View Full Version : IPTA 2008/2009 (post-STPM/matric students)

17-06-2008, 01:34 PM
I find it weird that no one else had created a thread on this. Where did all the STPM 2007 students go?

But anyway, according to The Star, our IPTA results should be out by tomorrow. Link here:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/13/nation/21537733&sec=nation

Let's hope all of us get the course that we want, yeah?:confetti

kaichew
17-06-2008, 06:16 PM
You can check your IPTA's application status by sending SMS UPU Identification Number/MyKad and send it to 32020/ 33310/ 32300. Each sms will be charged RM0.50- RM0.60.

RM0.50.
??????-??-????
STPM/SETARAF:
Borang permohonan anda telah diterima dan sedang diproses.
Keputusan Permohonan akan dimaklumkan mulai minggu ke-3 Jun 2008.

Sender:

Received:
10.36p.m.
16-06-2008

Please write your questions in a proper way! and writing with red font all over practically means that you are screaming at the others!
seehua

natlee
17-06-2008, 09:01 PM
does it mean that we can check it at 12am tonite ??

18-06-2008, 12:32 AM
The results can be check through this link:
https://online2.mohe.gov.my/semakstpm/index.php

yen_05
18-06-2008, 12:34 AM
Tried the MOHE website...seems there is no update at all. Same goes to SMS. The same reply as kaichiew wrote and is sent at 12.05 am. Waiting...keep waiting...and waiting..

yilian
18-06-2008, 12:36 AM
the mohe website is alrite and it is updated. i've got my result.

18-06-2008, 12:36 AM
Tried the MOHE website...seems there is no update at all. Same goes to SMS. The same reply as kaichiew wrote and is sent at 12.05 am. Waiting...keep waiting...and waiting..Try the link above and see, my friend managed to check and got the results...

yen_05
18-06-2008, 12:45 AM
Try the link above and see, my friend managed to check and got the results...

Yeap...posted right after u post the link. Manage to check..hahahaha...got my first choice

kaichew
18-06-2008, 12:59 AM
Yo........................

yen_05
18-06-2008, 01:06 AM
yAHOO...:nuts
gOT THE 1ST cHOICE!!!!:cry

TAHNIAH ! Anda telah berjaya ditawarkan program seperti di bawah :

KOD PROGRAM : KS10

NAMA PROGRAM : SAINS (SAINS AKTUARI)

IPTA : UNIVERSITI KEBANGSAAN MALAYSIA (UKM)

hOW ABOUT YOURS?

I got first choice doing manufacturing engineering (majoring management) in Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM). By the way, i will direct go into second year because i pursue my diploma in the same uni.

18-06-2008, 01:22 AM

hOW ABOUT YOURS?
Sorry to interrupt here... Is it that Actuarial Science in UKM is better than UM? I heard so from my friend, need some clarification...

kaichew
18-06-2008, 01:43 AM
yo..............

andy lee
18-06-2008, 09:47 AM
Who had get the offer letter? They said can online download.....

yilian
18-06-2008, 06:07 PM
check online for the offer letter tomorrow (19 June).

JLIK
18-06-2008, 10:15 PM
can anyone please tell me where to study for the 1st year of UKM's medic??
and how is the following years??
is it got at PJ???

19-06-2008, 12:42 AM
can anyone please tell me where to study for the 1st year of UKM's medic??
and how is the following years??
is it got at PJ???For UKM medicine, you'll study in Health campus in KL (near HKL) for first two years, not in UKM main campus in Bangi, and you'll have to stay in hostel for 1st year, hostel at Titiwangsa. Then you'll move to HUKM in Cheras starting 3rd year.

posteritasgal
19-06-2008, 07:28 AM
Hello! i was wondering who else will be going to University Malaysia Sabah 2008? I was offered a place there and would like to know people from around before going to Uni.

Thanks!

kaichew
19-06-2008, 11:39 AM
check online for the offer letter tomorrow (19 June).

Got it:P

Saudara/i,
TAWARAN KEMASUKAN SESI AKADEMIK 2008-2009
Dengan sukacitanya saya bagi pihak Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia mengucapkan tahniah kepada saudara/i dan seterusnya menawarkan tempat pengajian ijazah pertama bagi Sesi Akademik 2008-2009. Butir-butir tawaran adalah seperti berikut:
blablablabla.....

akirasama89
19-06-2008, 12:25 PM
Did anyone get into UM? I got into Comp. Engineering! Yay!

yilian
19-06-2008, 05:41 PM
I have a ques here.

For those who r going to UKM KL campus, I was informed that the orientation week will be held in UKM Bangi, meaning that those going UKM KL have to stay at UKM Bangi first.

How long are we going to stay at UKM Bangi?
1 or 2 weeks?
"Pendaftaran & Minggu Mesra Pelajar (MMP)" and "Minggu Mesra Pelajar Fakulti / Kem PPD" both at UKM Bangi?

JLIK
19-06-2008, 07:54 PM
hey Kai.....ur eureka reopen ad????
haha....wanna tea???keke...

19-06-2008, 08:55 PM
I have a ques here.

For those who r going to UKM KL campus, I was informed that the orientation week will be held in UKM Bangi, meaning that those going UKM KL have to stay at UKM Bangi first.

How long are we going to stay at UKM Bangi?
1 or 2 weeks?
"Pendaftaran & Minggu Mesra Pelajar (MMP)" and "Minggu Mesra Pelajar Fakulti / Kem PPD" both at UKM Bangi?If I'm not mistaken, the first week you'll have orientation at UKM main campus at Bangi, then the second week you'll move to KL campus to continue with your Minggu Mesra Pelajar Fakulti , while the Kem PPD will be held in a certain rural area, last time was once in Negeri Sembilan.

blueyegypsy
19-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Anyone got UPM?
I got UPM Chemical Engineering. It's a four year course. Waiting for my offer letter.

Herlene
19-06-2008, 11:32 PM
I got my first choice! Electronic engineering in USM...

yilian
19-06-2008, 11:41 PM
If I'm not mistaken, the first week you'll have orientation at UKM main campus at Bangi, then the second week you'll move to KL campus to continue with your Minggu Mesra Pelajar Fakulti , while the Kem PPD will be held in a certain rural area, last time was once in Negeri Sembilan.

Thank you for answering my ques. :)
Have you any idea whether the orientation at UKM Bangi ends on friday(4july) or sunday(6july)?
If it's on friday, then i'll have some time to shift my stuffs from my house to UKM KL, but if it's on sunday, then it shall be another problem for me.

20-06-2008, 12:08 AM
Thank you for answering my ques. :)
Have you any idea whether the orientation at UKM Bangi ends on friday(4july) or sunday(6july)?
If it's on friday, then i'll have some time to shift my stuffs from my house to UKM KL, but if it's on sunday, then it shall be another problem for me.You're welcome. Sorry I don't have any idea on that but I suppose it shouldn't end on Sunday. I think it should be written in information package... By the way I heard university will prepare lorries to help you all to move all the stuff to KL...

mae_hemay
20-06-2008, 12:11 AM
anyone same with me?
biochemistry... in UPM?

blueberrygurl
20-06-2008, 12:30 AM
Heya..I got petroleum engg in UTM......

Is it of any good?????? *gulp*

mae_hemay
20-06-2008, 12:47 AM
hey guys... i'm wondering is there any scholarship from MARA or JPA for x-stpm n matric like us? if yes, maybe we should try.... is anyone know when it will come out and wut is the link??????? please...

yen_05
20-06-2008, 01:38 AM
hey guys... i'm wondering is there any scholarship from MARA or JPA for x-stpm n matric like us? if yes, maybe we should try.... is anyone know when it will come out and wut is the link??????? please...

PSD offer scholarships to those who have secure a place in public universities. The scholarship is called "Biasiswa Persekutuan JPA" and the application is opened probably by end of june and can be applied online through the eSILA website. Those who secured a place and got their offer letter to public universities are eligible to apply. If I'm not mistaken, this scholarship is offered to 3 private universities as well (UTP, MMU and UNITEN).

kaichew
20-06-2008, 11:04 AM
yo.................

kwenying900103
20-06-2008, 12:10 PM

hOW ABOUT YOURS?

your cgpa must be 4.00... how bout your ko-Q marks?

i wanna enter ukm for actuarial sc also after matrix

kaichew
20-06-2008, 12:32 PM
yo.................

yilian
20-06-2008, 03:57 PM
You're welcome. Sorry I don't have any idea on that but I suppose it shouldn't end on Sunday. I think it should be written in information package... By the way I heard university will prepare lorries to help you all to move all the stuff to KL...

I see. Hope that it will not end on Sunday. If the university prepares lorries for us, that would really help us. I think i'll just bring 1 week's supply to UKM Bangi first, then later on when we move to UKM KL, i'll ask my parents to send the other stuffs. Anyway, thanks!

akinasoul
20-06-2008, 08:21 PM
I got UKM Science Nutrition.
Has anyone got their official offer letter yet?

idioit2001
20-06-2008, 09:43 PM
harlo everyone...I got UTM...
so does anyone got this university...??
waiting for u all reply ya^^:)

kaichew
20-06-2008, 10:34 PM

Guide to Applicant?s Eligibility

The award of scholarship is based on the applicants? academic achievement and other criteria. Below are some criteria that would be considered in the application:
Participation in co-curricular activities
Performance during the interview
Socio-economic status and family?s backgroundBelow are the scholarship application guidelines for those who have gained admission to pursue a Diploma or Bachelor?s degree at a university:
Must be a Malaysian citizen
Opened to year 1 students who have been accepted by the abovementioned universities.
Not older than 19 years old for Diploma programmes
Not older than 24 years old for Bachelor?s degree programmes
SPM results - Grade 2A for at least 7 subjects
STPM results - at least Principal B in 4 subjects
Diploma - minimum 3.30 CGPA score
STAM results - at least 4 Mumtaz and 5 Jayyid Jiddah
Passed the matriculation examination by the Ministry of Education/University?s Foundation Studies and score at least 3.30 CGPAApplication Procedure (Online only)
All applications must be done online through the websites http://www.jpa.gov.my (http://www.jpa.gov.my/) or http://esila.jpa.gov.my (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/) after an announcement is made in the newspaper stating that the respective polytechnics are open for applications (usually in the month of July each year). The application form is free.

more...The hiStory (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5608)
JPA Scholarship PIDN 2008 (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=196069#post196069)

yilian
21-06-2008, 01:53 AM
thanks, kaichew for the infos about jpa. but i wonder how long is the service bond. Heard that the service bond for PLDN Medic is 10 years. Is it the same for PIDN? :)

kaichew
21-06-2008, 11:30 AM
yo.........................

21-06-2008, 12:56 PM
thanks, kaichew for the infos about jpa. but i wonder how long is the service bond. Heard that the service bond for PLDN Medic is 10 years. Is it the same for PIDN? :)Yes, 10 years too...

yilian
21-06-2008, 04:38 PM
Yes, 10 years too...

thanks, miracle_seed. Wah, 10 years so long ar. I expect shorter period for IPTA than overseas, coz IPTA cheaper mar. Hmm... then I think I shall consider whether want to apply it or not. Thanks,again!

redlynxchan
21-06-2008, 05:31 PM
I got UKM Science Nutrition.
Has anyone got their official offer letter yet?

hey! i know you from lyn^^ my friend going to UKM for mechanical engineering has already received his offer letter + admission package via mail...

JLIK
21-06-2008, 08:13 PM
yaya.. but i dun mean 2 promote it first.. still in construction
any suggestion?:huh

tea... tea... tea... no $ lim teh... haiz... :cry

I 1 earn $ 2 lim teh haaaaaaa.....:laugh

Still no $$ tea??
ad an expert in actuarial science what....haha...^&^

akinasoul
21-06-2008, 10:11 PM
hey! i know you from lyn^^ my friend going to UKM for mechanical engineering has already received his offer letter + admission package via mail...

