View Full Version : A Malaysian Education. Brainwash?
The_Observer
18-05-2004, 07:14 PM
Are we actually getting a true education or are we just being given the basics + propaganda?
Topic open to all. All discussions welcome.
PS: The_Arbiter. I issue a challenge to you!
gohweihan
18-05-2004, 08:48 PM
I've stated this on The Star Online's Purple Sofa, and I'm going to state this again.
"It is a known fact that every system in Malaysia is tied to the Government, including the education system. It is so beautifully crafted to the Government's ideologies, that most people cannot see that at first glance."
The History subject is the best example of this propaganda.
18-05-2004, 08:55 PM
I think you should specify what you mean by brain-washing. I don't remember being brainwashed in secondary school.
However, the major flaw with Malaysian Edu is it teaches students what to think and not how to think. READ: Spoonfeeding.
Colorado Medical Marijuana (http://colorado.dispensaries.org/)
18-05-2004, 11:32 PM
I've stated this on The Star Online's Purple Sofa, and I'm going to state this again.
"It is a known fact that every system in Malaysia is tied to the Government, including the education system. It is so beautifully crafted to the Government's ideologies, that most people cannot see that at first glance."
The History subject is the best example of this propaganda.
isn't this the same everywhere?
19-05-2004, 01:23 AM
isn't this the same everywhere?
except maybe in Iraq =) hmm....with regards to the question? hmm...i don't think so...we aren't being brainwashed...if not this forum wouldn't exist rite? and everyone will think the same way...?
19-05-2004, 05:53 AM
If you take the word brainwash literally, then ya you're brainwashed all the time - ReCom is brainwashing you too :P
Like all issues, it is usually a matter of degree.
I heared that the entire Japanese WW2 episode is shrunk in about 1 page in Japanese history texbooks, and mostly about their glory. Just a few weeks ago we were shocked that someone wanted to remove Hang Tuah from our history textbooks because they were deem too "Chinese" and irrelevant. Suttle things like S'pore textbooks say M'sia kicked S'pore out of the federation, M'sia textbooks say S'pore left us and went their own way etc.
All these suttle paraphrasing (or ommision/lack) of the same thing are prevalent, but mostly justifiable in our current circumstances.
After all, there needs to be a coherence in thought amongst the people staying together. Here, we're better than your average history textbooks because we try to share and absorb one another's views, while the textbook is more of a one way speech.
No doubt it is "beautifully" crafted. But as we move on and grow up, we'll have to open our hearts and learn more from others, read other country's textbook. Pages like Wikipedia are excellent examples where readers constantly change the page to reflect a worldly view of issues.
Today, I still maintain the same hobby reading the same news twice, once on the Star, and once on Straits Times, and then "Spot The Difference". It gives you a lot of perspectives :)
Shikes... need to go to class... to absorb more brainwashing from my lecturers.....
soul_out
19-05-2004, 06:26 AM
Example of Brainwashing.
News adapted from NST.
Putrajaya, May 17th: Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar today angrily described as ?biased and baseless? allegations by the US-based Human Rights Watch that Internal Security Act detainees were treated as harshly as Iraqi prisoners at Baghdad?s Abu Ghraib prison.
Link adapted from Malaysiakini.com
http://www.malaysiakini.com/pages/torture/torture_in_malaysia.htm
19-05-2004, 11:27 AM
i hate 2 say this but i can't agree more with u. as mentioned earlier, the current form 4 history syllabus is the best example. i remember last time when i was in form 4 (2001) there was only 1 chapter on islam (which is the longest among all chapters). but now almost 1/2 of the textbook is on islam (4 or 5 chapters i think. pls correct me if i'm mistaken.) the poltical revolutions, which i find indispensable, were left out. i'm not tryin 2 disregard the importance & contributions of the islamic civilization 2 the world but do u think that it is necessary 2 elaborate them with the cost of leavin out the revolutions which had brought significant impact 2 the world? history, which r taught 2 form 4 students now is incomplete, i must say. they should name the subject as islamic history.
