View Full Version : JPA 2008 Medicine - PMC Ireland

powerleakin
26-05-2008, 03:10 PM
Hey...Those who have gotten this programme do come in and join. By the way,seniors please help answer our questions.

I'll start with my questions:

1. In the surat tawaran,they just say PMC 60 bulan and program berkembar...Why aren't there any info on the university in Ireland?

2. Why do they give us 24months a-level instead of 18 months?

3. And I tried googling but couldn't find much on JPA students in Ireland..Even searched recom also only got 'minute' information..So,someone who is in this twining programme please give us some info...

4.And earlier in the JPA chat thread, someone said something about applying to universities in the country offered by JPA,and if u get an offer letter,you'll be sent there by JPA...How does this work for twining programmes ?

Thanks in advance...

HoLmEs_90
26-05-2008, 05:28 PM
powerleakin,i also got PMC too...
may i know where are you from??
by the way,i am a sarawakian....

powerleakin
26-05-2008, 05:58 PM
oh....i am from up north...lol...
btw, my frens say east malaysia ppl are usual nice..haha..is it true?

lol...

Kuekkuek
26-05-2008, 06:46 PM
oh, it's true...east m'sia ppl sure very nice n friendly...hahah...i'm one too...bt mine is imu twinning ...sorry i write sth unrelated here...bt can sumone guide me hw to create a new thread for imu twinning ???? pls pls tell me....

powerleakin
26-05-2008, 07:21 PM
kuek...check your pm..

HoLmEs_90
26-05-2008, 07:31 PM
from up north??hohoho,is it North Pole then??hehe......just joking.... = )
yes,of course its true.....we r generally nice people.....lol = p

powerleakin
26-05-2008, 07:32 PM
can any senior answer my questions in d first post? :sob :sob

Lalala11
26-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Hey...Those who have gotten this programme do come in and join. By the way,seniors please help answer our questions.

I'll start with my questions:

1. In the surat tawaran,they just say PMC 60 bulan and program berkembar...Why aren't there any info on the university in Ireland?

2. Why do they give us 24months a-level instead of 18 months?

3. And I tried googling but couldn't find much on JPA students in Ireland..Even searched recom also only got 'minute' information..So,someone who is in this twining programme please give us some info...

4.And earlier in the JPA chat thread, someone said something about applying to universities in the country offered by JPA,and if u get an offer letter,you'll be sent there by JPA...How does this work for twining programmes ?

Thanks in advance...

Hey. I'm not a senior or anything but i know sum ppl who's currently under this PMC programme n i've researched a lot bout this programme.

1. The uni shud be RCSI (royal College of Surgeons of Ireland). Dunno if PMC got collaborate with new universities tho.

2. No idea. Hehe.

3.-

4. For twinning programmes, i dun tink u get 2 choose. There r only 3 (correct me if i'm wrong) twinning programmes in msia.

a) Penang medical college - RCSI
b) IMU- sum unis in UK/ireland
c) Melaka manipal medical college- d manipal college in india (cant remember d name)

N so, u got (a).

Btw, there r loads of msians in RCSI :amuse
Hope u find my infos usefull.

windhoe2
27-05-2008, 05:28 AM
Hi there,

first of all, such a long email for me to read, I just tried to get a gist from it.
I am currently 3rd year medical student Trinity college dublin ( full programme) going to become 4th med in september, haha time is flying! :)

First of all, I don't know much about PMC and twinning programme since I am not part of them. I am doing full time programme in Ireland because I was not able to secure me a place in UK university on that time ( coz I am granted with Uk medicine, so I can choose ireland as my 2nd country, I dun think that Jpa sending anymore 5 years medical students to ireland, however MARA still)

Anyway, for PMC, there are only UCD and RCSI, sorry No galway, cork or my university Trinity, haha! As three of them dun have partnership to PMC. Anyway, for RCSI and UCD, there are lots of malaysian, looks like 30/50 students, so many of them. However, trinity has relatively less malaysian, since it doesnt accept many international students as time goes by, and there are signs to show that they are going to apply graduated entry in near time.

Good result in A level? Oh no, those who are managed to come so far at this stage, all of the JPA scholars are just capable as you and A level is nothing, it is very easy to score As, do you think Jpa will consider this kind of changing country? Just satisfied with what you have , it is much more better than anything else as u have chance to breathe in some european air. However 2 years are not long, those who are with my batch, already went back Penang for clinical attachment in March 2008.

Ireland? nothing special, things are extremely expensive. weather is just winter and summer, as it is cold like whole year, this year April, it even snowing once.
People here are nice, just like a small kampung on my point of view.

Ok, that's all from me now. Good luck and congrats for getting scholarship, please make full use of this golden potential as not many of them have this chance as you.
Now your main objective is doing well in A level and while studying some extra materials (like following some medical information or news, try to make yourself familiar with medicine world)

Take care, best regards

about 18 months or 24 months A level, because the new term starts september each year in Uk and Ireland, therefore what is point of letting students doing 18 months A level, ends on january, then holidays for 8 months? it is not reasonable, the extra 6 months for you to study more and carefully for A level.

powerleakin
27-05-2008, 09:51 AM
Hey. I'm not a senior or anything but i know sum ppl who's currently under this PMC programme n i've researched a lot bout this programme.

1. The uni shud be RCSI (royal College of Surgeons of Ireland). Dunno if PMC got collaborate with new universities tho.

2. No idea. Hehe.

3.-

4. For twinning programmes, i dun tink u get 2 choose. There r only 3 (correct me if i'm wrong) twinning programmes in msia.

a) Penang medical college - RCSI
b) IMU- sum unis in UK/ireland
c) Melaka manipal medical college- d manipal college in india (cant remember d name)

N so, u got (a).

Btw, there r loads of msians in RCSI :amuse
Hope u find my infos usefull.

thanks for the info...

i just checked the PMC website..it seems it has 2 partners..RCSI and UCD..
and in JPA's allowance form,they put there that they'll be giving 100EUR extra for those universities at Dublin...any comments?

zell_ll
27-05-2008, 03:45 PM
thanks for the info...

i just checked the PMC website..it seems it has 2 partners..RCSI and UCD..
and in JPA's allowance form,they put there that they'll be giving 100EUR extra for those universities at Dublin...any comments?

THings are more expensive in Dublin.

powerleakin
27-05-2008, 03:51 PM
THings are more expensive in Dublin.

oh..tat's wat everyone's saying...so for relative comparison,can we say dublin is like kl and othr place(wherever UCD is) is like perak or somethin?

Kuekkuek
27-05-2008, 04:39 PM
oh..tat's wat everyone's saying...so for relative comparison,can we say dublin is like kl and othr place(wherever UCD is) is like perak or somethin?

ya, Dublin is the capital city of Ireland, of course it's very expensive.like kl is to other small places

skatemusicianer
27-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Yeah, check out the amount of allowance they give us for a month..i bet accomodation costs a ton there???

powerleakin
27-05-2008, 10:01 PM
Yeah, check out the amount of allowance they give us for a month..i bet accomodation costs a ton there???

it hink someone mentioned its more than 700 euro..

windhoe2
27-05-2008, 10:21 PM
just around 400 euro, if sharing around 350 euro..

powerleakin
27-05-2008, 10:33 PM
just around 400 euro, if sharing around 350 euro..

hey..so overall is the allowance given by jpa enough?

Kuekkuek
27-05-2008, 10:46 PM
hey..so overall is the allowance given by jpa enough?

Hw much does jpa give to students under PMC-Ireland twinning programme overseas for Monthly Living Allowance? hw bout other allowances?

starbie
27-05-2008, 11:00 PM

i thought UCD is in Dublin???
since it's name is University College Dublin..

powerleakin
27-05-2008, 11:35 PM
i thought UCD is in Dublin???
since it's name is University College Dublin..

ok my bad...shud be UCD in Dublin and RCSI(wherever it is)

windhoe2
28-05-2008, 12:45 AM
UCD and RCSI both are in dublin,

the allowance should be more than enough, coz we have just had a rise in our allowance from the last budget ...

ayjk
28-05-2008, 05:40 AM
Hey guys,

I'm a 2nd year medic in RCSI (PMC), sponsored by JPA. Was just dropping by Recom when I saw this thread.

With regards to the allowance, JPA students in Ireland are separated into 2 bands: Kadar A and Kadar B. Kadar A applies to all students who are based in Dublin (RCSI, UCD, TCD). You will be receiving a flat rate of ?935 per month (Kadar A - Dublin) and you will be expected to cover your own accommodation, food, utilities, etc with that money. You need not concern yourself with Kadar B as PMC only twins with 2 colleges in Dublin: RCSI and UCD.

There are quite a number of JPA students in both UCD and RCSI, althought I have been told that this year, a number of students were not offered places in either college. You'll have to speak to the seniors who are leaving for Ireland this year to confirm that.

I am happy to answer any more questions you might have about life in Dublin, and also INTEC (if you are being sent there)

Once again congratulations on being offered the JPA PMC scholarship, it has been a fantastic experience for me so far and I hope you will feel the same way in time.

powerleakin
28-05-2008, 09:26 AM
thanks for replying!
finally, a pmc-ireland senior is here! yay!

1.you will be expected to cover your own accommodation, food, utilities, etc with that money.

2.You need not concern yourself with Kadar B as PMC only twins with 2 colleges in Dublin: RCSI and UCD.

3.There are quite a number of JPA students in both UCD and RCSI, althought I have been told that this year, a number of students were not offered places in either college. You'll have to speak to the seniors who are leaving for Ireland this year to confirm that.

1.so, is the jpa's allowance enough?

2.oh..both in dublin..so kadar a..anyway,wanna ask, so how do we know which university we go? i mean is it dependent on our a-level result ?
can we compare rcsi and ucd? is 1 better than the other??

3.not offered places in both the colleges?? why? alvl not good? then wat happened to them?

i'm happy and excited that you say so far its fantastic there...mind telling us a bit about the food,accomadation,lifestyle and etc there...(i tried googling but little info on this)

thanks in advance..

ayjk
28-05-2008, 02:44 PM
Hi there,

In response to your questions:

1. Yes, JPA's allowance will be enough. Obviously, you won't be living a luxurious life, but you'll have enough to get by and should have enough to save up to travel Europe :D It all depends on where you will want to stay and whether you will be sharing a room with anyone. A single room in the 'less posh' areas will cost about ?500 a month while you can expect to pay ?700-?800 a room/month in the more affluent areas (i.e. around RCSI/UCD). However, bear in mind that in the past year alone prices have gone up by around 10% in Ireland for most essential goods (milk, newspapers, bus fares, electricity tariffs) and with the continuing increase in oil prices this trend is expected to persist.

2. Neither RCSI nor UCD is superior to another, as you will still receive the same degree. I don't think it depends on your A-Levels results, as you can state the college of your choice. However the final college allocation depends on PMC itself. But do note that anecdotally people have said that the course in RCSI is much more intense compared to the UCD course.

3. As I said, these are just stories I have heard, so I can't really comment on what happened there - you'll have to speak to your seniors leaving this year.

Life in Dublin is generally quite pleasant. It's a relatively safe city and its easy to get Malaysian foodstuff. However, eating out is a very expensive affair but there is quite a good selection of food (i.e. Irish, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Korean) available around the city. As for accommodation, the best place for 1st years to stay is obviously in RCSI accommodation (Mercer Court) but if you check out the prices, they are very expensive (www.mercercourt.ie) so it's your call if you want to stay on campus or outside campus. You won't be short of things to do, but one word always comes to mind - it's EXPENSIVE!

Besides that, Dublin has very good (and cheap) air links with most European cities so its a good opportunity for you to get some travelling and sightseeing done during the holidays...

powerleakin
28-05-2008, 05:05 PM
Thanks for the reply..It has been very valuable...

razor
29-05-2008, 04:36 PM
Hi guys!

I'm like u guys, gonna do medicine thru twinning program at PMC, sumwhere near my school. I'll b starting my a-level at INTEC 4 2 yrs n then i'll start my degree (if I make it thru a-level. Hehe!).

I've researched a bit bout d programme. We'll be doing 2 yrs of a-level, yeah. I thought of shortening it 2 1 yr at a college here bt apparently, the one offered by JPA is a medical programme. Fundamentally, we are gonna study d same subjects n syllabus as other candidates (bio, chem n math i think), bt here's d extension; we'll b getting a hint of d medical field (workshops, campaigns, study trips) throughout d 2 lengthy yrs. Yeah, i know, it sounds booorrrriing. Haha!

Btw, i need ur advice. Shud i:
do a fast track programme + research more bout medical line
or
go to intec + waste an xtra yr + gt spoonfed wif medical info?

After all, 2 b an accomplished doctor, it takes years, so if i can save one, y nt do it? Yes, surely i'll hv 2 sacrifice bout 10K 4 d college fees. There were ppl who hv done it b4.

What say you?

-razor- :))

powerleakin
29-05-2008, 07:54 PM
More questions....

1. After some digging at the Wikipedia, I found out that the temperature is around 8-15℃...Highest is around may,june,21℃...is it true? I guess then you'll always be wearing 2 or 3 layer of clothes?
What about the long overcoats which are worn by actors in British movies? Do you all wear them? hehe...i like 'em... =D

2. So RCSI's own accomodation is Merchant Court. Word around is that its too expensive and not worth it...What's your take on this? Where are you staying? Outside apartment?

3. And then,again from Wikipedia...UCD recently shifted to Belfield. It seems all the research centers are there. Here's the quote from Wikipedia: "...The School is now gaining in strength and reputation with the opening of a new purpose built state of the art building on the Belfield campus, the heart of the university. The clear advantage of this is its close proximity to the Conway Institute (one of Europe's leading biomedical and biomolecular research centres), Ireland's Centre for Research in Infectious Diseases, and the Centre for Synthesis and Chemical Biology. What do you think?

Thanks in advance...

ayjk
29-05-2008, 08:56 PM
Hi powerleakin,

1. Yes, the temperature is a bit low in Dublin...right now its not too bad though, about 18 degrees today. As for the layers of clothes, it all depends on how great your tolerance for cold is. Personally, I prefer cold weather to warm weather and I only wear shorts and a t shirt in my room even during winter, and about 2-3 layers when I walk outside. As for the long coats...some people do wear them, but then ultimately it all boils down to what you think your 'style' is!

2. I agree that Mercer Court is expensive, but the advantage is that its near college, near the main tourist and shopping areas, has a weekly cleaning service, college Internet line and utilities are included in the fee. Once again, its your call. I'm currently living in Mercer as I fell under the old 60:40 accommodation scheme before the allowance raise last year.

3. Yes, all of UCD's facilities are now based in Belfield. They are strong in research, but RCSI also has a very successful research programme which is open to first year students onwards - if you're a successful applicant you will spend 8 weeks during the summer in the laboratories . Pretty exciting stuff since you'll be doing work at a level way higher than what you'd do in class. UCD's research programmes are also open to undergraduates.

powerleakin
29-05-2008, 11:08 PM
Thanks for the prompt replies ayjk...You have been of great help to all of us...Since I'm currently just sitting at home,I come up with all those questions..Hope you don't mind...

1. Wow,18℃...you prefer cold to warm weather? I prefer cold too but 18℃ is way too cold for me! Last time I used to be able to withstand 18-19℃ air-cond,nowadays my minimum is 24 or 25℃...Anyway, I like those long overcoats which the actors wear in the movies, I find it classy! hehe... :D

2.Now that we are talking about it, just want to ask...In our Lampiran A3(A Paper Which Shows The Allowance Amount for the Respective Country),there is 1 section for Allowance Pakaian..Is that all or will there be an Elaun Pakaian Panas?

3.Oh...so Mercer Courts pro's offset their con's(expensive). I realise that even if you get outside accommodation, (as you said)you'll have to pay for utilities and internet(plus transportation). My question is, after adding those costs to the cheaper outside accomodation, will it be somewhat comparable(equal) to Mercer's or will it still be cheaper? Or is the whole thing much more than that and can't just be answered like this? hehe...

"I'm currently living in Mercer as I fell under the old 60:40 accommodation scheme before the allowance raise last year."

4.Could you please explain a bit on this sentence? About 60:40 accommodation...and the allowance raise..

