View Full Version : UEFA Euro 2008

Caprio
08-06-2008, 09:34 PM
This will be the thread for recommers to discuss anything and everything about UEFA Euro 2008. Share here which team you support and why.:)

Happy sharing and enjoy. :P

megatfais
09-06-2008, 12:23 AM
the first game was a total boredom.and swiss was unlucky not to get a point.poor frei,he got injured and now hes out of the tournament.he even cried.i cant wait for the holland vs italy match.its so gona be fun.

schem
09-06-2008, 12:43 AM
germany!! i'm staying up to see the match..huahuahua...

megatfais
09-06-2008, 12:53 AM
yeah m staying up too.but my eyes are getting heavier tho.

09-06-2008, 12:58 AM
yeah m staying up too.but my eyes are getting heavier tho.You should have a good nap in the afternoon to store energy for the match. I used to like soccer a lot, but lost the passion two years ago (Still wondering why...) I do still follow results of matches and tournaments, but no longer have the driving force to stay till midnight to watch soccer match live...

megatfais
09-06-2008, 01:31 AM
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......i dun think i can stay up for another 1 hour and 15 mins to watch d germany vs poland game.soooooooo sleepy...

09-06-2008, 09:02 AM
so far, i got a feeling that many Malaysians are actually supporting England. Rooney, Beckham, Owen, Gerard, you name it. Everyone here knows who are those. Since England is not in Euro 2008, it seems to me that there is not much thrill left in this competition. However, I got to admit. i am an England fan too. Since they are out of Euro 2008, I don't really watch the football match. If I can wake up, I watch. If my body tells me no, it means no.

09-06-2008, 09:29 AM
eh, England 's performance nowadays is sux la.. Hope that Capello will change the situation..

btw, hooray for Germany and Croatia..Can't wait to watch France tonight

09-06-2008, 10:09 AM
eh, England 's performance nowadays is sux la.. Hope that Capello will change the situation..

btw, hooray for Germany and Croatia..Can't wait to watch France tonight

yep. England is playing like school boys. They seem to be giving more commitment to their respective clubs compared to their country. Well, this Euro 2008, I am hoping to see Portugal, France, Netherlands and Republic Czech to fill the semi-final spot.

09-06-2008, 10:19 AM
No Italy? Cannot be la..

09-06-2008, 10:33 AM
No Italy? Cannot be la..

Italy is good but to pick between Italy, France and the Dutch-since the three are in the same group stage- i will have to go for France and Netherlands. Italy is good. But not good enough right now. They lack of young talents like Alberto Gilardino. All they do is fill the squad with old players-with experience- like Gattuso, Buffon, Andrea Pirlo and so on. To be able to win, you have to have young bloods like what Man Utd did. Ronaldo, Rooney, Tevez are nurturing and at the same time with Giggs, Scholes and Neville's experience, it has become a formidable squad. The key point about having old players is, once they injured, they will be most likely out for the whole tournament. Their body can't take as much strain like it used to, unlike young players who can heal faster and play a fast-pace game longer.

09-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Italy is good but to pick between Italy, France and the Dutch-since the three are in the same group stage- i will have to go for France and Netherlands. Italy is good. But not good enough right now. They lack of young talents like Alberto Gilardino. All they do is fill the squad with old players-with experience- like Gattuso, Buffon, Andrea Pirlo and so on. To be able to win, you have to have young bloods like what Man Utd did. Ronaldo, Rooney, Tevez are nurturing and at the same time with Giggs, Scholes and Neville's experience, it has become a formidable squad. The key point about having old players is, once they injured, they will be most likely out for the whole tournament. Their body can't take as much strain like it used to, unlike young players who can heal faster and play a fast-pace game longer.
Eh, France 's squad also like that ma.. All are veteran players...Very few youngsters only, like Benzema, Gomis, Ribery.. Others are old players.. In the recent matches, France's performance is not that satisfied..

Kiwidudi
09-06-2008, 11:08 AM
spain will do well dis year~!:P

09-06-2008, 11:15 AM
spain will do well dis year~!:PTorres rox...He had a fantastic season in Liverpool... Foreign top scorer in EPL..

teiya_drumzaddict
09-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Torres rox...He had a fantastic season in Liverpool... Foreign top scorer in EPL..

Agreed dat he rox... no objections. 'nuff said. lol but i think isnt cr the top scorer? n he's a foreigner..

megatfais
09-06-2008, 11:42 AM
for this campaign,m hoping to see more from spain.spain is blessed with a number of good players but yet they havent produced their best football so far.

on the other hand,group C matches are really2 interesting to watch.i would love to see which teams are gona get thru to the quater finals.italy,holland and france are all fantastic teams.but its football.anything can happen.and romania shudnt be counted off too.

i must admit that ive been a huge fan of england.and its rather disappointing not to see rooney,gerrard,lampard and co to perform during euro 08.and yeah hopefully capello can turn things around.

Sh3ng
09-06-2008, 07:13 PM
Agreed dat he rox... no objections. 'nuff said. lol but i think isnt cr the top scorer? n he's a foreigner..

i see... Cristiano Ronaldo is indeed the top scorer in Barclays Premier League, c. ron is a foreigner too , but he has spent a few years in premeir league. Fernando Torres is different, he manages to score 20+ goals in his first season debut in Liverpool, so he's the top scorer for the foreign players.... :)

anyway, i will go for the Netherlands as england has been out for the euro 2008....

09-06-2008, 08:21 PM
Eh, France 's squad also like that ma.. All are veteran players...Very few youngsters only, like Benzema, Gomis, Ribery.. Others are old players.. In the recent matches, France's performance is not that satisfied..

i agree with the fact that France has little young stars but as i said earlier, a mixture of young and old is needed. That is what France are doing with the blend of Ribery, Benzema and a touch of class by Henry.. it is perfecto!! compared to Italy who put all veterans on the field. It's just not right.

i see... Cristiano Ronaldo is indeed the top scorer in Barclays Premier League, c. ron is a foreigner too , but he has spent a few years in premeir league. Fernando Torres is different, he manages to score 20+ goals in his first season debut in Liverpool, so he's the top scorer for the foreign players.... :)

anyway, i will go for the Netherlands as england has been out for the euro 2008....

Torres is good but as the year pass by, you have to understand that EPL is a fast-growing game. Defenders will quickly learn how to mark Torres and this will cause him to score less goals.. Just to tell you though.. out of 23 goals in the Premier League, Torres scored 21 of them in Anfield. Spectacular at home, but rubbish away.-heh heh, sorry for usin' the word rubbish.. wana learn from Piers Morgan-

09-06-2008, 08:25 PM
surprisingly, turkey was not as bad as i thought... turkey's performance was ok... however, we can neglect it now since it lost... who's going to watch tonight??? italy vs netherland...

09-06-2008, 08:27 PM
surprisingly, turkey was not as bad as i thought... turkey's performance was ok... however, we can neglect it now since it lost... who's going to watch tonight??? italy vs netherland...

Count me in. 2.45 am. Verdict.. erm.. tough call... 2-1 to the Netherlands. Danger man : Wesley Sneijder.

Leon
09-06-2008, 08:32 PM
I support Holland. However, I think that either germany or portugal will win this cup. Hope Holland will beat world cup champion this midnight ha ha!!!

09-06-2008, 08:32 PM
me me.. Sneijder is superb.. His performance in Real Madrid this season is FANTASTIC.. He can able to score via free kick and long range shot.. he can also play as second striker...

silent_man
09-06-2008, 08:57 PM
yeah..i bought a portugal shirt, bt i'm supporting holland..go oranje! :)

megatfais
09-06-2008, 09:34 PM
bah m gona try my best to stay up till 2.45 this morning.din manage to do it last nite.haha.holland vs italy.a must watch game.

09-06-2008, 09:43 PM
Portugal just defeated Holland in the previous world cup and euro 2004.. Both goals are scored by Maniche..

huhu...

princessanicole
09-06-2008, 10:07 PM
bah m gona try my best to stay up till 2.45 this morning.din manage to do it last nite.haha.holland vs italy.a must watch game.

I support Germany, but yeah, can't wait for holland vs italy. i think italy will win but i have faith in Van Persie

megatfais
09-06-2008, 10:34 PM
i tot van persie wont be in the starting line up?

vaanbalthier
09-06-2008, 10:41 PM
lol, no england means tis will be a boring cup, sigh. dunno who to support, lol

09-06-2008, 10:42 PM
i tot van persie wont be in the starting line up?
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/preview?id=232261&cc=4716

He is expected to miss the match..

schem
09-06-2008, 10:45 PM
germany's gonna win the cup laa...

princessanicole
09-06-2008, 10:45 PM
maybe he'll be miraculously healed?

megatfais
09-06-2008, 11:17 PM
haha.i would love to see van der vaart,robben,persie,sneijder,nistelrooy to start.and babel too.and huntelaar.

edited: ok my bad.babel is out of the tournament.

10-06-2008, 03:22 AM
walau, italy losing...

d3stinydanc3withm3
10-06-2008, 04:21 AM
kekeke world champions konon

10-06-2008, 06:48 AM
the fact is that without Nesta and Cannavaro at the back line, the Italian defence seems pretty shaky.. but then it was quite a balanced game with Edwin v.d. Sarr making a couple of miraculous save.. surprising.

Oh yeah.. and remember me saying Sneijder as MOM, well, he proved to be one this morning!

Leon
10-06-2008, 10:53 AM
Ha ha so happy to see Holland beat Italy after 30 years!!! They have break the curse hehe.......

megatfais
10-06-2008, 11:15 AM
lol.it was a fantastic game.the italians were totally outplayed towards the end.the oranje started off at real slow pace,moving the ball around their own area,which really bored me off.yeah,the first goal was obviously the turning point.after that holland started to be more aggresive and moved forward more with sneijder,being damn effective.there were a few oustanding players which i can name out:

sneijder-the second goal was brilliant.how did he manage to get a shot from that angle.wat a player he is.over all performance was great,he controlled the midfield area,definitely a player to watch throughout this campaign.

van Bronckhorst-i love his cross which found kuyt,that led to the second goal.in fact he was the one who cleared the ball off the line for holland.but yet he surged forward and picked up kuyt at the end of the other side with a wonderful cross.and of course,its wonderful to see a defender scoring.he was solid at the back line,and has deadly eyes for open spaces.

dirk kuyt-didnt score,but contributed to the second and third goal.

credit to the holland team.they worked as a team,and got the result that they wanted.

maybe he'll be miraculously healed?

well yeah.persie did play.

10-06-2008, 09:30 PM
No Italy? Cannot be la..

no seems like it can be... italy's performance was freaking sucks!!! 3-0!!! i cant believe it... it used to be such a strong team... the coach's expression during the second half was telling that he gave up... netherland was so aggresive...

cyther90
10-06-2008, 09:59 PM
Hurm..i hate watching Italy matches...they always using defensive approach...not much action to watch...:notrust

Salute Holland for performing a fantastic game last night...:amuse

10-06-2008, 10:10 PM
Italian games are always defensive. That is their key to victory. However, last night, the three goals scored are not really Buffon's mistake. The defenders are not playing their role.. that's why.. If u watch u can see Buffon making spectacular saves from van Nistelrooy and cos.. the only weakness is the defence.. They lack of the Cannavaro-Nesta presence.

cyther90
10-06-2008, 10:19 PM
Hmm they lack of new young excellent defender...Italy hoped too much on Cannavaro and Nesta...when both legendary defenders are injured, not many can fill up the place and play as good as the legendary 2...

Beatles
10-06-2008, 11:58 PM
Netherlands is the best! So superb the way they play, really fantastic. I thought their defence are a little bit weak but that's not the case when they play against Italy.

teiya_drumzaddict
12-06-2008, 12:05 AM
but i think germany will win this for sure. I must say netherland stands a great chance to win this but of course I want germany to win. they've strong line-ups. and their performance during qualifiers were marvellous. I'm looking forward for their upcoming matches. but group C's matches excite me most. Can't wait for france vs Italy on 17th!

schem
12-06-2008, 12:09 AM
portugal vs czech...... portugal sure will win..heh

teiya_drumzaddict
12-06-2008, 12:28 AM
lol.. czech just even out the score a few mins ago... but fingers crossed porto will win.. heheh

ricochet
12-06-2008, 01:35 PM
OBJECTIVELY, i think Portugal and Netherlands has the edge to advance into the semi-finals. That is, based on their current performance.

12-06-2008, 01:38 PM
Ronaldo rox...He created 2 goals, 1 scored by him, another 1 assist..

cyther90
12-06-2008, 02:06 PM
As expected from the number one football player in the world...

abuzar
12-06-2008, 02:17 PM
final:germany vs france..... france will WIN

12-06-2008, 02:21 PM
final:germany vs france..... france will WINWhy are you so sure? I don't think France is strong enough to reach that stage..

cyther90
12-06-2008, 02:22 PM
Germany for me~~:P

abuzar
12-06-2008, 02:25 PM
coz....i LOVE france.the players are humble.spain fans booed them as monkeys in last world cup aand the france team responded by defeating the team.besides,frank ribery is a very good player.Go le blues

princessanicole
12-06-2008, 02:25 PM
final:germany vs france..... france will WIN

GERMANY WILL WIN!!!

cyther90
12-06-2008, 02:28 PM
coz....i LOVE france.the players are humble.spain fans booed them as monkeys in last world cup aand the france team responded by defeating the team.besides,frank ribery is a very good player.Go le blues

Yeah Ribery is one of the rising stars...very fast pace indeed...:amuse

abuzar
12-06-2008, 02:32 PM
its only that he does not have enough media coverage.maybe because he plays outside EPL or does not have a very good look.

cyther90
12-06-2008, 02:38 PM
Heh...he got a scar on his face...anyway, I heard that he's a muslim...dunno wether it's true or not...

Aside from germany, I think that portugal have the chance to challenge for the EURO title this year...based on their last 2 games...

12-06-2008, 02:38 PM
its only that he does not have enough media coverage.maybe because he plays outside EPL or does not have a very good look.
He has a big scar on his face..But his football skills are fantastic..

We can't judge a book by its cover..

abuzar
12-06-2008, 02:40 PM
exactly and by race and religion

teiya_drumzaddict
12-06-2008, 03:11 PM
Why are you so sure? I don't think France is strong enough to reach that stage..

Well Germany is!! lol =p

megatfais
12-06-2008, 03:39 PM
Heh...he got a scar on his face...anyway, I heard that he's a muslim...dunno wether it's true or not...

Aside from germany, I think that portugal have the chance to challenge for the EURO title this year...based on their last 2 games...

yeah he is.i think anelka is a muslim too.and persie.

Leon
12-06-2008, 03:45 PM
Anelka, Ribery nad Benzima are muslims. They will pray before a mtach starts. I watched the match of Czech against portugal. Ronaldo was the hero again, yeah hope he is not leaving MU!!!

megatfais
12-06-2008, 03:48 PM
i dun give a damn if ron leaves.i know hes good but MU will still win trophies even without that lad.but hopefully he stays.MU is a great team.he will get even better when playing under SAF.i wonder how is he going to play without the supports from rooney,scholes and co.seriously those guys are responsible for wat ron is now.

crixerity
12-06-2008, 06:45 PM
Anelka, Ribery nad Benzima are muslims. They will pray before a mtach starts. !

there r 9 muslims in france team..

ribery,anelka,henry,persie,abidal,samir nasri,karim benzema and blablabla...

tonight must watch game..germany vs croatia..haha
wanna germany to win...because i had so many, germany player in fantasy euro..
poland player olso..
so i wanna poland to win..haha

12-06-2008, 07:23 PM
I see Netherlands and Portugal in the final.. or one of them at least.

ricochet
12-06-2008, 07:33 PM
ITALY is going to have a big "Italian job" ahead of them for the next 2 matches in the GROUP OF DEATH. Surely it will only get more interesting?
SPAIN might get through to the finals this time around although they often dissapoint in major matches.

12-06-2008, 07:37 PM
ITALY is going to have a big "Italian job" ahead of them for the next 2 matches in the GROUP OF DEATH. Surely it will only get more interesting?
SPAIN might get through to the finals this time around although they often dissapoint at major matches.

Spain can play two ways. First, they can play like champions. The second, they can play like tey've never kicked a ball before. Don't think you sould put all your life savings on this Spanish squad.. but i gotta admit.. Arogorn's decision to leave Raul Gonzalez out seems to be paying off.. well, so far.. at least..

crixerity
13-06-2008, 02:20 AM
huhu...wadda...germany loz to croatia n ballack yellow card??
haiz....
my points drops....

any recommers play fantasy euro???

13-06-2008, 11:52 AM
Muahaha........ germany lost 2-1.......

Leon
13-06-2008, 12:28 PM
I thought germany could beat croatia haiz......However, Croatia did really ply well during the match.

13-06-2008, 12:39 PM
me too... i put kinda high hope on germany...

cyther90
13-06-2008, 12:41 PM
Crotia played really well last night...well, Germany took Croatia lightly maybe...

megatfais
13-06-2008, 03:50 PM
haha.i looooove upsets! :amuse

teiya_drumzaddict
13-06-2008, 05:07 PM
haha.i looooove upsets! :amuse

whoaa... u only say that coz england didn't make it to finals... of course u love upsets.. thanks though... u really make me feel better. england's out earlier... so u got upset earlier n now ur saying diz... of coz people, there's nothing better than first hand experience.. i feel better now haiz thanks so much..:rolleyes:

cyther90
14-06-2008, 02:39 PM
Hmm...Netherlands surely played like a champion last night...:amazed

Arjen Robben amazed me to no end....:nuts

14-06-2008, 03:02 PM
tis yr either portugal or netherlands shall win... both playing very well so far.....

14-06-2008, 03:04 PM
I wonder whether Netherlands will lose to Romania purposely in the last match, in order to bump out France and Italy, just like what Denmark and Sweden did during last tournament...

14-06-2008, 03:22 PM
Can't wait for the battle between 2 world cup finalists..

14-06-2008, 03:40 PM
Can't wait for the battle between 2 world cup finalists..It would be funny to see World Cup champion and runner-up knocked out together in the first round of EURO... Perhaps one of the biggest upsets...

14-06-2008, 03:57 PM
It would be funny to see World Cup champion and runner-up knocked out together in the first round of EURO... Perhaps one of the biggest upsets...
Will Netherlands do that to them?

I predict the match between France and Italy will be another penalties kickout..Just like Worldcup 2006 Final

14-06-2008, 03:57 PM
without zidanne france is nth i would say.....

Caprio
14-06-2008, 04:03 PM
Wow, this thread is growing so rapidly.

Which team do you guys think will be the champion?

Netherland is not bad!:)

14-06-2008, 04:06 PM
without zidanne france is nth i would say.....
sort of.. in 2006, France gt Zidane.. Now no more..

ricochet
14-06-2008, 04:10 PM
It would be funny to see World Cup champion and runner-up knocked out together in the first round of EURO... Perhaps one of the biggest upsets...
Ya, you can say that again.

14-06-2008, 04:12 PM
actually i would like to c italy in action in the quater final.... their defend sux, bt their keeper is jz so cool, though oliver kahn is still the better keeper....

14-06-2008, 04:23 PM
actually i would like to c italy in action in the quater final.... their defend sux, bt their keeper is jz so cool, though oliver kahn is still the better keeper....

Buffon managed to save Mutu's penalty? he was just lucky..Mutu's penalty was actually not a good 1, straight to the keeper..

BTW, he is still a good keeper, not the best yet..

ricochet
14-06-2008, 04:24 PM
Group C aka Group of Death doesn't seem to affect Netherlands at all but for France and Italy, well you can call it a disaster for them. My prediction: Netherlands to advance to the finals....

14-06-2008, 04:30 PM
Will Netherlands do that to them?

I predict the match between France and Italy will be another penalties kickout..Just like Worldcup 2006 FinalStrategically they will... Knocking out two strong teams in early round might leave them facing less threatening teams in later stages... Teams from same group might still meet again in semi finals... Furthermore, they have secured the spot in quarter finals as group winner, they should have nothing to lose even if they're beaten by Romania. By the way, penalty shootout might only occur in the situation where France and Italy draw their match while Romania loses by 3-goal margin to Netherlands.

megatfais
14-06-2008, 04:41 PM
Buffon managed to save Mutu's penalty? he was just lucky..Mutu's penalty was actually not a good 1, straight to the keeper..

BTW, he is still a good keeper, not the best yet..

buffon was lucky.and mutu's penalty kick was too obvious.he shud have sent italy packing.credit to buffon for the save tho.and mutu did an excellent finish for the first goal.

ricochet
14-06-2008, 04:41 PM
Till the end, it still depends on what is on Marco van Basten's mind :P

14-06-2008, 04:46 PM
Till the end, it still depends on what is on Marco van Basten's mind :P
I think a draw will be a better option.. I am sure that he doesn't want to lose, but he also wants to kick out both France and Italy..

Now, Italy and France has 1 point m while Romania 2 points.
Let say Italy and France drew, a draw for Romania will make them advance to quarter final ..

14-06-2008, 05:06 PM

England has the best players in the world. They shine at their clubs, but they just don't have team chemistry when they play together (i.e. Gerrard & Lampard). :(

15-06-2008, 08:32 AM
England has the best players in the world. They shine at their clubs, but they just don't have team chemistry when they play together (i.e. Gerrard & Lampard). :(

Agreed. So if that's the case I reckon they play Hargreaves + Lampard at midfield or Carrick + Gerrard or better still Carrick + Hargreaves. However, this never happens as the manager doesn't want to waste gerard and Lampard's talents.

15-06-2008, 12:23 PM
Now defending champion, Greece is out, then either World Cup champion or runner-up or both will join them.... Who's next?

15-06-2008, 04:23 PM
Gosh, seems like the Dutch and Spaniards are unstoppable. :lol

alepbing
15-06-2008, 04:30 PM
romania romania romania lol

cyther90
15-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Three best teams for me:

Germany : late bloomer I think...

Dutch : hmm...has been playing like a champion from the very beginning...

Portugal : strong individual skill...played well as a team...

The teams that disappoint me this year:

France : the strikers have been less effective than before...

Spain : for me, they failed when playing as a team...last night was a nightmare to watch them...simple passes also miss???

