View Full Version : JPA 2008/09 Accountancy

barrister
23-05-2008, 01:18 PM
This thread is created specially for recomers who got accountancy.

Pls leave a message here if you have received the letter, followed by the college where you are going to do your pre-u and which country you are going to do your degree.

Thank you.

shakira
26-05-2008, 03:04 PM
im going to do accountancy...
received my letter today
pre-u in taylors, subang
SAM
new zealand

barrister
26-05-2008, 08:36 PM
im going to do accountancy...
received my letter today
pre-u in taylors, subang
SAM
new zealand

Congratz, but i still havent received my letter. Are there many people who got accountancy in new zealand?

cuteranger
26-05-2008, 08:39 PM
kdu college
a levels
united kingdom
me also accountancy

shakira
26-05-2008, 09:06 PM
kdu college
a levels
united kingdom
me also accountancy

omg! wow.. congtratz.. hei u got exactly wad i wanted.. u wanted australia rite? nvm it will still be fun! i want to go uk!!!!! new zealand is nice,but i dunno anyone doing the same course as me. i guess it's not popular for accounancy...barrister, dont worry.. maybe u'll get it tomorrow..

cuteranger
26-05-2008, 09:10 PM
omg! wow.. congtratz.. hei u got exactly wad i wanted.. u wanted australia rite? nvm it will still be fun! i want to go uk!!!!! new zealand is nice,but i dunno anyone doing the same course as me. i guess it's not popular for accounancy...barrister, dont worry.. maybe u'll get it tomorrow..

yea i wanted autralia actually
but uk no harm can see olympic 2012 ^^
congratz to u too
anyway i didn see anyone going kdu for this course yet
i wan friends sob sob:cry

shakira
26-05-2008, 09:27 PM
yea i wanted autralia actually
but uk no harm can see olympic 2012 ^^
congratz to u too
anyway i didn see anyone going kdu for this course yet
i wan friends sob sob:cry

nvm... i think i read in other threads that all seniors jpa accountancy are in kdu.. cant remember exactly. try checking it out..

xian_90
26-05-2008, 09:32 PM
SAM in taylors,australia

tienchuen1990
26-05-2008, 09:55 PM
I think my place is the last for the entire country, why the letter is not here???

gwen_yw
26-05-2008, 11:28 PM
Hi...I also gt accountany course by JPA..Goin 2 register at Taylor,subang on 5july...for 18mnths SAM,thn 36mnths at Aus...Nice 2meet those who r same course n place as me...:wink

shakira
27-05-2008, 10:43 AM
SAM in taylors,australia

Hi...I also gt accountany course by JPA..Goin 2 register at Taylor,subang on 5july...for 18mnths SAM,thn 36mnths at Aus...Nice 2meet those who r same course n place as me...:wink

we are all doin the same course but thy only difference is im not sent to australia..:(

ah, wad the heck... c u guys there:))

nadia.g
27-05-2008, 10:49 AM
so many r going to taylors SAM accountancy. im going to taylors too. but SAM medic

shakira
27-05-2008, 10:53 AM
so many r going to taylors SAM accountancy. im going to taylors too. but SAM medic

aw.. doesnt matter. welcome to the club eh..

An Okay Student
27-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Me is accountancy , UK , KDU

tienchuen1990
27-05-2008, 12:36 PM
Finally... the letter is here!!! Taylors+SAM+Australia
Almost the same with many of U!!!
Hope to meet u all

cuteranger
27-05-2008, 03:56 PM
Me is accountancy , UK , KDU

finally someone got uk yea i got friends haha

shakira
27-05-2008, 04:43 PM
anyone got new zealand?? omg, am i the only one? anybody doing accountancy in nz???

barrister
27-05-2008, 06:13 PM
Thank God ! Finally got my letter this morning. Taylorian going back to do SAM and going to Australia.

shakira
27-05-2008, 08:45 PM
Thank God ! Finally got my letter this morning. Taylorian going back to do SAM and going to Australia.

congrats... no one going nz ah?!?!?!?!?!??!!?!

27-05-2008, 09:32 PM
Guys, it's fine to use such threads to exchange useful information about your scholarship; but please refrain from making this "name, state, results, college" list. You guys should make use of our scholarship holder infobase (http://recom.org/forum/portal.php?pageid=scholarships). Also, trivial chatting should be done in the chat forum as much as possible. Please refer to our chat vs. discussion policy (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6539).

Any future posts in this thread that violate this policy will be deleted or moved without notice. Let's make this thread informative and avoid turning every single thread in ReCom into a chat thread, please.

gwen_yw
27-05-2008, 10:54 PM
Hi shakira..C u thr too...Hehe...same course but diff places 2 be sent too..Anyway,hope all of us can study well in our future..

An Okay Student
28-05-2008, 06:04 PM
finally someone got uk yea i got friends haha

yes, me too!! glad to hv u in KDU soon... :)

Have everyone received their letters? Is there no one else, who takes accountancy course, especially those who're going to UK? Eager to know.....

siang_90
03-06-2008, 12:09 AM
HI everyone.. me oso gt d offer.. SAM in taylor.. then AUS.. NICE 2 meet u all..

one queation 2 ask.. should i fill in d taylor application form n hand in on d registration day???

jamesgan
03-06-2008, 01:08 AM
hi erione...nice to meet u all.congrats for those manage to get jpa. i m ur senior studying in sam,taylors and goin to aus too.if u nd any info,feel free to ask me ya.by the way, i m taking law, nt accountancy, bt i hv many clsmates n frens taking accountancy n is heading to aus nex yr.

teiya_drumzaddict
12-06-2008, 01:18 AM
congrats... no one going nz ah?!?!?!?!?!??!!?!

haha my fren got nz.. dun worry u aint the only one for sure. lol

12-06-2008, 08:14 AM
hey ya all.. why not all recommers wear something to identify each other.. for example.. matching white shoes-just suggestion- or tie a ribbon at the left side of our sirts.. that will look nice. haha!

An Okay Student
12-06-2008, 09:35 AM
hey ya all.. why not all recommers wear something to identify each other.. for example.. matching white shoes-just suggestion- or tie a ribbon at the left side of our sirts.. that will look nice. haha!

Haha.. we come from different parts of malaysia .. u think so easy to meet meh ?? :P

shakira
12-06-2008, 09:51 AM
haha my fren got nz.. dun worry u aint the only one for sure. lol

luckily... was getting worried cuz didnt find anyone else who got jpa accoutancy to do in nz.. i called taylors and they said we start studying on the 7th. those of u who got taylors when do u register? i register on the 5th...

pinkcat
12-06-2008, 04:25 PM
I got through the JPA appeal with the course accountancy, which is my first choice, Thank God :)).

I will be sent to the country New Zealand. Wondering which college will i get. Is it true that those who get New Zealand will mostly go to Taylor's?

shakira
12-06-2008, 04:31 PM
I got through the JPA appeal with the course accountancy, which is my first choice, Thank God :)).

I will be sent to the country New Zealand. Wondering which college will i get. Is it true that those who get New Zealand will mostly go to Taylor's?

yay!!! finally got a recommer same wif me. yup... i also got taylors to do sam. u didnt get the letter yet?

pinkcat
12-06-2008, 04:47 PM
I haven't got the offer letter yet. :( Waiting patiently for it.

shakira
12-06-2008, 04:49 PM
I haven't got the offer letter yet. :( Waiting patiently for it.

pm me once u get it please.. hopefully we will get the same college. the wait for the letter is pure torture. dont worry. it will come.

cuteranger
12-06-2008, 06:20 PM
let summarise those who gets jpa accountancy...