The_Observer
19-05-2004, 03:41 PM
Hmmm...interesting comments so far.
Thanks, everyone...good stuff good stuff.
Alright, now I shall begin.
Perhaps it sounds a little harsh, but the thing is that I found our education as what misled_youth was saying, is rather limited and it serves or gives the impression of merely serving the ruling government's interests. A pure national schooled Malaysian (like me...), if not properly exposed to realities, have a severely closed mindset. We do not develop what most people term as 'critical thinking' and we are disinclined to bring ourselves out of the 'village/kampung mentality'. We do not dare to think big, we are so dependent and afraid of authority, we are....sigh...can someone help me out here?
Our education system is yeah, spoonfeeding. Thing is, what are we being spoonfed? At least most other developed countries have an open education system where the people are allowed and given the capacity to develop their own opinions and thoughts.
One dangerous indication is that the Arts faculties in the local universities (especially philosophy, literature) are limited to usually Islamic studies, Malaysian history (which is so short...) etc.
It is usually the Arts academics who usually should be pioneering new thought and forms of knowledge (philosophy=love of knowledge). Unfortunately, I don't see much of that. Secondary and primary school is worse. I don't see it at all.
This is where I introduce brainwash to you.
Take a pure national schooled individual, with the typical Malaysian attitudes + no outside exposure. He will follow whatever the authorities tell him to do. At most he will grumble. BTW, Singaporeans should take note of this as well.
Will he/she fight for his rights (if oppressed)? or will he even try to find out more about his rights? Will he dare to say 'no'?
Unlikely. I don't see any development of an individual but a herd...excuse me... a community.
I believe we need reforms and we better do it quick, if we do want to achieve developed country status by 2020.
Still remember Wawasan 2020? I wonder how many out there really believe in that. We may look like a developed country by then, PROBABLY. But will the people be on a 2020 wavelength?
Final note:
Not everybody are fortunate to have a higher education overseas like some of us here do. So, what about those who don't? Should we leave them mired in 'mud'?
20-05-2004, 01:28 AM
i hate 2 say this but i can't agree more with u. as mentioned earlier, the current form 4 history syllabus is the best example. i remember last time when i was in form 4 (2001) there was only 1 chapter on islam (which is the longest among all chapters). but now almost 1/2 of the textbook is on islam (4 or 5 chapters i think. pls correct me if i'm mistaken.) the poltical revolutions, which i find indispensable, were left out. i'm not tryin 2 disregard the importance & contributions of the islamic civilization 2 the world but do u think that it is necessary 2 elaborate them with the cost of leavin out the revolutions which had brought significant impact 2 the world? history, which r taught 2 form 4 students now is incomplete, i must say. they should name the subject as islamic history.
Not to mention UiTM's Ethics.
20-05-2004, 05:40 AM
Perhaps it sounds a little harsh, but the thing is that I found our education as what misled_youth was saying, is rather limited and it serves or gives the impression of merely serving the ruling government's interests. A pure national schooled Malaysian (like me...), if not properly exposed to realities, have a severely closed mindset. We do not develop what most people term as 'critical thinking' and we are disinclined to bring ourselves out of the 'village/kampung mentality'. We do not dare to think big, we are so dependent and afraid of authority, we are....sigh...can someone help me out here?
It's not harsh at all, if you have read through the Education threads (just go find those 8 to 10 pages long ones) you'll find very very similar remarks made by many many of us ourselves. There are plenty of purely national schooled Malaysians here too, but by and large policies affects all streams of education. It's good that you observe this as well, and more importantly, that we all do something about it. That's the spirit of a civil society.
Our education system is yeah, spoonfeeding. Thing is, what are we being spoonfed? At least most other developed countries have an open education system where the people are allowed and given the capacity to develop their own opinions and thoughts.
One inclination when looking at education is to compare ourselves with those of the "developed nations". It might be good since they might just have the right formula to succeed, but sometimes we have to look at our own situations and take small steps. The forum you're in is a small step. More will come.
