretty detailed. You should check it out.
Sunway? CAmbridge...god damn...i'm drooling....
Yes, I've read all the details on esila.. oki lah, but I'm still clueless about my country...
Lol. Lets not dream too far, shall we? :P
syafiq07
14-05-2008, 08:04 PM
well, if you guys wanna knwo more about INTEC, theres' a thread about INTEC and your future accomodation : Cemara/Akasia.. though i'm not sure if its that really updated.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5192
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5193
lol,I have already through both of the thread you provided.I really appreciate your intention to help anyway :) .I'm just curious on what did his senior told him about intec as I might study there.
sikballa
14-05-2008, 08:15 PM
lol,I have already through both of the thread you provided.I really appreciate your intention to help anyway :) .I'm just curious on what did his senior told him about intec as I might study there.
i have seniors from kdu saying that the lecturers are not very well-acquanted with the subjects they are teaching. Same for KTT.
I don't wanna be overly judgemental, but my seniors has gone through the same college and program as mine prior to moving to INTEC(A-levels at kdu). So, we would have a very similiar standard in pointing out the pro's and con's of that particular college. Therefore i am worried.
Tzezumi
20-05-2008, 04:56 PM
Yea!I got law for jpa too. Found some Recommers who got law. Anyone know which country they got?
ZhannaC
20-05-2008, 07:30 PM
Yea!I got law for jpa too. Found some Recommers who got law. Anyone know which country they got?
Tzezumi! Someone mentioned your name for law. hehe.
So now there's 3 of us..
We'll just have to wait for the letter..
But unlike some other courses, our destination country is only between UK and Australia.. hehe.
Tzezumi
20-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Tzezumi! Someone mentioned your name for law. hehe.
So now there's 3 of us..
We'll just have to wait for the letter..
But unlike some other courses, our destination country is only between UK and Australia.. hehe.
Yeah, I'm hoping to get Australia but UK will be fine.Hope they don't change the countries. Haha, I guess that 'someone' is my friend who got JPA too.It'll be cool we get the same place..
ZhannaC
20-05-2008, 09:35 PM
Yeah, I'm hoping to get Australia but UK will be fine.Hope they don't change the countries. Haha, I guess that 'someone' is my friend who got JPA too.It'll be cool we get the same place..
Hehe, you asked for Australia too during the interview? I did.. but doubt they will take it into consideration.. unless sooo many people asked for UK that they'll actually give Australia to the minority who requested for it.. :P
More curious about my pre-U though. I mean, countries.. that's in 1-2 years time. But pre-U is.. 1 months time.. around that.
Must be more nerve-wrecking for people outside KL/Selangor like you and sikballa(I think).. you people will really be leaving your lives behind earlier.. hehe..
Tzezumi
20-05-2008, 10:18 PM
Hehe, you asked for Australia too during the interview? I did.. but doubt they will take it into consideration.. unless sooo many people asked for UK that they'll actually give Australia to the minority who requested for it.. :P
More curious about my pre-U though. I mean, countries.. that's in 1-2 years time. But pre-U is.. 1 months time.. around that.
Must be more nerve-wrecking for people outside KL/Selangor like you and sikballa(I think).. you people will really be leaving your lives behind earlier.. hehe..
I didn't ask for any country during the interview, I was just busy stating the good points about the countries they were sending us for law. Yeah I guess the pre-U is the main thing now, it sounds like INTEC is quite popular for JPA scholars, I guess we'll be going there if we get UK. Yeah, I guess leaving home will be quite a challenge but lets just take it as a new experience, I never like staying in one place too long, so I'm actually looking forward to stay in a new place, in this case for now, Selangor...but I'll definitely miss my mother's cooking..:cry
ZhannaC
21-05-2008, 12:41 AM
I didn't ask for any country during the interview, I was just busy stating the good points about the countries they were sending us for law. Yeah I guess the pre-U is the main thing now, it sounds like INTEC is quite popular for JPA scholars, I guess we'll be going there if we get UK. Yeah, I guess leaving home will be quite a challenge but lets just take it as a new experience, I never like staying in one place too long, so I'm actually looking forward to stay in a new place, in this case for now, Selangor...but I'll definitely miss my mother's cooking..:cry
But I've not heard of JPA law students being sent to INTEC yet.. that's why I'm not too confident of being sent there..
Tzezumi
21-05-2008, 09:03 PM
But I've not heard of JPA law students being sent to INTEC yet.. that's why I'm not too confident of being sent there..
Where do they usually sent the law students? Do you know any seniors who took up law?
ZhannaC
21-05-2008, 09:20 PM
Where do they usually sent the law students? Do you know any seniors who took up law?
I checked the Scholarship Holders Infobase, and found one one senior.. but he never replied my PM, I think he doesn't visit Recom anymore. I think he did his foundation in Taylors..
And like youngyew said, he had a friend who did foundation in Sunway..
I've asked some seniors from INTEC, they said they never met any law students from their batch.. that's why I said I've not heard of any law student being sent to INTEC yet.. hehe.
Tzezumi
21-05-2008, 09:35 PM
I checked the Scholarship Holders Infobase, and found one one senior.. but he never replied my PM, I think he doesn't visit Recom anymore. I think he did his foundation in Taylors..
And like youngyew said, he had a friend who did foundation in Sunway..
I've asked some seniors from INTEC, they said they never met any law students from their batch.. that's why I said I've not heard of any law student being sent to INTEC yet.. hehe.
It'll be great to get Taylors or Sunway, one thing it won't be so isolated with shopping complex around. But it was stated in the ESILA site that they may sent us to INTEC if we are suppose to go to UK, but maybe it's for the other courses.
ZhannaC
21-05-2008, 10:52 PM
It'll be great to get Taylors or Sunway, one thing it won't be so isolated with shopping complex around. But it was stated in the ESILA site that they may sent us to INTEC if we are suppose to go to UK, but maybe it's for the other courses.
They always mention INTEC, but it's always followed by atau kolej-kolej persediaan lain yang ditetapkan oleh JPA or something like that if you read carefully.. hehe.
