View Full Version : Discussion: Stpm 2009
Feni2008
03-03-2010, 11:35 PM
I think by getting all A's, getting admitted into NUS or NTU isn't a problem (Since in Malaysia there is a maximum of 331 students with 4As enrolling at the same time...) But the hard part is to get a good scholarship to go with it. :) That really got to depend on our Koko... Mine is 85, but my sports marks is rather empty... Dunno whether will they consider...:(
Mine was just 70 only...but well-rounded:P.haha...
sofiazee
04-03-2010, 12:12 AM
Congrats to all Recommers for getting good results!
I got 4As, aiming for pharmacy both local and NUS. I don't mind staying back but I want to experience life as it is! :D
Age_2_Perfection
04-03-2010, 12:15 AM
COngrats to all the wonderful people here.
4As but 1 B... haha. 4.0 still~
purplesun90
04-03-2010, 01:24 AM
seems like all the top students accumulate at recom here
however,I juz able to get 3A 1A-(consider 4As? hahaha...juz kidding)
wan to apply for local uni,NUS,NTU for certain engineering courses
hope my dreams will be come true......:)
gud luck all recomer....:)
ice111
04-03-2010, 01:44 AM
Congratz to e1 who has did well in their STPM result
I am here to share a good lubang for all the high achievers :D , i do encourage all of u to apply to Top 10 university in the world namely those Ivy League in USA , Oxbridge and Imperial College of London as there is a special scholarship offered by JPA that awards anyone who got an offer place into those university i mentioned above , u do not have to go into any interview or selection process , u will be immediately awarded the scholarship once u got a place into those university
It seems everyone is going to singapore
Anyone aiming for Imperial college london?
Annabelle88
04-03-2010, 05:59 PM
I get 3A and 1B.Do i have the chance to enter the university u mention? ice111
sugarspice
04-03-2010, 08:13 PM
Congratz to e1 who has did well in their STPM result
I am here to share a good lubang for all the high achievers :D , i do encourage all of u to apply to Top 10 university in the world namely those Ivy League in USA , Oxbridge and Imperial College of London as there is a special scholarship offered by JPA that awards anyone who got an offer place into those university i mentioned above , u do not have to go into any interview or selection process , u will be immediately awarded the scholarship once u got a place into those university
It's good if you are able to state the source of your "lubang".
llbbss8149
05-03-2010, 04:14 AM
My cgpa is 3.75 (PA B+ , Physics A, Maths T A, Chemistry A-)
Erm , for those who apply NTU may i know u all upload or post the docements?
i uploaded the document since january but i still couldnt enter the tracking page to see whether ntu has received my documents..
someone please help me thx in advance
sugarspice
05-03-2010, 07:48 AM
My cgpa is 3.75 (PA B+ , Physics A, Maths T A, Chemistry A-)
Erm , for those who apply NTU may i know u all upload or post the docements?
i uploaded the document since january but i still couldnt enter the tracking page to see whether ntu has received my documents..
someone please help me thx in advance
You may want to email the admissions. They are good, they reply real fast. :))
adele123
05-03-2010, 01:39 PM
Congrates for those who got great results..! i jz want to ask u guys whether is ther any possibilities for down grade to happen after i appeal to recheck my paper?
Again, relating personal experience and opinion, therefore, may not be true...
I made an appeal last year, to ask for re-check one of my papers... after few weeks, i got the letter... the letter said that (i summarized), there was no mistake found in my paper. Practically, nothing had happened... except some money gone to MPM... Not many ppl ask for re-check... No statistics, i think...
From my deduction... they just check whether there was any mistake in my paper. Thus, I think, if they find i still dont deserve a better grade, then it remains the same...
STPM 2008
sugarspice
05-03-2010, 01:58 PM
From my deduction... they just check whether there was any mistake in my paper. Thus, I think, if they find i still dont deserve a better grade, then it remains the same...
STPM 2008
True. They recheck your paper, but they don't remark it. They just check whether your marks have been added up correctly, nothing else.
So if you scored an 'A' in school and got an 'E' in STPM, probably there were some typing/calculating error, maybe 91 became 19, you know, these kind of stuff. If you wanna upgrade to 'A' from 'A-', don't need to waste RM50, 99% cannot.
kaiyi
05-03-2010, 04:05 PM
my teacher told us they won't pull down your grade even they found out there's mistake.only 'upgrade'
lowxuan
06-03-2010, 12:34 AM
awwww..hi guy~~~ congrats to every1 who get good result ^_^...i'm going to IDP education fair tmr...any1 going?? any1 noe wher can i find infomation about JPA Ivy League Scholarship..?? i seriously nid scholarship =_=...(i think everyone does)..
and oh ya...on the NTU-upload-supporting-document page right...for the educationa result slip...stated there "Results submitted must be certified by school principal/teacher or any gazetted officer" ....issit means that i shud scan the CERTIFIED-thus-PHOTOSTATED-copies to the computer instead of ORIGINAL copies (which mean it's not certified , obviously) ??
confused*><
llbbss8149
06-03-2010, 12:37 AM
awwww..hi guy~~~ congrats to every1 who get good result ^_^...i'm going to IDP education fair tmr...any1 going?? any1 noe wher can i find infomation about JPA Ivy League Scholarship..?? i seriously nid scholarship =_=...(i think everyone does)..
and oh ya...on the NTU-upload-supporting-document page right...for the educationa result slip...stated there "Results submitted must be certified by school principal/teacher or any gazetted officer" ....issit means that i shud scan the CERTIFIED-thus-PHOTOSTATED-copies to the computer instead of ORIGINAL copies (which mean it's not certified , obviously) ??
confused*><
photostate then go certify then scan into computer then upload
pls correct me if im wrong
lowxuan
06-03-2010, 01:11 AM
photostate then go certify then scan into computer then upload
pls correct me if im wrong
awww...means that i have to wait til next monday for schoool to certify~sad D=
ice111
06-03-2010, 01:54 AM
It's good if you are able to state the source of your "lubang".
I have a friend and a cousin successfully got this scholarship last year and now they are enjoying in Imperial College of London , i will contact them to share the lubang for u , but i can assure u it is somewhere in recom.org u just have to spend times browsing through those forum , they also got to know about it from recom (so anyone found it plz share :D)
I get 3A and 1B.Do i have the chance to enter the university u mention? ice111
Yes u do have a chance to get into those uni ; in condition u shouldnt applied those critical courses in those university eg doctor , architecture , my advise just try to apply those university (use UCAS to apply those uni ,if not mistaken the application fees is less than RM100) , uni in UK is relatively easier to get in compare to Ivy League Uni
And for those who are applying to NTU , I strongly encourage u all to come here :D especially for engineering and business courses hehehe(promoting NTU , since i am studying here)
adele123
06-03-2010, 06:11 AM
confused*><
refer to the thread on tajaan tambahan jpa - undergraduate... I got my information there... or try calling and ask... the department in-charge
Bahagian Pembangunan Modal Insan 03-88853000
I'm sponsored under jpa ivy league too...
sugarspice
06-03-2010, 07:34 AM
confused*><
I uploaded the original though.
I have a friend and a cousin successfully got this scholarship last year and now they are enjoying in Imperial College of London , i will contact them to share the lubang for u , but i can assure u it is somewhere in recom.org u just have to spend times browsing through those forum , they also got to know about it from recom (so anyone found it plz share :D)
refer to the thread on tajaan tambahan jpa - undergraduate... I got my information there... or try calling and ask... the department in-charge
Bahagian Pembangunan Modal Insan 03-88853000
I'm sponsored under jpa ivy league too...
This sponsorship has been terminated, at least, until last week. I called them up last week.
kaiyi
06-03-2010, 09:04 AM
my uncle who is a politician told me the sponsorship hasn't been terminated, just the seats become very little due to economic problem.
This sponsorship has been terminated, at least, until last week. I called them up last week.
I don think it is terminated.When I call ,they say is continued
adele123
06-03-2010, 10:54 AM
If you guys happen to call, and you guys really know what's going on... Just post it on the forum... So many people are guessing here and there... It's a pity for those who really intend to study overseas...
llbbss8149
06-03-2010, 04:29 PM
That means u uploaded the supporting documents... So, can u enter the tracking page?
Thx...
sugarspice
06-03-2010, 07:55 PM
That means u uploaded the supporting documents... So, can u enter the tracking page?
Thx...
