-18 months
-jpa
Ca3ine
26-05-2008, 04:41 PM
AUSMAT,pharmacy
Intec
18months
JPA
(I am crazy go holiday wan..so who wan teman me plz pm....one a half year forward booking...hehe)
zulcomel
26-05-2008, 04:56 PM
me aso-:
-AUSMAT, pharmacy
-INTEC
-18months
-jpa
AUSMAT,pharmacy
Intec
18months
JPA
(I am crazy go holiday wan..so who wan teman me plz pm....one a half year forward booking...hehe)
yeah..
count me in..
dun 4get our sheep-seeing trip..lol
shakira
27-05-2008, 10:46 AM
so little ppl ah? i think less than 10 ppl in the country will be sent to nz..
elnle
27-05-2008, 02:26 PM
hei.. anyone going to new zealand? pls state your
-pre-u course and degree
-pre-u college
-duration of pre-u course
-wad scholarship u r under
thanks in advance!!
here's mine...
-SAM, accountancy
-taylors
-18 months
-jpa
harloe there, i'm also doing accounting..
-A-Levels,accounting
-sunway
-18 months
-petronas
shakira
27-05-2008, 04:46 PM
-A-Levels,accounting
-sunway
-18 months
-petronas
hei u doing accountancy in nz? finally somebody....
zulcomel
28-05-2008, 08:51 AM
-A-Levels,accounting
-sunway
-18 months
-petronas
i tot petronas scholars wil b doin their pre-u in utp??
correct me if im wrong..
Hello to everyone who's coming to NZ
WELCOME to the land of baas
Hopefully I can see all of you before i graduate!
WORK HARD! :)
And one tip: while you are still in m'sia, start stocking up your winter wear - zara is a good place to start with - why so? because everything is 2.5 times more expensive here and the trend is slower than the world :P
zulcomel
01-06-2008, 12:49 AM
And one tip: while you are still in m'sia, start stocking up your winter wear - zara is a good place to start with - why so? because everything is 2.5 times more expensive here and the trend is slower than the world :P
waa..
wat r u studying there??
phoebe902004
01-06-2008, 12:36 PM
anyone doing dentistry to nz?jz wondering
shakira
01-06-2008, 01:55 PM
thanks for the tip.. how come the winter wear there is expensive. i was thinking there would be cheaper... which university are u in now and wad course are u taking?
PuRpLeIsH
01-06-2008, 02:47 PM
hey..
i'm going to nz too...
AUSMAT, pharmacy
INTEC
18 months
JPA..
Ca3ine
01-06-2008, 03:36 PM
Hey Purplish,you got exactly the same course and place as me,mind to intro please?:)
bekokjai
01-06-2008, 09:18 PM
-new zealand
-pharmacy, AUSMAT
-INTEC UiTM
-18 month
Can't wait to see u guyz there. So do. Hope we can be fren.:whoo
dont take the shopping part too seriously because you can still get good deals during the sales period or at clearance outlet stores. but there are certain things that you are better off getting in malaysia
just fyi, im in Uni of Auckland, second year in BSc under JPA.
It's currently 9-15 degrees celcius here
PuRpLeIsH
02-06-2008, 04:01 PM
hi ca3ine
i'm from sungai petani, kedah
my former skul is smk convent father barrre
wat bout u?
u r from kedah too rite?
which part?
hey..
u guys are coming to intec for d 1st sem this year rite?
when is d registration date?
dya_me
02-06-2008, 04:17 PM
me...
-ausmat,pharmacy
-intec
-18 months
-jpa
i luv small country...
hey..
u guys are coming to intec for d 1st sem this year rite?
when is d registration date?
reg. date on 29 june...
PuRpLeIsH
02-06-2008, 06:45 PM
me...
-ausmat,pharmacy
-intec
-18 months
-jpa
i luv small country...
reg. date on 29 june...
i'll be bek to intec on 16 june for my 3rd sem..
so see u guys there...
Elsie
02-06-2008, 08:07 PM
-AUSMAT, pharmacy
-INTEC
-18months
-jpa
count me in!haha~
i'll be bek to intec on 16 june for my 3rd sem..
so see u guys there...
means u'll b like our senior?^^
Ca3ine
02-06-2008, 10:08 PM
hey purpleish I am frm smk convent father barre......i think u know me....catherine...ring any bells?????haha....we shud really meet in INTEC....I wonder who you are????
