View Full Version : The Future of Sarawak

30-12-2008, 03:58 AM
As a Sarawakian, I am particularly concerned with the direction that our state is headed right now. As all of you have heard...

Western Digital Sarawak facility up for sale (http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/24/business/2883610&sec=business)

And...

After Western Digital, Timber Companies Expected To Lay Off Thousands More In Sarawak (http://www.bintulu.org/news/2008/12/21/western-digital-timber-companies-expected-lay-thousands-sarawak.php)

Then again, we do have SCORE (http://www.sarawakscore.com.my/), which I think will end up like all the corridors we have in our homeland, empty. I give it 2-3 more years.

I have noticed that every one I know in Kuching has left Kuching for work elsewhere, leaving their families behind. Those who stayed behind are either medical doctors, students, or teachers. Something is wrong with the development of industries in Kuching. Are there any industries that can survive in Kuching? The last time I was home (3 years ago), I noticed that although the infrastructure has improved, and there are a lot more coffeeshops, there are almost no new high tech industries at home. Everything is either related to timber, oil, aluminium, pepper or palm oil.

I find this daunting because I see potential in Kuching to develop, but puzzled as of why all the industrial development is so stagnant that people are moving out to find jobs.

30-12-2008, 09:39 AM
Errr, I think the head *you guys know which one i mentioned* is on his throne for a bit long. And Sometimes,he think his ruling-team did a lot to the overall development. Yet,i think we actually can do a lot more improvement.

Instead, he *representing the state government* built a new State Parliament which sort of spoils the overall outlook of Kuching in the town. Grrrgh,guess it costs few billions huh. I thought the old one is still usable.

Personally have no comment regarding the closing of Western Digital. Industries in Kuching need time to learn from others mistakes.

30-12-2008, 12:05 PM
46 views and no comments? Say something dammit, make your voices heard!

31-12-2008, 04:56 AM
Not surprised at that. We have lots of people moving out of Kuching to look for better opportunities, and reduce the workforce needed to make the industries work.

eve88
31-12-2008, 06:21 PM
It could also partially be because a lot of students need to move outside Sarawak for further studies (uni, etc) -- and after that its easier to continue on where they are and find jobs there, rather than return to Sarawak...

Leen
12-01-2009, 03:46 AM
Errr, I think the head *you guys know which one i mentioned* is on his throne for a bit long. And Sometimes,he think his ruling-team did a lot to the overall development. Yet,i think we actually can do a lot more improvement.

Instead, he *representing the state government* built a new State Parliament which sort of spoils the overall outlook of Kuching in the town. Grrrgh,guess it costs few billions huh. I thought the old one is still usable.

Personally have no comment regarding the closing of Western Digital. Industries in Kuching need time to learn from others mistakes.

I assume by the head, you mean Taib Mahmud and his beloved CMS ? :laugh

But even if we all know that he is in some kind of corruption charges, the people still vote for BN every single time (in fact, Sarawak is one of BN's stronghold). The only exception is of course Bandar Kuching that falls to the very outspoken Chong Chieng Jen.

16-01-2009, 03:09 PM
^ Both and all related. :P

Any idea why our state is still a BN's stronghold? Anyway,we have digressed from this topic. ^.^

17-01-2009, 07:28 AM
hrmmm...
all valid points, but what i am wondering is not about how lttle jobs there are in kch, more so about why it is so damn hard to start anything. All the industries in Kuching and sarawak were the same ones 10 years ago. We have not moved on to high tech stuff yet. It just feels like we are left behind.

17-01-2009, 07:58 AM
Nope, we are getting behind.

@<hidden>: Why is our state still a BN stronghold? I think the people don't think that there are viable opposition yet in Sarawak. And also the widely known secret regarding vote buying among the rural areas...

22-05-2009, 11:13 PM
Sarawak is still a BN stronghold because many at the outskirts especially love the government. They need rapid development and voting for BN is one of the ways out of the 'ulu-life'. Bandar Kuching on the other hand is obviously dominated by full Chinese people and hence it is no wonder that it has fallen into DAP hands.

Anyway, enough talk about Sarawak politics. Let's talk about something new about Sarawak.. Well, the previous new stuff about Sarawak is the opening of Boulevard and The Spring(about 2 years by now).. but I think these supermarkets are bigger compared to others like Everise... It is like the pride of Kuching you know.... However, it is still very small compared to Sunway Pyramid and MidValley but what the heck, it is a start.. problem is that Kuching's population is too small that such a big shopping centre will not be able to survive for too long..

