View Full Version : JPA 2008 Arts and Humanity

14-05-2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone apply for JPA arts and humanity?Do share here..

i heard that arts and humanity like social science do deal a lot with writting ,and ur english must be very powerful ,is that true?

passOUT
14-05-2008, 04:21 PM
finally...
thank goodness!!! found someone making it to the arts and humanities...*cheers*
i'm not sure about that (good writing skills + superb English) because i can only write wonderfully and superbly *haha* when i feel like it...other times, just "so-so" lar...and my English...also "s0-so" lar...

anyway, did your panel asked you where you want to go? mine asked me and i told them i'm still juggling between canada and the states....

last but not least,
nice to meet you and who knows, we may end up in the same college!!!

=D

14-05-2008, 04:24 PM
hmm...well...cheers!!

accorrding to the jpa info, we might be sent to either UK,US or Canada..
but i prefer canada ..

nice to meet u so...
are u a guy or gal?

passOUT
14-05-2008, 06:09 PM
pardon me if I'm wrong but i thought Egypt and Jordan was also in the list...
which made me worried because...i don't want to be married to a rich Arabic fellow...

Canada was good because it's easy to find Chinese food *haha..i could really eat* and the country is one of the nicest place to stay in the world..but on the other hand, Harvard, Princeton, Yale, MIT and the rest are all in the states....hmmm...

umm...i think you already know my sexuality eh? sorry for the confusion though..i know my user name was rather sexually confusing..haha

*cheers*

by the way, do you have any ideas where will they be sending us to do our pre-U???

*cheers*

14-05-2008, 06:16 PM
So Canada is appealing because of the availability of Chinese Food? Aren't you a dear....

McGill is a reputable University situated in Canada..

princessanicole
14-05-2008, 06:18 PM
i don't think they'll send u to arab as u din take bahasa arab during spm. or did u?? those arab sheikhs are damn rich!!! hehe

ningyan
14-05-2008, 06:28 PM
yea,it's rather confusing.in syarat pengajian(or sumthing like tat), it stated egypt n jordan but not in struktur pengajian. aiyohhh!!!

passOUT
14-05-2008, 10:07 PM
So Canada is appealing because of the availability of Chinese Food? Aren't you a dear....

not that I'm saying that Canada lacks good universities...
besides McGill, we also have Toronto..

i don't think they'll send u to arab as u din take bahasa arab during spm. or did u?? those arab sheikhs are damn rich!!! hehe

yeah...they were BLOODY rich!!!! haha...sadly, not my cup of tea though, money does not equal to love...so, as long as i did not take Arabic for SPM, i'll be safe from those rich sheikhs? haha....

yea,it's rather confusing.in syarat pengajian(or sumthing like tat), it stated egypt n jordan but not in struktur pengajian. aiyohhh!!!

yalar...not that i love complaining or what, but sometimes the way how these people do things...it just makes you mad....
by the way, did you get the jpa s'ship to do this too???

sNaiL0810
15-05-2008, 02:22 AM
i am currently studyin in Taylor about this course, i am sure some of u know about that. Ask me anything about it

15-05-2008, 09:13 AM
Snail, do we nid to take IELTS or TOEFL while study ICPU in order to gain entry into canada uni?
or the entrance of canada uni is solely based on pre- u results?

ningyan
15-05-2008, 09:54 AM
hi passOUT, yeah,i got jpa for this too.
snail, which country did jpa offer u?

15-05-2008, 10:25 AM
he has been offered to canada.

davidchak
15-05-2008, 01:52 PM

Yeap. And I am going there this fall, if nothing goes wrong with visa application

Snail, do we nid to take IELTS or TOEFL while study ICPU in order to gain entry into canada uni?
or the entrance of canada uni is solely based on pre- u results?

Yes, IELTS is required.

15-05-2008, 01:57 PM
can we pursue clinical psychology?i am interested in science and hope to study bio under psychology as i heard that psychology do deal with bio.
Can it be?

btw, wat subjects u study for social science ya?

passOUT
15-05-2008, 04:34 PM
hi passOUT, yeah,i got jpa for this too.
snail, which country did jpa offer u?

hey!!!
welcome to the family!!!

ermmm...snail...can you tell me which is harder?
IELTS or TOEFL or MUET???

thanks...

