View Full Version : Matrix

09-11-2003, 12:38 PM
Any discussion on Matrix comes here..

09-11-2003, 02:45 PM
sorry didn't see this earlier...
revolution does not suck....the trilogy is not about the matrix. It's about the war between humans and machine. the matrix is how the war ended. the animatrix has the history and the beginning. I think the wachowski bros are geniuses....

CrAzyCow
09-11-2003, 03:35 PM
Matrix Revolution SUX! I still think the first episode was the best. The 3rd, is crap.. i am dissapointed. But thank god there were not more unecessary scenes ..

Anyways, lots of critics about this movie n i agree with the ratings given.

09-11-2003, 04:08 PM
crazy cow...you're stoooopid...that's all i can say

09-11-2003, 04:12 PM
I think , rather than saying that the movie suck or not, we should discuss the various elements that the Wachowski Bros. put into their piece of art.

Various elements, including :
1. Plot (and/or story )
2. Settings
3. Performance.
4. Narrative
etc.

I think the reason why people don't like the subsequent two Matrix is because - They;re not the original Matrix.

Plus, I think the there's a 'crowded characters ' inside reloaded and revolutions. Just look at how many people falling in love.
1.Neo
2.Morpheous
3. Another black guy that I don't even know what's his name.

That make the story a little boring since we can't focus on one protagonist.

and, since qedx already pointed out in the shoutbox,
yes, this is the story about going from point A to point B (or classical Hollywood cinema). If you think you don't like this kind movie, you probably prefer The Hours rather than The Matrix.

09-11-2003, 04:13 PM
The other black guy is "link", the operator for the nebuchadnazzer.

>>too many characters
I don't think this should be considered a weak point. In fact, I think, other than neo and trin (as neo so often calls her), all the other characters despite their short screen time, did well.

what does going from point A to point B mean?

09-11-2003, 04:17 PM
The scene that I like most is when the volunteer helping the leader.

I just discuss with bachok about it.

We realize that, the young volunteer is actually the young programmer (or hacker if you want) , who just want to help out the system admin from virus.(or worm) represented by agent Smith. But system admin lost, the young programmer prevailed.

And , we think the Indian families are programmers. who live in their 'own world' for being programmers. (as you might realize).

kimYaw
09-11-2003, 04:22 PM
saw revolution last night. like it more than reloaded. but still like the first episode best.
I think the first episode has an element of freshness -- the idea was so cool, and the computer graphics were so amazing. But for the subsequent episodes, we enter the theater with certain expectations, and we've seen similar computer graphics copied in so many other movies.

i think i'm not getting all the points in the trilogy lah... maybe I'll buy all 3 DVDs when they're out, and watch all 3 in one shot, and repeat that a few times. :?

qedx
09-11-2003, 04:31 PM
It's about the war between humans and machine. the matrix is how the war ended.
yes, but why? why did the war end after smith was defeated?

09-11-2003, 04:34 PM
because Smith is a computer virus.

It's like, Smith is out of control. and it's taking over the whole system.

The machine is just like our Unix/Windows box. once virus take control, the machine cannot do anything about it.

Once the virus was destroyed, the machine stop fighting.

Virus replicate itself. so did smith.

09-11-2003, 04:47 PM
agent smith is very descartistic (don't think that's a word). he's motivating doubt in the tenets of human life and existence. He pursues his life focusing on purpose. If there is no purpose, there can be no existence, or no need for existence. Since he doubts all the good things in life, he sees no purpose of life other than to end. And to bring an end to life is what he believes his purpose is. Neo on the other hand is the believer. Descartes argues in his Meditations that things may not be as it seems. He says that in dreams, we sometimes have such vivid dreams that we are fooled into thinking it is real, but they're not. However, Neo is such a strong believer. And i agree with this principle of thinking. If you believe, whether it is true or not, does not matter. A man who hallucinates of being chased by 3 headed lions will be deemed mad by society, but to that man, those 3 lions are as real as it gets. However, if you have any reason whatsoever to doubt your beliefs, then they cannot be believes. Neo struggles with that doubt but manages to gather his faith in the end.

The second thing i liked about the movie is the focus on choice. There is a strange argument about whether we really have a choice in what we do, or whether we are all fools being played by events that have been fated to happen. Is everything, as Smith so aptly puts it, inevitable? Choice is something that humans have, or think we have. The movie puts this into question... are we lead to our choices, or do our choices lead to consequences? Neobe chooses to give Neo the ship. Did she choose, or was it fated to be. Neo chooses to wake up and fight, did he choose, or was it his destiny. The oracle knew that smith was coming. She had a choice to run? Maybe not. Maybe she knew her fate.

Thirdly, the religious hints are too much not to realize.
"Everything that has a beginning has an end"
"I will release your saviour"
"He saved us! He saved us!"
"It is done"
THe one dies resembles a crucifixion
The people "believe" in the one. They don't question any of his actions. They believe.
Well....maybe it's just me.

LAstly, the trilogy is not solely about any one movie. Maybe the way i view and absorb the trilogy as not just about one movie is what gives me a differeing view. It is not even about the matrix. It is about the war between humans and machines. A war that the humans cannot remember how it started anymore. It is about the end of the war. The matrix trilogy narrates this end. That is what makes the end so satisfying for me. It is an ending that gives closure, not just to the matrix but to the entire event in the history of Zion and it's predecessors.

WHew...long post..I welcome feedback of anykind...except from crazy cow...:P

09-11-2003, 05:06 PM
It's about the war between humans and machine. the matrix is how the war ended.
yes, but why? why did the war end after smith was defeated?

Firstly, let's explain why smith was a threat. He's a very deadly virus. When neo "kills" him in the first matrix, he somehow only altered the coding of Smith, releasing him from the controls of the source, the Matrix OS if you like. SO now smith has power to do whatever he wants in the Matrix. So what, he's isolated from the main OS because his power only lies in the Matrix. This is why the first scene is very important. The fact that there is a link between the program world, where the source lies, and the Matrix, gives us reason to believe that Smith might be strong enough to exploit this link and thus destroy the source. I should think that it is okay to assume he is powerful enough to go through the link. If the merovingian via the trainman can do it, then so can smith.

So why doesn't the source just kill Smith? Well, since smith is a rogue, program, the source doesn't have control over smith. so he has no way of knowing what code smith is made off, let alone, gain control to make any commands over smith.

So, Neo comes along and offers to help the source. IN exchange for peace. NEo realizes the war has to end, one way or another. So what does Neo do that the source can't do. By allowing himself to be taken over by smith, he gives a link for the source to analyze the "smith code" and thereby find a solution to destroy him. This is because Neo is connected to the mainframe of the source at the time. Now knowing smiths weakness, the source is able not only to identify the smiths but to also, clean the code to reveal the initial program.

Whew...almost there. So the source has to agree to peace with human kind. But why doesn't it go agains't it's word. Deceit and lies is something that is inherent only in human beings. When making the pact with Neo, the source did not choose to make peace. He calculated the probabilities and effects and consequences of the offer, in the only way a computer knows how to - mathematically. And so settle for the best alternative. Choice is not a luxury of computer programs. ANd so, the source does not go against it's word.

I think that should answer your question. :)

I'm a matrix geek

qedx
09-11-2003, 06:01 PM
in what way is peace the best choice for the machines?

09-11-2003, 06:06 PM
there are levels of existence we are prepared to accept

so says the architect in the reloaded. There is really no point of attacking humans if there is no threat. So rather than let themselves be totally destroyed by smith, they'd rather compromise and release the humans but still survive

qedx
09-11-2003, 07:00 PM
hmm here's more for you matrix geek: why is neo neo? why can he see? what is his connection to the source? how did he end up in the train stop?

09-11-2003, 07:13 PM
yah...this question is hard for me to answer. i need to watch again.

But from what seems to be most natural is that neo is human. Coz the architect talks to neo as an enemy ("your race") not as an underling, or something htat he created.

Somehow to plug the things into him, there must be some machine parts in him. And these machine parts may have some code(memory) carrying, or computer like capabilities, that is somehow connected to your brain. This is how, Bane(the guy who hit the EMP switch to destroy most of Zion's fleet) get's infected by Smith. Maybe, neo is so good that he gains control of this machine parts in him, and thus is able to connect with other machines and the source, through some wireless(?) connection...hehehe...very hazy....

but i agree with you, this part is almost like a convinience to the writers to explain stuff. If anyone has a better explanation, please enlightened us.

qedx
09-11-2003, 10:00 PM
the one is supposed to be the end result of myriad glitches/unbalanced equations that eventually produces a human that is not bound by the rules of the matrix. thus the one is itself a glitch that the machines could not get rid of except through regular purging of the matrix.

why should a mere glitch have super powers in the real world? every pod-born have implants in them; to sustain them and to jack them into the matrix. even if neo mastered his implants, he should not be able to shut off sentinels at will, logic states that sentinels controls should not be on the same server as the matrix.

the "true eye" phenomenon could be explained by his matrix jack somehow resonating with the electrical stuff around him i guess... but it is a pretty weak explaination.

you know, when neo 1st stopped the sentinels i had visions of multi-level matrices. "maybe they are still plugged in but they don't know it" that sort of thing you know. leaving it ambiguous is fine but they seemed to say that neo can do crazy stuff because he is neo and for no other reason than that. am i even making any sense at all here?

09-11-2003, 10:06 PM
Matrix revolution had just proven that neo is jesus christ. The Revolutions failed to conclude the story. It left it out for to many speculation. Biblical Speaking, Neo (leo) Came to save the world, and peace for a thousand year. Note that in reloaded he's the 7th. number 7 in the bible is god Number. 6 times he failed represent 6000 years of no peace on earth. Also is the number of Satan.

The movie it self.. without looking at the others. It basically became another scifi movie. Action packed, No good plot (terminator3) and the dialogue.. for god sake .. sucked.

i would give 2 out of 5.

CrAzyCow
10-11-2003, 12:24 AM
I agree with thirdshifter.. the dialogue sux... practically u can predict wat they are goin to say next.."Mr. Anderson.. we meet again".. n i think most of us noticed the ending when Neo died, the position he was in is the same way Jesus Christ was crucified.

I also do not see the connection between Neo n the Architect. Why did he meet him in the first place? N who was toking to Neo when he was in the Machine city? If someone has an answer, pls do enlighten me.

Logically speaking, if the humans know tht the machines are vulnerable to EMP, why do they even need APC n infantries to defend Zion? all they need to do is build a big EMP nuke n nuke those machines. I guess we'll just have to ignore this reason in this movie

10-11-2003, 12:38 AM
Movie is a piece of art.

So, It's really good to criticize a movie. It makes us think.

Nobody is right and wrong. Everybody has their own personal opinion and littlebigone looked at the overall aspect (in other words, he thinks differently while watching the movie ). I personally liked his argument though. He open up something that I don;t really understand in the movie.

Others might have something that need some explanation.

I still believe that , sometimes, we can't find all explanation about the things, creatures... for example,

why we have turtle and tortoise in this world? why not only turtle?.
WHy Tortoise should be there?.
It's just a happy accident?.

Why water should be H20? why not H30, or h40?

Or, why should we have planet other than earth in Solar system?.
Why can;t it be just human on this planet earth.
Why?. Because , we don't know. But, we can learn how it happen (through various means) . And that makes us think.

10-11-2003, 12:48 AM
yeah, the wachowskis borrow a lot of biblical story and put it into Matrix.

I think the reason why there's no room for the actors to perform well is because of the complex plot plus, too many characters (like I said before)

The Architect is just the Matrix OS' programmer, I think. Not sure why should Neo should meet him.

But I don;t really understand Oracle. Is she the writer of the Smith?
Why she should be infected by Smith. ?

And the people of Zion?. (Zion, obviously, refer to the Israeli state , or the zionist movement)

10-11-2003, 01:37 AM
my theory of the powers of the one is as follows. He is the collection of the myriad of glitches and imperfections of the matrix. Of the leftovers of an unbalanced equation. In other words, he is not perfect. He is a program full of bugs. So why is he strong then? Because "the one" that is full of all these weaknesses is the avatar that neo is connected too once he is in the matrix. thus it is easy for neo to exploit these weakneses and hack the matrix physics engine, resulting in him being able to fly and all that. He also has to go back to the source, thus maybe he has a connection to the source which is more physical (ie through his jacky things). The oracle explains his powers as him "touching" the source. The sentinels are connected to the souce and thus if neo can connect to the source he can connect to the sentinel. ergo he can destroy them.

Neo meets the architect because he needs to be told of the truth. The architect is the one who gives neo the choice he has to make to balance the equation. to choose the "right" door which neo does not. Why must neo make that choice? Why can't the machines just "balance" the equation. Well I guess a simple explanation would be that they cannot force the equation into balance. It needs a series of events to happened to balance it. But why the architect? Who else? I mean they had to introduce the idea of the creator of the matrix somewhere.

Neo was talking to the source when he was in the machine city. The godfather of the machines himself.

Crazy Cow, the humans fighting the sentinels storyline is not logically flawed. There are two problems with you idea of builing an EMP detonator. Firstly, if they were to detonate it in Zion itself, they would leave themselves weak to attack as we see happen after the first wave. The EMP wave would take out every electronic equipment that they have. So why not put it somewhere else. Like intercept the sentinels before they got to Zion. That would be fine and dandy and the Zionist tried to do that remember? In reloaded, they had sent their fleet to move into position to destroy the sentinels. But Bane, who was infected by smith, decided to press the button a little too early. and so, all the ships were destroyed. So no more EMP detonator. Well except those two ships, the logos and the other one.

And they're called APU's not APC's.

10-11-2003, 01:40 AM
qedx...i too thought that we were in a matrix within a matrix scenario when reloaded ended. Sigh...i thought, the writers were going to go on some philosophical spin on reality and existence. But they decided to do what they did.

The only part that confuses me about the movie is the "true eye" as qedx puts it, and the power to stop sentinels. Some one please explain.

Thirdshifter, why did revolutions not complete the story?

10-11-2003, 01:54 AM
Revolution simply was the end of Zion story. What about the matrix?

I'd like to have seen more inside the matrix. A bit more of the ghost brothers, Merovingian, Persephone, vampires and werwolves. Although I understand that Zion was the main point of interest in the third movie, there was a lot left untold of what was inside the matrix. That's why we fell in love with the original.

"The Matrix" doesn't feel like a rip-off: You get your money's worth. What you don't get is your mind blown, which, admit it, is what you really hoped for. We have now seen the future of movies, and what do you know: It already looks old.

10-11-2003, 02:00 AM
i think i get what you mean. But I'm not sure but what you mean by what of the matrix

if you're wondering what happens to it after the war, then i think it gets shut down. AS the architect says he will release those still inside. And after that, the matrix will serve no purpose. THus following the trend of computer logic in the movie (no purpose = deletion), the matrix will be shut down.

if you're hungry for more stories of the matrix, i guess you could watch the animatrix. Really good. Covers a lot of material that goes on in the background of the matrix. My personal favorite episode is the " haunted house". It's about how a glitch in the matrix results in a haunted house where the laws of physics just don't apply correctly.

10-11-2003, 02:16 AM
I think the architect sais something that i would translate as "those who chose to get out would be set free" as this was part of the Peace treaty.

The machine disallowed this to happen earlier because it would increase human population and create more chaos.

I don't think the matrix would be shut off. Morpheus said that many aren't prepared for the real world. Also if the matrix shutoff a big chunk of Humans would die, the people still connected that is.

10-11-2003, 02:35 AM
really? maybe I misheard. I thought it was the oracle saying" What about those who are still connected." And the architect says, "I will release them. WHat do you think i am? Human?". And so they'll shut down the matrix since there are no more humans connected. I could be wrong.

10-11-2003, 02:52 AM
you must be wrong little, because if everyone in the matrix is free.. there'sll be no way the Matrix MMORPG will sell.. which is due next year.

silverblue
10-11-2003, 03:56 AM
Bravo LittleBigone!! :D well explained and I think it really makes sense...

Personally, I enjoyed relovution very very much and how it gave alot of explicit and implicit explanations to the previous two episodes (of which only matrix geeks can extrapolate from.. hehe). I especially like the scene where Zions were at war with the machines... I thought that was awesome how they fought against the machines!! No doubt, the first Matrix was still the best, but I'd give this 2nd place and reloaded 3rd. :D

Oh... a couple of touching (or mebbe cheesy?) moments in Matrix..

1)About-to-go-toMachine-City-Scene...
Trinity: "I was prepared to give up my life for you... In the past 20 hours, do you know what has changed?"
Neo: "No"
Trinity: "Nothing"

2)Trinity Dying Scene :cry:
Neo: "You can't die...(sob) (sob)"
Trinity: "Yes I can."

and somehow, the whole cinema started laughing.... hehe

peace! :)

10-11-2003, 04:34 AM
in the past *6 hours
:(

...more cheesy dialogue ..."oh no oh no...it's not fair", whines smith at the end.

To thirdshifter, maybe you're right. I just found out about MMORPG. hehehe...for those who don't know, it stands for Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game....more popularly known as Matrix Online

10-11-2003, 03:16 PM
8O
i havent watch it and hmm...
i have known more than i would if i watch it myself.....

You all make me feeling like watching it NOW but the reality is ...
No cinema in this kampung area :(

bachok83
11-11-2003, 12:03 PM
you what.. first i hate reloaded, reload what??

it's just bull**** coz i just dont get it.... looking for keys la what ever...

then the revolution?

i think i just lost 10 bucks out of nothing.. better save for tomorrows breaking fast meal gegege :D

anyway, there is a scene that i like the most.. while those robots standing in front of the gate waiting for bugs to drill in...

those bots are sooooo cool... holding two guns in both of their hands.. i just loved that...

anyway, the movie for this year (to me la) is finding nemo :D

hehehe

peace !!

12-11-2003, 12:21 PM
I would like to post my view on The Martrix...

Why Reloaded... Why Revolutions...

Here's my intepretion...

the titles refer to agent Smith...

in the Matrix, agent Smith is destroyed by Neo

In Reloaded, Agent Smith is back as his program is Reloaded..

In Revolutions... agent Smith somehow went trhough some evolution / revolutions and he become much more stronger,. he's able to destroy the Matrix...

That's my view...
and there's lotsa hidden wisdom in the movie..

Why Neo is the one?

NEO consist of 3 letters.. N, E, O
place the O in front and NEO becomes ONE
so neo is the one.

"think, Try and triumph"

Regards,

12-11-2003, 12:43 PM
I guess The Matrix trilogy is a real success.

all 3 movies r different and they r unique from each other... so there's no need to say which one is better or which one worse.

part one has a successful, clear introduction.
Reloaded focus more on fighting inside the matrix while revolutions is more about the war between humans and the machines inside zion.

the trilogy is really trend setting as it covers a wide range of scope

1. The fashion is trand setting. it makes formal dress cooler than ever.
2. the martial art scene is revolutionary
3. The matrix sets up new cutting edge technology in filming.
4. The movie has a lot of interesting characters. Each has its role and purpose and all of them r equally important.
5. The philosophy, spiritual and esoteric aspect are well presented. there's no fundamentalism and all religious idea presented are well alighned.
There are christianity, buddhism (there's no spoon, everything with birth has destruction), Hinduism (karma), gnostic (one essence vs the multiple selves in psyche, depiscted as Neo vs Smiths)

well, I guess if u dun understand the movie well, it's unfair to say that it's lousy...
as u know.
if u can't comprehend the symbolic meaning of a holy phrase in the holy book, of course u wont say that the holy book is lousy right? it requires ur ability to understand the wisdom....

I guess I will write more about the spiritual part of the matrix soon. If I have not mistaken, there's website discussing spiritual aspect, esp christianity and buddhism of the movie.

have fun...

"Seek the inner light"

Regards,

12-11-2003, 05:42 PM
I have seen the Matrix revolution and what I feel absurd about it is the subtitle...

They translate "Matrix" into "vagina in chinese
I'm puzzled...
how come matrix is vagina (female part)
that shows the translator is crazy

12-11-2003, 10:20 PM
hahahaha...hmmm...no answer for that other than maybe it's because you could jack into both

mpalanieppan
13-11-2003, 11:17 AM
Whatever may be the philosophical underpinnings of the matrix, its complexity of plot and so forth, the brothers basically screwed the dialogue, as highlighted by silverblue. In such an intense movie, how can they allow dialogues which can only be found in silly comedy shows?...It basically shatters the momentum....And well, as an indian, having been introduced (somewhat) to the concept of karma, it is obvious the scene with the indian software guy is almost thrust into the movie to include some indian philosophy....It does not fall into place at all....Where is karma when there is no rebirth....Maybe the brothers should have tried the concept of Maya- that of illusion....

M.Palanieppan

13-11-2003, 11:45 AM
kicked ass. You should go see it, it's awesome. Even Roger Ebert gave it 3 out of 4 stars. I absolutely love Roger Ebert.

Reloaded was so-so, not as good as Revolutions. Only the oh-so-hot Neo jacking into Trinity scene saved Reloaded from degenerating into a complete yawn fest. The Architect scene was dumb.

The first installment of the trilogy was by far the worst. My brain couldn't take all the serious philosophical and sociological stuff it was trying to stuff down my, urm, throat. I pay to see kickass action sequences and super-duper hi-tech special effects, not to listen to a repeat of Prof Smart's lecture on existentialism.

And oh, Morpheus is cute.

I hope you could tell that I was joking... Or was I?...

CrAzyCow
13-11-2003, 01:45 PM
To certain ppl, they might like Matix Revolution alot. The ending just leaves us dangling in mid air doesn't it? To me, Matrix Revolution was to conclude tht Neo died n the war ended. n the machines n humans lives happily ever after. Tht also we dun really know whether Neo is dead or not.

There aren't as many kungfu fighting scenes as in the previous 2 which really give the umph to the movie. Now is just love, Neo can see w/o his eyes...blah blah blah.. the machines is coming.. the machine kill humans.. humans expect miracles ... yada yada yada... *yawn*

14-11-2003, 12:16 PM
it's easier to understand what the Matrix is all about, if you understand how computers work. The virus, n the system and stuff. Matrix is kinda complicated. coz it's a thinking movie, know what i mean? but i enjoyed it all the same. cool glasses anyway 8)

14-11-2003, 12:28 PM
that's exactly how i feel. if you go in with a computer architecture text book, i bet it would make even more sense.

To show how nerdy the writers must have been, in Reloaded, when Trinity hacks into the power plant mainframe or whatever, she uses Nmap version 2.54BETA25 to find a vulnerable SSH server and then proceeds to exploit the SSH1 CRC32 exploit from 2001. heheheh...

cool huh....but I don't even know what it means...i read it in Linux Journal August 03 issue, a quote by fyodor, author of nmap.

18-03-2004, 10:34 PM
Here is someone's personal review on Matrix Trilogy which I got from my forwarded email. I find it very interesting. Enjoy reading :wink:

Are you pissed? Pretty upset and angry? Do you feel duped? With a $24
million dollar opening day gross it's obvious that despite mixed
reactions to the sequel "The Matrix Reloaded", moviegoers were still
interested in how the trilogy would come to a conclusion with "The
Matrix Revolutions." But did the story actually conclude? Is this
really
the end? Producer Joel Silver has endlessly stated that the Wachowski
Brothers would bring the saga to a close with the third film and that
all questions would be answered. So why is it that hours after it's
opening the film has been met with so many harsh reactions? Some
downright nasty. From the internet to the media to word of mouth on the
street people are saying that the film stinks and that the entire story
really ended with the original film four years ago. Its gotten so bad
that I've heard and even witnessed several moviegoers waiting till
after
the film's end credits in hope that there would be more. Even
discussions amongst exiting moviegoers over alternative endings. I'm
not
kidding.

In my original review I stated my dissatisfaction with the film and how
its so-called conclusion broke my heart. I understood why the movie
ended the way it did and the meaning of the trilogy's entire story, but
felt that the Wachowski Brothers were making the material too heavy for
moviegoers and in essence alienating them. The original Matrix was
never
a masterpiece but it struck a chord and was popular and successful
because it transcended cultures as well as genres. For once an action
adventure film made people's brains pop not for its visual effects but
for its metaphysics. It's true that the pioneering "bullet time" effect
was the initial hook that got butts into seats but the story is what
kept them there.

The sequels are indeed superior to the original in every way except for
the advancement of the story itself. People seek out sequels because
they want to relive the original experience but with the Matrix sequels
the Wachowski Brothers took an idea with limitless potential and
weighed
it down with elements copied from dozens of genres. They became
over-bloated messes and ultimately pretentious jokes. As difficult as
it
may be to believe there is in fact a brilliant story and structure to
the entire series, animated shorts, video games and all. What's sad is
that even though audiences like to think for themselves they don't like
to do it to the point of frustration and confusion and that's exactly
what the Wachowski Brothers have done. The meaning of the entire series
is indeed a brilliant idea, it? just that these are movies after all
and
we like ideas and puzzles given to us in an entertaining way.

Please be advised that from this point on I'm going to discuss the
entire Matrix series, spoilers and all. So if you have not seen the
final installment, "Revolutions" I suggest you stop reading right now
and click on my spoiler free "Blue Pill Review." You've been warned.

The Second Renaissance

To understand "The Matrix Revolutions" we're gonna have to go all the
way back to the beginning. A time that was shown in the superior
Animatrix shorts "The Second Renaissance Parts I & II. In the beginning
there was man. Then man created machines. Designed in man's likeness
the
machines served man well, but man's jealous nature ruined that
relationship. When a worker robot killed one of its own abusive masters
it was placed on trial for murder and sentenced for destruction. This
incident was the spark that ignited a fuse that would burn for
centuries. Humans began rioting and destroying many machines. The
machines were eventually allowed to create a nation of their own,
separate from areas inhabited by humans. That nation was created as a
machine city known as 01 or Zero-One. Despite the aggression of their
former masters and creators towards them the machines still wished to
do
commerce with man and began production of the many tools and devices
that man needed. But the machines proved to be more efficient than
their
creators and their own economy began to flourish better than mankind's.
Seeking a better relationship with man and hoping to be accepted as an
independent nation the machines petitioned to join the United Nations
but were ultimately refused and found themselves under attack. A war
had
begun.

As the war progressed, man realized that they might ultimately lose to
their superior creations. To end the threat the military devised
"Operation Nightfall", the "scorching" of the skies, eliminating the
machines' power source, the sun. Ironically man also used machine
technology to do this and engaged in warfare on the battlefield. The
machines had studied the fragile nature of the human body and were able
to come up with biological weapons of their own. Ultimately man and
machine had destroyed the world they lived in and barely survived. No
longer dependent on the sun as a power source, the machines came to the
conclusion that they would have to begin a symbiotic relationship with
their enemy. "Hand over your flesh and a new world awaits you. We
demand
it," an insect-like representative tells the United Nations just before
self-destructing and wiping out New York with a nuclear blast. The
machines could survive off of human generated power and in return
mankind would no longer have to suffer in a ravaged world but a
computer
generated dream. The Matrix was created.

The Matrix

As the Architect told Neo in Reloaded when he first designed the Matrix
it was "...quite naturally perfect, it was a work of art, flawless,
sublime." It was destined to fail because as Agent Smith said to
Morpheus "...human beings defined their reality through misery and
suffering." Human minds could not accept the program and therefore
"...entire crops were lost." The Architect was then forced to redesign
the Matrix "...based on your history to more accurately reflect the
varying grotesqueries of your nature." But failure soon frustrated the
Architect because the new equation of the Matrix was unbalanced and the
answer that eluded him "...required a lesser mind perhaps less bound by
the parameters of perfection." That lesser mind was an intuitive
program: The Oracle. She came to the conclusion that 99.9% of all test
subjects accepted the program as long as they were given a choice, even
if they were aware of it at an unconscious level. It was an answer that
functioned, but was ultimately flawed creating a systemic anomaly. The
Architect discovered that the 0.1% of subjects that refused the program
(the human resistance) would threaten the system if left unchecked so
the Oracle helped devise a form of control: the One. Just as the Matrix
was a form of control for people plugged into pods, the One would be a
form of control for the resistance in the real world.
Since the machines were able to grow humans for use as batteries it was
decided that a special human would be designed to carry the anomalous
code. This human would be designed physically and mentally to interface
with the Matrix differently than the average human would. It would
enable him or her to have special powers within the Matrix and gain the
support of the human resistance. The plan was for the Oracle to guide
those that resisted the program to the One and accept him as their
savior, a person who could save and free the human race from slavery.
Through her ability to predict the future (which is really her
analyzing
of equations to an outcome) the Oracle would guide the One to the
source
and the One would be given a choice to save Zion from its eventual
destruction and temporarily reinsert the prime program it carried back
into the Matrix. The Matrix would be Reloaded and a new version would
start. At the same time the machines would gain better insight into the
nature of man through the experiences of the One to build a better
Matrix. Even though Zion would be destroyed the One would be allowed to
choose 23 individuals from the Matrix to rebuild it. That 0.1% of
individuals that rejected the program would not be allowed to get any
bigger. Five times this occurred. In fact many feel that the Oracle's
bodyguard Seraph was the previous One before Neo and that even though
his physical body is no more, his consciousness was copied into the
Matrix and is now used by the Oracle for protection. Seraph to Neo: I
protect that which matters most." The future.

Unlike the Architect the Oracle grew tired of this endless cycle and
finally decided to set out and end the war between man and machine.
"I'm
interested in one thing Neo, the future. And the only way to get there
is together." She would again do her part in guiding the human
resistance (in this case Morpheus) to the One and then guiding the One
to the source. But the line would not be as straight this time. To
complete the One's journey to re-insert the prime program into the
Matrix the machines and the human race would have to depend on each
other for help.

The One was designed to develop an attachment to the human race so that
when he was presented with the choice to save it by the Architect he
would always choose the "door to the right." However the Oracle knew
that if the One developed an attachment to a specific person he may
choose differently. Before Morpheus found Neo she guided him to
Trinity,
a hacker who shared many human qualities that Neo did. Before she even
met him the Oracle told Trinity she would fall in love with the One.
This was suggestion by the Oracle that set Trinity on the path to
falling in love with Neo. Morpheus found Neo before they even met and
since he believed Neo was the one Trinity began to study him. Cypher to
Trinity: "You like him, you like watching him don't you." Since she was
told she would fall in love with him she eventually did. All of this
was
oblivious to Neo who didn't even know who Trinity was or how she felt
when they first met.

After Neo was freed from the Matrix, Morpheus brought him to see the
Oracle. She could have just told him flat out that he was the One, but
knew it was something he'd have to work for. Do you tell a child he
doesn't have to study or work a day in its life because it will inherit
a fortune anyway? (Unless your last name is Hilton. Just kidding) The
Oracle knows that Morpheus would eventually wind up in danger and that
Neo would have to save him, setting up the bond between the three of
them. But to start him down the right path she tells him Morpheus' fate
and gives him a cookie. "I promise you that by the time you're done
eating it you'll feel right as rain." But, this isn't no ordinary
cookie, it? an upgrade to his program. Remember how in Reloaded the
Merovingian was able to put "Spanish Fly" in a pastry? Well the Oracle
did something similar to Neo. She may have even placed the replicating
program for Agent Smith in the cookie. When Neo is killed by Agent
Smith
he is reborn by the love of Trinity who is know convinced who Neo is
and
what he means to her.

The Matrix Reloaded

In part two of the story the machines have found Zion and are seeking
it
out for destruction. The human threat has grown too large and the cycle
must end so that it may begin again. The Architect (whose been watching
Neo on his TV screens from day one) knows that the Oracle is guiding
Neo
to the source and that the prime program will be temporarily
re-inserted
again to reload the matrix for a sixth time. What they don't know is
that the Oracle has a plan for Neo to choose differently. When the
Oracle meets with Neo again she offers him candy. Perhaps another
upgrade to his program. She also knows that Trinity will end up in
danger and Neo will choose her over Reloading the Matrix. She's also
aware that Neo's interaction with the Architect will upgrade his
implants and his program enabling him to stop those sentinels at the
film's conclusion and temporarily touch the power of the source. He's
not ready yet and for the meantime will discover that he's gained the
ability to separate his mind from his body and jack himself in on his
own.

The Matrix Revolutions

When Neo awakens in the Mobile Ave subway station of the Trainman he
meets the programs Rama Kandra, his wife Kamala and their daughter
Sati.
Rama and his wife aren't just programs like the Merovingian and
Persephone, but machines from the real world plugged into the Matrix.
Machines can jack in. This was touched upon in Peter Chung's wonderful
Animatrix short "Matriculated." They often plug in and take the guise
of
humans to insure the operation of the system. From their studies of
humans and the previous Reloads of the system many machine have grown
to
love. Together Rama and Kamala created offspring, a program in the form
of their daughter. But Sati serves no purpose and if they don't send
her
away she will be deleted by the machines. So they made a deal with the
Merovingian for Sati to live with the Oracle. This act touches Neo who
realizes that the machines are not evil but as capable of love as
humans
are.

Neo doesn't have his powers because he's not in the Matrix and his
software cannot interact with this form of limbo. The Merovingian hoped
this would happen because he too knew that Neo would walk out on the
Architect. He knew of Neo's attachment to Trinity because his wife
Persephone told him. The Merovingian himself is an interesting
character, representing Hades, God of the Underworld "a trafficker of
information." You see the machines have allowed the Merovingian's
secret
society to exist because he is harmless and can be called upon for all
the dirty little secrets and information they need, ultimately helping
the system work. It's possible he may be a previous One or was one of
the first malfunctioning rogue programs. Think of it as the FBI calling
on the help of organized crime once in a while. He's allowed to have
his
safe haven for rogue programs such as the Trainman and the Twins and
control of many programmer access points (back doors) so long as he
doesn't threaten the system. The machines must definitely share a
relationship with him otherwise he would not have encountered Neo's
predecessors or survived a Matrix Reload.

It also appears that Seraph may have worked for the Merovingian but I
suspect their previous encounter was due to the fact that Seraph was
the
previous One. When Neo fights him in the Teahouse they match each
other's every move to a standstill. Seraph does this to be sure Neo is
the One. Also notice how when Seraph first shows up at Club Hel in
"Revolutions" one of the bouncers says "Look, it's Wingless." or
something like that. He's referring to the fact that Seraph is now an
Angel with no wings having given up his power to Reload the Matrix just
as Neo was supposed to.

Let's talk about the relationship between Neo and Agent Smith. The
Oracle tells Neo that Smith has become his opposite, his negative. A
result of the equation trying to balance itself out. Why did Neo jump
into Smith to destroy him at the end of the original film? Neo probably
doesn't know why himself, but I suspect that he was drawn to him like a
magnet. As soon as Neo discovered his powers he did this act. It
appears
that Smith was supposed to be Neo's opposite all along. When Smith
interrogated Morpheus in the original film he confessed that he "wanted
out of this zoo." He was already growing too human and was on the path
to becoming Neo's negative. He wanted to be disconnected from the
system
as evident when he takes out his earpiece during the interrogation.
Smith's fellow agents are surprised to see his ear piece removed (Agent
Brown: "What are you doing?") and if they suspected Smith's true
feelings they may have sent him back to the source for deletion from
the
system since he was malfunctioning. Neo was drawn to jumping into Smith
because the equation was trying to balance itself. The replicating
program from the cookie may have copied on to him as well.

