View Full Version : How can we improve Malaysian football?

CyberJaya
15-05-2004, 07:14 PM
I dream of the day when malaysia can boast of a league that can rival the j league. A national team that can compete with South Korea, China and Japan. What is it that those nations did to make them where they are today? Surely the only way is to look east much like dr Mahathirs look east policy. Proffesional sports in malaysia is something that we must encourage as it is an industry that can sustain households as well as being entertainment. Why did we get beaten 15-2 in futsal by the thais recently. What is it that they have that we dont? i'd appreciate your suggeestions.

15-05-2004, 08:00 PM
mayb we can appoint cyberjaya as the national coach. play more championship manager. it may help. 8)

15-05-2004, 09:46 PM
Malaysia has a football league? :? :o
WEB SHOWS (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

15-05-2004, 10:07 PM
I think what we need over here is a concerted thought process on what is actually lacking in our players.

I think one of the main thing is that a number of our players lack the passion to play for our country. We lack the support from our own soccer fans too. I think the current pre-Olympic, we have done pretty well in overall. 1-1 draw with China and 1-2 lost to China, which is a team that has qualified to World Cup. 1-2 lost to Korea is also a pretty good performance. Although we got 0-3 and 1-6 to Iran, I think that is a good learning process.

CyberJaya
15-05-2004, 10:27 PM
I think they should introduce football into the school curriculum as a separate subject. Every week have a match with some some coachs appointed to go round to all schools in the area on a weekly basis. For boys and girls. They should be playing it the way they're playing badminton now.

15-05-2004, 10:47 PM
I think what we need over here is a concerted thought process on what is actually lacking in our players.

I think one of the main thing is that a number of our players lack the passion to play for our country. We lack the support from our own soccer fans too. I think the current pre-Olympic, we have done pretty well in overall. 1-1 draw with China and 1-2 lost to China, which is a team that has qualified to World Cup. 1-2 lost to Korea is also a pretty good performance. Although we got 0-3 and 1-6 to Iran, I think that is a good learning process.

i think the problem is the players' attitude...where they think that they are good enough and excessive physical training is not needed...still remember the shameful lost to Laos in the ASEAN games few years back.... where the Malaysian team(full time professional footballers) lost to a Laos amateur footballers team...

and some of the footballers are not strictly discipline and professional...some of them are late from practices, and often have 'rokok break'... (saw this b4)but that's a few years ago...

however, CHEERS, they have improved a lot over the years... at least they can now beat the Singapore National team, but they must work and train harder and try to become the best team in South East Asia....beat the Thai, beat the Indo...and then proceed to rival other national teams like China, Korea, Japan, Saudi Arab...

i think the country has all the talents we need, just that the system is inefficient... still remember Titus James??and a few other players who got sports scholarships...

15-05-2004, 10:50 PM
coach. a real good , dedicated , highly aware of the standard now n possess the passion to bring up the football team.

CyberJaya
15-05-2004, 11:10 PM
Its all about training the youth and the system. Football needs to be more than just semi-pro in Malaysia. You should treat it as a career to make money. I think there should be a state schools league where all the schools from each state compete against each other. Then during the recess their can be a competition for all the winning state schools to compete against each other. All the best players can then be given scholorships to a public university to play football and get a two year degree. After two years they shouuld then either be selected for a premier league team or they should carry on with their education.

16-05-2004, 12:38 AM
i think the country has all the talents we need, just that the system is inefficient... still remember Titus James??and a few other players who got sports scholarships...

Yeah, Titus was a good example. I'm sure there are many more kids like him just waiting to be discovered in our schools. Perhaps a more efficient talent scouting programme needs to be implemented?

Also, can't help but notice that our league is mainly made up of state teams (Perak, Selangor, etc) while those in other countries are made up of town based clubs. Maybe having town/regional based teams/clubs might increase the chance of spotting new talent since in countries like England, aspiring footballers usually play for their local clubs before being brought into big league-based teams.

16-05-2004, 12:41 AM
how is titus james doing?

16-05-2004, 03:42 AM
On Titus James, he is currently playing as a first-team player in the Under-18 side of the Villenoy FC in Meaux, Paris.

He will be playing in the AFC Under-20 Championship, which Malaysia will host from Sept 24-Oct 8. He is currently 17+, turning 18 this August.

Titus had spent two years in Quevilly Sportive Union, a sister club of French First Division's Le Havre in Normandy, before moving with his foster parents to Meaux.

soul_out
16-05-2004, 10:57 AM

Also, can't help but notice that our league is mainly made up of state teams (Perak, Selangor, etc) while those in other countries are made up of town based clubs. Maybe having town/regional based teams/clubs might increase the chance of spotting new talent since in countries like England, aspiring footballers usually play for their local clubs before being brought into big league-based teams.

