View Full Version : JPA 2008 Pharmacy (UK, NZ, Australia or TWNP)

14-05-2008, 01:30 PM
For JPA scholars-to-be who had applied for pharmacy, you can share anything in regard to pharmacy (or any related topic here), welcome pharmacist-to-be... :))

artistic1412
14-05-2008, 01:38 PM
my frens wondering, the twinning program
is it in msia local us or oversea? which country then?

sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 01:53 PM
twinning means u study here in msia for a year(s), after tat u willl be sent oversea...

so ur pre-u will be done here in msia.. u wil only go oversea for ur degree

artistic1412
14-05-2008, 02:02 PM
eh? i tot all pre us are in msia? a level is pre u huh? so all of us is twinning programla?

14-05-2008, 05:17 PM
my frens wondering, the twinning program
is it in msia local us or oversea? which country then?
Twinning is doing your degree in Malaysia, then overseas.. I'm not how many years, but likely to be 2+2 or 3+1, the country will be decided according to your results...

cloudstrife
15-05-2008, 08:07 AM
What are the colleges that offer us to do twinning program in malaysia?
I've checked IMU, but it only offers us to do Mpharm for twinning prog

15-05-2008, 09:45 AM
What are the colleges that offer us to do twinning program in malaysia?
I've checked IMU, but it only offers us to do Mpharm for twinning prog

Nope, it offers the scholars to do BPharm as well. The IMU students who choose to study in a Partner University after studying 2 ? years in IMU will transfer to continue studying their medical degree in one of universities in Australia, Ireland, North American, and United Kingdom. To get into IMU, you have to get at least BBC for any three science subjects in A-level, 70% aggregate (not less than 65% in Chemistry) or TER / UAI 80 for AUSMAT besides getting minimum average band score of 6.5 (Individual band score of not less than 6.0). Anyway, the Ministry of Higher Education stipulates that all students entering universities in Malaysia must sit for MUET regardless of having other English qualifications. :amazed

Anderson
15-05-2008, 11:19 AM
here i comes!!!!
btw, u guys seems have done lots of research be4 goin to study for ur pharmacy.....
gosh....i just play dota whole day and watch 康熙来了, really sked will b expelled by all the super brilliant pharmacy wannabies when i start study.....wuwuwuwu:cry:cry

azemo
16-05-2008, 02:36 AM
for the preparation...how many subject will we study? what is it?
which is harder, a-level or ausmat?

16-05-2008, 10:33 AM
AUSMAT in INTEC, UiTM Kampus Seksyen 17 (for students going to Australia and NZ only)
http://www.intec.uitm.edu.my/images/stories/route_degree/ausmat.jpg
For science students wishing to be a pharmacist, they will need to have physics, chemistry, biology and specialist mathematics for AUSMAT (I doubt we only need to choose between chemistry and physics?). As for placement, graduates from AUSMAT may be placed in any of the following universities in the mentioned countries (depending on the fields you choose)
AUSTRALIA

* Monash University
* University of Melbourne
* University of Adelaide
* University of Sydney
* University of Queensland
* University of New South Wales
* University of Western Australia
* Australian National University

NEW ZEALAND

* University of Auckland
* University of Otago
* University of Canterbury
* Waikato University
* Lincoln University
* Massey University
* Victoria University of Wellington
* Auckland University of Technology

dya_me
16-05-2008, 10:41 AM
tanyijing, u da one dat do the research a lot...it will help others including ME....btw, my spm is da worst among all of u...still dunno want 2 accept jpa or not...

16-05-2008, 11:00 AM
tanyijing, u da one dat do the research a lot...it will help others including ME....btw, my spm is da worst among all of u...still dunno want 2 accept jpa or not...

Be confident, dyna_me, your SPM result does not indicate anything since you had already managed to secure JPA scholarship. :) Choose which is most suitable for you and be sure your choice is not regrettable.

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:07 AM
if i choose jpa, hope 2 meet all of u in pre-u...jpa choose country 4 us based on what??our spm results or juz randomly??

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:18 AM

dun worry dude.....u still have me....v r in same fate:cry:cry

16-05-2008, 11:22 AM
if i choose jpa, hope 2 meet all of u in pre-u...jpa choose country 4 us based on what??our spm results or juz randomly??

Hey, include me here, I also get bad result for my GCE O level for English, damned English, <talking to english> I have been learning you for years since the day I was born and you are treating me like this.... :cry Nevermind, we can work hard together on English. In fact, one of my objective to go aboard to western countries is to improve my English. I can write well anyway, I am quite ashamed of my speaking ability coz lacks courage for this.

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:26 AM

hmm....i wonder too.....my gceo only b4.....hope they wont throw me to new zealand bcuz of tat.....:cry

16-05-2008, 11:28 AM
they won't, I think the country selection is by random process (maybe a program used by JPA to choose a country for you to go, nevertheless, I am not sure about my answer, I heard it somewhere in ReCom)

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:29 AM

so, what should we do??study harder n smarter 2 obtain more excellent result, rite??juz hoping dat we can help each other 2 improve our academic performance...n prove dat we really deserve 4 diz scholarships...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:31 AM
Hey, include me here, I also get bad result for my GCE O level for English, damned English, <talking to english> I have been learning you for years since the day I was born and you are treating me like this.... :cry Nevermind, we can work hard together on English. In fact, one of my objective to go aboard to western countries is to improve my English. I can write well anyway, I am quite ashamed of my speaking ability coz lacks courage for this.

yea!!!anyway, i cant talk and cant speek>.<
im study in a kampung primary n secondary skul, there's like 90% of my skul mate r chinese, and v juz communicate wif each other in chinese or cantonese(cuz here is ipoh area), even the teacher oso sumtimes talk to us in cantonese: dai gah hou! Sek bao mei????:laugh
u c, even zhang ziyi who cant speak english as fluent as our skul's form 1 student, after go oversea can even engaged to a blue-eyed man, wut u think v cant do??
afterall, v still study english since in primary skul wut...she juz start to learn wen she is 20++:amuse

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:31 AM
hmm....i wonder too.....my gceo only b4.....hope they wont throw me to new zealand bcuz of tat.....:cry

u dun wan NZ eh??anyway, i dun really fancy australia...will anyone reject jpa bcoz dun like da country??

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:33 AM
so, what should we do??study harder n smarter 2 obtain more excellent result, rite??juz hoping dat we can help each other 2 improve our academic performance...n prove dat we really deserve 4 diz scholarships...

for sure.....but i dunno wut i can do now....
cant go for english tuition oso....cuz dunno when am i gonna leaving to kl...
hopefully v can b sent to same place, then study in same place n learn in same place^^
cuz bein wif those superb student really make me feel ashamed.....:(

16-05-2008, 11:35 AM
yea!!!anyway, i cant talk and cant speek>.<
im study in a kampung primary n secondary skul, there's like 90% of my skul mate r chinese, and v juz communicate wif each other in chinese or cantonese(cuz here is ipoh area), even the teacher oso sumtimes talk to us in cantonese: dai gah hou! Sek bao mei????:laugh
u c, even zhang ziyi who cant speak english as fluent as our skul's form 1 student, after go oversea can even engaged to a blue-eyed man, wut u think v cant do??
afterall, v still study english since in primary skul wut...she juz start to learn wen she is 20++:amuse

Same here, my place is worse than yours, about 34 kilometres from sitiawan, really a fishing village there. 80 % of the residents are Chinese, 69 % out of them are fishermen. 75 % of my schoolmates are Chinese, and we seldom have proper English classes as our English teacher is a very busy woman (since she has been promoted to a higher post, from the Head of Language Department to HEM). So we need to rescue ourselveslah from being drowned by the English seawater.... :))

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:36 AM

me too...i juz cant speak well...a lot of 'emm,ahh,err'....n bcoz of dat, i dun talk a lot 4 my interview...maybe,bcoz of dat da interviewer asked me 2 do da conclusion part...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:36 AM
u dun wan NZ eh??anyway, i dun really fancy australia...will anyone reject jpa bcoz dun like da country??

dunno....juz NZ sounds nt so attracting like UK and AUS do....
anyway, even i bein sent there, i'll b feel gladful too....nt every1 got chance to study oversea wut:laugh

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:39 AM
Same here, my place is worse than yours, about 34 kilometres from sitiawan, really a fishing village there. 80 % of the residents are Chinese, 69 % out of them are fishermen. 75 % of my schoolmates are Chinese, and we seldom have proper English classes as our English teacher is a very busy woman (since she has been promoted to a higher post, from the Head of Language Department to HEM). So we need to rescue ourselveslah from being drowned by the English seawater.... :))

hmmm.....hopefully after study in KL there, getting to noe more english pro, v can improve our language....btw, really hope to stay together wif u all there la, at least got zhao ying....haha:laugh

me too...i juz cant speak well...a lot of 'emm,ahh,err'....n bcoz of dat, i dun talk a lot 4 my interview...maybe,bcoz of dat da interviewer asked me 2 do da conclusion part...

its okay^^
now u get the jpa edi wut...haha!!

16-05-2008, 11:40 AM

I can still remember the unforgettable time when I have interview with four other friends. I was too nervous that time and I constantly used the word 'er, emm, ah, ya, anything, and did quite a number of repetition of points (the points must be related to the recent kidnapping cases of children - nurin and sharini). One of my friends in the same room for interview is from St. Michael, he can speak very well.... blah--blah--blah, non-stop, talking unceasingly about the points and using very bombastic words... I wonder he got JPA sponsorship or not, he applied for engineering in UK...:)

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:48 AM
I can still remember the unforgettable time when I have interview with four other friends. I was too nervous that time and I constantly used the word 'er, emm, ah, ya, anything, and did quite a number of repetition of points (the points must be related to the recent kidnapping cases of children - nurin and sharini). One of my friends in the same room for interview is from St. Michael, he can speak very well.... blah--blah--blah, non-stop, talking unceasingly about the points and using very bombastic words... I wonder he got JPA sponsorship or not, he applied for engineering in UK...:)

my group also like dat...there is one guy dat talk a lot...maybe bcoz he applied 4 medic n need 2 show dat he deserves 4 scholarship....i dun speak a lot,juz listened a lot...hehe...n when my turn, there is a guy dat always help me 2 find da most suitable words 2 complete my sentence...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:51 AM

hmm....most probably cant...
cuz i heard my senior they said, those who overact will nt b considered.
on the other hands, those who listen carefully wif wut other talking about have a greater chance to get it^^:amuse
juz like me, i juz keep angguk my head only....cuz i dunno wut to say oso>.<

i have to translate frm chinese into english first be4 i speak out, then the other students edi raise up their hand....gosh!!

my group also like dat...there is one guy dat talk a lot...maybe bcoz he applied 4 medic n need 2 show dat he deserves 4 scholarship....i dun speak a lot,juz listened a lot...hehe...n when my turn, there is a guy dat always help me 2 find da most suitable words 2 complete my sentence...

waw....so gud the guy.....
i think in my group, every1 is like wan to kill each other only....:laugh

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:54 AM
on the other hands, those who listen carefully wif wut other talking about have a greater chance to get it^^:amuse

i have to translate frm chinese into english first be4 i speak out, then the other students edi raise up their hand....gosh!!

ur group so active...mine, juz wait others 2 completely finish...then only we can talk...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:56 AM
ur group so active...mine, juz wait others 2 completely finish...then only we can talk...

no lo....they like got many many things wan to tell the panels....
haha!!sumhow, v r really lucky enuf.....thanks god....