One disappointment about Sarawak to me will be the cinema. What the hell? Why is there no GSC? I want THX cinema theatres!!! STAR and Riverside cineplax are so.... out-dated! Sarawak needs better cinema if they want to destroy piracy which is particularly everywhere..

zaiy
22-05-2009, 11:41 PM
- The malls are still not as big as even Berjaya Times Square!
- No highways. but i dont know if highways are necessary in Sarawak.
- No matriculation college. Kedah has 4! sheesh.
- Public transportation is so dead.
- Better museums please. Our museums havent change since I was a kid!

22-05-2009, 11:42 PM
^ this June. A new cinema in TheSpring.

Heck. Produce more kids in future,Senksiang. And make sure you come back to Sarawak in future. No hard feelings. :)

23-05-2009, 12:09 AM
^ this June. A new cinema in TheSpring.

Heck. Produce more kids in future,Senksiang. And make sure you come back to Sarawak in future. No hard feelings. :)

*Giggles* I do have a target of a girl in Sarawak.. but not from Kuching.. hee hee.... And no worries.. I'll produce as many as I can. LOL.

Despite the fact that Sarawak is still kinda 'ulu' i personally love it. Just look at Kuching, despite being a city, it still have jungles and I just love the fresh air in the morning at my former school at Jalan Pisang Barat(sometimes there's mist)
So, what do I like most about Kuching? Well, the girls(ok.. Sarawak.. nt Kch.. hehe), the food(mee pok nyum nyum.. craving for it.. Subang noodles totally suck), the chinese community(I somehow miss chinese community) and the natural surrounding.

Wow, they are opening a new cinema in The Spring? Finally! What is it? Star again or what?

- Better museums please. Our museums havent change since I was a kid!

That's why they call it a museum. LOL. ok seriously, I feel that the museums are alright-haven't been ther for quite a while now- but the lamest museum certainly has to be the cat museum. I mean... what the heck man! they particularly put everything about cats in there-yeap, including Hello Kitty- so if u come down to Sarawak, If u dont get to go cat museum,dont regret too much.. only nice part about it is that it is at the top of the hill so it has quite a nice view of Kch. Aahhh... how i love to be able to end my AS now and go back to Kch.. I miss home!!!!!

23-05-2009, 12:20 AM
And one more thing, many people, especially those from West Malaysia think that Sarawak is soooo "ulu". Damn it! They even think we Sarawakians live in the caves or jungles, think that we still wear what "ulu" clothes. =.=||| How lame it's. They think here doesn't have any rich. In fact, there are a lot! But NOT all. Some people in Sarawak even richer than West Malaysia, don't believe? Take a look. Hehe... Btw, no offence. :))

23-05-2009, 12:28 AM
LOL... My friend always say I am ulu but I hit them back with sarcasm. I said... yeah!! I am orang Ulu.. I come here sakit leher tengok bangunan tinggi but u guys come sarawak sakit leher juga sakai tengok pokok tinggi!. LOL.. then i go on saying yeah.. very ulu.. in jungle one... very fun.. i get to swing with tarzan, talk with mowgli, its so fun! and I bla bla bla.. and that cocky KL kid shuddup.. hehe.. in ur face sucker@<hidden>#$%@<hidden>!!!!!!!

angel_tnp29
23-05-2009, 01:11 AM
LOL... My friend always say I am ulu but I hit them back with sarcasm. I said... yeah!! I am orang Ulu.. I come here sakit leher tengok bangunan tinggi but u guys come sarawak sakit leher juga sakai tengok pokok tinggi!. LOL.. then i go on saying yeah.. very ulu.. in jungle one... very fun.. i get to swing with tarzan, talk with mowgli, its so fun! and I bla bla bla.. and that cocky KL kid shuddup.. hehe.. in ur face sucker@<hidden>#$%@<hidden>!!!!!!!

