View Full Version : ICPU vs SAM, A-lvl etc..
I.Gin
29-05-2008, 07:09 PM
I m going to do my icpu tis july under jpa scholarship. From wat i read in the taylor's propectus. It seems tat the system of tis course is totally different from wat we have experienced in the malaysia system. So, what i wanna know is whether tis course is hard? I heard its easy but for those who have experienced it, any opinions of it's difficulty compared wif a-lvl n SAM?
Charlotte90T
29-05-2008, 08:31 PM
Well, from what I heard, you have to do loads and loads of presentations if u take ICPU, and many journals to write. Many people say the examinations of A Level is the hardest among 3. I guess you get the least homework for A Level, but still you need to have initiative to do your own exercise and revision to score in A Levels...
qiaozi89
31-05-2008, 11:35 PM
I will graduate in ICPU in 2 weeks time, under JPA scholarship as well.
You will enjoy the coursework very much. Yes, is ENJOY. Cuz you will feel it is amazing to apply what you have learnt into your assignments; and you connect the knowledge with what really happen in society currently.
You need to be mentally prepared that you will become not a human cuz of loads of assignments. Time management and self control are very important. But you will truly feel nice about it cuz it is a GREAT course. Totally different with A level and Msia edu system.
70% coursework including tests, quizzes, presentations, posters, model-making, research etc. And the 70% is broken into Knowledge/Understanding (20%), Thinking/Inquiry (20%), Application (20%), and Communication (10%).
And all subjects have a BIG project named ISU (Independent Study Unit). It is done throughtout the whole semester and you need to apply ALL things that you have learnt. It also takes the highest marks in coursework.
This course needs a lot of insightful and critical thinking. And your communication skills are very important too. You may lose marks if you are too quiet.
And the final exam is quite easy compared with A level, but you hardly have time to study for it due to the assignments. It is an internal exam so sometimes lecturers will give you scope of exam. And you can easily remember what you have learnt because one subject is taught only for 5 months, you will feel very fresh with the content (not like SPM, need to memorize for 2 yrs). And cuz you have applied the knowledge in assignments, you can remember the materials quite well.
What major will you study in future? Then I can give more guidelines to you.
davidchak
02-06-2008, 01:46 AM
In ICPU, you get the least knowledge but learn the most skill
CurbsideProphet
02-06-2008, 03:00 AM
What CPU did for me, I don't think would have happened in any other course.
Qiao is right - the word is enjoy. And what David says 'you learn the least knowledge but you learn the most skill' is somewhat misleading - whilst I get what he is trying to say I think that is definitely not the case. What he is trying to say is it isn't heavily academic, and they don't force you to cram facts, but to say that you get the least knowledge - that is like saying skills aren't knowledge! No way!
I cannot really compare it with SAM or A-levels because I haven't had first hand experience, and I think those who can are few.
What CPU did for me was to enjoy learning, and to independently seek to learn. If you think learning is all about absorbing facts (as indoctrined in Malaysian education), you will find the course a bit counter-intuitive. If you're anything like the institutionalized chicken I am, you learn a bit of how to give yourself a voice.
Because there is so much emphasis coursework, the people who think they can just be lazy and breeze past will be caught out, whilst the people who work hard but aren't as er... good at exams, will be adequately rewarded. XD I think that is a fair judgement of a person - both initiative & academic as opposed to the traditional 'how much do you know?' view!
davidchak
02-06-2008, 08:34 AM
lol
I guess i didnt make myself clear.
Its true, in comparison to SAM, A level and F6, ICPU course is definitely lighter as you learn lesser than other course, try comparing the syllables and you will see
BUT, in ICPU, you are trained University skill like research, application of knowledge and etc.
qiaozi89
02-06-2008, 10:28 PM
Because there is so much emphasis coursework, the people who think they can just be lazy and breeze past will be caught out, whilst the people who work hard but aren't as er... good at exams, will be adequately rewarded. XD I think that is a fair judgement of a person - both initiative & academic as opposed to the traditional 'how much do you know?' view!
