View Full Version : Multimedia Super Corridor: Is it a success or not?
morpheous
13-05-2004, 03:31 AM
I said no.
below are the comments on MSC from lowyat forumners..
any recomers,care to elaborate??
Moderator Action: Deleted. Infringement of Copyright. Please avoid copying pages of posts.
13-05-2004, 04:23 AM
hmm....i like the 'sambal belacan' company...haha
btw, I'll have first hand info this summer...let's see how....haha :D If not I'm sure some of us here can start-up an MSC-Status company =D
13-05-2004, 07:40 AM
I think one of the main advantages of MSC is that it has built an awareness of Malaysians about ICT. I had once asked Narayana Murthy (I posted this in ReCom before), CEO and Founder of Infosys, the guy behind the success of Bangalore, India, about MSC.
He cited that MSC has helped the incubation of more than 900 local start-ups. What matters most is that Malaysians now have more awareness on entrepreneurship and there is also the creation of Venture Capitalist in MSC itself. It was something that we haven't gotten before MSC.
I think the main thing is that if we think that MSC does not perform up to the mark, lets suggest to MDC and perhaps join MDC and help develop MSC. Actions will speak volume. We can't expect MSC to be built in a day.
It is true that the number of patents etc are still low compared to developed nations. However, I think what we need to take as yardstick is whether we have grown. Whether we have improved, compared to ourselves.
Perhaps, instead of arguing on whether MSC is a failure or not, why don't we think of what MSC could do and perhaps we could summit a letter/suggestions to MDC on it. We could submit to some media on this issue too. That will be more productive.
13-05-2004, 07:43 AM
Guess this move after Pak Lah's meeting with Heads of MNCs in Malaysia will be effective in making expatriates coming to work in Malaysia.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/5/13/nation/7972005&sec=nation
13-05-2004, 09:16 AM
"I think therefore I am" - Descartes.
"We think therefore it would be" - Malaysians on MSC.
If all Malaysians think that the MSC failure is not good and the government is not doing the good job, then, there's no reason why we should quarrel about it. If we think it's going to fail..it will fail: miserably.
But if we "switch", and reflect that we're doing pretty good, that we can go ahead and takeover market from India and China, and all we need is more participation from Malaysian society to make it happen,
then, we're heading in the right direction (minus the "irrational exuberance" thing).
I think MSC is pretty good. we just need to constantly seek the ingredients to make it happen. To complain about the poor public transportation (and that the bus don't have the GPS system) as a failure of MSC, I think, is just ridiculous.
I hope Metro buses in LA come with GPS...and I hope they can transport me from LAX directly to USC. Unfortunately, they are not.
(check out the city of LA if you don;t believe how horrible the public transport is)
I want to hear what people who lives in Silicon Valley have to say.
about cronysim, there's no question about it. As long as we have the government-led project, we could expect cronysm.
I have this fancy idea that it would be nice for Malaysians to come together and setting up the msc-like place somewhere up north (kedah/penang) or Pahang..(since it's got nice beaches), to get away from the govt. red-tape.
But I think as long as we have the investors, and the people who want to work on it, the chance to prevent cronysm is bigger..I think if government can generate income from that area, they're pretty happy about it.
I want to postulate this question to Recommers.. how do you get away with this red-tape/favoritism problem in MSC ?. (But please don't tell me to not vote any particular party..I'm not really interested...but you can email me at masterof_none@<hidden> if you have the idea).
My idea is try to get investors to come to one place (either MSC or not). and attract all engineers to come along, and work on it...
Or start from the university.. public research ..etc.
Randomphantom
21-05-2004, 04:43 AM
For one, I believe rampant cronyism-anything not done transparently, plus red tape, naturally drives out investors from this region.
What does a 'little kampung project' like MSC have to offer in order to compete with the developed state of IT in the India/China regions?
Truth is, since the dotcom bubble burst, people are more wary about investing in startups like this. Expectedly, MSC has not progressed by much.
Remove the hype and focus on the things that we are able to start with. One of these are graduates from our universities, eg MMU, UTP etc. Educate them on entreprenuership methods, engage them in research activities. Identify areas of research of potential.
25-05-2004, 11:06 AM
Shared services and outsourcing industry in Malaysia has garnered investments of over RM1 billion and has resulted in the creation of almost 7,000 jobs.
This is part of the success story of our Multimedia Super Corridors..
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/20040525071759/Article/indexb_html
25-05-2004, 12:25 PM
How can it not be a success? If we're talking about all IT companies moving to Malaysia then well it wasnt.
HEre's my say on it. MSC got its failure reputation because of the goverment was using it as a tool telling Malaysians that we're going to be the top Techonology joint. The propaganda of the future of MSC was over done.
MSC is on the right course. There's so many new IT groups that are moving to KL. I had the chance to go around cyberjaya few times and i was impressed by how many foreign company that is actually based in cyberjaya not their hometown.
Silicon Valley? Far from it but none the less MCS has created a new job market and provided the best deal for new technology groups.
If your in the IT world you won't beleive how many times MCS is considered to be the best location.
Telekom Malaysia pretty much wired the whole area with FTTC/H and with huge pipes. There's plenty of data centres in Cyberjaya ran by locals for big companies.
I heard the new thing is a lot of call centres are moving in too.
25-05-2004, 12:45 PM
I guess MSC has helped Malaysia, to propel towards the higher technology based. We may not be on par with Silicon Valley or Bangalore, but MSC has provided a platform for us, fellow Malaysians to explore and grow.
Guess MSC has helped to make Malaysians having a vision to grow and progress. Without MSC, we may not have a picture of how advance we can be. For instance, the smart chip in our passport, which allows us to go through our immigration process with our thumbprints scanning, guess that's a major step ahead.
Right now, we need to instill the right attitude and with it, we can create waves in the world!
gohweihan
25-05-2004, 10:16 PM
The government is trying to do too much in too little time with the MSC.
jagganatha
26-05-2004, 03:37 PM
The government is trying to do too much in too little time with the MSC.
i second that.. you cant jus copy other countries that fast.. it takes time to implement technology.. hope some of us here at recom can change the look of msc forever.. for the better of course.. :lol: :lol:
26-05-2004, 09:15 PM
I think it is more on the learning curve. If we need to catch up, we need to do much more than others.
Perhaps, we could forward some of our ideas to MDC, to help them in their development of MSC.
Any nice idea out there on how MSC should be developed?
gohweihan
26-05-2004, 10:55 PM
I think the problem with the MSC lies within it's implementation. The government tries to implement things in two ways. Firstly, some of the projects were implemented slowly, step-by-step. While this might be a good move for projects which does not involve all Malaysians directly and requires constant monitoring by the government, utilizing this method in situations like the MyKad would make the people frustrated because they have to always check back with the government to see what they can do with the MyKad at hand. In this case, it would be better for the government to have the infrastructure in place, and only then introduce the MyKad to the people, who will then be able to put it to full use.
The second method is the opposite of the first - that is to implement something in one big step. However, most of the projects implemented this way still have minor issues to be ironed out, as in the case of Smart Schools and the usage of computers in teaching. These projects would instead benefit from a step-by-step approach where technology is introduced slowly to schools, and that the school community adapts to this before it is pushed further ahead, instead of schools being shoved with technology that even teachers get confused on how to operate them.
27-05-2004, 03:31 AM
This is an indirect benefits of MSC. Malaysia is officially selected as the host of the 2008 World Congress Of Information Technology. This International Congress in IT is the largest gathering of leaders in this sector, with expected attendance of about 3000 industry leaders, including Michael Dell, Bill Gates etc.
Guess this will be a tremendous spin off for our local information technology. Guess without our MSC, Malaysia would not be able to successfully lobby the hosting of this Congress.
http://www.bharian.com.my/m/BHarian/Wednesday/Komputer/20040526075916/Article/
The_Observer
27-05-2004, 06:31 PM
I was about to vote for NO but then now I change my mind, I am going to abstain.
I was just thinking how MSC relates to precursor enzymes in the body. On how when the time is right (for eg. food comes in), peptide segments bound to the pre-enzymes will be cut off and the enzyme is able to work....all that sort...biochem or chem. ppl can explain it better than me...
MSC as groundwork for the future? Possibly
But by then, it might be a relic...who knows...
30-06-2004, 09:58 AM
As of now, how is everyone's sentiment on MSC?
Bill Gates was in town recently to have a meeting with Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi to further chart MSC's progress.
MSC's 3 Phases of Target is as follow:-
The MSC development plan, Phase One (1996-2003), saw the creation of the MSC, which includes one corridor, 50 world-class companies, seven flagship applications, a world-leading framework of cyberlaws, and the establishment of Cyberjaya and Putrajaya as intelligent cities.
Phase Two (2003-2010) aims to create a web of corridors, 250 world-class companies, set global standards in flagship applications, establish a harmonised global framework of cyberlaws and four to five intelligent cities linked to other global cybercities.
Phase Three (2010-2020) will see the transformation of Malaysia into a "knowledge-based society" with 500 world-class companies, a global test-bed for new multimedia applications, an International Cybercourt of Justice in the MSC, and 12 intelligent cities linked to the global information highway.
What do you guys think of it? Kulim and Penang will be linked with other intelligent cities all over the world.
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/20040630073715/Article/indexb_html
Any comments on this development?
01-07-2004, 05:29 AM
i still think it's a treasure chest of ideas, but it's not going to to anywhere unless the goverment becomes more liberal. Not only in its IT policies, but also general governance, like a more independent media, more freedom of speech, a better human rights record, more accountability, etc.
these are fundamentals, and no matter how much money we throw at the project it will never go anywhere. foreign investors will never come ( why not opt for a more transparent and technocratic govt like in Thailand's, or cheaper alternatives like China's )
right now malaysia simply isn't a rational, or even relevant choice.
again, what is the good of these infrastructures? investors are not attracted by our (actually quite expensive i hear) 'world class' facilities - they are everywhere these days. remember... market fundamentals.....
sorry to be the pessimist here. more of a realist and reformist thanks
The_Observer
01-07-2004, 12:39 PM
I think M'sia still lacks a definite plan about MSC. M'sia tries to appease every aspect of the 'fundamentals' but well...a jack of all trades is a master of none.
Malaysia's attempt of central management of the project fail because of obvious reasons (nepotism, cronyism etc etc.) unlike Singapore's relative success in central economic management.
Another point, all this MSC only on west coast of Peninsular Malaysia. Not much to east coast states and above all, so little to East Malaysia. Being Sarawakian, as far as I can see it, we here dun receive any much benefit except for our resources being taken to support it instead. Eg. Bakun dam, oil and gas royalties.
Not a good trade, I reckon.
BTW, el_empty, nice pic of....I think is Greenspan, is it?
dinna_g
02-07-2004, 04:16 AM
Interesting topic.. IMHO, MSC is not a failure... However, I do think that it does not perform as well as it should be. So, my vote is somewhere in between a yes and a no.
The_Observer has actually brought an interesting topic about the unbalance development between West and East Malaysia. Come to think of it, there is even a huge gap between the development of the West Coast and East Coast of West Malaysia itself... Anyway, the topic is too broad and I rather not go into detail....
02-07-2004, 06:19 AM
The MSC development plan, Phase One (1996-2003), saw the creation of the MSC, which includes one corridor, 50 world-class companies, seven flagship applications, a world-leading framework of cyberlaws, and the establishment of Cyberjaya and Putrajaya as intelligent cities.
i keep my reservation on this: 'cyberjaya n putrajaya as intelligence cities'.....
26-01-2005, 01:59 AM
oop - one down for MSC
http://business-times.asia1.com.sg/sub/bizit/story/0,4574,142955,00.html
SINGAPORE'S central location in Asia, legal system and availability of talent have prompted software company SSA Global to start the process of shifting its Asia-Pacific (including Japan) headquarters here from Sydney.
who's SSA?
With the merger of Oracle and PeopleSoft, SSA Global is now the third largest provider of ERP solutions behind German giant SAP and the combined Oracle-PeopleSoft entity, according to analysts.
SSA Global officials said the company was the No 1 ERP developer in the middle market segment of companies with US$100 million to US$1 billion in revenues and also the No 1 in ERP for the manufacturing sector.
oh.. forgot about redhat
http://business-times.asia1.com.sg/sub/bizit/story/0,4574,142949,00.html?
the company moved its Asia-Pacific and Japan HQ from Sydney to Singapore in August 2004, is looking at setting up a support and development centre here, and will offer full-fledged Red Hat Linux courses at four polytechnics from Q2 this year.
02-02-2005, 09:27 AM
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/2/nation/10062793&sec=nation
just something related...
02-02-2005, 11:21 PM
Note: This is not a flame (although it always sound like one). I like chenchow, I really do. I will do my outmost to un-brainwash him :D
One thing I damn cannot tahan about chenchow is he always think of some lame ass excuse to save the government butt.
Without further ado, I shall offer my responses to chenchow's arguments POINT-BY-POINT.
POINT NO. 1
I think one of the main advantages of MSC is that it has built an awareness of Malaysians about ICT... MSC has helped the incubation of more than 900 local start-ups. What matters most is that Malaysians now have more awareness on entrepreneurship and there is also the creation of Venture Capitalist in MSC itself. It was something that we haven't gotten before MSC.
