View Full Version : Do you think its crazy to be travellliing .....
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 01:43 AM
Do you think its crazy to be travelling for four hours round trip a day to university? Will i have enough time to study? Or should i study on the train. Please leave your thoughts?
16-05-2004, 01:57 AM
it is not only crazy... it is definitely insane and out of someone's mind....
4 hours...NO WAY.... study on the train.... dun tell me u can study on the train for 4 hours... even if it is quiet and all, u will still be distracted...most ppl can't even study for 4 hours at the study table, let alone on the train...
and traveling is really tiring....
to travel 1 hour is already time consuming and tiring...even if u can study, it is not as effective as u study at home, or at the library...
i used to travel for an hour to school... and i really hated it... i had to wake up earlier to prepare for school and everything...it is really not worth to travel for that long daily....
lets do some simple calculation....4 hours = 1/6 day... spend on traveling??? I DEFINITELY DON'T THINK THAT IT IS A WISE CHOICE !!!
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 02:21 AM
I guess that i have no choice but to forfeit the placement then.
16-05-2004, 05:05 AM
yes, it is crazy.
well if you really want to, no one's is going to stop you
widagdo
16-05-2004, 07:13 AM
insane
16-05-2004, 02:48 PM
I gave up my opportunity to study in PFS due to the travelling problem (1 hour of travelling a day). It's a total waste of time. Not worth the sacrifice...
Why dun you get an apartment or rent a room somewhere near your university? That's more feasible, if you really want to go to the university.
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 05:27 PM
I cant afford as the loan i'm getting wont cover it. I have to pay tuition fees out of the loan as well as living expenses and rent. I could get a job now but i'm receiving benefit which will entitle me take another course at a discount in september. So i'm not going to do that.
16-05-2004, 08:51 PM
Btw, which uni are you going?
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 08:56 PM
Middlesex University
16-05-2004, 09:03 PM
I think it has one of the largest school of computer science in UK, yes? Hmmm... Since you're into computer and stuffs, can't you find any other alternatives for you to get an accomodation near the uni?
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 09:07 PM
The university that will be a four mile round trip is Brunel. I really would love to get a place around there but i'll have to start working and saving for living expenses. I'll need a part time job. There is a job going now actually that i'm going to ring up about on monday.
16-05-2004, 09:09 PM
Haha... All the best then.
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 09:11 PM
The only thing is that i'll have to be paying back all of that loan when i graduate when if i stayed at home i wouldnt have to. It is a case of stay at home and graduate in computer engineering with a placement or computer science without a placement or go to Brunel and graduate in computer science with a placement which is my preffered option. The only thing is that i have to get a place around there and i dont have enough loan for that so i'll have to get a job to cover it.
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 09:22 PM
Shall i study computer Engineering rather than computer science just for the placement or do you think i should forfeit the placement and just study science.
16-05-2004, 10:15 PM
I think placement is just a temporary solution, so what you should be looking at is for long term solution. What interests you more? Hardware? Software?
CyberJaya
16-05-2004, 10:21 PM
I'm more interested in software.