The capacity of stadium and fans are the limiting factors to run a town/regional based football teams. Money is needed to run a football team, whilefans are the main cash contributor to build a football team. Play more champpionship manager and read more news from www.soccernet.com then you will realised the important of money in football.

Besides, i would think all races must involve and participate in putting effort to make Malaysia football a better future. Currently in Malaysia football is more to a Malay sport, while Chinese is more to basketball and Indian is more to Hockey although there are some exceptional. There is a Chinese student who is capable to play for Selangor first team in MSSM 1999 but he was not selected by the Malay coach due to some reason, racism. He is my friend. Most ppl in Klang know about the story.

When i went to National Stadium in Bukit Jalil to cheer for Malaysia football team back in the Sea Game 2001, i found out that actually majority the football fans(99% and above) who went to support is Malays.

deekay
16-05-2004, 04:10 PM
Malaysian football has been in the dumps for so long, it isn't funny anymore and sadly, it seems that no one even bothers about the state of Malaysian soccer. Fans are more aligned to the EPL and other international leagues. It is sad that there are numerous fans of MU, Liverpool, Arsenal, etc in Malaysia who would have the spirit to support these teams but not the local teams. I mean, given a choice of local fare vs EPL ... enough said !

The current President of the FAM - HRH the Sultan of Pahang has been at the helm for over 20 yrs, I believe.

Achievements so far ? A couple of podium finishes in the SEA Games, staging of regional and some international youth tourneys, got a lot of money pumped into the game and started a professional league.

Unfortunately, if we look around to see what our neighbours have achieved, these achievements aren't much. Thailand has been having a stranglehold on soccer in the SEA Games for years. The Koreans once feared us but now, they send their youth teams to play us.

After 20 yrs, we should ask the Sultan to step down. If Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) had been set back then, perhaps we might have seen more progress. Perhaps the fear of antagonising a Ruler is stifling the committee members of the FAM. The story of the Emperor's New Clothes comes to mind.

That is the first step we should take.

As for racism in Malaysian soccer, the teams of the 60s and 70s - perhaps a golden age of Malaysian Football - had racially balanced teams, if I recall. A number of players names then were household names and still are.

I can't recall any of the present lot of national team players and one will probably be hard pressed to find non-Malay names as well. Why is this so ? Is it because of more lucrative sports elsewhere of fewer non-Malay players in general?

Are we looking at the same issues as the lack of participation of non-Malays in the Armed Forces and Police ? No future / glass ceilings / recognition ?

It is hard to say if there is racism in team selection in Malaysian sports. It does, however, seem that non-Malays are not participating as they were in the past. And if this bias is being practised, football in the country will suffer ... from the results of the national team and the lack of popularity of the M League, it looks like we are there already !

17-05-2004, 12:00 AM
Play more champpionship manager

Hey, that's my favorite game!

One of the reasons I believe why football is now no longer a multi racial sport in Malaysia is because of racial mentalities. For the Chinese I believe, a career as a professional footballer is probably seen as a 'temporary' career where you retire in your 30s and cannot secure a bright future and most importantly, lotsa money. Most Chinese parents I'm sure, will discourage their children from becoming professional footballers (in Malaysia at least) in favor of more established professions (doctors, engineers, etc.). The reason is because these professions are perceived as being more 'distinguished' and are able provide a better, stable and more secure future. Also, they might worry about racism in team selection (like that guy from Selangor), which is also one of the reasons why most Chinese don't join the armed forces or police. I don't know about the perception from other races though.

17-05-2004, 07:53 AM
maybe we should quit soccer. :p

17-05-2004, 10:20 AM
As for racism in Malaysian soccer, the teams of the 60s and 70s - perhaps a golden age of Malaysian Football - had racially balanced teams, if I recall. A number of players names then were household names and still are.

I can't recall any of the present lot of national team players and one will probably be hard pressed to find non-Malay names as well. Why is this so ? Is it because of more lucrative sports elsewhere of fewer non-Malay players in general?

Are we looking at the same issues as the lack of participation of non-Malays in the Armed Forces and Police ? No future / glass ceilings / recognition ?

It is hard to say if there is racism in team selection in Malaysian sports. It does, however, seem that non-Malays are not participating as they were in the past. !

Are you sure or your just trying to spin this into a racism thread? Hmm what about our Badminton team? Hockey team? Also our Football team has a lot of non-Malays player as well. I think i still remember that the Penang Football Team has more non-Malays. Even the coach was chinese few years ago.

I think i remeber more non-Malay atheletes too. In Badminton we have wong choong hann, Hockey-Kumaresan. Swimming i thin kit is some Guy name Alvin, Cycling Indian, Running Watson?

In Football too there;s plenty of non-Malay. I think Sport is the only thing in Malaysia that never involved racism.

Remember who's the first Malaysian to conquer everest which expedition was 100% sponsored by the goverment? Hint: An Indian.

17-05-2004, 04:55 PM
i think maybe the main problem with m;sian soccer players is the lack of competitiveness and mental toughness. maybe it's time to change the system and make big deal of sports in universities like the US?

17-05-2004, 05:14 PM
msian football used to be a kind of interesting thing to me..i used to watch every game and know who is who etc..but now, heh..i dont even bother..i'd rather be watching EPL or spanish league *beckham!!!* rather than watch msian footbal...

it's just that, our payers seem not to hv the energy and will to be good..they seem tired..in a way...my 2 cents..

17-05-2004, 09:09 PM
can i juz say tad msian football no cure d?!

deekay
17-05-2004, 11:21 PM
To the comment by ThirdShifter - NO, I am not trying to make this into a racism thread. That issue was brought up by someone earlier and I just made some comment.

As for non-Malay sportsmen, yes, there are quite a few but if you observe - they are mainly involved in individual games such as badminton, swimming, cycling as was mentioned. You can even extend that to any of the martial arts, etc. The point was that in a team sport like football, there seems to be mostly Malay players and perhaps there are socio-economic factors at play. Maybe you are right .... maybe they are the best we have. As this thread is about Malaysian football, I hope the FAM would have some inkling of what these socio-economic factoras are and address them.

Or maybe the local players watch too much EPL, etc and believe that they cannot match that. That becomes a psychological factor.

The conquest of Everest was also brought up in this thread. We are all aware of the two guys who were the first Malaysians up there. It would be the greatest irony if the two UiTM guys who reached the summit recently be awarded their "Datukships" before their predecessors. Till this day, I don't understand why if other Malaysians can get acclaim and bestowed awards, why is is that these two Malaysians are forgotten? Sorry if this is out of context of this thread but it was brought up earlier in this thread as well.

18-05-2004, 03:13 PM
yeah, like Azhar Mansur. Why was he awarded the Datukship? hmm...weird..all he did was sail aorund the world...

CyberJaya
18-05-2004, 07:59 PM
It seems like times never change

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=0518&pub=Utusan_Express&sec=Sports&pg=sp_02.htm

19-05-2004, 02:16 PM
hmm...w 10 on the other side un we cant win? why m i not surprised? :roll:

19-05-2004, 10:46 PM
I think Sport is the only thing in Malaysia that never involved racism.
that, and taxes.

never got involved in competitive sports myself, so i can't say. but i tend to agree with you, especially with regards to national teams.

19-05-2004, 11:27 PM
hmm...w 10 on the other side un we cant win? why m i not surprised? :roll:

70th minute only mah....and by then japan was already up 3-0. So really we capitalized on the 1 man advantage by scoring the goal.

saser_sp
26-07-2004, 02:30 PM
hurm ~~~ sad ....sad and sad malaysian league ...~~
there are talented players ...but lack of support ...~~
akmal rizal ....indra putra .....bla2 :cry:

dunno wut to say ~~ ....

Wan_G
26-07-2004, 03:09 PM
erm.. maybe one of the thing FAM can do...

change again... PRO league to the semi pro...

because only in the semi pro league... player with any background can play... i mean... he can play apart than doing their daily job...

i'm saying that because.. our player today mostly come from not-so-high backgrund study... n of course.. they don't play with their BRAIN... just play with their emotion.. n only their leg !!

people who have bright flair in football sometimes don't want to gamble his future.. because they know that the profession in that field... as a player on the pitch... dun't promise a flourish future 4 them !.. furthermore... they are more risky in facing injury...etc ...

our league is not like EPL or other european league... whom their player are confirmly paid with a salary that can make them a millionare just by staying on the bench !! ... just imagine like a palyer who is paid 10 K (pound ~ which is one of the lowest payment in EPL) weekly... he can get so much money a year without even kicking the ball in the pitch !!

hurm... that's my opinion... that i realize... seem so hard to be applied in msia...

WA

saser_sp
28-07-2004, 09:55 AM
mmm ~~ i agreed with wan "g" ....anyway FAM also need to nurture young talent ....give them a fair chance same like thier counterpat who keen in football ...around the globe ...

they just didn't get enough support ....~~
a top club in the world always care with thier young talent ....
they give them the best facilities in football ....and the boys show what they got ....and what kind of level of football they can reach ..

sometimes ....we all see ..a "tinny" news in sports column ...where top club like ARSENAL .....MAN U.... "steal" other clubs talented youngster ....~~ just imagine they "steal" our talent in malaysia :roll: