View Full Version : help me, I need national physic quiz past years questions!

Theodoravoon
21-06-2008, 11:39 AM
can someone tell me where to find the questions?
I have enter the competitions,
and I want to practise

chenjun1128
21-06-2008, 01:14 PM
U should ask from ur teachers..If they don't keep the past years question, no1 will..actually, there's not much preparation..the questions are tough, but its not something that u can just prepare for..maybe u can do some singapore questions..don't worry, majority of the students wont be able to score..me and my friends got at least one quarter of the questions wrong, but we still got bronze..remember to work fast..very fast..the most challenging questions are the ones involving kinematics, that is, the Motion chapter..I would like to meet a student who scored 90% and above..

21-06-2008, 01:16 PM
Meet chiunlin in ReCom. He was the champ in his year. :D

21-06-2008, 02:16 PM
I didn't even have a chance to take part in the National Physics Quiz... Our physics teacher never told us about this, and when we realised and asked about it, the deadline for registration was already over... How could a teacher.... Well, he's not a good physics teacher though...

Kuekkuek
21-06-2008, 02:18 PM
Yeah, National Physics Quiz is really tough. Anyway, I can only give u a vague perception that it contains 70 questions with 80-90% up to Form 6 standard. U have to use all those brain-recking formulas to answer the questions, it's not merely with "tembak" technique and with that u can score because u cannot have much chance to get a correct answer by 'tembaking". As far as I'm concerned, many students "tembak" anyway because we didn't hv much time to think discreetly. In fact, we were given only 2 hours & 30 mins to calculate 70 questions. (Almost all of them involve calculation).
Around 20-25 of the questions involve the Force n Motion topic(Motion along a straight line n Motion in 2 n 3 dimensions). Others are about Kinetic Energy n Work, Gravitation, Momentum, Heat, Temperature, n Thermodynamics, Pressure, Fluids, Light n Image, Waves, Electricity n Electromagnetism, Electric Field n Magnetic Field and lastly Radioactivity. These topics r to tell u more clearly n not to scare u off.:D Anyway I recommend some reference books which contain the fundamentals of Physics. U can borrow at the library. Hope that helps u.
Anyway, those who wants the National Physics Competition paper, u can pm me n I will try to let u have a look.

P/s, it's really tough to get the gold medal. I only managed the silver one.:D

chenjun1128
21-06-2008, 03:18 PM
I remember they always take back the questions..u'll enjoy doing them..they are challenging..but not over-challenging..most student may be able to solve eventually if given as much time as they want..

21-06-2008, 04:29 PM
I don't think it really involved out-of-syllabus stuff. Or did it?

herm
21-06-2008, 04:58 PM
I got a Distinction last yr for this National Physics Quiz.I wonder how I did it and it's knida weird for me to get Distinction.Some of my friends get the same one as me while a few didn't get anything.

One thing,this quiz is held local rite?I wonder if you guys are talking abt tht one tht's the same as mine.Well,the questions are tough for me actually.It might depend on your grasp of knowledge as well.

21-06-2008, 05:05 PM
I don't think it really involved out-of-syllabus stuff. Or did it?

Essentially, the questions are based on the concepts that we have learnt. Just that they purposely twisted and turned the questions to make they seem much complicated. For instance, to solve a question, you need to derive an equation from several concepts.

Try to ask students from MRSM or SBP. Their teachers usually keep the past year papers. :)

B.T.SengYee
21-06-2008, 05:18 PM
haha..
i got distinction for last year 1..
n i m from mrsm..
our tcher do have Q set for chemistry Quiz..
bt then i m not so sure bout physics..
bt then tembak did work for me to get distinction..
hahaha...
CALIFORNIA MEDICAL MARIJUANA (http://california.dispensaries.org/)

Theodoravoon
21-06-2008, 09:19 PM
can I get the questions from you?

skyrainbow
21-06-2008, 09:37 PM
Buff up your from4 and 5 additional maths, really need that in calculation. Be smart in applying the maths, espeacially algebra and trig. And read through matrizx or form 6 book should be enough.

I think the quiz 'immortally difficult and unsolvable' standard is dropping a little since last year, if compared to previous years.erh, by other words, it's getting easier le,imho so no need to worry.

I missed chemist quiz, last year, really got upset.Only know it after it finish becoz the teacher didnt tell us. nobody in my class know it either.

chenjun1128
21-06-2008, 11:10 PM
do not miss the chem quiz! its easy to get distinction..don't miss the chance

B.T.SengYee
21-06-2008, 11:10 PM
so sorry..
i dun have it nw..
coz i alredy finish my form 5 redy...
VAPE INFO (http://johan-luis.tumblr.com/)

21-06-2008, 11:28 PM
I think you should ask from physics teachers in school, some teachers might have a copy of it... My physics teacher was lame though, he didn't have it but my physics tuition teacher did have some past year collection... So, I think it's better to ask from your physics teachers, or may be some seniors from your areas who took part in the competition and won a cert..

kimsiang
22-06-2008, 12:35 AM
Hey, for form6 students, you probably can visit this website for the paper last year.
http://pkukmweb.ukm.my/~ipho/npc2008.htm

for form4-form5 students, during my year(2001), there was a book with all those questions from pertandingan fizik kebangsaan(National Physics Competition,NPC).
I don't remember well but I suppose the publisher was Pelangi?
redhead girl Cam (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/redhead-girls/)

22-06-2008, 02:58 AM
Yup, it was published by Pelangi. I had a copy of that book but it's in my house while I'm stuck here in college. The books are all objective questions and doable, except for the short time limit.

22-06-2008, 11:32 AM
Someone looking for me? Ok, let me share some of my experiences in preparing for the physics olympiad.

I started my preparation like 6 months before(around January at the start of the school year). Most people around me predicted that I would get a gold medal and that was actually what I was aiming for. Since I had no idea how hard it was to score, I set myself the target of getting 7 mistakes only.

My preparation involved doing the past year questions, which were compiled by pelangi and published as a workbook according to topics. I also skipped ahead the syllabus and started studying the last few topics in the syllabus(every question counts!) so that well before the olympiad, I have covered the whole SPM syllabus.

I worked through almost all of the problems in the workbook by myself, except for a few which were ridiculously hard, in which case I asked for help from my physics teacher or my dad(also a physics teacher).

Most questions were painfully slow at the beginning and although the book provided the answer, it didn't provide any explanation. So for each question, I had to make sure that not only my answers were correct, my reasoning and calculation were too.

If I recalled correctly, it took me like 4 or 5 months to finish the workbook since SPM was my main priority and for the first half of the year, I was still busy with extra-cocu activities. Then I redid all the questions again, and this time it was much quicker, taking me about 2 weeks.

The last thing that I did before the actual olympiad was to take the paper the year before(which wasn't included in the workbook), timed myself, completed it with about 5 mins to spare, score it and check the answers. Disappointingly, I got 22 questions wrong.

As for the actual olympiad in 2002 that I sat before, I came in first with 12 mistakes. A friend of mine who got like 25++ mistakes got gold. Basically what I heard is that the cutoff point for the gold, silver and bronze medal depended on the score of the champion. Since I was a lousy champion, the cutoff for gold was lower too.

And if you want to meet someone who scored higher than 90%, look for prince(I don't think he is active in recom anymore though). His score was so high that some of the top 10 were silver medallists.

22-06-2008, 05:05 PM
Did he? Wow. Amazing. Thanks for sharing your experience Chiun Lin.

22-06-2008, 07:15 PM
Yeah, he was truly amazing.

I should add that a large part of my success was due to my very dedicated physics teacher who explained everything so thoroughly. My school has consistently produced students who end up in top 10 almost every other year, thanks to her hard work.

22-06-2008, 07:19 PM
Why every other year but not every year?

22-06-2008, 10:34 PM
You need a combination of good students + good teacher to produce good results. The teacher is there, but good students willing to put in the effort to train for it aren't there all the time.

Caprio
22-06-2008, 11:22 PM
can someone tell me where to find the questions?
I have enter the competitions,
and I want to practise

You are in form 5 or form 6?

The links provided by kimsiang are good enough for your preparation. Good luck.

skyrainbow
22-06-2008, 11:38 PM
What form are you in when you got first chiulin? Did you join in form 6?

nadia.g
23-06-2008, 01:04 AM
haha.. i got bronze. n i didnt noe how i got it since i practically hentam the whole thing. haha. forces & motion is important and also half-life

23-06-2008, 08:43 AM
What form are you in when you got first chiulin? Did you join in form 6?
In form 5. I took up JPA scholarship so I didn't join it in form 6.