View Full Version : JPA : Actuarial Science

smile!
14-05-2008, 09:45 PM
I would like to welcome those who applied for actuarial science under JPA to discuss about which pre uni college will we be going or anything else related to actuarial science.. feel free to post here..

artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:46 PM
i would like to ask

is act sci really a very good course which gives a lot of salary?

princessanicole
14-05-2008, 09:50 PM
i would like to ask

is act sci really a very good course which gives a lot of salary?

if u're in usa

14-05-2008, 09:56 PM
if u're in usa

Let me add: And passed all your professional papers.

ronaldo7
14-05-2008, 10:13 PM
I would like to welcome those who applied for actuarial science under JPA to discuss about which pre uni college will we be going or anything else related to actuarial science.. feel free to post here..

i think might be going to mara or tanjung malim there...but i am not sure

14-05-2008, 11:47 PM
No, those who go US or Australia got enter INTI UC.

vimal06
15-05-2008, 12:02 AM
INTI UC is wat?? sorry for being blur.. I'd also like to know wat we'll be studying and how can we prepare ourselves.. Thanks in advance

chen622
15-05-2008, 12:28 AM
INTI UC is wat?? sorry for being blur.. I'd also like to know wat we'll be studying and how can we prepare ourselves.. Thanks in advance

INTI UC = inti university college

i thought it is stated that all who go US will attend ADFP in INTEC , UiTM for one year..

vimal06
15-05-2008, 12:33 AM
Where do we go anyway? Coz i've heard that some are at INTI for the course.. NOt sure how far it is true..

chen622
15-05-2008, 12:47 AM
i've heard seniors said that scholars are allocated to different colleges .. and some are assigned to taylors and inti college.. i dont know the exact details though.. hope any senior would help enlighten us abit :)

smile!
15-05-2008, 02:58 PM
welp...no necessarily ALL must be in Intec i think.. majority only ler.. and i have a senior who went to taylors before she pursue actuarial science in australia..

by the way, i'm thinking about the bond now.. anyone can enlighten me bout it? how long is the bond usually and after graduating from actuarial science, wher will the gov usually offer us jobs?

vimal06
20-05-2008, 10:28 PM
Ermm it seems this thread is kinda abandoned.. Just wanted to know, what should we JPA Actuarial Science students prepare for?? in the sense of which preparatory college, what subjects are gonna be in store for us and wat we will be studying in the near future?? NOt in the course of Actuarial Science but the preparatory program for Actuarial Science.. Any seniors willing to helpout here??

jessicayong
25-05-2008, 06:42 PM
hey, im awarded by JPA to pursue actuarial science but the offer letter haven't reach me yet. i would like to know the probability of being sent to the UK or US for the course. is the chance really low cos australia is so much cheaper :(

jpysh2004@
25-05-2008, 06:51 PM
hey, im awarded by JPA to pursue actuarial science but the offer letter haven't reach me yet. i would like to know the probability of being sent to the UK or US for the course. is the chance really low cos australia is so much cheaper :(

most probably they will send to US, UK not so coz it's expensive, Aus nt sure

25-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Both US and Australia, as far as I know. If you go US, don't expect any usual subject. You would have imagined how surprised we are when we need to take biology for our first semester in AUP.

smile!
25-05-2008, 11:17 PM
Both US and Australia, as far as I know. If you go US, don't expect any usual subject. You would have imagined how surprised we are when we need to take biology for our first semester in AUP.

what's AUP? wow...then where were u sent to? and may i know what was the subjects u had to take last time?

25-05-2008, 11:42 PM
For Actuarial US Scholarship, you would do preparatioon at either INTEC or Inti. At least, that's the case for the last batch.

In terms of what you would be preparing. It would be Year 12 US Education, as well as doing preparation for SAT1, SAT2, TOEFL and preparing for your applications.

You would be given opportunities to try out the best universities that you can get in. Most students, their dream school would be Wharton Business School (University of Pennsylvania).

vimal06
26-05-2008, 11:50 PM
I got actuarial science at Australia. prep program at INTI is SAM.. anyone to explain what we're gonna be studying then??

digital_lifeform
27-05-2008, 11:57 AM
Where do we go anyway? Coz i've heard that some are at INTI for the course.. NOt sure how far it is true..

Currently, there are 66 students who are under the JPA US-bound scholarship majoring in actuarial science in INTI UC (Nilai).

neilkoo
29-05-2008, 03:28 PM
HI, i am also receiving jpa scholarship and will study at nilai inti....who know what will the programme about ?Any senior can guide me ? thanks at all...