ZhannaC
16-05-2008, 06:44 PM
can we pursue clinical psychology?i am interested in science and hope to study bio under psychology as i heard that psychology do deal with bio.
Can it be?

btw, wat subjects u study for social science ya?

Starlemon, wait for your letter from JPA first.. I'm sure they will specify the exact course you'll be taking.. don't worry too much about it.. don't think they will allow you to pick your exact course.. right??

sNaiL0810
16-05-2008, 06:52 PM
hey!!!
welcome to the family!!!

ermmm...snail...can you tell me which is harder?
IELTS or TOEFL or MUET???

thanks...

I am not sure about TOEFL.
I did compare IELTS and MUET, and i think its quite big different between both of the exam.
Muet is solely for Malaysia but IELTS is for the whole world.

ningyan
17-05-2008, 02:13 PM
snail, what subjects tat u learn for icpu?

sikballa
17-05-2008, 02:51 PM
hey,,,i was offered law for the jpa scholarship. that counts for humanities right?
any of you have yet to receive the letter?...i have spent sleepless nights worrying bout the official letter.

sNaiL0810
20-05-2008, 04:51 PM
snail, what subjects tat u learn for icpu?

history, world issues, english, law, Data management

insertusername
20-05-2008, 04:57 PM
Any idea about which country most social science scholars are sent?

ZhannaC
20-05-2008, 09:46 PM
hey,,,i was offered law for the jpa scholarship. that counts for humanities right?
any of you have yet to receive the letter?...i have spent sleepless nights worrying bout the official letter.

JPA law and JPA arts and humanities are 2 different courses..

sNaiL0810
21-05-2008, 01:34 PM
most probably will be sent to Canada or US (like what we have here)

ningyan
22-05-2008, 09:29 AM
what about uk? how many seniors are there?

ju_ytze
23-05-2008, 12:53 AM
Hi everyone, it's great to meet other people who got accepted for this course ;p
Did anyone here ask for international relations btw?

ningyan
23-05-2008, 09:53 AM
Hi everyone, it's great to meet other people who got accepted for this course ;p
Did anyone here ask for international relations btw?

yeah, i did ask for international relations.y?

sNaiL0810
23-05-2008, 02:03 PM

U can ask me about that.

passOUT
23-05-2008, 11:16 PM
ummm snail0810....besides the normal ones like, psychology, international relations and social science, can i opt for liberal arts instead?

davidchak
24-05-2008, 09:17 PM
Cant.Check out the wiki entry for social science and humanity

Geography, Archeology, Sociology, Anthropology is part of Social Science as well =)

ju_ytze
24-05-2008, 09:54 PM

umm.. just curious if there is anyone else whos interested in that particular course. Before the results came out,
some ppl went "oh, you're gonna get it".
Me: "Ooo! Really?? :P"
Ppl: 'Yep! Cuz noone wants it :))'.
Me: oh.. :oh .... :nuts

sNaiL0810
26-05-2008, 02:25 AM
be proud of ur course, social science field is not hot in Malaysia but its hot in other countries. Some Uni have more social science student than engineer

ningyan
26-05-2008, 03:13 PM
hi everyone!! so,do post ur country n college ya!
i got uk,a-level at kolej yayasan uem

passOUT
26-05-2008, 04:17 PM
umm...i got the US, doing ADTP at Taylor's...
anyone joining me???

ju_ytze
26-05-2008, 08:40 PM
hmm, I thought I posted a reply earlier but it's not here :oh
I got Canada, icpu at taylors :)

and i'm prouuud of this course. very happy about my different interests (different from most(?) malaysian students who want courses like engineering and medicine)

sNaiL0810
26-05-2008, 08:42 PM

and i'm prouuud of this course. very happy about my different interests (different from most(?) malaysian students who want courses like engineering and medicine)

I am currently doing this course and i am going to graduate in one week time :)

insertusername
26-05-2008, 08:53 PM
umm...i got the US, doing ADTP at Taylor's...
anyone joining me???
joining u ...

ju_ytze
26-05-2008, 08:58 PM
I am currently doing this course and i am going to graduate in one week time :)

Oh, congrats! I forgot it's a one year course.. thought I would see you around when I study there :amuse
are you starting your applications for university already? or does that come later?

