View Full Version : JPA econ

hikaru
16-05-2008, 11:49 AM
anyone apply econ 4 jpa?
do share here...

16-05-2008, 03:15 PM
In social science , we have economics too..so really wonder what is the difference between that 2?

ratiut
16-05-2008, 03:44 PM
i apply econs for JPA, but unfortunately i din get it..i got petronas for econs instead..haha!

hikaru
16-05-2008, 07:49 PM
i apply econs for JPA, but unfortunately i din get it..i got petronas for econs instead..haha!

congraz!! so which country? where do u do ur pre u?

onejun
17-05-2008, 02:16 AM
i did i did!

i applied econs for jpa..

m waiting for d offer letter! :))

hikaru
17-05-2008, 09:18 AM
i did i did!

i applied econs for jpa..

m waiting for d offer letter! :))

congraz! nice 2 meet^^
u r fr which state?

abyssesour
17-05-2008, 02:32 PM
*raises hand* nice to meet u guys! yeah like starmelon says, there's also econs under social science.. so.. hmm..

hikaru
18-05-2008, 10:16 AM
based on d encyclopedia, social sciences is the field of sciences concerned with the studies of the social life of human groups and individuals, including economics, geography, history, political science, psychology, social studies, and sociology. While economics is the branch of social science that studies the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services.

Jim
18-05-2008, 09:57 PM
I applied for JPA econ ( 2008 ) and i got it. I wonder which country r they sending the econs student to this year? I heard last year, many econs students r sent to canada.

Anyway, just wait for the unbearably slow letter to arrive. :P

Jeryliza
19-05-2008, 12:34 AM
yay! A thread all to economics scholars!
Am also wondering, which college will they send us to here in Malaysia..Hope to stay on at INTI UC..usually for AUP, where do they send us?

abyssesour
19-05-2008, 10:38 AM
i guess it depends on which country u get. like canada - icpu in taylor's. i heard tht we'll mostly be sent to intec for the american programme?

hikaru
19-05-2008, 11:13 AM
haha... hope i can go 2 inti
coz it's near my hse
so i can go home frequently

onejun
19-05-2008, 10:03 PM
congraz! nice 2 meet^^
u r fr which state?

im from KL. bt INTI, INTEC n d other institutions are VERY far from my part of KL...

awww... n i wanna go home often too! [wanna delay my moving away from family a year longer..] :huh

hikaru
21-05-2008, 09:56 AM
act wat do v study during pre-u 4 econ?

runninghorse
21-05-2008, 10:17 AM
act wat do v study during pre-u 4 econ?

Depends on the pre-u course you will be taking...

let say you get SAM... most probably you will need to take the following subjects: English Studies, Mathematical studies, Accounting Studies, Economics, Specialist Mathematics/Malay/IT studies.... A total of 5

if you study ICPU... then you will need to take Advanced functions/Business Leadership, Accounting, Economics, Mathematics of Data Management + 2 subjects of your choice... either Financial Accounting Principles, International Business Fundamentals, Analysing Current Economic Issues, Computer and Information Science, Challenge&Change in Society..

For A-Level... Mathematics, Law, Business Studies, Economics, Accounting, Computing, Sociology and Psychology (choose 4 subjects)

If you were be sent to US... then most probably you will do the American Degree Transfer Programme...

seeweijie
21-05-2008, 10:24 AM
I get Bank Negara offer to do econs at Australia... so most probably i will be taking SAM..
But i don have any idea about econs la..
Anyone can enlighten me on this?
I mean what we study in econs? example... What is our job opportunities? What do we do in our job? example...

hikaru
21-05-2008, 10:50 AM
I get Bank Negara offer to do econs at Australia... so most probably i will be taking SAM..
But i don have any idea about econs la..
Anyone can enlighten me on this?
I mean what we study in econs? example... What is our job opportunities? What do we do in our job? example...

for detail info bout econ, u go surf d net: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economics

989Lee
21-05-2008, 01:45 PM
i have always wanted to study investment, so i choose businesss admin(to major in finance) for jpa and i was offered the scholarship. btw, i heard econs also study investment, is it true?

21-05-2008, 04:14 PM
for detail info bout econ, u go surf d net: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economics

For someone who doesn't know Economics, the link won't be that much of help.

seeweijie
21-05-2008, 09:06 PM
For someone who doesn't know Economics, the link won't be that much of help.

so do you have any suggestion? any web site to recomend to econs freshman to get to know what is econs and what we study in econs and such such?

21-05-2008, 09:33 PM
so do you have any suggestion? any web site to recomend to econs freshman to get to know what is econs and what we study in econs and such such?