29-05-2008, 05:45 PM
Check out previous threads. This same question has been repeated over and over and over again until I felt quite sick of looking at this question.

sheng
01-06-2008, 05:45 PM
i have to study at inti UC oso...take SAM..anyone same with me??

vimal06
02-06-2008, 12:55 AM
I got same with you sheng.. Care to get in touch with me??

sheng
02-06-2008, 05:23 PM
I got same with you sheng.. Care to get in touch with me??

sure...do u have msn?? i'm from johor n u?

smile!
03-06-2008, 04:56 PM
anyone care to explain to me what are the good universities in

US -
UK -
AUS -

that are good for acturial science??

sheng
08-06-2008, 10:20 AM
i would like to ask is that we can go for ASEAN scholarship if we study at INTI for half year like that...?? and is that any INTI application form inside the envelop?

smile!
08-06-2008, 12:23 PM
i would like to ask is that we can go for ASEAN scholarship if we study at INTI for half year like that...?? and is that any INTI application form inside the envelop?

u mean breaking the JPA bond? i did not see any INTI application form inside. It seems like the INTI people haven't receive the list of JPA scholars who are going to INTI this year.

08-06-2008, 01:40 PM
Yes, they had. They even know the number of people attending and this has given them a headache because INTI do not have enough rooms to place all of you. Wow, this is the first time I heard INTI has a shortage of hostel rooms!

You don't need to apply. You just register on the first day itself.

chen622
08-06-2008, 03:46 PM
Are we allocated to our hostel rooms on the registration date?

crystal.j
08-06-2008, 07:45 PM
Hey, I'm going to INTI for AUP. I'm already doing A-Level now, so I just want to know how the common subject combination is like in AUP because for now I'm doing Physics, Chem, Maths and Econs. Is it advisable for me to bring over my A-Level books?

sheng
09-06-2008, 02:38 PM
u mean breaking the JPA bond? i did not see any INTI application form inside. It seems like the INTI people haven't receive the list of JPA scholars who are going to INTI this year.

some sort like that.. i mean if i m studying at INTI under JPA and i get and go for ASEAN too..would i get penalty?? sorry for my broken eng :-S

i heard that all JPA are going to stay in "A block" which is one of the expensive block, (aircon)

n1dh0g
09-06-2008, 06:39 PM
Hi sheng I'm not really sure what u mean but I don't think you can go for Asean when you're already in Inti. I'm an Asean scholar but I chose to terminate my scholarship with the Singapore gov to take up the JPA scholarship.

Will be doing SAM in INTI for actuary. Hope to meet you guys there :D.

Haha, hopefully we will get nice accomodation. Or I thought that we were supposed to "gao dim" our own accomodation?

chen622
09-06-2008, 07:02 PM
Hi sheng I'm not really sure what u mean but I don't think you can go for Asean when you're already in Inti. I'm an Asean scholar but I chose to terminate my scholarship with the Singapore gov to take up the JPA scholarship.

Will be doing SAM in INTI for actuary. Hope to meet you guys there :D.

Haha, hopefully we will get nice accomodation. Or I thought that we were supposed to "gao dim" our own accomodation?

JPA will gao dim accomodation for us. As what seniors told us, we will stay in cosy air-conditioned twin sharing room.. lets hope for the best :D

smile!
09-06-2008, 11:26 PM
welp...that's only for the time we stay in INTI.
when we go overseas, i think we're supposed to gao dim our own accommodation de..

sheng
10-06-2008, 12:08 AM
yea..my teacher told me too that we will gao dim our accomodation when oversea but our seniors will help us.
anyway we are taking the same course, mind to intro?

i'm sheng from johor, chinese..how about you all? :)

chen622
10-06-2008, 12:37 AM
yea..my teacher told me too that we will gao dim our accomodation when oversea but our seniors will help us.
anyway we are taking the same course, mind to intro?

i'm sheng from johor, chinese..how about you all? :)

Where are you from? Im batu pahat-an :D

Are you taking SAM or AUP ?

sheng
10-06-2008, 05:51 PM
Where are you from? Im batu pahat-an :D

Are you taking SAM or AUP ?

i'm from segamat..i'll take SAM and then go Aust. how about you?:)

chen622
10-06-2008, 06:21 PM
Aww too bad. Im taking AUP.

From what i can see, seems like there're more scholars been sent to Aust rather than USA :(

sheng
11-06-2008, 12:43 AM
yea..anybody got UK??
actually i hoped to go UK but too bad JPA send me to AUST

Justin Wai Khan
11-06-2008, 06:29 PM
Hi.. Im justin.. Frm ipoh...
Wil b goin 2 inti 4 AUP.. Of cz is actuarial science.. Hehe..
Nice 2 meet u guys...
Btw i would like 2 ask wat sub r v goin 2 study in 1st sem???
Can recommend any books 4 me so that i can prepare myself well??
Thx 4 all ur replies... =)

n1dh0g
12-06-2008, 08:15 PM
Haha sheng I think I'll be seeing u there as I got actuarial to Aus as well. Applied for US but didn't get unfortunately but aus still quite good lar :D

btw i'm from selangor

HiddenEyes
13-06-2008, 09:24 PM
Hey, I'm going to INTI for AUP. I'm already doing A-Level now, so I just want to know how the common subject combination is like in AUP because for now I'm doing Physics, Chem, Maths and Econs. Is it advisable for me to bring over my A-Level books?
You can bring it over if you want.But I doubt you will have time to go through them.

crystal.j
16-06-2008, 03:00 PM
Okay, thanks, HiddenEyes. :)

ronaldo7
17-06-2008, 07:14 PM
hey....Do you all head to inti to do aup (usa) and ausmat(aus)??or there are some who got actuarial science got other colleges??

chen622
18-06-2008, 02:02 AM
From what I've seen, seems like all US-bound actuarial science scholars are assigned to Inti. Apart from recomers, 2 of my friends will also be doing AUP for actuarial science there. However maybe some seniors can elaborate on this.

ronaldo7
18-06-2008, 01:42 PM
From what I've seen, seems like all US-bound actuarial science scholars are assigned to Inti. Apart from recomers, 2 of my friends will also be doing AUP for actuarial science there. However maybe some seniors can elaborate on this.

is adtp same with actp??kinda befuddle here

chen622
18-06-2008, 06:00 PM
is adtp same with actp??kinda befuddle here

ADTP stands for American Degree Transfer Program, while ACTP is the American Credit Transfer Program. I believe both programs are similar. It depends on how colleges or institutions name the program they offer.

In INTEC, they have another program named American Degree Foundation Year (ADFP). This program is slightly different from the former two, but I cannot tell you the distinctions perfectly right now. I shall welcome seniors to explain this :knk

jush
26-06-2008, 09:19 PM
Hi.. Im justin.. Frm ipoh...
Wil b goin 2 inti 4 AUP.. Of cz is actuarial science.. Hehe..
Nice 2 meet u guys...
Btw i would like 2 ask wat sub r v goin 2 study in 1st sem???
Can recommend any books 4 me so that i can prepare myself well??
Thx 4 all ur replies... =)

Hi, i am currently studying AUP in INTI. During my first sem in July last year, i took calculus, english composition, biology, sociology, SAT n TOEFL preparation course in INTI. As July is a special intake for JPA students, we cannot choose our course n INTI choose them for us. I hope this can clear your doubts.

smile!
26-06-2008, 10:35 PM
Hi, i am currently studying AUP in INTI. During my first sem in July last year, i took calculus, english composition, biology, sociology, SAT n TOEFL preparation course in INTI. As July is a special intake for JPA students, we cannot choose our course n INTI choose them for us. I hope this can clear your doubts.

what's sociology about? by the way, how was ur first semester and how longw as it? any advice to us on how to score in those subjects? we can't choose the subjects but do they have packages that we can choose? like i prefer physics over bio then can we take phy instead?

jush
27-06-2008, 11:36 PM
what's sociology about? by the way, how was ur first semester and how longw as it? any advice to us on how to score in those subjects? we can't choose the subjects but do they have packages that we can choose? like i prefer physics over bio then can we take phy instead?

Sociology is the systematic study of human society. U will study things like culture, socialization, sexuality, deviance, social stratification, family, economics, politics etc. It was quite interesting to study but the professor is quite stingy in giving marks.

My first sem is very hectic as I have 28 hours of class in one week (original timetable has 32 hours!omg!!!). It last for 4 months so it is a long semester. Normal INTI students will have their short semester in September so u will sit for the final with them (including me). U will know how to score for the subjects once u start studying them.

Sorry, u can't choose your subjects as they are all fixed by INTI. U can't take physics in your first sem because it needs calculus 1 as its prerequisite. I prefer bio to physics because it is easier to score than physics.

crystal.j
28-06-2008, 12:06 AM
Hey, jush, hope you don't mind me asking.. Is every semester 4 months long and when will we have our holidays? Another thing, do we take the subjects for one semester only, then we take other subjects in the next semester?

jush
28-06-2008, 12:25 AM
Hey, jush, hope you don't mind me asking.. Is every semester 4 months long and when will we have our holidays? Another thing, do we take the subjects for one semester only, then we take other subjects in the next semester?

