View Full Version : Q: How can I refuse to fly, even i get good result in my pre-u??

Anderson
16-07-2008, 01:25 PM
Im doing ausmat program in INTEC, majoring in pharmacy. I wanna ask any senior here: Did anyone have the experience that even you get good TER ranking(for my pharmacy course is 95 above), like 99.95, but u refused to go universities at oversea, can it be?
I juz wanna to do twinning programme like 3+1, or even finish all my degree course in Msia, can i do so???
I really dunwan to fly, but according to my head program, seats for pharmacist-to-be in australia 's universities are more than enough for INTEC students. What can i do????

tres
16-07-2008, 02:03 PM
Im doing ausmat program in INTEC, majoring in pharmacy. I wanna ask any senior here: Did anyone have the experience that even you get good TER ranking(for my pharmacy course is 95 above), like 99.95, but u refused to go universities at oversea, can it be?
I juz wanna to do twinning programme like 3+1, or even finish all my degree course in Msia, can i do so???
I really dunwan to fly, but according to my head program, seats for pharmacist-to-be in australia 's universities are more than enough for INTEC students. What can i do????

you should have reject the scholarship in the first place if you really don want to go overseas and then apply for the local programme and give this chance to those who really need it. May be you should call JPA saying you are interested in local uni.

deaf-knee
16-07-2008, 02:18 PM
well I know someone who got into unsw for medicine but didn't want to go and went to imu instead. she just neglected to inform jpa of her acceptance to unsw, leading them to assume that she was only accepted to imu.

why would you not want to go overseas though? I really think it is a very good opportunity to learn, and grow.

seeweijie
16-07-2008, 02:23 PM

You just make up your mind that you dont want to go oversea or from early (before applying JPA) you know that you dont want to go oversea?
If you are in the second condition, you should have not applied JPA.

16-07-2008, 05:18 PM
WOw. special case.

Should have rejected it the very 1st moment. Apply local JPA. you will sure get 1 place in. :P

Personally,i think you cant pull out from the game anymore. but chance are still there. Talk with the officers?

One question, why suddenly dont wan go oversea?

16-07-2008, 05:18 PM
Mind telling the reason why you refuse this?

Yvette
16-07-2008, 05:50 PM
for cases like this, i would suggest you go straight to your sponsor, with your valid reason.

Anderson
17-07-2008, 12:58 PM
WOw. special case.

Should have rejected it the very 1st moment. Apply local JPA. you will sure get 1 place in. :P

Personally,i think you cant pull out from the game anymore. but chance are still there. Talk with the officers?

One question, why suddenly dont wan go oversea?

hmm
many things seems so unreal for me, i dunwan to have any changes , with my life now. I hope to be a pharmacist, tat's it. I dun really hope to go oversea for 4 years time, i really hate changes. When im adapted to life and environment there, i have to fly back again. Most important of all is, I am attached, and i in love with the person so much. 4 years time just too long , and hard for us to keep goin with our relationship. I really wan to have a simple life: get my pharmacist license and live happily ever after with my partner and my family and friends. I dun sure if we can overcome the time and the distance problem. Thats my point.

17-07-2008, 01:27 PM
This may sound harsh from me, but I reckon it's selfish to give up your overseas sponsorship just because you are now in a relationship. In my batch two of my friends started their relationship two months before university, and the guy is going to NZ while the girl is going to Melbourne. Today, four years down the track, they are still together, and I believe that's the testament of the nature of their relationship, and I am confident that they will only come out of the separation even stronger than before.

You have two commitments - one is between you and your sponsor; another is between you and your partner. However, the former commitment took place before the latter (I believe?), and it's irresponsible to take up a new commitment and say to the former "oops sorry, I think I have to revoke my old responsibility because I have a new one". Yes the separation is excruciating (saw it with my own eyes), but when you started the relationship you should have taken the future separation into account. JPA may seem like a trivial thing to you compared to love; but from JPA's eyes and from the society's perspective, we are talking about some hundred-thousand-ringgit business here.

Regardless, I am not in the position to be an arbitrator for your decision - so if you are adamant in the decision, do try to apply to JPA and see what they say. I haven't heard of any precedent case, so we will see what JPA will do about it. My personal hope is that they don't set a new rule "no relationship allowed in pre-u course" for JPA scholars in the future.