On the other hand, mind you that lots of "developed nations" have a rigorous spoonfeeding curriculum. In fact, in many places, only the rich and fortunate gets to develop their own opinions and thoughts. In the words on LKY, a soeicty needs to be balnced like a pyramid. Only the selected creme of the crop makes the decision, while the rest follow orders. This is the most effective way to govern and the fastest way to succeed. Do you agree? If not, then there goes one formula down the drain. So let's look at our own situation and see what kind of formula we want to apply.
One dangerous indication is that the Arts faculties in the local universities (especially philosophy, literature) are limited to usually Islamic studies, Malaysian history (which is so short...) etc.
It is usually the Arts academics who usually should be pioneering new thought and forms of knowledge (philosophy=love of knowledge). Unfortunately, I don't see much of that. Secondary and primary school is worse. I don't see it at all.
The situation as I understand is very interesting. For the past 2 decades, Malaysia has focused all its energies in producing engineers, to cope with the huge demand in the Electronics and Manufacturing industry, something we're still proud of today. The "smarter" students are forced into science stream, facilities were built for the science related disciplines etc.
At the same time, it's not that the government has totally neglected the arts, rather, they have limited it to a number of selected individuals. This makes our humanities very dry, like what you said. Most local graduates in humanities are usually Malays. As they continue to develop our humanities literature, the other cultural strains are losing out. At the same time, we have to be our own cultural bastion, so a focus on the local history and identity is necessary. But at what expense?
This is where I introduce brainwash to you.
Take a pure national schooled individual, with the typical Malaysian attitudes + no outside exposure. He will follow whatever the authorities tell him to do. At most he will grumble. BTW, Singaporeans should take note of this as well.
Will he/she fight for his rights (if oppressed)? or will he even try to find out more about his rights? Will he dare to say 'no'?
Unlikely. I don't see any development of an individual but a herd...excuse me... a community.
So let me ask you - what would you do? What's the right way to speak up for your rights, given present day Malaysia, and not incite unrest or get detained etc.?
If you didn't notice, our NGOs in Malaysia are very alive. The usual suspects (about 70+ of them) have incessantly lobby the government for policy changes, reaching out to people in need, and speaking up for those who don't have the voice. They provide a powerful check-and-balance to the parliment's decisions. If you feel for a particular cause, I highly suggest that you give them a hand, or start your own group to work for the betterment of the country.
One key (read aloud: KEY) thing is Awareness. To spread awareness is crucial in changing the attitudes of the stereotypical Malaysian. Here, we start with the Internet. We reach out the readers of the cyber world, lighting the fire in everyone's soul. Here on the golden coast of California, we also have a group that reaches out to the many students and working professionals to spread awareness about the well being of the country to them (visit smf.stanford.edu for more info). There's more that can be done to kick up the spirits of our fellow countryman.
I believe we need reforms and we better do it quick, if we do want to achieve developed country status by 2020.
Still remember Wawasan 2020? I wonder how many out there really believe in that. We may look like a developed country by then, PROBABLY. But will the people be on a 2020 wavelength?
2020 is in our vision statement. The total number of people believing in can not compare with the conviction of a small group of individuals. Sun Yat Sen rebuild China with only a small number of people who believes that it can be done; Gandhi, India, etc. To force everyone to work for a goal together is hard, but when you have some result, people will come.
If we can build the correct fundamentals, then our country can go very far. If we just hasten the development and neglect every corner of the society, then what we get is just a facade by 2020. The poor is still poor, the uneducated are still uneducated, worse still, the unaware are still unaware. That's not the kind of 2020 that we should strive for.
Not everybody are fortunate to have a higher education overseas like some of us here do. So, what about those who don't? Should we leave them mired in 'mud'?
Fortunately, due to the "brainwashing" sessions given to our country's scholarship holders, most of them are highly aware of that.
See how brainwashing works? :D
The_Observer
20-05-2004, 07:37 PM
Hoot!!!
Nice job jinjoo...you just clarified whatever I missed out. We are all doing the job for our country. Thing is, we need more people like you and me. Awareness, is important and that is where education plays its role. I still vote for reforms. And i don't mean the popularised 'reformation' call made in the late 20th century.
BTW, about your pyramid system of rule, i like it and..its called aristocracy (government by the best people). I know most people think aristocracy means rule by the rich but its real term is oligarchy. Just trying to point that out :D
The rich getting all? That is why we have universal health and education system. Ask countries like Canada or even Cuba about such things. US and UK...trust me...not worth it to emulate.
Here is my 'monkey wrench'...do we have the 'creme de la creme' ruling Malaysia? Gandhi, etc. went to jail for this issue...
And the thing about humanities. Yeah I am doing a MBBS/BA so...i am passionate about such kind of things.
We are all doing our job to build a better Malaysia. Not just for ourselves but for generations to come. Career, money and family is not only the things one should consider. Remember where you are born. The land is yours, take ownership of it!!!
21-05-2004, 01:08 AM
BTW, about your pyramid system of rule, i like it and..its called aristocracy (government by the best people). I know most people think aristocracy means rule by the rich but its real term is oligarchy. Just trying to point that out :D
The rich getting all? That is why we have universal health and education system. Ask countries like Canada or even Cuba about such things. US and UK...trust me...not worth it to emulate.
I don't think aristocracy works. It only encourages dictatorship and leads to inefficient outcome. And be adviced, aristocracy is not about government by the best people. That is simply a literal translation from latin. Aristocracy is a form of government of which the aristocrats are on top. And aristocrats are not an equivalent of a good leaders.
And if a particular aristocrat is the best leader, in a true democratic society, he has a big chance of geting elected. So, if the leader is really good, it doesn't matter in which system he lives in. But in aristocracy, the chance that the incompetent people getting up there is big.
Concerning the pyramid structure, it's not an aristocracy. It's just how human society works. You can find that structure from communist to capitalist society, from the United States to ancient Egypt.
and I've digressed.
The_Observer
21-05-2004, 01:26 PM
Isn't that why we should make the Latin literal translation a reality?
If you had read your Plato or even Nietzsche (sorry guys if you din do philosophy or history), you would have found many an interesing discussion.
Too bad it is idealistic in a pluralistic and materialistic world. :(
21-05-2004, 01:51 PM
Isn't that why we should make the Latin literal translation a reality?(
i think you have taken the wrong perspective on these latin terms. What important of these latin terms are their concepts, not their literal meanings. Aristocracy is still not about "government by the best". The real meaning is government by the aristocrats.
Read Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aristocracy) for a general overview of the concept.
If you like aristocracy based on its literal meaning, then I think you will need to delve on the concept deeper than skin deep.
Along with suggestion that has been put forward earlier in this particular thread about being critical, we need to be more critical that of the term aristocracy.
What is the point of education when there is moral breakdown? This is a little out of topic but I was upset to read the article on the maid abuse. It seems that education should not only focus on chasing paper qualifications@<hidden> certificates but should also be on personal development, human relations, etc.
21-05-2004, 08:17 PM
Have we reached a consensus?
Is gahmen/education telling us what to think instead of how to think?
Head Shop (http://headshop.net/)
hungwei
22-05-2004, 04:15 PM
Perhaps, moral should be taught from diverse points of view. We should leave the rest to the student to decide which is best.
calibre2001
04-06-2004, 11:50 PM
Two ways to ascertain if you've been brainswashed:
a)You actually believe Malacca was once an 'empire' that was 'termashyur'. Yeah right. Which govt could truly proclaim to be a truly sovereign one while licking China's arse?
b)You love Malaysia so much that you would defend it with your life not knowing that you actually possess an inferiority complex at the same time!!
gohweihan
05-06-2004, 02:22 AM
Two ways to ascertain if you've been brainswashed:
a)You actually believe Malacca was once an 'empire' that was 'termashyur'. Yeah right. Which govt could truly proclaim to be a truly sovereign one while licking China's arse?
b)You love Malaysia so much that you would defend it with your life not knowing that you actually possess an inferiority complex at the same time!!
a) ahahaha....Yeah. Under the pretext of maintaining a good relationship with China.
b) Why defend the country when they do not defend the non-Bumiputeras?