Theme:
- Awareness
- Venture Capitalist (sic)
- Start-Up's
1. Awareness - I am aware that MSC was an excellent way to instill false pride onto Malaysians that Malaysia is ready to shed it's 3rd world image.
2. Venture Capital - What is this?
3. Start-up's - Do we need MSC for start-up's? Malaysia is the most fertile breeding ground for SME/SMI's in the region (probably next to Taiwan in terms of productivity). To say that we need MSC to spur our economy is utter hubris. There cannot be an industry without the knowledge.
POINT NO. 2
I think the main thing is that if we think that MSC does not perform up to the mark, lets suggest to MDC and perhaps join MDC and help develop MSC. Actions will speak volume. We can't expect MSC to be built in a day.
I agree Action speak volumes. But what action are we seeing from our politicians? Most of them have already pocketed from the initial hype and are not enjoying the benefits.
Before action we need the will. Dr M had a brilliant idea hoping that his henchmen would be pro-active and show some form of brilliance. But alas, history repeats itself and the MSC, along with PROTON, MAS and other pointless government ventures will drown in the hands of unqualified, overpaid and utterly useless governemnt cronies.
No will, no way.
POINT NO. 3
It is true that the number of patents etc are still low compared to developed nations. However, I think what we need to take as yardstick is whether we have grown. Whether we have improved, compared to ourselves.
Yardstick's are an excuse to set your expectations low and be lazy.
Commitments to the public that one will do all he can do and MORE, should be the attitude by the politicians if they want to see the MSC as being more than a white elephant.
POINT NO. 4
Perhaps, instead of arguing on whether MSC is a failure or not, why don't we think of what MSC could do and perhaps we could summit a letter/suggestions to MDC on it. We could submit to some media on this issue too. That will be more productive.
Or we could kick out BN in the next election.
Chenchow, they haven't listened to us in 47 years. How long more are you going to moan to them?
It's time to divorce them.
ps. We'll make an effort to end up as PLKN trainers in the same camp ok? :P
Glass pipe set (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com)
02-02-2005, 11:28 PM
This is why so many people bought the hype, so they can reap the rewards later
Grant moved to US firm in RM50m MSC sting
BY NELSON BENJAMIN
KUALA LUMPUR: A Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) company chief executive officer has allegedly siphoned off more than RM50mil from its coffers by depositing the money into a company in the United States headed by him.
The 55-year-old CEO, from a foreign country, said to be one of the world?s leading scientists and technologists, is also the chairman and president of the company.
The money is said to be part of a grant of RM440mil awarded to the firm by the Malaysian government for research and development last year.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/2/nation/10062793&sec=nation
Sounds familliar?
OF COURSE! This has happened before! And it will happen again... and again... and again....
Why? Because we... the rakyat CONDONE this type of behaviour. Year in, year out, we still elect the same bunch of jokers who squander our taxes, watch belly dancing over the river nile, and indulge in more corruption that you can rake.
HEADSHOPS (http://headshop.net/)
03-02-2005, 12:31 AM
But misled, didn't she who screwed up the government grant?.
It's like NSF giving some amount of money to researchers at research university, and the researchers took it for their own benefit.
I see nothing wrong with government's agenda of helping the people.
It's just the people who are irresponsible. Same thing when Pak Lah realized there are people who smuggled diesel outside, after govt.
heavily subsidized the diesel. (link gone in Utusan.)
The question is whether all these people got investigated, the way Martha Stewart and others being investigated.
The question is, the Next step.
The_forgotten
03-02-2005, 12:43 PM
Chenchow, they haven't listened to us in 47 years. How long more are you going to moan to them?
hmm...misled, just wondering, are there any better substitutions for BN currently??
03-02-2005, 12:57 PM
hmm...misled, just wondering, are there any better substitutions for BN currently??
belum cuba belum tahu
true, but the majority of the people won't change if they keep being threatened with political and economical instability if the government changes each time there is an election.
03-02-2005, 11:58 PM
what political and economic stability?
where have you been the last few elections? :P it's typical ruling party strat. "what can the opposition do?" "they have no experience in governing a country" "rakyat tak kenang jasa bn" blablbla... that sort of stuff
07-02-2005, 12:17 AM
Back to the issue of MSC, and basically the issue of InventQjaya and Reveo CEO and Chairman, Dr. Sadeg M Faris, what do ReComers think about it?