Yup. I don't know how to enter from NTU main website though, as I actually bookmarked the tracking page the time I applied. I'm very sorry, can't help much. :(
llbbss8149
07-03-2010, 12:10 AM
To sugarspice
Application Outcome Click here (https://wis.ntu.edu.sg/pls/webexe/isr_check_adm_status.info?un=D10004566&pw=0124498149&student_type=D&skip_auth=Y) to check the progress of your application.
This option is available to you only after we have received your supporting documents and application fee.
Due to the large numbers of applications receiving, please check again closer to the date of the estimated outcome period (http://admissions.ntu.edu.sg/UndergraduateIntnlAdmissions/Pages/InternationalOthers.aspx#checkstatus) if you are still unable to access the link after we have received your supporting documents.
You should keep us informed if your mailing address or email provided is no longer valid. You will also be informed of your admissions outcome by email.
We use email as our primary means of communication. We do not always follow all email communications with a letter. Therefore, please select a reliable email provider. There may also be situations beyond our control where we may not be able to notify you due to incorrect or invalid email address or due to technical problems. It is the responsibility of the applicant to check your status online or email our office if you have not received any notification from us.
I mean this. After click "here" i cant check whether ntu has received my documents.. (https://wis.ntu.edu.sg/pls/webexe/isr_check_adm_status.info?un=D10004566&pw=0124498149&student_type=D&skip_auth=Y)
sugarspice
07-03-2010, 12:04 PM
^ I replied you in All about admission to NTU ( 2010-2011) thread (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=295104#post295104). Have a look there. :)
Alexis Ma
07-03-2010, 11:12 PM
The thing about the JPA scholarship to local private universities, no, it has not been terminated and yes, my friends and I have made the call.
Call again if it'll set your mind at rest: 03-8885 3000/4000 for the JPA people.
An interesting news article, not sure whether it's been posted: http://www.jpa.gov.my/2010/02/1433/
Titled: "PSD Should Clarify Varsity Places"
Says that for the Ivy League scholarship, only Australian National, Sydney and Melbourne universities admissions are accepted for this scholarship this year. Any other news would be appreciated.
ice111
07-03-2010, 11:17 PM
i have a gud lubang for all the scholarships seekers especially those interested to enter to SG uni , u can try google brightsparks (is the largest SG scholarship portal - specially for their JC's students in SG (equivalent to STPM) to seek for uni and scholarship
markwongsk
10-03-2010, 08:52 PM
Hey, at last ReCom is back! Thanks for Xon and team who took a lot of effort in putting it up again...
Congrats to Lowxuan, Feni2008, cfliang for getting 4As!
Also specially to Kai Yi who got RM1000 from MPM... you really rocked!
I wonder how did Donfrank do... Should be 4As also I think...
How did all the others do? Mind sharing us your joy or maybe what course or where are you going...
Firstly, congrats all! =) Who're the other Top Scorers hmmm? Kaiyi and who from Science stream?
And Johnivan that's a real achievement! I'm so motivated by what you strive to achieve despite your background. I'm gonna work all the more harder here in America to prove that STPMers ROCKZ =)
And to all, feel free to add me at markwongsk (at) hotmail (dot) com on facebook so we can get in touch xD
superman90
13-03-2010, 01:57 AM
halo,emm..to count d cgpa for co-cu izit take d SPM gpa + STPM gpa then divide by 2?
Johnivan
13-03-2010, 09:00 PM
halo,emm..to count d cgpa for co-cu izit take d SPM gpa + STPM gpa then divide by 2?
I'm not sure about you guys, but the system my school uses is this:
Form 2 marks = Form 1 + Form 2 divide by 2 = overalll form 2 marks
Form 3 = overall form 2 marks + form 3 divide by 2 = overall form 3 marks
And the list goes on till form 6...
Annabelle88
13-03-2010, 11:12 PM
My school has the same system as johnvian.
And according to my teacher .He followed the ways stated by kementerian pendidikan
Feni2008
13-03-2010, 11:44 PM
my school have this system too.
But unfortunately,it cannot apply to me.
Because I was transferred in.
So my koko mark with be just started at lower six.
That's my school system for my kind of student.>.<
Quite sad because I did well in my form 4 & form 5 koko, but it cannot use.
DonFrank
15-03-2010, 02:04 AM
Hi everyone, congrats on your excellent results. I got 2A and 2A-. Good luck to all of you :)
adele123
15-03-2010, 04:33 PM
Because I was transferred in.
So my koko mark with be just started at lower six.
