View Full Version : Medicine

x3on_2
06-05-2004, 07:34 PM
I am currently pursueing my a-levels till mid of this year 2004. I am planning to step into the medical profession hopefully by end of this year or the beginning of next year. I am quite worried that the medical profession does not secure a stable income in the future as pharmacist will be taking over the drug dispensing.

Will doctors manage to survive with the uprising of pharmacist in the next 20 years?

Or do they need to invest in a secondary business or to be forced into the chaotic world of stock exchange?

06-05-2004, 08:26 PM
Welcome x3on_2 to ReCom~! There are a number of ReComers studying medical right now. Join as a member of Special Interest Group for Every Little Thing about Medicine.

http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=SIG&id=Medicine

I think despite the possibility of pharmacist taking over drug dispensing, I don't foresee the difficulty of doctor surviving. Looking at the situation in US, pharmacists are dispensing drugs, yet I still see that doctors are making good money.

Where do you plan to go and study?

hungwei
06-05-2004, 09:07 PM
Maybe you should consider becoming a surgeon instead. They really make quite a lot of money, especially for private doctors. Each operation can earn them as high as a few thousands.

Moozy
06-05-2004, 09:30 PM
What do u guys think a good doctor should be like? I'm kind of careless and not very smart. But I want to be a doctor. I'm just worried that I cannot cope with the pressure and surrounded by super-intelligent peers everyday. And my fear is that, I'll commit crimes such as maldiagnosis(correct?).

Is there any aspiring doctor who has the same fear as me?

06-05-2004, 09:30 PM
x3on_2.... congratulations on your ambition to become a doctor.... personally, i can never have anything to do with the medical profession because the sight of blood and flesh makes me squirm.... hehe..

i think you should pursue whatever that interests you because at the end of the day that is what that will give you satisfaction.... if you choose a profession for its luxurious pay... nobody can guarantee you that it will continue giving you tonnes of money....

heeehee... if you are interested in stock exchange, then you can be involved in it too... but do not force yourself...

and like hung wei said... being a specialist gives you a higher prospect of being well-paid....

my form 6 teacher who had a heart-bypass keep telling us to be heart-specialists because she says that we will save a lot of people's lives.... heehee i think she was very grateful to the specialist who operated on her....

Moozy
06-05-2004, 09:38 PM
My main interest is medicine. Whenever I see health-related articles(mainly those in Sunday Star's Fit For Life), I'd read with interest. I'm most happy during Bio and Chem lessons. It's just that, i'm scared i don't have the brains for medicine.

06-05-2004, 11:42 PM
dun have interest in bio also......

07-05-2004, 12:27 AM
Medicine eh? Well, I don't know much about it, since I'm more of an Engineering/Physics guy and like Iceberg, I cringe when I see blood. Sometimes I'm even afraid to look at my own wounds when I have a deep cut or something.

But from what I hear, you only make good money as a doctor if you work for private hospitals or open your open your own clinic. If you decide to do the latter and work as a GP, you're gonna be pretty rich I'd say. But if you want even more $$$, then perhaps working as a specialist at private hospitals would suit you. Even the consultation fees cost a bomb.

As for the challenge from pharmacists, I don't think they'd ever replace docs as the main authority in medicine. Heck, pharmacists can't operate people, right? So from my point of view, I can't see the how position of doctors will challenged by them. Not in the near future at least.

07-05-2004, 01:51 AM
To be a doctor, u should have strong interest in medicine and willing to commit urself to this job. If earning lots of money is a strong reason for u to study medicine, then it is very wrong. Firstly, u have to invest a large amount of money for ur studies. Then, whether or not u will earn back the money u invested in ur studies is still a question mark.

Pharmacists and doctors should work hand in hand in medical sectors. And I personally think that even if pharmacists take over the role in drug dispensing from the doctors, the income of the doctors will not be affected. Think of this way....the doctors need not employ nurses in their clinics(maybe one or two only), they dont have to buy drugs and medicine and they dont have to worry about getting rid of their old stocks of medicine and drugs. So will the income of doctors be affected? I dont quite think so.