Tzezumi
21-05-2008, 11:14 PM
They always mention INTEC, but it's always followed by atau kolej-kolej persediaan lain yang ditetapkan oleh JPA or something like that if you read carefully.. hehe.
Yup, I notice that.
WallJ
22-05-2008, 04:06 PM
well, happy to see all of us getting law scholarship. anybody here got the info on whether we will have to work for government upon graduation? or just have to pay the loan?as i know medical students under PILN must do so. But i am unsure of law scholars.
ZhannaC
22-05-2008, 06:26 PM
well, happy to see all of us getting law scholarship. anybody here got the info on whether we will have to work for government upon graduation? or just have to pay the loan?as i know medical students under PILN must do so. But i am unsure of law scholars.
Pay loan?? It's a scholarship.. not a loan.
I'm not too sure about the bond either, it's hard to find seniors who took law under JPA..
Anyhow, great to meet another fellow law student under JPA! :)
Tzezumi
22-05-2008, 09:39 PM
We will be on the same boat as the Medic Grads. Working as government servant for 6 years which is better than medic grads, 10 years.But think it in a positive way, at least we won't be jobless like most cases now. But there is also a possibility that the government can't find a job for us so we need to find our own job and pay up our 'hutang' but these cases are rare.
ZhannaC
22-05-2008, 10:11 PM
We will be on the same boat as the Medic Grads. Working as government servant for 6 years which is better than medic grads, 10 years.But think it in a positive way, at least we won't be jobless like most cases now. But there is also a possibility that the government can't find a job for us so we need to find our own job and pay up our 'hutang' but these cases are rare.
No.. if there is no job for us, we don't have to pay up.. there's a window period of 6 or 12 months I think.. if JPA doesn't call us to work within that period then we're free of any bond after that..
Tzezumi
22-05-2008, 10:16 PM
No.. if there is no job for us, we don't have to pay up.. there's a window period of 6 or 12 months I think.. if JPA doesn't call us to work within that period then we're free of any bond after that..
So I guess thats better than, we won't be bonded and free to go wherever we wish.
ZhannaC
22-05-2008, 10:26 PM
So I guess thats better than, we won't be bonded and free to go wherever we wish.
I suppose.. although honestly I prefer to work with government than private sector..
WallJ
23-05-2008, 03:27 PM
thanks for all of your information. but regardless of how the bond will be, we still have to wait for the letter, which had made us all tired...wondering when will it actually arrive.
Tzezumi
24-05-2008, 01:40 PM
it takes forever.......the suspense is killing me
lpsoldier007
24-05-2008, 02:26 PM
Good day fellow Recomers...
I have been miraculously given the JPA scholarship to do law in the United Kingdom. I have confirmed my acceptance and is now awaiting further instructions from the JPA.
I have read through the programme structure, and it seems i will be doing a-levels here in Malaysia for a year and a half at an assigned private college. This worries me immensely as i might be sent to some unknown colleges(KT*, InT##) to do my a-levels.
I know that the most important, deciding factor to a success is self initiative, but for the past couple of months i had been doing my a-levels in KDU Penang, a fine college by all points of view. I am afraid of the culture shock i might experience as a result of being sent to a, ahem, lesser college.
Therefore, i hope any of your kind souls would enlighten me about the possible colleges i might be sent to to do my foundation.
Thanks a lot. I appreciate it.
KTT (Kolej Teknologi Timur) n INTEC (International Education Center)
Both are good I think...
extell
24-05-2008, 11:28 PM
Hi guys!~ Gratz first of all for being offered by jpa. I have a question to ask; Are you guys all from science stream?
Sorry for sounding silly. I asked because years back, someone said those in science stream applying for law will be denied a scholarship...
Tzezumi
24-05-2008, 11:39 PM
Hi guys!~ Gratz first of all for being offered by jpa. I have a question to ask; Are you guys all from science stream?
Sorry for sounding silly. I asked because years back, someone said those in science stream applying for law will be denied a scholarship...
Nope, I'm from a pure science class..all chem, bio and physics. I never enjoyed studying any of my science subjects, an A2 for bio anyway, so thats why I applied for law, i guess the biggest mistake of my life is not going to the art class, but I guess I'm lucky to get accepted by JPA to study law.
ZhannaC
25-05-2008, 01:10 AM
I'm a pure Arts student. Hehe. Eng Lit, Bible Knowledge, Geography, Commerce, Accounts, Economics.. :wink
extell
25-05-2008, 08:19 PM
I see... thanks. Just want to confirm..
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 10:23 AM
I just received my letter. =)
Taylors College, country-Australia. Doing SAM. Registration on the 5th July.
Tzezumi
26-05-2008, 11:48 AM
I just received my letter. =)
Taylors College, country-Australia. Doing SAM. Registration on the 5th July.
Same here. Hope to see you there.
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 12:37 PM
Same here. Hope to see you there.
How many months in Australia for you? Mine is 36 months.. but I thought law takes 4 years...
WallJ
26-05-2008, 04:19 PM
hai there, i also got my offer letter.
Australia-36mths
SAM-Taylor's-18 mths
Tzezumi
26-05-2008, 05:30 PM
How many months in Australia for you? Mine is 36 months.. but I thought law takes 4 years...
Same there. Yeah, I thought it'll be 4 years too, maybe they hanged it somehow.I guess its an express study because they want us to come back early to serve the country?But we're just going to Australia to study the basic law studies right? I guess if we want to be specialized in like particular law like criminal law, tort law, property law..etc it'll be longer I guess
hai there, i also got my offer letter.
Australia-36mths
SAM-Taylor's-18 mths
Congrats, I guess almost all of us are going to Taylors for SAM. Lets have a recommers law students gathering..
Oh yeah, if we are taking SAM for law, we have to take up these subjects right? Correct me if I'm wrong.
1. ELS(English)
2. Economics (okay, this will be a problem for me, anyone can tell me what we study for this subject?
3.Accounts(luckily I took this up for an extra subject)
4.Legal Studies (Any explanation for this also?)
5.Mathematical Studies
I'm surprise we're not require to study physcology for law. I guess its not required.
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 05:50 PM
Same there. Yeah, I thought it'll be 4 years too, maybe they hanged it somehow.I guess its an express study because they want us to come back early to serve the country?But we're just going to Australia to study the basic law studies right? I guess if we want to be specialized in like particular law like criminal law, tort law, property law..etc it'll be longer I guess
Congrats, I guess almost all of us are going to Taylors for SAM. Lets have a recommers law students gathering..
Oh yeah, if we are taking SAM for law, we have to take up these subjects right? Correct me if I'm wrong.
1. ELS(English)
2. Economics (okay, this will be a problem for me, anyone can tell me what we study for this subject?
3.Accounts(luckily I took this up for an extra subject)
4.Legal Studies (Any explanation for this also?)
5.Mathematical Studies
I'm surprise we're not require to study physcology for law. I guess its not required.
I would prefer if 4 years lah.. Where can express express one... Means we can't aim for ANU anymore.. I've seen their law program, it's 4 years..
If you look at the application student form from Taylor's you'll notice that for Humanities/Social Science stream, Math isn't compulsory, only ESL. So we may be given psychology instead..
leinad
26-05-2008, 06:13 PM
I'm doing SAM from july intake in taylors now. i know the JPA law seniors here. maybe i should say knew as they are kinda my enemies now keke.
they never visit recom anymore from what i know . haha, so you would have to msn them. i'd tell you all their msn, but i forgot since i deleted them oredi (enemies remember?)\
I'd talk bad about them but this is not the place to do it LOL.
but please, don't become like them once you're finally here at taylors (or any other college for goodness sake)(they are already infamous for their complaining)
and for some usefull info
i guess you will be taking the same subjects as the seniors
1.Maths studies
2.Legal studies
3.Econs
4.Accounting
5.ESL
most probably you all will be in the same class as i dont think there would be alot of you.
even the current JPA seniors doing law only make up half a class. only about 10-15 ppl.
all these if your situation will follow the seniors.
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 06:19 PM
I'm doing SAM from july intake in taylors now. i know the JPA law seniors here. maybe i should say knew as they are kinda my enemies now keke.
they never visit recom anymore from what i know . haha, so you would have to msn them. i'd tell you all their msn, but i forgot since i deleted them oredi (enemies remember?)\
I'd talk bad about them but this is not the place to do it LOL.
but please, don't become like them once you're finally here at taylors (or any other college for goodness sake)(they are already infamous for their complaining)
Complaining? ... :huh Gee hope I don't become hated too. Haha!
Haha. Hey I've got a question to ask.. do they(your enemies, the JPA law scholars) have to take Math for SAM? Do you know what subjects they take?
I duwan Math. :( Haha. thanks. :P
leinad
26-05-2008, 06:22 PM
Ahh , scholars in the july intake here have been given a bad name due to those certain jpa law senior as they look down towards the january intake. i've comfirmed rumours of a rivalry between the july law students (jpa) J8 and the january intake of L1.
it'll be fun.
and btw
ESL and maths studies are COMPULSORY subjeccts for all streams in SAM
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 06:30 PM
and btw
ESL and maths studies are COMPULSORY subjeccts for all streams in SAM
But according to the Taylor's Student Application Form(or something like that) Math is only compulsory for business and arts stream... NOT for humanities/social science stream...
:(
leinad
26-05-2008, 06:35 PM
yeah i know, but i think the sponsor want you to take it. they will be the one setting your subjects.
All i know is every sponsored student in my july intake takes 5 subjects and Maths and eSL are compulsory for us.
u know la , we must follow what our sponsors wishes
btw , why you hate it so much?? its practically the same like SPM to me.
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 06:49 PM
yeah i know, but i think the sponsor want you to take it. they will be the one setting your subjects.
All i know is every sponsored student in my july intake takes 5 subjects and Maths and eSL are compulsory for us.
u know la , we must follow what our sponsors wishes
btw , why you hate it so much?? its practically the same like SPM to me.
:( I don't like Math. I had trouble with Math since form 2. Haha.
Yeah I suppose they'll want us to take.. *sigh* Psychology would be better for law though..:oh
You talk as if you aren't under JPA.. so are you under any sponsor?
Tzezumi
26-05-2008, 06:55 PM
Is it possible for me to replace Economics with psychology? I don't really mind maths but I never study econs be4 maybe it'll be a problem.
Wor, sounds like a real battle for the law students...I guess its best to ignore that?haha..sounds scary..I guess best for us to just care bout out studies..
leinad
26-05-2008, 07:08 PM
lol the only jpa scholars here in my july intake here in taylors are from the accounting and law stream.
i'm under petronas , engineering stream
if you got inqueries on your subjects you should talk to your sponsors and the college.
ZhannaC
26-05-2008, 07:13 PM
I checked a whole list of law schools in Australia here (http://www.cald.asn.au/slia/LawSchoolsList.asp). Out of the whole list, only four universities have a 3 year course(University of New England, University of Sydney, University of Western Sydney) and Bond University(2 years 8 months)! The rest are at least 4 years. I hope JPA made a mistake there...
Is it possible for me to replace Economics with psychology? I don't really mind maths but I never study econs be4 maybe it'll be a problem.
Wor, sounds like a real battle for the law students...I guess its best to ignore that?haha..sounds scary..I guess best for us to just care bout out studies..
I don't think they'll allow us to change..
Nah, we just don't cause trouble. Haha. No no no of course we can't just care about our studies! Where's the fun in life then!!! :))
lol the only jpa scholars here in my july intake here in taylors are from the accounting and law stream.
i'm under petronas , engineering stream
if you got inqueries on your subjects you should talk to your sponsors and the college.
Nah I was just hoping to hear some good news about not needing to take Math. :P Will let JPA break the bad news to me when I'm in Taylor's. Haha.
