View Full Version : Matrikulasi
MEW_MEW
22-05-2004, 11:07 PM
In this topic ,let us discuss about matrikulasi.
My friend who is doing matrikulasi told me that nowadays private colleges and universities do not accept matrikulasi students except for local Universities.
those lecturer in matrikulasi are teaching in malay language even the note is writting in english. Also, they always scold the students who are speaking in english.My friend told me that one day a malay student who speaks in english,then the lecture said:"i thought our school got student from foreign country, who knows that he just a KL boy." something like that.
gohweihan
23-05-2004, 12:50 AM
In this topic ,let us discuss about matrikulasi.
My friend who is doing matrikulasi told me that nowadays private colleges and universities do not accept matrikulasi students except for local Universities.
those lecturer in matrikulasi are teaching in malay language even the note is writting in english. Also, they always scold the students who are speaking in english.My friend told me that one day a malay student who speaks in english,then the lecture said:"i thought our school got student from foreign country, who knows that he just a KL boy." something like that.
I would say matriculation is a goverment ploy to get more Bumiputeras into public universities. It doesn't matter whether private colleges or universities accept these matriculation graduates - what matters is that the public universities do, because with that, it is enough to churn out a large number of Bumiputera graduates. Quality wise, these graduates are to be in doubt.
With the recent opening of matriculation to non-Bumiputeras, it is just another ploy to stop the public from saying that matriculation is exclusive to Bumiputeras. Even if one percent of the matriculation students are non-Bumiputeras, it is no longer valid to say that matriculation is exclusive to Bumiputeras.
Besides that, the selection criteria for non-Bumiputeras are made in a way so that to project that Bumiputeras are smart. Matriculation places for non-Bumiputeras are given to those who did not get excellent results, whereas those with excellent results are denied the chance to get a place. By doing so, they can ensure that those non-Bumiputeras in matriculation will perform on par (or below par) with those Bumiputeras in the course.
Previously, matriculation students were pitted against the other Bumiputeras when it comes to university placement under the racial quota system. With the abolishment of that system, matriculation students are pitted head on with STPM students, with the STPM grading system modified in a way to make it match the matriculation CGPA system. However, everyone knows these modifications put STPM students at a losing end. This is just another conspiracy to get the same amount of (if not more) Bumiputera students in public universities.
Matriculation is a false reality. It is said that matriculation is as good in terms of quality and knowledge level as STPM. What many found is that STPM students are far superior (when it comes to knowledge) compared to matriculation students of the same CGPA. A person who gets a 4.00 in STPM (4 A) is indeed smarter than most matriculation students who get the same CGPA. That is a fact that the government and some still continue to deny.
Matriculation is also said to be recognized worldwide, and therefore STPM is upgraded to the matriculation grading system to ensure a fair meritocracy to university. However, looking at the reality today, foreign unversities like UC Berkeley, National University of Singapore, and Nanyang Technological University does not even want to consider Malaysian matriculation candidates for entry into the university, yet recognizing STPM as an entry qualification.
The government has mentioned a few universities that recognize Malaysian matriculation. Hoever, since these universities also recognize STPM, and since there are also instances where universities recognize STPM but not matriculation, how can we say that matriculation is of STPM standard (or in the government's claim, STPM is of matriculation standard)? Is this not proof that STPM is a level higher than that of matriculation?
Besides, STPM is said to be one of the most difficult exams in the world, in the same league with exams like the Cambridge A-Levels. So if matriculation is claimed to be of that standard, why doesn't most foreign universities that recognize A-Levels also recognize matriculation, since STPM is of that same league?
The questions remain, yet there is only one truth - matriculation is a dream that is nothing but that. It is a government conspiracy and deliberate ploy to bring in more Bumiputeras to the public universities, and to make Bumiputeras look smart, although at times they aren't.
I'm typing this based on observations made during my STPM years and this observation is shared by many STPM students, some who were my classmates, and some who are from places not in the town of Taiping or the state of Perak. Therefore, for those who wish to flak all this, go ahead, but understand that the fault of all this are not because of the students of the matriculation, but because of the government's implementation of the matriculation system.
kevinkhoo1986
07-06-2004, 02:33 PM
i am going to agree with gohweihan, i scored straight 10A1 but not eligible for matriculation program. More than 20 people in my school score more than 8As and above did not get the matriculation program(all chinese). And our school just one person get the matriculation program, she scored only 7a, 4a1 and 3 a2. Wondered how they selected it??? I heard a lot of rumours said that the matriculation will choose the best bumi students while they will choose average non-bumi students so that the bumi will look smarter. But i am still proud of non-bumi because they consists of 37% of the top students from matriculation last year.
