View Full Version : JPA 2008 Medicine - Poland
haohao
13-05-2007, 04:41 PM
hey everyone....
i get poland med....
is poland med good?????
i heard poland med just recognized buy malaysia government this year.....
any malaysia students study med in poland?????can tell me da situation there????
haihzz.....
blu_kruz
13-05-2007, 05:01 PM
eheh.. u better think properly.. since its recognised only in malaysia.
13-05-2007, 06:54 PM
eheh.. u better think properly.. since its recognised only in malaysia.
ONLY by Malaysia??
I am curious about this too..cause my friend get this country ofr medic...
serock
02-06-2007, 01:51 PM
Poland is part of EU and is reognize by all countries in EU including UK so you can enrol into specialist course without sitting for another exam.
jane_gun
09-06-2007, 02:10 PM
Wah, JPA is seriously trying to cut down on their budget year after year (or maybe it's coz they're offering more places as well so need to equal out)... No such thing as Poland med during my time (SPM 2003) though... You may want to check out with MMC and other seniors, etc...
Mad4Hana
26-05-2008, 09:13 PM
Hey.
It's hard to find another student who's bounded to Poland under JPA Medic.
Pls introduce yourself and probably we can get to know each other to make this process less scary.
Name
State
SPM Results
Pre-U Studies and College
I'll go first then:
Maddy
Kedah
11A1s
Cambridge A-Levels in KTT, Sepang.
In ReCom we have the scholarships infobase to store informations about your studies, so make full use of it instead of creating more and more threads about list this and that and those. Do use this thread for more useful purposes like discussing about your studies there. Any posts listing names and nother else shall be deleted on sight. Thank you
seehua
srainy
26-05-2008, 10:50 PM
Sasha
Kelantan
10A1s
A-levels-- KTT, Sepang
i heard sending students over to poland is still pretty new and that the first batch will be going to poland this year. true?
how's poland? i've been reading the comments on some poland vids on youtube... kinda scares me @<hidden>@<hidden>
Mad4Hana
27-05-2008, 02:19 PM
Sasha
Kelantan
10A1s
A-levels-- KTT, Sepang
i heard sending students over to poland is still pretty new and that the first batch will be going to poland this year. true?
how's poland? i've been reading the comments on some poland vids on youtube... kinda scares me @<hidden>@<hidden>
It is still pretty new. I did some digging and the first batch was last year.
But don't worry. There are 3 very good medical universities that are accreditted by Malaysia as you can see in the Star article that came out last year: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/29/nation/19003021&sec=nation
The uni's are:
Medical University of Warsaw, Medical University of Lodz, and Jagiellonian University Medical College in Krakow.
Our programme will be conducted in English.
The medical degree from Poland is recognised in Europe and North America. And recently, Malaysia.
I'll see you in KTT then. I hope I'll be able to cope with that college (quite .... from what I've read.:notrust)
suresh
27-05-2008, 03:51 PM
suresh
11 a1
sabah
poland
a-level -------------ktt
Mad4Hana
27-05-2008, 04:38 PM
suresh
11 a1
sabah
poland
a-level -------------ktt
Nice to meet another Poland-bound student.
Only three so far including me.
27-05-2008, 09:31 PM
Guys, it's fine to use such threads to exchange useful information about your scholarship; but please refrain from making this "name, state, results, college" list. You guys should make use of our scholarship holder infobase (http://recom.org/forum/portal.php?pageid=scholarships). Also, trivial chatting should be done in the chat forum as much as possible. Please refer to our chat vs. discussion policy (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6539).
Any future posts in this thread that violate this policy will be deleted or moved without notice. Let's make this thread informative and avoid turning every single thread in ReCom into a chat thread, please.
Mad4Hana
28-05-2008, 03:56 PM
Thanks for putting up a group in fs, Suresh!
Um, do we have to send all the forms to the JPA office (as stated in the yellow book and the blue one) or do we bring it with us on the registration date (as stated in the offer letter)?
28-05-2008, 04:23 PM
For your information, you all are officially the second batch of Poland-bound students. The first official batch is leaving this year. However, there is already a group of JPA scholars studying in Poland starting last year. It's about 9 or 11 of them. They are initially Czech Republic-bound students but unfortunately they didn't get offer form Czech universities, but they have good results, so JPA changed their destination country to Poland, so they're the pioneer batch, but not the "official" first batch.
suresh
29-05-2008, 01:07 AM
Link edited
i am not sure
What's with the spamming of your friendster group all over ReCom? Posting them once will be enough. Post another time and it's a spam...
seehua
Mad4Hana
30-05-2008, 10:12 AM
For your information, you all are official the second batch of Poland-bound students. The first official batch is leaving this year. However, there is already a group of JPA scholars studying in Poland starting last year. It's about 9 or 11 of them. They are initially Czech Republic-bound students but unfortunately they didn't get offer form Czech universities, but they have good results, so JPA changed their destination country to Poland, so they're the pioneer batch, but not the "official" first batch.
That's interesting. It'll be exciting either way. The only downside is we won't really know what happens after our studies because even the first batch haven't started yet. Roughly, how many students(the first batch) are bound to Poland this very year?
*We have another student bound for Poland named Jane. She's from Penang. I hope the admins don't delete this post because I've just listed another Poland-bound student. So, now we have four!
suresh
01-06-2008, 12:12 AM
pls leave yr e-mail here
visithttp://www.friendster.com/group/tabmain.php?gid=1566854
Mad4Hana
01-06-2008, 09:25 AM
Suresh, I've already left my email in the message you sent through friendster.
Better not put the link again. The admins will delete it later.
Mad4Hana
03-06-2008, 12:56 PM
Poland degrees are recognised all over Europe and North America.Especially the 6-year medical programme which we will be taking!So, you don't need to worry.
Mad4Hana
03-06-2008, 01:37 PM
Hey you guys...Do you think RM 430 will be enough while we're studying here?How about the 800 Euros we'll get in Poland?Any thoughts?
srainy
03-06-2008, 03:36 PM
^ i think 800 euros is enough if we don't spend so much. things in poland isn't really that expensive... from what i read in this other forum i go to. can't confirm though. i'm more worried about having to learn polish... i'm just bad at languages. i tried to pick up some basics like hello, thanks etc but everything is kinda hard to pronounce @<hidden>@<hidden>
03-06-2008, 03:55 PM
Redundant thread merged
Mad4Hana
03-06-2008, 05:07 PM
^ i think 800 euros is enough if we don't spend so much. things in poland isn't really that expensive... from what i read in this other forum i go to. can't confirm though. i'm more worried about having to learn polish... i'm just bad at languages. i tried to pick up some basics like hello, thanks etc but everything is kinda hard to pronounce @<hidden>@<hidden>
Heard so too. Hopefully it is when we're there.I checked up quite a few websites and books on Poland. Problem, I can't even pronounce the name of the places.I checked through the 3 unis that are recognized by the government. In each of the unis, the syllabus contains 2 years worth of Polish classes(the beginning 2 years).Does that mean we wont have any Kursus Bahasa beforehand?
04-06-2008, 12:17 PM
Heard so too. Hopefully it is when we're there.I checked up quite a few websites and books on Poland. Problem, I can't even pronounce the name of the places.I checked through the 3 unis that are recognized by the government. In each of the unis, the syllabus contains 2 years worth of Polish classes(the beginning 2 years).Does that mean we wont have any Kursus Bahasa beforehand?
Yea, you won't learn any Polish in Malaysia before you fly there.... By the way, I don't think you'll have time too...
Mimi Dj
06-06-2008, 12:10 AM
just curious...during our clinical years when we have to talk to the patients, what language r we using? english or polish? btw, i'm also a poland-bound student.:))
Mad4Hana
06-06-2008, 01:49 AM
just curious...during our clinical years when we have to talk to the patients, what language r we using? english or polish? btw, i'm also a poland-bound student.:))
Polish according to the three universities' websites.
That's why we have to take Polish classes in the beginning two years.
And, hey Mimi.
Mimi Dj
06-06-2008, 10:42 AM
hey there maddy!:P what??!!!! have to use polish for clinical years??!!:cry polish is so hard..i can hardly pronounce the words coz there accent is very hard 2 catch..but i made friends with a few poles and they say only old poles can't speak english..most of the young generation can speak englih very well.. i really hope so...
Mad4Hana
06-06-2008, 11:29 AM
hey there maddy!:P what??!!!! have to use polish for clinical years??!!:cry polish is so hard..i can hardly pronounce the words coz there accent is very hard 2 catch..but i made friends with a few poles and they say only old poles can't speak english..most of the young generation can speak englih very well.. i really hope so...
There's a huge probability that our patients are not only youths..So, it's safe to say we need basic Polish to communicate. I know it's hard. I can't even pronounce the name of the places, much less promounce people's names and so on. The youths there will jump at the chance to practice their English but the older generation will be hesitant of using English (according to a friend there). Plus, I think Poles will trust (even if it's only a bit, it's still useful to gain their trust) foreigners who can speak their language a bit. But I think we only need to learn to speak it, not write it.
Then again, all the signboards in Poland are in Polish. We need the knowledge of the language anyway. Haish....
My mouth is going to hurt badly once we're there!
duke23
06-06-2008, 11:43 AM
There's a huge probability that our patients are not only youths..So, it's safe to say we need basic Polish to communicate. I know it's hard. I can't even pronounce the name of the places, much less promounce people's names and so on. The youths there will jump at the chance to practice their English but the older generation will be hesitant of using English (according to a friend there). Plus, I think Poles will trust (even if it's only a bit, it's still useful to gain their trust) foreigners who can speak their language a bit. But I think we only need to learn to speak it, not write it.
Then again, all the signboards in Poland are in Polish. We need the knowledge of the language anyway. Haish....
actually a lot of the polish ppl are jews..and they speak hebrew too..lol....i have a few polish friends here..i sent a message to you by the way
Mimi Dj
06-06-2008, 01:25 PM
ya,we'll have 2 learn polish..anyways, look at the bright side, a new language in mind...when we come back to m'sia, i hope our tongue won't be confused..hHAHAHA!:laugh how bout latin? i checked out the medical university of warsaw, they put latin in the timetable..do we need to learn latin?
Mad4Hana
07-06-2008, 02:23 PM
actually a lot of the polish ppl are jews..and they speak hebrew too..lol....i have a few polish friends here..i sent a message to you by the way
Yeap, but not that many these days. Even so, I think they'll use Polish more.
ya,we'll have 2 learn polish..anyways, look at the bright side, a new language in mind...when we come back to m'sia, i hope our tongue won't be confused..hHAHAHA!:laugh how bout latin? i checked out the medical university of warsaw, they put latin in the timetable..do we need to learn latin?
Haha. True!
I'm not sure. Are we subjected to?
Mimi Dj
07-06-2008, 08:35 PM
Yeap, but not that many these days. Even so, I think they'll use Polish more.
Haha. True!
I'm not sure. Are we subjected to?
i'm not sure la..but i saw in the timetable, polish and latin are in...Anyways, maybe you should check it out. it's in the medical university of warsaw official website.:))
suresh
18-06-2008, 02:41 PM
pls make this thread active
Mad4Hana
18-06-2008, 04:13 PM
Suresh, any ideas on how to make it active?
We can't really discuss much.
We've got 3 universities which are all good choices for us.
We're about to start our one year A-Level programme in KTT.
Did I summarise it right?
Anyway, what else do you want to discuss?
List of things to bring? Scratch that, usually only girls do that.
Okay, here's a question:
Do you plan on revising a little of the SPM syllabus before we start?
pravin
03-06-2009, 06:29 PM
Hello everyone!!! Pls include me in your list!!!
Pravin
13A1
Poland
Cambridge A-levels in KTT, Sepang.
janecsc1026
03-06-2009, 07:25 PM
hello~~~i'm here too~~
jane/shinchian
10a1,1a2(chinese....sobsob)
cambridge a lvl in KTT-1 year
poland -6 years
hey...meet u guyz thre~~~~~~~!!!!hehe
haohao
03-06-2009, 07:37 PM
Wow....so many ppl getting Poland this year.....
Nice to meet you all....I got Poland too, and I'm in Poland now....
janecsc1026
03-06-2009, 08:03 PM
Wow....so many ppl getting Poland this year.....
Nice to meet you all....I got Poland too, and I'm in Poland now....
hi hello~~
can i knw how many ppl gt poland 4 ur batch??
all of u study together???:))
haohao
03-06-2009, 08:17 PM
hi hello~~
can i knw how many ppl gt poland 4 ur batch??
all of u study together???:))
hehe.....I went to KTT in 2007.....That means I'm 2 years elder than you......
For my batch, initially there were about 55 students who were Poland-bound, but after one year in KTT, only 23 ppl coming to Poland....
15 students are going to University of Warsaw and 8 students are going to Medical College of Jagiellonian University......
Of course, I only mentioned Jpa-bound students....there are some Mara students going to University of warsaw too, but for Jagiellonian University, so far only Jpa-bound students....
I'm in the pioneer batch that studies in Jagiellonian University, Krakow....So now, there are only 8 Malaysian students in my city, Krakow.....
I think I had answered the last question: Are we studying together??haha.....
janecsc1026
05-06-2009, 06:43 PM
erm...
hello hao hao.... so how long hv u in poland ady???
r u yiyou's fren???u knw him~~??
he's d one to do dentistry in india...
05-06-2009, 10:06 PM
erm...
he's d one to do dentistry in india...He's going to finish his first year soon...
Yiyou? I know him too, hehe... Sorry for the digression, I think this is not a place to chat...
haohao
06-06-2009, 03:19 AM
erm...
he's d one to do dentistry in india...
