View Full Version : Anime Critics

04-05-2004, 12:20 AM
After indulgently watching princess nine and shaishuuheiki Kanojou (saikano) (those 2 are my favorites) , I feel like there are a lot to critics on the story, plot, characters, as well as the meaning in those animes.

While It's american counterpart (american cartoons/animation) tends to focus on kids themes (such as kids next door <-- my favorite) or even a serious, but humorous (futurama, a less serious, but have some 'futuristic' element in it) and the Simpsons, which address the day-to-day family life, japanese anime has more than that. It is sometimes very serious, even though the quality of the animation is a lot less than American animation.

for example, you usually see this scene in japanese animation:
a still picture, being zoomed in and out to stress the importance of a particular object in that scene, without any movement. This is important, since it saves a lot of cost. (less frame per scene).

the quality of saikano is just like that. very poor. yet, it address the issue of a young robot who seek the meaning of life. That's a powerful theme. Also, a boyfriend who, although love Chise, still feel that Chise is responsible for killing humans and thus, Chise is a murderer.
That's why, Chise feels that, being with Tetsu-san is more comforting
"Because Tetsu-san is the only person who see me as a regular girl, chise said".

There are a plenty to say about this psychology. But I leave it for everyone to critics that psychology of Chise first (why Tetsu-san is more down-to-earth than Shuu-Chan, why Chise's friend, sacrifice Shuu-chan for CHise...). the concept of suffering=happiness. etc.

I leave it to others, before offering my view (ok, time to read my notes).
Ja!

qedx
04-05-2004, 10:58 PM
notice that lots of american cartoons nowadays are drawn by japanese and or koreans? heh i caught an episode of teen titans the other day and the style is unmistakably japanese anime-ish

tree007
05-05-2004, 07:10 PM
i tot jap anime i much better than american cartoon? as in.. in terms of colors, movement n stuffs... of course, cannot compare to the likes of futurama which uses computer graphics to aid the movements lah... hehe.... somehow to me, anime is better.. :)

07-05-2004, 12:54 PM
well, i think the main difference between american cartoon and Japan anime is the character of HERO :)
Anime character has more "feelings" than american HERO :P

07-05-2004, 05:24 PM
hmm..i agree with Ani san..*Schye ler hehe*
Animes definitely makes you feel more emotion. I dont remember crying over some american cartoons, like XMen, or Futurama *i know, it's a funny cartoon* but animes, have got me crying lotsa lotsa time..Like watching Rurouni Kenshin, and some other animes..

i mean, the storyline plus the drawings, all contribute to the creations of really good "heart-wrenching" moments..

What can i do...?
imma gurl with a very *delicate* heart hehe

qedx
07-05-2004, 08:09 PM
i cried watching slam dunk. sungguh terharu :D

09-05-2004, 07:57 AM
i absolutely hate anime (i think it is solely responsible for the death of my beloved transformers series), but i'm making an exception for initial d. i just spent hours watching the first 5 episodes of stage 1 and 2/3 of stage 2 (what i could get from the internet and friends hehe) and it totally blew me away. i've watched the first 2 episodes of stage 4 and it kicks even more ass. damn i should have discovered initial d earlier. *makes mental note to get complete dvd set from petaling st.*

XYZ_CITYHUNTER
10-05-2004, 01:48 AM
Do you guys watch SHE,The Ultimate Weapon and Evagelion?The story line is good but a little cruel,and the ending......I cried watching it.The whole world is destroyed and human race is left to only one men and one women.(Except for SHE,The Ultimate Weapon where only one male survive)

25-05-2004, 04:47 AM
She, the Ultimate Weapon (a.k.a Saishuuheiki Kanono or SaiKano) is the #1 title for the most tearjerking and touching anime in my personal list .. I'd give it 8 out of 5 stars :) ...