16-05-2008, 11:57 AM

waw....so gud the guy.....
i think in my group, every1 is like wan to kill each other only....:laugh

Anyway, I think mine is the luckiest one among yours. Everybody is given a chance to speak out their viewpoints. None of us can overact (except language abilities) or speak more. My interviewers are quite good and not allowing anyone in the room to use others' time to speak out their points. :)) If I am not mistaken, everyone is given only 5 minutes for speaking.

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:03 PM
do we need 2 learn physics 4 pharmacy??i juz cant bear 2 learn another physics...

16-05-2008, 12:09 PM
I just create a poll, please vote for your preferred country.
By the way, wish God bless you voters to get which country you wan.
My preferred country is UK with London Bridge, certainly

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:15 PM
i juz want 2 minimize da duration studying overseas...dats y i choose twinning programme...but, i heard only 12A n above will get dat...so, no chance anymore lor...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 12:23 PM
I just create a poll, please vote for your preferred country.
By the way, wish God bless you voters to get which country you wan.
My preferred country is UK with London Bridge, certainly

hehe...same here^^
but i heard they say this year the government nt gonna send so many student to UK , is tat true???

i juz want 2 minimize da duration studying overseas...dats y i choose twinning programme...but, i heard only 12A n above will get dat...so, no chance anymore lor...

harrr??
i tot twinning programme is gonna for weaker student???
anyway, either1 is gonna b very very good for me too....

16-05-2008, 12:28 PM
Anyway, I really wish to go western countries, no matter UK or US, not to stay just Asia areas (Australia is too near, dunt you think?)

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:33 PM
Anyway, I really wish to go western countries, no matter UK or US, not to stay just Asia areas (Australia is too near, dunt you think?)

look at da world map...nearer compare 2 western countries....but, australian seems like anti-asian eventhough they in asian areas....

Anderson
16-05-2008, 12:34 PM

but there for me edi like western country.....cuz oso a country of blue-eyed citizen.....haha!!

look at da world map...nearer compare 2 western countries....but, australian seems like anti-asian eventhough they in asian areas....

but there's like many chinese stay there too....rite??

16-05-2008, 12:36 PM
harrr??
i tot twinning programme is gonna for weaker student???
anyway, either1 is gonna b very very good for me too....
I think dya_me has got it wrong, 12A1 is the meant for medical course twinning, not pharmacy, I'm sure it should be less than that for pharmacy. By the way, I think you should be careful on your words, "weaker" students might offense some people...

16-05-2008, 12:38 PM

I think Australian may not be anti-asian like before as they have just had a new prime minister (Kevin Michael Rudd) who can speak Mandarin as well. :))

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:40 PM
but there for me edi like western country.....cuz oso a country of blue-eyed citizen.....haha!!

but there's like many chinese stay there too....rite??

dun really know la...is it true???nver knew many chinese stay there...

I think dya_me has got it wrong, 12A1 is the meant for medical course twinning, not pharmacy, I'm sure it should be less than that for pharmacy. By the way, I think you should be careful on your words, "weaker" students might offense some people...

r u sure??really hope 4 dat twinning prog....

Anderson
16-05-2008, 12:51 PM
dun really know la...is it true???nver knew many chinese stay there...

r u sure??really hope 4 dat twinning prog....

or u can appeal to them when u receive the letter ....but i really think go oversea for longer time nt tat bad la....

I think Australian may not be anti-asian like before as they have just had a new president who can speak Mandarin as well. :))

agree~~~~
and the name oso sounds like chinese as well....

16-05-2008, 12:52 PM
The early life of present Australian prime minister (copied from Wiki)
Rudd was born in Nambour, Queensland and grew up on a dairy farm in nearby Eumundi. He boarded at Marist College Ashgrove in Brisbane and was dux of Nambour State High School in 1974. His father, a share farmer and Country Party member, died when Rudd was 11 and the family was compelled to leave the farm under hardship. Rudd joined the Australian Labor Party in 1972 at the age of 15.
Rudd studied at the Australian National University in Canberra where he resided at Burgmann College and graduated with First Class Honours in Arts (Asian Studies). He majored in Chinese language and Chinese history, became proficient in Mandarin and acquired a Chinese alias, L? K?w?n (traditional Chinese: 陸克文). His thesis on Chinese democracy activist Wei Jingsheng was supervised by Pierre Ryckmans, the eminent Belgian-Australian Sinologist. During his studies Rudd cleaned the house of political commentator Laurie Oakes to earn money. In 1980 he continued his Chinese studies at the National Taiwan Normal University in Taipei, Taiwan.

He maybe a very good Mandarin speaker, heyhey

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:57 PM
or u can appeal to them when u receive the letter ....but i really think go oversea for longer time nt tat bad la....

agree~~~~
and the name oso sounds like chinese as well....

going oversea is my dad suggestion...not suggestion,but decision...it juz lucky enough i got my fav course...so, i feel like twinning is da best 4 me n my dad...but,if i get sth else, nver mind lo...if australia oso, its ok...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 01:10 PM
going oversea is my dad suggestion...not suggestion,but decision...it juz lucky enough i got my fav course...so, i feel like twinning is da best 4 me n my dad...but,if i get sth else, nver mind lo...if australia oso, its ok...

hopefully v r goin to b sent to same country yea^^
got fren accom ^^

dya_me
16-05-2008, 01:17 PM
hopefully v r goin to b sent to same country yea^^
got fren accom ^^

yea, hope so...i want 2 meet all of u...it will be great...

16-05-2008, 01:42 PM
The early life of present Australian prime minister (copied from Wiki)
Rudd was born in Nambour, Queensland and grew up on a dairy farm in nearby Eumundi. He boarded at Marist College Ashgrove in Brisbane and was dux of Nambour State High School in 1974. His father, a share farmer and Country Party member, died when Rudd was 11 and the family was compelled to leave the farm under hardship. Rudd joined the Australian Labor Party in 1972 at the age of 15.
Rudd studied at the Australian National University in Canberra where he resided at Burgmann College and graduated with First Class Honours in Arts (Asian Studies). He majored in Chinese language and Chinese history, became proficient in Mandarin and acquired a Chinese alias, L? K?w?n (traditional Chinese: 陸克文). His thesis on Chinese democracy activist Wei Jingsheng was supervised by Pierre Ryckmans, the eminent Belgian-Australian Sinologist. During his studies Rudd cleaned the house of political commentator Laurie Oakes to earn money. In 1980 he continued his Chinese studies at the National Taiwan Normal University in Taipei, Taiwan.

He maybe a very good Mandarin speaker, heyhey

He is indeed a good Mandarin speaker, and few months ago there was even a report saying that his Mandarin might be even better than his English, because sometimes reporters can't understand what he's trying to say...

16-05-2008, 03:37 PM
He is indeed a good Mandarin speaker, and few months ago there was even a report saying that his Mandarin might be even better than his English, because sometimes reporters can't understand what he's trying to say...

Wow, it is better for Asian especially Chinese to go to Australia for any purposes. Never need to be afraid whether Australian are anti-Asian or anti-Chinese. A good news for Malaysian Chinese :))

16-05-2008, 04:29 PM
Wow, it is better for Asian especially Chinese to go to Australia for any purposes. Never need to be afraid whether Australian are anti-Asian or anti-Chinese. A good news for Malaysian Chinese :))
I've heard that a lot of Australians are suspicious of the Asians.

azemo
16-05-2008, 07:13 PM
does anyone here received the official letter?

runninghorse
16-05-2008, 07:19 PM
does anyone here received the official letter?

hahaha... i am very excited too... just like you...

but let us just wait patiently....

Hamster
16-05-2008, 07:37 PM
Some clarification on JPA Pharmacy Twinning Programme. For your pre U, you will be sent to Intec, Shah Alam for 24 months A Levels Medicine. After that you will join IMU under their MPharm Twinning programme for 2 years and later to University of Strathclyde, Glasgow for a 13 month period.

16-05-2008, 07:39 PM
Just to remind you all, Monday is a public holiday, which means you might receive your letter earliest on Tuesday, except the states where Sunday is a working day...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 08:39 PM
Some clarification on JPA Pharmacy Twinning Programme. For your pre U, you will be sent to Intec, Shah Alam for 24 months A Levels Medicine. After that you will join IMU under their MPharm Twinning programme for 2 years and later to University of Strathclyde, Glasgow for a 13 month period.

hmm....where is the University of S located???
sorry la..... i really weak in geography 1...>.<

runninghorse
16-05-2008, 08:44 PM
hmm....where is the University of S located???
sorry la..... i really weak in geography 1...>.<

Scotland.... in United Kingdom

17-05-2008, 12:37 PM
Nope, it offers the scholars to do BPharm as well. The IMU students who choose to study in a Partner University after studying 2 ? years in IMU will transfer to continue studying their medical degree in one of universities in Australia, Ireland, North American, and United Kingdom. To get into IMU, you have to get at least BBC for any three science subjects in A-level, 70% aggregate (not less than 65% in Chemistry) or TER / UAI 80 for AUSMAT besides getting minimum average band score of 6.5 (Individual band score of not less than 6.0). Anyway, the Ministry of Higher Education stipulates that all students entering universities in Malaysia must sit for MUET regardless of having other English qualifications. :amazed

hi yijing, i can't help but to notice that you have actually misquoted some information regarding IMU's MPHarm and Bpharm programme. I am from IMU and is currently doing medicine under JPA as well. Hope you don't mind if i correct some information regarding Mpharm and Bpharm,

As i quote from IMU's website regarding Bpharm and Mpharm:
"BPharm
The BPharm (Hons) programme uses an innovative curriculum developed entirely by the IMU School, is completed in four years (8 semesters), and is undertaken in Malaysia. The curriculum is largely based on Body Systems, and integrates the study of these systems in health & disease with the study of drug treatment. An entire semester in the fourth year is devoted to research and another semester to supervised practise.The BPharm (Hons) programme uses an innovative curriculum developed entirely by the IMU School, is completed in four years (8 semesters), and is undertaken in Malaysia. The curriculum is largely based on Body Systems, and integrates the study of these systems in health & disease with the study of drug treatment. An entire semester in the fourth year is devoted to research and another semester to supervised practise.

MPharm
This collaborative programme offers the experience of high quality overseas study leading to the award of the MPharm Integrated Masters degree of the University of Strathclyde. The course follows the syllabus and uses the innovative teaching methods of the Strathclyde degree.

Two options are offered: a. 2 1/2 + 1
Two and a half years of study (Part A, 5 semesters) at the IMU Bukit Jalil campus, followed by 13 months (Part B, 3 semesters) at the Strathclyde School of Pharmacy, where IMU and UK students are taught together in the final academic year (Year 4).
b. 2+2
Two years of study (Part A, 4 semesters) at the IMU Bukit Jalil campus, followed by 2 years (Part B, 4 semesters) at the Strathclyde School of Pharmacy, where IMU and UK students are taught together in Years 3and 4 of the course. "

As you can see, IMU do offer both courses but Mpharm is the only twinning programme with Strathclyde school of pharmacy between the 2 while Bpharm is all local only. so you guys would be going for the Mpharm course. and regarding the partner uni as you mentioned, it only holds true for medicine. IMU does not twin with other uni for pharmacy at the moment.

to read more on the courses of pharmacy and IMU itself, you can browse through these few sites:
www.imu.edu.my

http://www.imu.edu.my/pros_un_pharmacy.html

and more specific details about the entry requirements for pharmacy:
http://www.imu.edu.my/pros_un_pharmacy_entry.html

if you have any more queries regarding IMU or Pharmacy course in IMU (though i might not be doing pharm, but i have a few friends who are in pharmacy and under jpa as well), you guys can reach me.

hope these info helps!!

btw, anderson, are you from anderson school itself??

cheers!!

dya_me
17-05-2008, 12:43 PM
jingguo,do u mean dat students dat study pharmacy at IMU will ONLY be sent to Strathclyde??no other universities??

