View Full Version : Translating certificates

24-05-2008, 03:23 PM
How do we translate our certificates? To be exact, I need to translate my SPM certificate. It contains English for some of the headings but not the subjects. =(

24-05-2008, 05:34 PM
Translate yourself. Afterward, get someone with authority to certified that it is a true translated copy.

24-05-2008, 11:28 PM
Translate yourself. Afterward, get someone with authority to certified that it is a true translated copy.

Aren't there suppose to be some kind of format where we must adhere to?

25-05-2008, 12:00 AM
Not really. I just translate mine according to how the certificate look like. If the heading is in the center. I just centralized it.

digital_lifeform
26-05-2008, 09:16 AM
There is no format you need to adhere too. You do not need to include all the details in the heading also. Just translate the important details. For example, there may be a footer on the certificate saying which company printed them or something useless like that, you can omit it if you want to. For the format, you can arrange it however way you like. All my certs were arranged in a list from, listing the details one by one. No special formatting. The important thing is to get some relevant authority to certify it, like your headmaster or school counselor.

26-05-2008, 06:06 PM
so, just list down all the details on the cert will be fine??? or we have to do exactly like the cert??? which is better, list down or do exactly like the cert???

26-05-2008, 06:19 PM
so, just list down all the details on the cert will be fine??? or we have to do exactly like the cert??? which is better, list down or do exactly like the cert???

When i translate my certificates, I would just translate them and put them in my own format. There is no need to follow the original certificate's format fully...

26-05-2008, 06:24 PM
When i translate my certificates, I would just translate them and put them in my own format. There is no need to follow the original certificate's format fully...

how's your format??? listing??? won't it looks weird in listing form???

digital_lifeform
27-05-2008, 01:51 PM
how's your format??? listing??? won't it looks weird in listing form???

It won't look weird in listing form. It is fine since the university is just interested in the content and not with the aesthetic details.

An example of a translated certificate in list for would be: This is an actualy translation I used to apply to Umich. It looks exactly plain like that. I only translated two certificates fully which is my School Leaving Cert and the SPM cert and attached a photostated and certified copy of the original to Umich. For all other certs like debate, chess etc. I only made a list of all the co-curriculum participation I had like sports, games, competitions, positions in school etc in one plain list, black and white, and got the university counselor to certify for me. I did not send any copy of the original cert at all. Truthfully, US uni apps are interested in content only and they work based on trust. So no need to send one whole box of paper to them. A simple list will do.

Translation of School Leaving Certificate
(Linear order, translated details arranged from top to bottom with reference to the layout of the original certificate)
1. Name of Student :
2. Gender :
3. Race :
4. Religion :
5. Identity Card No. :
6. Birth Certificate Number :
7. Date of Birth :
8. Place of Birth :
9. House Address :
10. Name of Father :
11. Occupation(Father?s)
12. Registration No. of School:
13. Scholarship No. :
14. Started Schooling on :
15. Joined School in :

27-05-2008, 02:12 PM
Speaking of original copies, I may be required to send them overseas and to be honest, I'm really hesitant about it.

27-05-2008, 02:22 PM
How do we translate our certificates? To be exact, I need to translate my SPM certificate. It contains English for some of the headings but not the subjects. =(

Why we should translate our certificates? Probably for ASEAN Scholarship as it has stated that every certificates must be translated into English. Do you apply for ASEAN Scholarship, silly boy?

27-05-2008, 02:30 PM
Why we should translate our certificates? Probably for ASEAN Scholarship as it has stated that every certificates must be translated into English. Do you apply for ASEAN Scholarship, silly boy?

We should translate our certificates when we need to show them to overseas institutions, not limited to Singapore. If not, how would the ang mo in the UK and US or even other European countries for that matter understand our certs? :P

Nope, I'm too old for ASEAN scholarship. :P

27-05-2008, 02:34 PM
I didn't think he ask why should we translate our certificates. Sillyboy, why do you need to send your original certs overseas? You can send them a certified one. If they refused, phone them and tell them of the possibilities that it might get lost in the mail etc.

27-05-2008, 02:37 PM
It won't look weird in listing form. It is fine since the university is just interested in the content and not with the aesthetic details.

