View Full Version : JPA Scholarship For Biotechnology
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 01:19 PM
lets discuss about biotech! im a officially a biotech jpa scholar i wish to get to know others so that we could get a fresh start at college!
i dont wanna be someone who doesnt know anybody in college! lets be friendS!!
btw, BIOTECH ROCKS!!
the future technology! we are the ones whos gonna make a change in this world in the future! hopefully!! yay biotech!
sonatinalai
14-05-2008, 09:09 PM
Hi! I've also got the JPA offer for Biotechnology. I'm from Kajang town in Selangor. Nice to meet you here!
eM-syaph
14-05-2008, 09:13 PM
whollaa!finally....
thread yg dnanti-nantikan..hahah:P
m a biotchnician tu(ceh prasan)..yea lets be lab partner..hua3
..so eager to study bio+biotech!!
huhu..
hajimemashite..im from raub(remote place), pahang
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:16 PM
later when results are out lets meet uplaa! im hoping to get american degree program in intec! yay!
biotech rocks!
eM-syaph
14-05-2008, 09:41 PM
i wan bloody alvel..UK..hopefully..
yay!
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:42 PM
i can do uk us..
hope they dont sen canada! noo!
eM-syaph
14-05-2008, 09:46 PM
why not ey?wths wrng wth cnnada?
hey i read ur post tht u wan to be a gntic ngineer..biotch oso can do wut..later u'll stdy about gnetics, n u'll freaky manipulating them!
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:50 PM
yeah i know, but if i take genetic earlier less headache and specify already!
biotech learns everything! pening! hahaha!!
well, im aiming for top unis.. canada doesnt have one, but be gratefulla with what i get right?
besides, another reason, if get us, 1 year foundation! uk 2 year! canada 1.5 year!
i wan 1 year!haha!
eM-syaph
14-05-2008, 10:34 PM
not too vrythg..
75% are about gntcs..'korek' me iv im wrong..huhu
are u so sure by applying for so-called engineer, will dirctly merges u to 'genetics' ngineering??
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 10:45 PM
dunno
got my fren whos doin japanse engineerin jpa
he got senior in genetic and bioengineerin!
cool!
huhuhu anyway, biotechs a gud route too!
lets make in change in msias society who are skeptical wo biotech!
=)
eM-syaph
14-05-2008, 10:57 PM
absobloodylutely coowl!! no doubt..huhu
ya..no biotch, no imprvemnt...hahah..tht makes a prfect motto
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 11:09 PM
agree agree! haih cant wait jpa offer letter! wanna know where we get!
*clep morosely signs in to this thread*
Another future biotechnologist reporting for duty.
I have a question for the seniors: does JPA only agree to send you to universities which have a program exactly named 'Biotechnology'? Because most of the better and higher-tier unis do NOT have a program with that exact name, only more general names like Biology etc. I don't want to end up at some wierd university due to technicalities like that.
*back to studying for Physics exam, which is in a few hours time*
artistic1412
15-05-2008, 10:18 AM
yeah.. actually ive only seen stuffs like biochemistry, biomedicines and molecular bio!
never biotech? hmmmm?
eM-syaph
15-05-2008, 11:04 AM
biotch presents in;
-The University of Manchester
-Imperial College London
-lpastu banyak lagi lah..malas nak cari.. =p
u may not find biotech, but try to look under LIFE SCIENCES..ussully biotch falls under life sciences department/fculty/program/school/undergraduate study/course/whtever...dun worry to much..
artistic1412
15-05-2008, 11:09 AM
really? hope ivy league has em!
i soo wanna go there!
Appolo
19-05-2008, 09:35 AM
*clep morosely signs in to this thread*
Another future biotechnologist reporting for duty.
I have a question for the seniors: does JPA only agree to send you to universities which have a program exactly named 'Biotechnology'? Because most of the better and higher-tier unis do NOT have a program with that exact name, only more general names like Biology etc. I don't want to end up at some wierd university due to technicalities like that.
*back to studying for Physics exam, which is in a few hours time*
Yup, that should be the general case but you can always try to outsmart JPA(in a way) by picking courses that do not have the biotech label and argue that the courses are much competitive and hard.Normally, the officer would consider to change your major just like that.
As for weird names universities, some unis are not defined by fame and prestige.Some state universities(since JPA insist on students doing transfer) offers either an undergrad experience or research universities.When you're there, I believe as a biotech major, it should be the research opportunities that matters more.
Yup, that should be the general case but you can always try to outsmart JPA(in a way) by picking courses that do not have the biotech label and argue that the courses are much competitive and hard.Normally, the officer would consider to change your major just like that.
As for weird names universities, some unis are not defined by fame and prestige.Some state universities(since JPA insist on students doing transfer) offers either an undergrad experience or research universities.When you're there, I believe as a biotech major, it should be the research opportunities that matters more.
Good point there. I need to start becoming more open-minded :)
heffalump
28-05-2008, 03:08 PM
HEY THERE!!
i'm under jpa for biotechnology too..
i got canada..and i'll be doin ICPU in taylor's college
I'll be following d ICPU programme in Taylor's college..
Biotech also..
lilian
28-05-2008, 11:44 PM
Hi I'm Lilian from Miri Sarawak. I'll be going to Taylor's for ICPU too and then to Canada. Nice to meet you Heffalump and Diaz!! :))
anderscheng
29-05-2008, 07:44 AM
why not ey?wths wrng wth cnnada?
hey i read ur post tht u wan to be a gntic ngineer..biotch oso can do wut..later u'll stdy about gnetics, n u'll freaky manipulating them!
Biotechnology has nothing about genetic engineering. You do not alter the genes of an organism. However, biotechnology is the stepping stone for the CONCEPT used in genetic engineering.
sonatinalai
29-05-2008, 11:02 AM
Hello everyone!
I'll be doing 2 years A-levels at Cempaka International School... After that 3 years in UK.
Anyone going to the same school/country as me? By the way, anyone from Kajang, Selangor?
heffalump
29-05-2008, 08:40 PM
hello lilian and diaz!! see you guys there!!
lilian..what course are u taking?
diaz...since u're also taking biotechnology..have u decided on which subject to take yet?? do hit me back k..can't wait to meet new friends there..(^^)
Erm.. Hv not decide on it yet.. wanna ask d seniors 1st, 4 advice.. Then how about u?/ ady decide which subject wanna study??
Anyway, v r required to study moral n malaysian studies right?
Is dat considered under d "2 subject of our choice"?
or v need to decide on another two subjects??
heffalump
30-05-2008, 05:43 PM
hurm..i've chatted to a senior..but from what he said..it seems like b4 this..they cannot choose which subject to take..and some of the subjects in our list of choices are new too.. the subjects which he took was..bio,fz,chem,calculus,geo maths and eng4u..
i don't think so..those two are not included in the form..the one which we have to tick..which subject to take in the 1st sem and which one in the 2nd sem..
english is absolutely a must..
but after all..i'm still hazy..he suggested on calculus and vector,advanced functions and eng4u...there still so much to be thught of..huhu
lilian
31-05-2008, 02:38 PM
I'm taking biotech. Hey Heffalump wat subjects are we supposed to take? In the Taylor's brochure under the biotech list there are four compulsory subjects (bio, phy, maths, chem) and two of students' choice is it like tat? anyway where's your senior staying?
minic00per
31-05-2008, 05:53 PM
i got ADFP at intec....biotech too...
heffalump
31-05-2008, 06:06 PM
I'm taking biotech. Hey Heffalump wat subjects are we supposed to take? In the Taylor's brochure under the biotech list there are four compulsory subjects (bio, phy, maths, chem) and two of students' choice is it like tat? anyway where's your senior staying?
hello lilian..hurm..he's not my senior actually..i came to know him from recom too..from what he said..these past years..jpa bounded icpu students stay in ridzuan condo..
yeah! that's what the brochure listed..and in the icpu's brochure..i came to know that in the 1st sem,we'll complete 3 subjects(ie;bio,chem),one english course,malaysian studies and islamic/moral studies and 3 more subjects in the 2nd sem and an english course if needed..i'm sorry if this is wrong..do correct me yeah..:wink
so lilian..have u decided on which maths to take? and the other two of our choice? but i'm quite confused as seniors kept saying that we cannot choose which subject to take..so i guess the best way is to call taylor's..hihi..:P
lilian
01-06-2008, 01:06 PM
..i came to know that in the 1st sem,we'll complete 3 subjects(ie;bio,chem),one english course,malaysian studies and islamic/moral studies and 3 more subjects in the 2nd sem and an english course if needed..i'm sorry if this is wrong..do correct me yeah..:wink
so lilian..have u decided on which maths to take? and the other two of our choice? but i'm quite confused as seniors kept saying that we cannot choose which subject to take..so i guess the best way is to call taylor's..hihi..:P
Hi.. maths maybe i'll get calculus + vectors and advanced functions.. see first I'm not sure yet..haha
Two other choice does that include physics? Yeah it's really confusing la..