17-05-2008, 12:45 PM
jingguo,do u mean dat students dat study pharmacy at IMU will ONLY be sent to Strathclyde??no other universities??

yes, because IMU only twins with strath for pharmacy only.

dya_me
17-05-2008, 12:50 PM
jingguo,another question, is there any of ur friends study at IMU under JPA scholarship??i've heard dat for medic,need 2 get 12A to be offered IMU...how bout pharmacy??

17-05-2008, 12:58 PM
hi yijing, i can't help but to notice that you have actually misquoted some information regarding IMU's MPHarm and Bpharm programme. I am from IMU and is currently doing medicine under JPA as well. Hope you don't mind if i correct some information regarding Mpharm and Bpharm,

"BPharm
The BPharm (Hons) programme uses an innovative curriculum developed entirely by the IMU School, is completed in four years (8 semesters), and is undertaken in Malaysia. The curriculum is largely based on Body Systems, and integrates the study of these systems in health & disease with the study of drug treatment. An entire semester in the fourth year is devoted to research and another semester to supervised practise.The BPharm (Hons) programme uses an innovative curriculum developed entirely by the IMU School, is completed in four years (8 semesters), and is undertaken in Malaysia. The curriculum is largely based on Body Systems, and integrates the study of these systems in health & disease with the study of drug treatment. An entire semester in the fourth year is devoted to research and another semester to supervised practise.

MPharm
This collaborative programme offers the experience of high quality overseas study leading to the award of the MPharm Integrated Masters degree of the University of Strathclyde. The course follows the syllabus and uses the innovative teaching methods of the Strathclyde degree.

Two and a half years of study (Part A, 5 semesters) at the IMU Bukit Jalil campus, followed by 13 months (Part B, 3 semesters) at the Strathclyde School of Pharmacy, where IMU and UK students are taught together in the final academic year (Year 4).
b. 2+2
Two years of study (Part A, 4 semesters) at the IMU Bukit Jalil campus, followed by 2 years (Part B, 4 semesters) at the Strathclyde School of Pharmacy, where IMU and UK students are taught together in Years 3and 4 of the course. "

As you can see, IMU do offer both courses but Mpharm is the only twinning programme with Strathclyde school of pharmacy between the 2 while Bpharm is all local only. so you guys would be going for the Mpharm course. and regarding the partner uni as you mentioned, it only holds true for medicine. IMU does not twin with other uni for pharmacy at the moment.

to read more on the courses of pharmacy and IMU itself, you can browse through these few sites:
www.imu.edu.my

if you have any more queries regarding IMU or Pharmacy course in IMU (though i might not be doing pharm, but i have a few friends who are in pharmacy and under jpa as well), you guys can reach me.

hope these info helps!!

cheers!!

You mean that for twinning programme, we are not going aboard for our pharmacy study (since we would have BPharm) Or we would have MPharm together after BPharm Or we commence BPharm directly without firstly having to commence A-level? :oh

dya_me
17-05-2008, 01:06 PM
i also now dun understand...seems like after a-level, we can go straight 4 MPharm...

Anderson
17-05-2008, 01:44 PM

"BPharm

MPharm

b. 2+2

www.imu.edu.my

hope these info helps!!

cheers!!

nope.....thousands of ppl asked me tat question...><

17-05-2008, 04:04 PM
I hope jingguo can be online soon to answer our questions.
'You mean that for twinning programme, we are not going aboard for our pharmacy study (since we would have BPharm) Or we would have MPharm together after BPharm Or we commence BPharm directly without firstly having to commence A-level?'

Ca3ine
17-05-2008, 04:12 PM
:)Hi.My name is Catherine....hehe...and also pharmacist to be...hope we can study in the same country and be best of friends..

17-05-2008, 04:51 PM
:)Hi.My name is Catherine....hehe...and also pharmacist to be...hope we can study in the same country and be best of friends..

Hi, Catherine, nice to meet you here in this thread. Have you voted your most preferred country for your pharmacy study? :nod

runninghorse
17-05-2008, 04:57 PM
I hope jingguo can be online soon to answer our questions.
'You mean that for twinning programme, we are not going aboard for our pharmacy study (since we would have BPharm) Or we would have MPharm together after BPharm Or we commence BPharm directly without firstly having to commence A-level?'

it looks like we are doing MPharm straight away after pre-u...

do u all know MPharm program in University of Nottingham? i have asked them once through phone and they said they accept Pre-u students like A-Levels, SAM and STPM to do MPharm programme....

Hi Catherine... nice to meet you....

17-05-2008, 10:25 PM
hi everyone, sorry for not being to reply that soon. had something on in the day.. as i have said, you will not do Bpharm at all. its another course by all means. so what happen to you guys is that, first, you would do your a-levels (most probably) in INTEC, then you would go to IMU to do your Mpharm course which u spend half of your study years in IMU and then later at uni strath.

nope.....thousands of ppl asked me tat question...><

haha.. icic.. just curious though.. =)

dya_me
18-05-2008, 09:54 AM
i never thought we can do MPharm without having BPharm first...is there any difference between BPharm n MPharm???coz i dun think they r equivalent....B stands 4 Bachelor n M stands 4 Master....correct me if i'm wrong...

runninghorse
18-05-2008, 10:43 AM
i never thought we can do MPharm without having BPharm first...is there any difference between BPharm n MPharm???coz i dun think they r equivalent....B stands 4 Bachelor n M stands 4 Master....correct me if i'm wrong...

yeah... you are right... we can study Master straight away after pre-u.....

i thought one has to go through bachelor first before proceed to master? can someone please enlighten us on this issue?

or this is the speciality in education system of united kingdom?

dya_me
18-05-2008, 12:43 PM
yeah... you are right... we can study Master straight away after pre-u.....

i thought one has to go through bachelor first before proceed to master? can someone please enlighten us on this issue?

or this is the speciality in education system of united kingdom?

yea, i hope someone can explain bout diz....juz weird knowing dat after pre-u, can go straight for MPharm...

runninghorse
18-05-2008, 01:20 PM
yea, i hope someone can explain bout diz....juz weird knowing dat after pre-u, can go straight for MPharm...

Hi dya_me... are u taking pharmacy too in jpa? Nice to meet you...

It seems like there's no one to pay attention to our query... do u think we should open a new thread to draw their attention? Hahahaha.....

dya_me
18-05-2008, 03:01 PM

It seems like there's no one to pay attention to our query... do u think we should open a new thread to draw their attention? Hahahaha.....

yea,i'm taking pharmacy...nice to meet u too...
if we open another thread,the mod will lock it...so predictable...huhu...
juz need waiting 4 sb 2 response 2 our query...
i'm so interested in dat twinning programme...

Ca3ine
18-05-2008, 04:33 PM
lolz....ey people here...dun feel intimidated to speak English...the main aim to go overseas is to learn new things and make it a super duper adventure mah...

Hamster
18-05-2008, 08:23 PM
A Master of Pharmacy (abbreviated MPharm or MPharm(Hons)) is an undergraduate academic degree in the field of pharmacy. In many countries, it has superseded a Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) as the prerequisite for registration to practise as a pharmacist. It may also refer to a postgraduate coursework or research degree in the field of pharmacy.

As for those JPA scholar under the IMU twinning programme, you will be under the 2 1/2 yrs (IMU, Bkt Jalil) + 13 months (University of Strathclyde, glasglow) programme as currently IMU only twinned with Uni Strathclyde for pharmacy.

dya_me
18-05-2008, 09:45 PM
In the United Kingdom, MPharm or MPharm(Hons) is an undergraduate academic degree awarded following four years academic study in pharmacy. The degree is awarded by all of the schools of pharmacy in the UK and superseded the BSc (Pharmacy) and BPharm degrees when the length of the undergraduate pharmacy course was increased from three to four years in 1997 as part of EU harmonisation. The initial 3 years of the degree are taught at undergraduate level (failure to complete the 3rd year with satisfactory marks can result in the awarding of a BPharmSci (Bachelor of Pharmaceutical Science) degree) and the final year is taught at postgraduate level in order to attain a Masters degree.

The MPharm is the only qualification in the UK which leads to professional registration as a pharmacist. MPharm programs are accredited by the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (RPSGB) in England, Scotland and Wales and jointly by the RPSGB and Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland in Northern Ireland.

Aspiring pharmacists in the UK qualify by first completing this degree, then undertaking a year of pre-registration training. On successful completion of this training they become registered pharmacists and members of the relevant pharmaceutical society, and can use the postnominal letters MRPharmS (Member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain) or MPSNI (Member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland).

p/s:seems like at UK, there is no BPharm...n now,i'm so sure dat with A-level, can go straight for MPharm...

19-05-2008, 01:03 PM

Hey, runninghorse, this thread is specially opened for pharmacist-to-be to hold their discussions, needless to say that dya_me is also the one succeeding in securing JPA for pharmacy. Your question is totally an uncalled-for one. :P

A Master of Pharmacy (abbreviated MPharm or MPharm(Hons)) is an undergraduate academic degree in the field of pharmacy. In many countries, it has superseded a Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) as the prerequisite for registration to practise as a pharmacist. It may also refer to a postgraduate coursework or research degree in the field of pharmacy.

As for those JPA scholar under the IMU twinning programme, you will be under the 2 1/2 yrs (IMU, Bkt Jalil) + 13 months (University of Strathclyde, glasglow) programme as currently IMU only twinned with Uni Strathclyde for pharmacy.

Hamster, I have to add some points so to make our discussion or query here much clearer, BPharm is an undergraduate academic degree in the field of pharmacy. The degree is a basic prerequisite, in many countries, for registration to practice as a pharmacist. In some countries it has been superseded by the Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) and Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degrees.
For IMU Twinning proggrame
MPharm is the only qualification in the UK which leads to professional registration as a pharmacist. MPharm is an undergraduate academic degree awarded following four years academic study in pharmacy. The degree is awarded by all of the schools of pharmacy in the UK and superseded the BSc (Pharmacy) and BPharm degrees when the length of the undergraduate pharmacy course was increased from three to four years in 1997 as part of EU harmonisation. (This means you should MPharm if you want to be a pharmacist) Additionally, Who wish to be pharmacists in the UK qualify by first completing this degree, then undertaking a year of pre-registration training. On successful completion of this training they become registered pharmacists and members of the relevant pharmaceutical society.

runninghorse
19-05-2008, 01:10 PM
Hey, runninghorse, this thread is specially opened for pharmacist-to-be to hold their discussions, needless to say that dya_me is also the one succeeding in securing JPA for pharmacy. Your question is totally an uncalled-for one

Hahaha... sorry for my ignorance...

btw... i am very happy that finally you get my user name correctly written....Hehe

19-05-2008, 01:15 PM
Hahaha... sorry for my ignorance...

btw... i am very happy that finally you get my user name correctly written....Hehe

Actually, I really pay more attention when writing your name. You knowla, I had done quite a number of mistakes in regard to your username. :P
Well, I think twinning programme is not bad too after doing some researches as you may get MPharm directly without having to pass through BPharm. In UK, we need MPharm to be a registered professional pharmacist (refer to my post above) :amuse

runninghorse
19-05-2008, 01:18 PM
Actually, I really pay more attention when writing your name. You knowla, I had done quite a number of mistakes in regard to your username. :P
Well, I think twinning programme is not bad too after doing some researches as you may get MPharm directly without having to pass through BPharm. In UK, we need MPharm to be a registered professional pharmacist (refer to my post above) :amuse

Hmmm... one more question...

if i only have a bachelor degree in pharmacy then that means i cannot register as a pharmacist in UK loh?

skyrainbow
19-05-2008, 01:20 PM
can jpa pharm scholars in uk undergo that training?