Haha.. you caught me here! :)

Where does he live? and when did he get it?
I havent receive mine yet. So sad.. its already saturday. Means that I probably would get it on monday. Damn late..

Im from borneo btw.

kaichew
22-06-2008, 01:39 AM
Permohonan pinjaman PTPTN secara atas talian (online) akan dibuka untuk semua pelajar IPTA bermula 13 Jun 2008 melalui laman web http://epinjaman.ptptn.gov.my (http://epinjaman.ptptn.gov.my/).

Proses kelulusan kelompok pertama dibuat pada 23 Jun 2008 dan pelajar boleh menyemak dan mencetak bermula 25 Jun 2008.
Permohonan akan dibuka sepanjang tahun dan diproses sebanyak dua kali setiap semester mengikut IPT.Anyone try it?
I heard that the deadline is 23 Jun. Is that true?

22-06-2008, 02:19 AM
thanks, miracle_seed. Wah, 10 years so long ar. I expect shorter period for IPTA than overseas, coz IPTA cheaper mar. Hmm... then I think I shall consider whether want to apply it or not. Thanks,again!Normally, local medical students would opt for PTPTN rather than JPA scholarships, because the bond is 10 years for medicine course. However if you really want to work 10 years in government hospital, then it doesn't make any difference.

andy lee
22-06-2008, 01:26 PM
Has anyone get offer letter from USM ?

extreme
22-06-2008, 05:10 PM
By the way the PIDN is out already the link is here
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/

idioit2001
22-06-2008, 07:47 PM
how to create threads?
i cant create...
waiting for ur advice...
thankz

extreme
22-06-2008, 07:51 PM
1. From the forum index, click on a board.
2. On the left hand side, before you see a list of topics, there's a button called "New Thread".
3. Click on the button.
4. Type in the title of your new thread.
5. Type in the contents of the main post.
6. Click "Submit Reply".
7. Viola! A new thread has been created!

copied from glassylicious from this link
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6239

yilian
23-06-2008, 02:25 PM
Normally, local medical students would opt for PTPTN rather than JPA scholarships, because the bond is 10 years for medicine course. However if you really want to work 10 years in government hospital, then it doesn't make any difference.

Thanks, miracle_seed.however, 10 years is really too long. The thing is I don't want to work so long in govern hospital. So, there's a difference. Erm, anyway, JPA got its pros and cons.

evilcutie
23-06-2008, 11:38 PM
USM electronic eng...
those who are in the same course with me pm me please...^^
btw,any1 of u here din make it to apply ptptn ??
wat do u all do ??? wait ???
or go for jpa ??

yilian
24-06-2008, 01:23 AM
USM electronic eng...
those who are in the same course with me pm me please...^^
btw,any1 of u here din make it to apply ptptn ??
wat do u all do ??? wait ???
or go for jpa ??

there'll be 2nd batch for ptptn application in july. so don worry, still got chance to apply ptptn.

24-06-2008, 04:06 PM
wat is difference in applying PTPTN and JPA PIDN ya?

i think PTPTN u too have to pay up all plus the interest upon graduation wat?and the difference of appying PIDN is just work with the gov...so nothing bad.

24-06-2008, 04:59 PM
wat is difference in applying PTPTN and JPA PIDN ya?

i think PTPTN u too have to pay up all plus the interest upon graduation wat?and the difference of appying PIDN is just work with the gov...so nothing bad.PTPTN is a loan, you have to pay back upon graduation, while PIDN is a scholarship, you don't have to pay back after you graduate, but have to bond with them...

ckyap
19-06-2009, 04:59 PM
i heard from my fren if i get the choice out of my 8 choices i applied,...i can actually appeal is it???

19-06-2009, 05:17 PM
This thread is now considered redundant. You guys may continue posting here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8866).