Hey you're living in selangor right? Which part?
heffalump
01-06-2008, 01:47 PM
hey lilian..yeap..living in selangor...which part? i'll PM u ok...hehe
hurm...4 the maths i'm thinking of the same too..i dont think the other two includes phy as it's already in the compulsory group..
hmm.. I think I'll be sure taking calculus.. D other still not sure 1..
I heard v got to pass d 3U English then can v take d 4U one... Hmm.. does dat mean all of us got to take 3U? or v ourselves choose whether to take English 3U or 4U?
gossip_girl
01-06-2008, 07:52 PM
hello everyone i going to intec doing ADFP i don't know what subjects to take i don't know what exam to take what sat 1 sat 2 AP i don't know which us uni is offering good undergraduate i don't know how to apply into us uni too
anyone can help me?
**hi lilian!
lilian
02-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Hi gossip girl! Where're you from?
I heard v got to pass d 3U English then can v take d 4U one... Hmm.. does dat mean all of us got to take 3U? or v ourselves choose whether to take English 3U or 4U?
Hi Diaz! Yup.. I think we are supposed to take english 4C in order to graduate. the other two are not compulsory. We can choose either one each sem
heffalump
02-06-2008, 10:47 AM
hmm.. I think I'll be sure taking calculus.. D other still not sure 1..
hurm..to qualify to a uni in canda..we must take eng4u..
i dn't know..maybe we would take both..as eng3u is one grade lower than eng4u..(based on the number) seniors..help!
michaelbyz23
05-06-2008, 12:11 AM
i got jpa biotechnology after appeal.. US
Hi, michaelbyz23.. So which college r u attending??
michaelbyz23
05-06-2008, 12:49 PM
they have not informed me yet.. need to wait for the letter to come... hehe.. which i have to wait for another 10 more days i guess
Kelvln
05-06-2008, 07:49 PM
hello michael boon...so apparently we're going for the same course n country
michaelbyz23
06-06-2008, 12:27 AM
hey kelvin kho. rite? haha... yeaa... hope to see u in west malaysia..
niroshaa
06-06-2008, 01:05 AM
Halo.. I got jpa scholarship 2 canada... biotech course... anybody there cares me..??
lilian
06-06-2008, 10:07 AM
Halo.. I got jpa scholarship 2 canada... biotech course... anybody there cares me..??
Hi niroshaa.. nice to meet you. so where are you from? I'm going canada as well for biotech
heffalump
06-06-2008, 12:46 PM
me too niroshaa!! which are u going to taylor's too like us?
HEY THERE!!
i'm under jpa for biotechnology too..
i got canada..and i'll be doin ICPU in taylor's college
me too....wish to noe u n see u there....
Hi niroshaa.. nice to meet you. so where are you from? I'm going canada as well for biotech
hi lilian....nice to meet u...i'm as well come from sarawak too....
n i'm oso doing biotech..n go to Canada:P
Hoho.. I'm going there too..
lilian
10-06-2008, 04:28 PM
hi lilian....nice to meet u...i'm as well come from sarawak too....
n i'm oso doing biotech..n go to Canada:P
Hi wei2..nice to meet you too. yup really hard finding people going for biotech in canada. so you're going taylor's too? Let's see.. the list going to canada so far..
wei2
heffalump
lilian
niroshaa
diaz
Anyone else i missed out?
heffalump
10-06-2008, 06:07 PM
Hi wei2..nice to meet you too. yup really hard finding people going for biotech in canada. so you're going taylor's too? Let's see.. the list going to canada so far..
wei2
heffalump
lilian
niroshaa
diaz
:)):)):)):)):)):)):))
yeay!!! hye there new friends!!
artistic1412
18-06-2008, 11:55 AM
i hav question, do they hav biotech in oxford cambridge and melbourne?
anglerfish_9
19-06-2008, 10:05 PM
Hello everyone!
I'll be doing 2 years A-levels at Cempaka International School... After that 3 years in UK.
Anyone going to the same school/country as me? By the way, anyone from Kajang, Selangor?
If like that means you will be my junior. Hope to meet you soon. Btw, are you sure it's 3 years not 4 in UK because for my letter last year, it's printed 4 years in UK.
sonatinalai
20-06-2008, 05:24 PM
If like that means you will be my junior. Hope to meet you soon. Btw, are you sure it's 3 years not 4 in UK because for my letter last year, it's printed 4 years in UK.
Hi anglerfish_9! Nice to meet you too! Hope you can share more about life in Cempaka as well!
Yea, it is 3 years (36 bulan), printed in the offer letter. Maybe they think that 4 years is quite expensive, so they reduce 1 year lo... Policy changes over time...