Now that Smith is reborn like Neo with some of his code written on to
him he doesn't want to just be deleted from the system but shut down
the
system and everything else. His hatred for mankind is now equaled by
his
hatred for his machine creators. If Neo is the positive side of the
equation then Smith is the negative with the desire to destroy
everything. "I want what you want Mr. Anderson. I want everything."
When
Neo is blinded by Agent Smith in Bane's body he gets a grip of how
connected to the machines he really is and can see them for what they
really are.

Neo knows that Smith has grown out of control and the machines can't
delete him from the system. Having assimilated everyone in the Matrix,
including the Oracle, Smith threatens the system, the minds plugged in
and the machine world itself. The machines will lose their crops or
powers source and eventually the virus that is Smith will infect them
as
well. To prove to the machines that peace can be reached with their
creators, the human race, Neo makes a deal that if he can defeat Smith,
a compromise will be reached. He needs their help to jack in because he
still hasn't mastered the ability to do it alone. Only after battling
it
out with Smith does Neo realizes that the solution is simple. Smith
tells Neo during the final moments "What a minute, I've seen this
before. You were laying right there and I was standing here. And I say,
everything that has a beginning has an end Neo. Wait, what did I say?"
The answer is it isn't Smith who? saying this but the Oracle who Smith
assimilated. When Smith assimilated the Oracle in her kitchen he
laughed
hysterically because he saw her vision of him defeating Neo. He would
finally accomplish what he couldn? for so long and had made him so
bitter: the destruction of the One. Smith has treated Neo with much
disdain and never actually called him Neo. Smith is puzzled and scared
because someone is speaking through him. The Oracle spoke this phrase
to
Neo before and what she was referring to was the war. It would end
whether both sided survived or not. If Neo is +1 the positive side of
the equation and Smith is -1 the negative side then when they are added
together the sum is zero, which is what Neo does when he allows Smith
to
assimilate him. By doing so he has effectively opened a backdoor for
the
machines to delete Smith from the system through him. The machines are
affected by Neo's sacrifice and decide to recall their attacking army
from Zion, ending the war and carrying out the Oracle's plan.

A truce has been made but as the Architect indicates to the Oracle it
may be a temporary one. Mankind has a habit of sh**ting where they eat
and the Oracle will have to become a mediator between man and machine
to
ensure that they work together to rebuild the Earth, un-scorch the
skies
and live in peace. How long will it last? "As long as it can," the
Oracle says. The first step has been made, the rest is up to man and
machine. Even though the Oracle can predict the outcome of variables or
events she didn't see all of this happening as she tells Seraph. But
thanks to Neo and his dedication, "I believed." "For what it's worth,
you've made a believer out of me."

That s the best conclusion that I can come to for what the Matrix
trilogy is all about. I m sure it isn t 100% accurate and the ideas I
brought up were presented to me along with a few of my own. This is
indeed a well-written story but the problem is it doesn? t serve the
characters. We ve grown to love these characters and seeing them thrown
around this puzzle is a waste. I understood why Neo had to die and
liked
the King Arthur like funeral the machines gave him, but is he really
dead? Remember the Oracle told Sati that they may see him again. The
Architect told Neo in Reloaded that AFTER he returned the code he
carried to the source he would then choose 23 individuals to
re-populate
Zion suggesting that he doesn? t die from the process. Although the
Oracle tells him You should be dead, but you weren? t ready for that
either, when Neo first touched the source by stopping the sentinels. I
suspect his physical body may be dead and he could possibly return like
Seraph. It s not upsetting that Trinity is dead, but the way she died.
Although she tells Neo they ve been living on borrowed time her death
could have been more heroic. If the Wachowski Brothers had given
closure
to Neo s story and given us an indication of what really happened to
him
then perhaps many would feel differently about the movie. It s a slap
in
the face to build up audience expectations and then leave them empty
and
perplexed at the end. Even though I think I ve figured out the series I
still have a few questions of my own.

1. How big is the Matrix exactly? Smith tells Morpheus in the original
about billions of people living out their lives, oblivious, yet the
action takes place in this unnamed city that doesn? t look any bigger
than a glyph amongst the green code in Revolutions opening credit
sequence. If the Matrix is only as big as a city then what about this
headline from Neo's screen when he's sleeping by his computer in the
original film: "Morpheus Eludes Police At Heathrow Airport." That's
over
in Europe on the other side of the world. We always see the same Agents
and the same city so perhaps the nameless city where the action takes
place is "the core network" as referred to by Morpheus. Remember that
the building that took Neo to the source was in this city. Also he flew
500 miles from the Merovingian's chateau to get back there so the
Matrix
must be bigger than that.
2. We know how they jack out of the Matrix, but how do they jack in?
Where do they appear? Is it any location they want (on top of a roof
with a motorcycle like Trinity) or must they have a safe house and a
telephone line like when they jack out?
3. What exactly is Sati? I've heard that a so called child that will
change the future is referred to by the Oracle in the "Enter The
Matrix"
videogame and even though she risked being deleted for not having a
purpose, why would the machines give her power over the sun like at the
film's end? Some have stated that she represents the Dali Lama while
others think she is going to be the next One. Neo was the sixth and I'm
told that in Hebrew the number seven is a perfect number so maybe it's
her.
I could write for weeks about this stuff but it's just a movie after
all. I won't get started on the religious implication but I will say
that I feel Neo does represent Christ and that like the Covenant
between
man and God his sacrifice represents the new relationship between man
and machine. Remember Neo in Latin means "new". Just as man's
relationship with God is unstable to this day so is the new
relationship
in the film. If only the Wacahowski's were smart enough to let the
average moviegoers know that the machines were in no way evil and that
the human race was once the bad guys.

Everyone didn't see the Animatrix or play the video game. Such
pretentious bull only makes audiences angry and pissed, which is what I
said, would happen. Nevertheless you have to hand it to them for
sitting
down and actually thinking this convoluted mess up. Years from now I
think people will be more forgiving and accept the series for the
amazing piece of work it is. In the meantime, the W. Brothers should
read more Tolkien or take a cue from Peter Jackson who is sure to leave
them in the dust and go down in history come year's end.

18-03-2004, 10:34 PM
Here is someone's personal review on Matrix Trilogy which I got from my forwarded email. I find it very interesting. Enjoy reading :wink:

Are you pissed? Pretty upset and angry? Do you feel duped? With a $24
million dollar opening day gross it's obvious that despite mixed
reactions to the sequel "The Matrix Reloaded", moviegoers were still
interested in how the trilogy would come to a conclusion with "The
Matrix Revolutions." But did the story actually conclude? Is this
really
the end? Producer Joel Silver has endlessly stated that the Wachowski
Brothers would bring the saga to a close with the third film and that
all questions would be answered. So why is it that hours after it's
opening the film has been met with so many harsh reactions? Some
downright nasty. From the internet to the media to word of mouth on the
street people are saying that the film stinks and that the entire story
really ended with the original film four years ago. Its gotten so bad
that I've heard and even witnessed several moviegoers waiting till
after
the film's end credits in hope that there would be more. Even
discussions amongst exiting moviegoers over alternative endings. I'm
not
kidding.

In my original review I stated my dissatisfaction with the film and how
its so-called conclusion broke my heart. I understood why the movie
ended the way it did and the meaning of the trilogy's entire story, but
felt that the Wachowski Brothers were making the material too heavy for
moviegoers and in essence alienating them. The original Matrix was
never
a masterpiece but it struck a chord and was popular and successful
because it transcended cultures as well as genres. For once an action
adventure film made people's brains pop not for its visual effects but
for its metaphysics. It's true that the pioneering "bullet time" effect
was the initial hook that got butts into seats but the story is what
kept them there.

The sequels are indeed superior to the original in every way except for
the advancement of the story itself. People seek out sequels because
they want to relive the original experience but with the Matrix sequels
the Wachowski Brothers took an idea with limitless potential and
weighed
it down with elements copied from dozens of genres. They became
over-bloated messes and ultimately pretentious jokes. As difficult as
it
may be to believe there is in fact a brilliant story and structure to
the entire series, animated shorts, video games and all. What's sad is
that even though audiences like to think for themselves they don't like
to do it to the point of frustration and confusion and that's exactly
what the Wachowski Brothers have done. The meaning of the entire series
is indeed a brilliant idea, it? just that these are movies after all
and
we like ideas and puzzles given to us in an entertaining way.

Please be advised that from this point on I'm going to discuss the
entire Matrix series, spoilers and all. So if you have not seen the
final installment, "Revolutions" I suggest you stop reading right now
and click on my spoiler free "Blue Pill Review." You've been warned.

The Second Renaissance

To understand "The Matrix Revolutions" we're gonna have to go all the
way back to the beginning. A time that was shown in the superior
Animatrix shorts "The Second Renaissance Parts I & II. In the beginning
there was man. Then man created machines. Designed in man's likeness
the
machines served man well, but man's jealous nature ruined that
relationship. When a worker robot killed one of its own abusive masters
it was placed on trial for murder and sentenced for destruction. This
incident was the spark that ignited a fuse that would burn for
centuries. Humans began rioting and destroying many machines. The
machines were eventually allowed to create a nation of their own,
separate from areas inhabited by humans. That nation was created as a
machine city known as 01 or Zero-One. Despite the aggression of their
former masters and creators towards them the machines still wished to
do
commerce with man and began production of the many tools and devices
that man needed. But the machines proved to be more efficient than
their
creators and their own economy began to flourish better than mankind's.
Seeking a better relationship with man and hoping to be accepted as an
independent nation the machines petitioned to join the United Nations
but were ultimately refused and found themselves under attack. A war
had
begun.

As the war progressed, man realized that they might ultimately lose to
their superior creations. To end the threat the military devised
"Operation Nightfall", the "scorching" of the skies, eliminating the
machines' power source, the sun. Ironically man also used machine
technology to do this and engaged in warfare on the battlefield. The
machines had studied the fragile nature of the human body and were able
to come up with biological weapons of their own. Ultimately man and
machine had destroyed the world they lived in and barely survived. No
longer dependent on the sun as a power source, the machines came to the
conclusion that they would have to begin a symbiotic relationship with
their enemy. "Hand over your flesh and a new world awaits you. We
demand
it," an insect-like representative tells the United Nations just before
self-destructing and wiping out New York with a nuclear blast. The
machines could survive off of human generated power and in return
mankind would no longer have to suffer in a ravaged world but a
computer
generated dream. The Matrix was created.

The Matrix

As the Architect told Neo in Reloaded when he first designed the Matrix
it was "...quite naturally perfect, it was a work of art, flawless,
sublime." It was destined to fail because as Agent Smith said to
Morpheus "...human beings defined their reality through misery and
suffering." Human minds could not accept the program and therefore
"...entire crops were lost." The Architect was then forced to redesign
the Matrix "...based on your history to more accurately reflect the
varying grotesqueries of your nature." But failure soon frustrated the
Architect because the new equation of the Matrix was unbalanced and the
answer that eluded him "...required a lesser mind perhaps less bound by
the parameters of perfection." That lesser mind was an intuitive
program: The Oracle. She came to the conclusion that 99.9% of all test
subjects accepted the program as long as they were given a choice, even
if they were aware of it at an unconscious level. It was an answer that
functioned, but was ultimately flawed creating a systemic anomaly. The
Architect discovered that the 0.1% of subjects that refused the program
(the human resistance) would threaten the system if left unchecked so
the Oracle helped devise a form of control: the One. Just as the Matrix
was a form of control for people plugged into pods, the One would be a
form of control for the resistance in the real world.
Since the machines were able to grow humans for use as batteries it was
decided that a special human would be designed to carry the anomalous
code. This human would be designed physically and mentally to interface
with the Matrix differently than the average human would. It would
enable him or her to have special powers within the Matrix and gain the
support of the human resistance. The plan was for the Oracle to guide
those that resisted the program to the One and accept him as their
savior, a person who could save and free the human race from slavery.
Through her ability to predict the future (which is really her
analyzing
of equations to an outcome) the Oracle would guide the One to the
source
and the One would be given a choice to save Zion from its eventual
destruction and temporarily reinsert the prime program it carried back
into the Matrix. The Matrix would be Reloaded and a new version would
start. At the same time the machines would gain better insight into the
nature of man through the experiences of the One to build a better
Matrix. Even though Zion would be destroyed the One would be allowed to
choose 23 individuals from the Matrix to rebuild it. That 0.1% of
individuals that rejected the program would not be allowed to get any
bigger. Five times this occurred. In fact many feel that the Oracle's
bodyguard Seraph was the previous One before Neo and that even though
his physical body is no more, his consciousness was copied into the
Matrix and is now used by the Oracle for protection. Seraph to Neo: I
protect that which matters most." The future.