Tzezumi
26-05-2008, 07:20 PM
Of course to have fun...but not till I get hated..sweat..tats never good man..
kaera
26-05-2008, 07:33 PM
I checked a whole list of law schools in Australia here (http://www.cald.asn.au/slia/LawSchoolsList.asp). Out of the whole list, only four universities have a 3 year course(University of New England, University of Sydney, University of Western Sydney) and Bond University(2 years 8 months)! The rest are at least 4 years. I hope JPA made a mistake there...
you can ask to extend your scholarship if you get into an IVY league standard Uni. So ANU is still in the picture. Esp if the Uni doesnt accept credit transfers. Im not sure about SAM but I read that it works that way for USA unis.
white_clouds2903
27-05-2008, 12:34 PM
Hi everyone, I'm from Sabah. Gonna do SAM at Taylor's too. Hope to see u all there!
Tzezumi
27-05-2008, 02:31 PM
Hi everyone, I'm from Sabah. Gonna do SAM at Taylor's too. Hope to see u all there!
Hope to meet you there to.:)
WallJ
27-05-2008, 06:28 PM
Glad to see more jpa law scholars. but i wonder why doesn't there much UK-bound psd(jpa)-sponsored law scholars?
And for another unrelated concern, I also do not understand why law students-to-be under SAM must take Mathematical Studies.
Glassylicious
27-05-2008, 06:35 PM
Glad to see more jpa law scholars. but i wonder why doesn't there much UK-bound psd(jpa)-sponsored law scholars?
And for another unrelated concern, I also do not understand why law students-to-be under SAM must take Mathematical Studies.
Well, the amount of scholarships allocated for Law are small enough to begin with, and not to mention JPA is trying to cut down the amount of scholars they're sending to the UK.
And for your second question, I believe Math is an important subject anyway. Teaches you to work your way to find a solution after analyzing the information you're given. Teaches you to think rationally. Just because one is not going to learn any mathematical component in an actual Law degree, doesn't mean one can't take Math.
And at worst, one may actually be at a disadvantage without Maths when it comes to university applications. I know of a few really prestigious universities which take in very, very few students without Mathematics in their pre-uni course subjects.
WallJ
27-05-2008, 06:59 PM
Well, it is understandable that Math really poses important and strong foundation for students especially for those wanting to participate in the corporate world (including some lawyers).
But it would be better if students are allowed to choose subjects according to personal ambitions and passion. It is not that i don like Maths, i consider myself as consistently well in the said subject (at secondary school level, of course).
Math is much relevant to those students (including lawyers-to-be) aiming to specialize in corporate field. And for the general group of law students, something like Psychology or Human Behaviour would most likely being accepted as common subject, regardless of their future specialization. But this excludes those studying law as add-ons to their existing careers, namely accountants, executives or managers.
white_clouds2903
28-05-2008, 03:59 PM
Has anyone of you filled up the application form for Taylor's yet? What subjects did you pick?
Tzezumi
28-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Has anyone of you filled up the application form for Taylor's yet? What subjects did you pick?
The ones required for Law. Econs, accounts, english, legal studies and mathematical studies
ZhannaC
28-05-2008, 09:21 PM
JPA picks for us. :)
That's what happened for previous years anyway.
WallJ
29-05-2008, 10:25 AM
JPA picks for us. :)
that's true because when i approached taylor's office in penang, they told me this also.
But when i ask why we have to do 6 months longer than other SAM students, they say we have to because we cannot catch up the exam date. I thought we have to do 6 months of english preparotory course?
ZhannaC
29-05-2008, 12:33 PM
that's true because when i approached taylor's office in penang, they told me this also.
But when i ask why we have to do 6 months longer than other SAM students, they say we have to because we cannot catch up the exam date. I thought we have to do 6 months of english preparotory course?
Yep, we have 6 months of learning English. Correct! Hehe. I believe July intake SAM students have an exam after 1 year usually.. Different from the Jan/March intake.. not too sure though.
But yes, we do have to learn English. :amuse
sikballa
29-05-2008, 01:40 PM
Nope, I'm from a pure science class..all chem, bio and physics. I never enjoyed studying any of my science subjects, an A2 for bio anyway, so thats why I applied for law, i guess the biggest mistake of my life is not going to the art class, but I guess I'm lucky to get accepted by JPA to study law.
same here dude...i did not enjoy science...i was..and still is...an arts person.
Complaining? ... :huh Gee hope I don't become hated too. Haha!
Haha. Hey I've got a question to ask.. do they(your enemies, the JPA law scholars) have to take Math for SAM? Do you know what subjects they take?
I duwan Math. :( Haha. thanks. :P
Me too...i'd take psychology anytime
econs is actually not that bad...if you were always interested in how the economies around the world tick...you would enjoy it...
i did it for 3 months in a-levels while waiting for the scholarship results...pretty tough though...lots of memorising...but since we are gonna do law,,,i guess that is something we have to be very accustomed to...
I am glad to hear that there is a number of us that are gonna do law in australia. ZhannaC, Tzezumi, WallJ....i am really looking forward to meeting you guys in taylors come july...hope we can catch a drink together...thanks for actively involving yourself in my thread mates(lol). You guys have been very informative.
Now, time for me to tell you guys the bits of info i have been able to get my hands on...
First and foremost...i have been told by my lecturers in KDU that SAM is only slightly tougher than SPM...the reading/exam part anyway...we will have to hand in truckloads of assignments/projects..which will make a huge bulk of our results....
another thing is...in order to get into the more prestigious australian uni's...our marks will need to be next to perfect..bloody hell...i am talking bout 90+ out of 100...
I read that there are only a few uni's that let us finish our law degrees in 3 years...as stated in our official letter...the only prestigious one is Sydney U right? holy crap....we are gonna have to work our butts off for a place...I hope jpa has made a mistake in this respect...
to every other jpa scholars doing law..i hope we can meet up, hook up, and become comrades in our pursuit o a law degree...lets brave the storm together...hopefully all of us will get a place in a prestigious uni in aussie-land.
chowz....
Tzezumi
29-05-2008, 05:57 PM
same here dude...i did not enjoy science...i was..and still is...an arts person.
Me too...i'd take psychology anytime
econs is actually not that bad...if you were always interested in how the economies around the world tick...you would enjoy it...
i did it for 3 months in a-levels while waiting for the scholarship results...pretty tough though...lots of memorising...but since we are gonna do law,,,i guess that is something we have to be very accustomed to...
I am glad to hear that there is a number of us that are gonna do law in australia. ZhannaC, Tzezumi, WallJ....i am really looking forward to meeting you guys in taylors come july...hope we can catch a drink together...thanks for actively involving yourself in my thread mates(lol). You guys have been very informative.
Now, time for me to tell you guys the bits of info i have been able to get my hands on...
First and foremost...i have been told by my lecturers in KDU that SAM is only slightly tougher than SPM...the reading/exam part anyway...we will have to hand in truckloads of assignments/projects..which will make a huge bulk of our results....
another thing is...in order to get into the more prestigious australian uni's...our marks will need to be next to perfect..bloody hell...i am talking bout 90+ out of 100...
I read that there are only a few uni's that let us finish our law degrees in 3 years...as stated in our official letter...the only prestigious one is Sydney U right? holy crap....we are gonna have to work our butts off for a place...I hope jpa has made a mistake in this respect...
to every other jpa scholars doing law..i hope we can meet up, hook up, and become comrades in our pursuit o a law degree...lets brave the storm together...hopefully all of us will get a place in a prestigious uni in aussie-land.
chowz....
Haha, I'm no dude just a dudette, but, yes lets say "no" to science.
I hope to meet you guys/gals there on the registration date, it'll be cool to get some friends first even b4 we start.
JPA picks for us.
So, we just leave the subjects column in the application form empty 4 SAM?
ZhannaC
29-05-2008, 09:20 PM
So, we just leave the subjects column in the application form empty 4 SAM?
Don't know?
I haven't even gone through the documents thoroughly. :( So many forms it's overly overwhelming. :wuss
m also a jpa law scholar, will be doin sam in taylor oso........
but still cant decide whether to accept the scholarship onot........
nadia.g
01-06-2008, 05:19 PM
hye.. sorry. altho im not taking law. jus wondering. do u all haf bonding to work with the govt? if so, r u guys going to be the DPP?
WallJ
02-06-2008, 10:22 AM
hye.. sorry. altho im not taking law. jus wondering. do u all haf bonding to work with the govt? if so, r u guys going to be the DPP?
Yes, we do have 6 or 7 year bond to the Government.
On your curiosity on the DPP job, I personally do not believe we are going to be given the job directly upon graduation. Maybe we will have to start from the bottom in the hierarchy. By the way, not long ago the Government had introduced the position of APP(Assistant Public Prosecutor). Maybe we will work in that capacity, if you want to predict what will our job be like.
But all these are my personal views, and i welcome any correction on these.
jamesgan
03-06-2008, 06:15 PM
hey guys, i m ur senior who is doin sam(law) in taylors. i m here to share v u wat i m doin, hope can help.we wil b studying 18 months in taylors, tat means fr 12 months sylabus wil stretch to 18 months. u all wil b staing in ridzuan condo,in sunway n bus survice is provided for u to go to col in subang jaya. 7 ppl in 1 unit,no air cond no internet(streamyx can apply ur own). in our contract, it has stated that we wil study in aus for 4 yrs,48 months.tat makes me wonder y ur contract is 36 months.so i suggest u guys betta contact jpa officer to comfirm the detail.
Tzezumi
03-06-2008, 07:26 PM
hey guys, i m ur senior who is doin sam(law) in taylors. i m here to share v u wat i m doin, hope can help.we wil b studying 18 months in taylors, tat means fr 12 months sylabus wil stretch to 18 months. u all wil b staing in ridzuan condo,in sunway n bus survice is provided for u to go to col in subang jaya. 7 ppl in 1 unit,no air cond no internet(streamyx can apply ur own). in our contract, it has stated that we wil study in aus for 4 yrs,48 months.tat makes me wonder y ur contract is 36 months.so i suggest u guys betta contact jpa officer to comfirm the detail.
What are the subjects are we suppose to take up for SAM? Thanks a lot for the info.
WallJ
03-06-2008, 08:10 PM
I remembered I saw the words Myplace Apartment in the top of the letter "check-in advice" Taylor's Residences sent to us together with the whole JPA documents. i thought we will be going to stay there.
jamesgan
04-06-2008, 12:32 AM
I remembered I saw the words Myplace Apartment in the top of the letter "check-in advice" Taylor's Residences sent to us together with the whole JPA documents. i thought we will be going to stay there.
for law,we wil b taking legal studies, econ,math, english as second language, accounting studies.
for accounting, all the same except they wil b taking specialist math instead of legal studies.
i blif u all got 2 envelopes rite?1 fr jpa n 1 fr taylors.inside the taylors envelope,we hv some forms,u guys betta fill it up.i knew thr r few places for us to choose,but tt form is for private students.since we r scholar,our sponsor wil choose for us.like my case,all of the jpa students wil go to ridzuan condo.
it is recomended tat u all prepare around rm1000,for hostel deposit,library deposit n graphic calculator.the rest don hv to worry much,taylors is very prestigous col,service nt bad.
skygurl89
07-06-2008, 12:47 PM
hey i was told by my friend who's a student helper in taylor's residence that the new scholars will be placed in casa subang. everything will be brand new i guess *wink*
btw,im also yr senior scholar doing law in taylors.
the library deposit in taylor, from wat i heard cost about 900 dolar per annum. so is it we hav to pay ourselves or government will pay for it?
jamesgan
12-06-2008, 08:54 PM
the library deposit in taylor, from wat i heard cost about 900 dolar per annum. so is it we hav to pay ourselves or government will pay for it?
library deposit we hv to pay for ourselve,is refundable. regarding the amount of deposit, i m nt very sure about it, but i paid rm400 for library deposit n 250(forget for wat).so u all can prepare cheaque to pay it some other days after registration
avazaviera
14-06-2008, 01:27 PM
Hey guys! I'm so happy i found this thread.