Joker Loke
26-05-2008, 09:22 PM
hey i'm new here.
Today i receive the letter from JPA.
The JPA send me to the TAYLOR's college for ICPU programme.
May I ask somethings about this programme?
The JPA selected the course for us or we can choose ourselves?

insertusername
26-05-2008, 09:40 PM
hey i'm new here.
Today i receive the letter from JPA.
The JPA send me to the TAYLOR's college for ICPU programme.
May I ask somethings about this programme?
The JPA selected the course for us or we can choose ourselves?
they gave you icpu................

passOUT
26-05-2008, 09:57 PM

haha....found someone on the same turf....yup, definitely proud to be DIFFERENT...say bye bye to docs and engineers for us...

joining u ...

another fellow on the same boat..ahoy there!!!
WELCOME ABOARDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!

:))

ju_ytze
27-05-2008, 01:25 AM
haha....found someone on the same turf....yup, definitely proud to be DIFFERENT...say bye bye to docs and engineers for us...

*says byebye to docs and engineers* :P

ningyan
27-05-2008, 09:31 AM
now, it seems that only me got kyuem.so sad...

Joker Loke
27-05-2008, 01:16 PM
they gave you icpu................
i means that the course after we finished the ICPU,
besides that the statement also doesn't sate that what subjects should i take in ICPU.
the subject is chose by us or the JPA????
i feel very blur now.........

davidchak
27-05-2008, 01:59 PM
Social Science can lead to doctor as well...clinical psychologist

Will be graduating in less than a week time and flying in less than 3 months time =P

sNaiL0810
27-05-2008, 06:48 PM
i means that the course after we finished the ICPU,
besides that the statement also doesn't sate that what subjects should i take in ICPU.
the subject is chose by us or the JPA????
i feel very blur now.........

JPA will decide what subject u should take, so no worry about the subject field. they wont bother it even if u fill it up urself.
cheers, ICPU is fun.
Very much different with ur previous secondary school system.
ITs 70% base on course work and 30% base on final exam

And u need to complete ten hours of community service to graduate

Joker Loke
27-05-2008, 07:59 PM
JPA will decide what subject u should take, so no worry about the subject field. they wont bother it even if u fill it up urself.
cheers, ICPU is fun.

thanks for your in formation.
but if the jpa select the course for us i scared that i can't get the psychology.thiz is what i want.this is my dream.
means that the jpa department will select the course in university too???

davidchak
27-05-2008, 08:43 PM
DOnt worry lah.

I am graduating in few more days and I am offered place to study psycho in Canadian university and JPA confirmed it already

University course is selected by you. Come on lah, big boy big girl aldi still wan jpa to take care of you?!

Joker Loke
27-05-2008, 08:49 PM
DOnt worry lah.

I am graduating in few more days and I am offered place to study psycho in Canadian university and JPA confirmed it already

University course is selected by you. Come on lah, big boy big girl aldi still wan jpa to take care of you?!
thz for ur information coz i thought jpa will select for me then thats good if can select the course myself .thz a lot.

ju_ytze
28-05-2008, 10:49 AM
To ICPU seniors;
What community services did you do?

Sen-Sui
28-05-2008, 01:32 PM
cheers, ICPU is fun.

To Snail - are you doing economics too? I am offered to do icpu at taylors too^^ Since our subjects are assigned by JPA, what were the subjects that you studied? Also, i read their prospectus, and found out that there are 3 types of maths subjects... do we need to study all of em? Advanced functions, calculus and vectors sounds difficult...

28-05-2008, 03:20 PM
I get ADTP social science at taylor...going to US.

hw come like that?? i havent hear of this ADTP programme at taylor before?
i thought if going Taylor will be doing ICPU?
Which 1 is harder?
did we nid to take IELTS ?or SAT to gain entry into US uni?

passOUT
28-05-2008, 03:36 PM
I get ADTP social science at taylor...going to US.

hw come like that?? i havent hear of this ADTP programme at taylor before?
i thought if going Taylor will be doing ICPU?
Which 1 is harder?
did we nid to take IELTS ?or SAT to gain entry into US uni?

it's not that Taylors don't have this course it's just that there was too much publicity given to their pre-u courses like SAM, A level and ICPU that we didnt even know about the existence of ADTP...

if i am not mistaken, SAT is a must to gain entry to the universities in the US..Besides IELTS, i think we can also take TOEFL...

and, starlemon, what's stated on your letter? Social science or bidang sastera dan kemanusiaan? mine was written there sastera dan kemanusiaan...

sNaiL0810
28-05-2008, 08:58 PM
To ICPU seniors;
What community services did you do?

All kind of stuff. GO to the orphanage, clean the beach, clean the school. Can be anything
But u only need to do ten hours

sen-sui, if i am not mistaken, u will be assign with Calculus, Econs, Data, World issues, and english. But i do afraid it will change, coz the canadian syllabus change in ur batch.

unsleepable
28-05-2008, 10:29 PM
hellow~thank God i've found this site..
n to meet u guys especially..well..how come i dont get canada,instead i got Australia,I'm going to do AUSMAT at KBU international college!!
wawawa..i dont meet any frenz yet,but its ok,finding the fact about the existence of u guys is enough~!

can i contact u guys through friendster?

qiaozi89
28-05-2008, 11:11 PM
just wanna share this with you all...I'm also going to Canada and going to graduate in Taylors ICPU as well...and I will study music in Canada, under arts and social science.

Don't be shocked that JPA sends student to study music ^_^.

passOUT
28-05-2008, 11:30 PM
just wanna share this with you all...I'm also going to Canada and going to graduate in Taylors ICPU as well...and I will study music in Canada, under arts and social science.

not shocked lar but....OH MY GOD???!!! JPA SEND PPL TO DO MUSIC???? O_o

just kidding...MUSIC is a part of ART...:P.

ju_ytze
29-05-2008, 11:54 AM

I'm shocked. omg, I didn't see music in the online application form? :huh
wow, congrats:) See you there

qiaozi89
29-05-2008, 12:59 PM
I'm shocked. omg, I didn't see music in the online application form? :huh
wow, congrats:) See you there

music can be considered as arts and social science. ^_^

Joker Loke
29-05-2008, 01:06 PM
hey i have a question here,teh offer letter call us to take the perjanjian when the registeration day,while the panduan perjanjian calls us to send it to the pejabat,what should we follow???

sNaiL0810
29-05-2008, 01:27 PM
hey i have a question here,teh offer letter call us to take the perjanjian when the registeration day,while the panduan perjanjian calls us to send it to the pejabat,what should we follow???

I think its better to call them and clarify the issue. ANyway, as for my batch, we only need to pass up all the thing at the registration day. There will be JPa officer coming to collect those document.

qiaozi89
29-05-2008, 06:44 PM

I think the offer letter from JPA states everything and you need to follow the offer letter. Because the offer letter is printed newer than the buku panduan.

29-05-2008, 10:58 PM
it's not that Taylors don't have this course it's just that there was too much publicity given to their pre-u courses like SAM, A level and ICPU that we didnt even know about the existence of ADTP...

if i am not mistaken, SAT is a must to gain entry to the universities in the US..Besides IELTS, i think we can also take TOEFL...

and, starlemon, what's stated on your letter? Social science or bidang sastera dan kemanusiaan? mine was written there sastera dan kemanusiaan...

sastera dan kemanusiaan ...same as urs..

btw, i think we can really major in many fields under social science rite?
the subjects havent been fixed by JPA yet...so i wonder we can choose the subjects ourself?

ju_ytze
30-05-2008, 12:05 AM
hellow~thank God i've found this site..
n to meet u guys especially..well..how come i dont get canada,instead i got Australia,I'm going to do AUSMAT at KBU international college!!
wawawa..i dont meet any frenz yet,but its ok,finding the fact about the existence of u guys is enough~!

can i contact u guys through friendster?

