View Full Version : How can we contribute?
kimYaw
03-11-2003, 12:10 PM
The Malaysian Ambassador visited CMU this weekend, and his speech prompted some discussions among the students here.
One of the questions that we've been pondering is this:
"I'd love to return to Malaysia, but what can I do after I'm back?"
I'm probably one of the most ignorant person around. It seems to me that we do not have very good information regarding what opportunities are available back home. In particular, being in the engineering field, I wonder what sort of research facilities and fundings we can get in a local university.
I guess we're all aware that WE have to return to Malaysia and contribute as much as we can in order for our country to develop and prosper.
Incidentally, we met a Malaysian architectural professor of CMU. He graduated from CMU more than a decade ago, and he went to NUS of singapore to greatly improve the architecture department of NUS -- from almost nothing to renowned.
The question is, why didn't he choose to go to one of the universities in Malaysia?
On the same note, I wonder how did singapore achieve their current degree of development? After all, it started later than Malaysia, it has less resources than Malaysia, and it has less people than Malaysia.
What is holding us back? What is making us to progress so slowly?
I'm in engineering grad school now, and I definitely plan to return to Malaysia. I wish to contribute to education back home, for I believe that education is the most powerful tool. Nevertheless, I somehow feel that I will not be able to have any impact at all, and I'll be happier to run a cafe than to hold a position in a local university...
03-11-2003, 02:39 PM
Thanks to KimYaw for starting this discussion and nice to hear that Datuk Ghazzali went to visit CMU.
In terms of research facilities and fundings, there are a number of new developments that have taken place. I may not know most of them, but I get to know a few of them.
Some of the resources include:-
http://www.inventqjaya.com/
http://www.must.edu.my/
http://www.matrade.gov.my/exporter/other-financial.htm
http://www.mdc.com.my/cs/mgs/default.asp
http://internship.mdc.com.my/
http://www.mdc.com.my/mscvc/
http://www.technopreneurs.net.my/cms/
http://www.mdc.com.my/today/html/2003-Feature_031006_02.asp
http://www.admin.upm.edu.my/~ubc/ubc1.html
http://www.admin.upm.edu.my/~research/
http://www.usm.my/en/gen-view-all.asp?id=1107&idform=7
http://www.treasury.gov.my/englishversionbaru/index.htm (Go to Budget 2004, and read the point number 121 to 126 ). All those are incentive by government on R & D, which includes:-
121. The Second National Science and Technology Policy was
formulated to achieve R&D expenditure of at least 1.5% of GDP by 2010.
Towards this end, the Government has provided substantial allocation to
develop expertise and expand R&D facilities. To continue with these
efforts, a sum of RM183.6 million is allocated for the Intensification of
Research in Priority Areas (IRPA) programme, specifically for public
research institutions in collaboration with the private sector. In addition,
three new research institutions will be established in the BioValley,
Cyberjaya, specifically in biotechnology. The Government will encourage
large companies to locate in the BioValley to undertake contract
research as part of the efforts to further develop the services industry.
122. Our R&D efforts have contributed significantly to increases in
yield of commodities, especially oil palm and rubber. The yield of
commodities per hectare has doubled and their maturity period
shortened. Apart from increasing output, research institutions have also
undertaken downstream research, such as biodiesel from oil palm and
rubber thermoplastic.
123. In the light of declining contribution of commodities to the
economy, it is timely that R&D institutions refocus their efforts towards
greater demand and market-driven R&D that emphasise value-added or
value creation, with the view of commercialising their research findings.
For example, the global market for healthcare and life sciences products
and services is expected to reach 4 trillion euros while pharmaceuticals
30 billion euros by 2006. In Malaysia, biotechnology is still an infant
industry. Although currently there are about 60 biotechnology
companies, they are still small and have yet to reach world-class status.
124. The Government will restructure SIRIM to become the focal
point to match R&D with market demand. SIRIM will identify the
requirements for new products and technology for both the domestic and
global markets. It will also study the whole R&D value chain to create
value, including niche activities to be developed, such as logistics,
packaging and marketing.