I also got the JPA scholarship to do law and shall be headed to Taylors to do SAM. Same as all of you guys. :))
I agree with all that's been said, let's keep in touch and exchange emails. We can like chat on msn and get to know each other. that way during orientation we won;t look like Primary 1 students! haha, all malu-malu kuching with no friends....yet :P
I called Taylors residence up a few days ago. And it's true what one of the seniors said, we're gonna stay at the Casa apartments. I had no idea it was new *grins*
And i also called one of the counselors from Taylors to ask about our subjects. We need to take ELS, Math, Legal Studies, Econs and Accounts right? I don't want account :cry I want psychology instead. So i asked him about this and he said. It's hard to say, cause ur under a scholarship. They'll determine whether u can change ur subject or not. But frankly, i don;t think they'll allow la :(
Anyway, ii'm glad to have met u all, ZhannaC, WallJ, Tzezumi, White_cloud2903,Sikballa and lerk (hope i didn't forget anybody)!!
I'm Diyana btw. Staying in JB currently :P
Tzezumi
14-06-2008, 04:04 PM
I also got the JPA scholarship to do law and shall be headed to Taylors to do SAM. Same as all of you guys. :))
I agree with all that's been said, let's keep in touch and exchange emails. We can like chat on msn and get to know each other. that way during orientation we won;t look like Primary 1 students! haha, all malu-malu kuching with no friends....yet :P
I called Taylors residence up a few days ago. And it's true what one of the seniors said, we're gonna stay at the Casa apartments. I had no idea it was new *grins*
And i also called one of the counselors from Taylors to ask about our subjects. We need to take ELS, Math, Legal Studies, Econs and Accounts right? I don't want account :cry I want psychology instead. So i asked him about this and he said. It's hard to say, cause ur under a scholarship. They'll determine whether u can change ur subject or not. But frankly, i don;t think they'll allow la :(
Anyway, ii'm glad to have met u all, ZhannaC, WallJ, Tzezumi, White_cloud2903,Sikballa and lerk (hope i didn't forget anybody)!!
Yay! New adition. I want to drop Econs... But i heard Casa got no washing machine and quite far sumemre. You can add me in Msn..just click on my profile, its great to make some friends first before the orientation.
halo nice to meet u ya...
ya i heard tat casa is far from college and have no washing machine...
which make me quite sad...how do we goin to survive without washing machine?
Tzezumi
14-06-2008, 06:42 PM
halo nice to meet u ya...
ya i heard tat casa is far from college and have no washing machine...
which make me quite sad...how do we goin to survive without washing machine?
Hand wash? I know there's a dobi near the college, but I don't know how much they charge.
avazaviera
14-06-2008, 11:17 PM
ayooo, no washing machine? hand wash is ok. but VERY tiring when you have a lot of clothes and all. =/
i was also thinking about food. sure there are many places we can eat but once in awhile it would be nice to cook and stuff. lol.
WallJ
16-06-2008, 05:35 PM
hello. nice to meet more of you. And thanks for mentioning my id. wat an honour. haha. well, let's befriend!
jamesgan
17-06-2008, 05:37 PM
hey all future juniors....guess u all muz b anxious bout ur accomodation rite? little update for u all(gd news + bad news). u all will b able to enjoy free astro n wireless internet connection(is so unfair!!! to us).however, 1 bad news for u guys is don hv washing machine in the unit.so,wash ur own clothes o send to laundry. u guys hv to wake up very early in future as casa subang is further than ridzuan. taylors wil provide shuttle bus for u all.tis is wat i heard fr taylors resident manager, was busy with my own condo, n kepoh for u guys at the same time. oya, additional info, u guys wil hv free lunch n tea during registration day.
u r nt allow to change for the subjects in the package.i hv tried to ask b4 last yr, i hv exactly the same tot as avazaviera, thinking to gv up econ o acc to change for pyscho(which i blif wil b more relevant). tat all fr me, hope is useful to u guys.c ya
Tzezumi
17-06-2008, 05:49 PM
hey all future juniors....guess u all muz b anxious bout ur accomodation rite? little update for u all(gd news + bad news). u all will b able to enjoy free astro n wireless internet connection(is so unfair!!! to us).however, 1 bad news for u guys is don hv washing machine in the unit.so,wash ur own clothes o send to laundry. u guys hv to wake up very early in future as casa subang is further than ridzuan. taylors wil provide shuttle bus for u all.tis is wat i heard fr taylors resident manager, was busy with my own condo, n kepoh for u guys at the same time. oya, additional info, u guys wil hv free lunch n tea during registration day.
u r nt allow to change for the subjects in the package.i hv tried to ask b4 last yr, i hv exactly the same tot as avazaviera, thinking to gv up econ o acc to change for pyscho(which i blif wil b more relevant). tat all fr me, hope is useful to u guys.c ya
Free wireless? Yesh!!! Thanks for the info. But no washing machine is the big problem. sigh.
avazaviera
17-06-2008, 06:50 PM
hello. nice to meet more of you. And thanks for mentioning my id. wat an honour. haha. well, let's befriend!
haha, no problemo! =p
any of u future classmates got msn? lol.
omg free astro and wireless? :)) suddenly i'm all happy bout going to college. haha. btw, will we have stoves to cook?
btw, in which section is the casa apartments? is there a lot of food outlets there? :huh
thanks a lot for all the info!! :)
Tzezumi
17-06-2008, 08:38 PM
haha, no problemo! =p
any of u future classmates got msn? lol.
omg free astro and wireless? :)) suddenly i'm all happy bout going to college. haha. btw, will we have stoves to cook?
btw, in which section is the casa apartments? is there a lot of food outlets there? :huh
thanks a lot for all the info!! :)
Here's the link about Casa Subang(got it frm the Chat forum, thanks to the recommer for the link):
http://www.westminster.edu.my/images/accommodation.pdf
Looks really nice like paradise...but somehow I don't really believe the pictures..XD Haha, no offense for the person who did this.:nod
avazaviera
18-06-2008, 01:39 AM
omg, no way.
so cantik la!! i doubt it will be 'that' pretty. but it looks very good. better than most accomadations for students. like the matriks students or local uni.
clarrie93
13-05-2011, 02:35 PM
would this year PILN LAW also get the same privilege? :huh
....ah...this thread has been dead for 3 years.....:cry
MrHoww
13-05-2011, 03:20 PM
The invasion of MrHoww in this thread!!~
chivalrybasterd
14-05-2011, 08:05 AM
Hey, anybody here got the law scholarship this year? I didn't get it myself, but I am very curious.
jessica9310
14-05-2011, 08:27 AM
Hey, anybody here got the law scholarship this year? I didn't get it myself, but I am very curious.