16-06-2008, 01:00 AM
Gosh, seems like the Dutch and Spaniards are unstoppable. :lolDon't be too excited with Spain for now... They always perform well in the first round, and then never reach the end... Just check out the previous EURO and World Cup...

16-06-2008, 07:44 AM
Well, I don't think Spain can win this year's tournament though I gotta admit that David Villa possesses superb skills which are hard to match compared to many other strikers. But I think Portugal vs Netherlands will be the final. we shall see. Both teams are in superb form and I guess Netherlands will be champions this time around. My favorite player so far is:
(1) Wesley Sneijder
(2) Arjen Robben
(3) Christiano Ronaldo
(4) M. V. Bronckust-not sure spelling right or nt.. the dutch defender
(5) D. Villa

megatfais
16-06-2008, 12:58 PM
harhar.poor cech.of all those goalkeepers he was the one who fumbled the ball and gave away a goal.3-2 a win for turkey.what a drama it was.

16-06-2008, 01:45 PM
Another power house bowed out... Of EURO 2004 semi-finalists, the champion, Greece and semi-finalist, Czech Republic are out, while runner-up, Portugal and another semi-finalist Netherlands are in... Who's next? Now all the World Cup 2006 champion, runner-up and second runner-up are facing early exit threats... More upsets to come? Just wait and see...

16-06-2008, 05:48 PM
i couldn't understand 1 thing, y milan baros was given yellow card at almost end of the match? wat did he do?

megatfais
17-06-2008, 12:47 AM
harhar.that incident was funny.lol.i guess the ref must have felt provoked by him.

alepbing
17-06-2008, 12:57 AM
romania and sweden! underdogs! lol

cyther90
17-06-2008, 01:05 AM
Germany will win~~~go go~~

17-06-2008, 01:18 AM
wanna c crotia perform tonite....

18-06-2008, 10:25 AM
At least it didn't happen... Two interesting quarter final matches: Portugal vs Germany and Spain vs Italy...

18-06-2008, 11:23 AM
Haha!! France lost. How can they beat Italy with 10 men anyway!

20-06-2008, 10:39 AM
There goes Portugal...

silent_man
20-06-2008, 10:55 AM
forget portugal..here comes holland!

20-06-2008, 11:34 AM
I din watch yesterday, stpd malaysian tv din broadcast it, n i dun hav astro TnT

princessanicole
20-06-2008, 11:41 AM
germany wins, 3-2, if i'm not mistaken

20-06-2008, 01:45 PM
germany wins, 3-2, if i'm not mistakenYea, Portugal is gone

qdfb
20-06-2008, 02:11 PM
Aiyaa...Portugal gone..I was so hoping dat a miracle would happen in da last minute dat some1 frm Portugal would scored a goal..It would b marvalous esp if Cristiano scored n would either end in xtra time or penalty..EURO is so no fun without Cristiano Ronaldo..Gonna miss Portugal n Luis Felipe Scolari coaching skills whose goin off 2 Chelsea..Well, all da best 2 Netherlands who r da hot favourites 4 now..Dey plat total football n dats really good..Wat else can I say bout a team dats coached by Marco Van Basten...But still da mood 4 EURO is gone bcz of Portugal's departure...Miss u Cristiano:cry

cyther90
20-06-2008, 05:26 PM
Germany have stronger player in term of strength...Pity Bosingwa...pushed away like a little kid by Podolski when Podolski was trying to do crossball...The 3rd goal also the same...Ballack was like a tank...no one can stop him easily...:P

German defenders were amazing last night...they got Ronaldo marked very well...:amuse

The man of the match for me is Bastian Schweinsteiger...1 goal and 2 assists...excellent play...:nod

alepbing
20-06-2008, 05:36 PM
YAY. at last of of the teams i support get into semi... after france and sweden lost, at least germany cheered me up gahaha

megatfais
20-06-2008, 10:23 PM
bohoo.good job germany.i hate ronaldo.haha.

teiya_drumzaddict
20-06-2008, 11:23 PM
bohoo.good job germany.i hate ronaldo.haha.

lol. talk about the "greatest player in the world" - planeta ronaldo. wonder wat happened.:amuse

cyther90
20-06-2008, 11:56 PM
Even if he's the greatest player in the world, football is about teamwork:nod...Although I like his dribbling skill and fast pace, but I hate if a player like him who have dribbling skill, doesn't pass much...always want to score himself...and failed at scoring...:notrust

21-06-2008, 05:35 AM
now turkey will meet germany in semi-final.... btw, crotia did play reli well, jz tat luck wasn't at their side....

