View Full Version : Should Homework Be Compulsory For Pre-U / Uni Student ?
q135790
14-07-2008, 06:45 PM
Hi, I`m looking for points for a class debate and i can`t think of points about this.So, i hope u guys out there can help me.TQ :)
14-07-2008, 07:31 PM
I guess you need to first define homework. Is revision included? Notetaking? Assignments? Presentation? Or only the good ol' malaysian primary school "do question 1a, 1b, 1c and hand it in tomorrow" stuff?
14-07-2008, 08:40 PM
What you are doing now, is homework.
14-07-2008, 10:05 PM
What you are doing now, is homework.
Well said, well said!!
Which side are you in anyway?
Xianst
16-07-2008, 10:37 PM
Well... it should not be compulsory - if the students are mature enough to control themselves... and that they are clever enough to judge whether it is necessary
17-07-2008, 03:27 AM
or you can say it should be compulsory to reduce the weight of final examinations. It is always better to judge performance throughout the learning process rather then to put the whole burden on one examination.
Hmm... is there are any course or subject where homework is not needed?
17-07-2008, 05:10 PM
Most of my subjects here in Germany doesn't contain compulsory homework :P
eve88
18-07-2008, 09:41 AM
Homework? i dint have any last semester - not in the sense of the assignments that u need to do and hand in.
yes theres lab prep - but you can ignore it and no one will bother you.
ditto for lecture prereading/postreading....
=D
(im doing otago uni, health sciences first year)
extreme
18-07-2008, 11:53 AM
compuilsary may be yes but not [assing it up and never getting it back.
by doing homework you get to understand the theory better and relax in the final examination since you already know everything necessary and confident of yourself. you just need to have a look at your solution and do somemore exercise for some of the chater or solution that you are unsure of.
thats just my opinion
:)):))
18-07-2008, 12:16 PM
Anyway sorry for being a "language nazi" and digressing from the topic, but this is something that has bugged me for a while:
Why is it so common for Malaysian teachers and students to say "pass up" when they are referring to the submission of homeworks? To quote from dictionary.com:
pass up, to refuse or neglect to take advantage of; reject: The opportunity may not come again, so don't pass it up.
This is the ONLY meaning of pass up. It doesn't refer to submission of homework at all. The actual term should be "submit" or "hand in" or "turn in".
UPDATE: By the way I found a possible explanation for the term "pass up" here (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070610235641AAU4XlU). Pass up is sometimes used to refer to the situation where students from the back of the class literally pass their work to the person in front to be collected by the teacher in front. Reminds me of my primary school days. :D
UPDATE2: If you google for the term "pass up homework" (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&pwst=1&q=%22pass+up+homework%22&sa=N) (WITH inverted commas), there are many Malaysian blogs and forums. And recom.org is in it (http://www.recom.org/forum/archive/index.php?t-435.html). :D
music_freak28
20-07-2008, 07:54 PM
it shouldn't be...or not we'll be too dependent on lecturers. I prefer if lecturers just leave it to us to do homework ourselves..kinda like reverse psychology...LOL
i hate teachers that goes around class checking h/w. Makes me feel like a primary school kid
20-07-2008, 09:48 PM
I had a teacher who used to pinch us when we didn't do our homework. We were in form 4 and form 5 at that time. Imagine how we felt :notrust
Yvette
20-07-2008, 10:38 PM
nah..it shouldn't be made compulsory. At this age, we're big enough to make our own decisions and have enough initiative to master what we learn by ourselves. Not to mention, pre-u and uni life already involves so much COMPULSORY coursework..
But then again, every student can't be expected to display an acceptable level of dilligence. Some have to be coerced into doing homework so that they do follow up the lessons.
If homework includes non-exam based coursework then I think its essential. Otherwise assessment for a subject will be like 40% finals, 20% midterm, 20% test, 20% quiz....
Isn't being too exam based one of the main complains for our education system?
Besides homework can be fun...especially if your're the one giving them... :P
21-07-2008, 01:46 PM
Anyway sorry for being a "language nazi" and digressing from the topic, but this is something that has bugged me for a while:
Why is it so common for Malaysian teachers and students to say "pass up" when they are referring to the submission of homeworks? To quote from dictionary.com:
This is the ONLY meaning of pass up. It doesn't refer to submission of homework at all. The actual term should be "submit" or "hand in" or "turn in".
UPDATE: By the way I found a possible explanation for the term "pass up" here (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070610235641AAU4XlU). Pass up is sometimes used to refer to the situation where students from the back of the class literally pass their work to the person in front to be collected by the teacher in front. Reminds me of my primary school days. :D
UPDATE2: If you google for the term "pass up homework" (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&pwst=1&q=%22pass+up+homework%22&sa=N) (WITH inverted commas), there are many Malaysian blogs and forums. And recom.org is in it (http://www.recom.org/forum/archive/index.php?t-435.html). :DWe were taught of "Passing up the homework" long time ago, most probably primary school days, I believe that's the explanation... Even though I was told that "hand in" is the correct term, sometimes just can't help uttering "pass up", rooted?
Anyway, assignment is an assessment to the learning, so if assignment is considered homework, then it's necessary... Somehow I think assignment or coursework is "upgraded version" of homework, the term "homework" is used in primary and secondary schools, after that, there will be no more "homework". Instead, there are "assignments", "tutorials", "coursework", "presentation" etc... Aren't these form of homework?
21-07-2008, 04:20 PM
I had a teacher who used to pinch us when we didn't do our homework. We were in form 4 and form 5 at that time. Imagine how we felt :notrusthm... over my two years from form 4 to form 5... I've only handed up my homework... twice
B.T.SengYee
21-07-2008, 04:33 PM
haha..
i dun like hw..
bt for sure dun hw to do in exam if dun do it as hw...
WEB SHOWS (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
tomatoinc
21-07-2008, 06:34 PM
hey, homework is never compulsory..just thatt you don't get marks if you don't do it. there's always a choice!
21-07-2008, 07:02 PM
hey, homework is never compulsory..just thatt you don't get marks if you don't do it. there's always a choice!
hey, food is never compulsory.. just thatt you will die if you don't do it. there's always a choice!
Caprio
24-07-2008, 09:48 PM
hey, food is never compulsory.. just thatt you will die if you don't do it. there's always a choice!
Your post here just remind me of life is just about making choices.
I made a choice to post it here.:P
q135790
25-07-2008, 06:00 PM
im in the opposing side