125. The Government through SIRIM will also identify R&D
requirements based on market demand and match them with R&D
capacity in universities and research institutions. As this represents a
long-term investment in developing our local technology to produce high
quality Malaysian brands, the Government will provide adequate funds
for this purpose. The nation has the expertise and capacity to undertake
R&D to meet market demand. For example, we have more than one
thousand doctorates, apart from adequate facilities and funding for R&D.
126. To promote the commercialisation of research findings, the
Government proposes that income received by researchers from such
activity be given tax exemption of 50% for 5 years. At the same time, the
Government will not impose charges on patents registered by local
researchers.
There are also some more links in this website, via Miscellaneous >> Weblinks >> Science
Hope others would contribute more to this discussion.
On the question of why Singapore develop better, I think one of the reason would be the size of Singapore. It is undeniably to develop a country of the size of Singapore, compared to Malaysia. For Malaysia, we need to care about the rural folks and bringing them up to par and that would take away a lot of resources.
But certainly, there are many more things that Malaysia could have done to develop faster.
KimYaw, it is very heartening to hear that you would go back to Malaysia and serve the nation. Currently, the universities back home have started place more emphasis on R&D, but I think it is still a long way to go...One place to check out would be Malaysia University of Science & Technology, its link is above, where it is a fully research-oreinted university, founded in collaboration with MIT.
03-11-2003, 03:34 PM
Kim Yaw, you've addressed the most important topic at ReCom.
How can we, students, contribute to the development of the country?
I think Malaysians are the most resourceful people on the planet.
We have access to schools that are the best.
we go to US,UK,Germany,Japan,Korea,France, you name it.
I don;t think any other Third World countries have agressive agenda like us.
But , we still have dilemma.
When we go back home, we've got nothing to do. Or we have the illusion that we have nothing to do.
I was very sad to read in the local newspaper in Malaysia that, Malaysian students who graduated from Japanese schools complained to the Government. They said that the Government did not prepare them the job for the students who graduated from Japan. (who are not fluent in English).
I have to insist to say to myself, that those are very stupid people.
How can you not first thankful and then proceed helping each other to provide job?.
There is a danger , when you help people too much, they have the illusion that they have the right to be helped forever.
That's why I joined group of students developing ReCom,
To ensure that we have something to do when we got back home.
But How?. .. We're discussing.
Also, it's reasonable for Malaysians to flee the country to get a job.
Since, if they stay at Malaysia, they'll usually considered 'underemployed'
But for how long?. Sooner or later, you'll have kids, and you have to pay taxes, and all that stuff. Then you have to worry about citizenship.
But if we all go back home and plan, without depending on the government, we're not only become rich, but also, helping Malaysia become develop nation.
It's all about the effort of Malaysians themselves. We must follow Germany, who was destroyed during WW2 but now among the powerful nations at EU.
It's not only the Germany government who develop the country. But the people of Germany themselves.
03-11-2003, 10:26 PM
There's Much more then the will power to develope a nation. Look at India. I believe they probably had intorduced a lot of talented People in fields that streched as far as astonomy. Not to downplay our own talented Malaysian but simply put we aren't the most successful in this field, Above average trained work force that is.
As we all know, Most of the developement in Malaysia is due to its Cheap labor and calm Domistic affairs/Politics and access to somewhat educated work force. Malaysia is nothing more then a drone to the first world. Although i would love to believe otherwise but thats the reality.
As for singapore developements, I am glad you raised this issue. Like the old saying. Size doesn't Matter. Singapore has been an economic hub since it was established. Matter of fact it was the Administration capital for the british colony in South east Asia. Singapore also had a very strategic Politic ties with Brittian and the USA. The People action Party (liberals) of Singapore had signed a treaty with both of these country to let them have full access of Ports and milatary facilities with an exchange of Guaranteed Trade rights with Companies from those countries. On the other hand our Party;The Alliance, known as Barisan Nasional today (conservatives) do not aplause to the Idea. Hence creating turmoil between this newly Independance states. So after the seperation, all Administarion affices moved to Kuala Lumpur, a small city in Selangor. Also do not forget that Singapore was built on resources from Malaysia. All the rubber and Tin was produce in Malaya but Singapore was the Port.