New Zealand
shakira
pinkcat
theen

United Kingdom
cuteranger
An Okay Student

Australia
xian_90
gwen_yw
tienchuen1990
barrister
siang_90

Theen
12-06-2008, 07:18 PM
hey guys..
i also got jpa after appeal..
but i havent receive the offer letter..
when i checked, it wrote there, to new zealand..

An Okay Student
13-06-2008, 09:54 AM
let's analyse cuteranger's summary:
the ratio of UK : New Zealand : Australia = 2 : 3 : 5
since 70 places is available for jpa accountancy ,
students going to these countries should be in the range of :
UK = 14
N.Z = 21
Aus = 35
maybe +/- 1 or 2 for appeal cases

teiya_drumzaddict
17-06-2008, 11:59 AM
New Zealand
shakira
pinkcat
theen

United Kingdom
cuteranger
An Okay Student

Australia
xian_90
gwen_yw
tienchuen1990
barrister
siang_90
*teiya_drumzaddict

but not going tho.

shakira
17-06-2008, 01:32 PM
teiya_drumzaddict, u're not going? u got other offers?

teiya_drumzaddict
17-06-2008, 09:04 PM
teiya_drumzaddict, u're not going? u got other offers?

nope im not. i'll be doing CAT in sunway first instead under a scholar from yayasan pahang. all the best to you guys tho.

shakira
27-06-2008, 01:42 PM
nope im not. i'll be doing CAT in sunway first instead under a scholar from yayasan pahang. all the best to you guys tho.

well. hope u do great there. all the best to u too.
whichever way u look at it, u're still going to do accountancy.

renZ
22-10-2008, 09:30 AM
I m interested in doing accountancy as well, but since there is only 70 places for accountancy in JPA, so i guess it should be very competitive right?
Is there any accountancy going to US?

elaine412
27-05-2009, 12:22 PM
hi,what i want to ask is,
how many years do we need to study in malaysia before we go overseas?
or it depends on the countries we gt?

ps:this thread is quite old and no longer active dy..
but i cant find any other jpa accountancy thread in here... :(

27-05-2009, 12:48 PM
hi,what i want to ask is,
how many years do we need to study in malaysia before we go overseas?
or it depends on the countries we gt?

it depends on your Pre-U courses.

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/StrukturPengajianProgram-ProgramPILN2008.pdf

maybe this would help

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Struktur...amPILN2008.pdf (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/StrukturPengajianProgram-ProgramPILN2008.pdf)

maybe this would help

Xandra91
30-05-2009, 04:20 PM
Hihi,im the newbie here.Elaine412,thx god 4 finally let me to noe u as rite nw i onli found u who applied same course vf me under jpa.I had many doubts abt dis course n hope to seek answers fr here.Bt dis year seemed like onli a few who applied accounting under psd,i wonder y?

tacca
30-05-2009, 08:51 PM
Hihi,im the newbie here.Elaine412,thx god 4 finally let me to noe u as rite nw i onli found u who applied same course vf me under jpa.I had many doubts abt dis course n hope to seek answers fr here.Bt dis year seemed like onli a few who applied accounting under psd,i wonder y?
hi, i aso applied 4 accountancy....
ya, quite true tat tis yr x many applied n got acc course... n wat i hd heard frm others, they said taking acc course is very hard 2 score? is it true?

30-05-2009, 09:12 PM
JPA accounting so far I know all taking SAM programmes. 1 1/2 year in Malaysia. then if lepas, keluar negara lar.. some go new zealand some to australia.

elaine412
30-05-2009, 09:50 PM
JPA accounting so far I know all taking SAM programmes. 1 1/2 year in Malaysia. then if lepas, keluar negara lar.. some go new zealand some to australia.

is accountancy a very tough course?
hi, i aso applied 4 accountancy....
ya, quite true tat tis yr x many applied n got acc course... n wat i hd heard frm others, they said taking acc course is very hard 2 score? is it true?

what do u mean by hard to score?
u meant accountancy is a very tough subject?
OMG

ya lor...
i only knew yanno is the same with me oni before...
really few people gt accountancy here.

30-05-2009, 09:59 PM
is accountancy a very tough course?

what do u mean by hard to score?
u meant accountancy is a very tough subject?
OMG

I heard that the ACCA course is just as tough as medicine. But we're doing First Degree course under JPA. Any differences between them?

elaine412
30-05-2009, 10:12 PM
I heard that the ACCA course is just as tough as medicine. But we're doing First Degree course under JPA. Any differences between them?

ya lor...
i also wanna know that..
by seems like nobody is paying attention to this post:cry

Xandra91
30-05-2009, 10:16 PM
nice to noe Elaine412,tacca,senksiang90 n yanno too.Thx senksiang90 as a senior who provide the useful information.I wanna to ask is has new zealand being included as one of the country for the acounting student to pursue their study?bt according to the list tat i c b4 applied the course,the country 4 accounting course r onli uk n aus rite?

4 senksiang90,do u noe normally we as the acounting student wil b send to which college to study our SAM programme?

30-05-2009, 10:28 PM
nice to noe Elaine412,tacca,senksiang90 n yanno too.Thz tacca as a senior who provide the useful information.I wanna to ask is has new zealand being included as one of the country for the acounting student to pursue their study?bt according to the list tat i c b4 applied the course,the country 4 accounting course r onli uk n aus rite?

Nice to know you too :)
For JPA it's either Australia or UK only.
For MARA there is the 3rd option which is New Zealand.

Xandra91
30-05-2009, 10:47 PM
thx yanno 4 ur reply.mayb later we wil becum classmate,haha n oso elaine412 too.

30-05-2009, 10:54 PM
thx yanno 4 ur reply.mayb later we wil becum classmate,haha n oso elaine412 too.

Yeah, but dunno same college or not though...

30-05-2009, 11:02 PM
To tell you the truth. For those sitting SAM acounting, it will be very easy and smooth sailing. Most will be theoretical which includes accounting concepts and etc. This is what my teacher told me about SAM. As for those doing Cambridge A Level like me, AS will be quite easy. It is above SPM/O Level a little bit only. However, in A2, it will be a torrid time when you have to learn much much more. It's like 10 times harder than AS. Oh yeah, for main difference between CAL and SAM is that CAL emphasizes more of opening accounts but SAM wants you to write essays. Something like that lar..

elaine412
30-05-2009, 11:03 PM
seema like so far those who gt accountancy are female..
haha XD

30-05-2009, 11:04 PM
Oh yeah, and nowadays, ACCA is no more encouraged to be taken. It is hard to pass. So, it's more recommended for you to take CAT.

elaine412
30-05-2009, 11:07 PM
To tell you the truth. For those sitting SAM acounting, it will be very easy and smooth sailing. Most will be theoretical which includes accounting concepts and etc. This is what my teacher told me about SAM. As for those doing Cambridge A Level like me, AS will be quite easy. It is above SPM/O Level a little bit only. However, in A2, it will be a torrid time when you have to learn much much more. It's like 10 times harder than AS. Oh yeah, for main difference between CAL and SAM is that CAL emphasizes more of opening accounts but SAM wants you to write essays. Something like that lar..

sorry for my foolishness...
but may i know what are:AS ,A2 and CAL???

30-05-2009, 11:07 PM
CAT is easier obviously because it's lower level than ACCA
AS and A2... :huh
CAL is Cambridge A-Level right?

30-05-2009, 11:21 PM
If you are taking Cambridge A Level, you'll be sitting two final exams. The first final is known as AS(Advanced Subsidiary) and it is easier at this point. A2 is the second final exam and it is really no joke. Compared to Edexcel, CAL is much harder although the exam board is the same. Erm.. yes, CAL is Cambridge A Level.