Miracle seed already answered your question.....One more week left and I'm gonna finish my 1st year in Poland.....
Yi You was one of my best friends when we were in KTT, and of cos, now we are still good friends...Alright, no chatting here.....
Btw, I guess you must be from the SMK Derma too, since you know who Yi You is....
janecsc1026
06-06-2009, 09:52 AM
oic~~alrite ~~sorry sorry:P
anyway thx u ar!!~:))
sand3
06-06-2009, 03:20 PM
hehe.....I went to KTT in 2007.....That means I'm 2 years elder than you......
For my batch, initially there were about 55 students who were Poland-bound, but after one year in KTT, only 23 ppl coming to Poland....
15 students are going to University of Warsaw and 8 students are going to Medical College of Jagiellonian University......
Of course, I only mentioned Jpa-bound students....there are some Mara students going to University of warsaw too, but for Jagiellonian University, so far only Jpa-bound students....
I'm in the pioneer batch that studies in Jagiellonian University, Krakow....So now, there are only 8 Malaysian students in my city, Krakow.....
I think I had answered the last question: Are we studying together??haha.....
how about the fate of the other 32 scholars?
did they made it through the cut-of point?
thanks for answering me in advance!!
haohao
06-06-2009, 03:54 PM
how about the fate of the other 32 scholars?
did they made it through the cut-of point?
thanks for answering me in advance!!
Before telling the fate of the remaining 32 scholars, I have to tell you the CUT-OFF POINTS for Poland-bound students 1st....
The cut-off points for Poland-bound students is 12 points....For A level, A=5 points, B=4 points, C=3 points, D=2 points, E-1 point, Fail=0 point
So, if you get 2 A's and 1D, you still secure your scholarship to Poland as long as you're accepted by Poland universities....If you're AVERAGE in all subjects, getting 3B's is also sufficient.....
The fate of the remaining 32:
Some passed the cut-off point (and some even with straight A's in A level), but no university in Poland accepts them....So, they are sent to other countries like India....JPA won't terminate your scholarship becos "not being accepted by university" is not your fault.....As long as you pass your A Level with the required cut-off points, you will secure your scholarship.....
For those who failed to pass with required cut-off point for POLAND but enough for INDONESIA(10 points), they were sent to Indonesia.....But the university they were heading to is not-so-good I suppose, becos I heard somebody said the medium of teaching is Bahasa Indonesia...Nobody clarifies that.....
Btw, since no scholars are sent to Indonesia starting from this year, I couldn't answer you what JPA will do in the coming years.....
Now, for those who got very low points, for example, like getting 7 points or maybe 3 points...
Emm....I think they kissed their scholarship goodbye.....
And pity their parents....Their parents gotta pay JPA all the expenses spent on them when they were in KTT......
And please don't ask me how many scholars from my batch are experiencing the last and worst situation.....I never ask....And I believe they refuse to tell too if they're experiencing such tough situation.....
06-06-2009, 04:39 PM
For those who failed to pass with required cut-off point for POLAND but enough for INDONESIA(10 points), they were sent to Indonesia.....But the university they were heading to is not-so-good I suppose, becos I heard somebody said the medium of teaching is Bahasa Indonesia...Nobody clarifies that.....
Btw, since no scholars are sent to Indonesia starting from this year, I couldn't answer you what JPA will do in the coming years.....
I've heard of the same story too, those who are sent to Indonesia (Universitas Trisakti if not mistaken) because of failure to secure a place in other countries, came back complaining the condition there, some even decided to come back and terminate the scholarship, I guess we heard of the same story. By the way I think may be this isn't much of the concern now since JPA stop sending students to Indonesia.
sand3
06-06-2009, 06:29 PM
Before telling the fate of the remaining 32 scholars, I have to tell you the CUT-OFF POINTS for Poland-bound students 1st....
The cut-off points for Poland-bound students is 12 points....For A level, A=5 points, B=4 points, C=3 points, D=2 points, E-1 point, Fail=0 point
So, if you get 2 A's and 1D, you still secure your scholarship to Poland as long as you're accepted by Poland universities....If you're AVERAGE in all subjects, getting 3B's is also sufficient.....
The fate of the remaining 32:
Some passed the cut-off point (and some even with straight A's in A level), but no university in Poland accepts them....So, they are sent to other countries like India....JPA won't terminate your scholarship becos "not being accepted by university" is not your fault.....As long as you pass your A Level with the required cut-off points, you will secure your scholarship.....
Now, for those who got very low points, for example, like getting 7 points or maybe 3 points...
Emm....I think they kissed their scholarship goodbye.....
And pity their parents....Their parents gotta pay JPA all the expenses spent on them when they were in KTT......
And please don't ask me how many scholars from my batch are experiencing the last and worst situation.....I never ask....And I believe they refuse to tell too if they're experiencing such tough situation.....
thanks you haohao for the information.
so what result for ur a-level, do u mind to tell?
and is a-level difficult.
counting the day till lesson start and by the same time oso nervous about the cutting point.
hope will be able to achieve that.
thanks you again.
u r being most helpful.
good luck with ur study there!!:nuts
haohao
06-06-2009, 06:33 PM
thanks you haohao for the information.
so what result for ur a-level, do u mind to tell?
and is a-level difficult.
counting the day till lesson start and by the same time oso nervous about the cutting point.
hope will be able to achieve that.
thanks you again.
u r being most helpful.
good luck with ur study there!!:nuts
I got straight A's.....
I couldn't say much about how difficult A level is...It depends on how you study......
Just make sure you pass your cut-off points....It's not really important to get straight a's in a level.....
06-06-2009, 09:36 PM
I got straight A's.....
I couldn't say much about how difficult A level is...It depends on how you study......
Just make sure you pass your cut-off points....It's not really important to get straight a's in a level.....You forgot to tell one main point, pass the cutoff point, and secure a place in Poland university. Otherwise, straight A doesn't help, right?
haohao
06-06-2009, 10:42 PM
You forgot to tell one main point, pass the cutoff point, and secure a place in Poland university. Otherwise, straight A doesn't help, right?
Emmm...regarding the place in Poland university....actually it's kinda beyond our control....
If he really wants to SECURE a place in Poland, the only university he can go is Jagiellonian University, becos this is the only university that has entrance exam and he can DO SOMETHING to secure his place in Poland.......
But I have to add some info here.....I heard somebody said that Jagiellonian University will only reserve 8 places for Malaysians.....They have quota.....So no matter how well he does, they will only pick the best 8 candidates......For example, if he gets 90 but there are 8 students getting 95, he still FAILED although 90 is a very very good mark.....
Well, this will be clarified when the juniors (JPA 2008 ) know the results of their entrance exam....
Regarding Warsaw University.....I really dunno how they pick....Fully depends on luck!!!
I used to think that they're picking students based on their AS result, but this is not 100% true....
Miracle, you know one of our Poland-bound friends that went to India, right??She got straight A's in AS, but she was rejected by Warsaw University.....
However, there was one who only got 11 points in AS, and she was accepted.....
Btw, if a person has the chance to SIT FOR the entrance exam of Jagiellonian University, then he has high possibility to get Warsaw University......
The reason is: Those who are eligible to sit for the entrance exam of Jagiellonian University MUST get at least 12 points in AS.....So if a person manages to get 12 points in AS, he can be considered good enough to go Poland....
And last but not least, application of Warsaw University is only allowed for those scholars who failed the entrance exam of Jagiellonian University....(and also for the other scholars who didn't even sit for the entrance exam of Jagiellonian University)....
So, application of Warsaw University is only done after the result of Jagiellonian University entrance exam is out.....
For those who secures a place in Jagiellonian University, don't ever try to apply Warsaw University....Give the place to the others......So don't ever ask questions like "Is it possible that I get places in both universities so that I can choose the better one???"
That's what happened in MY YEAR......
RestlessMind
07-06-2009, 08:34 AM
frm wht u hav posted, i thnk poland-bound stdnts hav higher risk to take in order to get admission into the u..
i cannot imagine wht i feel if i am rejected even i am a straight a studnts for my a-level.
ya indonesia is out of list this year. most probably stdnts who do not secure places wll b sent to india instead.
07-06-2009, 08:39 AM
frm wht u hav posted, i thnk poland-bound stdnts hav higher risk to take in order to get admission into the u..
i cannot imagine wht i feel if i am rejected even i am a straight a studnts for my a-level.
ya indonesia is out of list this year. most probably stdnts who do not secure places wll b sent to india instead.JPA has already sent students who fail to secure a place to India, but those who didn't pass cutoff points, I don't know where are they going, since Indonesia is already out of list.
haohao
07-06-2009, 12:59 PM
ya indonesia is out of list this year. most probably stdnts who do not secure places wll b sent to india instead.
It's not the end of the world.......
You still secure your scholarship if you manage to get straight a's in a level....
And furthermore, India is not bad......
Actually for me, I prefer to go to India....Life is not so "tough" there I suppose......
sand3
07-06-2009, 11:36 PM
You still secure your scholarship if you manage to get straight a's in a level....
Actually for me, I prefer to go to India....Life is not so "tough" there I suppose......
why do u said so?
is life 'tough' in poland?
but u been doing good there right?
07-06-2009, 11:43 PM
Actually for me, I prefer to go to India....Life is not so "tough" there I suppose......Daily life perhaps not that tough if you go to place where literacy rate is high and English can be used, or else, it isn't very much better. Generally in cities, English can be understood in offices, restaurants, shops. However, study life is quite stressful, the schedule is packed and syllabus is cramped into 4.5 years...
zeshmunna
07-06-2009, 11:55 PM
hi. Im mani...i got poland too... meet u al at ktt sepang...:))
haohao
08-06-2009, 12:05 AM
Daily life perhaps not that tough if you go to place where literacy rate is high and English can be used, or else, it isn't very much better. Generally in cities, English can be understood in offices, restaurants, shops. However, study life is quite stressful, the schedule is packed and syllabus is cramped into 4.5 years...
Yeah...at least people there can understand English...
About the stressful life, it's the same here. We're having A LOT of crappy subjects like History (It's not HISTOLOGY-I mean SEJARAH!!), Computer Science, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry,Physical Education, and the worst, Polish Language!!
Why we need 6 years to complete our studies??
Because too many crappy subjects....Duh....
And miracle, I thought you knew about the ratio "Malaysian guy: girl" in MY UNI, right???So I don't have to explain further here......Life is really tough here.....
why do u said so?
is life 'tough' in poland?
but u been doing good there right?
I still can walk, can sit, can stand, can sleep, can run....No worries!!
But it's still tough.....
08-06-2009, 12:19 AM
Yeah...at least people there can understand English...
About the stressful life, it's the same here. We're having A LOT of crappy subjects like History (It's not HISTOLOGY-I mean SEJARAH!!), Computer Science, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry,Physical Education, and the worst, Polish Language!!
Why we need 6 years to complete our studies??
Because too many crappy subjects....Duh....
And miracle, I thought you knew about the ratio "Malaysian guy: girl" in MY UNI, right???So I don't have to explain further here......Life is really tough here......I'm glad that we don't have all those unrelated subjects, at least in our college all of our subjects are medical subjects, however in other colleges it's not the same, there are some colleges where they have to study Indian languages plus some Indian history stuff and answer in Indian language... I guess I'm lucky then...
I can definitely understand your condition, I think I would have the same feelings in if I'm in your place.... Hope you'll have some nice junior guys to mix with soon...
I think I digress too much from Poland, I should stop here. :P
sand3
23-06-2009, 10:47 AM
recently, i read about some posts on the life in russia studying med.
they said that bribing is common there and the system there is juz not up to par.
my curiosity, does this statement apply to poland too?
hao hao, and u mentioned that life is tough there, can u elaborate further how tough that u r going through.
sorry for any stupid question.
it's juz my curiosity is killing me now.
thanks in advance.
Moscow Medical Academy Student said... Sad but true.
I am a medical student from Russia as well. Best part is, i or rather WE did not choose to come here. We are all scholars sent here by either JPA or MARA.
If you were to google "Moscow Medical Academy" it is ranked by UNESCO as the second best medic Uni in the world. DO NOT be fooled by this. Cuz i was one who was fooled as well. Only after i landed in Moscow did i know that "2nd best in the world" is specifically granted to the Russian Medium of this medical school. We Malaysians are doing the English medium...& i must say it's an utter shame that the Government actually spent millions of tax payers money to send us all here to study medicine. The teaching facilities/methods of the English medium here is way below par...way below that of a 3rd world country even. Some classrooms here even resemble the ones we have in our kampungs in rural areas such as Sabah & Sarawak. (so much for sending us here all the way to Moscow to EXPERIENCE this!)
For your information, this so called Moscow Medical 'Academy' DOES NOT even have a campus to begin with. Classes are scattered all over Moscow. (eg:Klang,PJ,Subang,Kajang,etc.).
We students are forced to travel everyday via Metro, or by foot or bus to attend classes. Also, there are many a time when we would have traveled so far to attend classes only to be told once we've reached there that classed are canceled!
The Government could have spent the money more wisely to educate us all in M'sia/Singapore/India.We get paid almost USD700 per month which i believe is a huge amount of tax payers money. However, i doubt we will bring back much knowledge to be able to help the patients back home.
While there are some of us who save & spend the money wisely due to the high cost of living here, there are a huge majority of private & sponsored students who come here juz to ENJOY. FREQUENT Alcohol parties,weekend getaways,world tours, & shopping sprees are very common among students here. The lifestyle of many Malaysians change tremendously once they came here. They behave even worse than the "Mat Sallehs" here. Malaysian girls here for instance would walk around ever so skimpily leaving nothing to the imagination(even during winter!)Watever happen to the MALAYSIAN CULTURE? Many here have even lost their virginity at the young tender age of 18 or 19 simply because a guy or girl can walk in ever so easily into the rooms of the opposite sex. Believe it or not,we have heard SEX sounds even! Many Malaysian medical students behave as though they have no self dignity or watsoeva. (However, they potray the best behaviour once they land in Malaysia like as though they are the best Malaysian angels...sadly, we all know their true colours when they are here in Moscow. HYPOCRITES!!!).These Malaysians are surely to be huge dissapointments to their families as well as to the nation.Exams & studies are the LEAST priority/favourite of many who are here. I wonder why did some people choose to study medicine in the very 1st place.
Let me also give u an insight of the education system here. You want to know why the majority of Russian grads are so incompetent & useless? Well,1st & foremost we can get away with cheating ever so easily during tests & exams. You may ask how. Many students here aren't bothered about being honest for themselves. Many juz merely do the bare minimum of studying & copy their friend's answers or directly from the books during tests/exams. These students fail to realise that they are only cheating themselves. The one who helps with the cheating is also going to lose out in the end once he/she is out of medic school & into the real working world. Another method which works really well for the girls is simply to shed some crocodile TEARS during tests/exams & instantly the lecturer/tutor would grant her a mere PASS...it's still a pass u know (better than a fail). How is this fair to some students like me who slog day & night mugging & studying extremely hard with the simple intention of graduating as competent doctors? After all, these cheaters would be graduating with a MD certificate as well & turn out to be the bad apples in the healthcare system in Malaysia & thus leading Senior Doctors to generalise & say that ALL Russian Grads are INCOMPETENT! Does anyone have any idea how frustrating this is?
Many students who sit for exams/tests earlier would simply snap a photo of the different set of questions & answers & then distribute it to the rest of the students who have yet to sit for their exams. How is this helping anyone? Can u even call this an EXAM? Does it fit the definition of an exam? So,can u imagine wat kind of Doctors we're producing here? A bunch of cheaters, liars, & irresponsible future doctors! That's the TRUTH!
Now, no wonder countries like the UK refuse to accept Russian Medical grads for their Postgraduate courses. Simply because we have never even sat for a PROPER exam per say throughout our 6years of study here. Look at the UK universities/colleges, do they even allow any student of theirs to bring in PDA's,camera handphones,bags,books into the exam venue? Do they allow any exam candidate to communicate with another fellow candidate once the question paper has been distributed? Do students know the exact sample of questions & answers prior to the exams? HELL NO! These only happen in good old Mother Russia!
So,Wake up people!!!
So, to those of you all who are planning to send any of your offsprings to Russia for a Medical Degree, please, im begging you, think again. You're not only going to lose your money, but also perhaps the good name & dignity of your family.
This is merely an opinion of mine & not directed to insult,degrade or humiliate anyone. I believe there is nothing wrong in sharing my opinion.
above is the article that i had read earlier...
haohao
23-06-2009, 01:13 PM
Holy crap.....I couldn't believe that I'm replying such long post......
recently, i read about some posts on the life in russia studying med.
they said that bribing is common there and the system there is juz not up to par.
my curiosity, does this statement apply to poland too?
So far, I haven't heard of any cases of BRIBING happen among the students in my uni....
The 8 Malaysians in Jagiellonian University really study day and night to pass the exams....For my frens in Warsaw University, I believe they are working hard for the exams too...I don't think bribing happens among the Malaysians.
hao hao, and u mentioned that life is tough there, can u elaborate further how tough that u r going through.
The "tough" i mean has nothing to do with the country, the life or the medical course in Poland.....Still I will say "tough" even if I'm taking medical course in Oxford or Cambridge University, receiving 10000 Pounds each month (just kidding...) and have no problem communicating with the local people......It has something to do with the ratio of Malaysian guys vs Malaysian gals in my uni.....Well, maybe just for the senior batch.....
sorry for any stupid question.
it's juz my curiosity is killing me now.
thanks in advance.
If you posted this one week earlier, I will definitely ignore this.....Becos I was having exams in the previous few weeks.....So, you're kinda lucky.......
Now here's my reply and elaboration for the long long article from Mr. Moscow...Let's call him Mr.M......
Moscow Medical Academy Student said... Sad but true.
I am a medical student from Russia as well. Best part is, i or rather WE did not choose to come here. We are all scholars sent here by either JPA or MARA.
Some of my friends REJECTED the scholarship when they found out that they got Russia....Duh...
Emm....I have to say that, some of the Mr.M's complaints here also happen in Poland or Czech, but that's just a small problem....Continue reading my reply please.....
If you were to google "Moscow Medical Academy" it is ranked by UNESCO as the second best medic Uni in the world. DO NOT be fooled by this. Cuz i was one who was fooled as well. Only after i landed in Moscow did i know that "2nd best in the world" is specifically granted to the Russian Medium of this medical school. We Malaysians are doing the English medium...& i must say it's an utter shame that the Government actually spent millions of tax payers money to send us all here to study medicine. The teaching facilities/methods of the English medium here is way below par...way below that of a 3rd world country even. Some classrooms here even resemble the ones we have in our kampungs in rural areas such as Sabah & Sarawak. (so much for sending us here all the way to Moscow to EXPERIENCE this!)
I never check the ranking of Jagiellonian University and Warsaw University by UNESCO, but I know UJ and Warsaw University rank lower than UM, UKM and USM....
There are Polish course and English course in Poland too....And it's true that the lecturers and professors demand more from the Polish students.....Their lecturers are quite strict to them and their exams are said to be harder than those for English course.....
But that DOESN'T mean that exams for English course has no quality....It depends on the professors who set the questions.....
I don't think the facilities/ methods are below the par......Students from both Polish programme and English programme are using the same classrooms, same equipment, same cadavers for Anatomy......There's no such thing that says: Polish students can only use SET A of cadavers and English students can only use SET B...
And the classrooms here are well-equipped....Some of them are old, but I won't call that "a kampung classroom"......I will call that "A classroom with ancient European Arts"....
Mind you, my uni (Jagiellonian University) is one of the oldest university in Europe....
For your information, this so called Moscow Medical 'Academy' DOES NOT even have a campus to begin with. Classes are scattered all over Moscow. (eg:Klang,PJ,Subang,Kajang,etc.).
We students are forced to travel everyday via Metro, or by foot or bus to attend classes. Also, there are many a time when we would have traveled so far to attend classes only to be told once we've reached there that classed are canceled!
The same happens here....
For example, Anatomy Buidling is on the east of the city, and maybe Psychology department is on the south of the city.....
So, it's very common to take trams to classes....BUT, I think MR.M exaggerated too much....Maybe the classes are like one in KLCC, another in Times Square, then another in Pavilion, another in Sg.Wang...The classes are scattered WITHIN a city, but not soooooo far away like one in Kajang, one in Klang, one in PJ and bla bla......
Yup, we travel every day by tram, by bus or by foot too.....And we're going to buy a new bike when we shift to new apartments next year.....
And that is THEIR OWN PROBLEM if they don't even know the classes are canceled!!The lecturers at uni level won't cancel the classes SUDDENLY..Normally they will inform the class rep or maybe inform the students one week earlier.....
Hence, sorry to say this, I think Mr.M should always bring his ears with him so that he can always LISTEN to important information like this, either from the class rep or from the lecturers, or maybe from the friends from other countries, and not lamenting in such a long long article.....And I would also like to take this opportunity to say this to MR.M...."YOU THOUGHT YOU'RE STILL IN PRIMARY SCHOOL??ALL CLASSES MUST BE IN A SAME AREA SO THAT YOU DON'T HAVE TO TRAVEL AT ALL???IT'S COMMON IN EUROPEAN COUNTRIES TO TRAVEL, DUDE......"
The Government could have spent the money more wisely to educate us all in M'sia/Singapore/India.We get paid almost USD700 per month which i believe is a huge amount of tax payers money. However, i doubt we will bring back much knowledge to be able to help the patients back home.
1st....Malaysia....
When some of the JPA scholars this year got programs in Malaysia, they complained...
And when Jpa sending students overseas, they also complained. What do they complained??Complain that JPA didn't send them to universities in Malaysia???
2nd.....Singapore....
Wake up, dude!!!Singapore medical places are only open for Singaporeans...
One of my friends, who is a Malaysian, studied in Raffles Junior College, which is one of the BEST college in South-east asia....He did very well in his A level, but he is not accepted by Singapore universities for the medical courses....
Reason: You're not Kia-su ppl like us lah!!If we give you all the medical places, we will lose to you LOH!!We Singaporean so kia-su and we cannot lose lah!!!
3rd....India.....
No comment....ask Miracle seed......
While there are some of us who save & spend the money wisely due to the high cost of living here, there are a huge majority of private & sponsored students who come here juz to ENJOY. FREQUENT Alcohol parties,weekend getaways,world tours, & shopping sprees are very common among students here. The lifestyle of many Malaysians change tremendously once they came here. They behave even worse than the "Mat Sallehs" here. Malaysian girls here for instance would walk around ever so skimpily leaving nothing to the imagination(even during winter!)Watever happen to the MALAYSIAN CULTURE? Many here have even lost their virginity at the young tender age of 18 or 19 simply because a guy or girl can walk in ever so easily into the rooms of the opposite sex. Believe it or not,we have heard SEX sounds even! Many Malaysian medical students behave as though they have no self dignity or watsoeva. (However, they potray the best behaviour once they land in Malaysia like as though they are the best Malaysian angels...sadly, we all know their true colours when they are here in Moscow. HYPOCRITES!!!).These Malaysians are surely to be huge dissapointments to their families as well as to the nation.Exams & studies are the LEAST priority/favourite of many who are here. I wonder why did some people choose to study medicine in the very 1st place.
We have some parties here.....But I don't find any problems with the parties....We were just dancing,singing, chatting and know each other more.....The parties are more like socialising...We NEVER take off our clothes and start kissing each other (I mean EVERYONE attending the parties including the Canadians and Norwaygians)....And we dress like how we dress in Malaysia....We never forget the Eastern Culture.....
It's true that I attended the parties, but i never drink alcohol....all my norwaygian and canadian friends are drinking alcohol, but I'm drinking coke....And they seem to be understanding my situation.....In fact, everytime when i visited their apartments for parties, they will say this to me: "There are some cokes in the fridge...Feel free to take them!!"
And i really hate Mr.M's sentence that says "Many Malaysian medical students behave as though they have no self dignity or watsoeva"....This sentence, 1000000% does not apply to all the seniors who are currently in Poland.....
For the juniors, I can't guarantee.....
Maybe exams and studies are not our favourite, since there're so many things to study in such a short time...Come on, anyone in the world likes EXAM???
However, studies and exams are definitely our PRIORITY here....we study day and night for the exams....
And he also mentioned that WORLD TOUR is common among the students here.....
Yeah, I'm one of the students who is so excited to embark myself in some tours around Europe, but I know WHEN I should go travel and when I shouldn't....
I'm having summer break now (3-month holiday). Instead of going back to Malaysia, I decided to stay in poland with some friends so that we can travel to some countries in Europe....ANY PROBLEM WITH THIS???And before this, when I have a 3-week Christmas break, I went to Prague.....And ANY PROBLEM WITH THIS????
Duh.....I'm hating Mr.M more and more when I'm replying this.......
Let me also give u an insight of the education system here. You want to know why the majority of Russian grads are so incompetent & useless? Well,1st & foremost we can get away with cheating ever so easily during tests & exams. You may ask how. Many students here aren't bothered about being honest for themselves. Many juz merely do the bare minimum of studying & copy their friend's answers or directly from the books during tests/exams. These students fail to realise that they are only cheating themselves. The one who helps with the cheating is also going to lose out in the end once he/she is out of medic school & into the real working world. Another method which works really well for the girls is simply to shed some crocodile TEARS during tests/exams & instantly the lecturer/tutor would grant her a mere PASS...it's still a pass u know (better than a fail). How is this fair to some students like me who slog day & night mugging & studying extremely hard with the simple intention of graduating as competent doctors? After all, these cheaters would be graduating with a MD certificate as well & turn out to be the bad apples in the healthcare system in Malaysia & thus leading Senior Doctors to generalise & say that ALL Russian Grads are INCOMPETENT! Does anyone have any idea how frustrating this is?
At least, these doesn't happen in my uni.....
Many students who sit for exams/tests earlier would simply snap a photo of the different set of questions & answers & then distribute it to the rest of the students who have yet to sit for their exams. How is this helping anyone? Can u even call this an EXAM? Does it fit the definition of an exam? So,can u imagine wat kind of Doctors we're producing here? A bunch of cheaters, liars, & irresponsible future doctors! That's the TRUTH!
These doesn't happen in my uni too....
However, one week before the exams, our norwaygian classmates will distribute some sample questions or maybe pass-year questions so that we will have some insights on how the exams questions gonnabe.....
The situation is just like in SPM/STPM level....you can buy revision books and try the pass year questions so that you will know how the SPM questions gonna be....
Now, no wonder countries like the UK refuse to accept Russian Medical grads for their Postgraduate courses. Simply because we have never even sat for a PROPER exam per say throughout our 6years of study here. Look at the UK universities/colleges, do they even allow any student of theirs to bring in PDA's,camera handphones,bags,books into the exam venue? Do they allow any exam candidate to communicate with another fellow candidate once the question paper has been distributed? Do students know the exact sample of questions & answers prior to the exams? HELL NO! These only happen in good old Mother Russia!
So,Wake up people!!!
So, to those of you all who are planning to send any of your offsprings to Russia for a Medical Degree, please, im begging you, think again. You're not only going to lose your money, but also perhaps the good name & dignity of your family.
This is merely an opinion of mine & not directed to insult,degrade or humiliate anyone. I believe there is nothing wrong in sharing my opinion.
No comment.....He's just expressing his OWN OPINION in these few paragraphs....I feel so lazy to comment now...
Above is the article that i had read earlier...
Glad that you're taking some time to read what the seniors wrote....Keep it up!!!
Lengzai
04-07-2009, 06:18 PM
Sorry 4 late..
I m Leng from Perak...
10a1 & 1a2...(sad bcz the a2 sub was moral...)
I got poland too...
1 year a-level at ktt...
hope we can be good friends...^_^
edgar
09-07-2009, 07:25 PM
Hi,
Consider yourselves fortunate if you are sponsored by JPA or Mara to study medics in Eastern Europe, namely - Poland, Czech, Russia or Romania. They are hundreds who fails to get JPA scholarship and after appealing, news arent so welcoming either.
I knew a lot people complaining about the quality of medical universities in eastern europe. Honestly, they aren't as good as those in England, USA, Australia or M'sia. And people just like to compare. Most people think that those who studied in well-known countries, they are more superior in term of knowledges or skills when graduated. I bet you are wrong.
Recently, I was doing my attachment in hospital and I met three doctors who graduated from medical universities in russia and had been working in government hospital for few months. They are as good as those local graudates and even better than some of them. I salute 3 of you. They worked hard and willing to take criticism and above all during their 6 years of studies in Russia, they put their hearts into studying. Admist all the allegations of bribing, misconduct or below bar education, they studied diligently and put extra efforts. For those who chose to bribe and misbehave, certainly they arent there to study but to enjoy.
To all those JPA or Mara scholars who are either studying there or going to, make full use of it. Study hard and strike for excellency.
Here is something useful for all medic students - search jimbocyberdoc in google. He graduated from Manipal a decade ago and was a successful doctor now.
I have been to Prague, Krakow and Warsaw. :) Wonderful cities and would like to go there again in the near future.
haohao: so you are the only guy there? arent you lucky? :)
plh3m
10-07-2009, 11:22 PM
hi,senior hao hao(i think i should call u so)
im ur junior who will be admitting into the uni that u r studying now tis august.
nice 2 meet u...^^
i would like 2 ask u some questions,hope tat u may give ur help
1.i would like 2 ask about how n where u bought the textbooks last year?did u buy before u go 2 poland?
2.about the accommodation,how jpa arrange the accommodation for u all?where r u staying now btw?
3.wat r the dressing code 4 attending lectures n practical classes?izzit formal or casual?
hope u may kindly answer me.thx in advance.
haohao
11-07-2009, 02:02 AM
hi,senior hao hao(i think i should call u so)
im ur junior who will be admitting into the uni that u r studying now tis august.
nice 2 meet u...^^
i would like 2 ask u some questions,hope tat u may give ur help
1.i would like 2 ask about how n where u bought the textbooks last year?did u buy before u go 2 poland?
2.about the accommodation,how jpa arrange the accommodation for u all?where r u staying now btw?
3.wat r the dressing code 4 attending lectures n practical classes?izzit formal or casual?
hope u may kindly answer me.thx in advance.
Hello!!Finally I met someone that's going to study in Jagiellonian University! :)
Btw, Congratulations for passing the entrance exam....
Alright, for your information, you have 8 seniors here : 7gals, 1 guy....n I'm unfortunately the only guy here....not so good huh.....
Senior hao hao...= ="....You can call me Hao Chii....It sounds too "sweat" with the word "senior".....
Alright, time to answer your questions:
1st: Of course you will buy all your textbooks here!!But you don't have to buy all, just some important one....
Remember, DUN BUY ANY TEXTBOOKS IN MALAYSIA!! You can only bring 25 kg in your checked-in luggage + 6-7 kg in your hand luggage + SOMETHING else in your laptop bag.....So don't waste the space bringing all the heavy stuffs like TEXTBOOKS which are also available in Poland...Moreover, you might buy some useless textbooks in Malaysia....Wait until you guys come here and seniors will guide you....Just don't worry about BOOKS 1st.....
My suggestion is: Bring more T-shirts and casual wear here....
The reason is: The design of T-shirts and jeans here is TERRIBLE...
But the design of the winter wear and autumn wear is quite nice.....I bought most of my jackets and winter wear here....Cheap and nice..!!What you need to bring is just an ordinary jacket, because it's still summer when you come to Poland for summer course in August....
2nd suggestion: Bring foods that are only available in Malaysia like Milo (You gonna miss this beverage for sure...), Ikan bilis, curry powder and some asian/malaysian food lah!!Food in Poland is not so...erm...tasty as you thought....
And remember to learn cooking before you guys come to Poland!!haha.....
Just remember: NO TEXTBOOKS IN YOUR LUGGAGE!!
2nd question: You're going to stay in Dom Studium Podyplomowego UJCM...I think JPA will pay for the dorm for one year...Then you gotta shift out and look for your own apartment starting from 2nd year....I'm staying with 2 other seniors in Krak?w, but now I'm spending my holidays with other seniors from Warsaw University.....
The dorm is quite good....Actually it's more like a hotel room....You have cleaner lady helping you to clean up your room and toilet every day....So you don't have to clean the toilet yourself!!haha......
3rd question: Poland is not KTT.....If you're wearing formal attire to class, I'm afraid everyone will look at you as if you're someone from Mars....haha...Just kidding....
You hardly need to wear formal attire...Maybe just for some formal events like Inauguration day on 1st of October...
Oh ya, bring your KTT labcoat with you....You guys need that for Anatomy practical and Chemistry practical....Tell your friends about that....
If you have any other question, just ask me....you can add me in Facebook if you wanna view the photos in Poland.....
You can also add me in Msn or skype if you want.....
plh3m
14-07-2009, 08:56 PM
thx so much.c u soon.
extell
20-07-2009, 01:41 AM
thx so much.c u soon.
just curious, who are you plh3m?
and senior hao chii (err..) how far is JU from Hradec (czech)? lols. :P
haohao
20-07-2009, 02:02 AM
just curious, who are you plh3m?
and senior hao chii (err..) how far is JU from Hradec (czech)? lols. :P
Quite far.....
Distance between Krak?w and Prague is around 500km...and distance between Prague and Hradec is around 140km.....
Mad4Hana
21-07-2009, 01:45 PM
Holla, it's been ages since I last read this thread.
I'm very glad to meet (virtually) the next Poland bound batch.
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think all Poland bound batch of 2008 managed to secure a place in a Polish university.
9 of us managed to get a place in Jagie and most (I have yet to confirm this) have secured a place in Warsaw University.
If I'm not mistaken, we still have 4 of our friends on a waiting list for Warsaw.
Hao Chii, you don't have to worry as you'll have 3 junior guys soon.
plh3m is probably Ng or Hong Huat or Aizzul, no idea which.