PuRpLeIsH
03-06-2008, 03:18 PM
-AUSMAT, pharmacy
-INTEC
-18months
-jpa
count me in!haha~
means u'll b like our senior?^^
yah, i'm going to ur senior but i'm d same age as u guys...
hey purpleish I am frm smk convent father barre......i think u know me....catherine...ring any bells?????haha....we shud really meet in INTEC....I wonder who you are????
i'm lim lee teng... kinda remember someone but not sure if i'm rite...
wats ur full name? c u in intec.. haha!! u'll be my 1st junior yet i'm same age as u..
haha!!!
thesarat
06-06-2008, 01:57 AM
AUSMAT, Engineering
INTEC (this is the first time i've heard of this place)
18 months
JPA
I'm from Sabah... Kota Kinabalu to be exact. Anyone else from Sabah going to INTEC?
zulcomel
06-06-2008, 10:17 AM
guys..
wanna ask is it necessary 4 ausmatians to bring laptop n printer along
or only laptop ony??
coz my sis is planin 2 buy me a printer bt i dun wan..coz uses a lot o space..
PuRpLeIsH
06-06-2008, 03:37 PM
guys..
wanna ask is it necessary 4 ausmatians to bring laptop n printer along
or only laptop ony??
coz my sis is planin 2 buy me a printer bt i dun wan..coz uses a lot o space..
for ausmatians, laptops r really important...
u'll hv lots of assignments..
so, laptop is a must.
but as for printer, it'll depends on u
there'll be computer lab in d hostels
u can print there
or in time of desparation, u can always go to cc
or u can use printers in INTEC comp labs....
but warning...
INTEC printers may run out of ink or paper jam or spoilt
especially during assignment deadline seasons...
but for me, i sincerely think tat having printers r way much more convenient
especially when u r in 2nd sem..
zulcomel
06-06-2008, 09:24 PM
for ausmatians, laptops r really important...
u'll hv lots of assignments..
so, laptop is a must.
but as for printer, it'll depends on u
there'll be computer lab in d hostels
u can print there
or in time of desparation, u can always go to cc
or u can use printers in INTEC comp labs....
but warning...
INTEC printers may run out of ink or paper jam or spoilt
especially during assignment deadline seasons...
but for me, i sincerely think tat having printers r way much more convenient
especially when u r in 2nd sem..
waa..
tq 4 ur xplaination..
btw, printing in comp labz in intec wil cost me ho much per paper??
PuRpLeIsH
07-06-2008, 02:20 PM
waa..
tq 4 ur xplaination..
btw, printing in comp labz in intec wil cost me ho much per paper??
printing in intec comp labs or in hostel comp labs are all free of charge
but u need to bring ur own paper...
n d ink is only black,
no color ink provided...
Ca3ine
07-06-2008, 05:15 PM
haha Lee Teng I know you la...lolz...Erm I'm Catherine Fletcher...Dunnoer me r????Dunnoe meh?Last time your classmate in standard 2 and 3 kut....Ey give me tour in INTEC la...lolz....tak sangka get exactly same course like u...
So I should buy a lot of A4 paper la?
And sport activities must wear long sleeve or not?
And where is the best place to eat?
PuRpLeIsH
07-06-2008, 05:45 PM
haha Lee Teng I know you la...lolz...Erm I'm Catherine Fletcher...Dunnoer me r????Dunnoe meh?Last time your classmate in standard 2 and 3 kut....Ey give me tour in INTEC la...lolz....tak sangka get exactly same course like u...
So I should buy a lot of A4 paper la?
And sport activities must wear long sleeve or not?
And where is the best place to eat?
yah, i noe u...
of course i remember..
so my guess is right after all...
haha ^0^
err...
Intec is actually not very big la...
there's many programs there...
got short course n long course..
there's a-lvl, ausmat, american program...
when u 1st register in intec, u'll hv to go through minggu mesra siswa (MMS)
got facilitators, n i think they all should be okay, dun worry
they r all seniors from different programs
tat week will be quite hectic
u'll hv to wake up early n ur activities will finish late at nite, maybe around 11pm
food will be provided for the MMS week
so dun worry too much
n u'll have a lot of latihan dalam kumpulan activities during MMS
as for food, there's ausmat cafe
there's also other program's cafe tat u can eat at
its all located in intec
but ausmat cafe got the most variety of food n taste d best also
as for food in hostel
there's no cafe anymore in akasia
but there's cafe in cemara
cemara is juz d opposite of akasia
so u can juz walk there for dinner
or there's also 3 mamak store
n the chicken rice shop, secret recipe, pak li kopitiam located in ole-ole shopping centre
but ole ole is not big at all
its even smaller than central square in sp
there's also mcD n kfc
these 2 r located nearer to cimb bank
there's also an aunty tat sells chinese food at akasia bus stop at 5pm
but d rice finish off fast as tats d only chinese food source available everyday
or u can go to section 25 to get chinese food. but u need to take taxi
basically, u dun hv to worry bout food... cheer up (^.^)
as for a4 paper, u can bring
or u can also buy in shah alam itself
there's mydin n giant nearby
u can walk there
there's also coop in intec
as intec is under uitm
d dress code is a bit different
all girls must wear long sleeve n long pants no matter what u do including sports
u hv to wear long sleeve shirts so tat u can pass d guards
so bring jackets along so tat u can wear it wif short sleeves to classes...
tats wat we do here
but quarter sleeves r also acceptable
but not too short or u'll get saman from d guard...
i hope i answer ur questions
anything else u wanna ask, juz ask ok...
Ca3ine
14-06-2008, 09:45 PM
hey lee teng u interested to sell me your books and notes or not(pm me ur msn or yahoo plz)
eve88
20-06-2008, 10:04 AM
hrm... okay. im IN new zealand (and its BLOODY FREEZING right now in almost-midwinter-but-not-quite.. brrrrr)
Ah well.
First Year Health Science (trying for med.. but will settle for pharm)
University of Otago - father and mother paying... yeah im a spoilt brat =D
um. i did A Levels in Singapore (ASEAN scholarship - and im SO glad im out of Stressity Singapore)
which was a 2-full-years course.
meaning... Are you guys the ones that i can dump my textbooks on? =D
oh. and contact me if you wanna ask about hostels etc.. (ps Dont apply to St Margs cuz if you dont get accepted -and theres like, 8 ppl there i know of who did this this year - theyll shove you to Aquinas which is 45 minutes walk to uni... not horrible but when its WINTER...)
zulcomel
20-06-2008, 10:30 AM
hrm... okay. im IN new zealand (and its BLOODY FREEZING right now in almost-midwinter-but-not-quite.. brrrrr)
Ah well.
First Year Health Science (trying for med.. but will settle for pharm)
University of Otago - father and mother paying... yeah im a spoilt brat =D
um. i did A Levels in Singapore (ASEAN scholarship - and im SO glad im out of Stressity Singapore)
which was a 2-full-years course.
meaning... Are you guys the ones that i can dump my textbooks on? =D
oh. and contact me if you wanna ask about hostels etc.. (ps Dont apply to St Margs cuz if you dont get accepted -and theres like, 8 ppl there i know of who did this this year - theyll shove you to Aquinas which is 45 minutes walk to uni... not horrible but when its WINTER...)
wat u mean by urgonna try 4 medic bt will sttle in pharm??:amazed
i tot v r going 2 specialise in wat v r going 2 do in d 1st yr??
or system in Otago is diff from other Unis??
btw, i secured jpa n going 2 do my 1 1/2 yr ausmat..
n going 2 pursue my degree in NZ specialise in pharmacy..
Otago is my target uni..:laugh
eve88
20-06-2008, 10:42 AM
nope.
For both Otago and Auckland - entry into professional courses is dependent on your Health Sciences First Year (HSFY) results.
Its competitive entry into Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy etc.. With Med having a minimum of 70% in all papers. But with med u need to take UMAT (google it =P) which is worth 33% of ur application and Dent (minimum GPA - 70% but this is an average) has an interview. Pharm no minimum, but still competitive entry
Note that 70% is a minimum - to get in, high 80s are recommended, 80+ average probably will get u in but no guarantees.
Also note that
from the 1500 students in HSFY, only 500+ end up in professional courses. Not that u have anything to worry about if youre on scholarship.. but still i think its a quite nasty way to do things...
hazelnut
20-06-2008, 12:51 PM
hey,how bout architecture in new zealand uni?
is it good?
zulcomel
20-06-2008, 03:02 PM
nope.
For both Otago and Auckland - entry into professional courses is dependent on your Health Sciences First Year (HSFY) results.
Its competitive entry into Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy etc.. With Med having a minimum of 70% in all papers. But with med u need to take UMAT (google it =P) which is worth 33% of ur application and Dent (minimum GPA - 70% but this is an average) has an interview. Pharm no minimum, but still competitive entry
Note that 70% is a minimum - to get in, high 80s are recommended, 80+ average probably will get u in but no guarantees.
Also note that
from the 1500 students in HSFY, only 500+ end up in professional courses. Not that u have anything to worry about if youre on scholarship.. but still i think its a quite nasty way to do things...
oooo..
thnx 4 mking me clearer bout dat..
one more thing..
4 pharmacy..do v need 2 attend an interview??:)
eve88
21-06-2008, 09:45 AM
no interviews for pharm.
you arriving here next year? or year after?
=P if next year then.... u want my textbooks? =P
(truth be told i hardly used them.......)
zulcomel
22-06-2008, 12:34 PM
no interviews for pharm.
the year after a.k.a 2010 perhaps..:amuse
u going there under which scholarship??
oh yea..btw, wat is d lowest score 4 IELTS in order 2 secure me a place in Otago??
PuRpLeIsH
23-06-2008, 03:35 PM
no interviews for pharm.
hi, i'm currently studying in Intec, going to otago next year, if tat is possible...
can u tell me more bout d uni there???
is it hard to get into pharmacy???
hows d life there???
i cant find any senior tat is currently studying pharmacy in otago, so i'm kinda clueless bout the uni...
Hey to those who keep asking about entrance requirements into Otago Uni for pharmacy
pls refer to www.otago.ac.nz for more information
For uni applications, if you got the time, stop by at Selset in Subang Jaya. They are the education consultants representing NZ unis. They are one of the better sources for admission enquiries and such.
Of course, you are still welcomed to ask questions/personal opinions on forums.
It just gets funny when you see repeating questions throughout the thread.
><"
hOt_PorridGe~
24-06-2008, 11:50 AM
olaa.. im going to nz 4 tesl under ministry of education scholar.. ill be placed at victoria university of wellington.. can someone tell me a lil bit bout wellington,, juz anything about it,.. =)
eve88
25-06-2008, 06:46 PM
one thing about dunedin/otago i shall stress.
ITS COLD.
urm, yeah.
artistic1412
25-06-2008, 06:50 PM
cold is good
i wan cold
new environment
too bad in aussie its not so cold
eve88
25-06-2008, 06:56 PM
cold is bad.
hm.. *extended whine* its cold enough that (now its holidays) im spending 20 hours a day in bed under my covers... it is a real effort to go out.
(laptop is next to bed, so is radiator, and novels im consuming... so basically im a pig in bed now)
COLD!
lol
my umbrella died on me 2 days back with sudden strong wind on the streets
we had hale twice this week i think.. according to my colleagues
i was too busy with my exams that i didn't notice
tsk
stupid weather :P
eve88
27-06-2008, 11:37 AM
yep, very stupid weather.
Sem 1 results are out!!!!! *bounces*
hernchii
28-06-2008, 09:54 AM
heyoo eve... loLL im hernchi la~ frm healthsci
haha hows results?
zomg.... eh, do yu kno if like average of High A( not A+) stand a chance of getting into med?
eve88
28-06-2008, 10:34 AM
good results =D
hmm for the getting-into-med-thing... we first need to get hold of the full listing of results / statistics of grades for each subject...
then can roughly gauge the top 10% for entry into med......
tomatoinc
03-07-2008, 07:21 PM
olaa.. im going to nz 4 tesl under ministry of education scholar.. ill be placed at victoria university of wellington.. can someone tell me a lil bit bout wellington,, juz anything about it,.. =)
Food: wellington has a yummy restaurant called "kajang satay!". it has nando's which is close by to the university. If you re muslim, there are plenty of halal meat source. If you're chinese, there are plenty of chinese restaurants. Location: Victoria uni is on a hill, so enjoy walking. Wellington city is marvelously beautiful, despite being a small city. Wellington's nightlife is pretty good (if you re into that). Cost: relatively expensive compared to other NZ cities, but cheap compared to international cities... renting is probably the most expensive item...Weather: Be prepared to face the strongest and coldest wind. Weather is mild for most of the year, but there are plenty of chilling wind..which you may hate. Malaysians:There are plenty of malaysians, and WMSO (wellington malaysians' student organistion) is very active. academic: MOE scholar huh? the physic/chem dept in victoria is very good too (i heard). As with all NZ universities, it's not hard to graduate, but certainly hard to get 1st class honours. what else you watnt o know?
hey,how bout architecture in new zealand uni?
is it good?
Victoria Uni and AUT have pretty good architectural program. it's quite good, if you get admitted. :P The architectural school requires art portfolio, that you might not have. :P
Is it good? what do you mean by good? Some decent architectural work here...but certainly nothing like European design schools or New York art schools...
hOt_PorridGe~
03-07-2008, 10:35 PM
Food: wellington has a yummy restaurant called "kajang satay!". it has nando's which is close by to the university. If you re muslim, there are plenty of halal meat source. If you're chinese, there are plenty of chinese restaurants. Location: Victoria uni is on a hill, so enjoy walking. Wellington city is marvelously beautiful, despite being a small city. Wellington's nightlife is pretty good (if you re into that). Cost: relatively expensive compared to other NZ cities, but cheap compared to international cities... renting is probably the most expensive item...Weather: Be prepared to face the strongest and coldest wind. Weather is mild for most of the year, but there are plenty of chilling wind..which you may hate. Malaysians:There are plenty of malaysians, and WMSO (wellington malaysians' student organistion) is very active. academic: MOE scholar huh? the physic/chem dept in victoria is very good too (i heard). As with all NZ universities, it's not hard to graduate, but certainly hard to get 1st class honours. what else you watnt o know?
Victoria Uni and AUT have pretty good architectural program. it's quite good, if you get admitted. :P The architectural school requires art portfolio, that you might not have. :P
Is it good? what do you mean by good? Some decent architectural work here...but certainly nothing like European design schools or New York art schools...
oh thanks 4 all ur info's....... really2 appreciate it... no question sO far,, kinda blurr at the moment,,, iLL pm if i have Q's.. k thanks..
tomatoinc
05-07-2008, 03:28 PM
I am hopeless at PM...where do you see it? lol. just pop your questions in the NZ thread, and i ll try to answer all of the questions.
eve88
08-07-2008, 08:04 AM
Sigh.. sem 2 started.
At least i dont have night (6pm-9pm) labs.. managed to change to an earlier lab stream (2pm-5pm).
Its still cold!!! when is winter gonna be over...........
kazhaq
28-09-2008, 12:37 PM
how to join da chat r?
what course does in nz good at?
aiyak..
how to find da gr8 course 4 me r?
princessclarissa
13-10-2008, 12:13 AM
hi there! im applying Otago and Auckland through my college's universities placement office. The lady asked me to provide either a copy of my passport or birth certificate. i wondering is these needed for applications, since applications to UK and Australia actually do not need these. Any one can help me with this?
thanks in advance..=)
eve88
31-10-2008, 09:18 AM
yeah, for the application form for international students 2009 (otago), u need to attach a certified copy of your passport or birth cert.
adele
13-03-2009, 07:14 PM
I am hopeless at PM...where do you see it? lol. just pop your questions in the NZ thread, and i ll try to answer all of the questions.
Just curious tomatoinc, are u a current student of Vic uni?
uchai
20-05-2009, 10:26 PM
AUSMAT, engineering elctrical power
INTEC
18 months
TNB..
GabJNP
04-06-2009, 05:17 PM
AUSMAT at Sunway College 18 months
Medicine
JPA
YPing
04-06-2009, 05:27 PM
I'm recently getting jpa scholarship to study AUSMAT n pharmacy in new zealand
May i ask is university of otago the only choice i have?
Is the pharmacy course in the uni gud or not?
Is it hard to get the entry into pharmacy course in the uni?
eve88
04-06-2009, 05:34 PM
There's Auckland and Otago for pharmacy.
Other Unis include Massey, Canterbury, Waikato, Victoria, Lincoln... go do a google search lah.
have you been to palmerston north?
GabJNP
04-06-2009, 10:19 PM
Where are you sent to for your preparatory course?
YPing
04-06-2009, 10:55 PM
Where are you sent to for your preparatory course?
Intec!!
As far as i noe, my pharmacy course is only offered by university of otago
Others r not involved...
eve88
05-06-2009, 09:06 AM
Haha. sorry, i re-checked - Auckland does do pharmacy, but only for locals / PRs.
So your only choice does seem to be Otago.
lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 04:40 PM
in new zealand, only two uni offer pharmacy course (i got this info from nz pharmacy council)
otago n auckland
but auckland doesnt offer it to international students
so otago is the only uni.