View Full Version : JPA 2008 Medicine - India

jun_mei
27-05-2008, 12:48 AM
Hi and congrats to all JPA scholars!!!

i've decided to create a new thread to gather all JPA medicine scholars who got India. So, same thing :

State
SPM result
Course/College
India OR MMMC twinning

I'll start.

Melaka
11A1s
I'm not sure about the college cause my letter hasn't arrived and i forgot to ask about it when i called jpa just now. lol.
India

To all seniors who are goin to or are already in India, please do share your advices and experiences here. Thanks! And once again, to all medicine scholars, congrats!

Yvonne90
27-05-2008, 03:39 PM
i got manipal medical college (juz near my house, so u know which state i come from ) twinning with india
pre-U at MSU, at shah alam, i will hav to register on 19th june
10 A1

nobody
27-05-2008, 05:35 PM
>Malaccan

>12A1's

>KTT

>India
Michigan medical marijuana dispensary (http://michigan.dispensaries.org/)

27-05-2008, 09:31 PM
Guys, it's fine to use such threads to exchange useful information about your scholarship; but please refrain from making this "name, state, results, college" list. You guys should make use of our scholarship holder infobase (http://recom.org/forum/portal.php?pageid=scholarships). Also, trivial chatting should be done in the chat forum as much as possible. Please refer to our chat vs. discussion policy (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6539).

Any future posts in this thread that violate this policy will be deleted or moved without notice. Let's make this thread informative and avoid turning every single thread in ReCom into a chat thread, please.

music_freak28
29-05-2008, 03:33 PM
12A1's
From Petaling Jaya
Got twinning from manipal malacca
Starting at 29th june at Intec, shah alam
Really want to get to know all of you..lets realise our dream together=D

Any seniors currently studying a-levels at intec?
is it CIE syllabus or EDEXCEL?

Do our book allowance have a limit cause it wasn't stated in the letter=)

Thank you

"I found a boy who had a dream, making everyone smile"-Oxygen by Colbie Caillat

Vint
29-05-2008, 03:35 PM
12A1's
From Petaling Jaya
Got twinning from manipal malacca
Starting at 29th june at Intec, shah alam
Really want to get to know all of you..lets realise our dream together=D

12A1 straight??congratz btw...

music_freak28
29-05-2008, 03:37 PM
12A1 straight??congratz btw...

yea.thanks;). did u get india too?

29-05-2008, 03:48 PM
Do our book allowance have a limit cause it wasn't stated in the letter=)

Thank you

yes, 98 Ringgit. The rest you will have to shell out your own money

Kuekkuek
29-05-2008, 03:59 PM
yes, 98 Ringgit. The rest you will have to shell out your own money

98 ringgit per month , is it???

Yvonne90
29-05-2008, 05:33 PM
in my letter is stated tat for book allowance " dimansuhkan dan akan dibekalkan oleh pihak sekolah"

29-05-2008, 07:04 PM
98 ringgit per month , is it???per sem, at my time...

right now, i think the following quote applies
in my letter is stated tat for book allowance " dimansuhkan dan akan dibekalkan oleh pihak sekolah"

extell
29-05-2008, 09:02 PM
I think we still have to buy reference books from time to time. May I know if the allowance (per month) provided by jpa is the same?

I'm also KTT bound. Nice to meet you guys^^

Lalala11
29-05-2008, 09:12 PM
MMMC twinning for me too. Going to MSU on the 19th.

jun_mei
29-05-2008, 11:42 PM
Just wondering... Besides kasturba and manipal, does jpa send scholars to other Unis in India?

emet
30-05-2008, 01:14 AM
sepang
MSU
MMMC twinning

hey guys.. i just want to know more about MSU.. i mean.. like the hostel, facilities, etc.. can anyone help me?

megatfais
30-05-2008, 01:33 AM
sepang
MSU
MMMC twinning

hey guys.. i just want to know more about MSU.. i mean.. like the hostel, facilities, etc.. can anyone help me?

urmm.try googling on that.shud help a bit i guess.

emet
30-05-2008, 04:32 PM
well.. i've tried that.. thanks anyway

jun_mei
30-05-2008, 06:21 PM
To seniors who are currently studying in India, I would like to know how you guys spend your holidays over there since Kartanaka is not so well-developed and there's nothing much to do there.

Another thing is, i would like to know, has any JPA scholars been sent to medical unis in northern india so far? Cause i only see JPA scholars studying in either manipal and kasturba only.