5.Let me ask....summer...When and how is it exactly? (do tell me about autumn,winter and spring in Ireland too)...And summer is supposed to be what? I'm guessing its the start of holidays?
(sorry if I sound like a noob...I've never been to western countries..)

6.Oh..both universities do have their own successful research centres...So during summer, you have to apply to do research? Do a lot of ppl apply for it? Any criterias?

7."Pretty exciting stuff". Your enthusiasm makes me so excited... =D And I'm guessing here those who are not doing the research will go travel around Europe? (as you said earlier)

I think I am getting way ahead of myself...hehe....Have 2 years more to study at INTEC before I can go there..Well,after listening to all this,I am so motivated and I vouch to study hard in INTEC...hehe...hangat-hangat taik ayam...hopefully not.. =D

ayjk
29-05-2008, 11:52 PM
Haha, I think its good to be enthusiastic about the future so you can plan ahead. Well to answer your questions more specifically:

2. I'm not too sure about your year's Elaun Pakaian, but in our year they only gave us a lump sum (RM750) before we left for Elaun Pakaian Panas. I think that has increased to RM1200 for you guys?

3. Once again, I can't really answer that - you will have to speak to someone who is living outside (that's me next year :P)

4. Well in all the JPA destination countries (Ireland, UK, Australia, India etc) BEFORE the allowance increases of 2006/2007, JPA would allow you to book on-campus accommodation and they would deduct 40% from your monthly allowance for 9 months and give you full allowance during the summer holidays. After the allowance was raised, they stopped this policy. As I booked my on-campus accommodation before the increase in September 2007, I was still put under the old scheme. As of now, this scheme is no longer used in Ireland due to the allowance raise. You will have to bring this up with the JPA officer in Putrajaya, in case they decide to change their minds ;)

5. The fours season aren't exactly clearly delineated...a rough guide would be:

Winter: December-February
Spring: March-May
Summer: May-August
Autumn: September-November

Its difficult to mark the boundaries as you will find the temperature gradually changing (colder-warmer or warmer-colder)...and of course, the leaves will turn brown in autumn. Great sight!

6. Yes, you will have to submit an application to work in research, as it is not compulsory for students to work on research in the curriculum. There are not many specific requirements, just that you need to have a certain set of grades in your exams.

7. Well, there are many things people do for the summer - travel, research, lepak in Ireland, go home to Malaysia...or a combination of several!

Well, all the best for your A Levels in INTEC...that is also a very 'unique' place, with very motivating people around you...

powerleakin
31-05-2008, 08:36 AM
1.Yea..the allowance pakaian is rm1200...If you suddenly have any problems there,what do you all do? I mean there are no JPA people there rite? I heard that JPA will come and check on you once in a while...

2.And yesterday when i went for the medical check up, one of the doctor there told me a very interesting thing. He said that the colleges there(in Ireland) will allow up to 5% of its student to come back and do postgrad there..Err,any comments on this?

ayjk
31-05-2008, 02:06 PM
1. Actually, we do have a full time officer based in Dublin. The JPA Dublin office is 15 minutes' walk from RCSI and 15 minutes bus ride from UCD. So no worries there! Besides, the seniors are always around to help you out.

2. I'm not too sure what you mean by post-grad...you'll have to see what kind of post grad it is. If its a Masters' or PhD programme then yes but if its a specialisation programme, you can actually do it in Malaysia as well (the MRCP).

powerleakin
31-05-2008, 05:26 PM
1. Actually, we do have a full time officer based in Dublin. The JPA Dublin office is 15 minutes' walk from RCSI and 15 minutes bus ride from UCD. So no worries there! Besides, the seniors are always around to help you out.

2. I'm not too sure what you mean by post-grad...you'll have to see what kind of post grad it is. If its a Masters' or PhD programme then yes but if its a specialisation programme, you can actually do it in Malaysia as well (the MRCP).

i think the doctor was talking about specialisation kind of postgrad..Yea we can do it in M'sia, but if we get offer from the university itself(he said 5% of the students will get this offer) to do it there...

windhoe2
01-06-2008, 05:00 AM
i think the doctor was talking about specialisation kind of postgrad..Yea we can do it in M'sia, but if we get offer from the university itself(he said 5% of the students will get this offer) to do it there...
just concentrate on ur studies first, it is really slight chance for u to get postgrad offer as we are non EU students, furthermore, those who do twinning programme will do clinical in penang, so the chance....you know it.

powerleakin
01-06-2008, 08:15 AM
haha....ok..

User
08-06-2008, 10:19 AM
Anyone from Sarawak getting PMC-Ireland?

skatemusicianer
11-06-2008, 12:55 PM
I'm from sarawak.

malaysia
20-06-2008, 10:54 PM
I would like to know a few things:
1. RCSI accommodation eg. Mercer Court requires full payment i.e. payment for one full academic year at the start of the year. So, if you're JPA - did JPA pay them for you or what happened?

2. Does JPA still follow the 60/40 scheme? I understand that there is a recent increment and JPA trying to get away from that scheme, but the increment is from 770 to 935 if I am not mistaken. A room in Mercer Court costs 900+ Euros. How do you survive with 935 when you havent included follr and travel etc?

3. As a first year student - where would you recommend to stay? Would you recommend Mercer Court or private? Why?

4. Does RCSI guarantee accommodation for First Year International Students?

Thank you very much for any replies.

SS

Would be great if someone can reply me asap. Thanks!

windhoe2
21-06-2008, 02:46 AM
I would like to know a few things:
1. RCSI accommodation eg. Mercer Court requires full payment i.e. payment for one full academic year at the start of the year. So, if you're JPA - did JPA pay them for you or what happened?