"Oh great, I am now in a dilemma...9A+ and an A for Chinese, applying UK Law for JPA, finally turn out to be Medicine in Monash University... anyway, thank God for everything!!! " quoted from my fb status, lol^^
Yup, any recomers here got UK Law???
amara93
14-05-2011, 10:31 AM
I'm curious, too... Is JPA actually giving ANY PILN scholarships for Law students. None of my friends who got 9A+ (and bumi, some more) actually got it.
All of us only managed to obtain the PIDN thing.
thewondersoflife
14-05-2011, 11:22 PM
hmm i did get law to the uk. i wonder who else got it...
chivalrybasterd
15-05-2011, 01:57 PM
Haha..glad to know there is at least one here. I applied, but only got PIDN. Sad, but felt bad about complaining. Used up my special privilege card.
jessica9310
15-05-2011, 02:37 PM
so goodd~~ may I know how's your SPM results? >.<:P
thewondersoflife
16-05-2011, 10:15 PM
isnt that like great that you got medicine instead? i got 9A+ and an A for bio...
christan93
18-05-2011, 09:46 PM
anyone here getting piln for law to uk? i got it and have to study A-level at help university college for 1.5 years starting july... i went through all the replies and i noticed that all of you will be heading to australia... ><
finally found one...
nly_yean
04-06-2011, 11:41 PM
anyone here getting piln for law to uk? i got it and have to study A-level at help university college for 1.5 years starting july... i went through all the replies and i noticed that all of you will be heading to australia... ><
finally found one...
hello everyone! i'm new here! i'm also going to do law in uk and a-levels in help university college! :)
By the way, intec n sunway person-in-charge called my friends up to confirm about their acceptance.....has anyone received any call from help uni? :huh
christan93
06-06-2011, 02:00 AM
hello everyone! i'm new here! i'm also going to do law in uk and a-levels in help university college! :)
By the way, intec n sunway person-in-charge called my friends up to confirm about their acceptance.....has anyone received any call from help uni? :huh
I also haven't receive any call or letter or email from help. I think we will get the call or letter sooner or later. Just be patient. Lol :)
nly_yean
06-06-2011, 04:13 PM
christan93, mind if i add u on facebook? wads ur email add? =)
christan93
06-06-2011, 04:50 PM
christan93, mind if i add u on facebook? wads ur email add? =)
I have sent you a private message. =)
babymekimmy
11-12-2011, 04:18 PM
HEY! I'm sitting for SPM in 2012. Is the application for JPA still the same till now? Or has it changed? Reading this thread was really useful but its a little outdated don't you think? Is there a newer thread?
frostbyte13
11-12-2011, 08:16 PM
We're not even sure if there will even be a JPA scholarship scheme for SPM-leavers next year :oh
Archangel
11-12-2011, 08:21 PM
I don't think there will be. Hasn't the government said it will only be given to those undergraduate students and above that level?
babymekimmy
12-12-2011, 10:27 AM
yeah, thats why! i heard that too. so, i mean, its confirmed? haiyooo. *faints :\
Garfield93
12-12-2011, 12:59 PM
but mind you, there has been no official bulletin or press release on the esila website or jpa page thus far. so.... u'll never know~
Archangel
12-12-2011, 01:31 PM
True...we won't know until next year's SPM results are out. Sigh. Does make me wonder what I'll get.
babymekimmy
12-12-2011, 01:35 PM
what a messed up system.
frostbyte13
12-12-2011, 01:54 PM
In a way, giving loads more of SPM-leaver scholarships than compared to undergraduate scholarships is a little mean too. You have to remember which should costs more and that it is easier to judge which undergraduate candidates who are the cream of the crop than through SPM, a system that is losing it's credibility exponentially. Which is why many people welcome the move to cut sponsorship for SPM-leavers and even less overseas scholarships for that matter, in order to retain talent and to fill our local tertiary institutions instead of sending them overseas, with the hopes of never returning.
Archangel
12-12-2011, 06:30 PM
what a messed up system.
you said it. But somehow, giving scholarships to SPM leavers might be a little unfair. They may be awesome at SPM level, but they may drop when at pre-U studies. Have seen it happen before. The government wants only the best that comes out of university degrees, not pre-U. They're not going to waste money on people who are just going to get lousy results at pre-U and later undergraduate level.
babymekimmy
13-12-2011, 10:34 PM
Well yeah, but still they should balance it. Not cut it when they like, and resume it when they like again. Ohh, those people doing excellent for SPM but failing at university's worldwide is no foreign matter already. This issue has been around for years :3
Gwen5680
14-12-2011, 12:16 AM
I have not sat for SPM yet but IMHO I think it's actually a good decision for the government to stop sponsoring spm leavers . Students who are taking pre-u make a lot of effort (not trying to say that spm students do not do so) and spend a lot of money to take test like SAT , TOEFL etc etc in order to get into top universities . It's unfair to see many potential students who gained admission into top universities but end up not going to the top uni due to financial problem :)
frostbyte13
14-12-2011, 01:38 PM
I have not sat for SPM yet but IMHO I think it's actually a good decision for the government to stop sponsoring spm leavers . Students who are taking pre-u make a lot of effort (not trying to say that spm students do not do so) and spend a lot of money to take test like SAT , TOEFL etc etc in order to get into top universities . It's unfair to see many potential students who gained admission into top universities but end up not going to the top uni due to financial problem :)
Well, good for you that you realized this problem despite being just a secondary school student. In reality, many do not, in fact, many selfish students pride themselves into thinking the JPA scholarship for SPM-leavers as a God-given right for them to continue their education.