An example of a translated certificate in list for would be: This is an actualy translation I used to apply to Umich. It looks exactly plain like that. I only translated two certificates fully which is my School Leaving Cert and the SPM cert and attached a photostated and certified copy of the original to Umich. For all other certs like debate, chess etc. I only made a list of all the co-curriculum participation I had like sports, games, competitions, positions in school etc in one plain list, black and white, and got the university counselor to certify for me. I did not send any copy of the original cert at all. Truthfully, US uni apps are interested in content only and they work based on trust. So no need to send one whole box of paper to them. A simple list will do.

Translation of School Leaving Certificate
(Linear order, translated details arranged from top to bottom with reference to the layout of the original certificate)
1. Name of Student :
2. Gender :
3. Race :
4. Religion :
5. Identity Card No. :
6. Birth Certificate Number :
7. Date of Birth :
8. Place of Birth :
9. House Address :
10. Name of Father :
11. Occupation(Father?s)
12. Registration No. of School:
13. Scholarship No. :
14. Started Schooling on :
15. Joined School in :

thanks for the info... so, u write all the activities/ club/ others in one plain paper???

27-05-2008, 02:42 PM
I didn't think he ask why should we translate our certificates. Sillyboy, why do you need to send your original certs overseas? You can send them a certified one. If they refused, phone them and tell them of the possibilities that it might get lost in the mail etc.

Woops, I misinterpreted the question. The thing is capablanca, that institution wants original copies! They even underline the word 'original'.:( Yes, I did sent an email regarding this matter. Another interesting thing is that another guy who is also heading to that university received a mail, giving him a choice of either providing certified photocopied certs or the original ones. :S But it is not after he sent an email inquiring about this. Very odd..

08-07-2008, 12:04 AM
Hey, is 'credit' better than 'good' or the other way around? For our PMR, B is Kepujian and C is Baik. If we are to follow strictly the correct English translation, the former means with credit while the latter is good (obviously). Any ideas about this?

ame.zost
08-07-2008, 01:37 PM
its kinda wierd.... dont u guys noe dat u can get a TRANSLATED VERSION SLIP from the LEMBAGA PEPERIKSAAN?????

try to call 'em, ask baut the procedure...
it'll take time, i guess...
my frens who are doing medicine and will fly to russia at the end of this summer have alredy done that as soon as they got the result...

i dun reli think that making another certified translated version on your own will be accepted, i doubt it....

gud luck then, congrats for those who managed to get the scholarships...

WatermelonSeed
08-07-2008, 03:06 PM
Hey, is 'credit' better than 'good' or the other way around? For our PMR, B is Kepujian and C is Baik. If we are to follow strictly the correct English translation, the former means with credit while the latter is good (obviously). Any ideas about this?

I think it is more than enough to indicate your grades- A, B, C because it is understood that A is better than B, and B is better than C. Otherwise, you can indicate there that results are given based on a 5-point scale of grades, with A being the highest and E the lowest (this is what CIE does and it is written on the statement of results and PMR follows the same system).
Also, if your results are all A, there should be no worries how you translate "Kepujian" or "Baik" as the information is not relevant.
The universities do not require you to translate everything on the certificates. A simple one indicating your results will do.

i dun reli think that making another certified translated version on your own will be accepted, i doubt it....

It is accepted, as long as it is certified by someone with authority.

08-07-2008, 06:00 PM
I think it is more than enough to indicate your grades- A, B, C because it is understood that A is better than B, and B is better than C. Otherwise, you can indicate there that results are given based on a 5-point scale of grades, with A being the highest and E the lowest (this is what CIE does and it is written on the statement of results and PMR follows the same system).
Also, if your results are all A, there should be no worries how you translate "Kepujian" or "Baik" as the information is not relevant.
The universities do not require you to translate everything on the certificates. A simple one indicating your results will do.

It is accepted, as long as it is certified by someone with authority.

I am just a rookie in cert translating and when I do translate, I translate everything there is! =(

Lol WatermelonSeed, this is for the visa application. Apparently they require certs from age 11 till the latest. :S

WatermelonSeed
08-07-2008, 08:44 PM
I am just a rookie in cert translating and when I do translate, I translate everything there is! =(

Lol WatermelonSeed, this is for the visa application. Apparently they require certs from age 11 till the latest. :S

Ah, you did mention they need all these for visa application. But as I said, it is more than enough to just translate the important bits. You don't have to translate everything. =p

10-07-2008, 12:03 AM
Ah, you did mention they need all these for visa application. But as I said, it is more than enough to just translate the important bits. You don't have to translate everything. =p

Yeah! Translate the sweet bits! :laugh: