View Full Version : Transforming ourselves into young intelects...

10-11-2003, 11:44 AM
Good day. I'm glad that there's young malaysians who's able to create such a great website like this... in fact I'm expecting something like that to happen.. I hope there are more young talents emerge in our country.

I hope this website can be an effective vehicle to transform ourselves into very competent + confident malaysians.... giving birth to more young intelects.

To be a great intelect, first of all we have to have mental reform. Most of our old mind frame must be spotted and eliminated so that we can think much better to have a clearer and better perspective.

One of the most effective way is to read proper books. I suggest that a virtual reading society is to be set up in this website.

Every month a bookmaster is electected and he will choose a suitable book and we will have to get the book and read it.. and we will discuss about the book and share our view about it.. (forum)

I have joined reading society and after a few months my thinking has been sharpened a lot and it really gives me confidence in life, to speak better and to write convincingly.

The books may include literature (eg The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway) , management (eg the power of design for six sigma), classical story (eg War and Peace)

That's all for my suggestion... I give u my word that by participating in reading society u will have a better perspective, and u will be able to speak, think and express yourselves effectively.

that's all for now. thanx

"think, try and triumph"

Regards,
iQing[/quote]

10-11-2003, 11:58 AM
Personal Master + Learning skill + Social skill

In my opinion, several skills above is critical for our mental transformation. I believe that, to be a smart malaysian is not just scoring high marks academically becoz by doing so only shows that u r hardworking not inteligent (I have seen lotsa stragh A students who's like a geek and kiasi in many things... dun get angry :P)

As you know, there are 8 types of intelligence which we can master. too bad our school exam, and also MENSA IQ test only test one or two types of such inteligence....

let me list out the 8 inteligence :
1. Logic - maths
2. linguistic
3. spatial
4. kinematics
5. music
7. interpersonal
8. intrapersonal

besides that there are many outher skills like speaking, socialising, observing etc.
by mastering these skills we gain personal mastery...
by doing so our capacity of learning becomes high and we are able to see more and do more things..... an important step for tranforming ourselves into intelects....

according to my experience, it's not hard to increase our inteligence and other skills...

so I would like to suggest that a special forum is to be set out to discuss about personal master and to share our learning expereince..

if possible, more information about personal mastery is to be provided in this website.

that's all for now... enjoy..

"think, try and triumph"

Regards,

10-11-2003, 12:20 PM
you left out the 6th type of intelligence .. :| ... was it a mistake or did u intentionally leave it out? i'm kinda curious ... :P

10-11-2003, 12:46 PM
the 6th one I forgot liao... sorry.... I also left our emotional inteligence, vital for personal success...
see ya..

10-11-2003, 02:38 PM
Welcome iQing and I hope that you would share with us about your experience, opinion, thoughts etc.. You have provided a very good thought sharing to all of us...

Yeah, I agree with you about reading can improve oneself and I would recommend the book by Joseph Stiglitz, Globalization and Its Discontents, it is a very good book. He was a former Senior VP and Chief Economist for World Bank and he was the guy that advised Malaysia to initiate capital control and also he suggested a modified form of capital control exactly one year after Sept 1st 1998. He has been to Malaysia many times and he is a Nobel Prize winner in 2001 or 2002..forget about it, but he is currently a faculty in Columbia University and a very distinguished economist.

When Dr. Mahathir was against IMF, there were very few behind Dr. Mahathir, esp among foreigners, but he is one of those few... I still remember about 14 months ago, when he came to Cornell to give a talk, and many people were speaking against of Malaysia especially about the capital control. Some of those who spoke against Malaysia were Cornell faculty. Being a sophomore without any economic background, I could not resist seeing others attack Malaysia, I asked a question to Joseph Stiglitz about his opinion to capital control. Little did I know that he was the guy that advised Malaysia to initiate capital control. he defended Malaysia, by saying that many of those top economists, saying that Malaysia is like a jail, which keeps money from flowing and Malaysia economy will go tumbling, but nothing of that sort happens... He cited that we had a very fast turn around from economic slowdown... I really heaved a sigh of relief seeing him support me...

But I do not ask everyone to read his book just because of that.. his book is not about Malaysia, but it has a few pages about Malaysia...u would find his unconventional thoughs very thought-provoking and stimulating...

IQing, six sigma is really worth knowing....To those who haven't read about six sigma, go and find some information and read about it.. GE, Motorola and many other top corporations owe their success partly due to six sigma...

10-11-2003, 04:14 PM
This is really a good idea.
I think we may have a coulumn for this.
Thanks for the info of those books.Will try to ask the library to purchase it ..:P not many books are in English here :cry:

12-11-2003, 12:28 PM
I think it's better to put the reading forum as another separate main community feature, as we are trying to promote the habit of reading rather than discussing something....

First of all I think it's better to have a duration of 2 months... with 2 books
in case somebody can;'t get the book or someone has already read the book, he can have the choice of reading the other book. 2 months is a longer duration where we have more time to digest the idea of the book and discuss about it more effectively...

I would like to suggest the reading society format.

I think it's better to put it in a separate Forum, only for reading activities.

After each session (2 months) the old discussions are kept in the archieve so that people can view what we have discussed... in case the wanna know which book is good to read etc.

introduction about the book is been made by the book master.

Discussions and interpretion of the book is voiced out freely.

Before we start any reading forum, I guess it's better for us to talk about our favourite books... just a warm up...

That's all for now... thanx for the reply chen chow.

"think, try and triumph"

Regards,

silverblue
12-11-2003, 12:33 PM
HHmm... I've also learnt in my Org. Behavior class that another very important intelligence is Practical Intelligence... or tacit intelligence.. the skills to get things done efficiently or effectively... :wink:

Anyway, I really do agree that a well-read society has its benefits in all aspects of personal and intellectual growth. It'd be great to have a list of interesting books that you've read and mebbe a brief summary of what it's about or how you have gained from it. However, I think it would be a little difficult to require members to read it and then come discuss about it....some of the books are not easily accessible and people might not have the time to finish reading them...

However, it would be a great idea, since you are a member of a 'reading society', to share certain quotes or interesting contents from books that have inspired you or sth like that. Then maybe this will generate more interest from people to actually go out and get the book! This column will be yours and you can be our bookmaster... hehe waddaya think? :wink:

12-11-2003, 01:40 PM
good idea everyone!!! Hope to hear more people shout out on this issue..

One more book to recommend.. I haven't read this one, but this book was recommended by one of the Vice President of a major corporation..which coincidentally i have forgotten which company, as i have been to talks by about 15 VPs and CEOs this semester..

The book is The Lexus and The Olive by Thomas L. Friedman. There is a website over here, with book excerpts, comments etc.. http://www.lexusandtheolivetree.com/

Check it out!!!

12-11-2003, 05:37 PM
yes... I agree that not many people will like the concept of reading at first but after discussion maybe more people will join in... only time will tell..

I guess I would set up a forum asking opinions on reading...

thanx for da support...

"think, try and triumph"