Xandra91
30-05-2009, 11:42 PM
OMG,sound tough for sitting accounting.
4 senksiang90,wher r u study nw?N do u noe if wanna to becum a qualify chartered accountant,hw many years tat normally to be taken n the process?

30-05-2009, 11:48 PM
i am in taylor's university college. Erm, for basic degree it takes 3 years then the 4th year will be your honour year in the uni whereby u will really go into depth for accounting. After graduation, you have to undergo mentorship for 2 years and at the same time sit for several exams during these 2 years. After that, I',m not too sure... i do have a rough idea but i scared ajaran sesat.. but dont worry.. u'll know when the right time comes.

30-05-2009, 11:49 PM
N do u noe if wanna to becum a qualify chartered accountant,hw many years tat normally to be taken n the process?

This one is according to Sunway University College...
After SPM -> CAT Introductory, Intermediate and Advanced Level (1 year) -> ACCA Skills (1 year) -> ACCA Professional (1 year) -> 3 years practical experience gained prior, during or subsequent to examinations -> Chartered Certified Accountant

Xandra91
30-05-2009, 11:55 PM
Thx senksiang90 4 ur information.Wanna ask u if one of the exam,i mean 4 those paper which take after graduation is failed,izit nid to take again fr the beginning u take it o jz continue to sit the paper tat u failed?

30-05-2009, 11:57 PM
i have no idea. im still in pre-u so i didnt ask until that detail. LOL. yanno yamster, u are also doing acct izit? going where?

elaine412
31-05-2009, 12:04 AM
so,tomorrow who get his/her letter please inform here har..
i wanna go to bed dy...
good nite all^^

31-05-2009, 12:06 AM
yeah.. PM me if u come Taylor. :)

31-05-2009, 12:15 AM
i have no idea. im still in pre-u so i didnt ask until that detail. LOL. yanno yamster, u are also doing acct izit? going where?

By acct you meant accounting? Yeah, but dunno going where yet; haven't received JPA letter... :notrust

angelcutegirl91
31-05-2009, 12:10 PM
finally i found tis thread....i got account also..but not in oversea....i get in ipts......did any of u get the same offer as me

31-05-2009, 04:04 PM
finally i found tis thread....i got account also..but not in oversea....i get in ipts......did any of u get the same offer as me

I found someone who got IPTS like you here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=239006&postcount=92).

angelcutegirl91
31-05-2009, 04:31 PM
did u noe wat is the ipts offer by jpa for accountancy

Happy_ML
01-06-2009, 10:44 AM
i also get the ipts for accoutancy~~^^
my friend jus got her letter jus now..she is taking accountancy too..but oversea..she is going to taylor and thn australia~~=)

angelcutegirl91
01-06-2009, 12:06 PM
i also get the ipts for accoutancy~~^^
my friend jus got her letter jus now..she is taking accountancy too..but oversea..she is going to taylor and thn australia~~=)
did u get ur letter?

Xandra91
01-06-2009, 01:39 PM
Thx god,my heart seemed like pumping out when i saw a pos laju van stopped in front of my hous.Ya,i had received the offer letter fr psd.According to the letter,i wil do my SAM at taylor colege subang jaya 4 abt 18 months n then further my study at AUS 4 abt 36 months.May i noe who is same vf me?Im so eager to noe it

hey
01-06-2009, 01:44 PM
which universities will they send students to fr accountancy under IPTS?

elaine412
01-06-2009, 02:07 PM
Thx god,my heart seemed like pumping out when i saw a pos laju van stopped in front of my hous.Ya,i had received the offer letter fr psd.According to the letter,i wil do my SAM at taylor colege subang jaya 4 abt 18 months n then further my study at AUS 4 abt 36 months.May i noe who is same vf me?Im so eager to noe it

hallo...
dun worry..
same here same here..:)

angelcutegirl91
01-06-2009, 03:02 PM
which universities will they send students to fr accountancy under IPTS?
still dont noe yet la....juz wait for letter la...:(

i email jpa n they told me is uniten and mmu

01-06-2009, 03:39 PM

Same, haha! :laugh Seems like everyone's getting Australia. JPA wants to cut costs I suppose...

Xandra91
01-06-2009, 03:56 PM
4 elaine412 n yanno,when r ur registration date to taylor college?Mine is on 11th july.Hope to c both of u at ther.

01-06-2009, 04:05 PM
Yup, 11 July too. But the problem is, I don't even know how you look like :P

elaine412
01-06-2009, 04:23 PM
ya,
11th of july.

Xandra91
02-06-2009, 12:13 AM
haha,o we plan to wear sumthing to recognise each other?like wear the same color of cloth n anything else

tacca
02-06-2009, 06:41 AM
still dont noe yet la....juz wait for letter la...:(

i email jpa n they told me is uniten and mmu
can u tell me what is d email add of jpa?

02-06-2009, 11:05 AM
Can...u guys have a dress code.. than i go find u guys.. LOL.. but JPA get lotsa girls i notice.. hehe.. very little SAM students are boys.. mostly are girls. in Taylor's i mean..

angelcutegirl91
02-06-2009, 01:03 PM
can u tell me what is d email add of jpa?
the email address u can obtain from the website.....tat is esila@<hidden>
my fren juz call jpa n they say some of the letter is sent d n some is still in progress....they say for those accountancy will be sent to utp,uniten,mmu,monash,nottingham,swinburne and curtin.....so better wait for letter than thinking wat the ipts for us....:)

tacca
02-06-2009, 05:06 PM
the email address u can obtain from the website.....tat is esila@<hidden>
my fren juz call jpa n they say some of the letter is sent d n some is still in progress....they say for those accountancy will be sent to utp,uniten,mmu,monash,nottingham,swinburne and curtin.....so better wait for letter than thinking wat the ipts for us....:)
bt i m offered wif oversea programme o... so m i sending to those places also?

02-06-2009, 05:10 PM
tacca, you haven't received your letter? I think most likely you'll be sent to Taylor's.

angelcutegirl91
02-06-2009, 05:19 PM
almost all oversea de accountancy people.....they will send to taylors n go to australia...

tacca
02-06-2009, 08:55 PM
ya...i haven't got d letter...coz swk celebrates gawai festival n is public holiday lol....bt my fren got it oredi....erm, hopefully d letter wil ARRIVE 2mr..

02-06-2009, 09:26 PM
Are all of u staying at Casa Subang?

elaine412
03-06-2009, 12:03 AM
Are all of u staying at Casa Subang?

are we suppose to know where to live?
because i dunno where to stay pun..
not stated in the documents that i received de?

03-06-2009, 12:08 AM
oh.. i tot u guys can ask... cuz if u guys coming to casa subang, erm... no comment lar.. haha.. bt u guys should hope to get e-tiara... it is a new apartment and nearer to college.. From casa if u walk to college takes around 20-30 minutes.. and i walk often... bt make sure a few things if u come casa :

(1) Don't get conned by taxi drivers charging u for RM 15. to casa subang. THese blood suckers are so.... indescribable.. and if u chose to go summit,-only 5 minutes walk to casa subang, it will cost RM 12- RM3 difference.

(2) Make sure u dont walk home alone at night. Someone got mugged before..

angelcutegirl91
03-06-2009, 10:54 AM
i juz get call from jpa staff...they ask me go to register at mmu malacca tis sunday.....wat a short inform

elaine412
03-06-2009, 12:17 PM
oh.. i tot u guys can ask... cuz if u guys coming to casa subang, erm... no comment lar.. haha.. bt u guys should hope to get e-tiara... it is a new apartment and nearer to college.. From casa if u walk to college takes around 20-30 minutes.. and i walk often... bt make sure a few things if u come casa :

(1) Don't get conned by taxi drivers charging u for RM 15. to casa subang. THese blood suckers are so.... indescribable.. and if u chose to go summit,-only 5 minutes walk to casa subang, it will cost RM 12- RM3 difference.

(2) Make sure u dont walk home alone at night. Someone got mugged before..

oOo...need to walk for 20-30 minutes?!
i thought there will be bus for us!
OMG!imaybe i really need to 'practise' myself for walking such a distance everyday XD

tacca
03-06-2009, 01:03 PM
i juz got d letter. uk... register at kdu college...any1 same wif me?

superdupree
03-06-2009, 01:47 PM
Calling all of you 2008 SPM achievers to join force and unite to appeal JPA in bringing back the Tajaan Tambahan for SPM high achievers, similar to the one for SPM 2007 achievers (given by our ex-PM: Pak Lah).

This scholarship is an automatic full sponsorship to pursue any course you like (Engineering, Law, Busines, Medicine, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Biotech and etc-you name it Jpa will give it to you) at the 4 foreign campuses namely Nottingham, Monash, Curtin Swinsburne and also AIMST.

The fate of your Tajaan Tambahan is still in limbo. JPA is still unsure whether to give or not to give. Everything is still gray.

So PLEASE join force. Appeal to any media(The Star, Sin Chew, NST, Utusan, Berita Harian), political parties (MCA, MIC, GERAKAN, PPP and all Barisan component parties), JPA website and our DEAR prime minister: Dato Seri Najib Abdul Razak

DO IT NOW BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE. Because most of the university intakes is within this month.

All of you who failed in the appeal or even those of you who already got the JPA scholarship but seen your friends in vain.

Do it for our generation, for your education opportunity and for the ease of your parent's financial burden. Do it for 1Malaysia, 1Unity, 1Education

tienchuen1990
04-06-2009, 12:53 AM
There is bus provided... And you have to follow the bus schedule set, and you may need to learn how to take public bus when you miss the school buses or when they are over-crowded, which is an incident that happens all the time

04-06-2009, 01:57 AM
May I ask which subject is more relevant to accountancy? Psychology or IT studies?

hongjy
04-06-2009, 10:18 AM
hey... anyone gt kbu? seem like everyone here gets taylor...:wink

elaine412
04-06-2009, 12:32 PM
May I ask which subject is more relevant to accountancy? Psychology or IT studies?

yaya...anybody knows this question?
i am eager to know as well...

04-06-2009, 12:34 PM
yaya...anybody knows this question?
i am eager to know as well...
I would say IT cause you will need to use computer a lot when you become an accountant.

tacca
04-06-2009, 12:40 PM
hey... anyone gt kbu? seem like everyone here gets taylor...:wink
ya, i m going kdu...where u frm?

hongjy
04-06-2009, 02:16 PM
ya, i m going kdu...where u frm?

nono..mine its kbu..not kdu..

Xandra91
04-06-2009, 11:51 PM
hi,jz a few days din login bt adi filled in many posts.i wan to say tat for SAM i wil chose business wif IT as accountant really nid to hav computing skills.Rite nw,im more afraid to the hostel we stay,Casa subang,Jz like senksiang said we may nid to walk for a long journey vf the risk of being mugged.

4 tacca,sinced u hav been selected to kdu,izit the country u wil fly is uk?

tacca
05-06-2009, 09:29 PM
hi,jz a few days din login bt adi filled in many posts.i wan to say tat for SAM i wil chose business wif IT as accountant really nid to hav computing skills.Rite nw,im more afraid to the hostel we stay,Casa subang,Jz like senksiang said we may nid to walk for a long journey vf the risk of being mugged.

4 tacca,sinced u hav been selected to kdu, izit the country u wil fly is uk?
ya...is uk... i m stil finding some1 who go kdu too

hongjy
10-06-2009, 11:20 AM
hey guys, wat subjects r u taking at taylor's/kdu?

I m kinda confusing here..
KBU offers these subjects for AUSMAT students:
applicable mathematics, calculus, bio, phy, chem, economics, accounting, information systems and german.

I m going to do ausmat at kbu tis july..since i m taking accounting, my choice will definitly be accounting, economics,information system and _______. I dun really think i need applicable mathematics and calculus but discrete math. Bio, chem, phy and german are totally out..

can anyone pls giv me some ideas...

Xandra91
11-06-2009, 01:57 PM
Does anyone here conduct ur medical checkup at the gov hospital?Izit able to be completed b4 the date we go register at the college?

hongjy,which country wil u fly after ur college studies?

11-06-2009, 01:59 PM
Does anyone here conduct ur medical checkup at the gov hospital?Izit able to be completed b4 the date we go register at the college?

I have conducted my medical examination at government hospital last week and will be getting it next week which is before my registration date.
Anyway, it depends on how busy is your state government hospital. The busier they are, the longer it will take.

hongjy
11-06-2009, 02:07 PM

Australia..

tacca
11-06-2009, 08:35 PM

i conducted on tis mon...n i got d result 2day....
u should tell d gov clinic tat when is ur college registration date...n tell them u r in rush...if x, they wil delay n delay d date u get ur medical check-up result...
u should dare 2 ask d nurse n clinic helpers again n again....or else they won't care abt ur request...

Xandra91
13-06-2009, 06:19 PM
bt wat i heard fr the officer of jpa,they said the medical checkup cn onli b conducted at gov hospital.If wan to conduct in the private,the choice should b the private hospital bt nt private clinic.I had told the hospital officer tat im rush to get it bt wat he said to me was there r too many cases b4 me and i was told to wait until 22 July.Somemore the report cum out on 22 July is onli for the Hiv n Hepatitis test,the nurse said the body checkup such as measure the pulse rate cn onli b conducted when the report of HIV n hepatitis cum out.So,wat should i do?y the report of u all cum out so fast,izit conducted at private hospital?

elaine412
15-06-2009, 11:12 AM
bt wat i heard fr the officer of jpa,they said the medical checkup cn onli b conducted at gov hospital.If wan to conduct in the private,the choice should b the private hospital bt nt private clinic.I had told the hospital officer tat im rush to get it bt wat he said to me was there r too many cases b4 me and i was told to wait until 22 July.Somemore the report cum out on 22 July is onli for the Hiv n Hepatitis test,the nurse said the body checkup such as measure the pulse rate cn onli b conducted when the report of HIV n hepatitis cum out.So,wat should i do?y the report of u all cum out so fast,izit conducted at private hospital?

or u just get it done in a private hosp if u can...
the blood and urine report takes two hours oni to out...
and u can done all ur check up done in three days oni...

Xandra91
15-06-2009, 09:02 PM
thx ur advic.bt wat let me doubt was i adi gave the payment which cost rm190 to the gov hospital abt the checking,n im nt sure izit wise for me to go private sinc i had given the payment 4 checking at the gov hospital.Hw abt u alaine,wher u do ur checking n hw much it costed?

15-06-2009, 11:43 PM
thx ur advic.bt wat let me doubt was i adi gave the payment which cost rm190 to the gov hospital abt the checking,n im nt sure izit wise for me to go private sinc i had given the payment 4 checking at the gov hospital.Hw abt u alaine,wher u do ur checking n hw much it costed?

I did mine at gov hospital on 10 June and the result will be out on 22 June. It costed me RM 180. How fast you get the result really depends on how busy the hospital is...
(Sorry for being a busybody though since you actually directed the question at elaine :P)

elaine412
16-06-2009, 12:54 AM

hi,u re welcum..:)
i did in private hosp as if i do in gov hosp,i wont get my result before the registration day...
the hosp is so busy...that i am nearly fainted when i saw so many people ...haha...
it costs me 200++ though...but can get the blood and urine report in 2 hours..
how efficient it is....