Thanks!

purple1513
31-05-2008, 12:54 AM
I think we still have to buy reference books from time to time. May I know if the allowance (per month) provided by jpa is the same?

I'm also KTT bound. Nice to meet you guys^^

Logically shud be the same for every month...hahahah..i'm oso KTT bound..nice to meet u...what course u taking??

extell
31-05-2008, 10:06 PM
Logically shud be the same for every month...hahahah..i'm oso KTT bound..nice to meet u...what course u taking??
Ohh. :) Nice to meet you.
Medical. What about you?

lance
31-05-2008, 10:49 PM
hey, do anyone noes where to get the bil bayaran for the INTEC wan?
n do we really nid to do that?

01-06-2008, 02:00 AM
To seniors who are currently studying in India, I would like to know how you guys spend your holidays over there since Kartanaka is not so well-developed and there's nothing much to do there.

Another thing is, i would like to know, has any JPA scholars been sent to medical unis in northern india so far? Cause i only see JPA scholars studying in either manipal and kasturba only.

Thanks!
Are you sure Karnataka is a not so well-developed state? The capital city of Karnataka is the IT hub of India...

By the way, those who are leaving for India this year, 10 students are going to Kasturba Medical College, Manipal, 17 going to Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore and 3 to Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum.

Vint
01-06-2008, 09:53 AM
Are you sure Karnataka is a not so well-developed state? The capital city of Karnataka is the IT hub of India...

By the way, those who are leaving for India this year, 10 students are going to Kasturba Medical College, Manipal, 17 going to Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore and 3 to Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum.

only 30 of you going medicine india?
which uni did you get?
and mangalore will be receiving USD700 rite?
who's going to jawaharlal?

01-06-2008, 11:40 AM
only 30 of you going medicine india?
which uni did you get?
and mangalore will be receiving USD700 rite?
who's going to jawaharlal?
Yea, actually only 29 left, plus one who changed his destination country to India. The number goes down from 64 to 29 after some didn't pass the cut-off point, some changed to IMU and some changed to MMMC. 9 chinese except Yvonne go to Manipal.

Mangalore will be receiving USD700, and 2 of them heading Jawaharlal Nehru are unlucky ones who failed to changed their course to twinning.

Vint
01-06-2008, 12:07 PM
Yea, actually only 29 left, plus one who changed his destination country to India. The number goes down from 64 to 29 after some didn't pass the cut-off point, some changed to IMU and some changed to MMMC. 9 chinese except Yvonne go to Manipal.

Mangalore will be receiving USD700, and 2 of them heading Jawaharlal Nehru are unlucky ones who failed to changed their course to twinning.

you mean the one that changed his country to india was offered a better country before this??

for those that manage to pass the cut-off point, did they manage to request for a better offer?

IMU twinning or full time?

what u mean by those 2 unlucky ones??mind to pm me bout that...wanna know bout it..thanks

01-06-2008, 12:21 PM
you mean the one that changed his country to india was offered a better country before this??

for those that manage to pass the cut-off point, did they manage to request for a better offer?

IMU twinning or full time?

what u mean by those 2 unlucky ones??mind to pm me bout that...wanna know bout it..thanks
Yes, he was offered New Zealand initially if I'm not mistaken.

So far I haven't heard of anyone managed to change their country to a higher cost one.

IMU full time in Malaysia.

Okay, I'll PM you to tell the story. I think I shouldn't tell it here.

lance
01-06-2008, 12:44 PM
Yes, he was offered New Zealand initially if I'm not mistaken.

So far I haven't heard of anyone managed to change their country to a higher cost one.

IMU full time in Malaysia.

Okay, I'll PM you to tell the story. I think I shouldn't tell it here.

regarding doing medicine in IMU, i wanna ask that will we b doing IMU full time in M'sia instead of twinning wit overseas unis?
is it depends on our results?
thx in advance.

01-06-2008, 01:05 PM
regarding doing medicine in IMU, i wanna ask that will we b doing IMU full time in M'sia instead of twinning wit overseas unis?
is it depends on our results?
thx in advance.
IMU offered is full time in Malaysia. Last year, all India full time medicine students are offered IMU, but the admission still depends on IMU, you'll have to go for interview, and not all will pass. The offer doesn't depend on results, but the admission is. The minimum requirement for IMU is 11 points, i.e. BBC for 3 best subjects.

Vint
01-06-2008, 01:08 PM
For our cut off points...i heard from Mr.Razib that it will only be calculated based on 3 of our sciences rite?And math doesnt take into account?

01-06-2008, 01:19 PM
For our cut off points...i heard from Mr.Razib that it will only be calculated based on 3 of our sciences rite?And math doesnt take into account?
I don't know about that... I just know that Indian universities prefer Physics over Maths, but I'm not sure how they calculate the cut-off points...

Vint
01-06-2008, 01:20 PM
I don't know about that... I just know that Indian universities prefer Physics over Maths, but I'm not sure how they calculate the cut-off points...

alrite thanks

jun_mei
01-06-2008, 08:34 PM
I went to Melaka Manipal just now...just to make some enquiries regarding the college and also Manipal in India. But office was closed (it's a sunday...didn't strike me..lol.), so i only managed to talk to the guard who was guarding the lounge where the gym and swimming pool are. According to him (he seemed to know a lot), Melaka Manipal is 10 times better than India Manipal in terms of comfort and facilities as what he's been told by medical students who came back from manipal india to continue their clinical training in melaka. The students told him that the environment in manipal india is terrible campared to manipal melaka. Nevertheless, the practical/clinical training in india is of course, in contrary, 10 times better than that in melaka. In india, we dissect real heart whereas in melaka, we only get to look at plastic-made heart. lol.

So, India Manipal : Good practical, Bad environment. Melaka Manipal : Bad practical, Good environment. ( well at least that's what the guard told me... true or false, i have no idea..)

So, seniors!!! Do drop your comments!

phoenix1892
01-06-2008, 08:43 PM
I went to Melaka Manipal just now...just to make some enquiries regarding the college and also Manipal in India. But office was closed (it's a sunday...didn't strike me..lol.), so i only managed to talk to the guard who was guarding the lounge where the gym and swimming pool are. According to him (he seemed to know a lot), Melaka Manipal is 10 times better than India Manipal in terms of comfort and facilities as what he's been told by medical students who came back from manipal india to continue their clinical training in melaka. The students told him that the environment in manipal india is terrible campared to manipal melaka. Nevertheless, the practical/clinical training in india is of course, in contrary, 10 times better than that in melaka. In india, we dissect real heart whereas in melaka, we only get to look at plastic-made heart. lol.

So, India Manipal : Good practical, Bad environment. Melaka Manipal : Bad practical, Good environment. ( well at least that's what the guard told me... true or false, i have no idea..)

So, seniors!!! Do drop your comments!

I always thought education-wise, India is really, really good. But I don't think I can live there. The big cities are well-developed, but the the small towns are really under-developed. But, it'll only be 5 years (2.5 years for twinning) and we'll get great education and experiences. We can face the challenges ahead.

matchgirl
02-06-2008, 02:51 PM
I also got full time India...
My fren say the india manipal is quite ok, he is studying there...

music_freak28
02-06-2008, 09:15 PM
Wait....sorry but I wanna ask...wats MSU and KTT?are any of them the same as Intec?Feeling blurr..anyone coming Intec?=)

02-06-2008, 11:12 PM
Wait....sorry but I wanna ask...wats MSU and KTT?are any of them the same as Intec?Feeling blurr..anyone coming Intec?=)
MSU and KTT are also preparatory colleges, just like Intec, but I suppose they are much smaller.

Lalala11
03-06-2008, 02:32 AM
MSU and KTT are also preparatory colleges, just like Intec, but I suppose they are much smaller.

MSU is a university. The preparatory course will be in Kolej PTPL which is a collegiate (or sumting) of MSU.

Yvonne90
03-06-2008, 09:54 AM
MSU is a university. The preparatory course will be in Kolej PTPL which is a collegiate (or sumting) of MSU.

MSU and kolej PTPL in shah alam is the same building isn't it?

saruhh
03-06-2008, 04:11 PM

yes, i think it used to be called ptpl, or kutpm, i'm not quite sure, i find it all confusing.

and if any of you guys have any questions regarding the surrounding area, feel free to ask me and i'll try my best to answer as i live just a few minutes away from the uni. :P

Yvonne90
03-06-2008, 08:54 PM
yes, i think it used to be called ptpl, or kutpm, i'm not quite sure, i find it all confusing.

and if any of you guys have any questions regarding the surrounding area, feel free to ask me and i'll try my best to answer as i live just a few minutes away from the uni. :P

i wonder where is MSU hostel campus?izit off campus housing like apartment style ? is the campus big? how abt their facilities , ok or not? is MSU like private uni such as taylor, sunway or izit more like public uni with lots of strict rules and dressing code?