That's my school system for my kind of student.>.<
Quite sad because I did well in my form 4 & form 5 koko, but it cannot use.
Hmm... That's bad. My form 6 school actually ask us to produce our co-cu activities in form 5, even though I was also like you (transferred in from another school)
lowxuan
16-03-2010, 01:48 AM
My school has the same system as johnvian.
And according to my teacher .He followed the ways stated by kementerian pendidikan
this system sux...in my school this system onli applied to those form 1 2008...
so...i joined form six at 2008..so my cocu mark counted from year 2008...
if a student is form 2,or 3,or 4,or 5 at 2008..then the mark start from that y ear lor...
so...i earn lor =x
Johnivan
18-03-2010, 10:57 PM
I think the coco marks thing solely depends on who the GPK koko is. I'm really glad to have such a great GPK koko who was all out to give us koko marks...
Hey, anyone applied for Australia? Mind sharing how you applied?
via idp fair.. last last week thr's 1 in KL.. last week thr's a small booth at KLCC(falcon edu fair).. i think thr will be agents in various edu fair under idp.. take ur results and all ur certs n documents necessary.. fotostat n verify on d spot n dey will take ur app back 2 aus and summit 2 respective uni.. u can apply on9 also but u will have 2 either mail or submit d documents urself.. which is a bit costly..
walrein_lim88
19-03-2010, 11:48 PM
congraz for ur result^^....nv know tat u r the one in中国报。。。。
did so well in further maths T.....congraz^^
Johnivan
04-04-2010, 10:55 PM
Hey people, anyone knows when is the UPU results coming out?
Feni2008
04-04-2010, 11:06 PM
Some say third week of Jun, some say early of Jun.
sofiazee
05-04-2010, 11:10 PM
Hey people, anyone knows when is the UPU results coming out?
I remember I read somewhere that it's end of June.
adele123
06-04-2010, 07:29 AM
What happened last year was, we got to know it around mid-june. The result came out kinda late, most of my friends only have around 2 weeks to prepare.
Annabelle88
07-04-2010, 02:58 PM
Normally we got around two week to prepare,rite?
All my senior say so.
So I think it wn't come out early june but late june.
Li Shan Shung
17-04-2010, 12:45 PM
Yeah, long wait. My senior said the gov are waiting for the matric students.
nittu
18-04-2010, 10:43 AM
Wait until end of june is really a long wait..
I think i even forgot ready all the formula i learn in form 6..
Its like a very long time ready didnt study although just 6 months..
Miss to continue study again..:cry
markwongsk
18-04-2010, 10:59 AM
who says you shouldn't continue studying now that STPM is over and you haven't gone into uni? Should continue reviewing form 6 material, and go more in-depth into the subjects. It pays off to be initiative, and I highly recommend you start learning without depending on teachers, that's how uni life is, anyway
nittu
18-04-2010, 12:04 PM
Yeah you are right.. thanks for the advice:).. Anyway im not doing nothing by now.. Do not mistaken me with i tel just now.. Im doing my research by now about the syllabus and things that i need to learn for the courses that i applied so that i wont feel very new and trouble in uni later..
markwongsk
19-04-2010, 03:59 AM
That's good. If you're doing engineering, I highly suggest reviewing Maths and doing some Further Maths topics.
lawteoh
19-04-2010, 04:32 AM
Engineering ---> Go learn fourier series, linear algebra, and laplace transform by yourself. :P
Also, not to forget some ODE --> non homogenous, homogenous, PDE ( 1d and 2d heat equation that involves fourier) etc etc. Enjoy.
I think I've read up on laplace transformation. It's the one by theory of relativity right?
nittu
19-04-2010, 02:41 PM
Engineering ---> Go learn fourier series, linear algebra, and laplace transform by yourself. :P
Also, not to forget some ODE --> non homogenous, homogenous, PDE ( 1d and 2d heat equation that involves fourier) etc etc. Enjoy.