Dr. Sadeg Faris has come out to clear his name and he would be making a press statement on Monday. And the person that lodged the police report, was InventQjaya former CFO, who was sacked the week before hand...
Any thoughts on this issue? Personally, InventQJaya has managed to bring back a great number of Malaysian researchers back to Malaysia. It has been able to launch a number of high-tech research and other innovations.
The_forgotten
07-02-2005, 02:47 AM
where have you been the last few elections? :P it's typical ruling party strat. "what can the opposition do?" "they have no experience in governing a country" "rakyat tak kenang jasa bn" blablbla... that sort of stuff
in malaysia's case, i think the people have no choice at all. true, there are individual candidates in the opposition who are good enough (or at least appear to be) to be entrusted a place in the government, however, there is no opposition party in a whole which is capable of leading the country currently. (which, i think this is an indubitable fact)
thus, do you think we should try the opposition despite knowing that they are highly probable of ruining our country??
yet, i m no hardcore supporter of BN. it is just that we have little or no options at all.
(correct me if im wrong...i m not in malaysia now, so my opinions might be obsolete)
The_forgotten
07-02-2005, 02:49 AM
It has been able to launch a number of high-tech research and other innovations.
what are those researches and innovations?
07-02-2005, 03:17 AM
For full details, please refer to http://www.inventqjaya.com/
Among the achievements that I find interesting, including 150 top-notch Malaysian and expatriate full-time researchers are working at InventQJaya. Within the past 15 months, they have had 400 patents, 40 inventions and 6 commercial products.
These 6 companies formed under InventQJaya is as follow:-
LuxVu Sdn Bhd focuses on the Cholesteric Liquid Crystal (CLC) based patented switchable window technology. The market for Switchable Windows is estimated at $800 million a year worldwide in applications such as architecture, automotive, specialty furnishings. This is the lowest cost switchable window technology that goes from completely transparent to opaque. The manufacturing process is being perfected now and should be scaled up within 12 months.
? OxyEauTech Sdn Bhd harnesses the purOgen oxygen separation technology towards aquaculture technology. With this technology, we will be able to increase the yield while improving health of fish.
? IQHarvest Sdn Bhd is the first indigenous invention of InventQjaya. It is an advanced system that incorporates solar panels, water collection and food raising, maximizing land use and energy.
? MFree originates from the successful transfer and development of the Magnesium-Air Fuel Cell technology. This initiative is focused on rural electrification using magnesium fuel cells that are activated by salt water. The technology offers long-lasting, high energy, pollution free and recyclable energy, allowing for environmentally safe development.
? eVjaya Sdn Bhd develops low-cost metal air vehicle fleets for public usage. EVjaya will pioneer the use of metal-air fuel cells in fleets of scooters, buses, lorries and automobiles for zero-emission public fleets.
? AquaRaya is based on the desalination research to completely eliminate salt from water though a low cost electrochemical process. This technology will assist billions of people world wide have access to fresh water, a resource becoming scarcer every day.
I would say that among all, InventQJaya is one of the most successful among all Malaysian-based MSC status companies.
A side note, InventQJaya is recruiting too.
http://www.inventqjaya.com.my/jobapply/careers.asp
07-02-2005, 09:01 AM
but there has never been economic and political stability when the opposition took over. the opposition was never given the chance to take over.
07-02-2005, 09:08 AM
but there has never been economic and political stability when the opposition took over. the opposition was never given the chance to take over.
I don't even think it's that. It the lack of infomation about the opposition ideal and agenda because of the control of the Mass Media in Malaysia.
Maybe in the near future when television&radio is the secondary source of Information then maybe we will see a change.
flibbertigibbet
05-03-2005, 11:34 PM
I just skimmed through the 3 pages of posts on MSC. And I have searched for more details on that topic from this site.
http://www.msc.com.my/
It is really informative. For fellow ReComers who want to know more, or merely for preparation for the JPA interview, do check out that page.
06-03-2005, 01:13 AM
Perhaps a good way would be to bring up some essential points there, and post it here for discussion.
zchen
25-03-2005, 11:44 AM
don't really know about this topic...but if i am not mistaken part of ict is quick communication?in this count i think malaysia has suceeded ...just look around.every one has a handphone.even more are interested in keeping up with things like computer,handphone etc...i think you get what i mean.and i think almost everyone can now surf the net...the percentage of people logging on succesfully is almost 100%..isn't this a success?
while we focus on mega projects certainly simple things like this cannot be ignored..