05-06-2004, 03:28 AM
b) Why defend the country when they do not defend the non-Bumiputeras?
Uhmm... i dunno about you guys, and i dunno why i choose to do it, but if Malaysia's in deep trouble and required me to serve her, i think i will do so.... It is indeed a fact that us non-bumis have been ditindas-ed. However, i believe that Malaysia is where i grew up... It's like an obligation to serve. But i dun think i can serve her whole-heartedly, even if i want to... It is just the same situation as if your parents favor your other siblings more than they favor you... However, when your family is in trouble, you'll still help them out, right? But it's just that our heart is not there with them anymore... It's more like we are doing this to repay our debts. That's all...
05-06-2004, 03:36 AM
personally, I think that our education system has made a lot of malaysian thinks that exam result is essential...
they use exam result to compare and commend.
I have studied both in private college and local uni...
I have seen that there are a lot of geniuses who didn?t score well in SPM
and there are a lot of high scorers who are block heads
Malaysian education system tend to teach us like spoon feeding... it?s rare to find a malaysian students who is willing to learn things by his own..
it?s even rarer to find malaysian students who are interested in seminars...
05-06-2004, 03:42 AM
First, I would like to state my personal view point.
I would like to say that every Malaysian has been given ample opportunities to improve. Before you cast aspersion, lets look at the situation in the country. Since SPM 2000 batch(not including this year), there have been about 1200+ non-bumiputera getting JPA scholarship. This does not include other scholarship providers.
Look on every aspect, there are many that have been given opportunities. Even if you look at Form 6. Why is it free? Because it is fully subsidized. Guess many of us don't realize, but look at how much benefits we have gotten since primary school. From the teachers' salary, to the facilities we get to use in school.
We may choose not to think so, but just ask anyone that has gone abroad, when we talk to people from all over the world, what is their impressions on Malaysians? We are very lucky to have a caring country. There is no war in our country. Generally no hunger. We have a pretty good school system. When we are abroad, I can assure you that Embassy of Malaysia takes care of Malaysians, way beyond any other countries. They take care of Malaysians irrespective of whether you are sponsored, or you come on your own, whatever race you are, as long as you are Malaysians. They would visit the campus to see how are you, at least once a year. Whenever we have Malaysian event on campus, government subsidies most of the cost. Is there any other country doing the same thing? Nope.
05-06-2004, 03:47 AM
I would like to say that every Malaysian has been given ample opportunities to improve. Before you cast aspersion, lets look at the situation in the country. Since SPM 2000 batch(not including this year), there have been about 1200+ non-bumiputera getting JPA scholarship. This does not include other scholarship providers.
Look on every aspect, there are many that have been given opportunities. Even if you look at Form 6. Why is it free? Because it is fully subsidized. Guess many of us don't realize, but look at how much benefits we have gotten since primary school. From the teachers' salary, to the facilities we get to use in school.
We may choose not to think so, but just ask anyone that has gone abroad, when we talk to people from all over the world, what is their impressions on Malaysians? We are very lucky to have a caring country. There is no war in our country. Generally no hunger. We have a pretty good school system. When we are abroad, I can assure you that Embassy of Malaysia takes care of Malaysians, way beyond any other countries. They take care of Malaysians irrespective of whether you are sponsored, or you come on your own, whatever race you are, as long as you are Malaysians. They would visit the campus to see how are you, at least once a year. Whenever we have Malaysian event on campus, government subsidies most of the cost. Is there any other country doing the same thing? Nope.
Your posting reminds me of something I have seen in BTN.