Xandra91
16-06-2009, 09:16 PM
yanno yamster,a long tym din c ur reply at here.Nt nid to feel sorry to me bt i nid to thank u for the information tat u gave me.i wan ask both of u tat which the 5 subjects tat u chose n during the registration date,wat the documents tat we nid to bring as i afraid tat i wil 4get some.Elaine,after u got ur urine n blood test,r u str8 forward to do ur body checkup at the private oso?i jz view thru some threads tat some of them did their blood test at the path lab n then after they got their blood test report,they handled their report to the gov hospital n the doc wil proceed the following checkup,r u same vf them?

elaine412
16-06-2009, 10:34 PM
yanno yamster,a long tym din c ur reply at here.Nt nid to feel sorry to me bt i nid to thank u for the information tat u gave me.i wan ask both of u tat which the 5 subjects tat u chose n during the registration date,wat the documents tat we nid to bring as i afraid tat i wil 4get some.Elaine,after u got ur urine n blood test,r u str8 forward to do ur body checkup at the private oso?i jz view thru some threads tat some of them did their blood test at the path lab n then after they got their blood test report,they handled their report to the gov hospital n the doc wil proceed the following checkup,r u same vf them?

nope...not the same...
i just let the private hosp doc filled my reports...

Xandra91
17-06-2009, 12:02 PM
Thx Elaine.then hw abt the urine test?i saw there hav some columns for protein,glucose n drug,izit nid the doc to fill in the % of these in our body?4 wat the gov hosp doc filled in to me,they onli wrote sugar BLUE n Albumin Nil.

elaine412
17-06-2009, 03:51 PM
Thx Elaine.then hw abt the urine test?i saw there hav some columns for protein,glucose n drug,izit nid the doc to fill in the % of these in our body?4 wat the gov hosp doc filled in to me,they onli wrote sugar BLUE n Albumin Nil.

actually dun worry,xandra...:)
just let the doc fill up our reports....
we dun have to worry too much...
the report is not with me now...
maybe i can answer u later...:)

chunkit
18-06-2009, 03:13 PM
UiTM
AUSMAT
New Zealand ~
accounts rock =)

anyway whose goin nz too ?

18-06-2009, 03:24 PM
yanno yamster,a long tym din c ur reply at here.Nt nid to feel sorry to me bt i nid to thank u for the information tat u gave me.i wan ask both of u tat which the 5 subjects tat u chose n during the registration date,wat the documents tat we nid to bring as i afraid tat i wil 4get some.

I heard that JPA will choose the subjects for us. So, just hope they will choose the ones you like...

As for the documents, in short just bring everythinglah. Can't tell you the details yet because I myself haven't settle my documents... :notrust

Xandra91
19-06-2009, 01:32 PM
Yaya,mayb im too much worry n nw im so relief tat i had finally completed my medical checkup 2day.n rite nw,im jz waiting for the registration day n eager to c elaine n yanno yamster as we haven c each other b4.I had heard my senior at taylor said the room wil b allocated according to the the order of alphabet,mine surname is started vf alphabet P,hw abt u all?

19-06-2009, 01:53 PM
Yaya,mayb im too much worry n nw im so relief tat i had finally completed my medical checkup 2day.n rite nw,im jz waiting for the registration day n eager to c elaine n yanno yamster as we haven c each other b4.I had heard my senior at taylor said the room wil b allocated according to the the order of alphabet,mine surname is started vf alphabet P,hw abt u all?

Hope to see you guys too :laugh
My surname starts with N. Not too far from P but I bet there are many others with their names beginning with N, O, or P as well.

elaine412
19-06-2009, 03:23 PM

p?
oh ya....
forget to ask..
xandra and yanno,
u two are bumi or non-bumi?

Hope to see you guys too :laugh
My surname starts with N. Not too far from P but I bet there are many others with their names beginning with N, O, or P as well.

my surname start with N also:)

19-06-2009, 03:27 PM
p?
oh ya....
forget to ask..
xandra and yanno,
u two are bumi or non-bumi?

Well, according to our posts our surnames come before our names. So most likely we're... :amuse

elaine412
19-06-2009, 04:41 PM
Well, according to our posts our surnames come before our names. So most likely we're... :amuse

Brilliant!!!
never think of that..
haha...:))

Xandra91
19-06-2009, 11:00 PM
Haha,at 1st im a bit worry tat it should b few of chinese who apply acconting bt seemed like so far all of u at here r chinese.Sorry 4 those who might gt irritated as i had no mean to act racialism.Today,i had heard some news fr my fren.They said the Aussies seemed like act discriminately to those Asean people n their eng accent had a bit weird,much more diff to the accent of british eng n american eng.Let us share abt wat we noe abt our course n anything abt aus,i think we may gt benefits!

21-06-2009, 02:44 PM
We still need to wait at least 1 1/2 years before we can step onto the soils of Australia...
But yeah, I also heard before that Aussies don't really like Asians (or maybe just Asean people...) :???:
About their accents, one common thing I know (from tv) is that mate means friend.

elaine412
23-06-2009, 12:36 PM
ya...their accent....
about the discrimination,
i always heard from some of my friends.....

cindy1111
24-06-2009, 10:25 AM
Hi gal,
Would like to ask u gal a sensitive question ya.Hope u gal don mind
All jpa scholar who got offer for accounting course must get straight As in Spm?? :)

Xandra91
24-06-2009, 02:18 PM
im dun sure bt i thought it wont b as some of them who did nt gt str8 A oso gt the psd scholarships for the other courses,it jz depends whether that course was competited by high aciever students ornt.If mostly the applicants r high achievers,then the selection of scholar 4 that course might b more stringent.I myself gt 14 A1 in SPM n if im nt wrong yanno yamster gt 11A1.For Elaine i dunno.Hw abt u Cindy?Hav u face any pro?

24-06-2009, 03:35 PM
ya...their accent....
about the discrimination,
i always heard from some of my friends.....

On the plus side, it's rather peaceful there :)

im dun sure bt i thought it wont b as some of them who did nt gt str8 A oso gt the psd scholarships for the other courses,it jz depends whether that course was competited by high aciever students ornt.If mostly the applicants r high achievers,then the selection of scholar 4 that course might b more stringent.I myself gt 14 A1 in SPM n if im nt wrong yanno yamster gt 11A1.For Elaine i dunno.Hw abt u Cindy?Hav u face any pro?

Woah, Xandra! Hebatnya... What extra subjects did you take? (Activates KPC mode :p)

Xandra91
25-06-2009, 09:14 PM
Erm,bside the compulsary 11 subjects in my school,i took another 3 extra subjects tat r accounting,economy n general scienc.For yanno yamster,wat purpose inspired u to take accounting sinc u r a scienc stream student rite?

25-06-2009, 09:39 PM
11 compulsory subjects? That's a lot... You're arts stream?

ALERT: Long-winded story ahead :sweat

I became interested in accountancy when I started learning Simpan Kira in KH. Then, I took Prinsip Akaun as an extra subject in SPM. Besides being quite interested in that subject, my mom says that accounting knowledge can be very useful later in life. But other than that, I originally never thought of delving any deeper into that subject; until NOW. Becoming an accountant was never really my first career choice as I wanted to pursue astronomy. But later on, after much thinking and advice from others I decided that accountancy is a more practical choice. And thus, I've now shifted my aim and will go all out for accountancy!!!

But Science will never really die in me... (Wah, it sounded so cheesy... Haha)

elaine412
25-06-2009, 10:15 PM

wow~~hebatnya u two,xandra and yanno...:)
i am also a science stream student,
and i took account for my spm and studied on my own....
and being an accountant is my dream since i was young:P

25-06-2009, 10:24 PM
You didn't go for any tuition? I went for tuition. However, my teacher didn't finish the syllabus before SPM :shock:. So I hope I can refresh everything in college.

