View Full Version : Favoritism

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 10:28 PM
Parents hate to admit it, but favoritism is inevitable in many families. Agree or not? Favoritism in the family effects the children critically. Some become rebellious, have low self esteem, hate their family, etc. Why does favoritism exist?

sherenesheep
18-05-2008, 03:29 PM
i'm not a victim of favourtism in my family, but am one in a certain club in skul.. it is absolutely ridiculous of one of the teachers to favour a certain group of students sooo much that the teacher is willing to bend the rules for them, gives them most of the fun stuff for them to do lik organising stuff.. and even tho they do not hold the HIGHEST post in the club, they manage to obtain info regarding the club b4 the pres and the vice does.....

i felt reli angry and sorry for the other members that devoted their time into the club and yet they get nothing in return.. their efforts go unrecognised and unappreciated... and wen its time to "boast" about the club's achievement, all credit goes to the favoured group.. the teacher is too blind to see past that certain group of students.... i left that club in the middle of the year as i cudn take it anymore (well, its ONE of the reasons i left)...

favourtism exist because a certain person, be it a parent or a teacher, feels a special bond between a certain child or student, and has a lot of liking (or love) towards them.. so naturally they wud want to make sure that the child/student receives all the best things in life, as far as they can help it...

tent
20-05-2008, 03:30 PM
Parents hate to admit it, but favoritism is inevitable in many families. Agree or not? Favoritism in the family effects the children critically. Some become rebellious, have low self esteem, hate their family, etc. Why does favoritism exist?

just to correct one word here...affect not effect.:amuse

for me,i am the apple of my father eyes.:amuse

so favourism does exist purely becos of destiny!
arguable here..welcome anyone to argue that..:))

extell
20-05-2008, 11:38 PM
Favoritism...urgh. Thinking of it makes me boil. >.<

Happens everywhere.

20-05-2008, 11:58 PM
Oh god the title rings a bell. I hate hate hate people who practice favoritism. If you expect people to treat you fairly, then you will need to give equal treatment to everyone, so to speak, dont favour some people just because you have an affinity for them.

Favoritism is kinda obvious in high school, I recall those days having special privilege being a teachers pet. Im not a victim, but I understand how others will despise you for being someone elses favorite. Somehow, Ive been both, I had gained and lose from this thing called favoritism.

But seriously, favoritism is just another form of discrimination.

21-05-2008, 12:10 AM
i'm not a victim of favourtism in my family, but am one in a certain club in skul.. it is absolutely ridiculous of one of the teachers to favour a certain group of students sooo much that the teacher is willing to bend the rules for them, gives them most of the fun stuff for them to do lik organising stuff.. and even tho they do not hold the HIGHEST post in the club, they manage to obtain info regarding the club b4 the pres and the vice does.....

i felt reli angry and sorry for the other members that devoted their time into the club and yet they get nothing in return.. their efforts go unrecognised and unappreciated... and wen its time to "boast" about the club's achievement, all credit goes to the favoured group.. the teacher is too blind to see past that certain group of students.... i left that club in the middle of the year as i cudn take it anymore (well, its ONE of the reasons i left)...

favourtism exist because a certain person, be it a parent or a teacher, feels a special bond between a certain child or student, and has a lot of liking (or love) towards them.. so naturally they wud want to make sure that the child/student receives all the best things in life, as far as they can help it...

not a victim in my family. but yesh, in school.

in the same shoes as sherenesheep. I hate favourism. Cant stand those teachers. hmmmm

Shoblast
21-05-2008, 12:10 AM
Everyone hates favoritism, but not everyone hates quotas.

21-05-2008, 12:15 AM

mind elaborate further??

hellyeahbaby888
21-05-2008, 10:38 AM
Yeah, favoritism does happen a lot in school. Some of it are way too obvious it's absurd. I recall when I was in form 5, there was a girl in my class who's every teacher's pet. It's annoying how she can beg for extra marks in tests or exams and succeed but if others beg for extra marks, it is impossible for us to get it no matter how hard we persuade the teachers. Everyone disliked her after that.

Not exactly..if the person is the favored one, I doubt that he/she will hate it

JYHee
21-05-2008, 04:17 PM
favoritism exist when somebody bodek another too much...often happen in sch la....wel...in nowadays family...i dont think so la...but in those very very big family...well..i guess there r such probability.........

21-05-2008, 04:18 PM
New Economic Policy (NEP)

Tzezumi
21-05-2008, 09:25 PM
I suffered a lot during my primary days because of this. All the teachers claim that they don't do favoritism, hah, don't make me laugh..it's so obvious that the ones that 'bodek' them get the best attention. I learn my lesson after that, so during my secondary days, I suck up to some teachers to get some attention. Nowadays hard work never seem to gain people's attention anymore. It's cruel but that's life now in this world.

hellyeahbaby888
22-05-2008, 11:50 AM
favoritism exist when somebody bodek another too much...often happen in sch la....wel...in nowadays family...i dont think so la...but in those very very big family...well..i guess there r such probability.........

Favoritism does happen in today's family..in fact, it happens in mine. and we're not a big family..only 3 siblings

Jace
22-05-2008, 04:52 PM
Actually if you're favoured by a teacher or teachers, automatically u'll bcm d enemy of all students....dats wat i observed during my school days...

sherenesheep
24-05-2008, 11:30 AM
Yeah, favoritism does happen a lot in school. Some of it are way too obvious it's absurd. I recall when I was in form 5, there was a girl in my class who's every teacher's pet. It's annoying how she can beg for extra marks in tests or exams and succeed but if others beg for extra marks, it is impossible for us to get it no matter how hard we persuade the teachers. Everyone disliked her after that.

kiasuism....
but sometimes its not the students fault that they are being favoured... the teachers lik some of them cuz they are hardworkin, responsible, reliable, trustworthy and other stuff... its not to suck up to the teacher, but thats jz one of their qualities and personality.....

wilson
28-05-2008, 02:22 PM
Hmm... favouritism.