Maybe your course is different? (i.e. not Biotech?) I've checked Oxbridge... No Biotech course, but Biochemistry/Molecular Biology.... and MSc Biochem is 4 years. I'm trying to ask JPA officer about extending my study... Hope to hear good news!
Hope to meet everyone else in Cempaka!
Jieweitan
26-06-2008, 11:37 PM
I got Biotech in INTEC. Going to take my ADFP there.
lasvender
27-06-2008, 12:41 AM
wei2
heffalump
lilian
niroshaa
diaz
count me in!!! i'm here... :laugh
v'll b going to canada~ doing biotech!!!
here's da list:
wei2
heffalump
lilian
niroshaa
diaz
lasvender
:laugh:laugh:laugh
Biotech - ADFP at INTEC 2008
michaelbyz23
waheeda
gossip_girl
minic00per
orangie
eM-syaph
clep
jieweitan
Only two more days to go!
artistic1412
28-06-2008, 11:23 AM
u can add me, of course ive rejected it.. waa so jealous laa u guys!
wanna go us lorr
gudlark anyways! make sure u guys make it to harvard(is there biotech there? haha)
I wouldn't go to Harvard for Biology :)
Thinking of Brown, Duke and Cornell.
lilian
28-06-2008, 03:57 PM
Hi lasvender! Very happy to meet you..time is coming nearer hope to see all of you soon! Cheers coursemates!
doby_90
28-06-2008, 06:12 PM
Hi, I am also taking ICPU for biotech in Taylors too.... Nice to meet you all.... HI, lilian!! nice to meet you!!!
anglerfish_9
30-06-2008, 05:17 PM
Hi anglerfish_9! Nice to meet you too! Hope you can share more about life in Cempaka as well!
Yea, it is 3 years (36 bulan), printed in the offer letter. Maybe they think that 4 years is quite expensive, so they reduce 1 year lo... Policy changes over time...
Maybe your course is different? (i.e. not Biotech?) I've checked Oxbridge... No Biotech course, but Biochemistry/Molecular Biology.... and MSc Biochem is 4 years. I'm trying to ask JPA officer about extending my study... Hope to hear good news!
Hope to meet everyone else in Cempaka!
sorry for the late reply. Been really bz since we hv 2 shift hostel. Basically, life in Cempaka is definitely not a college life...more accurately can be said as an international school life. They hv all range of ages here from receptionist (kindergarden) to A-levels... So,it's more like a school than a college. However, life here is really hectic... Study from 8am-3.30pm with only 2 breaks in interval! The school - it's really nice with lots of Koreans... That's all for now, if you hv any question plz feel free to pm me! Hope to c u on 2nd July.
lilian
01-07-2008, 01:39 PM
Hi, I am also taking ICPU for biotech in Taylors too.... Nice to meet you all.... HI, lilian!! nice to meet you!!!
Hihi..nice meeting u here..haha :P
sonatinalai
03-07-2008, 10:44 AM
For the matter of extending study, I've asked the JPA officer on my college's registration day. We can extend our study in the foreign country up to Master degree PROVIDED your First Degree's CGPA is 3.75 or above (that's about A- overall!). You'll have to contact with JPA to discuss further details.
And for the 3 yr / 4 yrs, we can actually extend the period if the circumstance has to be that way, meaning that the program has to be in 4 yrs. So no worry, just study hard, and you'll definitely get the degree. Bear in mind that you can only apply to courses accredited by the JPA. There'll be a list of accredited courses, but then I don't know whether the list is available now. Try JPA website for more information.
lance
05-07-2008, 05:48 PM
can i know which ivy league university or ivy league standard university offering biotechnology?
Joker Loke
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
i have a friend study in Taylor for ICPU course (Biotechnology).Do the seniors have any book want to sell to him.kindly inform me (chuen_student@<hidden>)
can i know which ivy league university or ivy league standard university offering biotechnology?
there isnt any specific course for BIOTECH in foreign uni..instead u may be major in Biology, bioscience and other bio-related field.
i get BNM scholarships to do Biotech but reject it coz i have secured KPLSPM to do special edu which is of my preferences.
trenchcoat101
30-04-2009, 10:38 AM
Hi! Anybody from SPM 2008 batch applied for biotech? :)
Hope we can make this thread alive!
december12
30-04-2009, 11:22 PM
Hi! Anybody from SPM 2008 batch applied for biotech? :)
Hope we can make this thread alive!
I apply for biotech too !!! lol:)
trenchcoat101
01-05-2009, 10:08 AM
hi december12, how's your SPM results?