25-03-2005, 11:55 AM
Sadly, you are mistaken. MSC is a half-finished, half-hearted effort to emulate the US silicon valley. We may have people who go online 24/7 but that does not mean our infrastructure is *that* good. MSC is meant so that our country becomes a producer of computers, software and hardware but we are losing out to china.
2 years ago, i look at every dell computer, it says 'made in malaysia' or assembled in Malaysia. However, yesterday i just got my new dual xeon workstation from Dell and it has more 'made in china' boxes as far as peripherals go.
You reap what you sow, and if you sow half-heartedly, you will certainly reap half-hearted results.
25-03-2005, 12:06 PM
msc? what msc? provide reliable and affordable broadband internet access throughout the country and the startups will come. right now all we have is streamyx which i heard is unreliable and certainly expensive. check out the ridiculous pricing.
http://www.tm.net.my/html/images/product/streamyx_price_chart3.gif
src: http://www.tm.net.my/html/htm/product_streamyx/packages.htm
25-03-2005, 11:57 PM
as of 11.01am eastern standard time (US) tmnet is down. :lol:
04-04-2005, 01:17 AM
alright here's a positive spin to the MSC story.
since the star's archive disappears after a while, i apologetically quoted just about the entire story.
http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp?file=/2005/3/30/technology/10555932&sec=technology
Govt to launch national grid computing project
BY RASLAN SHARIF
CYBERJAYA: The Government is embarking on a National Grid Computing initiative to boost research and development by pooling computing resources in local universities and research institutions.
Mimos Bhd is leading the effort, with work already underway since the end of last year, according to Datuk Seri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (Mosti).
The initiative is expected to be launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi next month, he said.
?We are going to build a networked, multiprocessing, multistorage computing capability? to enhance the existing R&D infrastructure in universities, Jamaluddin told reporters at the official launch of the Malaysian Research and Education Network (MyREN) on Monday.
MyREN is a high-speed research network linking 12 local universities.
Jamaluddin did not disclose the cost or completion date of the grid computing initiative.
A grid computing platform integrates high performance computing clusters, applications and databases together via high-speed networks.
Such an infrastructure would catalyse the formation of research clusters in new and existing scientific areas, as well as consolidate Malaysia?s expertise in these areas, said Jamaluddin.
?It will be crucial for our R&D efforts in the life sciences and biotechnology sectors,? he said.
Once completed, it would be linked to MyREN, and be made available to the scientific and research community in the country, he said.
Grid computing is expected to be a key component of Malaysia?s technology agenda under the upcoming Ninth Malaysia Plan. Others include IPv6 (Internet Protocol version 6) and RFID (radio frequency identification) technologies.
Global links
Meanwhile, efforts are underway to connect MyREN to the Japan Gigabit Network, which is also a research network, said Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik, Minister of Energy, Water and Communications.
Multimedia University (MMU), a MyREN member, is currently working with Japan?s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications on the linkup, he said.
?This would most certainly bring about better fruition of the joint initiatives we have now, as well as future collaborations,? Dr Lim said in his speech at the MyREN launch.
Malaysia is also offering space and resources to the European Commission (EC) to locate the South-East Asia network operations centre (NOC) for the Trans-Eurasia Information Network (TEIN2), he said. The EC administers TEIN2.
Work on connecting MyREN to TEIN2 is expected to be completed later this year, MyREN officials said. The MyREN NOC is located in Cyberjaya.
The linkup will provide a gateway to scientific and research collaboration with national research and education networks (REN) that are part of the GEANT ? the pan-European REN ? as well as RENs in other Asian countries.
Countries in the region that have set up RENs include Singapore, China, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia.
Focused research
Dr Lim also said that current R&D activities utilising MyREN are focused on four areas: Network technologies, IPv6, ?e-sciences? such as bioinformatics, and multimedia applications.
Ongoing research include a teleradiology project involving researchers at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), Universiti Teknologi Mara, and the Malaysian Institute of Nuclear Technology; cancer cell visualisation at Universiti Malaya (UM) and MMU, as well as a bioinformatics project at UPM.
The universities concerned are MyREN members. Others are Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Universiti Utara Malaysia, Universiti Tenaga Nasional, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak and Universiti Malaysia Sabah.
MyREN comprises two networks ? a production network and an experimental network ? that cater to differing research requirements.
The production network is MPLS-based (multiprotocol label switching) and links the 12 universities at up to 8Mbps (megabits per second). It is being used for data exchange in collaborative research projects.
