View Full Version : Racism and how to deal with it

CyberJaya
19-05-2004, 10:53 PM
Has anyone experienced racism in the States or abroad. Have you been mistaken for being someone else? How do you deal with being made to feel inferior? Today, somebody called me a word i'd rather not describe. I stared back at him. Is there something else you would have done it that situation?

20-05-2004, 12:51 AM
I would ^(*&@<hidden>&* &(*& )(*&@<hidden>&(& and the screw his &)(*#&()*&# and then (&#)(%*(()))+++__()!@<hidden>+)(#_*%)*&)(#)*^@<hidden>)*^$)* his mom.

widagdo
20-05-2004, 01:01 AM
Like wat? "You ASIAN!"? or ...

20-05-2004, 01:39 AM
What they call you? Yello skin?

CyberJaya
20-05-2004, 02:40 AM
They called me wog.

20-05-2004, 02:49 AM
what's that? short for gollywog?

20-05-2004, 02:50 AM
a dark-skinned foreigner; especially : one from the Middle East or Far East

20-05-2004, 02:55 AM
please learned to ignore them.

not only in the states or the mat salleh lands ok,even in malaysia these things happened.

never for once put your head down becoz of some stupid jerks.

CyberJaya
20-05-2004, 05:15 AM
ha ha

20-05-2004, 07:00 AM
i think that if it's a case of just name calling, then your strongest action is to walk away. But if they get rough with you, then by all means take it to the authorities.

Where are you studying to have such ignorant people?

20-05-2004, 10:21 AM
Chinese envy Malays and vice-versa

Indians and others being trampled by Chinese and Malays.

What racial integration? Where can?

I gave up on the idea a long time ago.

But the easiet way to start, is start with yourself.
Ass Live (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/anal-sex/)

20-05-2004, 05:23 PM
yeah, i agree...like in college or univ, try to make friends w everyone, regardless of them being chinese, kadazan, or indian..it doesnt matter. if you're the type who befriends everyone, then it'll come as a natural thing to you when you go to places where it's even more diversisfied.

theT
21-05-2004, 03:33 AM
i feel so bad when people came to me and speak in spanish. i feel bad for me and those people. Do i need to put a label that I'm asian. They also get embarassed when they found out that I'm an Asian. Some of them would ask me why I don't look chinese. For god sake Asia is more than just China and Japan.

Sometimes my friends love to make racism and asian jokes. i couldn't careless about it. Malaysian like to make racism jokes too. As long as it's just a joke, I have no problem.

21-05-2004, 10:05 AM
i feel so bad when people came to me and speak in spanish. i feel bad for me and those people. Do i need to put a label that I'm asian. They also get embarassed when they found out that I'm an Asian. Some of them would ask me why I don't look chinese. For god sake Asia is more than just China and Japan.

Sometimes my friends love to make racism and asian jokes. i couldn't careless about it. Malaysian like to make racism jokes too. As long as it's just a joke, I have no problem.

well, i guess racism just won't vanish as long as there are human beings. no problem with just some jokes, a lot of people keep making fun of blonde as well (is that considered to be some kind of racism as well?)

yeah totally agree. for those european, american, african or whatever race that is, asian means Chinese, Japanese and Korean. A good example will be the asia library in my uni. Although it is so called The Asia Library, they only have chinese, japanese and korean books without single copy of indian, indonesian or malay book at all.

21-05-2004, 11:51 AM
i guess they should rename it then LOL

22-05-2004, 01:00 PM
what do u think the foreigners in malaysia feel when we called them "guai low" or "mat salleh" ? i wonder how they feel.....

22-05-2004, 02:22 PM
what do u think the foreigners in malaysia feel when we called them "guai low" or "mat salleh" ? i wonder how they feel.....

?? Mat salleh? I think we should be more concerned about the Indonesians and the bangladeshi first since Malaysian have daily encounters with these Foreign-Immigrants.

23-05-2004, 03:17 AM
they don't give a shit, as long as msia remains cheap and they get paid a lot.

23-05-2004, 04:27 AM

sweeping statement based on race==racism

23-05-2004, 05:09 AM

sweeping statement based on race==racism
then you missed the point.

how many malaysians in malaysia come into contact with caucasians on a regular basis?

even if they do, do malaysians actually call caucasians "guai lou" or "mat salleh" to their faces in racist overtones?

malaysians in general are still extremely class conscious. (before i'm accused of being an anti-malaysian racist, i said "in general.") within their own circle, they may call caucasians all manner of names (not always disparagingly, i would add), but ultimately, caucasians in malaysia have the money, and are here because malaysia offers business opportunities that benefit themselves.

in malaysia, foreign domestic workers and laborers belong to the lowest of classes. they have no money and almost no legal rights to speak of. malaysians encounter this group on a regular basis, and this is where class consciousness rears its ugly head. ordinary malaysians have power over these people, and in extreme cases, you see it manifested in the horrendous abuse of that indonesian maid.

all i'm saying is, we are doing the real victims of racism a huge disservice if we equate their suffering to instances of rich caucasians being called "guai lou" and "mat salleh" behind their backs.

