View Full Version : Restructuring For Government-Linked Companies
14-05-2004, 10:38 PM
With the new administration, there is a discussion and action about appointing new blood into GLC. What do you guys think about it?
Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Friday named Mr Azman Mokhtar, 43, as state investment arm Khazanah Nasional Bhd's chief executive officer for a three-year term.
That is the first one.
http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/latest/story/0,4390,250924,00.html?
Will this move help Malaysia in the long run? Will it help the financial restructuring?
16-05-2004, 09:46 AM
There are more articles to ponder about.
Q&A with Finance Minister.
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/National/20040516070752/Article/indexb_html
The Government will offer ?highly competitive wages and perks? to attract Malaysia?s best brains to head and staff government-linked companies (GLCs).
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Frontpage/20040516065839/Article/indexb_html
02-06-2004, 12:24 AM
m bakri musa on glc's: http://www.malaysiakini.com/columns/200405310131108.php
can't say i disagree with him.
KobeBryant
02-06-2004, 11:41 AM
those new blood....sad to say...
most of them are malays....dun expect any chinese to get into the admin board of GLC although i deem this laudable move a good 1
03-06-2004, 10:37 AM
I guess we need to look at whether those talents are qualified. And if they are qualified, races doesn't matter, after all, we are all Malaysians. From my view point, those who are appointed are all pretty experienced and hopefully they would be able to turn around our economy and bring Malaysia to greater heights!
25-09-2004, 01:20 PM
Today I have managed to read about an interview with Azman Mokhtar, CEO of Khazanah.
http://biz.thestar.com.my/bizweek/story.asp?file=/2004/9/25/bizweek/8973200&sec=bizweek
http://biz.thestar.com.my/bizweek/story.asp?file=/2004/9/25/bizweek/8973424&sec=bizweek
http://biz.thestar.com.my/bizweek/story.asp?file=/2004/9/25/bizweek/20040925095624&sec=bizweek
Khazanah has made a few important appointments too.
Shahnaz Al-Sadat - Director & CFO
Track Record:- Formerly general manager, internal audit of Malaysia Airlines, had led the investigations and internal audit into MAS in early 2000.
Ganen Sarvananthan - Director of Investment
Track Record:- Director of equity capital markets at UBS Investment Bank, Hong Kong
Ahmad Shahizam Shariff - Special Officer to Managing Director
Track Record:- Director and head of Islamic capital markets at HSBC Malaysia Bhd
Farid Sani - Special Officer to Managing Director
Track Record:- Associate at McKinsey & Co
And during Budget 2005, Khazanah would be providing 100 scholarships each year to students going to do Professional and Management courses in top universities worldwide.
What do you guys think of the appointments?
08-12-2004, 05:49 AM
i presume ppl have heard of what happened to drb-hicom eh?