So basically in my honest opinion Malaysia had progressed a lot. From a tin rubber nation to a fully industrialised nation.
Now it's all upon you and me the mellinial generation to make Malaysia a fisrt world and economically and financially independence.
To what we could do when your back in Malaysia? WORK HARD!
04-11-2003, 04:40 AM
I read with interest posting by masterof_none and thirdshifter.. both of you have very good arguments...
i agree with thirdshifter that most of our developmetn is due to the access of cheap labor, stable political front (esp in the early 90s), and average educated work force... But I think there is a very important development and changes that we are moving into and that requires the support of all Malaysians. As we know, with the growing intense competition from China and India, which could supply vast amount of highly knowledgable experts at very low cost. So, what would be our differentiation to them, as we must gain some competitive advantage....
With that foresight, we are gradually and definitely trying to move up the value chain of our industry. In the past one year, we have seen companies, like Boeing, DHL, Shell, HP, BMW, Alcatel, Citigroup, American Express etc...moving their Asia Pacific Headquarter to Malaysia...or moving their call center to Malaysia. This is a very positive development, but it is still a long way to go...so, it is up to us, the younger generation...
Many of us are supplied with the best education in the world, irrespective of whereever you are. Even if you feel that your education is not good enough, there are abundance of resources, especially with google and our own elearning section (with course lecture notes on practically any field from top universities, like MIT, Caltech, Stanford, Harvard etc..) Make full use of that resources..
yeah, we should use our knowledge, resources, expertise to work hard...
and build up a good Malaysia... Our Country's future relies on us, the younger generation....
And also, thanks to jiinjoo, for bringing up the idea of bringing in working professionals into Recom and it is a very good idea. If any of you know of any Malaysian professional who are willing to join Recom and help share their experience or in any form, it would be great!!!
04-11-2003, 05:30 PM
I was very sad to read in the local newspaper in Malaysia that, Malaysian students who graduated from Japanese schools complained to the Government. They said that the Government did not prepare them the job for the students who graduated from Japan. (who are not fluent in English).
I have to insist to say to myself, that those are very stupid people.
How can you not first thankful and then proceed helping each other to provide job?.
There is a danger , when you help people too much, they have the illusion that they have the right to be helped forever.
I am 100% agree about that.I was shocked when one of the seniors who is studying master actually did present the question to the embassador.To me its like "WHAT??!!"
The embassadors respond was the goverment wont be able to provide jobs for everyone as it is sending more than twenty thousand students overseas a year (the number sounds weird to me though).He added that the goverment actually encourages students to work for foreign companies or even start up business themselves as goverment is offering loans for that too.
It is sad to see students especially my own seniors are relying too much on goverments helps.In fact bringing back big cars has been more important than bringing back knowledge to most of the students here.Working part-time until late night, even prefer to fail and get scholar one more year so that they can earn more money and get a bigger car.......
well, put that aside as i think i have been talking too much here :D
By the way,i have found a nice article to share with you all.
http://www.suaramalaysia.com/archives/000641.html
05-11-2003, 03:13 AM
Schye,
That is a very good article. I am putting it in our news article section!!!
05-11-2003, 04:39 AM
Working part-time until late night, even prefer to fail and get scholar one more year so that they can earn more money and get a bigger car.......
sigh...and i can't do my masters even if i accelerate and finish in 3 years. sigh....
05-11-2003, 10:10 AM
About R&D, there is a news article posted today (11/4) titled R&D Grant Scheme Returns Encouraging...
Based on the article, we currently have about $1.7 billion expenditure in R&D up by about 55% since 2 years ago.
05-11-2003, 10:53 AM
Working part-time until late night, even prefer to fail and get scholar one more year so that they can earn more money and get a bigger car.......
We should tell them to go back home. They're wasting taxpayers/whoeverthesponsors' money.
Good for nothing.
"What can I do when I go back? What can I contribute to my nation?" That is wonderful to know that so many young students concern bout the future of our country.
Sometimes I do think about the development in our country, but instead of thinking about the further future, I always think about 'what can I do 'NOW'. I am a foreign student studying in a quite rural area in Japan, there are only 2 Malaysians (as long as I know) in the prefecture I am staying here, and what can I do is, do as much publicity as I can to promote our country. Working together with the local people to let them know that Malaysians are easy going people. Joining activities actively. and study hard and learn as much as I can. Smile to everybody.
A lot of people (most of them are local villagers) asked me, 'what do you want to do in the future', and I always answered 'I want to develop my country'. and they will looked at me admiringly and start praising me. and I started to feel uneasy, I was just saying, and i havent started doing anything. I really hope that those (including myself) have the will to contribute to our country are not only saying but really work sth out.
I had one idea very recently. Japan is having one of its most exciting event - Tokyo Motor Show in Tokyo. unfornately the place I am staying now is very far away from Tokyo and I cant go for the exhibition. as an automobile fans, I follow the event closely by watching the special programmes in TV and reading the papers. the big companies in Europe and Japan are doing great research in this field, I am very excited to know about the newest automation control system presented by Toyota and Honda. and I realised that we cant do all that in Malaysia now. and I started to think what can we do then? We have rubber, why dont we make the best tyres in the world? Excellent cars need good tyres. Make good use of our resource. This is only an example.
06-11-2003, 08:48 PM
Welcome Chyi ...
Finally you are here :wink:
More protection should be given to the agricultural laborers in our country if we want to become more balance in both industrial and agriculture. We cant even provided enough rice for our own country while Japan with limited lands can still provided enough rice for themselves and even for exports. There are much more that our country can learn from Japan or other advanced nation in this field to protect or providing a fair income for agricultural labourers.
07-11-2003, 03:19 AM
Welcome Chyi!!!
It is a very good post... It is very nice that you have the initiative and heart to promote Malaysia and do something for our motherland..... I think what you have done is a very concrete thing... First, it would build upon the impression of those local Japanese villagers on Malaysia. Isn't it a free publicity? With their amazement on your answer, the words may get spread around....even within that village, how could we predict that may be some of them may eventually visit Malaysia one day? That is due to your promotion that they visit Malaysia....or may be better still, one of them end up being a businessmen or entrepreneurs and bring investment or trade in or with Malaysia, isn't it another long term good effect that you have done? So, you are definitely doing something. It is always my philosophy that any little step that we make is a step towards a better tomorrow or success ideally.... Without making that step, it would be tough.. Say, even if only 10% of Malaysian students abroad do what you have done even only once per month, it would be spreading positive awareness to more than a few thousands people...
What you describe are really true? What you have done are trully beneficial to Malaysia. Kudos to you and keep it up!!! We should learn from you.... Yeah, smile would do wonders too...
One thing I always do over here, in little lovely Ithaca, more ulu than most of the villages in Malaysia, is that from time to time, there would be public lecture on campus and usually I would ask a question to the speaker, usually concerning his impression/opinion on business cllimate in Asia or Malaysia. Sometimes, if he has experience around Asia, I would ask Asia, to see whether he would name Malaysia. It is a very good publicity for Malaysia, if he names his experience in Malaysia. That would be a very good publicity. After the public lecture, I would go ahead and talk to him/her about Malaysia and gain more insight. A very good start would be "Have you done business or any other dealings in Malaysia?" "What is your impression?" Usually I would say thank you for investing in Malaysia etc.. And then, I would also ask if he has spotted any weak points of Malaysia that we could help improve on... I have asked this question to not less than 50 CEOs, VPs, Senior management of various companies and I think the feedback is very useful and may be it would be a good promotion for Malaysia.
I ask Narayana Murthy, Chairman and former CEO of Infosys, about MSC, in a public address with about 200 CS faculty, industry people, alumni and students. It was to my amazement that he managed to talk about MSC in details, like when he went to MSC International Advisory Panel, enjoyed meeting with Dr. M, amazed with the progress, and even cited that 800 companies and 20,000 knowledge workers are created in the process and boost the confidence and utility of IT among Malaysians. Is that a good publicity for Malaysia? He is dubbed as the Bill Gates of India, and is the guy that is instrumental to building up Bangalore, India, which is the Silicon Valley of India.
kimYaw
09-11-2003, 04:05 PM
Kudos to Chen Chow and Chyi. What you've been doing is definitely very helpful in projecting a good image of our country.