What did you get for SPM then, elaine? *KPC mode again*

Xandra91
26-06-2009, 05:07 PM
No,i was a science student,sinc i was studied in smjk,there4 mine principal n teachers had urged all of us to take bc regardless of our wills,so pityful rite?there4 the compulsory subjects 4 my skul was totally 11.Mine story abt it oso long winded. Act at tat tym when applying 4 the jpa scholarships,i kept thinking abt to take accounting or actuarial scienc n suffered much of pressure fr my family,relativs,frens n teachers.All of their comments r different n i was so confused abt it.Some of them said as i was a scienc student ther4 i ought to chose scienc-related course n most of the entrepreneurs hav a scienc major instead of business major(im so eager to becum a businesswoman,haha). However,some of them said actuaial scienc is a extremely tough course n afraid i might hardly to catch up vf those who r smart n talented in mathematics.N until nw sometimes i wil judge myself whether mine decision at tat tym is correct ornt. Hav u all feel any regret 4 ur decision?

elaine412
26-06-2009, 06:27 PM
You didn't go for any tuition? I went for tuition. However, my teacher didn't finish the syllabus before SPM :shock:. So I hope I can refresh everything in college.

What did you get for SPM then, elaine? *KPC mode again*

i gt straight A1s also....
nope,i didnt go for tuition....
my hometown is just a small small place oni...
tuition centre doesnt even exist here.. >.<
haha...:P

26-06-2009, 09:37 PM
No,i was a science student,sinc i was studied in smjk,there4 mine principal n teachers had urged all of us to take bc regardless of our wills,so pityful rite?there4 the compulsory subjects 4 my skul was totally 11.Mine story abt it oso long winded. Act at tat tym when applying 4 the jpa scholarships,i kept thinking abt to take accounting or actuarial scienc n suffered much of pressure fr my family,relativs,frens n teachers.All of their comments r different n i was so confused abt it.Some of them said as i was a scienc student ther4 i ought to chose scienc-related course n most of the entrepreneurs hav a scienc major instead of business major(im so eager to becum a businesswoman,haha). However,some of them said actuaial scienc is a extremely tough course n afraid i might hardly to catch up vf those who r smart n talented in mathematics.N until nw sometimes i wil judge myself whether mine decision at tat tym is correct ornt. Hav u all feel any regret 4 ur decision?

Your story is similar to mine, didn't know what course to apply for and different people gave different opinion.
Hopefully I won't regret my decision...

i gt straight A1s also....
nope,i didnt go for tuition....
my hometown is just a small small place oni...
tuition centre doesnt even exist here.. >.<
haha...:P

Self-study for prinsip perakaunan... Wow...
From what I see, I'm pretty sure there's gonna be stiff competition in college later...

elaine412
26-06-2009, 11:24 PM
Your story is similar to mine, didn't know what course to apply for and different people gave different opinion.
Hopefully I won't regret my decision...

Self-study for prinsip perakaunan... Wow...
From what I see, I'm pretty sure there's gonna be stiff competition in college later...

yanno,ur 2nd statement makes me nervous...:(
hopefully we can help each other when we get there...:wink

26-06-2009, 11:33 PM
I sure hope so elaine! I have to warn you though I'm a blur person, haha. Bear with me, my future coursemates and lecturers...

By the way, where are you from?

elaine412
27-06-2009, 11:41 AM
I sure hope so elaine! I have to warn you though I'm a blur person, haha. Bear with me, my future coursemates and lecturers...

By the way, where are you from?

i am from kedah....:P
then where are u from?
kl?

27-06-2009, 12:02 PM
i am from kedah....:P
then where are u from?
kl?
yanno is from Perak.

Xandra91
27-06-2009, 07:08 PM
Me too oso felt nervous for the 2nd post of yanno.Hope we cn help each other n sure vice versa.I oso expect tat we wil nvr treat evryone at here like a competitor bt a genuine fren tat wil lend the helping hands in watever aspects.

elaine412
27-06-2009, 08:19 PM
Me too oso felt nervous for the 2nd post of yanno.Hope we cn help each other n sure vice versa.I oso expect tat we wil nvr treat evryone at here like a competitor bt a genuine fren tat wil lend the helping hands in watever aspects.

i completely agree with u.....

28-06-2009, 11:47 AM

Yes, true true... :)

Xandra91
02-07-2009, 09:07 PM
Yanno n Elaine,do u noe hw many pieces of the pasport size photograph n photostate ic we nid to bring at the registration day.Kindly inform me if u noe dis.thz

elaine412
02-07-2009, 09:47 PM
Yanno n Elaine,do u noe hw many pieces of the pasport size photograph n photostate ic we nid to bring at the registration day.Kindly inform me if u noe dis.thz

i dun noe as well...
but i plan to bring 6:)

03-07-2009, 02:03 PM

i dun noe as well...
but i plan to bring 6:)

I think 1 for each should be enough since 6 are for international students according to the form. But just to be on the safe side, bring 6 lah :)

Xandra91
03-07-2009, 09:40 PM
One more thing to ask.As both of u said the jpa wil chose the subject 4 us,bt according to the application form of taylor(the small booklet),there is a part tat we nid to select the subject we wan,so hw to do o u jz leave it blank n fill in during the registration day?

03-07-2009, 09:44 PM
One more thing to ask.As both of u said the jpa wil chose the subject 4 us,bt according to the application form of taylor(the small booklet),there is a part tat we nid to select the subject we wan,so hw to do o u jz leave it blank n fill in during the registration day?
yup, you should leave it blank just in case and you fill it up during registration.

03-07-2009, 11:50 PM
Haha.. today when I reached Casa Subang, I was shocked to see Tower A filled with new students.. haih.. looks like have to compete to take buses in the morning again..

Xandra91
05-07-2009, 10:19 PM
I hav a question here.do we nid to wear formal suit during the registration day?

08-07-2009, 05:09 PM
I hav a question here.do we nid to wear formal suit during the registration day?

yugathes has answered your question in the Taylor university college thread. :amuse

elaine412
09-07-2009, 02:54 PM
yugathes has answered your question in the Taylor university college thread. :amuse

so,yanno and zandra,
what do both of u wanna wear?

alanloy
09-07-2009, 06:04 PM
Are all scholars taking accountancy sent to taylor for their pre-u programmes?

Xandra91
09-07-2009, 09:00 PM
If nt nid to wear formal,i think i wil dress in casually a pink striped shirt vf jeans.Hw abt u all?Remember to tel me hw u dress tat day so tat i cn recognise u,c u all at ther:)

For Alanloy,ther r some scholars of accounting r sent to KDU for CAL besid taylor.So,wher r u being sent?

elaine412
09-07-2009, 10:33 PM
If nt nid to wear formal,i think i wil dress in casually a pink striped shirt vf jeans.Hw abt u all?Remember to tel me hw u dress tat day so tat i cn recognise u,c u all at ther:)

For Alanloy,ther r some scholars of accounting r sent to KDU for CAL besid taylor.So,wher r u being sent?

i planned to wear formal attire before...
but now........dunno what to wear...
but if i dont wer formal attire,i will wear a shirt with collar + jeans...:)
hope to see u!!!

Xandra91
09-07-2009, 11:08 PM
me too.May i noe wat the colour of ur shirt?so tat i cn more easily to recognise u

elaine412
09-07-2009, 11:37 PM
me too.May i noe wat the colour of ur shirt?so tat i cn more easily to recognise u

i still not decided yet lei...
thinking~~~

09-07-2009, 11:55 PM

I'll try my best to spot you then. Beware of me, muahahaha...