2. Does JPA still follow the 60/40 scheme? I understand that there is a recent increment and JPA trying to get away from that scheme, but the increment is from 770 to 935 if I am not mistaken. A room in Mercer Court costs 900+ Euros. How do you survive with 935 when you havent included follr and travel etc?

3. As a first year student - where would you recommend to stay? Would you recommend Mercer Court or private? Why?

4. Does RCSI guarantee accommodation for First Year International Students?

Thank you very much for any replies.

SS

Would be great if someone can reply me asap. Thanks!

Hi, I am TCD student. But from my knowledge, this year is the last year of 60:40 scheme, so I am afaird that you have to pay your own accomodation even though it is campus accomodation.

It is great idea for first year student to stay in campus as it is not easy for new comers to find house easily in Dublin. However it will cost much less than 900 euro, single room outside will just cost you aroun 500-600 euro, really big difference.

I am not sure the validity of the info, you can email JPA for further information if you want to. jpaireland@<hidden> (if I am not mistaken, the ireland JPA office, just change this new email, hahaha)

good luck and welcome to Ireland :)

malaysia
21-06-2008, 08:29 AM
Thanks, thanks!!

I would appreciate if other people have any other advice for us. If there is any RCSI JPA people in here - Mercer court wants us to pay the full sum i.e. close to 10K Euros now before the start of the year.

SS

powerleakin
21-06-2008, 09:22 AM
Thanks, thanks!!

I would appreciate if other people have any other advice for us. If there is any RCSI JPA people in here - Mercer court wants us to pay the full sum i.e. close to 10K Euros now before the start of the year.

SS

while waiting,you can send an email to JPA Ireland..

windhoe2
21-06-2008, 12:23 PM
Thanks, thanks!!

SS

It is common norm for us to pay the lump sum at first then refund from JPA after few weeks or months. Because I did pay 10k with much obstacles during my first year, luckily it was all over then. Acutally can negotiate with the staff in accomodation to delay the payment while waiting JPA to settle for us (haha)

malaysia
21-06-2008, 10:20 PM
It is common norm for us to pay the lump sum at first then refund from JPA after few weeks or months. Because I did pay 10k with much obstacles during my first year, luckily it was all over then. Acutally can negotiate with the staff in accomodation to delay the payment while waiting JPA to settle for us (haha)

Thanks!
Mercer Court requires full payment to be settled now upon booking the room to confirm a place, i.e. before arriving in Dublin. How do you negotiate with them to delay the payment?

Also, how did you make payment from Malaysia?

windhoe2
21-06-2008, 11:04 PM
Thanks!
Mercer Court requires full payment to be settled now upon booking the room to confirm a place, i.e. before arriving in Dublin. How do you negotiate with them to delay the payment?

Also, how did you make payment from Malaysia?

But I will rather advise you to contact JPA officer as I dont think they will allow 60:40 scheme anymore. So if you choose to apply mercer court then you have to use all your 900+ euro for accomodation

malaysia
23-06-2008, 02:17 PM
JPA hasn't replied me yet! Hopefully they will soon.
If anybody knows anything about this, that would be great!

powerleakin
26-06-2008, 02:19 PM
1 interesting questions to seniors....

in m'sia, the isps(tm) don really care much about wat we download...they just throttle but they don't try to catch us...
in s'pore(dunno how far this is true), but ppl say the isps can pass you over to the police if they catch you downloadin pirate(movies,music games)
in US,they say mpaa will send you a warning letter..

1.so,how is it in ireland?

2.plus wat are the speeds like? (i know this depends on isps n packages)

kram
05-07-2008, 05:55 PM
Hi there,

My name is Mark and am currently studying at RCSI. I just stumbled upon this thread and thought that I would let all of you know that all students who will be arriving in Dublin under the PMC Twinning programme this year will be receiving an invite to a Yahoo! Group set up by the PMC admissions office where you can voice your questions for seniors.

You should be receiving the invite in your email soon, so look out for it.

powerleakin
13-07-2008, 01:36 PM
thanks kram...

but no invite from any yahoo group yet..

joyce91
01-06-2009, 08:53 PM
so,for conclusion,UCD or RCSI is better?i saw UCD world ranking 2008 is 108 whereas RCSI hv nthg

xkiwi
01-06-2009, 09:35 PM
Hi all~ I just received jpa letter and I got twinning programme in PMC. I am surprised and confused as I did not expect a twinning programme. Dear seniors, I'd be happy if anyone of you will clear my doubts.

1. We're supposed to do A levels in Intec right? How's the accomodation there? And the lecturers? What subjects are we required to take? Do I have to attend any cocuricular activities?

2. After A Levels, is it true that I have to apply for a place in the university (for PMC, its either UCD or UCSI) on my own after completing A Levels and JPA will only sponsor you IF you manage to secure a place? Lastly, are the university entrance requirements in Ireland high?

Thanks!!!!!!:))

Bunga
01-06-2009, 10:57 PM
Any idea bout accomodation? I mean if u're from the klang valley as in KL, r u still eligible to get into the hostels? Coz it says students cant bring their own vehicles to the college...

Casperloo
01-06-2009, 11:40 PM
tis year i c many jpa scholarship holder get pmc are gal.... y arh??

amnie
02-06-2009, 12:02 AM
yea!i got pmc twinning too, n i'm a gal,from mlc~ haha!!!to all my future classmate, do add me in msn~ amnie_1508@<hidden> (msn~amnie_1508@<hidden>).

bunga is a gal~xkiwi is a gal~ Casper loo how bout u then?

Casperloo
02-06-2009, 12:33 AM
obviously a boy.....zzz

i hear my fren say pmc oso nid interview even u pass the minimum requirement in A level.... quite difficult to get in pmc even wif AAA result....

dunno real or not??? act happy to get pmc.... but after hear my fren say, a little anxious.... if cnt pass the interview, then how ar??? i am chinese educated.... english not tat good.... haiz:cry

jjjsy16ing
02-06-2009, 12:38 AM
HiHi.
So where u go for the medical check-up?private clinic/hospital or gov 1?

Casperloo
02-06-2009, 12:39 AM
Should we talk abt tis here??:huh

i think i wil go for medical check up at government hospital gua.... cheaper:P

CCY_to_the_top
02-06-2009, 12:40 AM
so,for conclusion,UCD or RCSI is better?i saw UCD world ranking 2008 is 108 whereas RCSI hv nthg

duh...RCSI of course =.=

RCSI is a surgeon school, not a uni..thats why it dont have a ranking...

duke23
02-06-2009, 12:52 AM
duh...RCSI of course =.=

RCSI is a surgeon school, not a uni..thats why it dont have a ranking...

RCSI is a surgeon school?cut that crap..go do some research before posting here.you dont qualify as a surgeon once you come out of RCSI..

RCSI has got the lowest entry requirements out of all irish medical schools..and 70 percent of the students are from malaysia or middle east...its a private med school..hence that explains it all.....the public schools are way better..in fact jpa doesnt not allow their scholars to go direct to RCSI(For the full ireland programme)..only mara does.

joyce91
02-06-2009, 12:57 AM
RCSI is a surgeon school?cut that crap..go do some research before posting here.you dont qualify as a surgeon once you come out of RCSI..

RCSI has got the lowest entry requirements out of all irish medical schools..and 70 percent of the students are from malaysia or middle east...its a private med school..hence that explains it all.....the public schools are way better..in fact jpa doesnt not allow their scholars to go direct to RCSI(For the full ireland programme)..only mara does.
so u means UCD is much much better than RCSI?my mum's friend's son said that too.

duke23
02-06-2009, 01:03 AM
of course it is..Only misinformed malaysians think highly of RCSI(And there are a number of the around everywhere)..Some students i talked to even said they will be surgeons once they come out of RCSI..i cant believe how gullible these people are..to be honest..RCSI is just made up of a row of shophouses..it thrives on malaysian scholars and ppl from the middle east..the good local students and those from the EU would stay away from RCSI unless they dont have a choice(it would be their last choice..many prefer to go to prague)..generally the students from malaysia and other asian countries go to Ireland only if they cant get into UK schools....but of course there are scholars who dont have a choice..

02-06-2009, 01:17 AM
of course it is..Only misinformed malaysians think highly of RCSI(And there are a number of the around everywhere)..Some students i talked to even said they will be surgeons once they come out of RCSI..i cant believe how gullible these people are..to be honest..RCSI is just made up of a row of shophouses..it thrives on malaysian scholars and ppl from the middle east..the good local students and those from the EU would stay away from RCSI unless they dont have a choice(it would be their last choice..many prefer to go to prague)..generally the students from malaysia and other asian countries go to Ireland only if they cant get into UK schools....but of course there are scholars who dont have a choice..Actually apart from the students' qualities you mentioned, what is the negative point about RCSI, since you mentioned it a couple of times in different thread, is there anything else other than students and row of shophouses which make you think that way?

duke23
02-06-2009, 01:25 AM
yes the teaching quality?it doesnt have a good reputation among the europeans..i'd say..
i wouldnt want to go abroad to be in another "malaysian " med school.

amnie
02-06-2009, 12:41 PM
HiHi.
So where u go for the medical check-up?private clinic/hospital or gov 1?
i went to d gov clinic today n the ans i got was : u mau tunggu a? sangat lama o! lebih kurang 3 minggu~ n they ask me to get several tests in private lab, then with the result together go back to d clinic n pay RM 20 for d report by doc(n few basic tests).

just a piece of advice, go get ur medical check up asap n don't wait til d last min:wink

ayjk
02-06-2009, 11:29 PM
of course it is..Only misinformed malaysians think highly of RCSI(And there are a number of the around everywhere)..Some students i talked to even said they will be surgeons once they come out of RCSI..i cant believe how gullible these people are..to be honest..RCSI is just made up of a row of shophouses..it thrives on malaysian scholars and ppl from the middle east..the good local students and those from the EU would stay away from RCSI unless they dont have a choice(it would be their last choice..many prefer to go to prague)..generally the students from malaysia and other asian countries go to Ireland only if they cant get into UK schools....but of course there are scholars who dont have a choice..

With all due respect to duke23's personal views, I feel that ultimately it depends on the individual student's efforts and commitments towards becoming a good doctor. Ask any current PMC student and they will tell you that RCSI students are taught much more during their 2nd and 3rd years compared to the students in UCD. For instance, in the final semester before returning to Penang, RCSI students have 7 hours of lessons A DAY while UCD students have 7 hours A WEEK.

For your information, the last time I checked (unless RCSI has sold its properties) 2009 RCSI is not 'just a row of shophouses', there is the main building at St Stephen's Green, where the preclinical teaching is taught. Next to it is 121 St Stephen's Green and York House, where I spent my first year summer doing cardiovascular research (yes, research attachments are available for 1st year students in RCSI). In Dublin 9, RCSI has a whole building to itself called the Education and Research Centre - Smurfit Building where clinical students are taught. This is where clinical research is performed. Throughout the district hospitals (e.g. Waterford General Hospital) RCSI has buillt education centres for its students who are attached there.

And according to our JPA Education Officer who is based in Dublin, JPA has stopped sending students to the 5-year course in RCSI because of cost, not because of a drop in quality.

Yes, I agree that Malaysian and Middle Eastern students make up a large proportion of the student population in RCSI. However, it again depends on how much effort you put into mixing with the other international students. Many people from my batch (Malaysians) have become very close friends with students from all over the world...and there is absolutely nothing wrong with mixing with the Middle Eastern kids, in fact some of them are so open and friendly that I felt very comfortable with them - picking up several Arabic phrases along the way!

So if anyone wants to clear the air regarding RCSI vs UCD, please feel free to PM me. I'm a 3rd year student in PMC at the moment, just returned from RCSI last March. Have a nice day.

kanashibari
03-06-2009, 08:18 PM
i'm confused. we apply through PMC or straight to the university in ireland? are the requirements high to get into the uni?

another ireland-bound future medical student here!!!

Casperloo
03-06-2009, 10:48 PM
i saw from pmc web site there.... the minimum entry requirement for A level is A B B....
But i don think wif ABB can get in pmc.... i think pmc is quite competitive gua...

Bunga
03-06-2009, 11:28 PM
How come I'm not considered as a JPA scholar in the UiTM website????
It say's..."Harap maaf, anda bukan penerima biasiswa/tajaan JPA"

Casperloo
03-06-2009, 11:59 PM
How come I'm not considered as a JPA scholar in the UiTM website????
It say's..."Harap maaf, anda bukan penerima biasiswa/tajaan JPA"

me oso the same.... but i think maybe the system not updated gua.... i don sure... juz an assumption onli....

btw, y this thread quite calm?? :huh

Casperloo
05-06-2009, 06:01 PM
To all who get pmc, when is ur registration date at INTEC?? my letter state tat i should register at 28/6 8.30am in kolej cendana..... but i see from the link in INTEC.... tiada tarikh pendaftaran pada 28/6.... http://www.intec.uitm.edu.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=677&Itemid=1

when do u all go register??

kanashibari
05-06-2009, 06:18 PM
i'll just follow the instructions in the letter but if there's no registration on the 28th, i'll be more than happy to spend some more time shopping in kl!

meiso
06-06-2009, 06:08 PM

are u the RCSI student, b4 giving all the figure ,pls make sure u know things well b4 u post here,u seems to give people the impression u knows lots of information abt the med sch,may i know whether u r from that med.school or whatsoever???do u know how the UCD students study compared to RCSI??do some research 1st b4 'shooting'people!

Bunga
06-06-2009, 10:44 PM
To all who get pmc, when is ur registration date at INTEC?? my letter state tat i should register at 28/6 8.30am in kolej cendana..... but i see from the link in INTEC.... tiada tarikh pendaftaran pada 28/6.... http://www.intec.uitm.edu.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=677&Itemid=1

when do u all go register??
I think u have to follow wats in yr letter. Usually u r asked to register on a sunday as the orientation starts on monday.

duke23
06-06-2009, 11:06 PM
are u the RCSI student, b4 giving all the figure ,pls make sure u know things well b4 u post here,u seems to give people the impression u knows lots of information abt the med sch,may i know whether u r from that med.school or whatsoever???do u know how the UCD students study compared to RCSI??do some research 1st b4 'shooting'people!

yes i do know some information abt the school to a certain extent.I have almost immediate family who were invited to be external examiners for their exams.

u are asking me to do research?why dont u do it yourself?I wouldnt bother doing research on my part..because personally i dont want to sell myself short..haha..look..im sorry for shooting ppl..I bet the aforemetioned school would be a great place for you since they would be very amenable to taking in a highly qualified student like you who can hardly string a sentence of english sans errors..good luck!

Casperloo
07-06-2009, 12:19 AM
then ur letter all state that when u hv to register??

ayjk
07-06-2009, 07:31 AM
yes i do know some information abt the school to a certain extent.I have almost immediate family who were invited to be external examiners for their exams.

u are asking me to do research?why dont u do it yourself?I wouldnt bother doing research on my part..because personally i dont want to sell myself short..haha..look..im sorry for shooting ppl..I bet the aforemetioned school would be a great place for you since they would be very amenable to taking in a highly qualified student like you who can hardly string a sentence of english sans errors..good luck!

Well, then I must say it wasn't a very nice thing to make such unsubstantiated claims about my college.

kanashibari
07-06-2009, 08:57 AM
hey, just curious to know about this.

usually, how many students that made the cut for the requirements of PMC but didn't get accepted? and how many students are actually bounded for PMC-ireland this year?

Casperloo
07-06-2009, 10:24 AM
hey, just curious to know about this.

usually, how many students that made the cut for the requirements of PMC but didn't get accepted? and how many students are actually bounded for PMC-ireland this year?

i am curious abt tis too.... btw, if ppl who pass the cut off point but stil cnt secure a place, wil they be send to other country like India??

duke23
07-06-2009, 10:30 AM
Well, then I must say it wasn't a very nice thing to make such unsubstantiated claims about my college.

in the grand scheme of things there's a lot of truth behind what i said.But if u choose to remain in oblivion..that is your choice.

kanashibari
07-06-2009, 10:58 AM
i am curious abt tis too.... btw, if ppl who pass the cut off point but stil cnt secure a place, wil they be send to other country like India??

it seems like that was the case for those bounded for poland and czech but didn't manage to secure their places in the uni of their respective countries...

i checked PMC's website, they allow an intake of about 120 students per year. that's why i want to know roughly about how many students under jpa are bounded for ireland. previous years seniors, mind providing the numbers??? thanks.

I think u have to follow wats in yr letter. Usually u r asked to register on a sunday as the orientation starts on monday.

i went to the link that casperloo posted. and it's written above the table in blue bold letters,

PENDAFTARAN PELAJAR LAMA.

we're not lama right? so i guess 28th is the date for us to reg.

Casperloo
07-06-2009, 11:08 AM
oh.... i misunderstood.... thank you kanashibari....

well... if it is 120 student wil get in pmc per year.... i think it is very competitive...

sarahcsm
07-06-2009, 03:51 PM
yeah, i've got the same question as kanashibari and casperloo. Have there been cases where some students, who were initially supposed to be sent to Ireland through PMC, fail to secure places in the Unis in Ireland? Are these students sent to other countries, like India/Russia, or does the scholarship just end after the pre-U?

thanks!

daphnesoh
09-06-2009, 07:43 PM
Hi I got medicine in Ireland, and heading to Intec for my A Level Medicine.

May I know what are the subjects I need to take?

meiso
13-06-2009, 01:11 AM
in the grand scheme of things there's a lot of truth behind what i said.But if u choose to remain in oblivion..that is your choice.

dont try to teach a duck to swim, u will show ur immaturity and arrogance,be humble yourself because arrogance wont bring you very far, if u still insist u are very correct about your info just because of ur so and so being related to rcsi or ucd, then forget about it, we would prefer to listen to those who themselves had spent yrs studying in that particular university! dont u think facts from the mouth of horse are much much more accurate than those whose so n so in that..........

duke23
13-06-2009, 05:32 AM
dont try to teach a duck to swim, u will show ur immaturity and arrogance,be humble yourself because arrogance wont bring you very far, if u still insist u are very correct about your info just because of ur so and so being related to rcsi or ucd, then forget about it, we would prefer to listen to those who themselves had spent yrs studying in that particular university! dont u think facts from the mouth of horse are much much more accurate than those whose so n so in that..........

firstly i dont understand your anologies..it must be a direct translation from mandarin.lol..ARROGANCE?WELL..YOU WERE DISSING ALL THOSE WHO GOT jpa SCHOLARSHIP THE FIRST TIME AROUND..IM SURE YOU MUST HAVE GOTTEN IT AFTER BEGGING FOR IT......LOL..

GOOD LUCK THEN.

Im in my own league.I dont need to bandy words with someone who thinks so highly of him/herself..when he/she cant even put up a decent post on recom with making glaring and appalling mistakes..You are just making a fool of yourself..you have a swollen head and a foul mouth...empty vessel i'd say.

powerleakin
13-06-2009, 03:34 PM
duke has done it again.

----------------------------

13-06-2009, 06:00 PM
Moderator Note to duke23: You should have been in ReCom long enough to realise that personal attack is not allowed in our forum. In fact you were warned for the same offence some time in the past. Please take this 10-day ban as a warning. We hope that you can continue to contribute to ReCom in a positive way. Thanks.

Note: Members, please do not retaliate duke23 with more personal attacks. Thanks.

duke23
24-06-2009, 07:45 AM
i see some members here are just unable to accept constructive critisism or internalize opinions..so youngyew did meiso get warned/banned as well??my comments were not meant to be personal but i figured if some ppl take things personally then the response would have to be personal as well..but well at least, i didnt use ducks and horses as examples and make myself look silly.What is/are the sine qua non(s) for being banned/warned?i sure do hope that there are no double standards practices when it comes to enforcing rules..

27-06-2009, 12:38 PM
i see some members here are just unable to accept constructive critisism or internalize opinions..so youngyew did meiso get warned/banned as well??my comments were not meant to be personal but i figured if some ppl take things personally then the response would have to be personal as well..but well at least, i didnt use ducks and horses as examples and make myself look like silly.What is/are the sine qua non(s) for being banned/warned?i sure do hope that there are no double standards practices when it comes to enforcing rules..
Meiso got warned last time when he/she was involved with an argument with a fellow member.

Our policy with personal attacks is that no one should make an overt attack on the personality of fellow members.

I.e.
You are just making a fool of yourself..you have a swollen head and a foul mouth...empty vessel i'd say.
i dont understand your anologies..it must be a direct translation from mandarin.lol..

Meiso did none of those. Yes he/she advised you to be humbler with an imperfect language, but that wasn't a personal attack in our book.

And no, duke, in case you are suspecting, I don't have any personal grudge with you. In fact I totally forgot about the previous infarction I gave you until I looked at the record.

duke23
27-06-2009, 01:27 PM
well i seriously didn't understand the analogies used by meiso..and that is considered a personal attack?

oh well..

27-06-2009, 01:43 PM
My apologies if you think the action had been unjustified. Let me be clear that we are not a judge nor a parent to any of the members, and we are not here to wield our moderating powers for the sake of fun. At the end of the day the whole point of banning personal attack is to make this forum friendlier and more helpful to everyone, and this is what really matters. I understand that sometimes we are worked up or annoyed or upset, either by someone's attitude, idea or even poor language; but by assaulting the others verbally nothing can be achieved apart from venting our emotion, and this is definitely not what we want to see in our forum.

zigzag516
15-05-2011, 12:26 PM
revive this thread:P