I had no time to lazy leh. If focuz on exam, we still can study at late night, But we cannot rush assignments last minute cuz low mark will tell you what is the consequence. and we know our mark every month. the decreasing mark will make you feel bad; while increasing mark will make you happy for whole week!!! wahaha...
+==xin==+
06-06-2008, 10:30 AM
You will enjoy the coursework very much. Yes, is ENJOY. Cuz you will feel it is amazing to apply what you have learnt into your assignments; and you connect the knowledge with what really happen in society currently.
You need to be mentally prepared that you will become not a human cuz of loads of assignments. Time management and self control are very important. But you will truly feel nice about it cuz it is a GREAT course. Totally different with A level and Msia edu system.
70% coursework including tests, quizzes, presentations, posters, model-making, research etc. And the 70% is broken into Knowledge/Understanding (20%), Thinking/Inquiry (20%), Application (20%), and Communication (10%).
And all subjects have a BIG project named ISU (Independent Study Unit). It is done throughtout the whole semester and you need to apply ALL things that you have learnt. It also takes the highest marks in coursework.
This course needs a lot of insightful and critical thinking. And your communication skills are very important too. You may lose marks if you are too quiet.
And the final exam is quite easy compared with A level, but you hardly have time to study for it due to the assignments. It is an internal exam so sometimes lecturers will give you scope of exam. And you can easily remember what you have learnt because one subject is taught only for 5 months, you will feel very fresh with the content (not like SPM, need to memorize for 2 yrs). And cuz you have applied the knowledge in assignments, you can remember the materials quite well.
I will be taking Engineering aft ICPU under JPA oso...any guidelines for me???
everlearn
09-06-2008, 03:09 PM
and i will take sastera & kemanusiaan under ICPU. is somebody here hv d experience? is it like human sc??
music_freak28
13-06-2008, 08:08 PM
Well, it's hard to say which is better actually because it depends on individual.If you like the way SPM is conducted, then you'll do fine with A-Levels. But if you find that you hate SPM-style, don't even try A-Levels because it's exactly like SPM. All about studying and sitting for exams. Zero class presentation zero coursework.Lotsa studying.
SAM is also not easy.Although it's half coursework, half exams, their workload is crazy. You always have to be up to date with your work if you were to take SAM.If you hate doing presentations and assignments then don't do SAM.
I don't know much about ICPU but I do know that it's a fun way of learning. It kinda teaches u to think further and be creative and be more well-rounded with the wide variety of subjects. I just know this from my friends
davidchak
14-06-2008, 06:46 PM
and i will take sastera & kemanusiaan under ICPU. is somebody here hv d experience? is it like human sc??
Anything and everything abou human.
I.Gin
21-06-2008, 10:08 PM
I will b doing business related subjects cos i will b doing business admin later on. Thx for all the ppl who have posted valuable info in tis thread. I m a lazy bump but can memorize things quite fast b4 exam so it can b said as my RAM is high bt my hard disk space is small. :P I need to change my style of learning from now on then from wat i have read.
groundum
22-06-2008, 03:16 PM
there is no guideline from my pov... work smart and not hard...then, only will u enjoy the course ! CHEERS !
shimi
18-01-2009, 07:33 PM
but the biggest fear i have of taking icpu is that my options will be very limited afterward. there arent that many unis that accept icpu. i havent choosen between alvl n icpu. but sometimes i feel like it would be safer to suffer through a-lvls n keep all my options open.
Glassylicious
18-01-2009, 09:23 PM
but the biggest fear i have of taking icpu is that my options will be very limited afterward. there arent that many unis that accept icpu. i havent choosen between alvl n icpu. but sometimes i feel like it would be safer to suffer through a-lvls n keep all my options open.
A levels would definitely be a lot safer than ICPU. You'll also have an easier time when it comes to getting into universities. Many universities don't regard ICPU [and SAM] on the same level of "difficulty" as A levels either especially the British universities. With an ICPU or SAM qualification, the universities tend to have a much higher [and therefore more challenging] minimum requirement for entry.