The experimental network provides 2Mbps point-to-point connectivity linking four locations ? USM, UPM, UM and UKM ? for network research and dedicated testing.
MyREN will also be opened to other participants, as local and international organisations have also expressed interest, Dr Lim said.
?As soon as we stabilise the system, we will accept membership from other local private and public universities, government research institutions, as well as private sector research entities,? he said.
Dr Lim described the launch of MyREN as ushering in ?a new chapter in the history of R&D in Malaysia,? and said that it provided the tool that would enable the country to ?make the much vaunted quantum leap.?
05-04-2005, 12:23 AM
Here's a site concerning the setting up of BioValley within MSC:
http://www.mtc.com.my/news/pr77.htm
However,
"KUALA LUMPUR, 20 February 2005 - ABOUT three years ago, a Taiwanese investor, taken in by the biotechnology buzz in Malaysia, wanted to make the country a base for his technology-intensive pharmaceutical company. After all, with affordable labour and a government intent on promoting the biotechnology sector, Malaysia seemed an ideal place to invest in.
But his arrival here was greeted by stonewalling bureaucracy: the Land Office gave him the runaround; Treasury officials were not co-operative and the visa application forms were in Bahasa Malaysia. Fed up with the red tape, he took his money to Singapore instead. If it was any consolation, the businessman subsequently did set up a plant in Johor producing gelatin capsules for antibiotics."
"A check with the Singapore Economic Development Board's homepage revealed that the country attracted some S$850 million (RM1.97 billion) ininvestments in this sector last year, creating some 1,900 new jobs."
(excerpts from http://www.might.org.my/index.php?ch=4&pg=127&ac=577 )
--------------------------------------------
Another example is from an article I read in Straits Times Singapore. A friend of a journalist there (a Malaysian), decided that she would return to Malaysia to work to answer the government's call for Malaysian professionals to return to Malaysia, even if it meant her pay would be lower. Her expertise was in Biotech, so she decided to find a job in BioValley. She found that there was no well defined plan there, no proper high-tech infrastructure etc. She was terribly disappointed, and she went back to work in Singapore instead.
In fact, it is said that 40% of the people working in Biopolis are Malaysians. I believe Singapore started the talk on Biotechnology and Life Sciences later than us, but they're ahead now. And they've got the talent... the guy who cloned Dolly is with them now...
The government seems to like to talk a lot, but usually it's all cakap-cakap kosong aje. I'm really saddened by this.
Guess what? The Biovalley is located on the land once alocated for the Entertainment Village, which failed. One thing I've noticed in Malaysia is, they build something, or start something, complete it, and then they say:" here you are!" and keep their hands off it. No maintenance, no monitoring afterwards. MSC gives me such a feeling. However, I'm going to trust this government for the meantime to see if they can make changes. So I'll wait 5 years to see if MSC amounts to anything...
05-04-2005, 12:53 AM
not sure when M'sia starts talking about the Biovalley...thought it was just in recent years?
well...while when I was in S'pore, they were already talking about it since '98 I believe (although it was not called Biopolis then) 'cos the govt kept on encouraging S'porean students to take up triple-science (Bio, Chem, Phy) in A-levels, setting up new scholarships - the A*Star scholarships which are worth about S$1 Million each...which sponsors students up to PhD level...
..also, S'pore has setup a human resource office in many cities worldwide (called Contact Singapore) which headhunts for high potential scientists & attract them to do their research in S'pore...
if you're interested to read more, check this website:
http://recruit.sciencemag.org/feature/advice/foc_10303.shl
05-04-2005, 01:21 AM
well...while when I was in S'pore, they were already talking about it since '98 I believe (although it was not called Biopolis then) 'cos the govt kept on encouraging S'porean students to take up triple-science (Bio, Chem, Phy) in A-levels, setting up new scholarships - the A*Star scholarships which are worth about S$1 Million each...which sponsors students up to PhD level...
Yup, I was quite tempted by the A*Star scholarships, but then I realised research is not my cup of tea, and besides, they'll force you to take up Singapore citizenship once you accept the offer. That's one way Singapore is getting it's talents. I already know of an ASEAN senior who got the A*Star scholarships... What is Malaysia going to do? Is it going to let its talents slip away?
05-04-2005, 07:10 AM
i know of pllllenty of malaysians with the a*star scholarship - the spin they tell you is that scholars will be singaporean citizens. but if you miss malaysia it's just a quick drive away.
but also, they'll make you PRs first. then citizenship comes along.
