View Full Version : What is the weightage of NS in co-curricular marks?

wuenwuen
08-07-2008, 05:21 PM
i was one of the NS programme 2nd bacth 2008.. and now I"m pursuing f6....
can anyone tell me is it true that NS mark stands for 60% of 100%?? heard that there's a new format of calculation of marks in koko... can anyone tell me the truth?

'coz I don't want to get myself too buzy with the extra curricular activities!

Thread title edited for clarity
seehua~

abuzar
08-07-2008, 05:25 PM
i thought NS is in another category. those who join NS will be given 10 marks in maximum,right?

wuenwuen
08-07-2008, 05:43 PM
i thought NS is in another category. those who join NS will be given 10 marks in maximum,right?

what do u mean by that? thanks for the further explanation..

08-07-2008, 07:50 PM
the Coco scheme change from time to time. :nod
we just sit and see next year end, which policy being use then.

i heard that its given 10% straight. no need to join uniform unit. this means,those who went for NS,just need to join 1 club/society and get 10 for it and that's it. you will get 10 mark full for Coco Stpm level.

another rumours is your NS doesnt carry any meaning at all. :nod

09-07-2008, 09:15 PM
my previous school directly gave 100/100 for the NS section....making all the NS gruaduates very high cocu mark achievers!

=P

but still, the official cocu scheme I saw only give 60/100 for NS...

Conclusion: up to budi bicara of ur PK Koko....as long as he says yes, u will be alright...coz when the pegawai phone the school to check, wat ur Pk koko says count.

B.T.SengYee
09-07-2008, 09:19 PM
all ns stdnt wiill get 10 marks directly..
any1 cnfrm with me bout that
Paxil Sickness (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)

09-07-2008, 09:21 PM
any1 cnfrm with me bout that

confirm with ur PK koku:)

wuenwuen
10-07-2008, 12:55 AM

Do u mean 100%?

sugarspice
10-07-2008, 04:52 AM
My PK koko said " NS tak guna punya. Tiada markah." :lol

So i reckon it depends on your PK koko whether to give you marks or not.

10-07-2008, 09:36 PM
My PK koko said " NS tak guna punya. Tiada markah." :lol

So i reckon it depends on your PK koko whether to give you marks or not.

Ummm. Sugarspice,your PK Coco is quite right eh. Lotsa seniors teachers told me "NS cert no use one lar". :P

peihoon
13-07-2008, 06:12 PM
PK coco in my school said NS is another category apart from badan beruniform, persatuan and sukan, and NS graduates will be given 60/100 only... not 100 as stated before... he said so when giving us a taklimat

anyway, one senior of mine said NS cert is quite useful if you wish to enter uni in Singapore. it's the 3rd criteria they are looking for besides STPM and MUET results. for this, i am not 100% sure but i think since seniors said so, maybe it really plays a role.

zane
06-09-2008, 07:14 PM
my friend said 7 out of 10....according to his cousin....

lsw1990
07-09-2008, 12:31 AM
lolz, my teacher says.... what NS? NO USE LA...... and i was like... wth??

The Myth
07-09-2008, 02:48 AM
I was an NS trainee of the 1st batch of 2007/2008 series.When I was applying JPA scholarship,I remember that JPA officer did call and ask me about my NS thingy,like the post i held,activities I took part during NS.Proven that NS do occupy a place in the government's eyes(or at least it is 1 of the criteria that is taken into the consideration for such scholarship application).Well,my point is, significance of NS is not to be underestimated anyway..:)

joofei
10-11-2008, 09:30 PM
You get 10%(full marks of 100%) if you wanna apply into any local universities... that's the highest....

lawteoh
11-11-2008, 12:13 PM
You get 10%(full marks of 100%) if you wanna apply into any local universities... that's the highest....

Nope.. U get 60% minimum.. and if u hv any other posts like ketua pasukan or pencapaian during NS, then your mark would be higher.. might be close to 100.. that's what my pk koko said..

ken_cck_kid
13-11-2008, 11:50 PM
my pk koko say ask me to choose between club,uniform,House n NS, just take the highest two only. NS accounts for 60%. if club n uniform get high marks than NS can go throw d..tat's wat she told us durin taklimat...haha...

sugarspice
15-11-2008, 06:12 AM
For NS the max mark is 60 only.

peihoon
03-12-2008, 06:36 PM
my pk koko say ask me to choose between club,uniform,House n NS, just take the highest two only. NS accounts for 60%. if club n uniform get high marks than NS can go throw d..tat's wat she told us durin taklimat...haha...

it is absolutely correct.

17-02-2009, 01:26 PM
What the hell, juz look at it tis way man, with NS, u'll get some points already. Plus, with ur own efforts in Coco in ur school, it's actually quite easy to get full marks for coco to attend to interviews. :)

fran28
23-05-2009, 10:58 AM
what bout if u wanna postpone NS,will u still get ur 60 marks?
Like for me,I got 3rd batch,postponing it till afta stpm,coz taking form6
will I still get the 60 marks?

23-05-2009, 11:10 AM
my friend said 7 out of 10....according to his cousin....

Nope.. U get 60% minimum.. and if u hv any other posts like ketua pasukan or pencapaian during NS, then your mark would be higher.. might be close to 100.. that's what my pk koko said..

For NS the max mark is 60 only.
To make the statement clearer.

According to the Latest Penilaian Aktiviti Kokurikulum at http://www.scribd.com/doc/3052379/Pa...ilaian-Koku-10 (http://www.scribd.com/doc/3052379/Panduan-Penilaian-Koku-10),

"Murid-murid yang telah menamatkan Tingkatan 6 dan mengikuti Program Latihan Khidmat Negara (PLKN), mereka yang terlibat boleh memilih markah prestasi PLKN untuk turut dipertimbangkan dalam pengiraan markah. Dalam kes ini, murid mempunyai empat pilihan dari tiga yang perlu dipilih untuk menentukan markah kokurikulumnya. Jika prestasi murid didapati tinggi dalam kegiatan PLKN, maka markah terendah dalam bidang lain akan digugurkan. Markah Kokurikulum yang diperolehi calon ialah 60 markah @<hidden> 60/100 x 10 = 6 (pengekalan cadangan sebelumnya yang dicadangkan oleh Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi Malaysia."

It can only be used for form 6 as all your koku marks when you are in form 5 is gone the moment you enter form 6. They changed the system recently as it is not fair for those who isn't selected for NS.

avy
26-05-2009, 12:23 AM
im a stpm 08 student n da scheme we haf dat time is ns get 60/100...no matter wad post u get...and its lidis...u haf uniform-100%, club-100%, sports-100%...from dis 3 u pick 2 of da highest n get da average...if u haf ns, den u can pick like ns 60% plus da highest of da other 3 lo...so ull only use ns60% IF da highest 2 is NOT below 60...so if ur a active person, u wont use it at all...

i duno da scheme change or not la...dis is 08 eh...