Unlike the Architect the Oracle grew tired of this endless cycle and
finally decided to set out and end the war between man and machine.
"I'm
interested in one thing Neo, the future. And the only way to get there
is together." She would again do her part in guiding the human
resistance (in this case Morpheus) to the One and then guiding the One
to the source. But the line would not be as straight this time. To
complete the One's journey to re-insert the prime program into the
Matrix the machines and the human race would have to depend on each
other for help.

The One was designed to develop an attachment to the human race so that
when he was presented with the choice to save it by the Architect he
would always choose the "door to the right." However the Oracle knew
that if the One developed an attachment to a specific person he may
choose differently. Before Morpheus found Neo she guided him to
Trinity,
a hacker who shared many human qualities that Neo did. Before she even
met him the Oracle told Trinity she would fall in love with the One.
This was suggestion by the Oracle that set Trinity on the path to
falling in love with Neo. Morpheus found Neo before they even met and
since he believed Neo was the one Trinity began to study him. Cypher to
Trinity: "You like him, you like watching him don't you." Since she was
told she would fall in love with him she eventually did. All of this
was
oblivious to Neo who didn't even know who Trinity was or how she felt
when they first met.

After Neo was freed from the Matrix, Morpheus brought him to see the
Oracle. She could have just told him flat out that he was the One, but
knew it was something he'd have to work for. Do you tell a child he
doesn't have to study or work a day in its life because it will inherit
a fortune anyway? (Unless your last name is Hilton. Just kidding) The
Oracle knows that Morpheus would eventually wind up in danger and that
Neo would have to save him, setting up the bond between the three of
them. But to start him down the right path she tells him Morpheus' fate
and gives him a cookie. "I promise you that by the time you're done
eating it you'll feel right as rain." But, this isn't no ordinary
cookie, it? an upgrade to his program. Remember how in Reloaded the
Merovingian was able to put "Spanish Fly" in a pastry? Well the Oracle
did something similar to Neo. She may have even placed the replicating
program for Agent Smith in the cookie. When Neo is killed by Agent
Smith
he is reborn by the love of Trinity who is know convinced who Neo is
and
what he means to her.

The Matrix Reloaded

In part two of the story the machines have found Zion and are seeking
it
out for destruction. The human threat has grown too large and the cycle
must end so that it may begin again. The Architect (whose been watching
Neo on his TV screens from day one) knows that the Oracle is guiding
Neo
to the source and that the prime program will be temporarily
re-inserted
again to reload the matrix for a sixth time. What they don't know is
that the Oracle has a plan for Neo to choose differently. When the
Oracle meets with Neo again she offers him candy. Perhaps another
upgrade to his program. She also knows that Trinity will end up in
danger and Neo will choose her over Reloading the Matrix. She's also
aware that Neo's interaction with the Architect will upgrade his
implants and his program enabling him to stop those sentinels at the
film's conclusion and temporarily touch the power of the source. He's
not ready yet and for the meantime will discover that he's gained the
ability to separate his mind from his body and jack himself in on his
own.

The Matrix Revolutions

When Neo awakens in the Mobile Ave subway station of the Trainman he
meets the programs Rama Kandra, his wife Kamala and their daughter
Sati.
Rama and his wife aren't just programs like the Merovingian and
Persephone, but machines from the real world plugged into the Matrix.
Machines can jack in. This was touched upon in Peter Chung's wonderful
Animatrix short "Matriculated." They often plug in and take the guise
of
humans to insure the operation of the system. From their studies of
humans and the previous Reloads of the system many machine have grown
to
love. Together Rama and Kamala created offspring, a program in the form
of their daughter. But Sati serves no purpose and if they don't send
her
away she will be deleted by the machines. So they made a deal with the
Merovingian for Sati to live with the Oracle. This act touches Neo who
realizes that the machines are not evil but as capable of love as
humans
are.

Neo doesn't have his powers because he's not in the Matrix and his
software cannot interact with this form of limbo. The Merovingian hoped
this would happen because he too knew that Neo would walk out on the
Architect. He knew of Neo's attachment to Trinity because his wife
Persephone told him. The Merovingian himself is an interesting
character, representing Hades, God of the Underworld "a trafficker of
information." You see the machines have allowed the Merovingian's
secret
society to exist because he is harmless and can be called upon for all
the dirty little secrets and information they need, ultimately helping
the system work. It's possible he may be a previous One or was one of
the first malfunctioning rogue programs. Think of it as the FBI calling
on the help of organized crime once in a while. He's allowed to have
his
safe haven for rogue programs such as the Trainman and the Twins and
control of many programmer access points (back doors) so long as he
doesn't threaten the system. The machines must definitely share a
relationship with him otherwise he would not have encountered Neo's
predecessors or survived a Matrix Reload.

It also appears that Seraph may have worked for the Merovingian but I
suspect their previous encounter was due to the fact that Seraph was
the
previous One. When Neo fights him in the Teahouse they match each
other's every move to a standstill. Seraph does this to be sure Neo is
the One. Also notice how when Seraph first shows up at Club Hel in
"Revolutions" one of the bouncers says "Look, it's Wingless." or
something like that. He's referring to the fact that Seraph is now an
Angel with no wings having given up his power to Reload the Matrix just
as Neo was supposed to.

Let's talk about the relationship between Neo and Agent Smith. The
Oracle tells Neo that Smith has become his opposite, his negative. A
result of the equation trying to balance itself out. Why did Neo jump
into Smith to destroy him at the end of the original film? Neo probably
doesn't know why himself, but I suspect that he was drawn to him like a
magnet. As soon as Neo discovered his powers he did this act. It
appears
that Smith was supposed to be Neo's opposite all along. When Smith
interrogated Morpheus in the original film he confessed that he "wanted
out of this zoo." He was already growing too human and was on the path
to becoming Neo's negative. He wanted to be disconnected from the
system
as evident when he takes out his earpiece during the interrogation.
Smith's fellow agents are surprised to see his ear piece removed (Agent
Brown: "What are you doing?") and if they suspected Smith's true
feelings they may have sent him back to the source for deletion from
the
system since he was malfunctioning. Neo was drawn to jumping into Smith
because the equation was trying to balance itself. The replicating
program from the cookie may have copied on to him as well.

Now that Smith is reborn like Neo with some of his code written on to
him he doesn't want to just be deleted from the system but shut down
the
system and everything else. His hatred for mankind is now equaled by
his
hatred for his machine creators. If Neo is the positive side of the
equation then Smith is the negative with the desire to destroy
everything. "I want what you want Mr. Anderson. I want everything."
When
Neo is blinded by Agent Smith in Bane's body he gets a grip of how
connected to the machines he really is and can see them for what they
really are.

Neo knows that Smith has grown out of control and the machines can't
delete him from the system. Having assimilated everyone in the Matrix,
including the Oracle, Smith threatens the system, the minds plugged in
and the machine world itself. The machines will lose their crops or
powers source and eventually the virus that is Smith will infect them
as
well. To prove to the machines that peace can be reached with their
creators, the human race, Neo makes a deal that if he can defeat Smith,
a compromise will be reached. He needs their help to jack in because he
still hasn't mastered the ability to do it alone. Only after battling
it
out with Smith does Neo realizes that the solution is simple. Smith
tells Neo during the final moments "What a minute, I've seen this
before. You were laying right there and I was standing here. And I say,
everything that has a beginning has an end Neo. Wait, what did I say?"
The answer is it isn't Smith who? saying this but the Oracle who Smith
assimilated. When Smith assimilated the Oracle in her kitchen he
laughed
hysterically because he saw her vision of him defeating Neo. He would
finally accomplish what he couldn? for so long and had made him so
bitter: the destruction of the One. Smith has treated Neo with much
disdain and never actually called him Neo. Smith is puzzled and scared
because someone is speaking through him. The Oracle spoke this phrase
to
Neo before and what she was referring to was the war. It would end
whether both sided survived or not. If Neo is +1 the positive side of
the equation and Smith is -1 the negative side then when they are added
together the sum is zero, which is what Neo does when he allows Smith
to
assimilate him. By doing so he has effectively opened a backdoor for
the
machines to delete Smith from the system through him. The machines are
affected by Neo's sacrifice and decide to recall their attacking army
from Zion, ending the war and carrying out the Oracle's plan.

A truce has been made but as the Architect indicates to the Oracle it
may be a temporary one. Mankind has a habit of sh**ting where they eat
and the Oracle will have to become a mediator between man and machine
to
ensure that they work together to rebuild the Earth, un-scorch the
skies
and live in peace. How long will it last? "As long as it can," the
Oracle says. The first step has been made, the rest is up to man and
machine. Even though the Oracle can predict the outcome of variables or
events she didn't see all of this happening as she tells Seraph. But
thanks to Neo and his dedication, "I believed." "For what it's worth,
you've made a believer out of me."

That s the best conclusion that I can come to for what the Matrix
trilogy is all about. I m sure it isn t 100% accurate and the ideas I
brought up were presented to me along with a few of my own. This is
indeed a well-written story but the problem is it doesn? t serve the
characters. We ve grown to love these characters and seeing them thrown
around this puzzle is a waste. I understood why Neo had to die and
liked
the King Arthur like funeral the machines gave him, but is he really
dead? Remember the Oracle told Sati that they may see him again. The
Architect told Neo in Reloaded that AFTER he returned the code he
carried to the source he would then choose 23 individuals to
re-populate
Zion suggesting that he doesn? t die from the process. Although the
Oracle tells him You should be dead, but you weren? t ready for that
either, when Neo first touched the source by stopping the sentinels. I
suspect his physical body may be dead and he could possibly return like
Seraph. It s not upsetting that Trinity is dead, but the way she died.
Although she tells Neo they ve been living on borrowed time her death
could have been more heroic. If the Wachowski Brothers had given
closure
to Neo s story and given us an indication of what really happened to
him
then perhaps many would feel differently about the movie. It s a slap
in
the face to build up audience expectations and then leave them empty
and
perplexed at the end. Even though I think I ve figured out the series I
still have a few questions of my own.

1. How big is the Matrix exactly? Smith tells Morpheus in the original
about billions of people living out their lives, oblivious, yet the
action takes place in this unnamed city that doesn? t look any bigger
than a glyph amongst the green code in Revolutions opening credit
sequence. If the Matrix is only as big as a city then what about this
headline from Neo's screen when he's sleeping by his computer in the
original film: "Morpheus Eludes Police At Heathrow Airport." That's
over
in Europe on the other side of the world. We always see the same Agents
and the same city so perhaps the nameless city where the action takes
place is "the core network" as referred to by Morpheus. Remember that
the building that took Neo to the source was in this city. Also he flew
500 miles from the Merovingian's chateau to get back there so the
Matrix
must be bigger than that.
2. We know how they jack out of the Matrix, but how do they jack in?
Where do they appear? Is it any location they want (on top of a roof
with a motorcycle like Trinity) or must they have a safe house and a
telephone line like when they jack out?
3. What exactly is Sati? I've heard that a so called child that will
change the future is referred to by the Oracle in the "Enter The
Matrix"
videogame and even though she risked being deleted for not having a
purpose, why would the machines give her power over the sun like at the
film's end? Some have stated that she represents the Dali Lama while
others think she is going to be the next One. Neo was the sixth and I'm
told that in Hebrew the number seven is a perfect number so maybe it's
her.
I could write for weeks about this stuff but it's just a movie after
all. I won't get started on the religious implication but I will say
that I feel Neo does represent Christ and that like the Covenant
between
man and God his sacrifice represents the new relationship between man
and machine. Remember Neo in Latin means "new". Just as man's
relationship with God is unstable to this day so is the new
relationship
in the film. If only the Wacahowski's were smart enough to let the
average moviegoers know that the machines were in no way evil and that
the human race was once the bad guys.

Everyone didn't see the Animatrix or play the video game. Such
pretentious bull only makes audiences angry and pissed, which is what I
said, would happen. Nevertheless you have to hand it to them for
sitting
down and actually thinking this convoluted mess up. Years from now I
think people will be more forgiving and accept the series for the
amazing piece of work it is. In the meantime, the W. Brothers should
read more Tolkien or take a cue from Peter Jackson who is sure to leave
them in the dust and go down in history come year's end.

19-03-2004, 12:01 AM
my god that's a 20-page term paper right there. too lazy to read it. :D

19-03-2004, 12:01 AM
my god that's a 20-page term paper right there. too lazy to read it. :D

19-03-2004, 04:21 PM
Not that exaggerating number of page you suggest about the review, topdog. Your comment only discourage people of reading it. Come on, 10 pages at most. it's worth to read especially for Matrix fans.

19-03-2004, 04:21 PM
Not that exaggerating number of page you suggest about the review, topdog. Your comment only discourage people of reading it. Come on, 10 pages at most. it's worth to read especially for Matrix fans.

gesar
19-03-2004, 10:29 PM
I'm another matrix's fan.....Keanu is good in this trilogy :D

gesar
19-03-2004, 10:29 PM
I'm another matrix's fan.....Keanu is good in this trilogy :D

20-03-2004, 12:17 AM

hahaha... to verify this, i copy and pasted it on Word... and at the font size 12, Times New Roman, and single spacing, it is a whoppping 10 pages.... if u format it under Double Spacing, it is 20 pages... so.. i guess both of you won... A typical WIN-WIN situation...

about MATRIX , IMO, if u want to pay for the action, realistic action, LOTR will be a much better trilogy.... but if u are up to something out of this world, then it is a darn-cool movie which kick ass...

if u are the philosopher-type, than it is very educating...

if u think that typical hollywood movie,(i chop u, u hack me, guns, girls and stud, love and stuff,straight to the point and movie with expected plot), than, this movie sux....

but, i think this trilogy is a work of genius.... it is a well written modern piece of work... it symbolizes and reflects lot of current issues..

20-03-2004, 12:17 AM

hahaha... to verify this, i copy and pasted it on Word... and at the font size 12, Times New Roman, and single spacing, it is a whoppping 10 pages.... if u format it under Double Spacing, it is 20 pages... so.. i guess both of you won... A typical WIN-WIN situation...

about MATRIX , IMO, if u want to pay for the action, realistic action, LOTR will be a much better trilogy.... but if u are up to something out of this world, then it is a darn-cool movie which kick ass...

if u are the philosopher-type, than it is very educating...

if u think that typical hollywood movie,(i chop u, u hack me, guns, girls and stud, love and stuff,straight to the point and movie with expected plot), than, this movie sux....

but, i think this trilogy is a work of genius.... it is a well written modern piece of work... it symbolizes and reflects lot of current issues..

windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:32 AM
It is good in the first episode, ok(so so) the second episode and then totally suck at the final episode.
The lines are too cheesy, it was like watching Meg Ryan love stories!!!!
The character is undeveloped(too many characters)
And the story lline just jumble up everything and then it end with a happy ending just like that!!! (it was like watching a computer animation with a lot of explosion( like an Arnold movie with Meg Ryan in it) It just suck!!!
Matrix just cannot escape the law of diminishing return, it get sucker everytime, they should have just end it in the first episode, so that all the matrix fans would not be dissapointed!!!

I think i enjoy my matrix class more than I enjoy the matrix revolutions. At least in that class, they have logic calculation and no cheesy lines!!!!

windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:32 AM
It is good in the first episode, ok(so so) the second episode and then totally suck at the final episode.
The lines are too cheesy, it was like watching Meg Ryan love stories!!!!
The character is undeveloped(too many characters)
And the story lline just jumble up everything and then it end with a happy ending just like that!!! (it was like watching a computer animation with a lot of explosion( like an Arnold movie with Meg Ryan in it) It just suck!!!
Matrix just cannot escape the law of diminishing return, it get sucker everytime, they should have just end it in the first episode, so that all the matrix fans would not be dissapointed!!!

I think i enjoy my matrix class more than I enjoy the matrix revolutions. At least in that class, they have logic calculation and no cheesy lines!!!!

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 03:59 PM
Hmm... have to agree that only the 1st episode is worth watching... i dun even want to rewatch the 2nd and 3rd episode... they just sux.... sigh~

still remember the scene Neo put his hand into Trinity's body to "pump" her heart to make her alive... its soooooooooo FAKE !!!
he has become a superman... too unrealistic ade... lost the originality i would say.... cant relate to our lives anymore...

just my thoughts... matrix fans: no offence ya !

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 03:59 PM
Hmm... have to agree that only the 1st episode is worth watching... i dun even want to rewatch the 2nd and 3rd episode... they just sux.... sigh~

still remember the scene Neo put his hand into Trinity's body to "pump" her heart to make her alive... its soooooooooo FAKE !!!
he has become a superman... too unrealistic ade... lost the originality i would say.... cant relate to our lives anymore...

just my thoughts... matrix fans: no offence ya !

gesar
20-03-2004, 04:17 PM
erm, well, its true that matrix looks fake at times but. :cry: ....NEO did that because he was the one and they were in the other side of the world.....they can fly, fight so gracefully and communicate with all the robots because they are in the robot world, the matrix world.... :D :D this movie shows the future when computer overtake the human mind.....so beware!!!

gesar
20-03-2004, 04:17 PM
erm, well, its true that matrix looks fake at times but. :cry: ....NEO did that because he was the one and they were in the other side of the world.....they can fly, fight so gracefully and communicate with all the robots because they are in the robot world, the matrix world.... :D :D this movie shows the future when computer overtake the human mind.....so beware!!!

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:19 PM
but too fake ade la.. if he can save ppl back from death.. then what is point of fighting ah? there will be no win or lose ade...

btw... question: did Neo die in the end ????

lonewolfhan
20-03-2004, 04:19 PM
but too fake ade la.. if he can save ppl back from death.. then what is point of fighting ah? there will be no win or lose ade...

btw... question: did Neo die in the end ????

20-03-2004, 04:22 PM
How should I put it? I still can decipher the first two episodes, despites their verbosity ... but the 3rd doesn't make sense at all, at least not to me... yeah, i agree with wolfhan. Neo had become from the one to the superone. a little .... exaggerated?

20-03-2004, 04:22 PM
How should I put it? I still can decipher the first two episodes, despites their verbosity ... but the 3rd doesn't make sense at all, at least not to me... yeah, i agree with wolfhan. Neo had become from the one to the superone. a little .... exaggerated?

20-03-2004, 07:21 PM
I agree with the DecentMerson. The trilogy is amazing. I think most people didn't watch Animatrix so they don't get a chance to grasp the whole Matrix World. It's a hard story to tell so I guess even a trilogy won't do it justice.

The only criticism that I agree with about the trilogy is that the third one has a lot of cheesy dialogue.

About bringing people back to live, well, maybe he can only do it when u just died. Like how people do defibrillation, so maybe it's quite logical in a sense.

20-03-2004, 07:21 PM
I agree with the DecentMerson. The trilogy is amazing. I think most people didn't watch Animatrix so they don't get a chance to grasp the whole Matrix World. It's a hard story to tell so I guess even a trilogy won't do it justice.

The only criticism that I agree with about the trilogy is that the third one has a lot of cheesy dialogue.

About bringing people back to live, well, maybe he can only do it when u just died. Like how people do defibrillation, so maybe it's quite logical in a sense.

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:28 PM
Honestly, animatrix is one of the most violent cartoons i've ever seen. And don't try to persuade me to describe it cause there are little kids out there who are prone to violence..hehe

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:28 PM
Honestly, animatrix is one of the most violent cartoons i've ever seen. And don't try to persuade me to describe it cause there are little kids out there who are prone to violence..hehe

lonewolfhan
22-03-2004, 09:32 PM
Hmm.. heard that Animatrix is veyr violent... but havent watched... Can be buy the version available in Speedy in Malaysia? Izzit censored ? coz its too violent ???

lonewolfhan
22-03-2004, 09:32 PM
Hmm.. heard that Animatrix is veyr violent... but havent watched... Can be buy the version available in Speedy in Malaysia? Izzit censored ? coz its too violent ???

hungwei
24-03-2004, 11:14 PM
I've seen animatrix sold in some video shops somewhere...forgotten.

But anyway, you can download some of the animatrix versions free of charge from the internet...again...forgot where..sorry.. :oops:

26-03-2004, 09:16 PM
Here's another explanation of the matrix that i received. It's shorter than the one offered by yekban81

Neo is a machine, kinda. He is a human with
enhanced genetics, enhanced
implants, and a machine programmed mind (probably
based on a "The One"
template program). That's why, at the end of
Revolutions, when his body
is being taken away, he is shown as an orange
glow. The orange glow is
how the machines see each other, and therefore how
they see Neo. It is
also how Neo sees Smith inside Bane... he is
seeing the machine program
of Smith inside Bane's mind, and therefore it is
an orange glow in the
shape of the Smith.

But the orange glow isn't the only reason tobelieve Neo is a machine.
Throughout the trilogy other hints are given, such
as: "His neural
kinetics are way above normal.", "He's a
machine.", "Your five
predecessors were by design based on a similar
predication...", etc.

So if Neo is a machine, why was he created (as all
machines must have a
purpose)? He was created by the Oracle and the
Architect to be The One.
As the Architect explains to him: "Your life is
the sum of a remainder
of an unbalanced equation inherent to the
programming of the Matrix...
Your five predecessors were by design based on a
similar predication, a
contingent affirmation that was meant to create a
profound attachment
to the rest of your species, facilitating the
function of The One...
The function of The One is now to return to the
Source, allowing a
temporary dissemination of the code you carry,
reinserting the prime
program."

Translated, the Architect is explaining that Neo
was designed to be a
religious figure to the freed humans, thus causing
them to put their
faith (hope) in Neo and to rally around him
("...sum of a
remainder..."). This helps to ensure that the
freed humans are focused
on Neo instead of war, and to keep them all
together in one place, Zion
(which was built by the machines for this purpose
also). Neo is a form
of control in the real world.

And just to make sure that Neo carries out his
part of their plan, the
machines programmed him with "... a contingent
affirmation that was
meant to create a profound attachment to the
[humans]." This, along
with his enhanced abilities and the "guidance" of
the Oracle, keeps him
on the intended course.

The Architect also states that "The function of
The One is now to
return to the Source, allowing a temporary
dissemination of the code
you carry, reinserting the prime program." This
simply means that The
One program in Neo's mind is the most important
(prime) program in the
Matrix, and that now that his mission (purpose) is
complete, he must
return to the source for deletion (all machines
must have a purpose).
The phrase "... temporary dissemination..." means
that the The One
program will be used again in the next version of
the Matrix. This is
also why Neo's choice of the left door will
destroy the Matrix, as
there can be only one The One in the Matrix at any
time. By staying in
the Matrix Neo is preventing it from being
reloaded, as a reload will
do nothing without another The One for the next
version. (In
programming terms he is the highest priority task,
and he will not
release the Matrix program's main semaphore.)

OK, so The One is a human with enhanced genetics,
enhanced implants,
and a machine programmed mind, and was created by
the Oracle and the
Architect to carry out a specific purpose (form of
control in and out
of the Matrix) in each iteration of the Matrix.
Now let's see how The
One fits in with the entire story of the trilogy.

As is explained, the Matrix was created by the
Architect, at the end of
the war with the humans, as a way to control the
humans and use them as
a power source (I know, hard to believe...). The
first Matrix was "...
quite naturally perfect, it was a work of art,
flawless, sublime.",
while the second Matrix was redesigned "... to
more accurately reflect
the varying grotesqueries of your nature."
Basically Heaven and then
Hell. In both cases, however, no conscious choice
was given to the
humans as to whether or not they wanted to believe
in the reality of
the Matrix. This caused the majority of humans to
reject the Matrix and
die ("... whole crops were lost.").

To solve this problem the Oracle was created, and
realized correctly
that the humans needed to be given a choice:
"Thus, the answer was
stumbled upon by another, an intuitive program,
initially created to
investigate certain aspects of the human psyche...
she stumbled upon a
solution whereby nearly 99.9% of all test subjects
accepted the
program, as long as they were given a choice, even
if they were only
aware of the choice at a near unconscious level."
So by giving humans a
choice, even at an unconscious level that only
0.1% are ever aware of,
they accepted the Matrix.

Unfortunately for the machines, however, a
majority of the 0.1% who
were aware of the choice usually chose the real
world over the Matrix.
"While this answer functioned, it was obviously
fundamentally flawed,
thus creating the otherwise contradictory systemic
anomaly, that if
left unchecked might threaten the system itself.
Ergo, those that
refused the program, while a minority, if
unchecked, would constitute
an escalating probability of disaster." The
machines therefore also
needed a way to control the 0.1% of the humans who
chose the real world
over the Matrix, thus Zion and The One were
created.

As was explained earlier, Zion was built by the
machines to ensure that
the freed humans would all gather in one place,
and The One was created
to be their religious figure, helping to distract
them from renewed war
with the machines. Both forms of control.

But even with Zion and The One, the
unpredictability of choice
("systemic anomoly") still forced the machines to
occasionally "reload"
the Matrix. This always occurs when The One
reaches the Source, which
he can only do after attaining the level of power
necessary for him to
defeat the Merovingian, obtain the Keymaker, etc.
The One program is
then temporarily reinserted into the Source
(machine mainframe), in
preparation for the next iteration of the Matrix.
In the process the
machines gain the knowledge and experiences of The
One, allowing them
to better predict the future behavior of the
humans, and thus reduce
the systemic anomolies.

So that is the situation at the start of the sixth
iteration of the
choice-Matrix. Luckily for the humans, however,
the Oracle does not
want them to be enslaved in the Matrix any longer,
or for the freed
humans to be killed. She therefore decides to take
a risk and use Neo
to bring about a "revolution".

In M1 (The Matrix) she meets with The One, Neo, as
she has done in the
five previous iterations of the Matrix. Normally
she simply helps guide
The One to his meeting with the Architect. Except
this time the Oracle
gives Neo a special cookie, which he eats. The
cookie isn't actually a
cookie, though, it's an upgrade to Neo's program.
Since the Oracle
created the The One program, she can predict
exactly what Neo will do
in the future, specifically how he will destroy
Smith (from the inside,
with some copying from Neo to Smith occuring). She
therefore includes
in the program upgrade code that will give Smith
the ability to
replicate himself, and for Neo and Smith to see
the future as she does.

In M2 (The Matrix Reloaded) Neo plays out his role
as The One, meeting
with the Architect. However, due to his love for
Trinity he chooses the
left door, preventing the Matrix from reloading.
This was seen in
advance by the Oracle, as she has the ability to
predict Neo's behavior
(as explained above) as well as human behavior in
general (due to the
nature of her program). She therefore told Trinity
that she would fall
in love with Neo (in M1), all the while knowing it
would eventually
cause Neo to choose the left door.

In M3 (The Matrix Revolutions) the Oracle's plan
comes to fruition.
While the machines begin their assualt on Zion
(for the sixth time),
Smith continues to replicate himself throughout
the Matrix. Neo, on the
otherhand, is stuck in the train station.
Apparently, fulfilling his
mission to meet with the Architect unlocks some
section of his program
that allows Neo to use his enhanced implants to
once again become part
of the machine collective (perhaps because of the
Oracle's upgrade?).
He is therefore able to sense and control other
machines wirelessly.
The first example of this is when he stops the
sentinels at the end of
M2. Since he is not quite ready to use his new
abilities, however, his
program gets stuck at the security checkpoint of
the Matrix, the train
station.

In the train station Neo meets with Rama Kandra,
his wife, and their
daughter Sati. Rama and his wife are both machines
from the real world
who can jack into the Matrix, like all other
machines, and live human
lives. Sati is a program created by these two
machines out of love,
which Rama explains to Neo is not out of the grasp
of the machines.
They are on their way back into the Matrix to
leave Sati with the
Oracle for safe keeping, as any program without a
purpose is deleted.

After being rescued from the train station by
Trinity, Morpheus, and
Seraph, Neo is helped out of the Matrix using the
standard jack. While
aboard the Hammer he has another vision of the
future, this time of the
three power lines leading from the Matrix power
station to 01, the
machine city (he is able to see the power lines
due to his newfound
connection to the machine collective). He
therefore takes the Logos,
along with Trinity, and leaves for 01. Along the
way he confronts the
stowaway Bane (who has the Smith program inside of
him), and is blinded
by him. Although blind, Neo is still able to see
other machines (orange
glow), including the Smith program inside Bane,
which he uses to defeat
Bane. He also uses his power to control other
machines to detonate the
bombs fired at the Logos by the 01 defenses.

Meanwhile Smith is replicating out of control in
the Matrix, and
eventually confronts the Oracle after taking over
Seraph and Sati. They
have a brief conversation in which he calls her
"Mom", referring to the
fact that she helped to create him (along with the
Architect) as well
as Neo (part of his program now). The Oracle then
tells Smith to "Do
what you came here to do.", so he takes over her
as well. The newly
formed Smith then stands up and laughs
hysterically, foreshadowing the
events at the end of the movie.

Eventually the Logos crashes in 01, but not before
Neo gets a top-down
view of the orange glowing city with his newfound
machine-vision
(notice the fractal patterns). Unfortunately
Trinity is killed in the
crash, and explains to Neo that both of them have
been living on
borrowed time. Neo since he was ressurected by
Trinity, and Trinity
since she was ressurected by Neo. Both are meant
to die and Trinity is
simply happy for the oportunity this time to tell
Neo how she feels
about him. (But shame on the brothers for killing
off Trinity in such a
lame way. Couldn't she have at least died trying
to save the ship, not
just letting it crash!)

Neo then leaves the Logos and enters the machine
building into which it
crashed (the building is seen in the same orange
glowing
machine-vision). He is then confronted by the Deus
Ex Machina, who
knows that Neo is the only one who can stop Smith
from destroying the
Matrix, but still shows hatred toward Neo (due to
the fact that he is
mostly human). After a show of force, the Deus Ex
Machina agrees to
peace with the humans in exchange for Neo's
promise to destroy Smith.
This causes the sentinels to halt their attack on
the Zion temple, the
last holdout of the remaining humans (the dock and
city have already
been destroyed).

The machines then jack Neo into the Matrix, since
he has not yet
masterred the ability to do so wirelessly (this
theme of Neo having to
learn to use his new abilities runs throughout the
trilogy). Neo then
confronts Smith, who says he has seen the future,
and that he (the one
particular Smith) is the one that defeats Neo. The
other Smiths (all of
the other people in the Matrix have now been taken
over by him)
therefore only watch as the fight begins.

After a brutal battle Neo is near defeat, but
continues to fight. When
asked why he does so, Neo responds "Because I
choose to.", echoing the
theme in M2 that "Everything begins with choice."
(the only way humans
achieve true freedom). But even though he delivers
a stunning punch to
Smith which sends him through the ground, Neo is
eventually defeated.
Before Smith takes him over he pauses, however,
realizing that he has
seen this very moment in his visions, and he
already knows what he is
going to say. "Everything that has a beginning has
an end..." he
mutters confusedly. This causes Neo to realize
that the Oracle still
exists somewhere inside of Smith, and that she is
partially able to
control his thoughts. Taking his cue from the
Oracle, Neo freely gives
himself to Smith.

Thus Neo is defeated, and Smith's original
purpose, to defeat The One
(which he is never really expected to achieve,
which leads to his bad
temperment) is accomplished. Smith therefore no
longer has a purpose
and must be deleted. But since programs marked for
deletion must return
to the source, how is Smith to be deleted? Simple,
the machines send
the command through Neo, into Smith, using a burst
of energy. This
causes all of the Smith clones, and the original
Smith, to be deleted,
leaving the original inhabitants of the bodies he
has taken over (this
is a basic function of the agent programs, that
they leave their hosts
as they found them, with death being the only
exception).

This then completes another revolution in the
Matrix cycle, as The One
has reached the Source and has reinserted the
prime program (Neo's
program, his knowledge and experiences). The
Matrix is then reloaded
back to it's initial state, the late 20th century.

The Oracle then meets with Sati, Seraph, and the
Architect in a park
outside the city as the sun rises over it. The
Architect tells her that
she was playing a "very risky game", and she asks
him if he will honor
the promise of peace. He says that he will, since
he is not human
(meaning humans do not keep their promises, an
insult). This means that
those people who unconsciously become aware of the
Matrix and choose to
leave will be freed, and those living in Zion will
not be killed. The
war between man and machine is over, or at least
suspended.

Looking upon the sunrise the Oracle asks Sati if
that was her doing,
and the girl responds that she did it for Neo
(made the sun rise).
Apparently Neo's experience with love, which was
uploaded from him to
the Source, caused the machines to show pity on
Sati and give her a
purpose instead of deleting her. She is now in
control of the sun. Sati
also asks the Oracle if they will ever see Neo
again, and the Oracle
replies that they might, indicating that the The
One program will be
used again in the future, as it had been for the
previous six
iterations of the Matrix. M3 therefore ends where
M1 began, except that
now the humans who become aware of the Matrix will
be freed (a decent
compromise if you ask me).

26-03-2004, 09:19 PM
Here's another explanation of the matrix that i received. It's shorter than the one offered by yekban81
I hope it will fill in some of the missing gaps

Neo is a machine, kinda. He is a human with
enhanced genetics, enhanced
implants, and a machine programmed mind (probably
based on a "The One"
template program). That's why, at the end of
Revolutions, when his body
is being taken away, he is shown as an orange
glow. The orange glow is
how the machines see each other, and therefore how
they see Neo. It is
also how Neo sees Smith inside Bane... he is
seeing the machine program
of Smith inside Bane's mind, and therefore it is
an orange glow in the
shape of the Smith.

But the orange glow isn't the only reason tobelieve Neo is a machine.
Throughout the trilogy other hints are given, such
as: "His neural
kinetics are way above normal.", "He's a
machine.", "Your five
predecessors were by design based on a similar
predication...", etc.

So if Neo is a machine, why was he created (as all
machines must have a
purpose)? He was created by the Oracle and the
Architect to be The One.
As the Architect explains to him: "Your life is
the sum of a remainder
of an unbalanced equation inherent to the
programming of the Matrix...
Your five predecessors were by design based on a
similar predication, a
contingent affirmation that was meant to create a
profound attachment
to the rest of your species, facilitating the
function of The One...
The function of The One is now to return to the
Source, allowing a
temporary dissemination of the code you carry,
reinserting the prime
program."

Translated, the Architect is explaining that Neo
was designed to be a
religious figure to the freed humans, thus causing
them to put their
faith (hope) in Neo and to rally around him
("...sum of a
remainder..."). This helps to ensure that the
freed humans are focused
on Neo instead of war, and to keep them all
together in one place, Zion
(which was built by the machines for this purpose
also). Neo is a form
of control in the real world.

And just to make sure that Neo carries out his
part of their plan, the
machines programmed him with "... a contingent
affirmation that was
meant to create a profound attachment to the
[humans]." This, along
with his enhanced abilities and the "guidance" of
the Oracle, keeps him
on the intended course.

The Architect also states that "The function of
The One is now to
return to the Source, allowing a temporary
dissemination of the code
you carry, reinserting the prime program." This
simply means that The
One program in Neo's mind is the most important
(prime) program in the
Matrix, and that now that his mission (purpose) is
complete, he must
return to the source for deletion (all machines
must have a purpose).
The phrase "... temporary dissemination..." means
that the The One
program will be used again in the next version of
the Matrix. This is
also why Neo's choice of the left door will
destroy the Matrix, as
there can be only one The One in the Matrix at any
time. By staying in
the Matrix Neo is preventing it from being
reloaded, as a reload will
do nothing without another The One for the next
version. (In
programming terms he is the highest priority task,
and he will not
release the Matrix program's main semaphore.)

OK, so The One is a human with enhanced genetics,
enhanced implants,
and a machine programmed mind, and was created by
the Oracle and the
Architect to carry out a specific purpose (form of
control in and out
of the Matrix) in each iteration of the Matrix.
Now let's see how The
One fits in with the entire story of the trilogy.

As is explained, the Matrix was created by the
Architect, at the end of
the war with the humans, as a way to control the
humans and use them as
a power source (I know, hard to believe...). The
first Matrix was "...
quite naturally perfect, it was a work of art,
flawless, sublime.",
while the second Matrix was redesigned "... to
more accurately reflect
the varying grotesqueries of your nature."
Basically Heaven and then
Hell. In both cases, however, no conscious choice
was given to the
humans as to whether or not they wanted to believe
in the reality of
the Matrix. This caused the majority of humans to
reject the Matrix and
die ("... whole crops were lost.").

To solve this problem the Oracle was created, and
realized correctly
that the humans needed to be given a choice:
"Thus, the answer was
stumbled upon by another, an intuitive program,
initially created to
investigate certain aspects of the human psyche...
she stumbled upon a
solution whereby nearly 99.9% of all test subjects
accepted the
program, as long as they were given a choice, even
if they were only
aware of the choice at a near unconscious level."
So by giving humans a
choice, even at an unconscious level that only
0.1% are ever aware of,
they accepted the Matrix.

Unfortunately for the machines, however, a
majority of the 0.1% who
were aware of the choice usually chose the real
world over the Matrix.
"While this answer functioned, it was obviously
fundamentally flawed,
thus creating the otherwise contradictory systemic
anomaly, that if
left unchecked might threaten the system itself.
Ergo, those that
refused the program, while a minority, if
unchecked, would constitute
an escalating probability of disaster." The
machines therefore also
needed a way to control the 0.1% of the humans who
chose the real world
over the Matrix, thus Zion and The One were
created.

As was explained earlier, Zion was built by the
machines to ensure that
the freed humans would all gather in one place,
and The One was created
to be their religious figure, helping to distract
them from renewed war
with the machines. Both forms of control.

But even with Zion and The One, the
unpredictability of choice
("systemic anomoly") still forced the machines to
occasionally "reload"
the Matrix. This always occurs when The One
reaches the Source, which
he can only do after attaining the level of power
necessary for him to
defeat the Merovingian, obtain the Keymaker, etc.
The One program is
then temporarily reinserted into the Source
(machine mainframe), in
preparation for the next iteration of the Matrix.
In the process the
machines gain the knowledge and experiences of The
One, allowing them
to better predict the future behavior of the
humans, and thus reduce
the systemic anomolies.

So that is the situation at the start of the sixth
iteration of the
choice-Matrix. Luckily for the humans, however,
the Oracle does not
want them to be enslaved in the Matrix any longer,
or for the freed
humans to be killed. She therefore decides to take
a risk and use Neo
to bring about a "revolution".

In M1 (The Matrix) she meets with The One, Neo, as
she has done in the
five previous iterations of the Matrix. Normally
she simply helps guide
The One to his meeting with the Architect. Except
this time the Oracle
gives Neo a special cookie, which he eats. The
cookie isn't actually a
cookie, though, it's an upgrade to Neo's program.
Since the Oracle
created the The One program, she can predict
exactly what Neo will do
in the future, specifically how he will destroy
Smith (from the inside,
with some copying from Neo to Smith occuring). She
therefore includes
in the program upgrade code that will give Smith
the ability to
replicate himself, and for Neo and Smith to see
the future as she does.

In M2 (The Matrix Reloaded) Neo plays out his role
as The One, meeting
with the Architect. However, due to his love for
Trinity he chooses the
left door, preventing the Matrix from reloading.
This was seen in
advance by the Oracle, as she has the ability to
predict Neo's behavior
(as explained above) as well as human behavior in
general (due to the
nature of her program). She therefore told Trinity
that she would fall
in love with Neo (in M1), all the while knowing it
would eventually
cause Neo to choose the left door.

In M3 (The Matrix Revolutions) the Oracle's plan
comes to fruition.
While the machines begin their assualt on Zion
(for the sixth time),
Smith continues to replicate himself throughout
the Matrix. Neo, on the
otherhand, is stuck in the train station.
Apparently, fulfilling his
mission to meet with the Architect unlocks some
section of his program
that allows Neo to use his enhanced implants to
once again become part
of the machine collective (perhaps because of the
Oracle's upgrade?).
He is therefore able to sense and control other
machines wirelessly.
The first example of this is when he stops the
sentinels at the end of
M2. Since he is not quite ready to use his new
abilities, however, his
program gets stuck at the security checkpoint of
the Matrix, the train
station.

In the train station Neo meets with Rama Kandra,
his wife, and their
daughter Sati. Rama and his wife are both machines
from the real world
who can jack into the Matrix, like all other
machines, and live human
lives. Sati is a program created by these two
machines out of love,
which Rama explains to Neo is not out of the grasp
of the machines.
They are on their way back into the Matrix to
leave Sati with the
Oracle for safe keeping, as any program without a
purpose is deleted.

After being rescued from the train station by
Trinity, Morpheus, and
Seraph, Neo is helped out of the Matrix using the
standard jack. While
aboard the Hammer he has another vision of the
future, this time of the
three power lines leading from the Matrix power
station to 01, the
machine city (he is able to see the power lines
due to his newfound
connection to the machine collective). He
therefore takes the Logos,
along with Trinity, and leaves for 01. Along the
way he confronts the
stowaway Bane (who has the Smith program inside of
him), and is blinded
by him. Although blind, Neo is still able to see
other machines (orange
glow), including the Smith program inside Bane,
which he uses to defeat
Bane. He also uses his power to control other
machines to detonate the
bombs fired at the Logos by the 01 defenses.

Meanwhile Smith is replicating out of control in
the Matrix, and
eventually confronts the Oracle after taking over
Seraph and Sati. They
have a brief conversation in which he calls her
"Mom", referring to the
fact that she helped to create him (along with the
Architect) as well
as Neo (part of his program now). The Oracle then
tells Smith to "Do
what you came here to do.", so he takes over her
as well. The newly
formed Smith then stands up and laughs
hysterically, foreshadowing the
events at the end of the movie.

Eventually the Logos crashes in 01, but not before
Neo gets a top-down
view of the orange glowing city with his newfound
machine-vision
(notice the fractal patterns). Unfortunately
Trinity is killed in the
crash, and explains to Neo that both of them have
been living on
borrowed time. Neo since he was ressurected by
Trinity, and Trinity
since she was ressurected by Neo. Both are meant
to die and Trinity is
simply happy for the oportunity this time to tell
Neo how she feels
about him. (But shame on the brothers for killing
off Trinity in such a
lame way. Couldn't she have at least died trying
to save the ship, not
just letting it crash!)

Neo then leaves the Logos and enters the machine
building into which it
crashed (the building is seen in the same orange
glowing
machine-vision). He is then confronted by the Deus
Ex Machina, who
knows that Neo is the only one who can stop Smith
from destroying the
Matrix, but still shows hatred toward Neo (due to
the fact that he is
mostly human). After a show of force, the Deus Ex
Machina agrees to
peace with the humans in exchange for Neo's
promise to destroy Smith.
This causes the sentinels to halt their attack on
the Zion temple, the
last holdout of the remaining humans (the dock and
city have already
been destroyed).

The machines then jack Neo into the Matrix, since
he has not yet
masterred the ability to do so wirelessly (this
theme of Neo having to
learn to use his new abilities runs throughout the
trilogy). Neo then
confronts Smith, who says he has seen the future,
and that he (the one
particular Smith) is the one that defeats Neo. The
other Smiths (all of
the other people in the Matrix have now been taken
over by him)
therefore only watch as the fight begins.

After a brutal battle Neo is near defeat, but
continues to fight. When
asked why he does so, Neo responds "Because I
choose to.", echoing the
theme in M2 that "Everything begins with choice."
(the only way humans
achieve true freedom). But even though he delivers
a stunning punch to
Smith which sends him through the ground, Neo is
eventually defeated.
Before Smith takes him over he pauses, however,
realizing that he has
seen this very moment in his visions, and he
already knows what he is
going to say. "Everything that has a beginning has
an end..." he
mutters confusedly. This causes Neo to realize
that the Oracle still
exists somewhere inside of Smith, and that she is
partially able to
control his thoughts. Taking his cue from the
Oracle, Neo freely gives
himself to Smith.

Thus Neo is defeated, and Smith's original
purpose, to defeat The One
(which he is never really expected to achieve,
which leads to his bad
temperment) is accomplished. Smith therefore no
longer has a purpose
and must be deleted. But since programs marked for
deletion must return
to the source, how is Smith to be deleted? Simple,
the machines send
the command through Neo, into Smith, using a burst
of energy. This
causes all of the Smith clones, and the original
Smith, to be deleted,
leaving the original inhabitants of the bodies he
has taken over (this
is a basic function of the agent programs, that
they leave their hosts
as they found them, with death being the only
exception).

This then completes another revolution in the
Matrix cycle, as The One
has reached the Source and has reinserted the
prime program (Neo's
program, his knowledge and experiences). The
Matrix is then reloaded
back to it's initial state, the late 20th century.

The Oracle then meets with Sati, Seraph, and the
Architect in a park
outside the city as the sun rises over it. The
Architect tells her that
she was playing a "very risky game", and she asks
him if he will honor
the promise of peace. He says that he will, since
he is not human
(meaning humans do not keep their promises, an
insult). This means that
those people who unconsciously become aware of the
Matrix and choose to
leave will be freed, and those living in Zion will
not be killed. The
war between man and machine is over, or at least
suspended.

Looking upon the sunrise the Oracle asks Sati if
that was her doing,
and the girl responds that she did it for Neo
(made the sun rise).
Apparently Neo's experience with love, which was
uploaded from him to
the Source, caused the machines to show pity on
Sati and give her a
purpose instead of deleting her. She is now in
control of the sun. Sati
also asks the Oracle if they will ever see Neo
again, and the Oracle
replies that they might, indicating that the The
One program will be
used again in the future, as it had been for the
previous six
iterations of the Matrix. M3 therefore ends where
M1 began, except that
now the humans who become aware of the Matrix will
be freed (a decent
compromise if you ask me).

19-06-2004, 06:46 PM
little big one wrote:
So, Neo comes along and offers to help the source. IN exchange for peace. NEo realizes the war has to end, one way or another. So what does Neo do that the source can't do. By allowing himself to be taken over by smith, he gives a link for the source to analyze the "smith code" and thereby find a solution to destroy him. This is because Neo is connected to the mainframe of the source at the time. Now knowing smiths weakness, the source is able not only to identify the smiths but to also, clean the code to reveal the initial program.

Erm... want to ask ya... how do u know all this stuff? i'm kinda interested... hehe...

My friends and i kinda discussed about the meaning of the ending. Ok, this is our theory, but it might not be true.

Ok, Agent Smith had become a negative of Neo. So, to destroy Smith, Neo must die too. So that it cancels out each other. Haha.. simple? But then again, it might be wrong.. :)

19-06-2004, 09:30 PM
neh.. i think the whole theory is so susah to predict and faham... physics is easier to understand than matrix... hehe

i focus more on the fighting and kungfu.. hehe