July intake is a long sem, so it is 4 months long. INTI normal intake for most programs including AUP is Jan (long sem), May (long sem), and Sept (short sem). Long sem is 4 months and short sem is 2 months.

For July intake student, u will most probably have your first holiday in the 3rd n 4th week of August together with other INTI students sem break. Then u continue your sem in Sept until u take your final in last week of Oct with Sept short sem students. After that, u will enjoy your 2 months holiday in Nov n Dec.

U take 4-5 subjects for one sem only. U complete the whole course n take the final in one sem. After that, u will take new courses for your second sem, unless u fail n need to repeat your course, which i think is unlikely to happen to u.

crystal.j
28-06-2008, 12:38 AM
Ahhh.. thanks a lot! :amuse So does that mean that we're free to pick our subjects in the 2nd sem, then? Any advice on subject combination?

28-06-2008, 12:44 AM
Don't think that much first. Concentrate on your first semester. Your plans will change with the flow of time.

crystal.j
28-06-2008, 12:47 AM
:P Heh.. Okay..

28-06-2008, 01:06 AM
Crystal.j,you quit your A level????

crystal.j
28-06-2008, 01:14 AM
Crystal.j,you quit your A level????

Yeah, but I better not go off topic here. :P

ronaldo7
14-07-2008, 11:37 PM
Yeah, but I better not go off topic here. :P

hi...miss crystal...or....da chinese name...haha

sheng
17-07-2008, 06:50 PM
hi...since we are all in inti uc now so mind to intro urself to let others know u oso?

im sheng, now taking SAM stay at block A...

ronaldo7
21-07-2008, 11:33 AM
hi...since we are all in inti uc now so mind to intro urself to let others know u oso?

im sheng, now taking SAM stay at block A...

hey sheng...are u the tall sheng from group 9?

sheng
25-07-2008, 12:37 PM
hey sheng...are u the tall sheng from group 9?

ya..u r yi jian??

ronaldo7
28-07-2008, 08:26 PM
ya..u r yi jian??

good question

smile!
28-07-2008, 11:13 PM
hey people...wanna ask u all about US universities.. after one year is there anyone here who will be applying to ivy league standard universities? any idea can we manage to persuade JPA to let us go if we manage to gain admission?

besides, what are our university options if we want to go as transfer students?

anyone mind answering me?? Hehe

gman
29-07-2008, 03:42 PM
if you wish to transfer to the us, the more notable choices would be university of michigan, drake university, purdue university, university of wisconsin madison, university of nebraska lincoln and university of illinois at urbana champaign. i think there should be other choices but they should be in the white AUP book if you are in INTI. from what i have heard, drake is supposed to be a good place to do actuarial science and has quite a few malysians in it. michigan is supposedly the first in the country to offer the course while both michigan and purdue have among the largest international student bodies in the US.

smile!
29-07-2008, 11:19 PM
if you wish to transfer to the us, the more notable choices would be university of michigan, drake university, purdue university, university of wisconsin madison, university of nebraska lincoln and university of illinois at urbana champaign. i think there should be other choices but they should be in the white AUP book if you are in INTI. from what i have heard, drake is supposed to be a good place to do actuarial science and has quite a few malysians in it. michigan is supposedly the first in the country to offer the course while both michigan and purdue have among the largest international student bodies in the US.

hmm thanks for the informations. How about the rankings of those universities? Any idea about university of iowa?

gman
31-07-2008, 11:43 AM
the university of iowa also offers an actuarial science course. about the rankings, on an overall basis, michigan, wisconsin-madison, illinois, purdue are ranked in the top 100 in the world and among the top 50 in the US. in actuarial science terms, there aren't really rankings as the number of universities offering the course is very little and the criteria needed is unclear. however, all the universities mentioned above (including drake, nebraska lincoln, and iowa) have among the most comprehensive courses.

aha!
12-10-2008, 09:27 PM
University of Iowa gt quite good actuarial science program. Drake also gt good actuarial sci program. But I would think that Drake has better courses. In fact, there's plenty of Malaysians, particularly Inti students there.

digital_lifeform
21-10-2008, 06:13 AM
University of Iowa gt quite good actuarial science program. Drake also gt good actuarial sci program. But I would think that Drake has better courses. In fact, there's plenty of Malaysians, particularly Inti students there.

Why do you say that Iowa and Drake have good actuarial science programs?