Well there are three non-bumis from my school got it. Two of them going to science stream while the other accounting stream. For the science stream, one of them got 11A1 while the other 10A1, 1A2. The one that got accepted into accounting stream only obtained 6A1, 2A2. I think the one in kevinkhoo1986 school that got matriculation is now studying in accounting stream. The requirements for the accounting stream are much lower than science stream if i am not mistaken.
07-06-2004, 07:22 PM
Matriculation doesn't help Malaysia in producing high quality international force labor. In fact, those ppl who graduated from Matriculation will perhaps be able to find jobs in regions in Malaysia. It's nothing international, compared to STPM.
Icant deny tt the matri is established especially 4 bumi fren.i got 9a1 but oso failed to get (anyway i dont intend to enter it n waste the place if i m chosen).it is oso the same fate to of my 10As fren.anyway,any matric student can explain bit bout their life n study ?
sorry 4 my offensive word.
08-06-2004, 08:30 PM
Frankly, I would say that matriculations would provide a more all-round education. I believe that a much higher percentage of students there are involved in activities, mainly due to the fact that it is residential schools. So, a lot of those learning outside of classroom actually happens. You learn as you play with others in the sports hall. You study together, you go through activities together.
The same goes to university. If you want to just learn everything from textbook/notes in school, go to e-learning and learn it all. You can learn from the lecture notes from many of the top unis in the world, be it MIT, Harvard etc... It is the all-round learning and interaction that matter. Those lecture notes are all free of charge available to any internet user, you don't even need to register to use....
08-06-2004, 10:33 PM
Still doesn't justify the discriminatory practices surrounding the selection of non-bumi students.
Reminder: Hishammudin Tun Hussien announced that matrics would no longer be available to non-bumi students.
Such discriminatory practices are against the national constituition.
Article 153 (8A) - 1980
Notwithstanding anything in this Constitution, where in any University, College and other educational institution providing education after Malaysian Certificate of Education or its equivalent, the number of places offered by the authority responsible for the management of the University, College or such educational institution to candidates for any course of study is less than the number of candidates qualified for such places, it shall be lawful for the Yang di-Pertuan Agong by virtue of this Article to give such directions to the authority as may be required to ensure the reservation of such proportion of such places for Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak as the Yank di-Pertuan Agong may deem reasonable, and the authority shall duly comply with the directions.
On the other hand, matrics practices dubious methods of student selection, coupled with the impending ban on non-bumi students, which is against Article 8 of Fed Const.
Article 8
All persons are equal before the law and entitled to the equal protection of the law.
Except as expressly authorized by this Constitution, there shall be no discrimination against citizens on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law relating to the acquisition, holding or disposition of property or the establishing or carrying on of any trade, business, profession, vocation or employment.
By the time BN realises the contradiction in the Fed Const, they would amend it and misled_youth would have nothing to grumble about.
Cermelang, Gemilang dan Terbilang, indeed!
I am a bumi and I entered matrix before I joined Atu5. and sit the 1st seme xam too. what i can tell about matrix?
yup, more than half come from SBP/MRSM........
we have three sem back then, rasa nyer now mcm dah reduce to 2 sem...not sure....but it is one year course.....jimat masa sket....our classes start as early as 8 or 9 am till 5 or 6 pm....an hour break for lunch/brunch/minum ptg....differ ikut your class....i can say u spend about about 6 hours a day go to kuliah/tutorial/lab.....
besides core subject, math,bio,chem,physic (for pure sc stream) you also take BM, one elective (penampilan diri /club), english, agama.......
I can say that matrix is much more easier than STPM or IPTA matrix (before the new gov-rule matrix was introduced).......sbb tulaa UM ada pusat asasi sendiri.......tp skrg pusat asasi UM guna sillibus yg sama dgn matrix gov....
easier sbb we cover less than STPm..most of the time students are using STPM as our buku rujukan....math is just a few additional stuff from Add math SPM :)......
soklan exam selalu nyer hampir sebijik2 dlm buku teks matrix (yup kitorg wajib beli buku teks)......kalo tak sama....just twist sket2.....I know because we usually hafal bulat2 from the text book.....lab counts for about 10-15% of your final grade......
lecturer semua muda2.......because spm/stpm teachers dont want to be matrix lecturer..leceh.........
penanda matrix exam papers are stpm teachers from all over the country....my aunt is one of them......they all meet in one place for a week or so and begin marking.....
it think stpm is much more better.....or let the U conduct their own pre-U......
09-06-2004, 06:54 AM
misled_youth, in fact, Hishammuddin didn't say non-bumi would not be allowed to enter matrics, but what he was saying is that the quota of 10% would stay and it won't be completely open. I posted the link to the news report after I went through a number of newspaper. I guess one newspaper made the quoted the minister out of context.
Thanks oxm8 for the introduction of matrix. It gives a better understanding of how the program is.
abc123
11-06-2004, 09:35 PM
Hmm.. Just found out about this topic.. Let me share my 1-month experience in matric.. Starting this year, the matriculation students are learning their subjects totally in English.. The lecturers are also forced to teach in English by the government.. & they're really strict about it..
The syllabus.. is just like STPM syllabus (that's why they can used the STPM revision books).. But, they will only study all those things in 1 year time.. Maybe, that's why the matriculation exam are more easy than STPM (cause they only have 1 year to cover up everything)..
About the selection of Non-Bumis into matriculation.. From what I know, they only choose excellent Non-Bumis who live in luar bandar . Lots of Non-Bumis in the matriculation college that I entered score straight As. & some of them also went out from it like me cause they got the JPA scholarship.
Instead of the core subjects, they will also learn Dinamika Kemahiran, Asas IT, Kokurikulum (Kelab/sukan/wajadiri), Pend. Islam/ Moral.
12-06-2004, 01:54 AM
misled_youth, in fact, Hishammuddin didn't say non-bumi would not be allowed to enter matrics, but what he was saying is that the quota of 10% would stay and it won't be completely open. I posted the link to the news report after I went through a number of newspaper. I guess one newspaper made the quoted the minister out of context.
Thanks oxm8 for the introduction of matrix. It gives a better understanding of how the program is.
ermm... what do you mean by not completely open?
12-06-2004, 04:54 AM
what meant by not completely open, it means the 10% quota for non-bumiputera will stay. This is to counter the argument by misled_youth that non-bumiputera would not be allowed to enter matrics anymore.
The_Observer
12-06-2004, 01:01 PM
I guess oxm8's post summarises our discontent with the matriculation system.
<The_Observer mutters: "...pathetic...">
Our education policy laid down from the 50s and through the 'racially' turbulent 60s are fundamentally flawed and now we are suffering its consequences.
Quantity over quality?
People say quantity is a quality of its own. Somehow I just don't see any quality in that...
I can still remember the time when I was dicussing my future plans with my father when I was in Form 4. I quote, "I am giving you a freehand in choosing your course. I will support you fully. Just make sure you don't enter a local university".
12-06-2004, 04:31 PM
Observer, u are lucky that your parents are rich. If i did not get ASEAN/JPA scholarship, i will certainly end up in Form 6, and then local unis coz my parents can't afford private college/uni. Not all ppl have the same privillege like u... Form 6 are usually their 2nd resort, after scholarships.
Daniel
12-06-2004, 06:34 PM
Ya.. just like me have to end up in STPM because i didnt get JPA scholarship. Sob sob...
gohweihan
12-06-2004, 06:52 PM
Ya.. just like me have to end up in STPM because i didnt get JPA scholarship. Sob sob...
Look on the bright side. If you work hard and get a bunch of As in STPM, you could go apply to enter a university in Singapore and obtain a scholarship there. It's still overseas (although it's just across the Tebrau Straits, and people going to Unimas or UMS would still go further than you).
jay86
17-06-2004, 09:01 PM
i was a student in matrikulasi last month ( i appealed and was accepted for 2nd intake)....i quitted matriks coz i got JPA scholarship,...so i would like to give my opinion bout studying matriculation.
Basically all the facilities available in matriculation College are 100 % better than in Form Six..in my college the library is fully equipped with lotz of foreign books (20+Campbell Bio book that can be borrowed), air conditioned and it is definitely a condusive place for u to do ur own revision...secondly is bout the science laboratory..each studdent is provided one new microscope..when i first came to my college..i was stunned by its facilities.,previously in Form six ,we dun even have a proper classroom ( we either use makmal or bengkel KH as our classroom!) plus the large number of students in one class.
Then i started to think that it is totally unfair coz while most of the bumis enjoy themselves studying easier things in such a good environment ,.we non-bumis have to suffer in form 6!!!..
However , there is one major drawback of studying matriculation...the lecturers there are really lousy! compare to my tuition teacher back in form six, the lecturers really sucks..Not only do they cannot speak good english, they teach every single thing step by step, esp for math, juz imagined they repeat the whole syllabus of quadratic equation and logarithm! i can really sleep during my math lecture or else do binomial theorem topic which i have learnt in F6 tuition...
now bout my bio lecturer,it seems like she din teach anything at all..it is merely copying endless notes during her period.
Then bout my chemistry lecturer ..she said "bila saya cakap ini extra penting , maksudnya ini pasti keluar dlm ujian. u all jangan buat saya marah, kalau saya tak suka u,u jangan harap dpt markah tinggi)..wahlauuu!!i was totally shock....
u know i really feel relief that i have finally quit matriculation...thanks god....
btw..i heard that there are quite a number of chinese matrikulasi students who got 4.00 got into UM for medicine..
kevinkhoo1986
26-06-2004, 02:19 PM
I don't even appeal for the second intake. It is because i think that STPM is more well-regconised by the world and challeging. Apart from this, i can apply for overseas universities like NUS who does not accept matriculation with STPM certificate. There are still plenty of universities in overseas who does not regconised Matriculation to be on par with STPM. I have quite a number of friends who prefered to continue in Form 6 eventhough they have been accepted into matriculation. What is even weird is the selection process for the matriculation course. All of my friends who are non-bumi who get the matriculation scored only 6a to 7a. In the contrary, those who scored pretty well in spm with 8 a1 to 10a1 were not eligible for matriculation. Well some of them do get it after appealing for the second intake. Hmm.... strange :roll:
kevinkhoo1986
26-06-2004, 02:31 PM
i was a student in matrikulasi last month ( i appealed and was accepted for 2nd intake)....i quitted matriks coz i got JPA scholarship,...so i would like to give my opinion bout studying matriculation.
Basically all the facilities available in matriculation College are 100 % better than in Form Six..in my college the library is fully equipped with lotz of foreign books (20+Campbell Bio book that can be borrowed), air conditioned and it is definitely a condusive place for u to do ur own revision...secondly is bout the science laboratory..each studdent is provided one new microscope..when i first came to my college..i was stunned by its facilities.,previously in Form six ,we dun even have a proper classroom ( we either use makmal or bengkel KH as our classroom!) plus the large number of students in one class.
Then i started to think that it is totally unfair coz while most of the bumis enjoy themselves studying easier things in such a good environment ,.we non-bumis have to suffer in form 6!!!..
However , there is one major drawback of studying matriculation...the lecturers there are really lousy! compare to my tuition teacher back in form six, the lecturers really sucks..Not only do they cannot speak good english, they teach every single thing step by step, esp for math, juz imagined they repeat the whole syllabus of quadratic equation and logarithm! i can really sleep during my math lecture or else do binomial theorem topic which i have learnt in F6 tuition...
now bout my bio lecturer,it seems like she din teach anything at all..it is merely copying endless notes during her period.
Then bout my chemistry lecturer ..she said "bila saya cakap ini extra penting , maksudnya ini pasti keluar dlm ujian. u all jangan buat saya marah, kalau saya tak suka u,u jangan harap dpt markah tinggi)..wahlauuu!!i was totally shock....
u know i really feel relief that i have finally quit matriculation...thanks god....
btw..i heard that there are quite a number of chinese matrikulasi students who got 4.00 got into UM for medicine..
The same thing happened with my physics teacher(Malay teacher) who could not speak proper english and have to end up using Malay language most of the time. The first day when she entered our class and tought us how to solve the dimension problems, she already did a lot of mistake on the calculation not only after a student mentioned about it. It is merely copying endless notes from our physics teachers too. And i must tell you that this teacher can't even write the correct words eventhough she is just copying the notes. "Repeat written as Repead", "Systematic written as systemetic", "Parallax written as paralaks" which is a malay word. Not to mention the grammar mistakes that she have written. I am thinking of taking physics tuition class next month. Luckily my Chemistry teacher (Puan Khor) and Math T teacher (Encik Lee) are very good. If not i am going to take a lot of tuition class.
26-06-2004, 05:20 PM
Kevin Khoo, i would say that you should just go and talk to the teacher. It is not easy for the teacher to learn in one language and teach in one language. To illustrate that, try experiment teaching what you have learned in English in BM or Mandarin or any other language, and see the effects.
Often people comment on others' teachings... I did that before, but after I myself have taught for 2 semesters here, one semester of Chemistry and one semester of Calculus 2, I realized that it takes hard work before I teach and I only teach 2 hours a week... You need to prepare the material, really understand it etc... Not easy... Good experience though...
kevinkhoo1986
26-06-2004, 06:10 PM
But my chemistry and Math T teachers did not have the problems. They can speak and teach very well in english. By the way, you are teaching right now?
26-06-2004, 06:51 PM
Kevin Khoo, i would say that you should just go and talk to the teacher.
Frankly, I would say this is something that requires a lot of thinking before going ahead with. If she's the sensitive kind of teacher, she might not take your comments constructively, but instead label you as insolent and such. If this happens, well good luck to you for the rest of your Form 6 because you'll need lots of it.
I face an almost similar situation to you, even though my teachers can speak English fluently. In fact, I believe many F6 students can relate to your situation. So what do I do? I fall back on books and exercises. Only if you really don't understand then you should ask her. Alternatively, go for tuition classes!
Often people comment on others' teachings... I did that before, but after I myself have taught for 2 semesters here, one semester of Chemistry and one semester of Calculus 2, I realized that it takes hard work before I teach and I only teach 2 hours a week... You need to prepare the material, really understand it etc... Not easy... Good experience though...
But what if the teachers don't have the dedication that you have, Chenchow? I have reason to believe that some teachers don't actually go through the trouble of preparing and understanding the material before teaching. My physics teacher should be one of them. He comes in every lesson and virtually reads the book to us without explaining a thing.
The_Observer
26-06-2004, 08:24 PM
I guess I am lucky...
But what I think my father is trying to say is...that we should not fuss about the entrance exams to universities which are already in the crapper...but this issue is best left to other threads about the reputation of local uni.s
26-06-2004, 08:59 PM
y the standard of the local lecturers (maybe some part only) is so low n they r so lousy where else they r masters degree holders ???
i rejected matrix......didnt even appear on the registering day........ok lar,even though it is more easy enter uni,but our choices are actually narrower
Randomphantom
27-06-2004, 10:18 AM
If you say lecturers with masters should know how to teach, you're mistaken- Masters don't teach you how to teach, most of it teaches you how to do independent study. Want someone good at teaching, get those diploma in education types - now these are taught how to teach. Since they earn such a measly income there isn't much motivation for the good lecturers to stay either.
Daniel
03-07-2004, 04:41 PM
Is there any scholarship to pursue studies in overseas provided for the students in Local U??
wild_card_my
03-07-2004, 05:57 PM
Is there any scholarship to pursue studies in overseas provided for the students in Local U??
Yes there are few. The sponsors usually require you to complete at least your Diploma, you can apply to further your studies up to the Masters level.
Better yet if you have obtained Degree and/or Masters. They will sponsor you up to the Phd level.
Some sponsors may ask you to pay them back in full after you have completed your studies. This one is called full loan, they won't sponsor you annything this way. An extension to this is if you do well and achieve great results, they may waive your loan and it turns into a scholarship.
Another method is by working for them for a couple of years. As for MARA, you will have to work for them for 4 years (overseas masters) or 5 years (overseas Degree and PHD).
Sponsors: Sime Darby, MARA, JPA, etc. Check around, you'll find more. But most of them do not offer full scholarship, either loan or you work for them.
Hipe that helps
Daniel
03-07-2004, 06:16 PM
It seems like most of the scholarship are for the Bumiputra students. Does the the non-bumiputra stand a chance for it?
18-04-2008, 01:55 PM
Outdated. Thread Closed -> Use the current year's thread for relevant and up-to-date information.