23-05-2004, 11:16 AM
come on man.... why bring up the maid case? that is bcause the lady is crazy... not bcos of racism....If it was at the first place, she wont be employing her right? Besides, those Indonesians and Bangladeshis caused a lot of trouble as well, bringing up the number of crime cases esp rapes and murder.....did u take this into consideration?

anyway, we dont call them names right? we usually called them indon or bangla...based on their countries... but as for the westerners, we called them guai low or mat salleh.....do they take this as an insult? Or they just dont bother about it?

23-05-2004, 11:18 AM
in malaysia, foreign domestic workers and laborers belong to the lowest of classes. they have no money and almost no legal rights to speak of. malaysians encounter this group on a regular basis, and this is where class consciousness rears its ugly head. ordinary malaysians have power over these people, and in extreme cases, you see it manifested in the horrendous abuse of that indonesian maid.

wei...dun play play ar....some bangladeshis are quite rich ler... they always buy branded stuffs...

23-05-2004, 08:58 PM
wei...dun play play ar....some bangladeshis are quite rich ler... they always buy branded stuffs...

How do you define rich? Hmm... There's this place called Chow Kit road. maybe they get their stuffs from there?

I think majority of foreign domestic laborers are rather poor, but then they don't mind it, coz when they get back to their hometown, they are like rich people liao.

24-05-2004, 08:45 AM
before we started on those foreigners,let's start talking about us, the malaysian,a shy and polite society...(yeah right!!)

it's like anak dirumah dibiarkan kelaparan,kera dihutan boleh disusukan kind of scenario when we placed huge details on the foreigners and not in those who have helped to build our nation.

let's start with the word : mamak,keling.

how many malaysians prefer addressing the indian and the indian muslim with these deragatory words?

we say kedai mamak becoz our thick tongues have difficulties bending and saying kedai india muslim or india instead.

what happens next,we make fun of them or any of them even in our national television.one great example is the stupid sitcom:senario where in one of the show the character made fun of someone with the name iskandar and linked it to nasi kandar and then said,"urgh mamak...mamak..tak malu".

isn't it stupid when one's race has been linked and placed at the bottom of our current social class.and mind me,have you noticed how many indian muslims prefer to blackened malay as their race in forms albeit having their dads as indians.how dumb is that!!

maybe they are trying to run away from malaysians' tongues that never learn to respect others,this lead to a genocide of a race!!!!!!!!one race is fading away from this planet becoz we malaysians never learn to shut up!!

so shut up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

even the stupid PAS and keadialan supporters kept ridiculling DR. M becoz his dad was an indian muslim and kept bashing him as mamak,keling.fuck them.these people never learned the teori kedatangan islam.so they are stupid.

what about us the malaysian?we r still making fun of the indian muslims and the indians.we r still making fun of their skin tones.we r still making them synonym with greediness and dirtiness.

pls lah.before you say no,you are not a racialist.think 10 times.becoz 99% of malaysians make racial remarks just for a mere guffaw.

24-05-2004, 01:39 PM
let's start with the word : mamak

I never know calling them mamaks is being racist. I mean, i have some Indian muslims friends who identified themselves as mamaks. So, calling them mamaks is a norm to me and my other friends.

24-05-2004, 02:22 PM
Elansar,

The term Mamak brings different meanings in different places.

In penang where there's probably more Mamak then Malays or atleast the Malays are somewhat less racist towards Mamak it became a term to call anybody. Like Mamak Roti, Mamak Nasi Kandar, Mamak Rojak, Mamak Nasi Lemak.

In penang to call an Indian-Hindu, or an Indian-Muslim a 'Hindu' would be regarded as a racial slur. Calling them Mamak won't.

In penang i call all chinese Apek. All indians Mamak and all Malays Pakcik.

All three words means Uncle or the elder. Myself is closely linked with an Indian background on my Father side i never found it to be an insult being called Mamak. As far as i know a lot of Malaysian chicks, be it chinese, Malay or indian love Mamaks. :D so what else can a mamak ask for?

I have a picture in recom gallery you can check my face and decide how mamak-ish i look like :D

OK before i turn this thread into a mamak-lovefest. I'll define what Mamak is to Malaysians.

Mamak is an Indian or half-Indian and also a Muslim. Their skin color is generally brown but it could be pitch black or Pale white as well. Knows at least 10 words in Telegu or Hindi(urdu) or Malayalam. Although the new generation of Mamak don't find the need to learn any of their language as important as English or Malay they do somehow no a little.

Mamak also have few sub-groups. Some Mamaks are pure 100% indians and some only have 2/8th of Indian in them.

Calling a Mamak looking person a Mamak is ofcourse wrong and racist. If someone called me a Mamak when they don't even know me i would considere it as a racist thing to say, because calling anybody based on their race is simply racist, simple as that.

Anyway Mamak rules :D Oh by the way Anak Mami is just a better term for Mamak which i found to be very very insulting :D

Its 2 AM so sorry about the spelling, grammar. Feel free to correct it.

25-05-2004, 02:12 AM
3rd,saw ur pic....another malay dude trying hard to posing maut.

Calling a Mamak looking person a Mamak is ofcourse wrong and racist. If someone called me a Mamak when they don't even know me i would considere it as a racist thing to say, because calling anybody based on their race is simply racist, simple as that.

agree.i hope recom ppl learn something from this.

owh yeah,bear with me for this week.having mood swings.and mind my dirty words.

25-05-2004, 02:35 AM
Dude im not a malay seriously the picture is lying! In real life most people think either i'm a Pakistani or an indian and if im in Malaysia i would be India, bangla or a Sikh. I don't think anybody would think i'm a Malay.

25-05-2004, 03:15 AM
is using "mamak" in the context of "kedai mamak" racist? i always thought "mamak" was like "serani" in place of "portuguese eurasian"...

if it's racist then this article (http://www.thingsasian.com/goto_article/article.1348.html) is racist too?

of course, i agree that addressing someone by their race, like "oi, cina!" or "oi, melayu!" is plain rude (and racist).

but is "mamak" itself a derogatory word for "indian-muslim"??

pardon my ignorance...

25-05-2004, 03:19 AM
maybe ur face is too big in that pic that lead to a genetically undetermined facade..should post other pictures.
:o

ur sideburn+jambang is weird.where you learn this style?wahahahahahahahahaha.

25-05-2004, 03:21 AM

yeasssssssssss,absolutely.this is what i have been living to tell others.

why is it a deragatory word,dont ppl laugh when someone is accused to be a mamak?

25-05-2004, 03:37 AM
As far as i know a lot of Malaysian chicks, be it chinese, Malay or indian love Mamaks. :D so what else can a mamak ask for?

I have a picture in recom gallery you can check my face and decide how mamak-ish i look like :D

OK before i turn this thread into a mamak-lovefest. I'll define what Mamak is to Malaysians.

hmmm. hmmm. gotta... stop... replying... gotta... argh... noo... must... not... make... a... remark... argh....

=)

25-05-2004, 03:51 AM

yeasssssssssss,absolutely.this is what i have been living to tell others.

why is it a deragatory word,dont ppl laugh when someone is accused to be a mamak?
umm...personally, i don't "accuse" people of being mamak, nor do i laugh at the word mamak. never been around ppl who do that either...i just thought "mamak" is a less formal word for india-muslim. i guess i just wasn't exposed to the racist side of using the word.

i don't think it's "absolutely" derogatory. depends on the context, right?

thirdshifter's explanation shed some light on this. i missed it the first time.

25-05-2004, 06:20 AM
glad there is someone who dont used the word mamak,keling for the sake of debunking a race.

but ironically enough,not all malaysian are like that.

mind me,you want to know about the story of an indian muslim man who was forced to run around MRSM taiping with his underwear just becoz he's not a malay.about teachers who will called anyone mamak and the rest of ppl at the perhimpunan will break into laughter.

about the girl with straight 10a1s who ignored her indian descent so that nobody called her as anak mami.about so many brainy indian muslims who chooses to be said malays becoz they hate the word mamak tagging them along till their last breathe.

about how certain politicians out of dirty words used the word keling,mamak to impale anyone who went against them.

about a 11 year old boy who refused to nod when the teachers asked: awak india muslim?

about young indian muslims who dont know even to speak tamil,or hindi becoz they are too malaynized.afraid if they are not malaynized enough,they'll be ridiculed.

being forced to wear baju melayu and songkok to the friday prayers when they are not malays in the 1st place.

ppl from the other side of world ignore this becoz they dont experince this.will we understand the pain of the niggers if not becoz the niggers went to fight for it.now we address them as black and african,right?becoz nigger maybe just a word,but how much it must hurt them that they refrained to be called that way.

a year ago,the indian muslims youth has asked DBP to removed the word keling from the dictionary...how the public reacted?
they said,there's no used for it.so is it ok if we started to make proverbs based on certain races and make the race synonym with ill manners?

i think the word mamak is a deragatory word.be in their shoes and you'll get what i mean.

amid this,there's no point of speaking out.who cares to satisfy the demand of the minorities.

do this,type the word mamak,keling at the search engine and you'll get what i meant.

and pls,the next time you wanna address an indian muslim,used the word indian muslim instead.

25-05-2004, 12:15 PM
Phantom,

I have no idea where your basing your claims upon but if your in Malaysia this june i invite you to my Kampung.

There's a lot of Mamak and Malay and it never had been an issue.

Everyone calls my Step-grandfather Mamak-Brahim. It was never taken as an insult.

Ofcourse they are people who use mamak in a different manner but that is just pure racism. I've hearn Malays refering Chinese as Bangkai. It depends how it is used.

Like nigger, If you were to use it in a friendly manner they don't mind it.

I don't prefer calling anybody based on their race but if i was to decribe my granfather i would ofcourse say The tall guy, Has a Mamak face.

Well, like i said it before the Term Mamak could bring a lot of meanings.

I know that in KL 'Keling' means Pariah. So people don't use it.

In Penang Keling means Mamak from India. So we have Mamak Penang which are local Mamaks. And Keling which just got of the boat.

Anyway. Don't call anybody Mamak loosely. But to all you recoms people i say yeah call me mamak i'l ltake it as a friendly gesture.

After all, Mamaks, Rulling Malaysia by proxies :D

25-05-2004, 02:00 PM
mind me,you want to know about the story of an indian muslim man who was forced to run around MRSM taiping with his underwear just becoz he's not a malay.about teachers who will called anyone mamak and the rest of ppl at the perhimpunan will break into laughter.

seriously? i was in this school, but nvr knew bout it. are you sure it's true, or it's just a story? but mi goreng mamak near the Store, taiping is SO sedap :wink:

25-05-2004, 08:59 PM
Hmmm.... Phantom, i didn't realize the word mamak is sensitive to ya or to others. Hmm... i'll try to refrain myself from using that. But what will u call Mamak stalls instead? Indian Muslim stalls? Don't have the oohm in it.

25-05-2004, 10:07 PM
seriously? i was in this school, but nvr knew bout it. are you sure it's true, or it's just a story? but mi goreng mamak near the Store, taiping is SO sedap :wink:

There are TWO the Store in Taiping. So which one are you talking about? Next time you come Taiping I take you to eat Ais Kacang and Leng Chee Kang (guarantee halal).

Side note:

One day, I was telling my friend, "How come these Kwai Low soo stupid wan ah? Lying down on wet wet winter grass during high noon?"

So the Italian girl on our table asked, "What is Kwai Low?"

I said, "White Devil".

She said, "That's kinda racist isn't it?"

I said, "well... we don't mean it in a racist sense"

She said, "But that's still racist isn't it? Vafanccullo!"

I said, "well... yeah... Cheese Bun!"
Peak Towers Condominium Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

26-05-2004, 02:02 PM
haha..the store, near BSN tu...ice kacang, besh dkt bomba..haha..zmn sekolah..

Anyway, next time, cannot say, "hey, let's go to Mamak" laa like this? coz it's a sensitive word.

I think most of us take it for granted, the usage of such words, coz we use it every day, and mean it in a friendly way.

28-05-2004, 11:00 AM
No ler. I'll say, depends on how each individual takes it. i mean, i'll still continue calling my friends mamak ("my mamak friends") coz it sounds awkward with "my indian muslim friends". But then, if one despises being called that way, well, we should refrain from addressing the word to him/her. I've just read an article from the Star recently, and they used the word "mamak" just like any other norm words like malays, chinese, blah blah. So it's not totally a big deal to most people, i guess.

The_Observer
28-05-2004, 05:11 PM
Acknowledgement about racial superiority without discrimination!!

Something I would like to hear but of course would be very VERY politically incorrect...

Actually, why bother about such things? God created 1 man and 1 woman. They make kids and their kids make kids, and so on...
All humans are of the same brethren.
Too bad, some ppl dun share that sentiment...

Randomphantom
28-05-2004, 05:58 PM
Really didn't know that 'mamak' is an derogatory insult. Really, what do we call the mamak stalls then?

In the meantime, what do chinese think of being labelled as chinks/chinaman/banana?

No need to be overtly sensitive and politicaly correct if the intention is not malice.

28-05-2004, 09:43 PM
Really didn't know that 'mamak' is an derogatory insult. Really, what do we call the mamak stalls then?

Seriously, I'm very sure most of us don't mean to insult when we say mamak as in 'mamak stall'. I call every elder Malay guy 'pakcik' and their Chinese counterparts 'uncle'. It's a friendly way to identify people in a multicultural society if you ask me. I guess most of us use 'mamak' in a similar way without any hidden meanings. One thing I'd like to know - do all Indian-Muslims take the word 'mamak' as a derogatory term?