05-04-2005, 04:48 PM
i know of pllllenty of malaysians with the a*star scholarship - the spin they tell you is that scholars will be singaporean citizens. but if you miss malaysia it's just a quick drive away.
but also, they'll make you PRs first. then citizenship comes along.
Of course, I could try to take up the scholarship and come back to Malaysia quite often (I live relatively near to Singapore). But the point is, I'm rather patriotic you know... haha... so I don't like the idea of working in Singapore and competing with Malaysia. Hm... dunno how long I will stay true to this idea...
OK... let's get back to the main topic...
Ryosuke
17-04-2005, 04:53 PM
Interesting topic.. IMHO, MSC is not a failure... However, I do think that it does not perform as well as it should be. So, my vote is somewhere in between a yes and a no.
The_Observer has actually brought an interesting topic about the unbalance development between West and East Malaysia. Come to think of it, there is even a huge gap between the development of the West Coast and East Coast of West Malaysia itself... Anyway, the topic is too broad and I rather not go into detail....
You are right ? I live in Sarawak but i dun think we will have MSC in Sarawak heh
Ryosuke
17-04-2005, 05:06 PM
Ok i wanna say something bout the broadband.....
1st : It lags like hell
2nd : Its so expensive
I just wanna say from my point of view if the price had been cheaper more people will surely go for it and more and more people will use internet faster than 56k modem.
The problem is 56k modem is so expensive as well.
I like the Australian way of broadband, first its cheap however with a limit download cap. So if u dun download a lot but u just wanna a faster speed then go for it.
Yeah RM 66 is ok becos its unlimited and fast but if someone is not a download freak but only needs better speed they might not choose the broadband plus TMNet is dominating the broadband even the coverage is not that wide and during rainy days it goes crappy...
I think its around a year already and yet people have to wait like ages before their TmNet application got accepted....
I think there should be different services offering broadband...
About the MSC, i think the government should start with the school. No doubt school is the place to teach the younger generations about multimedia. If every school had computers and broadband service to help the students, then i voted MSC will be successful. Like most countries, most children learn how to use computer to do assignment and the list goes on...
Its just my opinion about it. I type this in a hurry so i guess i use a lot of short form but you guys should get the meaning....
Introducing broadband is a good one, like a couple of years before we were still using the 56k and complained a lot.
I hope Malaysia can improve and create their own technology instead of copying others. Rofl. Its call "Cetak Rompak"
I'm using the rm99 package and frankly, i think it's a waste of money. The download speed isn't any faster as compared to the rm66 package, although they claim it is. On sunny days, with absolutely wonderful good old malaysian weather, the transfer rate of files sometimes gets really slow for no reason. On rainy days, god save the users.
Ryosuke
18-04-2005, 12:34 PM
Lolz Thats my point ....
19-04-2005, 01:46 AM
Yes, I'm using the same package too. Waste of money!!! And I heard it is the same all over Malaysia. They should just charge us Rm66 then....
Ryosuke
19-04-2005, 03:14 PM
If Rm99 is fast then its worth the money and the service is good but its friggin piss :p
I'm thinking of downgrading to rm66. TM GROUP>>DOYOU HEAR ME?? This is how customers are chased away. If only we had more options and choices..ah..but i can only wish. Crossing my fingers that it'll be a reality in the near future. :roll:
Ryosuke
19-04-2005, 04:07 PM
If i am a rich guy, i will provide a new service and sure i got lots of customers RoFL
Almost entire MDC board to be replaced in overhaul
BY WONG SAI WAN AND RASLAN SHARIF
PETALING JAYA: Almost the entire board of the Multimedia Development Corporation (MDC) ? the body tasked with overseeing the country's leap into the digital age ? is to be replaced as part of the Government's move to revitalise its multimedia thrust.
Sources said board membership was also to be reduced from 12 to nine to enable faster decisions to be made so that the country could keep up with the pace of technology change.
?The Government decided to make this radical change after it found that the MDC was unable to cope with the latest technological advances,? said a source.
However, he stressed that MDC chairman Tan Sri Halim Ali would be retained.
It was learnt the new board would consist of personalities from the financial, technology and communications sectors as they were ?more in touch with what was happening in the ICT world?.
The source said the board would be ?private-sector driven?.
Sources said one of those who had been given their appointment letter was NSTP group chief editor Datuk Kalimullah Hassan.
?The technology world and the definition of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) have changed. The new board must be able to move the MDC and MSC towards these changes.
An announcement on the make-up of the new board is to be made next week.
quoted from The Star- 20th April 2005