Economics are categorized into microeconomics and macroeconomics. Microeconomics is a branch of economics that studies how individuals, households and firms make decisions to allocate limited resources. Macroeconomics is a branch of economics that deals with the performance, structure, and behavior of a national or regional economy as a whole. Other sub branches of economics include:
1. Labour Economics
2. Welfare Economics
3. Managerial Economics
4. International Economics
5. Financial Economics
6. Mathematical Economics
7. Environmental Economics
8. Econometrics
(These are some of the popular fields, not all of them are listed here)

Basically, you will study about the operation of markets for goods and services. There will be a need for you to understand the price mechanism as a means of allocating scarce resources and be able to analyze real world problems using the demand and supply model. In economics, we say resources are scarce because they are limited and not able to be utilized to fulfill the wants and needs of everyone.

Not a very good explanation but I hope it helps. :)

bluez_aspic
21-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Cut and paste from an old post of mine:

"As for economics, I heartily recommend The Economist's "Economics: Making Sense of the Modern Economy" (both Kinokuniya and Borders should be carrying it). There's also Commanding Heights (http://www.pbs.org/commandingheights), a wonderful documentary which surveys the development of various schools of economic thinking in the past century.

Greg Mankiw's blog (http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/) has some career advice + reading list too."

I think Aussie isn't really a good place for econs btw. ANU's the best institution though if you're wondering.

seeweijie
21-05-2008, 10:23 PM
Cut and paste from an old post of mine:

"As for economics, I heartily recommend The Economist's "Economics: Making Sense of the Modern Economy" (both Kinokuniya and Borders should be carrying it). There's also Commanding Heights (http://www.pbs.org/commandingheights), a wonderful documentary which surveys the development of various schools of economic thinking in the past century.

Greg Mankiw's blog (http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/) has some career advice + reading list too."

I think Aussie isn't really a good place for econs btw. ANU's the best institution though if you're wondering.

Thank you very much...
What is ANU?

bluez_aspic
21-05-2008, 10:34 PM
Thank you very much...
What is ANU?
Australian National University.

seeweijie
21-05-2008, 10:42 PM
Australian National University.

How about Curtin University of Technology?
So which country is good for econs if Aussie isn't really good?

bluez_aspic
21-05-2008, 10:55 PM
I don't know much about Curtin, but why the hell would you wanna go there :P

And America it is :D My friend who just graduated with an accounting/finance double major at Unimelb subsisted on New York University's notes for his finance subjects in his final year.

21-05-2008, 11:22 PM
Top three business school in US to study econs. Harvard, Stanford, and Wharton.

bluez_aspic
21-05-2008, 11:29 PM
MBA/Business rankings are different. There's no annual ranking of economics departments in the States as far as I'm aware of.

21-05-2008, 11:40 PM
All still very good schools (one of the best) in my term. You can add another MIT if you want.

bluez_aspic
21-05-2008, 11:49 PM
All still very good schools (one of the best) in my term. You can add another MIT if you want.
Mainstream economics is the sux.

Jeryliza
25-05-2008, 10:39 PM
Any econs students got the letter yet?

25-05-2008, 11:42 PM
But look at how the economy is heading towards now. An impending economics bubble that may slow down worldwide economy. But then, if you want, you can add those unis to the list as well. I am not against them.

hikaru
26-05-2008, 10:00 AM
Any econs students got the letter yet?

no. i haven't receive d letter yet.....

i juz received my letter!!!
inti(AUP)

starbie
26-05-2008, 11:22 AM
no. i haven't receive d letter yet.....

inti(AUP)

wow congrats on getting US! btw, wat's AUP?:huh

hikaru
26-05-2008, 11:36 AM
wow congrats on getting US! btw, wat's AUP?:huh

thx. american university programme

starbie
26-05-2008, 11:44 AM
thx. american university programme

is there a difference between AUP n American Degree Transfer Programme???
sorry out of topic a bit.. cnt help it

ntyf
26-05-2008, 01:03 PM
Hey! I got US too! Really happy now, but hey, I read that the AUP is the American Degree Transfer Program, does that mean we cant apply to the ivy leagues? Because most ivies don't accept credit transfer students.

26-05-2008, 01:11 PM
Nah, no difference. It is just INTI's name for the program. Sure, you can apply to ivies, just don't count on having your credits transfered. Some of us get into Ivies here in INTI, so, it is not a long shot.

onejun
26-05-2008, 02:41 PM
inti(AUP)

hey, i got d same placement as you... US, econs, n INTI.

i wonder.. when are v supposed to register? acc to d letter, it's by 1st July..

bt, INTI UC has no fresh intakes for AUP till Sept.. ?

26-05-2008, 03:31 PM
They will create a special semester for you. Which will obviously segregate you from the usual intake of students. But the good news is, there will be fresh meat for me to chew on, err, I mean, freshman for me to educate. :P

bluez_aspic
26-05-2008, 05:48 PM
But look at how the economy is heading towards now. An impending economics bubble that may slow down worldwide economy. But then, if you want, you can add those unis to the list as well. I am not against them.
Heh, I came across this yesterday:

Subprime Explained
http://docs.google.com/TeamPresent?revision=_latest&fs=true&docID=ddv7hj34_03774hsc7&skipauth=true

I laughed, but it's pretty much the truth.

hikaru
26-05-2008, 05:56 PM
hey, i got d same placement as you... US, econs, n INTI.

i wonder.. when are v supposed to register? acc to d letter, it's by 1st July..

bt, INTI UC has no fresh intakes for AUP till Sept.. ?

juz follow wat they said. register at 1st july. nice to meet u^^

Jeryliza
26-05-2008, 09:24 PM
Onejun and hikaru, I got AUP at INTI too!
A weird thing is i'm already here doing foundation. Like, should i check out of my hostel, withdraw from my course etc etc?

btw, why do we have to study a total of 5 years? usually, AUP is a 4 year programme right?

Feel like going to ask about the details of this programme..Anyone have any idea which department at INTI is in charge of this?

Oh and, onejun and hikaru, are you two studying any pre-u now?

26-05-2008, 11:14 PM
Just ask AUP office.

27-05-2008, 01:03 AM
A weird thing is i'm already here doing foundation. Like, should i check out of my hostel, withdraw from my course etc etc?

btw, why do we have to study a total of 5 years? usually, AUP is a 4 year programme right?

Feel like going to ask about the details of this programme..Anyone have any idea which department at INTI is in charge of this?

It is different from typical AUP, since you would be doing 1 year of foundation here and then 4 years of studies in US.

Do post questions at the thread focusing on US JPA Scholarships. It is here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=183211#post183211)

27-05-2008, 01:22 AM
Actually, chenchow. I don't think we are doing foundation because the courses starts once we enter college. Some of the unis do accept the credits, so I don't think it can be considered as foundation.

bert
27-05-2008, 04:30 AM
Nah, no difference. It is just INTI's name for the program. Sure, you can apply to ivies, just don't count on having your credits transfered. Some of us get into Ivies here in INTI, so, it is not a long shot.

Really? who are these people getting into the Ivies from INTI's AUP? I would be quite interested to know, because I haven't heard of any yet.

Doing an ADTP program makes it significantly more complicated for one to apply to Ivies and the other top ranked schools. Just ask pinkpau on that matter.

hikaru
27-05-2008, 09:02 AM

no, i din study any pre-u now. juz stay home.... ya i oso wanna know more bout AUP. can anyone plz explain?

Jim
27-05-2008, 09:21 AM
I get econs, USA, INTI. Is it possible to fly to US next year? Can we choose not to do the credit transfer prog?

Jeryliza
27-05-2008, 11:39 PM
I'm really confused over how the programme works..
Since I can't choose my major anymore, can I still choose to do another minor such as journalism?

Btw, which university is the best for economics? Any in the west coast?

28-05-2008, 12:22 AM
You will basically do the same thing as other major students in INTI. Most of our syllabus will be the same during the first year. You can minor, but do it in US :P

Why West Coast? If you like the sun, try out Stanford, Berkeley or UCLA. I don't know about their standards but they ought to be above average.

onejun
28-05-2008, 01:21 PM

nope. :P

from what i get from this thread so far is that... d credits we earn at INTI will... N-O-T be counted... in our applications to Ivies... And most Ivies only accept SAT, SAT II n TOEFL as d minimum requirements? correct me if im wrong..

i understand that d AUP at INTI UC will b helping us prepare for d SAT, SAT II n TOEFL in d 2nd semester. hwever, would it be wiser for us to start d preparations nw? as in bcz d deadline for sending in the results for acceptance into the Aug 2009 semester in Ivies would be Dec 08.

are SATs n d like 'easy' enough to digest in 3 months or so time? cz i remember hw looooong it was to force chemistry form5 into my system.. [definetely more than 3 months!]. :huh

28-05-2008, 02:14 PM
If your seniors can do it, so can you. Nah, you will start preparing for SAT and TOEFL in 1st sem.

Jeryliza
28-05-2008, 03:34 PM
Why West Coast? If you like the sun, try out Stanford, Berkeley or UCLA. I don't know about their standards but they ought to be above average.