21-06-2008, 06:40 AM
now turkey will meet germany in semi-final.... btw, crotia did play reli well, jz tat luck wasn't at their side....

Why do i get a feeling that the turks can win against germany.

HoLmEs_90
21-06-2008, 10:17 AM
hahaha...did u guys see ballack pushed ferreira's back to head the ball n scored??i think portugal should b given a free kick for dat foul but i guess the referee didn't noticed about it....lol.....
anyway,the portuguese deserve 2 b punished bcoz of their lack of finishing in front of goal.......e.g:moutinho n pepe......if they have scored n converted their chances into goal(s),mayb portugal could win that match or go 4 extra time n penalty-shoot-out......but,kudos to the German bcoz they fought really hard n paid off.....

alepbing
21-06-2008, 11:18 AM
GAH! told my friend turks are going to semi. he said NO WAY, croats will. but turned out im correct, i should have bet our fingers.. so i can cut his now nyiahaha. but now for sure germany masuk final, they will kick turkey's A*S! haha

cyther90
21-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Yes...Turks won!!! But against Germany, I don't think that the turks will win...I guess final will be between Germany and Netherland...

21-06-2008, 02:04 PM
Did anyone notice? Two group winners are down... How about Netherlands and Spain....?

cyther90
21-06-2008, 03:29 PM
Hmm now only I noticed...Portugal and croatia are down...This year EURO is quite unpredictable...many surprises...

21-06-2008, 08:23 PM
Croatia shud've won yesterday, very kesian... The turkish is jz like destined to win.... 2 of its recent match end up dramatically....

cyther90
21-06-2008, 08:31 PM
However...from my point of view, I think that Croats and Turks are level in term of their performance last night...I was really surprised that Turks can handle Croats...Lucky...very lucky...

trojan209
22-06-2008, 06:45 AM
3 group winner are down and spain is going to be the next victim....i hope the final is going to be turkey vs russia.....

alepbing
22-06-2008, 09:56 AM
holy crap! holland lost. my god. final must be germany vs russia i think hehe. because i hahahahate italy :P

germany vs russia aka former nazi vs former communist nyiahaha

22-06-2008, 10:04 AM
3 group winner are down and spain is going to be the next victim....i hope the final is going to be turkey vs russia.....Will Spain fall to the group winner curse too? Wait and see... If the final is dark horse vs dark horse, it's going to be interesting... Will it be another Greece or Denmark? Somehow there is a reason for England to be out of EURO 2008, at least Croatia reached quarter finals before losing out on penalty shootout and Russia is in semi-finals... If England is in, could they?

cyther90
22-06-2008, 10:42 AM
UGh....I cannot believe that Holland lost to Russia...Tactical play really helped Russia to overcome mighty Holland...

IMO, Spain will lost to Italy eventho i hate Italian playing style...

zulcomel
22-06-2008, 10:52 AM
wat??
holland lost!!!!(i slept after 10min of playing)
sob sob sob...T___T
very sdey larr..

cyther90
22-06-2008, 11:33 AM
Zul, what now? You will support which team? I'll go for Germany...

zulcomel
22-06-2008, 12:27 PM
Zul, what now? You will support which team? I'll go for Germany...

holland is the one n only..:cry
nt going 2 support other teams..
btw, i can sleep early during d MMS week..:P

22-06-2008, 03:30 PM
I still cnt blif holland jz gone like tis......

jingying
22-06-2008, 03:36 PM
I still cnt blif holland jz gone like tis......

This is a fact now.just accept it :nod

Leen
23-06-2008, 07:45 AM
Spain won against Italy from penalty! Go Catalans!!
They were tied 0-0 for the entire time but penalty determined the winner. Spain advanced to the semi final with a 4-2 win on penalty against World Cup winner, Italy.

*not a Spain supporter in any sense.*

23-06-2008, 08:02 AM
So, the second semi final will be the repeat of first match of Group D, where the Polar Bears was thrashed 1-4 by the Catalans... However, I don't think it's not going to be the same again, at least for the scoreline... Don't look down on the Russians, they have dumped out Netherlands in quarter final...

minic00per
23-06-2008, 10:53 AM
seems like the top team in group all lost....

Even if he's the greatest player in the world, football is about teamwork:nod...Although I like his dribbling skill and fast pace, but I hate if a player like him who have dribbling skill, doesn't pass much...always want to score himself...and failed at scoring...:notrust

he also help his mate wut...

chenjun1128
23-06-2008, 12:02 PM
I totally agree..football victory depends more on team work than individual skill..England has soo many individual talents..but when u put them together in a team, they hardly ever become champion..I was very impressed by russia's performance..too bad Turkey equalized them on the very last minute..and then pwned russia in penalty..

cyther90
23-06-2008, 12:28 PM
I totally agree..football victory depends more on team work than individual skill..England has soo many individual talents..but when u put them together in a team, they hardly ever become champion..I was very impressed by russia's performance..too bad Turkey equalized them on the very last minute..and then pwned russia in penalty..
I think it should be Croatia...:P

chenjun1128
23-06-2008, 01:06 PM
OOPs yeah croatia thanx for the correction..

23-06-2008, 01:08 PM
Spain won.. barely but they pulled it off.. miracle.. So, I guess I have to support Spain to win it this time since ORanje are knocked out

alepbing
23-06-2008, 02:25 PM

eyh, since when turks vs russia one?

zomg. now stalins vs catalans. i am so happy that the italians lost nyiahaha. i hate them, maybe because france lost to them last yer :P i think the final will be the nazis vs stalins. it will be fun XDXD

chenjun1128
23-06-2008, 02:31 PM
croatia, not russia, sorry..

Yes, most likely nazis vs stalins..

Beatles
23-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Semi finalists:
1) Germany - Probable champion! Ballack is the best! Need to beef up the defence though..
2) Turkey - Can't understimate them..
3) Russia - Probably play the most beautiful football among the 4 teams! Flowing and strong in attacking! The new total football??? XD
4) Spain - Won't win 4-1 against Russia anymore.. Casillas is brilliant!

Yeah, I agree nazis vs stalins!!!

23-06-2008, 03:41 PM
i like Ballack too!!! yea, really cant underestimate Turkey... i never thought of Turkey would come so far... Russia too...

chenjun1128
23-06-2008, 07:53 PM
Yeah, Ballack is one of my fav football players..the "German tank"..he is so good at long distance shots..

cyther90
23-06-2008, 10:56 PM
You can always feel Ballack's presence on the field...very charismatic leader...

silent_man
23-06-2008, 11:34 PM
I do think the dutch deserved to go on at least to the semis..What a pity they came undone to russia..

24-06-2008, 01:17 PM
Rank the team you hope to win the Cup!
For me,
1. Germany
2. Spain
3. Russia
4. Turkey (Sorry, I think your luck will run out soon...)

alepbing
24-06-2008, 01:32 PM
mine will be

1.german/russia

3. turkey
4. spain

24-06-2008, 01:46 PM
Turkey will probably be the Greece of 2004. :D

cyther90
24-06-2008, 08:24 PM
German or Russia for the title...I'm more into German..

alepbing
24-06-2008, 08:34 PM
German or Russia for the title...I'm more into German..

HIGHFIVE! :D

megatfais
24-06-2008, 10:27 PM
i say german and spain to be in the final.but yeah,im looking forward for more upsets.

trojan209
27-06-2008, 01:43 AM
it was so ironic to see the turks, the comback kings suffered the comeback from germans...

the taste of their own medicine....

27-06-2008, 02:10 AM
Tat german pig is cool.... Schweinsteiger, in english means "pig climber".....

alepbing
27-06-2008, 01:03 PM
T.T russia lost 3-0

cyther90
27-06-2008, 02:24 PM
Good...now can see 2 giants if football fight 1-on-1...gonna be a tight match I guess...anyway, GERMAN !!!

princessanicole
27-06-2008, 03:05 PM
Germany!!!

megatfais
27-06-2008, 03:17 PM
if you have watched both semi finals,it is rather obvious that spain played better than germany.i think spain shall prevail,should they maintain their performance as what they did this morning.it was a terrific performance by the spaniards,nice through balls and slick passings.germany versus spain is going to be a great game.

and fabregas really deserves a starting place.he was exceptional against russia.

Leen
30-06-2008, 03:50 AM
Spain is leading Germany 1-0 after the first half of the game. The single goal is scored by Liverpool striker, Fernando Torres. It is a great game so far with Germany doing very well in the first few minutes of the game and holding off Spain for most of the time despite losing Ballack twice in the game. Spain is really firing off by creating around 5 chances compare to Germany (two). It's going to be more interesting from here on. Let's see if Germany is able to make a comeback!

30-06-2008, 04:43 AM
Spain's The Champ!!!

Leen
30-06-2008, 07:48 AM
Yep. That's correct. Turns out, that one goal from the first half is the only goal been scored in this match. Final result Spain 1 Germany 0.

alepbing
30-06-2008, 01:32 PM
T.T *mourns after germany lost*

lehman is great