19-05-2008, 01:34 PM
Hmmm... one more question...

if i only have a bachelor degree in pharmacy then that means i cannot register as a pharmacist in UK loh?

I am afraid I need to say 'yes' as an answer. Anyway, you dunt need to be a pharmacist in UK as you can choose other countries like Australia, India (Any). Even worse in US, BPharm was granted as the baccalaureate pharmacy degree only at Washington State University, where it has now been superseded by the PharmD degree. :nuts

can jpa pharm scholars in uk undergo that training?

What kind of training you 'twinkling' star is meaning?

runninghorse
19-05-2008, 01:38 PM
i think 'twinkling star' means pre-registration training to be a pharmacist in UK...

well, can we?

19-05-2008, 01:43 PM
i think 'twinkling star' means pre-registration training to be a pharmacist in UK...

well, can we?

Hey man, you just got scholarship from JPA, not yet having your A-levels and you are now thinking of working as a pharmacist in UK? Even after we had completed our study for pharmacy in UK, we are still bond to working years with JPA, have you forgotten? :amuse

runninghorse
19-05-2008, 01:53 PM
Hey man, you just got scholarship from JPA, not yet having your A-levels and you are now thinking of working as a pharmacist in UK? Even after we had completed our study for pharmacy in UK, we are still bond to working years with JPA, have you forgotten? :amuse

Hehe... i know very well that i am dreaming...:P

19-05-2008, 01:57 PM
Anyway, if you get to study pharmacy in UK, you may directly go to have MPharm in lieu of BPharm. So if you wish to be a master of pharmacy, do pray to get UK or twinning programme.

Ca3ine
19-05-2008, 03:46 PM
haha so funny la u all....nvm we take our a-level together then only start to think of master in pharmacy okey....don't forget your six year bond!!!

dya_me
20-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Griffith University in Gold Coast, Australia also offer Bachelor of Pharmaceutical Science combined with Master of Pharmacy, just like in Strathclyde, Scotland...but in NZ, 2 get MPharm, we should hold BPharm first...juz thought dat it is not fair as student in UK n Aust can hold MPharm while NZ cant 4 da same period of time...

n i've read somewhere in internet dat master of pharmacy coursework n research is equivalent 2 practical of BPharm...:huh

Anderson
22-05-2008, 05:43 PM
it takes so long 4 us 2 receive da letter...tired waiting...still hoping 4 dat IMU...

now im hoping i'll b doin my twinnin programme in IMU too edi....
dunno why, juz hope can still enjoy my further study in other country and yet no ned to suffer much in homesick><

anyway, i juz now get a called frm MCA( dunno is MCA or wut la, but is them who help me to appeal for my matric, but tats another story edi), i said i managed to secure JPA scholarship but still thank you for them to help me to successfully appeal my matric. And the officer told me that v'll only get the letter in early jun and only will b register at the mid of jun.....
URGGGGGGGGG, is tat mean i have to wait forever again for JUN to come???
hmm..........:notrust

23-05-2008, 04:47 PM
now im hoping i'll b doin my twinnin programme in IMU too edi....
dunno why, juz hope can still enjoy my further study in other country and yet no ned to suffer much in homesick><

anyway, i juz now get a called frm MCA( dunno is MCA or wut la, but is them who help me to appeal for my matric, but tats another story edi), i said i managed to secure JPA scholarship but still thank you for them to help me to successfully appeal my matric. And the officer told me that v'll only get the letter in early jun and only will b register at the mid of jun.....
URGGGGGGGGG, is tat mean i have to wait forever again for JUN to come???
hmm..........:notrust

Anderson, from your post above, what do you mean with the 'letter' which will be received by all of us successfully secured JPA's sponsorship? The 'letter' is from JPA or MOE (Matriculation Department)? Please justify. :) As I know from my friend, for those who wish to commence their matric study, they will be going for registration in this week or next week probably, wouldn't wait until June for admission. :amuse

Anderson
24-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Anderson, from your post above, what do you mean with the 'letter' which will be received by all of us successfully secured JPA's sponsorship? The 'letter' is from JPA or MOE (Matriculation Department)? Please justify. :) As I know from my friend, for those who wish to commence their matric study, they will be going for registration in this week or next week probably, wouldn't wait until June for admission. :amuse

no la....the officer called me juz baik hati n told me bout her experience bout JPA scholarship....not bout the matric.......:P

Ca3ine
24-05-2008, 04:22 PM
Why this thread so serious....Chill!!!!Let's intro....My name is Catherine...I want to be pharmacist bcuz I bersemangat go hospital.....ey got one question.....if we study a-level must take physic r....and most probably go where le.....diff country study diff place r....

Anderson
24-05-2008, 06:33 PM
Why this thread so serious....Chill!!!!Let's intro....My name is Catherine...I want to be pharmacist bcuz I bersemangat go hospital.....ey got one question.....if we study a-level must take physic r....and most probably go where le.....diff country study diff place r....

y we muz take physics ler????I dunno anything bout wut r v gonna take la, but physics juz nt sounds related to us><
v got 3 option( not really option, juz 3 possibility:P)that is UK, Australia or New Zealand......hope some1 clear bout ur question can explain more to u ><

runninghorse
24-05-2008, 09:48 PM

Hahaha... funny introduction... Anyway my name is Jesel... nice to meet you....

Hehe... first time i read someone is aspired to be a pharmacist because she feels bersemangat to go to hospital...XD! Hmmm.. then why you dont choose to be a doctor leh? or nurse? both of them are working in hospital everyday tooo....

I dont like to study physics too... not so keen in physics compared to Chemistry and Biology.... i am thinking of replacing physics subject with psychology in pre-u study... is it advisable for me to do so?

Elsie
24-05-2008, 09:53 PM
pharmacist with physic?
i dun 1...>.<
pretty unbelievable i got da scholarship,as i m not staright A1s...
haha..n during da interview,i m more to listening n nodding..
lol..i heard dat we'll be receiving da letter next week.

Anderson
25-05-2008, 10:59 AM
pharmacist with physic?
i dun 1...>.<
pretty unbelievable i got da scholarship,as i m not staright A1s...
haha..n during da interview,i m more to listening n nodding..
lol..i heard dat we'll be receiving da letter next week.

dear, i heard tat we'll b receiving d letter every TOMORROW....
already bored wif tat><
anyway, im nt str8 A1 student oso, my GCEO ge B4 summore><

Ca3ine
25-05-2008, 11:15 AM
Hahaha... funny introduction... Anyway my name is Jesel... nice to meet you....

Hehe... first time i read someone is aspired to be a pharmacist because she feels bersemangat to go to hospital...XD! Hmmm.. then why you dont choose to be a doctor leh? or nurse? both of them are working in hospital everyday tooo....

I dont like to study physics too... not so keen in physics compared to Chemistry and Biology.... i am thinking of replacing physics subject with psychology in pre-u study... is it advisable for me to do so?

Hi Jesel!!Well doctor and nurse always on call.Pharmacist sit at pharmacy department goyang kaki...I dun mind physic u knw...more math...if u go Form 6 u will see BIO is essay essay essay essay and more essay..But I think its my fantastic patience that make me survive in BIo...lolz..Draw glucose structure like 100 times until I see also wanna....:amuse

hunliang
25-05-2008, 12:36 PM
Hi Jesel!!Well doctor and nurse always on call.Pharmacist sit at pharmacy department goyang kaki...

You are sooooo wrong Ca3ine! Pharmacists are very very very bz ppl in the hospital. Imagine dispensing 100 scripts a day, it's harder than u think. And normally a hospital will have more scripts than that. :)

Then there is aseptic/cytotoxic preperations, patient counselling, information gathering from patient about their medications, drug information services, therapeutic drug monitoring, daily review of medication charts, supply of medications to different wards and stock control!

Generally there is a smaller pharmacist to patient ratio compared to nurses or GP. In the end of the day, u will be no less bz-ier than doctors and nurses.

P.S. and yes, there is still on-call pharmacist!

runninghorse
25-05-2008, 12:50 PM
You are sooooo wrong Ca3ine! Pharmacists are very very very bz ppl in the hospital. Imagine dispensing 100 scripts a day, it's harder than u think. And normally a hospital will have more scripts than that. :)

Then there is aseptic/cytotoxic preperations, patient counselling, information gathering from patient about their medications, drug information services, therapeutic drug monitoring, daily review of medication charts, supply of medications to different wards and stock control!

Generally there is a smaller pharmacist to patient ratio compared to nurses or GP. In the end of the day, u will be no less bz-ier than doctors and nurses.

Are you a pharmacist now, hunliang?

Thanks for the job description of a pharmacist..... it do help to clear my doubts about this career.... it seems like the job of a pharmacist is very challenging!!! Hmmm... cant wait for the day to come when i have to undergone this hectic work schedule.... XD

hunliang
25-05-2008, 01:36 PM
Your welcome. I'm not a pharmacist yet, nearly one... graduating in a few weeks time (hopefully). but i've done a placement in hospital and i'll be starting hospital work soon.

Anderson
25-05-2008, 02:44 PM

omg.....it seems tat i edi misunderstood bout the work of a pharmacist like ca3ine....><
really dun sure do i got such passion in this job career now.....
i tot juz go hospital in da morning, wait lunch, wait high tea time, den go home.....urg.......soooooo cham.......:cry

hunliang
25-05-2008, 03:31 PM
Well, that is hospital pharmacy. there is still community pharmacy, which is not as intense in malaysia because you won't be dispensing. Even hospital pharmacy, it sounds horrible but it is not as bad once u get used to it. From my placement experience, you will just have to do what you can... and of course u will have pharmacy assistants and technicians helping you. U will be in control of the situation.

25-05-2008, 05:24 PM
Well, that is hospital pharmacy. there is still community pharmacy, which is not as intense in malaysia because you won't be dispensing. Even hospital pharmacy, it sounds horrible but it is not as bad once u get used to it. From my placement experience, you will just have to do what you can... and of course u will have pharmacy assistants and technicians helping you. U will be in control of the situation.

Hunliang, some questions to ask you coz you are gonna to become a real pharmacist (I think, coz you said in your post that you will be graduating in a few week time). Firstly, which college did you commence your AUSMAT (I think, coz you are now in Perth)? When was your college-start day? July or June, I am boring waiting the letter to reach me and can't wait to start learning now :huh! Secondly, are you going to be granted with Bachelor of Pharmacy by the university upon graduation? or other, probably Master of Pharmacy? (because as i know, in some countries it has been superseded by the Master of Pharmacy or Doctor of Pharmacy degrees, such as in UK). Lastly, can you relate to me or show me the websites that I can visit so I can know more about what is a pharmacist's actual working place) :)) Thanks in advance!

zulcomel
25-05-2008, 08:43 PM

waa..
u r d perfect person dat i can ask bout pharmacy thingy..as im one of the-pharmacist-to-be...lol. where did u study ur pre-u?? what pre-u was it??
r there any possiblitites 4 those who r applying 4 pharmacy(oversea) n doing their degree in malaysia?? where u did ur housemenship??

hunliang
25-05-2008, 08:57 PM
I went through the unconventional way of getting a degree in pharmacy. I'm currently doing a post-grad pharmacy in UWA. I came over to perth i think 2002....i'm quite old already :) to do TEE in Murdoch College (started Feb). Then i went all the way to Brisbane to do my bachelor of biomedical science before coming back here.

I dun really understand what do u mean by a pharmacist's working place... as in where pharmacist work? if u want to know more about career options of pharmacy, there is a recom thread about pharmacy career options i remember, just search for it. But if ur lazy, basically pharmacist career options are very wide. it depends on what your interest is in and i've summarized it below

1. community/retail pharmacist - those that u see in shops dispensing medications and provide primary healthcare.

2. hospital pharmacist - as described in the post above

3. industrial pharmacist - pharmacist that works for a pharmaceutical company - can work in manufacturing, QC, sales, provide drug information to health professionals or even in the legal side of things. because pharmacist will know law about drugs.

4. research pharmacist - pharmacist are sometimes the one running clinical trials in hospitals, pharmaceutical science research - like new drug formulations, pharmacy practice research - how to use drugs better

5. consultant pharmacist (this category doesn't exist in most part of the world yet but does in australia) - pharmacist in the community that conducts home medication reviews and nursing home reviews (pretty much you go visit a patient and check on how are they taking their medication, wat medication they are taking, how are they taking the medications, wat can be improved and send a review to the doctor with your recommendations)

6. Others - working for health department, administration, or be very specialised - like a pallative care pharmacist (pharmacist who look after dying ppl with no hope of cure) or psychiatry pharmacist (pharmacist specialising in mental health drugs)...

Anyway, the list doesn't end there. because pharmacists are sort of a jack of all trades, master of one (drugs) when you graduate. it really depends on what you want in the end of the day.

Ca3ine
25-05-2008, 11:51 PM
:)So I guess I'll start firstI got New Zealand and I'm going INTEC to do AUSMAT on JUNE 29th......anyone joining me???

dya_me
25-05-2008, 11:56 PM
:)So I guess I'll start firstI got New Zealand and I'm going INTEC to do AUSMAT on JUNE 29th......anyone joining me???

u already got da letter??i'm tired waiting lor...

Anderson
25-05-2008, 11:57 PM

guess i'll b joining u too.....lets wait n c 2morrow wuts gonna happen><

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 12:00 AM

u got ur letter dy??
i aso applying pharmacy...
which country u get??
which state r u from??

Ca3ine
26-05-2008, 12:06 AM
I'm from Kedah ma...tommorrow u all wake up early stand at gate la...open letter look for one very thin paper got stapler wan....can see d which country and wat course....then if u get new zealand...tell me...we go see sheep together...lolz

dya_me
26-05-2008, 12:10 AM
so, everybody will start pre-u on 29th june, rite??really hope i'll receive da letter tomorrow...

runninghorse
26-05-2008, 11:25 AM
Hey all future pharmacy student... if you already got your letter please post the details here....

i will start mine...

- intec (ausmat)
- australia

skyrainbow
26-05-2008, 11:47 AM
when r u starting ur course?

hey, i dd u in msn le runninghorse

Anderson
26-05-2008, 11:51 AM
here is mine.....

-INTEC(Ausmat)
-Australia

wuwuwu....have to leave msia for 4 years.....

runninghorse
26-05-2008, 11:51 AM
when r u starting ur course?

hey, i dd u in msn le runninghorse

register on 29june if you get intec...

thanks for the add but i cant log in my msn for now.... got some technical problem...

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 12:03 PM
I'm from Kedah ma...tommorrow u all wake up early stand at gate la...open letter look for one very thin paper got stapler wan....can see d which country and wat course....then if u get new zealand...tell me...we go see sheep together...lolz

we go c sheep tgether kay..
i aso got pharmacy in NZ..
im from kuantan..

runninghorse
26-05-2008, 12:05 PM
we go c sheep tgether kay..
i aso got pharmacy in NZ..
im from kuantan..

i would like to join toooo..

but i got australia....:cry

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 12:10 PM

u can join aso...
nz n aus is near wat...
u got where n wat course??

runninghorse
26-05-2008, 12:14 PM
u can join aso...
nz n aus is near wat...
u got where n wat course??

australia loh.... as i have mentioned above

pre-u in intec (ausmat)

i like the scenary view there in new zealand!!!

i believe all those who drop in here apply pharmacy in jpa.... including me as well....

skyrainbow
26-05-2008, 12:17 PM
runnighorse,

when r u departing?

do u ned 2 take blood test for jpa?

i heard that we need signature from our school, y do we need that?

n i oso heard that ppl going 2 intec need 2 wear baju kurung???

thanks.

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 12:21 PM
australis loh.... as i have mentioned above

pre-u in intec (ausmat)

i like the scenary view there in new zealand!!!

i believe all those who drop in here apply pharmacy in jpa.... including me as well....

ill send u few pictures then..
hehehe..
australia is aso good..

runninghorse
26-05-2008, 12:28 PM
runnighorse,

when r u departing?

do u ned 2 take blood test for jpa?

i heard that we need signature from our school, y do we need that?

n i oso heard that ppl going 2 intec need 2 wear baju kurung???

thanks.

> 29 june to register at INTEC...

> HARRRR!!!!! Is it ? I will faint everytime i take blood test leh......

> ermm... as a penjamin or sth like this i guess....

> ermm... you are refering to girls isnt it? there is a buku panduan here stating the etika pakaian...(taken from the book)
- berbaju kebangsan melayu/ baju batik
- blaus sopan dan kemas
- berseluar jeans/slacks kemas (longgar)
- pakaian sukan bersesuaian semasa bersukan
- DILARANG mewarnakan rambut... XD

Anderson
26-05-2008, 01:54 PM

haha, join me dude,
v go eat abalone in australia together....hehe!!

26-05-2008, 02:01 PM
i am going to die coz no letter for me yet

Anderson
26-05-2008, 02:03 PM
i am going to die coz no letter for me yet

call them.....
i get my letter bout 12 pm....
i sooooo curious bout urs la!!!
want to study wif u so badly!!!!!
i dunwan b da only boy from ipoh study there!!!

26-05-2008, 02:05 PM
call them.....
i get my letter bout 12 pm....
i sooooo curious bout urs la!!!
want to study wif u so badly!!!!!
i dunwan b da only boy from ipoh study there!!!

Call them? What is the number again? What to say when calling them?
I wonder when the letter would arrive at my house, coz now is already 2 pm.... :cry

Anderson
26-05-2008, 02:08 PM
Call them? What is the number again? What to say when calling them?
I wonder when the letter would arrive at my house, coz now is already 2 pm.... :cry

i juz try to b nice to them, greet them....and ask them if they could help me to check the country i bein send to, as i still nt receive my letter yet....
will b soon, cuz nt the ordinary postman send this, is frm postlaju van^^

26-05-2008, 02:10 PM
I think i need to wait anyhow, probably it wouldn't reach me so soon coz now is the postman's lunch time. Do less, eat more

Anderson
26-05-2008, 02:13 PM
I think i need to wait anyhow, probably it wouldn't reach me so soon coz now is the postman's lunch time. Do less, eat more

den juz call them n give a try la!!
is really suffer to c all ppl get edi, n u still waiting desperately there, i can feel it too><

Ca3ine
26-05-2008, 04:25 PM
waaa most of us doing ausmat in intec.....lolz...see a girl name Catherine...come say hi!!!!lolz.

Elsie
26-05-2008, 04:32 PM
i m very blur right now..
i'm in matriks now,my mum juz call telling me i'm going to new zealand..
n ausmat in i duno where(which is my problem..):cry
i will be registering on 29 june in duno wat college ..
so many names my mom mentioned n i m super duper lost..
wat intec,wat wat asakia n UiTM?!
but i know is shah alam..
any1 same with me?

Anderson
26-05-2008, 04:36 PM
waaa most of us doing ausmat in intec.....lolz...see a girl name Catherine...come say hi!!!!lolz.

hehe.....i will^^
but if u see a boy name ADON, remember to say aloha! to me wor!!

i m very blur right now..
i'm in matriks now,my mum juz call telling me i'm going to new zealand..
n ausmat in i duno where(which is my problem..):cry
i will be registering on 29 june in duno wat college ..
so many names my mom mentioned n i m super duper lost..
wat intec,wat wat asakia n UiTM?!
but i know is shah alam..
any1 same with me?

haha.....okok, no ned to b so tension. Here is urs:
-country to b send to: New Zealand
-course: Ausmat
-college: INTEC, UiTM which located in Shah Alam

cheers, ca3ene get the exactly same like urs^^

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 04:53 PM
warr..
me aso..
dun 4get 2 say hi 2 a boy named zulfikri..
realy wanna make frenz there...

Anderson
26-05-2008, 06:57 PM
warr..
me aso..
dun 4get 2 say hi 2 a boy named zulfikri..
realy wanna make frenz there...

haha a bigggggggggggggggggg hug for u, ok????

hunliang
26-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Anyway, just want to welcome all of you into the world of pharmacy...and really be mentally prepared for a really full-on course. :)

Anderson
26-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Anyway, just want to welcome all of you into the world of pharmacy...and really be mentally prepared for a really full-on course. :)

erm........thanks!!!!
hopefully we can enjoy wut we learn and put all our effort in it!!!

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 08:42 PM
haha a bigggggggggggggggggg hug for u, ok????

ekekekek..
ok..

tq2..
i kind of scared 2 do my AUSMAT..
coz i heard it is very hectic programme, n kinda difficult...

Elsie
26-05-2008, 08:48 PM
n heard dat there is tons of project works...
gosh..
all da best to all of us...^^

Anderson
26-05-2008, 08:51 PM
ekekekek..
ok..

tq2..
i kind of scared 2 do my AUSMAT..
coz i heard it is very hectic programme, n kinda difficult...

yea.....dunno can i handle it or not....
anyway, best wishes to all of us la!!!

n heard dat there is tons of project works...
gosh..
all da best to all of us...^^

hello, mind to let us know where u bein send to???
and pre-u location too^^

Ca3ine
26-05-2008, 08:54 PM
so far nobody get uk hor.....JPA bancrupt d r....lolz

Elsie
26-05-2008, 08:55 PM
ooo..
i tot u juz sort it out 4 me..
umm..
country 2 b send 2:new zealand
pre-u location: Intec,UiTM

Anderson
26-05-2008, 08:58 PM

haha....yea, i juz saw aus n new zealand only.....

ooo..
umm..

oh....yea yea yea><
forget pula.....

ooo..
umm..

oh....yea yea yea><
forget pula.....

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 08:58 PM

yeah..
till now i stil waiting 4 those who got pharmacy in uk..

Elsie
26-05-2008, 09:30 PM
so far no 1 get there..==
guess i nid to buy more baju kurung..

Anderson
26-05-2008, 09:55 PM
so far no 1 get there..==
guess i nid to buy more baju kurung..

i tot for girls only have to wear on monday????
lol.....i goin to wear a same jeans for a month......haha!

azemo
26-05-2008, 10:33 PM
for the prep, i got intec, uitm [ausmat].

i hav no idea wat will we study for ausmat............how many subject?........how tough they r........& wat is the value of cut-off pointer?

skyrainbow
26-05-2008, 10:51 PM
where do u live tanyijing2007?

zulcomel
26-05-2008, 11:47 PM
i juz knew 1 of my frenz got pharmacy in uk..
she'l b doing ALvel in kolej sedaya international bla bla bla in cheras..

Anderson
27-05-2008, 12:02 AM
where do u live tanyijing2007?

he live in somewhere in perak^^
80km frm Teluk Intan^^

nt bad....but Australia is my first and best option><
cuz near msia....around 4 hour flight, my family can come to me easily as compared to 20++ hours flight if i get to go UK...
summore....the weather in Australia suit us asian more....
juz my own opinion la.....Adon's theory.....haha

dya_me
27-05-2008, 12:14 AM
got NZ also....so many NZ n australia here uh??