17-07-2008, 01:46 PM
hmm
many things seems so unreal for me, i dunwan to have any changes , with my life now. I hope to be a pharmacist, tat's it. I dun really hope to go oversea for 4 years time, i really hate changes. When im adapted to life and environment there, i have to fly back again. Most important of all is, I am attached, and i in love with the person so much. 4 years time just too long , and hard for us to keep goin with our relationship. I really wan to have a simple life: get my pharmacist license and live happily ever after with my partner and my family and friends. I dun sure if we can overcome the time and the distance problem. Thats my point.

You are being unrealistic!! Have you not lived long enough to realise that life is all about changes?? What matters most is how we embrace and deal with the changes that come instead of shunning them away! Our world is no fairytale land!

Also, are you aware there are many out there yearn to be in your shoes?

Although it is not my place to question your commitment towards your partner but you may never know how your relationship with him/her turns out. Should the worst happens, will you regret this decision? Only you have the answer.

Dear Anderson do think this over and I wish you all the best.

Yvette
17-07-2008, 02:03 PM
if i may add.."change is the only constant thing in life"..
be brave there!

qiaozi89
17-07-2008, 02:21 PM
There are a lot of changes and challenges in our life and it is inevitable. You might have chosen to stay here this time, but how you gonna face other changes in your life? You have to know this decision affect your whole life. You really think staying will bring no change?

A lot of people want to study abroad because they can learn to be independent and tough. If you can overcome the challenges in this 4 years, what you learn in this 4 years is enough for you to face future challenges and you can find better job. You might say you dun mind about job. But who knows what will happen in future? When you face financial problem then you just blame yourself that you din take this good chance? Then it is too late!!!

Think for long term. I have a lot of friends having bf/gf, they still maintain the relationship well. If the partner is yours, it is yours eventually, no matter where you are.

17-07-2008, 05:09 PM
I've gone through more than 2(3 years unofficially) of separation from my girlfriend because we are in different courses. What I can tell you is, while it'll be hard to endure, it's not unachievable.

I've seen a lot of people living through a much much longer period separated from each other because of studies and their job location. Their relationships had strengthened over the years instead of going down the drain as well.

No life doesn't come with changes. You will have to change along with the sweeping current that always flows, else you will be left behind. I believe that, if you guys do love and believe in each other, any kind of obstacle can be overcame.

Do give these comments a thought. I wish you all the best

Edit: Should you be serious about your relationship, you will need to plan ahead the path that the both of you are going to take down the road. That means you will have to get good qualifications in order to get a good job, or be qualified enough to start your own business...

Also, there is more to life than being with your loved ones all the time. You do and will have other responsibilities to other people that you will need to fulfill as well. Failure to do this will result in complications in dealing with other people later on in life...

leinad
17-07-2008, 05:32 PM
Seriously...
just get married first before you fly then.
if your not prepared to get married , don't go into a relationship. a broken heart is an abused heart. and we shouldn't abuse ourselves or others.

and i agree with everyone's advice here.

it'll also be interesting when one day the sponsors take action on these kind of incident with a " no relationship rule during scholarship " although JPA scholars get extra allowance overseas if they get married with a fellow scholar (not sure though)

xinni
17-07-2008, 07:13 PM
Have you (anderson) ever think of all these before deciding to accept this scholarship ? Initially , what made you want to accept this scholarship ? It's not wrong that you want to go on with your current lifestyle . Well , take others' advice into considerations . If you still want to stick to your own decision , then you better speak to JPA officer . It's either you give up the scholarship now or go on with it .

FakeAngel
17-07-2008, 09:33 PM
think twice b4 u make ur final decision, ther's no turning point after all...

4 yrs is neither short nor long, wit 4 yrs, u MAY hav a better life wit an easier way. without 4 yrs, u may have to go thru a tough time.... everything is variable...

relationship is not everything, though i hav to admit it's MUCH.

if u r clear enuf that U"LL NEVER regret, juz go ahead... but never say NEVER

17-07-2008, 10:14 PM
Anyway, to answer your question: I think JPA will gladly change your program since it will save them on the money used. Give them a call and discuss about your options if you want to proceed with your decision

pinkcat
18-07-2008, 10:54 PM
Well, i'm in the same boat as you. I've already been with my boyfriend for almost 2 years and now we are seperated as he is studying in perak while i'm studying in Taylor's. We get to meet only one or twice every two months.
It is hard, i know. But do spare a thought for your future and your parents. I'm sure your parents will not mind not having you around for 4 years in exchange for a degree from a renowned university overseas. I'm sure they will be disappointed if you give up just because you have a girlfriend and do not wish to leave her.
You will have plenty of time to be with your loved ones once you graduate. All you have to do now is concentrate on your studies and make the most out of your life while JPA sponsors you. Also, take this temporary seperation as a challenge. If your relationship cannot withstand this seperation i'm sure even if you stay here your relationship might not last that long as obstacles will be there all along the way no matter where you are.
If you two can make it through 4 years spending most of the time apart(I'm sure you two would still get to meet once every few months right?), i'm sure you two would surely be able to set up a happy family next time as your love is strong enough and is a perfect foundation for a happy marriage.