Neon Genesis Evangelion (NGE) is a bit complex especially towards the end .. I've read in anime forums people said that NGE itself is a religion :P ... imagine a lifeform being discovered in artic and upon being researches, it's discovered that the life-form is the origin of all other lifeforms on earth and being disturbed from its slumber, the lifeform is claiming over this planet .. now human being has nothing to do except to fight back ... well, it's too complex to summarize in one paragraph but it's still a touching story nevertheless ..

qedx
25-05-2004, 09:49 AM
can you people hold back a bit on the spoilers before i murder someone? :P

25-05-2004, 12:05 PM
kill me :P

25-05-2004, 01:43 PM
*makes mental note to get complete dvd set from petaling st.*

ah ha! i sense a supporter of pirated CDs! heheh topdog, you mean, the pirated set or get from a legal VCD kedai in Petaling St?

qedx
01-07-2004, 12:16 PM
there are legal kedais in malaysia? :P

01-07-2004, 01:46 PM
ehem, i mean "original VCDs" laa :wink:

infested_ysy
01-07-2004, 07:10 PM
But frankly, I think that's something that's caused by their budget.

If they're on limited budget, the quality shows (look at Gundam Seed for example, there's just way too many flashbacks and recycled animations, heck, they even dedicate 2 full episodes on flashbacks)

But otherwise, such as in the case of Full Metal Alchemist, you'll see that they don't use any flashbacks at all, all the animations are fresh, new.

Satama
15-03-2005, 08:33 PM
Hands down on the GOOD quality of Fullmetal Alchemist :D *point at the signature banner*

Besides, the story of FMA is really meaningful as it teaches us about life & death, human's ultimate desires, brotherly love... etc. It has a deep theme that inspires us to think :wink: .

Good images quality is one of FMA strong points that makes FMA so special ! Others strong points such as the fantastic storyline/plot, in-depth characters' developments, great seiyuus' performances, compatible audio/anime musics & many others... make FMA an awards-winning anime ! The Best Anime Of The Year... in Japan ! Horray !

astrosurge
16-03-2005, 07:19 AM
Galaxy Force anyone?

its anime ya know.. :P

shiroi_tenshi
10-05-2005, 10:05 PM
She, the Ultimate Weapon (a.k.a Saishuuheiki Kanono or SaiKano) is the #1 title for the most tearjerking and touching anime in my personal list .. I'd give it 8 out of 5 stars :) ...

Neon Genesis Evangelion (NGE) is a bit complex especially towards the end .. I've read in anime forums people said that NGE itself is a religion :P ... imagine a lifeform being discovered in artic and upon being researches, it's discovered that the life-form is the origin of all other lifeforms on earth and being disturbed from its slumber, the lifeform is claiming over this planet .. now human being has nothing to do except to fight back ... well, it's too complex to summarize in one paragraph but it's still a touching story nevertheless ..

Have to agree that SaiKano is damn touching.....love the way they present the whole story=]

As for NGE.......i have to say that i was a bit blur towards the end....

shiroi_tenshi
10-05-2005, 10:07 PM
*makes mental note to get complete dvd set from petaling st.*

ah ha! i sense a supporter of pirated CDs! heheh topdog, you mean, the pirated set or get from a legal VCD kedai in Petaling St?

Eeehhh?? Is there such a shop? Please tell me where i can find it!!! =P

infested_ysy
12-05-2005, 03:13 PM

There's no such thing as a "legal anime VCD" in Malaysia.

I doubt any real, officially licensed anime would go at 2 episodes per VCD for just a measly RM9.90.

16-05-2005, 01:32 AM
uh, anime DVD anyone? :twisted: :twisted:

"what is a DVD?" -- uh, search google for it :roll: :roll: :roll:

sakurakinomoto
27-08-2005, 10:31 AM
the complete DVD set can cause a bomb easy,,,hey you all guys, got any website that download anime Mp3s? i only got one but not all of my wanted mp3s are in it...

gendou.com

Slasherbaven
28-08-2005, 02:23 AM
Yeah, http://gendou.com is a pretty good site
Though not all, but there's LOADS of anime music there, even petty ones....
ipad games (http://macgame.org)

sakurakinomoto
28-08-2005, 01:11 PM
that's why...i want to have another website!!! just because gendou has no rurouni kenshin songs in it...and i want the song 'DAME!'...haiz...