03-06-2008, 10:30 PM
If I'm not mistaken, it used to be known as KUTPM. JPA used to send India-bound students there last time, but they stopped for about at least 2 years, and it seems they're going to continue this year. From what I read from other threads, KUTPM students do not study A-Level, but instead they do one-year pre-medic programme. I wonder whether it still applies today.

Lalala11
04-06-2008, 12:55 AM

No idea. Haha. Maybe it's side by side??:laugh

MSU used to be called KUTPM. Kolej PTPL still exists as kolej PTPL. I have a friend who lives just next to the place :P

i wonder where is MSU hostel campus?izit off campus housing like apartment style ? is the campus big? how abt their facilities , ok or not? is MSU like private uni such as taylor, sunway or izit more like public uni with lots of strict rules and dressing code?

I think it's private like taylor's and sunway. I hope no strict rules and dressing code tho... :amuse

saruhh
04-06-2008, 06:27 PM

i have no idea about the quality of the facilities there, as i have never personally entered the uni, but from outside, it seems pretty decent. i think the dressing code of the uni is kinda loose, i see students wearing jeans and t-shirts all the time

purple1513
04-06-2008, 06:45 PM
Ohh. :) Nice to meet you.
Medical. What about you?

Medical too..india bound..how abt u??

extell
06-06-2008, 07:21 PM
Medical too..india bound..how abt u??

I'm czech-bound. Hope to meet you guys in ktt. :))

Shinn89
08-06-2008, 09:39 PM
Wow, nice to see some people coming KTT, XD

jun_mei
08-06-2008, 11:01 PM
Wow, nice to see some people coming KTT, XD

You're a senior in KTT? Hello!
Any advice to us before we step foot into the college? lol.

08-06-2008, 11:13 PM
Wow, nice to see some people coming KTT, XDYou're a senior in KTT? Hello!
Any advice to us before we step foot into the college? lol.
Yes, he is senior in KTT and I'm sure you will see him during orientation week... ;-)

Yvonne90
09-06-2008, 05:59 PM
JPA is sending me to MSU to do A level for 2 yrs b4 going to india..but the funny thing is.....i hav check through whatever website related to MSU and i don see any A lvl course available , only foundation in health sciences -_-" why ???

this is wat i found from a previous post abt MSU (KUTPM)
We studied foundation in KUTPM, Shah Alam, and I believe it's been a fiasco caused by the college, resulting us to be sent here instead of the colleges they've promised - KMC, Manipal/Mangalore, RMC, Bangalore, CMC Vellore... And now there are no more JPA students in KUTPM...
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2969&page=18

haiz...haiz.... for us who r going to MSU nxt week,maybe we shudnt hav high expectation,coz i have read a lot of things (i mean bad wan ) from the posts written by the seniors (2005/06) in recom ...

09-06-2008, 07:39 PM
JPA is sending me to MSU to do A level for 2 yrs b4 going to india..but the funny thing is.....i hav check through whatever website related to MSU and i don see any A lvl course available , only foundation in health sciences -_-" why ???

this is wat i found from a previous post abt MSU (KUTPM)
We studied foundation in KUTPM, Shah Alam, and I believe it's been a fiasco caused by the college, resulting us to be sent here instead of the colleges they've promised - KMC, Manipal/Mangalore, RMC, Bangalore, CMC Vellore... And now there are no more JPA students in KUTPM...
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2969&page=18

haiz...haiz.... for us who r going to MSU nxt week,maybe we shudnt hav high expectation,coz i have read a lot of things (i mean bad wan ) from the posts written by the seniors (2005/06) in recom ...
I think you all might be the first batch to study A-Level there... And the very first batch of JPA scholars going there after no JPA scholars were sent there for 3 years...

haha_xp
09-06-2008, 08:52 PM
is there a thread about medicine in mmmc??.....coz i really wanna know more about it....is there any seniors here who did medicine in mmmc?....mind to share.??

09-06-2008, 09:19 PM
is there a thread about medicine in mmmc??.....coz i really wanna know more about it....is there any seniors here who did medicine in mmmc?....mind to share.??I'm not sure but you can try to read the following threads:
JPA scholars in India:http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2969
and
Medicine in INDIA: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=4514

fishnet
16-06-2008, 07:33 PM
Hey hey hey!

I went to check out MSU today and managed to get a little bit of info which may or may not interest you.

Yup, there's no actual dress code (more like 'smart casual') but we have to wear slightly more formal wear for exams. We'll be staying in Wisma something something apartment at Seksyen 13 and there'll be about 8 ppl per unit, 3-4 ppl per room depending on the size of the room. Bad news: no washing machine nor refrigerator in the units and I'm suspecting, some other utilities. Well, actually, there are washing machines which operate on coins downstairs. So, I suggest that we get to know our roommates first on Thursday, then decide if we want to each contribute a little here and there so that we can just share our utilities (it's quite unnecessary to have 8 kettles or 8 irons per unit, isn't it?)

Oh, and the apartment is near the UiTM building. MSU will despatch buses to fetch us to college and back accordingly. Apparently, it's about 15-20 minutes away by car. So I doubt if we can walk to college. On time.

What else... Right! All JPA scholars will be in the same class and according to the guy I spoke to, there are about 54 of us. The college is pretty secluded. There's an undeveloped plot of land behind it, a golf course next to it and some shophouses where you can walk to to get food I suppose but there's mostly mamak and malay food.

Buildings are really colourful. O.o Somewhat crammed a little but not so bad la. It's near a few sports' complexes so those who like playing sports shouldn't feel too down.

Gosh, I can't quite remember what else is there. Anyway, whatever it is, we'll find out eventually this Thursday so let's just prepare whatever we can.

I hope that this little bit of info here is actually at the very least, a little bit helpful in your preparation >.< Cheers.

05-07-2008, 04:32 PM
Good news for India-bound JPA scholars, starting this year, you'll get clothes allowance of RM 500 before you fly!

jun_mei
05-07-2008, 06:57 PM
Wow... We can buy a whole lot of sari and salwa kameez then. lol.

Vint
05-07-2008, 07:01 PM
wow..clothes allowance..we should use it to buy summer clothes i guess..more singlet:P

07-07-2008, 11:39 PM
For guys, RM500 isn't much, you'll spend a lot on coat...

Blubery Euglena
03-08-2008, 12:44 PM
Selangor...

12 As
Ktt..
India

tiopeiyuan
16-06-2010, 12:07 AM
Hey hey hey!

I went to check out MSU today and managed to get a little bit of info which may or may not interest you.

Yup, there's no actual dress code (more like 'smart casual') but we have to wear slightly more formal wear for exams. We'll be staying in Wisma something something apartment at Seksyen 13 and there'll be about 8 ppl per unit, 3-4 ppl per room depending on the size of the room. Bad news: no washing machine nor refrigerator in the units and I'm suspecting, some other utilities. Well, actually, there are washing machines which operate on coins downstairs. So, I suggest that we get to know our roommates first on Thursday, then decide if we want to each contribute a little here and there so that we can just share our utilities (it's quite unnecessary to have 8 kettles or 8 irons per unit, isn't it?)

Oh, and the apartment is near the UiTM building. MSU will despatch buses to fetch us to college and back accordingly. Apparently, it's about 15-20 minutes away by car. So I doubt if we can walk to college. On time.

What else... Right! All JPA scholars will be in the same class and according to the guy I spoke to, there are about 54 of us. The college is pretty secluded. There's an undeveloped plot of land behind it, a golf course next to it and some shophouses where you can walk to to get food I suppose but there's mostly mamak and malay food.

Buildings are really colourful. O.o Somewhat crammed a little but not so bad la. It's near a few sports' complexes so those who like playing sports shouldn't feel too down.

Gosh, I can't quite remember what else is there. Anyway, whatever it is, we'll find out eventually this Thursday so let's just prepare whatever we can.

I hope that this little bit of info here is actually at the very least, a little bit helpful in your preparation >.< Cheers.

Hai there. . . .I'm going to land my foot into Msu coming July :)). . . . . . Most of my friends will be going either to Intec or KTT. I could hardly find someone who is doing the same course in this uni. Since u hv studied in Msu, can u please provide me some recent information about this uni, the hostel and also a-level course? Ur distribution is highly appreciated. (^.^)There isn't much information ab the course and this uni i couldn't find through net . . . . . >.< Thanks .