Err.. Im sorry but i wish to continue my studies in pharmacy.. so i think i dont need all that right.. sorry if im wrong..
markwongsk
19-04-2010, 04:06 PM
Review your orgo, chem and bio then. You have fun with those chemicals =) I'm dying with them =(
nittu
19-04-2010, 04:14 PM
Review your orgo, chem and bio then. You have fun with those chemicals =) I'm dying with them =(
Ya.. i heard that too from most of my seniors that doing pharmacy now.. I like chemistry but when it comes to organic chemistry i feel want hang myself last time.. and i manage to get B+ anyway..:( just interested to work with chemicals.. thanks for your advice.. I'll revice more in that..
lawteoh
20-04-2010, 05:51 AM
Ya.. i heard that too from most of my seniors that doing pharmacy now.. I like chemistry but when it comes to organic chemistry i feel want hang myself last time.. and i manage to get B+ anyway..:( just interested to work with chemicals.. thanks for your advice.. I'll revice more in that..
and for organic chem, maybe you could touch on newman projections, wedge and dash form, chair form (cyclohexane), and saw horse. Learn how to interconvert between all of them by 'observing'. (actually, I have a very hard time doing that. Lol).
Then, of course, r and s configuration, fischer projections, and stereoisomers - diasteromer, enantiomers, meso compounds. Then, of course, study all the reactions and focus more on the movement of electrons during reactions. In uni, you have to rationalize the reaction, and memorization won't help you much.
Of course, this is only the surface. There is more, but then, this is quite sufficient for now I guess. :)
nittu
20-04-2010, 03:54 PM
and for organic chem, maybe you could touch on newman projections, wedge and dash form, chair form (cyclohexane), and saw horse. Learn how to interconvert between all of them by 'observing'. (actually, I have a very hard time doing that. Lol).
Then, of course, r and s configuration, fischer projections, and stereoisomers - diasteromer, enantiomers, meso compounds. Then, of course, study all the reactions and focus more on the movement of electrons during reactions. In uni, you have to rationalize the reaction, and memorization won't help you much.
Of course, this is only the surface. There is more, but then, this is quite sufficient for now I guess. :)
hmm.. ok this is quite confusing now.. of course some is very new for me and some like stereoisomers and chair form i learn in form 6 last time.. Need to go more deep then in this topics.. If you dont mind may i know if this the basic part in orgo chem that everyone need to learn in uni later?:)
lawteoh
20-04-2010, 09:15 PM
Yeah. That is only the 'basics' in organic chemistry. I think everyone who studies organic in uni have to learn that though. Btw, stereoisomers is not as easy as u think. In fact, it's very different compare to form 6.
Anyway, since u r aiming pharmacy, better read up on anatomy and physiology as well.. That would be a good way to make use of ur extra free time that u hv currently :P
nittu
21-04-2010, 02:58 PM
Yeah. That is only the 'basics' in organic chemistry. I think everyone who studies organic in uni have to learn that though. Btw, stereoisomers is not as easy as u think. In fact, it's very different compare to form 6.
Anyway, since u r aiming pharmacy, better read up on anatomy and physiology as well.. That would be a good way to make use of ur extra free time that u hv currently :P
Err.. 1 more.. sorry for the disturb.. But can i know more about boiengineering? What it is about?
lawteoh
21-04-2010, 06:46 PM
Actually, u could google it. :P
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biological_engineering
I guess everything has been stated there (in brief). And if you take this course, be prepared to learn basically 'everything' (physics, chem, maths, bio, anatomy and physiology, fluids etc).
mitsukolyn
21-04-2010, 11:01 PM
wow...lawteoh...thnks a lot for that interesting post.I'm intending to take up pharm too due to my liking towards chem and I love organic & inorganic chem...Though some of the stuff you posted a new to me,but I guess they will be interesting...Do you mind to recommend me the site to study that?? Im sorry for asking too much:(
lawteoh
22-04-2010, 01:48 AM
wow...lawteoh...thnks a lot for that interesting post.I'm intending to take up pharm too due to my liking towards chem and I love organic & inorganic chem...Though some of the stuff you posted a new to me,but I guess they will be interesting...Do you mind to recommend me the site to study that?? Im sorry for asking too much:(
Okay. Will pm you the e-book link. But please, don't distribute it to anyone or any website. Cause it's my personal mediafire storage. :)
The textbook is simplified greatly already. So, should be able to understand. :)
sofiazee
23-04-2010, 12:50 AM
Whoaa I think I've forgotten almost half of my syllabus x___O My brain seems to have lost its horse power, after 5 month+ of (so-called) freedom! >________<
lawteoh
23-04-2010, 05:47 PM
Whoaa I think I've forgotten almost half of my syllabus x___O My brain seems to have lost its horse power, after 5 month+ of (so-called) freedom! >________<
Normal.. :) In uni, in second sem, u will most likely forget ur first sem stuffs anyway.. and when u go second year, will forget 1st year stuffs. So, normal. :P
markwongsk
24-04-2010, 06:23 AM
It's not good to forget though, since most of your uni stuff builds on what you learn, except if it's your breadth sequence.
Johnivan
26-04-2010, 04:11 PM
I've disappeared from here a long time...
How's everyone? The USM MUnSyI test just passed, I took it at SMK Dato Menteri, Air Hitam. I thought I wouldn't have enough time to finish it, but who knows, I still got half an hour left... Still giggling about question 163:
Saya memilih jodoh saya. Ya/Tidak
I noticed quite a lot of empty seats, too. Maybe some of them applied for fun, or they totally forgotten about the test...
Anyone intend to be Malaysian Science lecturers? I found this interesting scholarship, called Biasiswa Khas Tenaga Akademik IPTA. Check it out:
http://www.portal.mohe.gov.my/portal/page/portal/ExtPortal/MarketSponsor/OtherMisc/Info/BKTA
Has anyone left for anywhere yet?
nittu
26-04-2010, 04:30 PM
I've disappeared from here a long time...
How's everyone? The USM MUnSyI test just passed, I took it at SMK Dato Menteri, Air Hitam. I thought I wouldn't have enough time to finish it, but who knows, I still got half an hour left... Still giggling about question 163:
Saya memilih jodoh saya. Ya/Tidak
I noticed quite a lot of empty seats, too. Maybe some of them applied for fun, or they totally forgotten about the test...
Anyone intend to be Malaysian Science lecturers? I found this interesting scholarship, called Biasiswa Khas Tenaga Akademik IPTA. Check it out:
http://www.portal.mohe.gov.my/portal/page/portal/ExtPortal/MarketSponsor/OtherMisc/Info/BKTA
Has anyone left for anywhere yet?
Just took my Munsyi test too last week..:) Same with my centre, most of them seems like not serious about the test and went out in half an hour.. So about the question 163 what was your answer finally? hehe.. just curious to know..:))
Same with me.. But after get some advice from the seniors, better to revice back everything before its too late..
Annabelle88
26-04-2010, 04:33 PM
I also take my MUnSyI test last week at the same centre.:)):))
The paper we take different?
Hahaha :)):))
mitsukolyn
28-04-2010, 10:43 PM
haha...I took Medsi at 2pm-3pm...when it comes to Munsyi, I was too sleepy that I don't even realised that I almost dozed off. Then,I realised there's one officer looking at me. Lol. REally paiseh. I noticed some questions are almost the same. Medsi almost the same as Munsyi. Lol. Wondering how they actually evaluate our marks?
Johnivan
30-04-2010, 09:58 PM
So about the question 163 what was your answer finally? hehe.. just curious to know..:))
I answered yes. Anything wrong with that? :)) I think the integrity and emotional excellence parts are very important here. Maybe firstly, they'll check whether our personality matches our course. Then only they'll look into other aspects. But I think they'll really spend some time going through everything...
nittu
02-05-2010, 11:24 AM
I answered yes. Anything wrong with that? :)) I think the integrity and emotional excellence parts are very important here. Maybe firstly, they'll check whether our personality matches our course. Then only they'll look into other aspects. But I think they'll really spend some time going through everything...
Yeah.. Im wondering how they gonna make the decision whether we are suitable or not.. Some of the questions are almost same and repeated like the leadership questions.. Hope my answers matches for the course i applied..:(
Gud Luck with university life=D
im so gonna miss tis threadT.T
Johnivan
03-08-2010, 09:45 PM
Hello people...
Just before this thread gets lock, why not we just say goodbye to each other? (In fact, some of us met each other eventually, haha...)
Let's just post something about where we are for the last time.
I'll start first:
I'm now studying in NUS, majoring in Physics and Mathematics. I hope to be a professor and go into deep researches.
All the best to all STPM 2009 ReCommers and God bless... :)
lol. Let me continue
I will be going to NTU doing Mechanical Engineering.
All the best to the other STPM 2009 candidates
Li Shan Shung
04-08-2010, 12:37 AM
My last post in this thread.
I am currently enrolled in National University of Singapore studying Life Science, specialisation Biomedical Science.
Hoping to further my education to PhD and delve into the research field.
All the best to every recomer here. May you have a great journey ahead.
I am now matriculated at the building otherwise known as house. I am majoring in floor sweeping and hope to get a PhD by the time I graduate. I'm gonna miss STPM--NOT. All the best to whoever had gone into university. Cherish your time in it. Not everyone has the chance of going into university so do make good use of it.
LLCH.... -.- Enjoy your gap year!! XD Work hard for your MIT/Caltech application!!
By the way, I am doing Engineering in the field of Electrical and Computer Systems in Monash.
You are doing double degree? I thought JPA don't allow that?
It's a single degree and I get to choose minors from a ranges of electives from year 2 onwards. :)
mitsukolyn
05-08-2010, 09:43 PM
As for me, I'm doing Food Science and Technology in NUS too...Met John few days ago and Shanshung a month ago..
crystalapple
24-08-2010, 09:26 PM
Yeah, I emailed you. My teacher didn't give us a copy of the answer key, and I was sleeping during discussion. Sorry....
I do have the Paper 1 answers though.
Hi, sorry to bother you but is it possible for you to send me the answers for the Chung Ling Pulau Pinang Trial 2009 Maths T Papaer 1 and Paper 2 answer scheme? thanks a lot...:))
all high scorers in NUS, NTU..T.T
im doing computer science & networking degree in Uni Msia Pahang..
plan 2 visit SG in this 2 weeks time.. any1 mind touring me your uni?^^
mayb wanna attend a lecture class.. ahhas
markwongsk
08-09-2010, 04:50 AM
My MUET result is horrible, unbelievable, devastating you name it. A Band 5 !!!! Retaking again of course.:cry
-_- band 5 is very good already =/ ...
Li Shan Shung
08-09-2010, 01:31 PM
-_- band 5 is very good already =/ ...
lol That was last year when it mattered a lot to my university selection. My MUET results is not that significant since now since I have gotten my IELTS results and have enrolled in NUS =)
all high scorers in NUS, NTU..T.T
im doing computer science & networking degree in Uni Msia Pahang..
plan 2 visit SG in this 2 weeks time.. any1 mind touring me your uni?^^
mayb wanna attend a lecture class.. ahhas
NUS recess week is 18th to 26th September (some might be going back to Msia). Followed by the midterms in the subsequent week. Which lecture are you interested in?
any^^
i just follow u guys into lecture hall.. ahas.. 1day study in NUS perhaps?
now im having 2 weeks holiday:))
Li Shan Shung
09-09-2010, 05:39 PM
I'm in science faculty. My current lectures are biodiversity, plant physiology, chmeistry. You might want to ask the other recomers if you would like other faculty lectures.
kaiyi
10-09-2010, 09:41 AM
I'm in science faculty. My current lectures are biodiversity, plant physiology, chmeistry. You might want to ask the other recomers if you would like other faculty lectures.
how many years is your degree? How many compulsory subjects do you have?how do you choose your major? just curious...
Li Shan Shung
10-09-2010, 05:08 PM
how many years is your degree? How many compulsory subjects do you have?how do you choose your major? just curious...
Hi, kaiyi. How's it going in ANU? What are you studying?
Bsc is a 3-degree. 4 years for honours. I'm taking life science and will be specialising in Biomedical science in my 3rd and 4th year.
There are usually 6 compulsory (core) modules every year.
My current core modules include biochem, molecular genetics, biodiversity, physiology and chem.
In NUS, we are also required to read other non-related modules like singapore studies, general education modules and modules outside our major and faculty. Also, I have to take an extra english for academic purpose module with no credits for failing QET (qualifying english test).
We have some sort of system known as CORS where we have to bid for our own modules with the points NUS allocated to us. Basically, we design our own timetable (envy those who have free days). We just declare our major/minor through the system before bidding begins. Then we ballot for tutorials and practical timeslots in the following weeks. A fish eat fish society =.=
kaiyi
11-09-2010, 10:04 AM
Hi, kaiyi. How's it going in ANU? What are you studying?
Bsc is a 3-degree. 4 years for honours. I'm taking life science and will be specialising in Biomedical science in my 3rd and 4th year.
There are usually 6 compulsory (core) modules every year.
My current core modules include biochem, molecular genetics, biodiversity, physiology and chem.
In NUS, we are also required to read other non-related modules like singapore studies, general education modules and modules outside our major and faculty. Also, I have to take an extra english for academic purpose module with no credits for failing QET (qualifying english test).
We have some sort of system known as CORS where we have to bid for our own modules with the points NUS allocated to us. Basically, we design our own timetable (envy those who have free days). We just declare our major/minor through the system before bidding begins. Then we ballot for tutorials and practical timeslots in the following weeks. A fish eat fish society =.=
Degree here also usually 3 years but i'm direct honours (have to maintain marks above 75 for science subjects) so it's 4 years. We dont have compulsory!!:)) The name of degree is depending on the subjects you choose. We have 4 subjects each sem which make up 24 credit hours. I dropped computer programming this semester, so currently only got 3 subjects: molecular biology, human biology and quantitative research method.*plan to do 5 next sem*
We have NONE non-related subject, no english class(unless you want to take essential university english). Science students usually study 18-22 hours per week, considered as EXTREMELY long hours compared with the other degrees.
P.S. our lab is so-called 3 hours or 2 hours but in the end....In the 3-hour lab the coordinator:"20 minutes later if your solution not set jz take your result!" after 2 hours the lab started. so far i havnt stay in the lab for 3 hours, longest is 2.5 hours, shortest?........40 minutes:amuse
We got lotz of free time, very few assesments , unless you take maths. But people here study quite hard, even the locals *surprised*
P.P.S It's okay for you to skip lectures as lecturers will record the lectures and put it to a site called wattle. Lecturer notes, tutorial papers and past year questions are available on that website as well.
It's almost nothing to do in Canberra except you know lots of people so you know lotz of parties. But as the accommodation on campus is not enough, I was being 'thrown out' from the on campus, hardly knew anyone and am bored in weekend... How about your uni life? My friend in NUS said he study like mad...
its okay.. any lectures will do=)
hahas.. just wanna have a look wats like at NUS.. can i follow u to any of ur lectures?
Li Shan Shung
12-09-2010, 09:30 AM
Degree here also usually 3 years but i'm direct honours (have to maintain marks above 75 for science subjects) so it's 4 years. We dont have compulsory!!:)) The name of degree is depending on the subjects you choose. We have 4 subjects each sem which make up 24 credit hours. I dropped computer programming this semester, so currently only got 3 subjects: molecular biology, human biology and quantitative research method.*plan to do 5 next sem*
We have NONE non-related subject, no english class(unless you want to take essential university english). Science students usually study 18-22 hours per week, considered as EXTREMELY long hours compared with the other degrees.
P.S. our lab is so-called 3 hours or 2 hours but in the end....In the 3-hour lab the coordinator:"20 minutes later if your solution not set jz take your result!" after 2 hours the lab started. so far i havnt stay in the lab for 3 hours, longest is 2.5 hours, shortest?........40 minutes:amuse
We got lotz of free time, very few assesments , unless you take maths. But people here study quite hard, even the locals *surprised*
P.P.S It's okay for you to skip lectures as lecturers will record the lectures and put it to a site called wattle. Lecturer notes, tutorial papers and past year questions are available on that website as well.
It's almost nothing to do in Canberra except you know lots of people so you know lotz of parties. But as the accommodation on campus is not enough, I was being 'thrown out' from the on campus, hardly knew anyone and am bored in weekend... How about your uni life? My friend in NUS said he study like mad...
The norm here is 5 modules per sem although it's possible to take more than that.
18-22 hours averages to 4 hours a day! And I have at least 6 hours worth of lessons a day but that's because I am taking a language module. My lab is 4 hours but some even exceeded the time limit by 30 minutes. In NUS, they calculate the workload in terms of modular credits (MC). Most modules are worth 4MC which is equivalent to 10 hours per week.
I have assessments, homework, tests and lab reports every week. Top it off with CCA, that's a whole mountain of workload.
Lectures are optional too but there are no webcasts or past year papers for life science modules. Probably a tactic to get students to attend lectures.
And yes. This place is like a pressure cooker. Everyone is studying like crazy that I will feel so out of place if I don't. Not to mention that there are plenty of geniuses from all over world here. So much that getting 90 marks doesn't even guarantee an A.
pay u at visit nxt break.. wahahhaha.. btw, do u noe any com science 1st year?