-the wait is so long....-haha
yvonne91
01-05-2009, 10:56 AM
hey hey!!i applied for biotech!!!
holy_spring
04-05-2009, 12:49 PM
here!!
here!!
im botech too~~
hope we are shortlisted for it~!!!
*finger crossed for JPA scholar result*
~praying hard~
december12
04-05-2009, 10:04 PM
hi december12, how's your SPM results?
-the wait is so long....-haha
11A1 ...GCEO A1....how about you trenchcoat101?
trenchcoat101
05-05-2009, 08:35 PM
I got 10A1, GCEO A1. :)
december12
05-05-2009, 09:50 PM
I got 10A1, GCEO A1. :)
So lets pray hard & hope for the best :) Only a few more days to go...
terwei
07-05-2009, 11:59 AM
12 hours more,
biotech here!PRAY~
december12
07-05-2009, 12:28 PM
12 hours more,
biotech here!PRAY~
Yea..Pray for BIOTECH DREAM. But still no announcement on Esila & newspaper....although it left only 11.5 hours more to go...
holy_spring
07-05-2009, 11:12 PM
it left 48 minutes to go~~
all guys
good luck ya~~
terwei
07-05-2009, 11:17 PM
No la,extend to 3pm already,
so we have to reset again,
15 hours and 43 minutes more..
december12
08-05-2009, 01:17 PM
No la,extend to 3pm already,
so we have to reset again,
15 hours and 43 minutes more..
Extended again to 5pm.....:cry
trenchcoat101
08-05-2009, 11:21 PM
HI anybody get biotech???
I didn't get it..
december12
09-05-2009, 12:01 AM
Kursus BIOTEKNOLOGI Negara MALAYSIA Status BERJAYA IPTS Jawapan TIADA MAKLUMAT
Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) telah mempertimbangkan dengan saksama permohonan saudara/saudari
untuk mendapatkan Biasiswa Persekutuan bagi melanjutkan pengajian ke luar negara di bawah Program Ijazah
Luar Negara (PILN) 2009. Berikutan bilangan tempat yang terhad berbanding bilangan calon cemerlang yang
memohon, JPA tidak dapat menawarkan penajaan kepada saudara/saudari untuk pengajian ke luar negara.
Walaubagaimanapun JPA bersetuju untuk menawarkan biasiswa kepada saudara/saudari untuk melanjutkan
pengajian di peringkat Persediaan/Foundation di bawah Institusi Pengajian Tinggi Swasta yang akan ditetapkan
oleh JPA.
JPA results are out?! Anyone got it? Congrats for those who got, and for those who didn't, try appealing :)
Still then, getting a scholarship doesn't mean everything is secure, and not getting any doesn't mean it's the end of the world. The most important thing is making full use of everything you have.
tankw
10-05-2009, 11:51 AM
i am a rural area student..... i get JPA for BIOTECH........... but i dont know anything about wat i am going to do..... i have no information at all..... so senior or anyone pls help me out.....
i dunno where i am going... how does jpa scholarship works.....so now i think i just need to wait for the offer letter to come..... by the way, are we given chances to choose which university and which country are we going??? i am worried....
i am a rural area student..... i get JPA for BIOTECH........... but i dont know anything about wat i am going to do..... i have no information at all..... so senior or anyone pls help me out.....
i dunno where i am going... how does jpa scholarship works.....so now i think i just need to wait for the offer letter to come..... by the way, are we given chances to choose which university and which country are we going??? i am worried....
I'm not sure about this year, but usually JPA offers Biotech majors to these 3 countries: UK, US, Canada.
You'll need to wait for your offer letter. Be patient :))
If you get US, you'll most probably come to INTEC. If you get Canada, most probably Taylor's. Not sure about UK though. (Maybe those who know can post it up?)
If you're going to US, as a Biotech major, you would either go for 1+4 (1 year here; 4 years there) or 2+3 (2 years here; 3 years there). This depends on the university you will be enrolling in. If you're insisting on Biotechnology as your major, you can only do the 2+3 option. (As for JPA, 1+4 means going to US for your first year undergraduate, to either Ivy Leagues or Ivy Standards. But bear in mind that Ivy or Ivy Standards don't have Biotechnology as an undergraduate major. *Cornell might have though.*)
Haha. RELAX! Wait for your letter :amuse Congrats anyway! Great job!
You don't need to have a major called 'Biotechnology' to be a biotechnologist - the word itself describes an industry rather than a specific field of study. I can only speak from the POV of US-bound scholars - JPA allows us to change to majors like Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Genetics, Cell Biology etc if we want to do 1 year of pre-u here and enter Ivy or Ivy Standard universities over there as freshmen. I chose this route as I didn't want to limit myself as an undergraduate - since US education is all about exploring different fields of study, I wanted to go to an open, liberal arts based uni and take all manner of classes while still having a bio-related degree. If I transferred over (2+3 program) I would have less opportunities to take non-major related classes.
If you do not go in one year, you'll be very limited in your choices of universities in the second year as you have to choose from a list of Biotech-major offering universities, and which also means that you'll end up in a kampung Malaysia institution because all transfer students under JPA usually end up at the same few unis. This can be good or bad depending on how you see it. Some people choose this route as they prefer to wait two years and acclimatise to the US system before flying over, or for other personal reasons.
Congrats on the scholarship, and use it well.
tankw
10-05-2009, 03:55 PM
can i go for Australia??
JPA also sends to Australia.
No you don't get to choose your country, but you get to choose a university (in the country you're bound for) that is recognised by JPA (you can check this by logging into the esila website and looking for the link that says pengiktirafan-or something along the lines of that- universiti. Then select the course, country and which university and they will list out the recognised courses for that uni). If for australia, you'll have to see which uni offers biotech and then apply for it in your second semester of the prepatory programme. Don't worry so much about that, you'll be briefed in detail once you enrol in the prep programme. Just make sure you make the grades, regardless of which programme you're sent for and you'll be fine =) oh and also, you'll have to see if the uni accepts you, of course.
tankw
10-05-2009, 08:41 PM
may i know wat are the thing i am going to study and wat exam i am going to sit for in prepatory programme.... it is necessary for me to score very well in the prepatory programme or just need to meet the minimum requirement??
It depends how hard it is to get into the universities you want, how your pre-u exam works (is it institution-administered or externally-administed), whether you are going to transfer subjects from your prep programme over for university credits, and many other factors...
Think about it: would someone else, who was denied the scholarship, promise to do their best or be content with the bare minimum if he/she was offered a second chance?
Don't worry, prep programmes aren't as hard as they seem. You should be able do well.
adventurer54d1
13-05-2009, 09:21 PM
If you get US, you'll most probably come to INTEC. If you get Canada, most probably Taylor's. Not sure about UK though. (Maybe those who know can post it up?)
For UK, you may be doing your prep at Cempaka International School. In Cheras, near Batu 9.
tankw
22-05-2009, 11:09 AM
by the way, wat are the subjects that i need to study in malaysia for one year??? is it like A-level??? or it is foundation for biotech???
It depends on which preparatory program you are going for (which again, depends on the country you are going to).
Generally speaking, there's no "foundation for biotech" itself. You do a general "foundation"/pre-U. If you get UK, you'll take A-levels; if you get Australia, you'll do SAM; if you get US, you'll do American Degree Foundation Program.
Whatever it is, you won't be concentrating on the Biotechnology field itself during your preparatory programs here. You'll do a general preparation course (which, you'll see later in life, is crucial).
tankw
01-06-2009, 12:55 PM
did any senoir who apply for biotech and get country other than uk, us and canada.....
did any senior apply for bioterch but get country other than uk, us or canada??????
sonatinalai
01-06-2009, 11:03 PM
Information for Biotech Scholars going to UK...
Hi! You are most likely to receive your letters, and welcome to CEMPAKA INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL! If you would like to know more about the school, please visit the thread below.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8678
Please post your details (eg. where you are from... what you like to do) so that we know you better.
tankw
02-06-2009, 11:42 AM
i get biotech for UK but i will go to Yayasan UEM collage ( a very weird place) to do my A level did anyone get the same place as me??????
adventurer54d1
02-06-2009, 04:02 PM
i get biotech for UK but i will go to Yayasan UEM collage ( a very weird place) to do my A level did anyone get the same place as me??????
The college is very nice. You will live in chalet of 4 singel rooms. every chalet got air-con. For the whole college, it got broadband. The college provide a lot of clubs and also expeditions. The place is quite isolated, located in the middle of palm oil estate. The college is well recognised worldwide.
So, r u a jpa scholar which got biotech for uk?
tankw
03-06-2009, 08:26 AM
The college is very nice. You will live in chalet of 4 singel rooms. every chalet got air-con. For the whole college, it got broadband. The college provide a lot of clubs and also expeditions. The place is quite isolated, located in the middle of palm oil estate. The college is well recognised worldwide.
So, r u a jpa scholar which got biotech for uk?
ya i am jpa scholar which get biotech for uk..... are you student of yayasan uem collage??? is there any swimming culb there????
Ivana991
03-06-2009, 04:12 PM
I gt biotech for US. Will b goin 2 INTEC to do ADFP.