Think about it this way. It's a lot harder to get a TER of 99.5 for SAM than it is to get straight A's for A levels. I'm not sure how they grade your ICPU scores, but be prepared to have to work a lot harder to achieve the minimum grades required if you're trying to get into one of the more prestigious universities. So, yeah. It's not just about the recognition of your pre-uni qualification, it's also about how the universities regard it in comparison with A levels.
Cheers.
19-01-2009, 09:11 AM
There is nothing to suffer in A levels. The key to success (for A levels) is to work hard and do as much work as possible. It is like SPM all over again but for more relevant subjects if I may say.
jimmytan9844
09-06-2009, 03:59 PM
hi guys,
im going for ICPU in Taylor and i would lk to ask which sub should i included in my study if i wan to b mechanical engineer. thnx in advanx
heffalump
09-06-2009, 06:41 PM
hey.. are u a scholar?
if you are, then dont worry the subject is chosen for u.
namely english 3u (not included in ur final average), english 4u, chemistry, physics, advanced functions, calculus & vector, computer science or business & leadership (for these two, icpu office will choose for u but u can always change in the 1st few weeks of the semester..if you are interested in computer programming,java and etc computer science will certainly help to boost ur marks but i heard businees & leadership is quite fun too except for the fact that loads of case studies waiting) happy choosing! =D
jimmytan9844
11-06-2009, 12:00 PM
thnk you heffalump and yes i am.
may i ask u few question?
1. pls tell me da difference btw eng3u and eng4u
2.for advanced functions and calculus&vector, is MS-570 enough to solve da ques? do i nd a graphing calc?
3. in your opinion, is case studies a vry hard thng to learn and earn marks?
4. Do we need to pay for TOELF or IELTS ? or jpa will cover it for us?
5. when i enter taylor, hw much money should i bring along?( Coz in da letter, it's nt state very clear abt da registration fee and rental fee)
Thnx in advance!!
davidchak
11-06-2009, 03:25 PM
1)think of 3U as form 4 english and 4U as form 5 english. THe one thats important will be 4U English (you score for that in SPM)
2) You will need a graphing calculator
3) Depends on your interest, but it is very interesting for case studies. You learnt alot more in case studies
4) JPA will cover the bill
5)I think about 500 ringgit for accomodation deposits. (cant really remember...2 years aldi xD)
heffalump
11-06-2009, 08:55 PM
thanks davidchak! and ur welcome jimmytan9844
1) yeap, 3u is like one level lower than 4u but they are more about english literature.
2) as i mentioned before, u will need a graphing calculator and u'll get it for free! =D
3) erm..i didn't take business so i do not have any experience about it but according to my friend, case studies enhance your research skill. in terms of marks, it depends on ur ability to apply your knowledge of your lessons in class.
4)credits to davidchak =D
5)erm..to be exact it's rm650. but i suggest that you should bring more because you will need extra money esp to buy books...our allowances were not in till the 2nd month of our stay in subang =(
jimmytan9844
12-06-2009, 02:16 PM
hermmm.....
if my dream is to b a mechanical engineer
which 1 of da subs (computer science or business) wil help me most?
thnx
norelle-kimi
28-06-2009, 12:34 PM
hi there.
my major will be Veterinary Medicine..any advice for me?
btwy, my subject combinations are Phy, Chem, Bio, Data Mngmnt, Calculus and Eng.
just wanna know, how often do we need 2 do presentations?
once a week? (must wear formal?)
till your reply.
Scrmath
28-06-2009, 12:54 PM
hi there.
my major will be Veterinary Medicine..any advice for me?
btwy, my subject combinations are Phy, Chem, Bio, Data Mngmnt, Calculus and Eng.
just wanna know, how often do we need 2 do presentations?
once a week? (must wear formal?)
till your reply.
hehe i m not the senior,but i know that u no nid to wear formal when u present sth..as long as your attire did not sore the tcher's eyes..
ericthegreat
21-11-2009, 04:01 PM
do anyone take 3 semester in ICPU?.........is it better? Taylors advice me to take 3 semester in Mathematics subject.......but what about the other subjects?.......how is the fee?.........and what subject should i take in ICPU to study civil engineering in future?..............help pls!!!!!!!!!!!:cry