In the meantime, what do chinese think of being labelled as chinks/chinaman/banana?

No one's ever labelled me a chink or chinaman before, but I'm called banana all the time. From my point of view, the Chinese in Malaysia will not be too friendly with another Chinese person if he/she is deemed not 'Chinese' enough. I used to get concerned about being called banana and tried to improve on my 'Chinese' image and stuff, but after a while, I realized it just wasn't me, so I happily live with the banana tag now. If anyone questions me on not being Chinese enough or what race I belong to, I just tell them I belong to the human race. Settles everything.

30-05-2004, 10:09 PM
How banana I am, I'm trying hard to debanana myself. Not that I'm not proud to be one, but i find it easier to communicate with more people if you know extra language, and Mandarin is one of them. In fact, most conversations among my CHinese counterparts are in mandarin. So, if you can't beat them, join them!

30-05-2004, 10:39 PM
wad abt other terms?
like 'la kia' in hokkien...

CyberJaya
02-06-2004, 06:12 AM
I was watching a video called "Noble House" a while back. It is a drama based in Hong Kong. Written and produced by the bbc. I was suprised that half way through it. Four finger woo tells his son that hes murdered somebody and he should proclaim his innocence to a foreign deviil judge.

02-06-2004, 02:10 PM
What's that got to do with racism?

02-06-2004, 06:15 PM
Here are some interesting articles from Malaysiakini. The theme is the same: Discriminatory university entrance exams encourage racial polarisation.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/200406020037025.php
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/200406020037026.php
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/200406020037027.php
http://www.malaysiakini.com/opinionsfeatures/200406020041682.php
http://www.malaysiakini.com/columns/200406020131111.php

Cheers!
The Cliff Condominiums Cosy Beach (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

calibre2001
04-06-2004, 11:24 PM
This thread is strange. Discussing about racism while unknowingly propagating racist language at the same time is seriously racist!! If this were a USA forum, ReCom.org would be immediately taken offline.

Malaysians have a really different outlook on racism. We treat it as a normal part of life and expect it to be tolerated. To the eyes of the west, we would be deemed insensitive bigots for explicitly labelling blacks as 'niggers' and chinese as 'chinks'. And let's not forget 'mamak' too.

06-06-2004, 03:14 AM
Hmm.. i'll say it depends on how a society views it. If Chinese don't have problems being labelled chinks (are u sure we got that name?), indian muslims being called mamaks, then i dun think it's an issue.

06-06-2004, 12:29 PM
This thread is strange. Discussing about racism while unknowingly propagating racist language at the same time is seriously racist!! If this were a USA forum, ReCom.org would be immediately taken offline.

they can't shut us down. this is a free society. to hold a racist view is a personal right. nobody could prosecute anybody for holding an opinion.

only in malaysia (and possibly some other countries, like China and Iran) could the govt shut opinionated people down.

retroque
06-06-2004, 01:14 PM
If Chinese don't have problems being labelled chinks (are u sure we got that name?), indian muslims being called mamaks, then i dun think it's an issue.

now wait a minute.chinese being labelled chinks?huh??since when??

06-06-2004, 11:06 PM
now wait a minute.chinese being labelled chinks?huh??since when??

Malaysians have a really different outlook on racism. We treat it as a normal part of life and expect it to be tolerated. To the eyes of the west, we would be deemed insensitive bigots for explicitly labelling blacks as 'niggers' and chinese as 'chinks'. And let's not forget 'mamak' too.

Ask him...

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 04:07 PM
posted

CyberJaya
14-06-2004, 04:17 PM
I think non malaysians dont always have the best interests of the malaysian nation at heart.

20-06-2004, 04:08 PM
all the mat sallehs are trouble makers . They try divide and rule tactics in Malaysia. Try to separate. All Malaysians are asian and one in my opinion. Thats the only way forward. Sometimes you just feel like you want to gain revenge on Mat sallehs for all the trouble they cause. But still you have to be adult. I have a problem with a couple of mat sallehs at the moment. It might go away in time but doubtless it will soon.

Hello, i believe what separates Malaysians now is the earth and non-earth status in Malaysia...

20-06-2004, 04:10 PM
What do you mean by that elansar?

20-06-2004, 04:25 PM
What do you mean by that elansar?

Uhmm... Perhaps u guys are not aware enough about Malaysia's policy, but isn't it obvious that the culprit behind all this racial disintegration in Malaysia is due to inequality treatment? I dun want to bring this up again, coz this has been discussed in previous threads... check them out, PJKru, they are either in Window to the World or Malaysia Today. :wink:

CyberJaya
20-06-2004, 04:41 PM
Hi elansar. Non Malaysians dont always have our best interests at heart. I understand your issues. But still i've corrected my previous post do you think you could do same. I was in a fit of rage that day when an westerner told me something about my race that made me very upset. I couldnt express my anger in any other way apart from posting a post about him. I treat people equally and judge them according to their actions. Sometimes things can go heywire but you have to understand that their are sometimes pressures from living in a society such as where i am that can get to you, especially if you're non white. I have nothing against anybody and you're right that there is something that needs to be done in malaysian society to encourage more mixing of peoples. I think that malaysia is a delecate balance and the views and rights of all must be attended to.

20-06-2004, 05:22 PM
I think this post should be locked. It causes a lot of upset.

CyberJaya
20-06-2004, 06:59 PM
Elansar, I'm in the same boat as you. I wasnt born in Malaysia and i dont have any of the privaleges that exist. I dont have a scholorship or anything. I have a loan and that needs to be payed back. Still when i graduate and gain experience abroad i'll expect to work over there one day and hopefully enjoy a fruitful and happy life. Its not such a bad place.

21-06-2004, 02:55 PM
Ok, maybe i was a little harsh on u, cyberjaya... maybe u were emotional when u posted ur post... nvm, let's forget this issue since it has been discussed in other threads.

and PJKru, if someone gets upset because of an issue, it's best if we try to work it out and solve the problem instead of locking the thread just to avoid other problems, unless there's an E-nuclear war in Recom...

21-06-2004, 06:34 PM
I think this post should be locked. It causes a lot of upset.

Anyone second that suggestion?
This issue of racism is actually a sensitive issue....
This is the problem not only faced by us, but also people from all around the world.

22-06-2004, 07:00 PM
No Pandaboy, i dun think so... this topic is supposed to talk about how to deal with racism... sorry that we got off track...

PS. What's so fun about locking threads?

Randomphantom
23-06-2004, 01:45 AM
Racism exists everywhere - realise that some people are just insecure and feel a need to put down others and their opinions do not matter. But sometimes it does matter i.e. when it comes down to jobs, privileges, friends and what can you do other then take it as one of life's lessons.

23-06-2004, 07:24 AM
my class consist of 50-60 students. i'm the only chinese in the class . now tell me how to deal with racism.

24-06-2004, 11:46 AM
Hmm... the question is does racism occur in your class, despite being the only chinese in your class? If there's none, then i guess it should be ok kua..

24-06-2004, 09:11 PM
my class consist of 50-60 students. i'm the only chinese in the class . now tell me how to deal with racism.

hmmm.....why dont u mingle nicely with them,...i'm pretty sure now you may feel left out but eventually,as time flows by,you'll love your current classroom...sure it will be hard..but then again, some ppl might change their minds.

some of the malays,indians are very very friendly .i dont know about ur school but the malays and indians who come overseas are really great.having a blast with them.

sure,ppl will go back to their roots,but like i say...after some months they get so used with you that your present in their lifes means alot.

owh yeah,just be you.but then again,be a better you with no ill-feelings towards any race.

25-06-2004, 04:54 AM
if I have not mistaken, chinese people are called TOK PEK in east coast of malaysia...

what?s the meaning of TOK PEK?

why some people call chinese ah pek?

xobscuresecrets
23-08-2004, 08:17 AM
well in the states, when you say asian, people automatically think, "chinese, japanese, korean, vietnamese, filipino, and etc." i don't know. it's just like that. anyway, i really, REALLY hate racism. i mean, who doesn't? usually, here in the u.s., it's mostly the hispanics and blacks who go against us.

i can't figure out why they hate us so much. what have we ever really done to them? i kind of get the discrimination against people from around the middle east and all, because of the 9/11 thing, but not everyone in an ethnicity, or heritage is exactly like that one person. it's hard to explain, but do you people get it?

xobscuresecrets
23-08-2004, 08:20 AM
if I have not mistaken, chinese people are called TOK PEK in east coast of malaysia...

what?s the meaning of TOK PEK?

why some people call chinese ah pek?

i don't know, but have you ever heard people call chinese "chinks?" because they do that in united states. some chinese even call themselves that... but it's suppose to be a diss.

debbie
23-08-2004, 09:49 AM
Racists are lame. I know it's rude but I mean it. Downright lame. I've never experienced a white racist but I have experienced many M'sian racists.Though it was not me who was on the receiving end, i felt really bad . My friend, D, enrolled into a ballet class around here.The whole bunch of other students who were M'sian girls, thought she was white mix M'sian and so they were all very nice & friendly.. even fighting 4 her attention. When she told them she was counted as an Indian, they all kept their distance. It was very hurting especially when she's always left out from their chats and all. I can be passed of as anything... black, white, Hebrew, Chinese, Indian...even Malay(according to a certain teacher)! So I don't experience any social discomforts directly.^_^ except when I go out, with my hair let down.. it's really funny. Ppl come up asking about my race . Once at KLCC, a Malay lady asked my friend if I was a black mix white. Lucky me... but on occasion, I do experience racism.. only when i'm around lame-ohs.
What we can do about racism is stand up against it. Like when you see some one being shunned cos of his or her race, be the life-saver. It does work. An Indian girl at a party being left out of the flow cos she's the only different one and being talked about, to boot.... I just go up and say "Hi, I'm Debbie. It's pretty boring here." You'll be surprised how others will soon join in cos you are there. If you dont do something about it, no one else will. Of course , occasionally, you'll be met by a blank stare or a 'go-away' look..but tht's okay.. It's a kind gesture which will somehow or other contribute to harmony. And of course, plz don't use weird names on others to indicate their race...*laughs* it's mean..
So stop complaining. If you are shunned or put down cos of your race, juz walk away...the person is LAME. If you see someone in a racism rut, save him/her. Make a difference.

23-08-2004, 12:13 PM
Everyone always "pandang tinggi" (wat we call this in english? Look up high?) the foreigners. Asians and others are always looked down upon. Why there is such discrimination? Wonder if this perception can be changed in future....

23-08-2004, 07:00 PM
West is best... what a blasphemy! anyway, u know why ppl always crowd around ang mohs? because they are rare here, u know... i've encountered lots of ppl, especially Chinese who, after having ang moh friends, they tend to pick up their accent, and feel more superior than their peers... it's like they have just owned a B?sendorfer Imperial grand piano or a Porsche Carrera GT... aiyoh... friend only what... so what? Don't have to behave like a foreigner in ur own land ...

gatecrasher
24-08-2004, 02:02 AM
not just ang moh friends but half-angmohs and foreign-born malaysians are worshipped too!
hearing someone crow "my friend's mum is from such-n-such a place" and referring to a foreign-born or half-angmoh friend as "my london (or whatever) friend" as if the friend doesn't have a name is just as irritating as hearing a fake accent.

24-08-2004, 11:01 PM
approximately 2 months in the class (50 -60) malays that 1....

fortunately racism did not happen to be in my class...SOME r friendly n nice. but still there a few who never mingle with me.

but things r not the same in my friend's class who have the similiar situation. he was once kena ejek betul betul by the malays when results was not good. sad thing to heard of......

anyway , wat is ang moh????

24-08-2004, 11:30 PM
I believe that as we are pointing our fingers out to ask whether there is any racism around, do we reflect upon our ownself. Often, it may be subcouscious, but we have done, may be construed by others as racist too.

Hence, I would encourage everyone to think, reflect upon our own behavior as well. To think of others being racist to you, do you think that you portray some behavior that makes others do so to you? Is it because you are showing off? Is it because you do think racistly? etc etc...

Just a thought for all of us to reflect.... Keep the discussions going~!

gatecrasher
25-08-2004, 06:43 PM
8O 8O 8O
you don't know what is ang moh?! are you malaysian? :wink:
ang moh is mat salleh la... assuming you know what's mat salleh :wink:
now pls don't get mad at me...

25-08-2004, 10:50 PM
Hence, I would encourage everyone to think, reflect upon our own behavior as well. To think of others being racist to you, do you think that you portray some behavior that makes others do so to you? Is it because you are showing off? Is it because you do think racistly? etc etc...

Just a thought for all of us to reflect.... Keep the discussions going~!

haha :wink: okay....i admit .... i am a racist..... kill me!! for every time
i judge a group of ppl negatively because of their skin color even though i would not do the same thing if they were my friends,
i take pride in some virtues associated with my race,
i keep quiet when i hear ppl criticising another race,
i prefer the company of ppl of the same race,

i humbly apologize.

i grew up listening to some ppl of my own race grumbling and giving racist views. being a little bit ashamed,all i did was keep quiet. it was not until i hear the same views from ppl of other races did i feel the sting and hurt. OUCH ....haha ... now i realize the futility of it all.

01-09-2004, 12:54 PM
Ok, I really got to share this with you guys... Just attended a seminar about diversity from a guest speaker in my Uni.... She's awesome... Everyone just loves her VERY much... she was like, do you know how awful it is to be called black? because black is used in a less pleasant context. well, name me a few words with the word BLACK in it... BLACKmail? BLACK magic? BLACK sheep? BLACKlist? Black is a negative word... and for white? we have WHITE lie, because it's OK to lie if it has a good intention, WHITE collar, because it's considered as a higher social class job, and WHITE symbolized PURITY... so, being white is wite (right, for those who can't pronounce the R in US). WTF!

well, she says the best solution is to be color blind... treat everyone as individual, instead of clomping them together in some color categories... That is then only how we can start accepting differences. we dun identify one another through their epidemic layers, but their souls... i dunno how much u guys get her point, but it really enlightens me. i really hope that you guys were there in her lecture... she's like one of the most awesome and yet sacarstically hilarious speaker ever...

calibre2001
11-09-2004, 01:18 AM
8O 8O 8O
you don't know what is ang moh?! are you malaysian? :wink:
ang moh is mat salleh la... assuming you know what's mat salleh :wink:
now pls don't get mad at me...

'Ang moh' is the hokkien term for 'Mat Salleh'. Literally its 'red hair'. Not all Malaysians know that term unless they are exposed to Hokkien and possibly a Hokkien speaking environment. In KL, 'gwai lo' is still commonly used...

calibre2001
11-09-2004, 01:23 AM
I reckon among the local chinese population, the term 'chink' is merely treated as a joke or a form of sarcasm. Perhaps terms like "Ah Beng', 'Ah Lian', 'Ah Pek', 'Ah Moy', 'Cheena' might strike a chord? Naa..I don't think so. None of them are as powerful as 'n*gger'.

26-06-2006, 06:13 PM
PJKru is Cyberjaya as revealed.

if you are not on recom for more than one year, you wont notice it

he told us that he wish to change his nickname from cyberjaya ti PJKru

PJKru, now your actions backfire
we now know you are kinda "cunning" behind you old nickname :)

26-06-2006, 06:28 PM
I reckon among the local chinese population, the term 'chink' is merely treated as a joke or a form of sarcasm. Perhaps terms like "Ah Beng', 'Ah Lian', 'Ah Pek', 'Ah Moy', 'Cheena' might strike a chord? Naa..I don't think so. None of them are as powerful as 'n*gger'.

nah... the only one that works is Bangkai. Anyways i agree with chenchow..

Instead of pointing fingers lets reflect.

I remember listening to a song on MTV.. "everyone is just a little bit racist"

byzhanii_bogn
28-06-2006, 01:50 PM
ta... agreed...

CyberJaya
28-06-2006, 03:51 PM
I dont hate mat salleh there are good and bad ones.

28-06-2006, 04:22 PM
I dont hate mat salleh there are good and bad ones.

you are too fundy

byzhanii_bogn
28-06-2006, 07:09 PM
i lurv mat salleh, i hate muslims and malays. makes me a great shit racist aint i? :twisted: okie, i am a mahathir fan, die hard fan! :twisted: no lar, it depends also lar, got good and bad one also ma... i hate foochow! i hate typical CINA! i hate sounthern indian! i hate me! i hate you! i hate everybody!

i love everybody. :wink:

28-06-2006, 09:02 PM
i lurv mat salleh, i hate muslims and malays. makes me a great shit racist aint i? :twisted: okie, i am a mahathir fan, die hard fan! :twisted: no lar, it depends also lar, got good and bad one also ma... i hate foochow! i hate typical CINA! i hate sounthern indian! i hate me! i hate you! i hate everybody!

you got influence from the violence thread?
or from some of the nasty m@<hidden> here ? :D

kevinkent
28-06-2006, 09:12 PM

Eh???
very contradicting leh.....
Isn't Mahathir a muslim and keturunan melayu??

Hooiyoo, iQing, long time no see, the advert again nar??

byzhanii_bogn
29-06-2006, 02:01 PM

you got influence from the violence thread?
or from some of the nasty m@<hidden> here ? :D

just trying to say i'm a tad racist person. there.

30-06-2006, 01:51 PM
Judging someone from their epidermic layer. . . Who doesn't :? As long as we don't get overboard, i guess that's fine. . . :roll:

Anyway when we are here in Malaysia, we may group ourselves into malay, chinese or indians. But once we fly overseas together i believe we would naturally group ourselves as Malaysians. Subsequently fight, defend, and live in the name of our bolehland. . .

Again i may be wrong.

I have so many things to prove. Can't wait to fly to US and broaden my perspective. :lol:

kevinkent
30-06-2006, 03:18 PM
IMHO, no matter how, any plans or actions taken by the concern parties, it has no ending. Some improvement? Yes. But to eliminate all those racism thoughts...... hardly can be done!...Well, human....
never prefect one..... I think that includes me...hehe... :lol:

Like Seiryu mentioned, if it is not over the boarder, it is fine....

When come to international frontier, no doubt that all Malaysians will reunite just to gv support for our country.....

MB!!!!