Any1 same as me?
03-06-2009, 04:23 PM
Any1 same as me?
If you are the right person, I think I know who you are.
I have PM-ed you, please read it. :)
tchong
03-06-2009, 04:30 PM
Any1 same as me?
me!!same ..everything the same..i got biotech..going to do ADFP in InTEc..got msn??can chat..haha
Ivana991
03-06-2009, 04:32 PM
If u r d same person, i guess i also knw hu u r.
Welcome to INTEC ADFP! If you've any questions about the program, particularly that pertaining to a biotech student, feel free to PM me.
Also, now would be a great time to read through the US uni applications FAQ thread (and other related ones), if you haven't already.
yvonne91
03-06-2009, 04:41 PM
sorry,,its me..i m going to intec to do ADFP...juz now tat "tchong" is not me..i din realise i m using my sis's one..
Ivana991
03-06-2009, 04:49 PM
sorry,,its me..i m going to intec to do ADFP...juz now tat "tchong" is not me..i din realise i m using my sis's one..
Hi, nice 2 meet u~:))
adventurer54d1
03-06-2009, 07:24 PM
ya i am jpa scholar which get biotech for uk..... are you student of yayasan uem collage??? is there any swimming culb there????
No, i'm studying in CIS. ^^
anglerfish_9
05-06-2009, 06:45 PM
No, i'm studying in CIS. ^^
are u ah fu? wakakaka...
tankw
07-06-2009, 09:46 AM
i have a question to ask senior who have already been studying biotech overseas, is there a high demand on biotechnologist in the market??? can i get a field-related-job after i graduate???
lexsoon
13-06-2009, 04:28 PM
Any1 same as me?
hi nice 2 meet u....i oso going 2 INTEC 2 do ADFP biotech in US..... free 2 pm me....
anybody here got local biotech(IPTS)? Anybody got their offer letter yet?
jellybeanmonster
15-06-2009, 11:47 PM
anyone got a level's in cempaka international school? Pm me...
znyi_beryl
16-06-2009, 12:32 PM
:nutsanybody here got local biotech(IPTS)? Anybody got their offer letter yet?
r u the 1 getting biotech under IPTS?!!if yes,finally I find 1 same with me!!!!thx god!where you will be going for your foundation and degree?im getting monash university,so will be doing foundation in sunway...
i have a question to ask senior who have already been studying biotech overseas, is there a high demand on biotechnologist in the market??? can i get a field-related-job after i graduate???
this question i hve been asking myself for so many times,keep on thinking and thinking...many told me that studying biotech cant get a bright future,many of their comments on this course are negative and sometimes they hurt me,scolding me stupid,idiot on choosing this course.!bt i juz want to let them know i am very interested on it and i dont want to giv up!! my parents prefer me to be a lawyer or accountant or even a pharmasist,bt i told myself,dont giv up!biotech is the new technology for the future,for the new generation,for our children and grandchildren...so,i hope you will be same like me,no matter how others tell you how your future will be,dont give up,keep holding your principal and prove to them that you have done a correct choice...V ARE THE CHOSEN 1!haha:nuts
Ivana991
16-06-2009, 05:16 PM
:nuts
r u the 1 getting biotech under IPTS?!!if yes,finally I find 1 same with me!!!!thx god!where you will be going for your foundation and degree?im getting monash university,so will be doing foundation in sunway...
this question i hve been asking myself for so many times,keep on thinking and thinking...many told me that studying biotech cant get a bright future,many of their comments on this course are negative and sometimes they hurt me,scolding me stupid,idiot on choosing this course.!bt i juz want to let them know i am very interested on it and i dont want to giv up!! my parents prefer me to be a lawyer or accountant or even a pharmasist,bt i told myself,dont giv up!biotech is the new technology for the future,for the new generation,for our children and grandchildren...so,i hope you will be same like me,no matter how others tell you how your future will be,dont give up,keep holding your principal and prove to them that you have done a correct choice...V ARE THE CHOSEN 1!haha:nuts
Great! i support you!!!!!!:))
People around me also gave negative comments on my choice..
But, frenz! Let's fight for it!!!:))
znyi_beryl
16-06-2009, 06:44 PM
Great! i support you!!!!!!:))
People around me also gave negative comments on my choice..
But, frenz! Let's fight for it!!!:))
haha!thx!
u get overseas?
Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) telah mempertimbangkan dengan saksama permohonan saudara/saudari
untuk mendapatkan Biasiswa Persekutuan bagi melanjutkan pengajian ke luar negara di bawah Program Ijazah
Luar Negara (PILN) 2009. Berikutan bilangan tempat yang terhad berbanding bilangan calon cemerlang yang
memohon, JPA tidak dapat menawarkan penajaan kepada saudara/saudari untuk pengajian ke luar negara.
Walaubagaimanapun JPA bersetuju untuk menawarkan biasiswa kepada saudara/saudari untuk melanjutkan
pengajian di peringkat Persediaan/Foundation di bawah Institusi Pengajian Tinggi Swasta yang akan ditetapkan
oleh JPA.
im getting the same with u...do u success after appeal?
where do u go?
oleh JPA.
im getting the same with u...do u success after appeal?
where do u go?
YEEEEAAAASSSSS~~!!!!!! finally!!! woohoo~! Somebody on the same boat! Hi Znyi Beryl! yea I got biotech IPTS and guess what?!?!?!?!?? I called JPA this morning and I got Monash too! Is this great or what?!?!? I was so freaking happy I couldn't ask the lady where was I going to do my foundation....lol! So are we going to study MUFY? Or are we doing another foundation? The registration date's 3rd July right? The lady there also told me that they would send the letters somewhere around next week. Any other info u have? :))
znyi_beryl
16-06-2009, 11:41 PM
YEEEEAAAASSSSS~~!!!!!! finally!!! woohoo~! Somebody on the same boat! Hi Znyi Beryl! yea I got biotech IPTS and guess what?!?!?!?!?? I called JPA this morning and I got Monash too! Is this great or what?!?!? I was so freaking happy I couldn't ask the lady where was I going to do my foundation....lol! So are we going to study MUFY? Or are we doing another foundation? The registration date's 3rd July right? The lady there also told me that they would send the letters somewhere around next week. Any other info u have? :))
COOL!!!finally!!too happy le! i juz noe the commecement date for MUFY is on 6th of july!i ask them and some1 reply me that i will be sending to sunway universiti college in selangor....where r you come from?im from perak...i think we better be friend 1st...hahahaha
Yea lets be frens! I asked about the registration date twice just to confirm...lol ,so its 3rd July.Sunway University College... is that near Monash Uni Sunway? I am studying in Taylors now but is not a local. You have any idea wat MUFY is all about? Is there anything we need to do b4 registering? And do we IPTS ppl need to do a health checkup?:huh
znyi_beryl
17-06-2009, 02:45 PM
Yea lets be frens! I asked about the registration date twice just to confirm...lol ,so its 3rd July.Sunway University College... is that near Monash Uni Sunway? I am studying in Taylors now but is not a local. You have any idea wat MUFY is all about? Is there anything we need to do b4 registering? And do we IPTS ppl need to do a health checkup?:huh
monash is near to sunway d...MUFY got 10 sub,we hav to choose 4-5 sub....i am not sure that hav to do medical check up anot...jpa reply my emailjuz now,they said the letter will be post started from today.u may oso d'load d brochure about MUFY from sunway d website...do u hav msn?
Ivana991
18-06-2009, 01:36 AM
[quote=znyi_beryl;265667]haha!thx!
u get overseas?
Ya, i gt overseas.
Hey guys,i also got biotech in monash uni but still cant make up my mind coz the future of biotech in Malaysia=????????.
Just take it! I was considering that a while ago to but really, weigh the odds. Monash is one of the best unis JPA can send you to, and with the bond, they actually secure you with a job.Once you finish the bond you may find jobs locally or overseas with the advantage of working experience. I looked up Sunway Uni College where we would most probably do our pre-u together and it seems pretty good!:nuts
Monash is great thats y is really hard to reject the offer but with a degree in biotech u cant get very far.I mean we have to study until at least we get master or else u will be ended up testing liquid in hospital.Mayb u can do more research on biotech.I just found out this problem a few days after i applied online but it was too late to change the course and that is why im worrying.
Hmm...there's some truth there....but I was adviced as such: Since the bond will not exceed 10 years, most probably around 5 or so,if u really want to move on to masters then its still not too late to re-enter uni( self-paid,of course). Otherwise, maybe we can appeal from JPA to let us continue our studies(JPA sponsored or self paid),only after that then we start our bond. What do u think? I dunno about u, but this scholarship is something I will not let go easily. It is what I have chosen and I will bear whatever consequences that comes with it.:)
Mayb u can check out here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=729614&hl=biotechnology
cmt26
19-06-2009, 11:48 PM
is that anyone going for icpu in taylors? TQ!
znyi_beryl
23-06-2009, 11:07 AM
THOSE WHO GET BIOTECH IN SUNWAY,MONASH,pls go to http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8786 and join into our thread to share more on it! thanks....