All I know is that I'll wear jeans. As for the top, haven't decided yet lah... But if you see a short chubby blur girl that would most likely be me. :laugh

Xandra91
10-07-2009, 01:32 PM
I'll try my best to spot you then. Beware of me, muahahaha...

All I know is that I'll wear jeans. As for the top, haven't decided yet lah... But if you see a short chubby blur girl that would most likely be me. :laugh

ok,remember come to greet me if u notice me.giv some tips to u,my hair is straight n the length is nt too long o too short,jz exceed a bit fr the neck.besid,pls pay more attention to the girl vf pink colour beg as the girl probably is me.somemore im thin n approximately 160 cm.May u tel me more abt ur characteristic so tat it wil b more easier 4 me to recogniz u:)

bekann
23-04-2010, 09:42 AM
11 compulsory subjects? That's a lot... You're arts stream?

ALERT: Long-winded story ahead :sweat

I became interested in accountancy when I started learning Simpan Kira in KH. Then, I took Prinsip Akaun as an extra subject in SPM. Besides being quite interested in that subject, my mom says that accounting knowledge can be very useful later in life. But other than that, I originally never thought of delving any deeper into that subject; until NOW. Becoming an accountant was never really my first career choice as I wanted to pursue astronomy. But later on, after much thinking and advice from others I decided that accountancy is a more practical choice. And thus, I've now shifted my aim and will go all out for accountancy!!!

But Science will never really die in me... (Wah, it sounded so cheesy... Haha)

Same here :D :D

23-04-2010, 09:57 PM
Same here :D :D

By the way, my interest towards accounting has become much deeper now... :) So I didn't take a wrong step after all (though I do occasionally miss pure science, hehe)!

23-04-2010, 10:09 PM
By the way, my interest towards accounting has become much deeper now... :) So I didn't take a wrong step after all (though I do occasionally miss pure science, hehe)!

LOL.. i just finish some part of my accounting assignment.. It is... crazy man.. when u see real acocunts and figures.. hahahhaha!!!! dammit..

Well, generally, if u wanna do well in accounting, concepts are actually very little. it is more about being meticulous and precise.. remembering which accounts go to where and most importantly, you dont double-post when there are over 50 ledgers u gotta open!!!!! hahaha

**oh, and those juniors who are going to apply accounting, UNSW is the best accounting school around, ranked 36 in the world by MBA. Melbourne BUsiness School is second in Australia and the rest are pretty shitty actually. Not in the top 100 for accounting.

And.. I also recommend.. despite University of Sydney being in the middle of the city, the buildings are old.. so i really reckon for you to apply to UNSw if you want to study in Sydney. The best faculty is of course the Australian School of Business and the buildings are much much more modern than the Harry Potter buildings in UniSyd. LOL.

23-04-2010, 11:29 PM
LOL.. i just finish some part of my accounting assignment.. It is... crazy man.. when u see real acocunts and figures.. hahahhaha!!!! dammit..

Well, generally, if u wanna do well in accounting, concepts are actually very little. it is more about being meticulous and precise.. remembering which accounts go to where and most importantly, you dont double-post when there are over 50 ledgers u gotta open!!!!! hahaha

**oh, and those juniors who are going to apply accounting, UNSW is the best accounting school around, ranked 36 in the world by MBA. Melbourne BUsiness School is second in Australia and the rest are pretty shitty actually. Not in the top 100 for accounting.

And.. I also recommend.. despite University of Sydney being in the middle of the city, the buildings are old.. so i really reckon for you to apply to UNSw if you want to study in Sydney. The best faculty is of course the Australian School of Business and the buildings are much much more modern than the Harry Potter buildings in UniSyd. LOL.

I'm currently learning computerised accounting using MYOB. I would say it's pretty interesting albeit confusing at first.

Thanks for your recommendation. I've done some research and also found out that UNSW is the best for accounting. However, as one can never be 100% sure to be able to get the first option, can you recommend which universities I should apply for 2nd and 3rd options? Thanks... :)

p/s: Where are you now anyway? :laugh

bekann
24-04-2010, 12:40 AM
I'm currently learning computerised accounting using MYOB. I would say it's pretty interesting albeit confusing at first.

Thanks for your recommendation. I've done some research and also found out that UNSW is the best for accounting. However, as one can never be 100% sure to be able to get the first option, can you recommend which universities I should apply for 2nd and 3rd options? Thanks... :)

Ohhh. Even JPA scholars have to apply to universities?

24-04-2010, 12:56 AM
Yup but if several universities accept you, JPA will then choose which one you will go to in order not to have too many scholars in the same uni (that's what I heard).

24-04-2010, 08:18 AM

I'm using MYOB to do Perdisco. Annoying accounting assignment.. Well, I am in UNSW actually. Well, the trick here is to apply to which university you actually want to go to.

I applied 3 and my choices was actually:
(1) University of Melbourne
(2) University of Sydney
(3) University of New South Wales

and Petronas chose UNSW for me. So, I had no choice. but now, I feel lucky to be coming here. It is way too awesome being here man. The food is expensive but less expensive as compared to UniSyd. we are in the suburb area but getting to the city takes around 1/2 hour and also 1/2 hour from the airport. In a way, UNSW is the centre of everything. Plus, it is not as city-like as UniSyd and it even has more trees than Taylor's! LOL. In a way, it's a very nice place to study.

University of Melbourne, I'm not too sure about how the commerce degree is. So, for further queries, you may want to ask youngyew since he's studying there. -or studied- i guess. hahaha.

chunkit
24-04-2010, 02:55 PM
yo
anyone know what is the minimum ielts requirement set by jpa ?
ausmat student here, from intec

24-04-2010, 04:38 PM
yo
anyone know what is the minimum ielts requirement set by jpa ?
ausmat student here, from intec

...not too sure but I'm presuming 6.0.. but it's better to just check with university requirements since it is higher than JPA requirement.

defectivelasagna
14-05-2010, 08:28 PM
hey guys if we get SAM as our pre-u from JPA/MARA for accountancy can we choose our own subjects?

yzarcemina
14-05-2010, 09:35 PM
yea that's what i want to know as well... if you get the jpa scholarship, can we choose our own subjects for pre-u?

15-05-2010, 12:03 AM
Unfortunately, no. But they do give you a bit of variation. For example, in my batch all accounting students have to study these subjects:

English as a Second Language Studies
Mathematical Studies
Accounting Studies
Economics

The only difference is that some of us take Specialist Mathematics as the 5th subject where as the rest take Psychology.

yzarcemina
15-05-2010, 12:11 AM
oh... is ELS a traditional subject? like the science? wouldn't it be work overload to take specialist maths as the fifth sub?

15-05-2010, 12:37 AM
oh... is ELS a traditional subject? like the science? wouldn't it be work overload to take specialist maths as the fifth sub?

ELS as in ESL? Please clarify on what you mean by traditional subject as well.
In SAM I'm quite sure you HAVE to take 5 subjects.

Grazingstar
16-05-2010, 11:09 PM
I heard dat v study accountancy in BM in matrix or university Msia(exclude private uni),izit true???

17-05-2010, 12:14 AM
It is in BM in Matriculation but I don't think this is so for universities. Not too sure about the latter.

yzarcemina
17-05-2010, 01:10 AM
in matrix its most probably in malay.. but its in english in local unis including public unis as far as i know..

ELS as in ESL? Please clarify on what you mean by traditional subject as well.
In SAM I'm quite sure you HAVE to take 5 subjects.

oh i didnt know we're talking about SAM.. blur case..
yea you have to take 5 subs for SAM

erm the traditional subjects thing is only for uk and a levels i think..