Is it necessary for us to pick up some Polish before we get there?
I've been trying to but it's giving me a headache.
Any other pointers for the 9 juniors about to join you soon?
haohao
21-07-2009, 10:57 PM
Hao Chii, you don't have to worry as you'll have 3 junior guys soon.
plh3m is probably Ng or Hong Huat or Aizzul, no idea which.
I don't care about that.......
Is it necessary for us to pick up some Polish before we get there?
I've been trying to but it's giving me a headache.
Any other pointers for the 9 juniors about to join you soon?
My advice is...Enjoy your last few days in Malaysia.....
Lengzai
14-05-2011, 09:53 PM
revive this thread~haha
auntieagony
18-05-2011, 06:38 PM
Dear Seniors,
Would like to enquire for a friend. He got PILN Poland whereby he's offered KTT (1 year) and Poland (6 years). He has read that there are very few slots offered for Jegaellonian Uni in Krakow - less than 10 slots and also Warsaw Uni (abt 10 slots - more or less) for JPA students. The rest of the students (initially offered Poland in the offer letter) will then be offered other countries such as Czech, Russia, India or Indonesia. Is it true?
Read in a blog that a senior claimed that despite getting the best results in Foundation in Medical Studies, it will not guarantee that student will be given placement. The entrance exam's result is like a lucky draw. Is it true?
Lengzai
20-05-2011, 10:12 PM
ok, actually JUMC receive 70+ foreign students per yr, n 50++ of them r norweigians because our U is signing a contract with their gov, so we ve to compete with the americans and canadians to get the remaining placements, the intake of JU is totally BASE ON RESULT of entrance exam. For Warsaw , i m not rily sure because they are having entrance exam since this year, in the last 2 yrs, for those who fulfiled the requiremnts (got at least 3B in A-LVL) , all of them were able to secure a placement in Warsaw U,~ b optimistic, JPA ll only send around 25 students(ie. my batch, 28 scholars, 7 JU, 14 WARSAW, remAining INDON because they din get good result in A-LVL, 1 terminated) to poland evry yr (excluded the 1st batch), so i think the placements ll b enough, as long as he studies hard, he ll b able to get a placement~ pls send my best regard to ur fren ^^
auntieagony
21-05-2011, 12:44 AM
ok, actually JUMC receive 70+ foreign students per yr, n 50++ of them r norweigians because our U is signing a contract with their gov, so we ve to compete with the americans and canadians to get the remaining placements, the intake of JU is totally BASE ON RESULT of entrance exam. For Warsaw , i m not rily sure because they are having entrance exam since this year, in the last 2 yrs, for those who fulfiled the requiremnts (got at least 3B in A-LVL) , all of them were able to secure a placement in Warsaw U,~ b optimistic, JPA ll only send around 25 students(ie. my batch, 28 scholars, 7 JU, 14 WARSAW, remAining INDON because they din get good result in A-LVL, 1 terminated) to poland evry yr (excluded the 1st batch), so i think the placements ll b enough, as long as he studies hard, he ll b able to get a placement~ pls send my best regard to ur fren ^^
Tqvm for the explanation. How's the entrance exam for JUMC like? Is it similar to A lvl or tougher? When wld u know the results of the entrance exam and when do u fly to Krakow?
Lengzai
21-05-2011, 01:05 AM
Tqvm for the explanation. How's the entrance exam for JUMC like? Is it similar to A lvl or tougher? When wld u know the results of the entrance exam and when do u fly to Krakow?
Format=mcq (50 bio, 40 chem), bio is more difficult than A lvl, chem is still ok, i took the exam in may and knew the result in june, i came here in the end of AUG 2010...
auntieagony
22-05-2011, 12:37 PM
Format=mcq (50 bio, 40 chem), bio is more difficult than A lvl, chem is still ok, i took the exam in may and knew the result in june, i came here in the end of AUG 2010...
Wld like to enquire further pls. How do you get to Krakow from KL? Did u fly using MAS or other airlines? Coz MAS does not hv direct flight to Poland, where is your final airport - is it Frankfurt before taking other flight to Krakow?
Abt studies - what are the subjects taken for 1st year student? R the lecturers local or from other countries too?
Is the allowance provided by JPA sufficient to cover your living expenses? How abt food - do you cook regularly or normally eat out?
Tqvm for attending to my queries despite your hectic schedule.
Lengzai
22-05-2011, 05:59 PM
Wld like to enquire further pls. How do you get to Krakow from KL? Did u fly using MAS or other airlines? Coz MAS does not hv direct flight to Poland, where is your final airport - is it Frankfurt before taking other flight to Krakow?
Abt studies - what are the subjects taken for 1st year student? R the lecturers local or from other countries too?
Is the allowance provided by JPA sufficient to cover your living expenses? How abt food - do you cook regularly or normally eat out?
Tqvm for attending to my queries despite your hectic schedule.
1. MAS, then transit at Frankfutt
2.anatomy, histology, embryology, chem, org chem, polish, physical education, polish history, 1st aid
3.i think most of them are Polish, but they do speak english
4. our allowance=800eu , totally enough, because the living cost here is omost the same as in malaysia, normally i cook by myself, outside food r expensive..
auntieagony
23-05-2011, 10:17 PM
1. MAS, then transit at Frankfutt
2.anatomy, histology, embryology, chem, org chem, polish, physical education, polish history, 1st aid
3.i think most of them are Polish, but they do speak english
4. our allowance=800eu , totally enough, because the living cost here is omost the same as in malaysia, normally i cook by myself, outside food r expensive..
Thks again for the reply. The info given is very useful for my friend.
1. From Frankfurt to Krakow, do you fly, or take the train or by bus?
2. Wow, so many subjects for 1st year! How's Polish Language? Is it difficult to learn & pronounce? Can the Msian students pass the exam?
3. I surfed the Internet and found out that Poland will convert to Euro dollar in 2011. Is it true? Will it affect the cost of living?
Hope u r doing well in yur exam and eNjoy yur stay in Krakow. Guess it's getting warmer there as summer is approaching soon. Take care.
Lengzai
24-05-2011, 12:01 AM
Thks again for the reply. The info given is very useful for my friend.
1. From Frankfurt to Krakow, do you fly, or take the train or by bus?
2. Wow, so many subjects for 1st year! How's Polish Language? Is it difficult to learn & pronounce? Can the Msian students pass the exam?
3. I surfed the Internet and found out that Poland will convert to Euro dollar in 2011. Is it true? Will it affect the cost of living?
Hope u r doing well in yur exam and eNjoy yur stay in Krakow. Guess it's getting warmer there as summer is approaching soon. Take care.
1.fly again~haha
2.polish is much more difficult than english,esp the grammar and pronouciation, but dun wory, the teachers ll definitely let us pass,haha
3.i m not sure, nobody talks bout tis, bt hopefully no...
4.thank u thank u, not only warm, but hot, haiz...anyway, enjoy ur study ^^