I guess most of us are aware that our day-to-day behaviors directly convey an image of our country to people who might not even have heard of Malaysia till they met you. We should definitely be mindful of this; make an effort to project a positive image, rather than a negative one. Be friendly, tolerant, hardworking, don't turn the library into a pasar...
On a different note, Chen Chow, thanks for all the links. I'm particularly exited about inventQjaya. I hope I can get a chance to visit it when I'm back this Dec. =)
09-11-2003, 04:29 PM
I'm very inspired to hear Chen Chow's and Chyi's effort to promote Malaysia.
If we're all band together and create something, we soon would develop ourselves, thus the country.
And that's what ReCom's for!
12-11-2003, 06:30 PM
well, I guess u guys have asked a very good + productive question here.
I have been wondering about the same question for years...
there are many levels of society
individual --> Family --> Organisation (profit/NGO/gov) --> Society --> Country --> World
we, as the smallest unit.. how can we contribute to the country, society, or even the world.
I guess, first of all we have to read a lot and have a good profession.. then we can lead others...
I have planned that after my graduation, I wanna start a NGO with my friends... as my first step
The mission of my NGO... I haven't decide yet but now I'm building a strong social network... I'm looking for more young talents like u guys so that we can do something after we graduate...
the next step is that we should have an organisation... NGO or profit org
infact big corp has greater influence in our country.. if possible, I'm trying to be a leader of one of the big corp.
i guess it's too early to take a big step forward... we need careful planning. For now we should gain more awareness of our society + surrounding..
that's all for now...
"think, try and triumph"
Regards,
royston
12-11-2003, 07:13 PM
Hey Chyi and Chenchow, sorry but I have tried to finish what you guys written down there, but my eyes were kinda tired. As I have said, I am new, each and every topic is also very interesting and I will start to read from the very beginning. So until Chyi's reply, gosh... mata tak boleh tahan ... haha!! :lol:
Ok... What can I do when I go back? What can I contribute to my nation? I can understand this kind of heart and aggressive emotion especially when you are going to finish your studies. But try to ask yourself something:
1. What you want to do when you go back?
2. What is the meaning of "contribute" and from where you should firstly contribute?
Real world is actually 180 degree different with what you can imagine. You should plan first before you make any move. Think! What you want? Money? Social Level? Job Satisfaction? Among these 3 choices, selecting Money will be the easiest choice to get a job. Why? Because you will do whatever just for the sake of money, not materialistic... We need money to survive, we need to eat, wear, drive and so on.
After you have selected any of these choices, you may shift to other whenever is needed. For example, once you have earn enough money, you may think about some job satisfaction, or rather social level and so on. These are all depending on what you want yourself to be.
Contribute... contribute to nation? Do you think you can? At this moment, sorry pal, NO! Chinese used to say, "Take care your ownself, manage your family then control/contribute to the world".
I am not trying to turn you down but this is the truth. You need to know how to take care yourself, at least you can survive without depending on whichever party. After that, have your own family, kids, properties. Finally, we may talk about "contribute" to the nations.
Friends, Kawan-kawan sekalian, whatever we want to achieve, we need to have plan. Slow and steady, we will win!! Good luck.
Again, sorry if I have bothered you. Please don't take it personally... :P
~ roy ~
I m back to Penang now, and I told my frens that we should think for our country, perhaps do sth for our country. and I really wish that I can do it.
Sth my fren said is true, she told me that since I m study in foreign country, I cant really make the local people agree with me and support me.
and I did sth these 2 days. I met my frens in local uni to get to know how the local uni students think. and I followed my cousin and her frens to mamak stall to minum, talk to them and try to understand their situation now, they are around 19-20 year old. and I talked to my Malay neighbor this morning when he was doing his morning walk. talked to my auty's visitor when I went to her house. and talking to them, different level of people in the is very important. they told me what's their daily problem, what they expect from the government, and there are a lot of useful advice and suggestion from them..
I dont want to be a student study in overseas, saying that I want to do sth for my country but not really understand how the real situation is.