chen
19-07-2008, 03:11 AM
Dude,
Pls, do consider the fact that there's another 100 people who wanted to fill your position(scholarship/education) and you're now thinking of an easy way out(excuse) to demote your overseas' degree program. It's definitely very selfish of you to give it up now..

Sorry to say this but I don't mean to ridicule or insult your relationship with your partner.
It's sad but true facts that you'll be making a huge sacrifice to give up your opportunity to complete your tertiary education accordingly for the very reason of being with your lover.

Come and think rationally and logically. You wanted to adopt the simplest way out to obtain a local or 3+1 program kinda thing, but you'll miss out on the experience abroad which I'm pretty confidence that it can go along way in helping you later in live. If your current relationship is that strong and solid, there's nothing to be afraid of by flying abroad to seek out the remaining of your scholarship's obligations. Many couple had over come this period of what you regard as 'tough' time.. Honestly I've seen many of my friend sustaining a long distance relationship. Yes, the thoughts of it kills, but it's for the couple to be strong and mature on handling this issue. Before long, it'll be time to re-unite again..

tent
19-07-2008, 11:38 AM
yes.i am totally agree with chen, long distance relationships though it seems hard to many ppl, but with the persistence heart and determination, u can sustain and maintain ur intimate relationships with ur partner.

it is not the matter of time where u can easily relinquish JPA just becos of the ridiculous reason to be in wif ur partner or family. yes, i admit this relationships is vital, but to think long run, u can get a better future by staying overseas for 4 years and the experience that u gain transcend greatly than those in local. u can experience the different culture and perhaps indulge urself in various entertainment and having fun there. Ps: i am sure u will be totally obseesed with the fun and environment at overseas and would have no time to think or reminisce ur partner though.

if u still insist on placing top priority to ur relationships , make sure u wont regret for the rest of ur lives.

B.T.SengYee
21-07-2008, 04:27 PM
erm..
nice forum i guess..
seem like a love Vs study battle...
i guess most of us here alrdy give u many reason y u shud continue...
as its quite funny to reject to go to oversea bcoz of ur gf.
if its ur gf ask u to do so..
then dump her..
she is not urs...
since she is so selfish...
bt then if thats ur wish..
n u believe that stay local is wat u like..
i have to stress that no 1 forced u..
then ony u shud pick up the phone and tell jpa...
bcoz when u r doing smthg that u dun like hard to sucess...
coz i m in the situation stdying the courses tthat i not really like..
dun knw wat will happen..
1 last Q for u..
shud u have wat u like or shud u like wat u have..
think smart
Vapir vaporizer review (http://vaporshop.com/)

Leen
22-07-2008, 05:20 AM
Anderson, if you don't want it, just drop the whole scholarship thing and fork out your own money. I have a friend who studied so badly to try to get a high-enough TER and still fail to do so. He ends up in IMU right now. So you should really consider your decision carefully. A lot of people don't even have the chance you have.

bush
24-07-2008, 01:10 AM
What if the relationship ends in a few months time? No girlfriend, no opportunity to study in Australia.

Anderson
25-07-2008, 07:11 PM
sorry guys, seems tat i had offensed some of( or most probably most of) recomers, but anyway, i had make up my mind to do whatever i can do now, and leave the rest to the faith to decide.

tent
27-07-2008, 12:47 PM
we are not criticising ur decision or contradict it.And i am not getting offended with ur thread here.

just that feel free to make ur very own decision.

Anyhow wish u all the best in ur decision and rmb that decision is upon u who decide , not others.

27-07-2008, 04:05 PM
sorry guys, seems tat i had offensed some of( or most probably most of) recomers, but anyway, i had make up my mind to do whatever i can do now, and leave the rest to the faith to decide.

No need to apologise and no, you offended none of us. We reacted strongly because we feel that you should really think this over before committing to a rash decision. Nevertheless, I see you have made your choice, and I hope it is to your best interest.