My friend's school (friend is in the same age group as me) had plenty of people who said they did not care what the real purpose of the scholarship was, just as long as they got the scholarship. Not all of them were suffering financially, but they just wanted the scholarship as a means of getting a free ride to education. They had no real dreams of serving the government, which my friend told me, some had already started making plans on how to ditch the scholarship halfway in their country of choice or how to win over the affections of their intern company to buy over their bond.
Gwen5680
14-12-2011, 01:50 PM
Well, good for you that you realized this problem despite being just a secondary school student. In reality, many do not, in fact, many selfish students pride themselves into thinking the JPA scholarship for SPM-leavers as a God-given right for them to continue their education.
My friend's school (friend is in the same age group as me) had plenty of people who said they did not care what the real purpose of the scholarship was, just as long as they got the scholarship. Not all of them were suffering financially, but they just wanted the scholarship as a means of getting a free ride to education. They had no real dreams of serving the government, which my friend told me, some had already started making plans on how to ditch the scholarship halfway in their country of choice or how to win over the affections of their intern company to buy over their bond.
I feel really sick that whenever I ask around my friends what their plans are after SPM and they will give me answer like "wait for JPA or apply for JPA etc.." They are only waiting for JPA to make a clear path for them and spoon feed them every single information about their further studies . They just want to choose a course and follow whatever JPA asks them to do .
frostbyte13
14-12-2011, 02:24 PM
I feel really sick that whenever I ask around my friends what their plans are after SPM and they will give me answer like "wait for JPA or apply for JPA etc.." They are only waiting for JPA to make a clear path for them and spoon feed them every single information about their further studies . They just want to choose a course and follow whatever JPA asks them to do .
Well, I don't know your friends, so best not to judge them. Especially, since some people need to rely on JPA honestly because they do not have a financial means that is sturdy enough to support them all the way until they finish their university. Some of my friends under financial constraints, were willing to study anything that the sponsor tells them to, as long as they get sponsored. To some people, getting an education despite it being against your interest is more important.
acgerlok7
14-12-2011, 03:27 PM
you said it. But somehow, giving scholarships to SPM leavers might be a little unfair. They may be awesome at SPM level, but they may drop when at pre-U studies. Have seen it happen before. The government wants only the best that comes out of university degrees, not pre-U. They're not going to waste money on people who are just going to get lousy results at pre-U and later undergraduate level.
I totally agree with you..im not mentioning race here but yes, i do notice that in my college , certain students that had obtained a very prestigious scholarship, possibly the best in the country, goes on to flunk her AS, only to retake everything again..Well, if it's just the results, that will not fetch much dissatisfaction to me, as everyone deserve a second chance, but instead throughout the semesters, she had shown a very bad atitude in learning, she skipped classes frequently, smokes, well...not participating in class and worst of all, fell asleep right in the face o our lecturer. Our lecturer do try to make an effort to rectify her attitude but were all in vain.
Although most of the scholars are very studious and seriously made me guilty of not following their example, there are one or two bad apples that truly disheartened me. Whatmore she( the mentioned scholar) had told me before that she don't even intend to work for the supposed sponsors and has the intention to break the bond .C'mon man..be greatful to your sponsors. there are thousands if not hundred thousands out there vying to get the scholarship but failed. Some had sleepless nights, some sobbed, some slaughter themselves to pursue thier education and these guys just goes on to think that scholarship is indeed THEIR GOD-FORSAKEN privilege.:mad
Archangel
14-12-2011, 05:12 PM
I totally agree with you..im not mentioning race here but yes, i do notice that in my college , certain students that had obtained a very prestigious scholarship, possibly the best in the country, goes on to flunk her AS, only to retake everything again..Well, if it's just the results, that will not fetch much dissatisfaction to me, as everyone deserve a second chance, but instead throughout the semesters, she had shown a very bad atitude in learning, she skipped classes frequently, smokes, well...not participating in class and worst of all, fell asleep right in the face o our lecturer. Our lecturer do try to make an effort to rectify her attitude but were all in vain.
Although most of the scholars are very studious and seriously made me guilty of not following their example, there are one or two bad apples that truly disheartened me. Whatmore she( the mentioned scholar) had told me before that she don't even intend to work for the supposed sponsors and has the intention to break the bond .C'mon man..be greatful to your sponsors. there are thousands if not hundred thousands out there vying to get the scholarship but failed. Some had sleepless nights, some sobbed, some slaughter themselves to pursue thier education and these guys just goes on to think that scholarship is indeed THEIR GOD-FORSAKEN privilege.:mad
I second that. Urgh, did she really do that? Gosh, the college should make a report to her sponsors. Probably dissolving her contract would be a good method?
acgerlok7
14-12-2011, 08:39 PM
I second that. Urgh, did she really do that? Gosh, the college should make a report to her sponsors. Probably dissolving her contract would be a good method?
Well...in some cases, its easier said than done...it depends on skin colour if u get what i mean...anyway, i couldn't care less about her anymore, its her own future nonetheless. What i need to make sure is that this shall be a bad example i should not follow and do my own part in life to succeed.
frostbyte13
14-12-2011, 10:10 PM
JPA will never have the heart to cut off their sponsorship completely based on academics. The only way to get yourself cut of is that you say something bad about the government or civil servants in public. That's all. Besides, even if that person you are talking about fails to meet the cut-off point later, the worst possible scenario is just being relocated with sponsorship maintained. My college's most recent senior batch that just left on JPA sponsorship, some failed to meet their requirements. They are just simply relocated, and in fact, one of them is requesting a switch of course. Unfair as that sounds but, what to do. Malaysia memang boleh haha. Although some of the scholars will not welcome news like this, some don't really mind.
Archangel
15-12-2011, 09:33 AM
Wow. I didn't know any of that. Thanks for the info =)
frostbyte13
16-12-2011, 10:50 PM
Wow. I didn't know any of that. Thanks for the info =)
Then again, take every word I say or anyone who says about JPA with a pinch of salt. They are sporadic in their decisions, unpredictable.