I do like the sun. Just feel that California is a place I'll enjoy more :) Casablanca, are u in US already? Would like to know more about life there..

Okay, so do we apply for Ivy League unis right at the first semester? Since the closing date is December 08. And what results do we use? We haven't taken SAT and TOEFL yet.

Thanks in advance.

silent_fire
29-05-2008, 11:32 PM
I am going to INTI for my economics also.
nice to meet you all!!!!!!

Jeryliza
03-06-2008, 05:15 PM
Seems like most econs students are going to INTI for AUP!

btw, what SAT II subjects should we take for a major in econs?

Lude
06-06-2008, 10:22 PM
I am a social science student doing economics in canada under JPA. I would say, WELCOME! Economics rock! My economics teacher rocks! =D

lXl
07-06-2008, 10:23 AM
nope. :P

from what i get from this thread so far is that... d credits we earn at INTI will... N-O-T be counted... in our applications to Ivies... And most Ivies only accept SAT, SAT II n TOEFL as d minimum requirements? correct me if im wrong..

In your application to all univs, your midyear report will have to include the letter grade of courses taken in your first semester in INTI or any other pre-U although many (if not all) ivies do not allow credits to be waived for a particular subject that you have already taken at inti, etc.

All ivies requires SAT 1 though not all univs in the US requires SAT 2. TOEFL can be waived as well, depending on the particular university that you are applying to (including the ivies). It's best to check their website, email them etc.

Seems like most econs students are going to INTI for AUP!

btw, what SAT II subjects should we take for a major in econs?

For economics, one usually takes MATH 2C (which may be a pre-requisite for a few competitive universities) and 1 or 2 other subjects, be it chem, physics, language, etc.

Brand yourself in any way you like =)

Stanford is definitely in the top 3-5 (depends on what rankings you refer to) for economics. Berkeley is around the top 10 (or 15 max). I'm not sure about UCLA though.

Okay, so do we apply for Ivy League unis right at the first semester? Since the closing date is December 08. And what results do we use? We haven't taken SAT and TOEFL yet.

You have to take your SAT's and TOEFL's between August - Dec 08 (some univs do accept Jan/09 scores too). I believe that the SAT's are offered in Oct, Nov, Dec and Jan. Check out the exact dates at Collegeboard : http://www.collegeboard.com/splash/

TOEFL is offered numerous times a month (check with ets : http://www.ets.org/portal/site/ets/menuitem.3a88fea28f42ada7c6ce5a10c3921509/?vgnextoid=85b65784623f4010VgnVCM10000022f95190RCRD for more details)

Jeryliza
08-06-2008, 07:11 PM
For economics, one usually takes MATH 2C (which may be a pre-requisite for a few competitive universities) and 1 or 2 other subjects, be it chem, physics, language, etc.

Brand yourself in any way you like =)

Stanford is definitely in the top 3-5 (depends on what rankings you refer to) for economics. Berkeley is around the top 10 (or 15 max). I'm not sure about UCLA though.

Is it okay if i take Chinese Language if i've studied in a chinese school all my life? What level is SAT II Chinese meant for?

May I know what subjects you took for SAT II? Has anyone taken World History/US History? Is it hard?

Oh. What other universities are top in economics?

Sorry..just have so many questions in my head now..Really hoping to enter a good university..

lXl
09-06-2008, 12:18 AM
Is it okay if i take Chinese Language if i've studied in a chinese school all my life? What level is SAT II Chinese meant for?

May I know what subjects you took for SAT II? Has anyone taken World History/US History? Is it hard?

Oh. What other universities are top in economics?

Sorry..just have so many questions in my head now..Really hoping to enter a good university..

It's really up to you to take any SAT subjects you want. Try looking for SAT-prep books. You should be able to gauge the level of a particular subject.

For top economics schools, i would say (in no order), the 8 ivies, MIT, Stanford, UChicago, Berkeley, Northwestern and a few others.

If you are a sponsored student, i believe your sponsor may have a certain list of schools that you can apply to.

SeeN...YeE
28-06-2008, 10:10 PM
Thanks to everyone here~~
I'll be doing my AUP Programme at INTI under JPA scholarship, hope to see u all soon! =)

bluez_aspic
14-07-2008, 09:20 PM
Came across this today: http://blog.mises.org/archives/001499.asp - details tertiary economic programs from the perspective of the Austrian school of thought. There's some helpful comments too on graduate school, jumping into academia or landing a job - again with a focus on Austrian economics and libertarian philosophy.

HoneyLemon
16-06-2010, 10:35 AM
Might be studying econs under ADP in Uniten.

May I know which subject we need to take for economics under ADP?

Thanks!