I met an old man (penoreh getah)
he said during his time the Japanese were rulling malaysia
there was no building for his primary school... everything is just made from simple wood blocks
children at that time don?t have shoes to go to school
everyday he have to walk along the dark alley...
after that experience I feel I am so damm grateful
however, I hope that the current situation will improve and hopefully... everyone will satisfy with what they have...
calibre2001
05-06-2004, 08:53 AM
LOL! That is such an old generation person's point of view. You know...the 'ungrateful' tactic. Although I largely agree with you there, we have to also assert our rights and freedom. It is after all the responsibility of the government to ensure peace and prosperity of the country. And we should expect nothing less.
In any case, its true that we should cherish racial harmony and prospering economy here (in spite of the fact that the salary in Malaysia is peanuts). Most countries don't have such privileges. Just a reminder; our economy is good but it aint great.
gohweihan
05-06-2004, 05:12 PM
In any case, its true that we should cherish racial harmony and prospering economy here (in spite of the fact that the salary in Malaysia is peanuts). Most countries don't have such privileges. Just a reminder; our economy is good but it aint great.
To look at it from another point of view, our country's definition of racial harmony is not true harmony, but mere tolerance of each other regardless of race. This tolerance is what that has been planted in our mind since primary school, and therefore, can be considereed a brainwash.
True harmony is about accepting each other regardless of race - not merely tolerance. It is something which 11 years of basic education failed to instill in students.
calibre2001
05-06-2004, 06:16 PM
True. We practice institutionalized racism in the country!! But in any case, the level of tolerance practiced is remarkable compared to a lot of other countries. Its strange job ads here will specifically mention things like 'chinese female only', 'bumiputras are encouraged to apply'.
07-06-2004, 10:09 PM
I have written a long article on brainwashing...
here?s the link
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=20599&sid=df45447f33143b4c84cb88e19016bd70#20599
you can find it in WALKING ALONG THE PATH OF LIFE SIG
hope u guys enjoy it!
profmich
28-03-2005, 09:39 AM
Brainwashing is evident in the Malaysian education, right from primary school.
I recall that there was a chapter in the primary 2 moral education textbook* on elections. It was basically teaching about what to do when voting and there was this BN logo with a huge "X" next to it! Imagine how many innocent youngsters at that time imagined that only an "X" next to the BN logo is allowed.
P/S : I can't remember what the teacher said about it though.
*The moral education Primary 2 textbook referred here is the SRJK version used in 1994. Current versions may difer.
reign226
29-03-2005, 05:43 AM
well, IMO, education is more or less same everywhere. Go to school, rote-learn, cram for exams because it's the most important thing in the world. I remember this quote, "All forms of education are based on the supposition that we must be taught how to think."
yet despite all the criticisms people have against education 'schemes' it must be said that there appears to be no better alternative. I'm not talking 'better' in terms of producing quality, well-rounded students in an idealistic, Utopian world, but 'better' in terms of educating hundreds of thousands at the same time, managing a system of grading for that amount of system, the logistical nightmare involved with such an arrangement, etc etc. What the national education system strives for (an indeed most education systems) is rote-learning with periodic exams used to meter a student's 'caliber'. As a by-product, we might see some 'brainwashing' when the govt decides to take liberty on some of the facts.
That's why private schools are getting so much attention from people in my town. In a private school, you can be sure that the goal is not to brainwash students but to educate them, or at least get good profits out of doing so. Nonetheless, they do not have the agenda that the government obviously does, and this appeals to many people here. Incidentally, most private schools are of the majority Chinese. I haven't seen a truly multi-racial private school (Seri Insan maybe). It's an interesting point to note. I don't know what to think of it, though.
balderdash
09-04-2005, 02:14 PM
Language is the tool to propaganda and what better way to spread propaganda and national ideology than through education in which language takes the main role? I would not call it 'brain washing' as it implies that we had an idea of what the country should be like prior to our formal education which I do not think so. It is only fair that each country's education system channels its national ideology (it's an ideology - it doesn't matter whether it's reality - as long as we feel that it's 'natural' and that's it - ideology has worked) to its people - because that's where a common people starts to build up.
In fact, it is good that we as tertiary students have been critical enough to point out the ideological aspects in our education system. However, as we pinpoint all of them - are we truly free from any form of ideology whatsoever? I don't think we can ever completely attain tabula rasa and not be affected by one school of thought or the other.
During one of my gender classes we were discussing whether it is possible that we get out of the whole confusing maze of ideologies and stereotypes and what-nots - the conclusion that we *sort of* (what is ever finite in arts?) came up with was that we can never untangle ourselves from ideology. But then, it is important that we as scholars understand the power of ideology and are critical enough to notice it.
Now that we have noticed all that - it's time something is done. The very fact that our race is stated on our IC is a huge issue: As long as we are identified by our ethnic groups, the whole hooha about a harmonious Malaysia would be complete bull because racial sentiments will still remain.
And well, bear in mind that I am personally an idealist who wants to see Malaysia as a melting pot, not the mosaic picture that we sort of have now. The last time I attempted to call myself just a Malaysian rendered weird stares and comments like "You mean you are Malay? " I want to stop identifying myself as a "Malaysian Chinese". Can I just be a Malaysian?
pangping1510
09-04-2005, 02:41 PM
is kinda brainwashing system...i was damn angry when i was in history class...looking at the terms they use to praise a certain race and a certain religion...and almost half of the syllabus of form4 history is of a certain religion? history is abt the country, not the religion wat...and makes it easy for a race to study it... :lol: no offend
pangping1510
09-04-2005, 02:43 PM
u know wats the ultimate goal in edu system in malaysia?to create only a system for all...so no more sjkc or sjkt anymore :x
gohweihan
09-04-2005, 03:00 PM
I would support the abolishment of SJK (C) and SJK (T) in Malaysia, but only if a check and balance mechanism is in place - i.e. that students are still able to learn their native language if they choose to do so, and this must be provided in public schools.
Also, Malay as the language of education needs to be replaced by some neutral language (even French is alright with me), as long as the school doesn't project an image similar to the SJK. Right now, it's as though there is another SJK in place - the SJK (M). M for Melayu.
The syllabus must be revamped - no ties to any religion, race, or political party. Having history about a religion is nothing more than cheap publicity while projecting false superiority over other religion. Religion is personal - it's not something that should be projected upon the people - either directly or through hidden messages. The textbook may project that Islam is great, but so is other religions to those who worship it. The minds of the young should not be brainwashed to think that only one religion is great, while the religion they are worshipping is not so.
lolilo
09-04-2005, 03:17 PM
...and almost half of the syllabus of form4 history is of a certain religion? history is abt the country, not the religion wat...and makes it easy for a race to study it... :lol: no offend
agree. there was a number of complaints about this issue in the media when the new syllabus just came out.
i am in the vote to have the Form 4 sejarah textbook revamp. :twisted: very tiring to have to memorise those long long names, and i HATE bab 6. period. :twisted:
09-04-2005, 03:35 PM
Now that we have noticed all that - it's time something is done. The very fact that our race is stated on our IC is a huge issue: As long as we are identified by our ethnic groups, the whole hooha about a harmonious Malaysia would be complete bull because racial sentiments will still remain.
And well, bear in mind that I am personally an idealist who wants to see Malaysia as a melting pot, not the mosaic picture that we sort of have now. The last time I attempted to call myself just a Malaysian rendered weird stares and comments like "You mean you are Malay? " I want to stop identifying myself as a "Malaysian Chinese". Can I just be a Malaysian?
u know wats the ultimate goal in edu system in malaysia?to create only a system for all...so no more sjkc or sjkt anymore
I would support the abolishment of SJK (C) and SJK (T) in Malaysia, but only if a check and balance mechanism is in place - i.e. that students are still able to learn their native language if they choose to do so, and this must be provided in public schools.
If you're Malay and made those comments, you' probably be accused by some Chinese of trying to consolidate Malay control over the country. If you're Chinese, then you'd probably be accused by the same group of selling out your race.