-ausmat
-intec

Anderson
27-05-2008, 12:40 AM
got NZ also....so many NZ n australia here uh??

-ausmat
-intec

hehe, nice to see another future fren who study in intec too^^

nana90
27-05-2008, 01:16 PM

yeah, my fren got it too :)

27-05-2008, 01:53 PM
Hi everybody, what a nice day we have. It is glad to tell you that (especially Anderson) I just got the letter from PSD at 12.00 p.m. sharp by an ordinary postman (not with a van, but a motorcycle instead), anyway, all of these do not matter, the one I matter is I got to visit England in my future days, YAHOO! Say to say, I will not be sent to INTEC because I will not going to have AUSMAT but A-level. So, PSD sends me to UCSI. By the way, anyone here which have also received letter for registration on 30 June in UCSI, Cheras?

Anderson
27-05-2008, 02:01 PM
Hi everybody, what a nice day we have. It is glad to tell you that (especially Anderson) I just got the letter from PSD at 12.00 p.m. sharp by an ordinary postman (not with a van, but a motorcycle instead), anyway, all of these do not matter, the one I matter is I got to visit England in my future days, YAHOO! Say to say, I will not be sent to INTEC because I will not going to have AUSMAT but A-level. So, PSD sends me to UCSI. By the way, anyone here which have also received letter for registration on 30 June in UCSI, Cheras?

waw, congra to u!!!!
u r really lucky enuf to b send to UK, although a bit sad cant study together wif u....
anway, wish u gudluck in your future study and all da best on ur journey to UK yea!!!!
once again, congra!!!!!

27-05-2008, 02:09 PM
waw, congra to u!!!!
u r really lucky enuf to b send to UK, although a bit sad cant study together wif u....
anway, wish u gudluck in your future study and all da best on ur journey to UK yea!!!!
once again, congra!!!!!

Yeah, very sad, no guys from the same state of me will have A-level study with me in the same college? :cry Congratulation to you too and best of luck. Though we will not be together in the coming years, we can still be in touch as we have the same dream, aspiration and hope - to be a pharmacist. Never hesitate to ask me if you have any questions! :laugh

Anderson
27-05-2008, 02:27 PM
Yeah, very sad, no guys from the same state of me will have A-level study with me in the same college? :cry Congratulation to you too and best of luck. Though we will not be together in the coming years, we can still be in touch as we have the same dream, aspiration and hope - to be a pharmacist. Never hesitate to ask me if you have any questions! :laugh

yea!!!
we still can hang out together when in KL....hehe!!!
hmm, still , sad la, i tot to find a roommate of same state, same race, same course n same country 1....><

27-05-2008, 02:46 PM
yea!!!
we still can hang out together when in KL....hehe!!!
hmm, still , sad la, i tot to find a roommate of same state, same race, same course n same country 1....><

Yeah, probably. Anyway, I will be doing my A-level study in Cheras, it is quite far from the city center and I am not familiar with there. Any ReCom here is from Cheras, can you tell me any fun stuffs which would be found in the city, since Cheras is bigger than what you think. :nuts

runninghorse
27-05-2008, 03:09 PM

Congratulation tanyijing!!!! You are so so so(x100000) lucky to get United Kingdom!!!! That means by the time you graduated from UK you are a master in pharmacy!!! So jealous of you....... Hahaha.....

so now we have Ca3ine, elsie, zulcomel and dya me going to New Zealand

anderson, azemo, skyrainbow and i go to australia

tanyijing2007 flies to UK alone... Hehehe...

27-05-2008, 03:12 PM
Congratulation tanyijing!!!! You are so so so(x100000) lucky to get United Kingdom!!!! That means by the time you graduated from UK you are a master in pharmacy!!! So jealous of you....... Hahaha.....

Sob... Sob... runninghorse, you are really good at making statistics. :wink
Miserable... only me to UK!

Anderson
27-05-2008, 03:15 PM

haha....u really good in doin such thing....
dun worry tanyijing, still got many students out there get UK i think><

runninghorse
27-05-2008, 03:21 PM

Hahaha... dont be sad... you will get to know all those who will be going to UK when you are doing A-Level in UCSI....

maybe by that time you already forgot Anderson and me in recom here loh... Is it Anderson?

Anderson
27-05-2008, 03:24 PM
Hahaha... dont be sad... you will get to know all those who will be going to UK when you are doing A-Level in UCSI....

maybe by that time you already forgot Anderson and me in recom here loh... Is it Anderson?

haiz.....sad but hopefully wont lo><
btw, i still dun have runningHORSE 's msn.....><
private msg me ok????

27-05-2008, 03:25 PM

Nope, Anderson stands for Teluk Intan, runninghorse stands for runningHOUSE. LOL, it is really hard to forget even if I wish to. :laugh

Anderson
27-05-2008, 03:29 PM
Nope, Anderson stands for Teluk Intan, runninghorse stands for runningHOUSE. LOL, it is really hard to forget even if I wish to. :laugh

lol...
sorry lo, i stand for menglembu, hahaha....
better keep ur promise yea^^
haha......

27-05-2008, 03:32 PM
For JPA scholars 2008 (replaces the term: scholars-to-be) who got to have their pharmacy study in United Kingdom, the following is a list of UK universities providing pharmacy course:

Aston University
Bath University
Cardiff University
Central Lancashire, University of
De Montfort University
Huddersfield, University of
Keele University
King's College London (University of London)
Kingston University
Liverpool John Moores University
Matthew Boulton College of Further And Higher Education
Mid Kent College of Higher And Further Education
Nottingham University
Portsmouth, University of
Queen's University Belfast, The
Robert Gordon University
Sunderland University
The School of Pharmacy, University of London
The University of Greenwich
The University of Reading
University of Bradford
University of Brighton
University of East Anglia
University of Hertfordshire
University of Manchester
University of Strathclyde
University of Wolverhampton

runninghorse
27-05-2008, 03:46 PM
haiz.....sad but hopefully wont lo><
btw, i still dun have runningHORSE 's msn.....><
private msg me ok????

Ermmm... i thought i already add the msn in my public profile? Lol....

Anyway just to tell you that these days you wont be able to see me online in msn.... dont know what's wrong with my windows live messenger.... most of the time i wont waste my time sign in for the stupid messenger :mad have to troubleshoot again and again for thousands time....

27-05-2008, 03:54 PM

Anyway just to tell you that these days you wont be able to see me online in msn.... dont know what's wrong with my windows live messenger.... most of the time i wont waste my time sign in for the stupid messenger :mad have to troubleshoot again and again for thousands time....

Agree, what troubleshooter, don't let me get angry and shoot you with my bullets. Recently, there are many complains about the problems in signing into their respective accounts, don't know what happen. :mad

According to The Times, UK, the following are the Top Universities 2007 League Table (adapted: include only universities offering pharmacy course)
aston 13
bath 9
cardiff 16
Central Lancashire 72
De Montfort 99
Huddersfield 90
keele 52
king's 17
kingston 89
Liverpool John Moores 83
Nottingham 14
Portsmouth 76
Queen's, Belfast 32
Robert Gordon 56
Sunderland 92
Greenwich 106
Reading 31
bradford 47
brighton 59
east anglia 23
Hertfordshire 85
manchester 26
Strathclyde 40
Wolverhampton 99

Can anyone tell me what is the difference between pharmacology and pharmacy?

According to Top University (http://www.thegooduniversityguide.org.uk/single.htm?ipg=6643), Strathclyde is the best university for pharmacy (for those who got TWINNING programme, congratulation for having a chance to the topmost university for pharmacy), As for pharmacology, Cambridge appears to be the best, followed by Edinburgh.

hunliang
27-05-2008, 04:43 PM
Can anyone tell me what is the difference between pharmacology and pharmacy?

Well, congrates tanyiking. must be relief now aren't u?

Anyway regarding ur question it has already been answered many times in recom
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5517&highlight=pharmacology

skyrainbow
27-05-2008, 04:56 PM
congrazt 2 tanyijing who get 2 go 2 uk.

Anderson
27-05-2008, 05:18 PM

lol.....
yea wor, never check ur public profile pula><
stupid msn la, always like tat.....bear wif it la

congrazt 2 tanyijing who get 2 go 2 uk.

but juz my greed loh. i oso wan 2 go 2 uk.
my result is not bad 12a1 1a2(bc) n gce a2, dono y icant get 2 uk.
oso very active in coco.

very sad loh, but must b grqteful when i get australia.

haha....for me, i juz hope can do twinning ...
but now get australia oso nt bad, near msia^^
however , my teacher told me australia university set very high cutting point.....like 90++ sth
so many of JPA pharmacy scholar ended up in IMU....
watever la, juz do our best first!!!

hunliang
27-05-2008, 05:46 PM
lol.....

haha....for me, i juz hope can do twinning ...
but now get australia oso nt bad, near msia^^
however , my teacher told me australia university set very high cutting point.....like 90++ sth
so many of JPA pharmacy scholar ended up in IMU....
watever la, juz do our best first!!!

Dun worry too much about that, the standard is dropping. For example, I think pharmacy in Curtin is 87 now as they are producing way too many graduates a year. When i applied 5 years ago it was 93.

zulcomel
27-05-2008, 08:19 PM

dun worry..
ull get frenz while u r doing ur alvel l8er..
i wish u all d best..

Anderson
27-05-2008, 09:09 PM
Dun worry too much about that, the standard is dropping. For example, I think pharmacy in Curtin is 87 now as they are producing way too many graduates a year. When i applied 5 years ago it was 93.

hmm, is it hard to pass????
i mean, like when in ur time, how many student cant pass and ended in local u????
is it large portion of student cant go????

hunliang
27-05-2008, 09:30 PM
hmm, is it hard to pass????
i mean, like when in ur time, how many student cant pass and ended in local u????
is it large portion of student cant go????

No idea, i wasn't in local uni. I came to Perth straight after form 5... but it is quite easy to get high score. A score of 90 meaning u have to be the top 10%. So not hard...

bekokjai
27-05-2008, 09:45 PM
Hi there. I'm new here. I do got jpa for pharmacy at new zealand. I will be doing my AUSMAT next month. So, can't wait to be with u guys. I heard about some sort of self-ashamed-attitude here. Relax guyz. Spm or O-level were just history. We have a new life to go through. Life has to go on. Anyway, I think we better know each others well. Then we can help each other there.:nuts

Anderson
27-05-2008, 09:50 PM
Hi there. I'm new here. I do got jpa for pharmacy at new zealand. I will be doing my AUSMAT next month. So, can't wait to be with u guys. I heard about some sort of self-ashamed-attitude here. Relax guyz. Spm or O-level were just history. We have a new life to go through. Life has to go on. Anyway, I think we better know each others well. Then we can help each other there.:nuts

yea^^
let me b the first to give u a big warm hugggggggggggggggg
btw, i am anderson from perak, goin to do AUSMAT in INTEC ^^
u can juz call me Adon^^
nice to meet u yea^^

No idea, i wasn't in local uni. I came to Perth straight after form 5... but it is quite easy to get high score. A score of 90 meaning u have to be the top 10%. So not hard...

waw.....90 marks.....hopefully it will b easy for me.....my study really sucks....

hunliang
27-05-2008, 09:57 PM
yea^^
let me b the first to give u a big warm hugggggggggggggggg
btw, i am anderson from perak, goin to do AUSMAT in INTEC ^^
u can juz call me Adon^^
nice to meet u yea^^

waw.....90 marks.....hopefully it will b easy for me.....my study really sucks....

no not 90%!!! a score of 90 meaning ur in the top 10% of the state, while a score of 80 meaning ur in the top 20% of the state and so on...