Hi unsleepable. Yeah, I felt the same way too. "Omg, yay! A recent humanities thread :))"
And I've yet to search for the scholars' group on friendster

sNaiL0810
30-05-2008, 01:12 AM

the subjects havent been fixed by JPA yet...so i wonder we can choose the subjects ourself?

i hope u all wil enjoy studying in this course. Social science is a great course because u will learn a lot of thing in this world. U can choose ur major later on for ur degree level.
Cheers

passOUT
02-06-2008, 05:41 PM

yup....there are like so many majors under arts and humanities...hope we could choose our own subjects during the ADTP...

but...a lot of the seniors mention that we can always switch major once you're admitted...can't wait for the registration day to came....

ju_ytze
03-06-2008, 01:06 AM
i hope u all wil enjoy studying in this course. Social science is a great course because u will learn a lot of thing in this world. U can choose ur major later on for ur degree level.
Cheers

Looking forward to it :D

cheers! thank you for all the help =)

08-06-2008, 12:52 PM
yup....there are like so many majors under arts and humanities...hope we could choose our own subjects during the ADTP...

but...a lot of the seniors mention that we can always switch major once you're admitted...can't wait for the registration day to came....

wat do u mean switching major??do jpa allow us to do so?
regaring the subjects that can be choosen, taylor oredi has the combination of subjects for each major..
exp: those who choose social science as their major will be studying world history, sociology, general pscho, english composition, and others.so we really can made amendment for these combination of subjects recommended?? in other words we can choose the subjects we want rite?as long as it is related to social science?

passOUT
08-06-2008, 11:00 PM
wat do u mean switching major??do jpa allow us to do so?
regarding the subjects that can be chosen, taylor oredi has the combination of subjects for each major..
exp: those who choose social science as their major will be studying world history, sociology, general pscho, english composition, and others.so we really can made amendment for these combination of subjects recommended?? in other words we can choose the subjects we want rite?as long as it is related to social science?

hmmm...i'm not exactly sure about this but, arts and humanities is really a wide field....
i think chenchow mentioned before that he was an engineering student at Cornell but throughout his days in Cornell, only 20% of his study was focused on engineering...

and US education is all about flexibility and variations, so even if you major in psychology, you can also take up classes on others like languages, social science, journalism etc...

hope that helps :) perhaps you should approach any of the seniors here....
just a suggestion....

by the way, are you a girl? and it seems that we'll be future classmates!!!! :))
mind telling me your name??? a pm will do if you don't want to disclose it here...*keep the mystery going*

qiaozi89
09-06-2008, 11:50 AM
when I was studying in ICPU (now almost graduate d), Taylors allows SS(social science)students to change a bit in their subjects. But we could not change in 1st sem (I duno why =_=!). So they arranged me 4 subjects: world history, world issues, English 3U (mandatory to go in English 4U in next sem), and Individuals and Families in a Diverse Society (we always just say Families). Then cuz I study music in Canada, Taylors arranegd me to take English 4U (a must to study in canada), Challenge and Change in Society, and Maths for Data Management. But cuz I think a business subject, instead of maths, is more useful for my future career (music business), I changed my Maths to Organizational Studies (OS), which focuses on business management.

So it is quite flexible for SS students to change their subjects in ICPU. I got some friends take Econs, calculus, law, or International Business in ICPU cuz they think these subjects are more useful for them.

For my case, music doesn't need any maths but needs humanities subjects. So you all shud check properly pre-requisites for ur major in Canadian Uni.

And some of my friends change their major in Uni after they approached ICPU. Like some at 1st wana study International Relations, but they changed into political science. You can change major as long as the major is in Arts and Social Science.

Of course, you have to think properly and do some research about Canadian Uni when you wanna decide a major. Take note Pschology got 2 types: Art and Science. If you are under Arts and SS in JPA scholarship, you just can study Art psychology. Pre-requisuites for Science Psychology in Uni are Bio, Chem, and Calculus. So some of my friends at 1st wana study Science Psychology are forced to study Art one. Be careful...

ningyan
09-06-2008, 01:34 PM
so, i guess clinical psychology falls into science psychology,isn't it? which means we can't study it?
does economics under arts n ss?is it possible if we want to major in econ later?

davidchak
09-06-2008, 10:33 PM
ningyan, it doesnt matter

A degree for Psychology is the same regardless its ARTS or SCIENCE.

All that matters is the MASTER of it. if you are going to be Clinical Psychologist, Arts is fine.

Science only matter IF and ONLY IF you are planning to be Neuropsychologist or something that relates to brain cell.

Joker Loke
09-07-2008, 12:41 PM
do the seniors have the second hand books to sell.i really need it as the books was too expensive.i think the JPA won't sponsors us for the purchase of the books.right???!!!!my email is chuen_student@<hidden> am in Taylor college now.thz for your help.