17-05-2010, 08:13 AM
where do we study our foundation if we get jpa scholarship for accounting?

defectivelasagna
17-05-2010, 03:32 PM
are the subjects important to get into aus uni? for example does accounting undergraduate entry require you to have mathematical studies? or is it as long as you reach their TER requirement?

Young
17-05-2010, 08:50 PM
are the subjects important to get into aus uni? for example does accounting undergraduate entry require you to have mathematical studies? or is it as long as you reach their TER requirement?

Usually, subjects like accountancy or economics are not mandatory for admission. However, most universities require a certain degree of proficiency in mathematics.

This varies from university to university so depending on which institution you're applying to, the pre-requisites may differ.

defectivelasagna
17-05-2010, 10:05 PM
Usually, subjects like accountancy or economics are not mandatory for admission. However, most universities require a certain degree of proficiency in mathematics.

This varies from university to university so depending on which institution you're applying to, the pre-requisites may differ.

well im aiming for Uni of sydney and i cant seem to find their requirement for accounting. all the other courses only states ATAR requirement, no specifics

Young
17-05-2010, 10:43 PM
well im aiming for Uni of sydney and i cant seem to find their requirement for accounting. all the other courses only states ATAR requirement, no specifics

This is from the uni website:

[quote]here are no HSC course prerequisites for admission into the majority of the University

defectivelasagna
17-05-2010, 11:17 PM
This is from the uni website:

This is a link showing assumed knowledge for all courses. Note that accounting is considered to be a major for economics/commerce.

http://www.usyd.edu.au/future_students/domestic_undergraduate/admissions/entry_requirements/assumed_knowledge.shtml
i cant find accounting on that list :S

so this assumed knowledge means you need to do well in the stated subjects or just take up the subjects?

cclim
18-05-2010, 05:54 PM
Hi, I am new in Recom. I apply for accounting for JPA scholarship 2010 and until now I still havent receive any news about it. Can any1 tell me how u all know the result? By internet or by call? And can some1 plz give me the link to any news about JPA accounting?

Young
18-05-2010, 06:56 PM
i cant find accounting on that list :S

so this assumed knowledge means you need to do well in the stated subjects or just take up the subjects?

Obviously, you did not read my post clearly. As I said, Accounting in USyd is not a degree in itself but a major within Economics or Commerce.

Again, as I have quoted from the website, there is no formal pre-requisite (requirement) for the courses. However, university teachings assume that you have some knowledge of mathematics and therefore, will probably not cover that knowledge in your undergraduate education.

Hence, although not compulsory, it is probably recommended that you enrol in the Pre-U subjects where knowledge is assumed, so that you do not face difficulty in university.

defectivelasagna
18-05-2010, 08:34 PM
I see, sorry for not understanding earlier on.

i wonder how difficult it is to achieve 95% ATAR.

Young
18-05-2010, 10:13 PM
I see, sorry for not understanding earlier on.

i wonder how difficult it is to achieve 95% ATAR.

No worries. :) Next time, try to have an eye for the details; you'll need a lot of that to be a good accountant. Heheh.

ATAR 95 isn't too hard to achieve if you put in reasonable effort. I completed AusMat about 2 years ago but if I remember correctly, a normalized and scaled average of about 75-80 should put you comfortably in the 95+ zone. :)

bekann
25-05-2010, 10:06 AM
No worries. :) Next time, try to have an eye for the details; you'll need a lot of that to be a good accountant. Heheh.

ATAR 95 isn't too hard to achieve if you put in reasonable effort. I completed AusMat about 2 years ago but if I remember correctly, a normalized and scaled average of about 75-80 should put you comfortably in the 95+ zone. :)

Where can I find the syllabus for Ausmat?
Are there standardized text books for Ausmat?

25-05-2010, 09:07 PM
Where can I find the syllabus for Ausmat?
Are there standardized text books for Ausmat?

Nope, there are no standardised textbooks. Your lecturer will recommend them to you.

bekann
25-05-2010, 09:14 PM
Nope, there are no standardised textbooks. Your lecturer will recommend them to you.

Okay. So, there's not much I can do now right?
I was just wondering if we will be studying with private students in Sunway UC or just with other JPA scholars?

25-05-2010, 10:26 PM
You'll most likely study with other JPA scholars though in my intake there are a few private students (I don't know how they managed to be in the July intake in the first place, haha).

bekann
25-05-2010, 11:49 PM
You'll most likely study with other JPA scholars though in my intake there are a few private students (I don't know how they managed to be in the July intake in the first place, haha).

Ohh, okay :)
I know it's still early, but which universities can JPA scholars apply to in New Zealand?

27-05-2010, 05:25 PM
Ohh, okay :)
I know it's still early, but which universities can JPA scholars apply to in New Zealand?
dun wry so much about the unis. JPA will send u a list of Unis that that they approved and frm that list, u can apply.

bekann
30-11-2010, 10:26 PM
Does JPA allow for a double major? Not a double degree, but a double major, like Bachelor of Commerce, major in Accounting and perhaps, Economics.

01-12-2010, 01:27 AM
Does JPA allow for a double major? Not a double degree, but a double major, like Bachelor of Commerce, major in Accounting and perhaps, Economics.

Unfortunately, no.

elaine412
12-12-2010, 10:25 PM
Anyone here apply for UNSW as their first choice? or is currently studying at UNSW? =)

12-12-2010, 10:42 PM
Anyone here apply for UNSW as their first choice? or is currently studying at UNSW? =)

senksiang90 is currently studying in UNSW.

elaine412
12-12-2010, 11:22 PM
hallo...ya...i know... thanks =)
but seems like no one apply unsw here... =(

13-12-2010, 09:42 PM
Mod note: Sorry, guys and girls, that was a spammer. User was terminated and the posts irrelevant to the topic have been removed.

Please carry on with the discussion on the topic itself. Thank you.

bekann
13-12-2010, 10:56 PM
senksiang90 is currently studying in UNSW.

Hey, I have a question. You did the SACE right? Are the various kinds of Mathematics levels in SACE?

13-12-2010, 11:32 PM
Hey, I have a question. You did the SACE right? Are the various kinds of Mathematics levels in SACE?

There are several math subjects. I only took Mathematical Studies so I can't compare with other math subjects. In the old syllabus (new syllabus beginning next year) there are Mathematical Applications, Mathematical Methods, Mathematical Studies and Specialist Mathematics. The new syllabus added Mathematics Pathways.

bekann
14-12-2010, 12:44 AM
There are several math subjects. I only took Mathematical Studies so I can't compare with other math subjects. In the old syllabus (new syllabus beginning next year) there are Mathematical Applications, Mathematical Methods, Mathematical Studies and Specialist Mathematics. The new syllabus added Mathematics Pathways.

Oh. Okay. So, Mathematical studies comprises all these elements that you mentioned?
In WACE, there's Maths 3A/3B and the higher level Maths 3C/3D.

Oh yes, is there any specific Maths requirements based on the SACE for BCom at Australian Unis?

14-12-2010, 01:31 AM
Oh. Okay. So, Mathematical studies comprises all these elements that you mentioned?
In WACE, there's Maths 3A/3B and the higher level Maths 3C/3D.

I'm not sure. My college only offers mathematical studies and specialist mathematics therefore I do not know much about the other math subjects. Math Studies has mainly calculus, statistics and matrices while Specialist Math has trigonometry, vector, etc. (a lot of SPM Add Maths topics but more advanced of course)

Oh yes, is there any specific Maths requirements based on the SACE for BCom at Australian Unis?

Some need both English and Mathematics as prerequisites such as UniQueensland, UniMelbourne, Monash, and Uni of Western Sydney. Some need just Math such as Curtin, Uni of Western Australia, UniTasmania, Queensland Uni of Technology, ANU, UNSW and UniSyd. The rest most likely do not have any specific prerequisites.