For me, it occurs due to several reasons.

1) It's because of the natural bonds between the two parties. I would say it's not much different from "love at the first sight" for a person to favour another. It's just that the love meant is not love between couples.

2) The party being favoured really go all out to polish the shoes of their boss, teachers or even family members.

3) The favoured group really deserves to be favoured, judging from their hard work, attitudes and so on.

Maybe there are the fourth, fifth, sixth and so forth reasons to come...... But these three reasons are the most prominent ones, I suppose.

Since favouritism is something inevitable, it's useless to hate it. So, my opinion is to accept it. Give our best shot in everything and hope our effort would be noticed by the teachers. Sometimes, do talk or chat with the teachers so that they know our presence. This is not "bodek", rather, it's a way of having better teacher-student relationship.

Favourtism does exist in working world very often. We see someone favoured by the superior being promoted despite the fact that they are not really capable of holding the higher position. But that's the harsh reality. We have to make do with it. Try to be the favoured one through the third reason as stated above. That's just my opinions. Cheers!

chenjun1128
29-05-2008, 11:14 PM
If u think about it, its kinda hard to give exactly equal portions of love to evryone..

day_dreamer
30-05-2008, 12:34 PM
I would say I'm a benefactor of favoritism :P

30-05-2008, 12:59 PM
there's no weighing machine to weight the love... that's y equal portion of love rarely exist...

chenjun1128
30-05-2008, 02:12 PM
doing some self reflection, I know I myself don't love my parents equally, and my teachers equally..that's why I accept favoritism

weilun
30-05-2008, 04:30 PM
I would say I'm a benefactor of favoritism :P

In what case????haha:))

Aelean
31-05-2008, 11:14 PM
lolll
if ur talking about classroom,
im usually the class clown
so sometimes when teacher wants to choose people for some stuff,
everyone will just shout my name out
i guess my classmates practice favouritism...
but its true u noe,
there were many times in form 1 when i didnt bring my book,
the teacher was already on the warpath to punish several students who didnt too,
but because i didnt, she let the whole class off
there was even once when i didnt bring a certain book and the teacher called me out and lent me hers.

I am that likeable.

Herlene
31-05-2008, 11:41 PM
I think it is our nature to practice favourism. It is inevitable and you can't really avoid it completely.

Aelean
01-06-2008, 12:00 AM
well done,
uve just summarised the entire thread.
now we have to close it and start another thread on another topic...

Caprio
02-06-2008, 10:13 PM
I think it is our nature to practice favourism. It is inevitable and you can't really avoid it completely.

Well said. Favourism is here to stay, whether we like it or not, just like elitism.

03-06-2008, 07:58 AM
most people are practicing favourism without knowing it...

Herlene
03-06-2008, 08:21 AM
whether intentionally or otherwise....

sherenesheep
04-06-2008, 04:58 PM
lolll
if ur talking about classroom,
im usually the class clown
so sometimes when teacher wants to choose people for some stuff,
everyone will just shout my name out
i guess my classmates practice favouritism...

I am that likeable.

we do that to one of our classmates too... but its not because we favour him... we jz wanna kena him!!! lolzzzzz

skyrainbow
04-06-2008, 05:31 PM
Favouritism always occur among people. I've experience it all my life in school and club.

Just take example,In primary school, my teacher dont like me, and marks me wrong in tests, just because my handwriting is untidy, sometimes she even fail me in my test, even though i get the right answers. In secondary school, there's a club teacher, sho likes one of the member and gives him the highest post in the club. I find many other people who are more suitable to the post and are more devoted to this club than him. So I hate favourism and consider all teachers who keep pets are jerk. But finally comes my turn, there's one teacher who favours me ( quite obviously) and marks me correct when i am wrong in exams (even when i insist it's wrong, he just ignore me, =.='), so i always get the highest marks. I got really paiseh in his class everytime.

In conclusion, I also believe that favouritism occurs, because of the natural bonds between the two parties. But I disagree that it's due to love at first sight. Favouritism occur because the personalities, behaviour, interest and view of this world between the two parties are the same. And it takes a long time to find that their attitudes fits with one another and can function well when they are together.
Sometimes we cant get the heart from our superiors so that they favour us, no matter how hard we have tried, because of our difference in view and interest. They might entertain us, because we are nice to them, but they would not be extra kind to us. But, sometimes we are favoured even when we didnt ask for it. ( just my naive opinion)

I also dont think favouritism = elitism all the time, but favouritisn on someone increases his popularity.

Sometimes i also favour one of my pets more, cause i think it's more obedient and clean, so i felt more comfortable when playing sith it. XD

Caprio
04-06-2008, 10:40 PM
mind elaborate further??

Bumis and non-bumis dislike favoritism.

Chester_Cobra
06-06-2008, 03:38 AM
Favouritism is in our nature.sorry if i stated the obvious.can you smell sarcastic?lol jokes but seriously we thrive on favouritism.lets take this to a broader sense and not limit it to familiy and school circles.we wouldn't have a favourite artiste if it cease to exist.cause and effect.someone may favour someone or something because it is better(in any sense) than someone else.it helps us to choose to an extent.between a better camera and a lesser camera.i don't know im just practising my pointless philosophy.but to answer the initial question Herlene hit the mark.