Anderson
27-05-2008, 10:00 PM
no not 90%!!! a score of 90 meaning ur in the top 10% of the state, while a score of 80 meaning ur in the top 20% of the state and so on...

so we will not know wut is our score until the last dae we get our result rite???
btw, my math really bad....maths in AUSMAT hard????

hunliang
27-05-2008, 10:17 PM
so we will not know wut is our score until the last dae we get our result rite???
btw, my math really bad....maths in AUSMAT hard????

Yea, but dun worry too much, most ppl will go in pharmacy... maths is easy, SPM level i think. One advice to all of you is not to underestimate yourselves. If u are good enuf to get JPA, you can definately do well in ausmat... in fact it will be a piece of cake for u all i reckon

Anderson
27-05-2008, 10:22 PM
Yea, but dun worry too much, most ppl will go in pharmacy... maths is easy, SPM level i think. One advice to all of you is not to underestimate yourselves. If u are good enuf to get JPA, you can definately do well in ausmat... in fact it will be a piece of cake for u all i reckon

erm.......u make me relief.........
thanks......................:)

zulcomel
27-05-2008, 10:46 PM

can u clarify on AUSMAT system-exam,marking n others..
coz i heard AUSMAT hav diff system..d TER...
as an ex-AUSMATian, wat is ur advice 4 us who r going 2 study AUSMAT??

hunliang
27-05-2008, 10:58 PM
can u clarify on AUSMAT system-exam,marking n others..
coz i heard AUSMAT hav diff system..d TER...
as an ex-AUSMATian, wat is ur advice 4 us who r going 2 study AUSMAT??

I didn't do AUSMAT... I did the Western Australian TEE. If you want to ask about exams and marking, you will need to find someone who really when thru the process.

I think we are going a bit off topic here from pharmacy, but anyway

Every state in Australia has it's own education programme. I think AUSMAT is based on the South Australia system, which is also known as SAM... but i cannot be 100% sure.

TER is tertiary entrance ranking. It ranks every single person in the state from best to worst. So when u get a score of lets say 80% average, u will be compared to the rest of the students in the state and then be assigned a TER. If u get a TER of 90 - that means your in the top 10% . That doesn't mean 80% = TER 90. It differs from year to year.

But in the end of the day, Australian pre-u is easy compared to STPM, way easier...so dun worry too much about it. Worry when you start pharmacy... that is the tough course that you will be going thru.

zulcomel
27-05-2008, 11:03 PM
I didn't do AUSMAT... I did the Western Australian TEE. If you want to ask about exams and marking, you will need to find someone who really when thru the process.

I think we are going a bit off topic here from pharmacy, but anyway

Every state in Australia has it's own education programme. I think AUSMAT is based on the South Australia system, which is also known as SAM... but i cannot be 100% sure.

TER is tertiary entrance ranking. It ranks every single person in the state from best to worst. So when u get a score of lets say 80% average, u will be compared to the rest of the students in the state and then be assigned a TER. If u get a TER of 90 - that means your in the top 10% . That doesn't mean 80% = TER 90. It differs from year to year.

But in the end of the day, Australian pre-u is easy compared to STPM, way easier...so dun worry too much about it. Worry when you start pharmacy... that is the tough course that you will be going thru.

tq 4 ur explaination..
hope i can excel in AUSMAT n Pharmacy l8er...

28-05-2008, 10:18 PM

Hi, bekokjai, nice to meet you. :P Nice to hear your encouraging words too.

bekokjai
30-05-2008, 07:55 PM
Hi, bekokjai, nice to meet you. :P Nice to hear your encouraging words too.

TQ. But I'm also worry bout myself. I will be doing my AUSMAT at INTEC. So, no much diff. I was wonder bout the syllabus of AUSMAT's science subjct. Anyone know? I want to be well-prepared before i enter the first sem. Totally prepared. Coz my spm result wasn't any good. Thus, any one here can help?:huh

Ca3ine
31-05-2008, 02:23 PM
what is the best uni in new zealand?And what happens if I dun get accepted??

zulcomel
31-05-2008, 08:14 PM
what is the best uni in new zealand?And what happens if I dun get accepted??

its uni of Auckland n Otago..
bt 4 pharmacist-2-be..its Otago..coz Auckland doesnt offer diz course 2 international students. besides, Otago is d only uni in NZ approved by JPA 4 pharmacy..

01-06-2008, 03:42 PM
For those getting to Australia for their pharmacy course after graduation from A-level which wish to know the rankings of Australian University for aiming purpose, please pay a sneak look on this post. Thanks:

2008 Ranking web of the World Universities (Australian List)
47 AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY
105 MONASH UNIVERSITY
113 UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND
118 UNIVERSITY OF NEW SOUTH WALES
120 UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY
128 UNIVERSITY OF MELBOURNE
243 UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE
252 UNIVERSITY OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA
332 MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY
341 RMIT UNIVERSITY
According to this ranking, ANU is the No. 1 Uni in Aus (rank 47 in the world), followed by Monash.
: quoted from http://www.studyconnect.com/forums/showpost.php?p=18085&postcount=1
:)) If you compare the 2008's result to 2007's result
http://www.australian-universities.com/rankings/, you would be surprised. :nuts

By the way, Pharmacy School in Australia

Charles Sturt University [CSU]
Curtin University of Technology [CURTIN]
James Cook University [JCU]
Monash University [MONASH]
University of Canberra [CANBERRA]
University of Queensland [QUEENSLAND]
University of Sydney [SYDNEY]
University of Tasmania [TASMANIA]
quoted from http://www.australian-universities.com/schools/pharmacy/

Well, congrates tanyiking. must be relief now aren't u?

Anyway regarding ur question it has already been answered many times in recom
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5517&highlight=pharmacology

Thanks, hunliang late :laugh

Ca3ine
01-06-2008, 04:37 PM
Okey so if so many people are applying into University of Otago and IF We don't get accepted what happens then???
Can't people who get NZ apply to Australia to increase our chances since AUSMAT can gain entry into Australia as well?

Elsie
02-06-2008, 01:04 AM
ya..i'm quite worry if i m not able to get into da uni in NZ..
gosh..wher will i b then??

Anderson
02-06-2008, 01:32 PM
ya..i'm quite worry if i m not able to get into da uni in NZ..
gosh..wher will i b then??

lol....IMU perhaps???
juz kidding larrrrrr

dya_me
02-06-2008, 04:05 PM
congratz 2 tanyijing...at last,u've got UK...its worth waiting 4 da letter,isnt it??
4 ausmat, we need 2 choose btween physics n spec. math...which one is da best 4 pharmacy huh??

Anderson
02-06-2008, 05:28 PM
congratz 2 tanyijing...at last,u've got UK...its worth waiting 4 da letter,isnt it??
4 ausmat, we need 2 choose btween physics n spec. math...which one is da best 4 pharmacy huh??

yea, really have to congratz to him^^
for me,i will choose physics.....><
juz bcuz my math sucks, nth special reason><

skyrainbow
02-06-2008, 06:21 PM
the prospectus of taylor college suggest ppl doing health sciences to take physics.

Elsie
02-06-2008, 06:27 PM
haha..
argh..i dun like physics.hehe..
but i hav a great feeling i will choose physics..T.T
wat's da difference between mathematical studies and specialist math?

az90
02-06-2008, 11:16 PM
hi... new here,,.. got ausmat... nice to meet all of you here. btw... if we don't succeed in ausmat, where we will go then??

dya_me
03-06-2008, 10:49 AM
Firstly, AUSMAT stands for AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.In other colleges, mostly private, AUSMAT is better known as SAM which stands for SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.Similar to other pre-U courses such as Cambridge ?A? Levels or even form 6, the subjects offered in INTEC?s AUSMAT are basically the same, that is what we normally call the ?sciences? and the ?arts?. Sciences are of course, Physics, Chemistry and Biology while the arts will have Economics and Accounting. Aside from these, compulsory subjects will be Mathematics and the ESLS (English as Second Language Studies), while additional subjects are Specialist Mathematics and Malay Studies (its true?). Together with students of other programs, the AUSMAT students are also required to take compulsory Ethics and computer literacy subjects, that is C++ programming for now (subject to change).Now you have an idea of the subjects offered, let?s look at the plan of study for AUSMAT at INTEC.Basically there are two types of plan of study:1) Year 11 (6 months) + Year 12 (9 months) = approx. 15 months. If you are a JPA or a MARA scholar offered to study in Australia or New Zealand, you will most likely follow this study plan if you are placed at INTEC for your pre-U.In the year after your SPM year, you will begin your AUSMAT program in June-July until November starting with what we call ?the bridging course? named Year 11 for 6 months.

The main purpose of this course as suggested by its name ?the bridging course?, is to improve language proficiency. You will have long hours of ESLS during this 6 months focusing more on general grammar, reading and writing. At the same time, you will also accomplish some of the tasks required in the ESLS subject. Simultaneously, you will also have IELTS (International English Language Testing System) ? a requirement by most universities ? classes. Aside from English, Year 11 also introduces you to the subjects you will be taking in accordance to your course next year in Year 12. Take engineering for example, your subject combination in Year 12 will be Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Specialist Mathematics, while a medical related course will have Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics. ESLS is compulsory for all students. At the end of Year 11, you will sit for the Year 11 final examination.The following 9 months of AUSMAT is called Year 12, and during this period, you will face extensive study on the subjects related to your course. From time to time, you will face quizzes, tests, and exams (mid-term, finals and trials). Simultaneously, you are also required to accomplish many assignments for each subject.Take ESLS for example, you will be asked to search for a research topic and conduct a study as though you are asked to do a mini thesis paper with scholarly ?protocols?, formats and citations. In the AUSMAT program, it is highly advisable that you consult your lecturer AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE because they are honestly truly sacrificial and willing to help you in anyway they can! At the end, you will face an external major exam called the SSABSA examination for the subjects of your course.(2) Accelerated Year 12 (9 months)This plan of study is adopted by many private colleges.If you are a Petronas scholar you will probably start AUSMAT right after your SPM year. The difference of this plan of study with the previous one is that there is no Year 11 and you will begin the study of your subject combinations right away (Year 12).

Some important facts about AUSMAT: Unlike ?A? Levels and Form 6, both internal and external assessments in AUSMAT/SAM are accumulative and counted in the final calculation of your TER (Tertiary Entrance Ranking ? over 100).Therefore, it is crucial that you perform consistently throughout as your performance even in attendance, participation in class, quizzes, tests and assignments are recorded and counted in your final TER.TER is something like a ranking of your performance in the AUSMAT/SAM program for all AUSMAT/SAM students WORLDWIDE for a particular year.Although the calculation of the TER is oblivious to many, even to lecturers, its meaning stays clear. Let?s say I took the SSABSA exam in 2007 and my TER value is 95, this signifies that I am among the top 5% worldwide who did best in the AUSMAT/SAM program for year 2007. Many Australian and New Zealand universities require that your TER be higher than a cut-off-point value, usually 80+. The context in the syllabus is MUCH less compared to ?A? Levels and Form 6.Personally for me, the amount of knowledge such as concepts, theories, and most of all fundamental understanding on the subjects one will gain is SO much LESS. Disappointing as it may seem, this program however is packed with tones of assignments which take up loads of time and energy, sometimes to the point that we have little time to study for our exams. Therefore, you must be smart in managing your time well, and always try your best to accomplish and hand in your assignments within the time limit allowed. A good thing about these assignments is that one will learn a lot of things outside of the syllabus. This program is quite contemporary; meaning that the use of the internet and certain technologies such as the Graphic Calculator is much more extensive compared to the more conventional ?A? Levels. In this program, you will be sharpened to be more independent in finding information through wide ranges of sources, from journals to books, from newspapers to reports, from the internet to even books of other programs. All sorts of sources are useable as long as it is valid and not out-dated.To conclude, this program offers little in terms of knowledge but more to skills in dealing with scholarly materials, time constraints and pressure. I quote most of my seniors by saying that you will find yourself comfortable in dealing with university studies if you do well in the AUSMAT program. The skills cultivated will help you enormously in your degree programs.

p/s:i've found diz...hope it will help...written in 2007...

03-06-2008, 11:25 AM
Firstly, AUSMAT stands for AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.In other colleges, mostly private, AUSMAT is better known as SAM which stands for SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.

Take note here, AUSMAT and SAM are not exactly the same...

skyrainbow
03-06-2008, 12:18 PM
what's their difference? thanks

zulcomel
03-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Firstly, AUSMAT stands for AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.In other colleges, mostly private, AUSMAT is better known as SAM which stands for SOUTH AUSTRALIAN MATRICULATION.Similar to other pre-U courses such as Cambridge ?A? Levels or even form 6, the subjects offered in INTEC?s AUSMAT are basically the same, that is what we normally call the ?sciences? and the ?arts?. Sciences are of course, Physics, Chemistry and Biology while the arts will have Economics and Accounting. Aside from these, compulsory subjects will be Mathematics and the ESLS (English as Second Language Studies), while additional subjects are Specialist Mathematics and Malay Studies (its true?). Together with students of other programs, the AUSMAT students are also required to take compulsory Ethics and computer literacy subjects, that is C++ programming for now (subject to change).Now you have an idea of the subjects offered, let?s look at the plan of study for AUSMAT at INTEC.Basically there are two types of plan of study:1) Year 11 (6 months) + Year 12 (9 months) = approx. 15 months. If you are a JPA or a MARA scholar offered to study in Australia or New Zealand, you will most likely follow this study plan if you are placed at INTEC for your pre-U.In the year after your SPM year, you will begin your AUSMAT program in June-July until November starting with what we call ?the bridging course? named Year 11 for 6 months.

The main purpose of this course as suggested by its name ?the bridging course?, is to improve language proficiency. You will have long hours of ESLS during this 6 months focusing more on general grammar, reading and writing. At the same time, you will also accomplish some of the tasks required in the ESLS subject. Simultaneously, you will also have IELTS (International English Language Testing System) ? a requirement by most universities ? classes. Aside from English, Year 11 also introduces you to the subjects you will be taking in accordance to your course next year in Year 12. Take engineering for example, your subject combination in Year 12 will be Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Specialist Mathematics, while a medical related course will have Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics. ESLS is compulsory for all students. At the end of Year 11, you will sit for the Year 11 final examination.The following 9 months of AUSMAT is called Year 12, and during this period, you will face extensive study on the subjects related to your course. From time to time, you will face quizzes, tests, and exams (mid-term, finals and trials). Simultaneously, you are also required to accomplish many assignments for each subject.Take ESLS for example, you will be asked to search for a research topic and conduct a study as though you are asked to do a mini thesis paper with scholarly ?protocols?, formats and citations. In the AUSMAT program, it is highly advisable that you consult your lecturer AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE because they are honestly truly sacrificial and willing to help you in anyway they can! At the end, you will face an external major exam called the SSABSA examination for the subjects of your course.(2) Accelerated Year 12 (9 months)This plan of study is adopted by many private colleges.If you are a Petronas scholar you will probably start AUSMAT right after your SPM year. The difference of this plan of study with the previous one is that there is no Year 11 and you will begin the study of your subject combinations right away (Year 12).

Some important facts about AUSMAT: Unlike ?A? Levels and Form 6, both internal and external assessments in AUSMAT/SAM are accumulative and counted in the final calculation of your TER (Tertiary Entrance Ranking ? over 100).Therefore, it is crucial that you perform consistently throughout as your performance even in attendance, participation in class, quizzes, tests and assignments are recorded and counted in your final TER.TER is something like a ranking of your performance in the AUSMAT/SAM program for all AUSMAT/SAM students WORLDWIDE for a particular year.Although the calculation of the TER is oblivious to many, even to lecturers, its meaning stays clear. Let?s say I took the SSABSA exam in 2007 and my TER value is 95, this signifies that I am among the top 5% worldwide who did best in the AUSMAT/SAM program for year 2007. Many Australian and New Zealand universities require that your TER be higher than a cut-off-point value, usually 80+. The context in the syllabus is MUCH less compared to ?A? Levels and Form 6.Personally for me, the amount of knowledge such as concepts, theories, and most of all fundamental understanding on the subjects one will gain is SO much LESS. Disappointing as it may seem, this program however is packed with tones of assignments which take up loads of time and energy, sometimes to the point that we have little time to study for our exams. Therefore, you must be smart in managing your time well, and always try your best to accomplish and hand in your assignments within the time limit allowed. A good thing about these assignments is that one will learn a lot of things outside of the syllabus. This program is quite contemporary; meaning that the use of the internet and certain technologies such as the Graphic Calculator is much more extensive compared to the more conventional ?A? Levels. In this program, you will be sharpened to be more independent in finding information through wide ranges of sources, from journals to books, from newspapers to reports, from the internet to even books of other programs. All sorts of sources are useable as long as it is valid and not out-dated.To conclude, this program offers little in terms of knowledge but more to skills in dealing with scholarly materials, time constraints and pressure. I quote most of my seniors by saying that you will find yourself comfortable in dealing with university studies if you do well in the AUSMAT program. The skills cultivated will help you enormously in your degree programs.

p/s:i've found diz...hope it will help...written in 2007...

tq very much 2 u..it does help me lot 2 b mentally-well-prepared..
kinda sked rite now..

skenz1231
03-06-2008, 09:09 PM
yea, really have to congratz to him^^
for me,i will choose physics.....><
juz bcuz my math sucks, nth special reason><

physics is surely a beta option compared 2 spec maths...previously, i study in taylors ..n during common test one in taylors..some class oni gt 5 ppl pass 4 their spec maths exam...

dya_me
04-06-2008, 09:28 PM
Take note here, AUSMAT and SAM are not exactly the same...

what is da difference??the syllabus??

Elsie
05-06-2008, 12:49 AM
physics is surely a beta option compared 2 spec maths...previously, i study in taylors ..n during common test one in taylors..some class oni gt 5 ppl pass 4 their spec maths exam...

serious?but i really dun like physic...T.T
spec math further math add math,wat's da difference?
pharmacist have to study physic?

05-06-2008, 12:55 AM
serious?but i really dun like physic...T.T
spec math further math add math,wat's da difference?
pharmacist have to study physic?

I don't know your case in your college. But in accordance with my senior in UCSI, she said that it is safe for you to have Physics as your extra subject when doing A-level. If you've unintentionally scored bad for one of the subjects, e.g. Biology, Physics will be your rescuer. :amuse

P/s: Chemistry is more important than Biology or Physics.

Elsie
05-06-2008, 12:57 AM
oic...
thx a lot..wish u luck in going to uk~

zell_ll
05-06-2008, 07:05 AM
I don't know your case in your college. But in accordance with my senior in UCSI, she said that it is safe for you to have Physics as your extra subject when doing A-level. If you've unintentionally scored bad for one of the subjects, e.g. Biology, Physics will be your rescuer. :amuse

P/s: Chemistry is more important than Biology or Physics.

You don;t have to do all science subjects. Can try to do 1 art subject, because university will look for all round.. so u can do 3 sciences (Chem, Maths, Bio/Phys) plus 1 art (Econs, Sociology).

Anderson
05-06-2008, 11:13 AM
You don;t have to do all science subjects. Can try to do 1 art subject, because university will look for all round.. so u can do 3 sciences (Chem, Maths, Bio/Phys) plus 1 art (Econs, Sociology).

for real???
then i'll definately choose sociology....sounds more interesting than physics or biology....lol

zulcomel
06-06-2008, 10:18 AM
guys..
wanna ask is it necessary 4 ausmatians to bring laptop n printer along
or only laptop ony??
coz my sis is planin 2 buy me a printer bt i dun wan..coz uses a lot o space..

phoenixV
12-06-2008, 12:51 AM
tanyijing2oo7,nice to meet u here.im also getting jpa scholarship to go to UK.Same as u,i will be doing my A level in Ucsi. hmmm...hav u prepared all the things that required by JPA?? then do us nid to find room to stay or hostel by ourselves??

12-06-2008, 12:12 PM
tanyijing2oo7,nice to meet u here.im also getting jpa scholarship to go to UK.Same as u,i will be doing my A level in Ucsi. hmmm...hav u prepared all the things that required by JPA?? then do us nid to find room to stay or hostel by ourselves??

Sorry for being late to reply to your post here. :laugh In fact, we don't need to be anxious about where we stay and what we eat in UCSI because we are PSD Scholars (appears to be like a bit of show-off). In accordance with one of my friends, she is a PSD scholar, she say everything will be set when we reach there. So don't you worry about. :P By the way, nice to meet you too. Join our chit-chats in UCSI posts in ReCom Chatroom. :nod

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/images/tambahan_tkrtmpt_dftar.gif

Anderson
14-06-2008, 09:11 PM
harlo^^,new here.
i also go intec then go new zealand 4 pharmacy.Nice 2 meet u al~~
wana ask if bring laptop 2 there,then do we nd 2 pay 4 da internet line?If nd ,then is how much?

so far as i concern....there's no wifi in cendana...
anyway, u seems to like a girl right( i juz guess frm ur name=.=)??
if so then is okay....there is thing like wifi as i noe at cemara/akasia...
some1 correct me if im wrong...

Elsie
16-06-2008, 05:05 PM
harlo^^,new here.
i also go intec then go new zealand 4 pharmacy.Nice 2 meet u al~~
wana ask if bring laptop 2 there,then do we nd 2 pay 4 da internet line?If nd ,then is how much?

same like melo~:))
da internet wireless will cost u rm75(wat i heard frm senior) for a sem.but da line is very slow..no worth it at all.:notrust so he suggest me to use comp in da school.

18-06-2008, 09:12 PM
Let's keep this thread clean from chats shall we?

chatty posts removed

18-06-2008, 09:16 PM
Let's keep this thread clean from chats shall we?

chatty posts removed

:P How about a new discussion about the dispensing rights of doctors: New Straits Times (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/news_result?src_term=pharmacy&x=0&y=0)
P/s: vseehua, the moderator. :))

starrie
26-06-2008, 09:02 PM
hey there everyone....i m a new pharmacist-to-be here...just to introduce myself
i gt jpa scholarship-pharmacy twinning-a level in intec tis sunday
anyone joining me?:amuse

26-06-2008, 10:01 PM
hey there everyone....i m a new pharmacist-to-be here...just to introduce myself
i gt jpa scholarship-pharmacy twinning-a level in intec tis sunday
anyone joining me?:amuse

Well, you should have joined other posts such as Q & A when completing JPA's documents since there are more JPA scholars having their ways to INTEC making their discussion there. :) By the way, nice to meet you too, starrie.

starrie
27-06-2008, 08:38 PM
ok...will do soon....as i m new here, now i m trying to make myself familiar with tis forum...by d way wish u all de best n congratz coz u r goin to enjoy yr life in uk(soon)...perhaps i can meet u there in my final year...haha..who knows?:P

27-06-2008, 08:40 PM
:P How about a new discussion about the dispensing rights of doctors: New Straits Times (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/news_result?src_term=pharmacy&x=0&y=0)
P/s: vseehua, the moderator. :))Not in this thread, I think there is already an existing thread about this issue. You might want to look up on that