This one real funny lor~ Those west Malaysian keep thinking that we are so 'ulu', I think most probably because most of the time when Sarawak is showed on TV, we will see those who wear the traditional cloth one and the long house.. My eng teacher told me a story abt her nephew >> her nephew currently studying at UNIMAS, and there are a few bugau from west (pantai timur) malaysia also doing they undergraduate there. They keep complaining Sarawak is a boring state as there is no big shopping center. So my teacher's nephew asked them back whether they got shopping center or not (she knew there isn't any at her friends state), and the answer is >> no, we have to go to another state to shopping =.=

zaiy
23-05-2009, 01:37 AM
And one more thing, many people, especially those from West Malaysia think that Sarawak is soooo "ulu". Damn it! They even think we Sarawakians live in the caves or jungles, think that we still wear what "ulu" clothes. =.=||| How lame it's. They think here doesn't have any rich. In fact, there are a lot! But NOT all. Some people in Sarawak even richer than West Malaysia, don't believe? Take a look. Hehe... Btw, no offence. :))

absolutely agree with you. i study in negri for 2 years (form 4&5) and they said i'm a jungle girl. "do u live atas pokok?" . " can u see orang utan on the road?" what on earth! i feel like slapping their faces.

BLAME IT ON TOURISM ADVERTISEMENT!

oh i sound very emo lol

23-05-2009, 01:44 AM

:)):laugh:)):laugh

Good idea indeed! So, next time I go to West Malaysia, I'll shoot them back in this way too. :P Pening kepala board this LRT la...

absolutely agree with you. i study in negri for 2 years (form 4&5) and they said i'm a jungle girl. "do u live atas pokok?" . " can u see orang utan on the road?" what on earth! i feel like slapping their faces.

BLAME IT ON TOURISM ADVERTISEMENT!

oh i sound very emo lol

Lol... Calm down... :))

Let them think whatever they want. The most important thing is, our Sarawak isn't like what they say. That's not the fact!

What orang utan, pokok, rumah panjang, gua, orang ulu... Think back about it, I feel @<hidden>#$%^&*!!!

zaiy
23-05-2009, 01:54 AM

Good idea indeed! So, next time I go to West Malaysia, I'll shoot them back in this way too. :P Pening kepala board this LRT la...

Let them think whatever they want. The most important thing is, our Sarawak isn't like what they say. That's not the fact!

What orang utan, pokok, rumah panjang, gua, orang ulu... Think back about it, I feel @<hidden>#$%^&*!!!

yup. we know our state better. even my friends are amazed when i say in rumah pjg now they have astro, and longhouse made from concrete.
and to make them shut their mouths, i told them "even my friends from pedalaman speak fluent english, better than all of you!"
there you go~ dont try me.haha

26-05-2009, 05:40 PM

What orang utan, pokok, rumah panjang, gua, orang ulu... Think back about it, I feel @<hidden>#$%^&*!!!what LRT? swinging from tree to tree is so much fun, faster and more energy efficient than LRT!

and to make them shut their mouths, i told them "even my friends from pedalaman speak fluent english, better than all of you!"
there you go~ dont try me.hahaAttribute this to our autonomy =) While the students from west malaysia have been studing everything in BM since the 1970s, we only made the transition in the last 1980s. Because of this difference, there was almost no problem switching back to the English system for mathematics, and science subjects...

zaiy
27-05-2009, 01:02 AM
what LRT? swinging from tree to tree is so much fun, faster and more energy efficient than LRT!

Attribute this to our autonomy =) While the students from west malaysia have been studing everything in BM since the 1970s, we only made the transition in the last 1980s. Because of this difference, there was almost no problem switching back to the English system for mathematics, and science subjects...

haha..tarzan proved 'trees transportation system' is faster and no pollution at all!

it is true indeed. even my mum said she's more comfortable teaching science and maths in english because when she's in school, everything is in english. except BM of course.

27-05-2009, 01:29 AM
what LRT? swinging from tree to tree is so much fun, faster and more energy efficient than LRT!

Lol! :hi5

Attribute this to our autonomy =) While the students from west malaysia have been studing everything in BM since the 1970s, we only made the transition in the last 1980s. Because of this difference, there was almost no problem switching back to the English system for mathematics, and science subjects...

Yea, I don't have any problems when mathematics and science were taught in english too, whereas I learnt mathematics and science in chinese when i was in primary school. :p

Sarawakians "long live"! (wan sui) :))

zaiy
27-05-2009, 01:36 AM
wan sui means long live is it? are you a chinese?
i really wish my mum send me to a chinese primary school before so i can learn the language.
oh well..past is past

27-05-2009, 01:58 AM
wan sui means long love is it? are you a chinese?
i really wish my mum send me to a chinese primary school before so i can learn the language.
oh well..past is past

No, it's 万岁. Haha, sorry for the bad translation. Yea of course I'm chinese. Aren't you chinese too?

zaiy
27-05-2009, 02:02 AM
i'm not a chinese. haha..and i cant read those chinese characters. =(

27-05-2009, 02:22 AM
i'm not a chinese. haha..and i cant read those chinese characters. =(

Opps, sorry. I translated it already. The result is "long live", kinda weird. Haha. But I think it's something like panjang umur. Understand?

27-05-2009, 03:45 AM
haha..tarzan proved 'trees transportation system' is faster and no pollution at all!

it is true indeed. even my mum said she's more comfortable teaching science and maths in english because when she's in school, everything is in english. except BM of course.
I think i forgot to mention the fun factor of swinging from tree to tree

27-05-2009, 04:05 AM
Just realized one of the Sarawakians travel around through swinging from tree to tree. How could I imagine that... The newest Tarzan in Sarawak... :amuse

zaiy
27-05-2009, 10:51 AM
Opps, sorry. I translated it already. The result is "long live", kinda weird. Haha. But I think it's something like panjang umur. Understand?

love live! wan sui! how we use the word eh?
wan sui sarawak! can we use it like that?

oh, now i'm out of the topic. not about future of sarawak anymore. :P

eve88
27-05-2009, 01:21 PM
Don't forget the new elevators installed on our tallest trees! air-con included! =p

zaiy
27-05-2009, 01:27 PM
Don't forget the new elevators installed on our tallest trees! air-con included! =p

aik. why need air-cond? sarawak jungles is not hot.
we only need air-conNature. :laugh

27-05-2009, 04:28 PM
Ok.. another way of improving Sarawak? Maintanance is very important. I live at BDC and sometimes I go to Friendship Garden for a jog. It's really sad to see that it's not properly maintained. Some of the sculptures have all been eaten by anai-anai and the fish in the lake?? Dying due to overcrowding... i used to feed it as well but seriously.. i feel maintanance is very important. The local authorities only know how to build build build but dunno hw to jaga. And one more thing... The public toilet in Sarawak especially in Satok market is simply atrocious and a terrible place to be in. I loathe Sarawakian public toilets.. if i really have to go, i'll normally find a fast-food toilet and let it all out there. LOL... but even so, some are horrible..

28-05-2009, 02:39 AM
love live! wan sui! how we use the word eh?
wan sui sarawak! can we use it like that?

oh, now i'm out of the topic. not about future of sarawak anymore. :P

It's used for something... erm... perhaps for joyfulness. Haha, don't know la. :laugh

28-05-2009, 05:28 AM
Ok.. another way of improving Sarawak? Maintanance is very important. I live at BDC and sometimes I go to Friendship Garden for a jog. It's really sad to see that it's not properly maintained. Some of the sculptures have all been eaten by anai-anai and the fish in the lake?? Dying due to overcrowding... i used to feed it as well but seriously.. i feel maintanance is very important. The local authorities only know how to build build build but dunno hw to jaga. And one more thing... The public toilet in Sarawak especially in Satok market is simply atrocious and a terrible place to be in. I loathe Sarawakian public toilets.. if i really have to go, i'll normally find a fast-food toilet and let it all out there. LOL... but even so, some are horrible..
maintenance starts with the people. If we are not civic enough to take care of our own surroundings, we won't ever be able to maintain things properly

28-05-2009, 11:26 AM
LOL. Well, at least i know I'm doing my part.. btw, Veeshua, what's ur favourite hangout spot in Kch? WHo knws one day i can spot u on the streets.. hahaha!

28-05-2009, 04:44 PM
LOL. Well, at least i know I'm doing my part.. btw, Veeshua, what's ur favourite hangout spot in Kch? WHo knws one day i can spot u on the streets.. hahaha!
You won't spot me that easily, since I am not out often. Usually i'll eat laksa at MJC or Golden Arch during the morning or be at my buddy's place in Tabuan Dusun...

29-05-2009, 01:19 AM
Lol... Then senksiang, what about you?

Maybe we all here ever brush against each other, just don't know only. :))

29-05-2009, 03:25 PM
The only place I use to hang out is BDC Everise, STAR, Riverside Cineplax, erm... Upwell ok ok... but nwadays mostly in Boulevard and tHe Spring... toooiiiinggg... hehe.. maybe we should have a sarawakian gathering end of this year.. I vote Veeshua to be taiko!!

29-05-2009, 03:35 PM
Lol... vseehua taiko! Funny then!

Future Sarawak's "pillars"!

02-06-2009, 10:44 PM
Lol... vseehua taiko! Funny then!

Future Sarawak's "pillars"!

The only place I use to hang out is BDC Everise, STAR, Riverside Cineplax, erm... Upwell ok ok... but nwadays mostly in Boulevard and tHe Spring... toooiiiinggg... hehe.. maybe we should have a sarawakian gathering end of this year.. I vote Veeshua to be taiko!!
Waa i don't want to be see as some kind of a triad leader le. Later you'll see me in the newspapers dead instead...

Since most of you will be in Kuala Lumpur I'll meet you guys there ;) Oh, and I need a place to stay in KL :P

02-06-2009, 11:10 PM
Waa i don't want to be see as some kind of a triad leader le. Later you'll see me in the newspapers dead instead...

Since most of you will be in Kuala Lumpur I'll meet you guys there ;) Oh, and I need a place to stay in KL :P

Lol, triad leader... Three of us only? I thought still have other Sarawakians?

Are you sure I'll be Kuala Lumpur soon? Erm... I suggest you rent a tree in Kuala Lumpur, the place will be more than enough for you... :P

02-06-2009, 11:24 PM
I know... a few swkians in KL.. hehe.. but they are not recommers.. Veeshua shall lead the triad to help in 'Plant more trees' campaign hehe..

eve88
03-06-2009, 08:13 AM
eh, what? free accomodation in kl?

*thinks about it*

hmmm

03-06-2009, 01:23 PM
Kuching lah. why KL? XDXD

Looking forward to meet you guys!

03-06-2009, 04:26 PM
Lol, now increase to 5 members here... xD

Say, who should be the taiko now? *watching the battle between vseehua and Xon* :P

zaiy
03-06-2009, 04:36 PM

Say, who should be the taiko now? *watching the battle between vseehua and Xon* :P

aiya. did i miss something? what is the taiko thing all about?

03-06-2009, 06:59 PM
count me in....

03-06-2009, 10:06 PM
Lol, triad leader... Three of us only? I thought still have other Sarawakians?

Are you sure I'll be Kuala Lumpur soon? Erm... I suggest you rent a tree in Kuala Lumpur, the place will be more than enough for you... :PRent a tree? I think I'll climb to the top floor of KLCC and stay there :P love to see how staying in places other than a treetop feels like

I know... a few swkians in KL.. hehe.. but they are not recommers.. Veeshua shall lead the triad to help in 'Plant more trees' campaign hehe..yea, but I hope those ignorant KL people don't go and cut them down to make furnitures

eh, what? free accomodation in kl?

*thinks about it*

hmmmI always get free accomodation in KL whenever I go back *thanks his friends in his Buddhist group*

Kuching lah. why KL? XDXD

Looking forward to meet you guys!come over la, we go take over KL and take it as our own

vote 4 Keiko to be triad leader

03-06-2009, 10:53 PM
aiya. did i miss something? what is the taiko thing all about?

You missed a lot! Who ask you go to Negeri Sembilan? Betray us... :notrust
Haha.. :P

count me in....

Okok, now our gang expands to... erm... 7 members is it? :))

Rent a tree? I think I'll climb to the top floor of KLCC and stay there :P love to see how staying in places other than a treetop feels like

vote 4 Keiko to be triad leader

KLCC? Alang-alang go to Twin Tower as well... :notrust
No longer be triad leader... I think you're more suitable? Any objection?
All answer: No! :nod :P

12-01-2011, 01:55 PM
I see that most of us here are away from Sarawak..Would like to know if you guys and girls still follow news from Sarawak very closely?

eve88
12-01-2011, 02:16 PM
Honestly? No.

I get snatches of news from parents & friends... but I've kinda gotten sick of hearing the same (corruption) over and over again.

Haven't been back lately, either =(