But if u take money as ur main priority, go for business... :P :P If doctors kept thinking about $$, then all the patients will be in fear everytime they fall sick....haha

07-05-2004, 03:32 PM
what do you all think of the practice of doctors receiving free medicine from drug companies? i read that some doctors prescribe the medicine of a particular brand because they get discount..... some are even dangerous to health......

this makes the medicine sector sound like a business venture...

anybody have any clue about this practice? or should i create a new topic for this? because i am not studying medicine

reign226
02-06-2005, 07:04 AM
I agree. I am of the opinion that patriotism is to one's country, not only towards the governing body. When we criticize and speak critically of the government, we do so for the patriotic love of our country, not to the detriment of the governing body. A lot of people see it the other way.

I don't think migration is in any way disrespecting or being traitorious to a country, as long as we recognize the deeds that we have been accorded and remember to repay them when the time is right. Don't be led astray by blind faith, people.

SHuLy
02-06-2005, 11:55 AM
back to medicine.....

the gory sights fascinate me 8O :D

16-06-2005, 09:08 PM
No to medical courses from Ukraine's Crimea State Medical University

PUTRAJAYA: Medical undergraduate programmes offered by the Crimea State Medical University in Ukraine will no longer be recognised.

Malaysian Medical Council president Datuk Dr Ismail Merican said it would be withdrawing its recognition of the programmes to any student being registered and admitted after Dec 31 this year.

Among the reasons cited for the withdrawal included the dubious qualifications of students admitted for the institute?s medical studies, the difficulty of its medical graduates in using technical jargons in English and the possible strain on the quality of teaching due to the sudden increase in intake.

?For those who are enrolled in the first year of their medical studies in this institute, they can continue. But for those who are going to enter pre-medical studies in September, I would advise them not to go,? he told reporters today.

?The council will not compromise on patient's safety and shall always ensure that medical undergraduates have the required knowledge and skills to practice medicine safely,? said Ismail.

Source: The Star

16-06-2005, 10:47 PM
Luckily they still recognised those who are currently studying there now....

masdie
17-06-2005, 02:40 PM
I wonder, one of the reasons given was "the difficulty of its medical graduates in using technical jargons in English". And I thought the MD course in CSMU is conducted in english, hmm, how can this be?

And another thought struck my mind, what about Russian med schools? Some of their courses are half-english half-russian, don't the "difficulty of its medical graduates in using technical jargons in English" problem occur? or will the MMC surprise us again by announcing the derecognization of Russian med schools as well?

17-06-2005, 08:42 PM
I agree. I am of the opinion that patriotism is to one's country, not only towards the governing body. When we criticize and speak critically of the government, we do so for the patriotic love of our country, not to the detriment of the governing body. A lot of people see it the other way.

I don't think migration is in any way disrespecting or being traitorious to a country, as long as we recognize the deeds that we have been accorded and remember to repay them when the time is right. Don't be led astray by blind faith, people.
I believe you posted in the wrong thread? :wink:

frashdi
17-06-2005, 09:07 PM
if i choose phys instead bio, can i still take medic for future?

17-06-2005, 09:19 PM
What course are you referring to? Form 6 or SAM or A-Levels etc?

18-06-2005, 12:26 PM
What course are you referring to? Form 6 or SAM or A-Levels etc?

I would say u can.....since u're not referring to any uni. If u refer to IMU, you can too, regardless of whether u're taking STPM, Alevels or SAM...

Randomphantom
20-06-2005, 12:56 PM
Medical Specialty Optimization (http://www.davidslife.com/journal/archives/june_2005/medical_specialty_optimization.php)

Anyway, just as an interesting tidbit, the five highest-ranked specialties in terms of efficiency (maximize income, minimize years of residency) are:

1. Anesthesiology ($278,964, 4yrs)
2. Emergency Medicine ($204,519, 3yrs)
3. Orthopedic Surgery ($324,754, 5yrs)
4. Radiation Oncology ($303,750, 5yrs)
5. Opthamology ($240,265, 4yrs)

Just some interesting stuff for the moneyminded medic student :roll:

21-06-2005, 02:47 AM
... but do you know what their medical defence fees are like? (You know, the money you pay to medical protection societies to defend you/compensate the patients if you ever get sued.) It's not all rosy, my friend.

SHuLy
21-06-2005, 03:12 PM
hehe....have to file for bankruptcy

cutie87
02-07-2005, 07:44 AM
To be qualified as a doctor, we have to go for medical check up. Those who are carriers of Hipetatis B are not qualified. Is it true?

02-07-2005, 07:10 PM
To be qualified as a doctor, we have to go for medical check up. Those who are carriers of Hipetatis B are not qualified. Is it true?
For some universities it's true, but for others you can you still become a doctor if you are a carrier of hepatitis B, it's just that you can't perform certain operations or procedures when you are in practice. I am not sure about this bit too, I just heard from others.

Lee
07-07-2005, 01:52 PM
haloo can i know what does it meant by if the medical university is recognised WHO?

day_dreamer
20-03-2006, 11:51 PM
can anyone provide information for medicine degree which is affordable ?? Total cost somewhere below RM 250k ??

SHuLy
21-03-2006, 12:41 AM
who is shantra? stop spamming.

medicine degree - tuition fees alone?
viable options: russia, indonesia...not too sure about india.
japan? - dun think it's recognised in msia (not sure) but u can work there! haha

day_dreamer
21-03-2006, 05:26 PM
What about those in local ?? Affordable Medicine degree locally ? Tuition fees alone? Yes.

04-06-2007, 03:36 PM
haloo can i know what does it meant by if the medical university is recognised WHO?

it means that these universities are recognise by the WHO and are not some phantom medical universities. they have met the criterias set by WHO.

08-06-2007, 07:09 PM
Hey, bout medicine in uk universities, is it 5 years or 6 years? Cps i heard that some ppl can go for 5 years while others hav 6...wat's the difference? is it bcos those who r studying 6 yrs do an extra degree(i.e Biomedical Science)? Kinda blur rite now...

Patrick
08-06-2007, 07:29 PM
Hey, bout medicine in uk universities, is it 5 years or 6 years? Cps i heard that some ppl can go for 5 years while others hav 6...wat's the difference? is it bcos those who r studying 6 yrs do an extra degree(i.e Biomedical Science)? Kinda blur rite now...

Oxbridge, Imperial = 6 yrs
Others = 5 yrs

Probably there are a few more unis that offer the 6 yr medic programme. Currently, those 3 are the ones that I know of.

Shinn89
12-06-2007, 09:29 AM
Hi, I'm new here, n I'm planning to be a doctor too, a neurosurgeon, to be more accurate, I'd like to know how to be one...like, is there a specialist field mainly for neurosurgeon? Or shud I be a surgeon 1st?

12-06-2007, 10:08 AM
Hi, I'm new here, n I'm planning to be a doctor too, a neurosurgeon, to be more accurate, I'd like to know how to be one...like, is there a specialist field mainly for neurosurgeon? Or shud I be a surgeon 1st?

haha.. the first thing is to get a medical degree first.. haha.. no offence yea.. yup, you have to be a surgeon first, then only specialise into neurosurgeon.. there are specialist fields for neurosurgeons.. like specific areas of the brains involved in different problems like parkinson or specifically different brain areas...

Shinn89
12-06-2007, 10:00 PM
haha.. the first thing is to get a medical degree first

LOL...i got this from all doctors i ask, haha...Thanks, nw i noe wat to work on d, thanks a lot!!!

13-06-2007, 11:34 AM
haha.. the first thing is to get a medical degree first

LOL...i got this from all doctors i ask, haha...Thanks, nw i noe wat to work on d, thanks a lot!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: