View Full Version : Discussion: Stpm 2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

mitsukolyn
09-01-2009, 11:18 PM
come come come!!!Welcome all 2009 STPMers...Let's kickstart our discussion for our coming STPM...Gambatte to all 2009 STPM candidates!! Let's strive our best for the 4flats...!!! Good luck in advance!!

Okay...I just wanna inform about STPM schedule...I've learnt that our MUET(Written Paper) is on the 25th April 2009,MUET(Speaking) is on 5th,6th,7th May 2009 and 11th,12th,13th May 2009...while our STPM(BIG EXAM....) falls on the 18th Nov-10Dec...sighhh...

So,let's do our best and do share information if any of you have it k....

Note to members: Do not ask for people to email their trial papers to you. People who want to share their papers should post them to sharing sites like rapidshare.com and post links to their papers instead. Asking people to send their papers to you when you are the one who wanted them is just plain lazy, and represents yourself badly among the others.
*seehua~

Silent killer
10-01-2009, 02:03 PM
Thanks 4 taking the initiative 2 start the STPM 2009 thread...
But anyway do u hv the full timetable?!

chongkeat
10-01-2009, 06:15 PM
Oh, great. First SPM, now this. Guess the game's on again.......

Man, and the MUET results are coming out. Getting nervous?

10-01-2009, 07:50 PM
anyone going to take MUET this coming May?

rach
10-01-2009, 08:22 PM
yar, moz probably will be taking if my muet band is..ahem..horrible. our teacher went thru about how to write graphs and so on..seems pretty bad since i didnt write wat was suppose to be written and the words exceed the limit. :notrust
btw..howz maths?

sugarspice
11-01-2009, 03:35 AM
Oh, great. First SPM, now this. Guess the game's on again.......

Man, and the MUET results are coming out. Getting nervous?

When issit coming out?

Its April man....

chongkeat
11-01-2009, 01:10 PM
When issit coming out?

No idea, though it's usually in late Jan or early Feb, but you know that, of course. Sorry, I don't know the exact date.

btw..howz maths?
Whoo... i got 40 for my math last year.

UNLESS my results are really, really bad, I don't think I'll take MUET again. Though, you can take it three times in total, right?

11-01-2009, 07:01 PM
Okay, now time back to serious study. Hey,shall i merge this thread with the "Lower 6 sharings 2008" thread?

BTW, Mitsukolyn and other friends ^^^, you guys got the exact date when STPM starts and ends? Not timetable of course,as timetable will only be ready somewhere August? Right?

Kah yao~

mitsukolyn
16-01-2009, 08:55 PM
Thanks 4 taking the initiative 2 start the STPM 2009 thread...
But anyway do u hv the full timetable?!

ur taking STPM this year too?? sighh...i think the schedule is not out yet..ive tried finding the mpm webbie but to no avail...so if anyone here has the schedule,pls do share it with us k...

Okay, now time back to serious study. Hey,shall i merge this thread with the "Lower 6 sharings 2008" thread?

BTW, Mitsukolyn and other friends ^^^, you guys got the exact date when STPM starts and ends? Not timetable of course,as timetable will only be ready somewhere August? Right?

Kah yao~

about the STPM date i get it from the mpm website...just google mpm.edu and click kalender peperiksaan and the date is there...the schedule im nt so sure yet...but my teacher said it should be out d...but i cant find it anywer in mpm...loll...if any of u have it,pls share k...

im taking MUET this April/May....who else??do share the relative topics being discussed by ur teachers o...my muet teacher sucks...lol...imagine last year we've only done one essay..and no speaking was done at all..****....sigghhhh

Li Shan Shung
16-01-2009, 09:11 PM

My MUET result is horrible, unbelievable, devastating you name it. A Band 5 !!!! Retaking again of course.:cry

yanagii
17-01-2009, 02:56 PM
Is anyone interested in setting up a small discussion group over the Internet to practise speaking? We can use software like Teamspeak or Skype..I know its a dumb idea but the problem is none of my friends speak english in normal conversations and I believe there are recomers who face the same problem...This could be a good way to improve everyone's speaking fluency..pray that streamyx doesnt mess with us. hahaha

lawteoh
18-01-2009, 09:56 PM
My MUET result is horrible, unbelievable, devastating you name it. A Band 5 !!!! Retaking again of course.:cry

what marks did u got for it?

Johnivan
24-01-2009, 10:09 PM
Wow, i didn't know that band 5 is considered bad...
I plan to take MUET in April too, and if i get band 5, i won't decide to retake anymore...

I have some tips for Writing, question 1:

The essay must have:
1. an Overview (O) - "The graph shows..."
2. an Overall Trend (OT) - an overall description of the visual: going up, down...
3. Key Features (KF) - must state ALL the items involved. If there's a comparison on 5 types of fruits, you must mention all five, you can't just tell about 3 or 4...

The difference between Analysis (A) and Description (D):
1. Analysis is stating the values and the key features: "There were 1000 people in year 2004, while it increased to 2550 people in year 2005"
2. Description is only describing (nonsense...): "There was an increase in the number of people from year 2004 to year 2005."
Please use Analysis! Use Description only when there's no figures...

Synthesis (S):
The analysis in an analysis: You analyse the figures. It requires some simple counting... - "There was an increase of 1550 (not shown in the graph) people from year 2004 to 2005."
Do you get me? This is also very important compared to analysis. Which means, a good essay must have both...

Conclusion (C):
Here is the part where you add in the linear text (newspaper clippings, footnotes found after the graph...)

Assumptions (Assm):
Never put in assumptions! Like - The amount of people decreased because of @<hidden>#$! There will be no marks for reasons...

150 to 200 words:
Never go beyond 200 words, cos they won't even look at them. Make sure your conclusion is before your 200th word...

Hope that helps! :)

24-01-2009, 10:40 PM
Is anyone interested in setting up a small discussion group over the Internet to practise speaking? We can use software like Teamspeak or Skype..I know its a dumb idea but the problem is none of my friends speak english in normal conversations and I believe there are recomers who face the same problem...This could be a good way to improve everyone's speaking fluency..pray that streamyx doesnt mess with us. hahaha

Well, as far as I am concerned, I have quite frequently experienced good connection with Skype. I find that communicating through Skype to practise speaking isn't a bad idea at all! Sure, it would be better to communicate face-to-face, but when you can't do that, then Skype is not a bad alternative!

lilyth
28-01-2009, 02:42 PM
haha. i've got my muet results. band 5, n five more points close to band 6 yeap devastating yeah. :D

hey listen, is anybody here taking ekonomi in stpm? i'm self studying that subject with a friend in my school, as NO SCHOOL in our district offers that class for stpm. just wondering. maybe we can share some question papers and strategies on answering questions. or maybe share texts (i have a few texts specified on the syllabus to complement all the ref books available).

Johnivan
29-01-2009, 11:26 PM
haha. i've got my muet results. band 5, n five more points close to band 6 yeap devastating yeah. :D

hey listen, is anybody here taking ekonomi in stpm? i'm self studying that subject with a friend in my school, as NO SCHOOL in our district offers that class for stpm. just wondering. maybe we can share some question papers and strategies on answering questions. or maybe share texts (i have a few texts specified on the syllabus to complement all the ref books available).

No school in your district offers that? That's odd, cos Kluang has many schools which offers that subject, and it is the easiest to score among all the other art stream subjects... I'm sure you'll do well... I'm even worse than you: I took further maths T which i don't think any school in Johor offers at all...

trivngan90
02-02-2009, 10:22 PM

usually my econ. teacher gave us all the past year question 2 do as exercise... :cry but quite challenging :))

anyway, guyz.. nid ur help here... any1 can post their Math S paper here... coz m oso self studying dat particular subject

mitsukolyn
03-02-2009, 01:45 AM
I plan to take MUET in April too, and if i get band 5, i won't decide to retake anymore...

The essay must have:
2. an Overall Trend (OT) - an overall description of the visual: going up, down...
3. Key Features (KF) - must state ALL the items involved. If there's a comparison on 5 types of fruits, you must mention all five, you can't just tell about 3 or 4...

1. Analysis is stating the values and the key features: "There were 1000 people in year 2004, while it increased to 2550 people in year 2005"
2. Description is only describing (nonsense...): "There was an increase in the number of people from year 2004 to year 2005."

Synthesis (S):
The analysis in an analysis: You analyse the figures. It requires some simple counting... - "There was an increase of 1550 (not shown in the graph) people from year 2004 to 2005."
Do you get me? This is also very important compared to analysis. Which means, a good essay must have both...

Conclusion (C):
Here is the part where you add in the linear text (newspaper clippings, footnotes found after the graph...)

Assumptions (Assm):
Never put in assumptions! Like - The amount of people decreased because of @<hidden>#$! There will be no marks for reasons...

150 to 200 words:
Never go beyond 200 words, cos they won't even look at them. Make sure your conclusion is before your 200th word...

wow...thanks a lot for sharing...it's really really helpful to us...Thnks buddy!!
Btw...i got some confusion...Why it is not recommended to put assumptions(the sentence structure u gave as an example)? I mean like if the question ask to state the reasons...so how am i going to write?

markwongsk
03-02-2009, 08:16 PM

The essay must have:

Synthesis (S):

Conclusion (C):

Assumptions (Assm):

150 to 200 words:

Wow, there's definitely a load of differences compared to the old MUET =D

sugarspice
05-02-2009, 08:21 PM
Hey guys, is there any cert for our GCE O lvl english (NOT 1119)?

I have just got my SPM07 cert, i wonder when will our GCE O cert arrive (if there is)..

amoebaleong
05-02-2009, 09:18 PM
Hey guys, is there any cert for our GCE O lvl english (NOT 1119)?

I have just got my SPM07 cert, i wonder when will our GCE O cert arrive (if there is)..

You will certainly get your GCE O lvl English certificate. But it will be quite late. In my case, it is almost 2 years after SPM. So just patiently wait for it.

Johnivan
07-02-2009, 11:34 AM
usually my school teacher gave us all the past year question 2 do as exercise... :cry but quite challenging :))

anyway, guyz.. nid ur help here... any1 can post their Math S paper here... coz m oso self studying dat particular subject

Do you want past year papers for paper 1? Try this link:
http://cwooi.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=28&func=select&id=3

Its actually for Maths T, but you can download it since paper 1 is the same...:)

wow...thanks a lot for sharing...it's really really helpful to us...Thnks buddy!!
Btw...i got some confusion...Why it is not recommended to put assumptions(the sentence structure u gave as an example)? I mean like if the question ask to state the reasons...so how am i going to write?

My notes are meant for question 1 only... They will not ask us for reasons, according to my teacher... We can only write reasons using the linear text given (newspaper article, short notes...). It just like doing a rumusan without giving isi tersirat (reasons for why this one has a lot, the other so less etc...). I mean that we should not "assume" something that is not given...:)

mitsukolyn
09-02-2009, 10:47 PM
frm this thread,since they are so few replies from the studetns...guess that it is because that f6 students are really very few years by years..sighh...uhm...anyway..im hoping this thread will be "flooded" with replies as exams are really soon...

Johnivan
21-02-2009, 12:44 AM
Hey people, just asking around:

I'm sure most of you (or maybe all of you...) are from government schools. I just wanted to know whether does your schools do any changes in the schooling times for form 6? I'm from SMK Tinggi Kluang, Johor. They started a new lecture system this year. Our school time has changed to 7.30am to 3.30pm, with every period of 55 mins. For a science subject, every week we will go for 110 mins of lecture (where teachers teach all 3 classes together in the hall), 110 mins of tutorial (our own science subject teacher comes in and gives us worksheets to do), and 110 mins of practical. Our studying method is now very different from our previous school years. Besides, the school even separate the clubs and uniform units for form 6. It means that, we form 6 students have particularly no contact with the lower form students at all.

Strange rite? Anyone facing the same situation?

celestial_sacred
21-02-2009, 01:26 AM
Haven't you heard? Form 6 is taking the change. They're making it "pre-U in school". The proposal (or something) was approved last year. It'll be in stages but it's starting this year. ;)

sugarspice
21-02-2009, 07:27 AM
In my school, students in upper six this year are not affected, which is a relief for me - I dont wanna stay till 3.30pm in school... ... ...

Those coming in this June (lower six pupils) will be using the new system.

Eurytos
21-02-2009, 10:38 AM
Can someone here elaborate on the details of the revised form 6 syllabus ? Really interested to know what changes they have made.

trivngan90
22-02-2009, 09:29 AM
until now my school haven't get the notice frm government.... hehe... while all da F6 Tcher& student doesntagree with tis... anyway my school hav 2 wait until April onli can ensure whether da time is going 2 extend o not....

yinianzz
05-03-2009, 12:28 AM
well my time still same ~ bt i heard there has been change for lower 6 of my school tis year..

Li Shan Shung
05-03-2009, 10:27 PM
Hi, everyone. Anyone considering sharing your state/district/trial exam papers(with questions and answers provided)?

I'm willing to trade/share mine.
Subjects: PA, Physics, Chem, Bio, Maths T and MUET(an extra).
School: SMK Gajah Berang, Malacca
I really need to do more questions to improve for STPM. :(

I'll mail the questions and answers through email. Please be patient because my teachers have yet to finish discussing the answers. My email address is Email Address Censored by Xon Please mail me exam papers.

usually my school teacher gave us all the past year question 2 do as exercise... :cry but quite challenging :))

I just finished my monthly test. Would you like my Maths T paper 1 questions? I'll send it to you as soon my teacher gave the answers and steps. BTW, Mind sharing your school monthly test questions and answers with me?

As far as we are concerned, sharing is something to the public, not personal. Warning. ~Xon

trivngan90
09-03-2009, 11:41 PM
Hi, everyone. Anyone considering sharing your state/district/trial exam papers(with questions and answers provided)?

I'm willing to trade/share mine.
Subjects: PA, Physics, Chem, Bio, Maths T and MUET(an extra).
School: SMK Gajah Berang, Malacca
I really need to do more questions to improve for STPM. :(

I'll mail the questions and answers through email. Please be patient because my teachers have yet to finish discussing the answers. My email address is Email Address Censored by Xon Please mail me exam papers.

I just finished my monthly test. Would you like my Maths T paper 1 questions? I'll send it to you as soon my teacher gave the answers and steps. BTW, Mind sharing your school monthly test questions and answers with me?

As far as we are concerned, sharing is something to the public, not personal. Warning. ~Xon

which subject u wanna trade?
da subject dat i taking 4 STPM : PA, Econ., PP, n MUET
p/s: 1.my skul onli doing readin n listenin on tis monthly
2.onli econ. got past year ques.

Li Shan Shung
15-03-2009, 07:34 PM

The other candidates and I (all classmates) stayed back once a week to practise. This trend is practised by 3 classes though each group choose a different time and day. You might want to consider this as a practice. Helps out with nervousness. Practice makes perfect.

Johnivan
16-03-2009, 07:05 PM
Let me throw you all a question:

Do you think that our training for Science and Maths in english for the past 5 years will help us do better in STPM this year?

I think it will...
In fact i think that the Science and Maths in English policy should stay for secondary education. Its not a waste. :)

Another question: Anybody 'still' taking 5 subjects this year?? I hope i'm not lonely here...

mitsukolyn
18-03-2009, 05:44 PM

Do you think that our training for Science and Maths in english for the past 5 years will help us do better in STPM this year?

I think it will...
In fact i think that the Science and Maths in English policy should stay for secondary education. Its not a waste. :)

Another question: Anybody 'still' taking 5 subjects this year?? I hope i'm not lonely here...

For your first quest, I totally agree that Science n Maths in English policy should stay, be it in primary or secondary...It's for our own good and for the benefits of the country...If the government wants to revert it back to BM, i would say that it's a really silly of them to do it so...Not only our country would not progress, Malaysians would lag far behind compared to other developing countries...Even the Koreans and Japans are trying to educate their youngs in English...If we study Maths and Science in BM, we are like dummies when we are communicating with other people especially from the science fields...Agree?

For the 2nd quest, I apologise, I'm taking only 4...

markwongsk
18-03-2009, 06:04 PM
For your first quest, I totally agree that Science n Maths in English policy should stay, be it in primary or secondary...It's for our own good and for the benefits of the country...If the government wants to revert it back to BM, i would say that it's a really silly of them to do it so...Not only our country would not progress, Malaysians would lag far behind compared to other developing countries...Even the Koreans and Japans are trying to educate their youngs in English...If we study Maths and Science in BM, we are like dummies when we are communicating with other people especially from the science fields...Agree?

For the 2nd quest, I apologise, I'm taking only 4...

If we revert back, we're only wasting 6 years of MONEY and EFFORT... all those cds, those courses, those .... just to get the ball rolling... and now change it back???

5 subjects huh.. Guess we'll be seeing Johnivan soon XD

sicknight
18-03-2009, 06:23 PM

I think it will...

I think that we are really lucky to be part of this Science and Maths in English policy and this policy should stay for the future generation.
I'm taking 4 subject.but,i have 3 classmates still taking 5 subjects.:)

Johnivan
18-03-2009, 11:26 PM
5 subjects huh.. Guess we'll be seeing Johnivan soon XD

Whoaaa... Wait, wait... Don't look so highly on me, or you'll be dissappointed... Haha... Btw, congrats, i saw you on the papers...

marilynnnnn
18-03-2009, 11:50 PM
Hello my name is Marilyn. I am from Sabah. Currently Upper Six 2009. I am new here and I have 3217831234671 questions to ask about STPM mainly about scoring systems in the art stream. Hope you all can help me out.

1. I was wondering for arts stream, specifically Ekonomi and Geografi, do the questions go by the syllabus? My teacher printed out the syllabus for us so I was wondering if the questions were solely based on the syllabus and if we should ignore everything else not found in the syllabus?

2. Another question, regarding Pendidikan Seni Visual. The choice in my school was PSV/BM/Komputer. I really hated the other two options so I went for PSV. I have never gotten anything higher than a D for it. It's the essay questions I'm really having trouble with and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how PSV questions are answerred both in essay and subjective questions. It looks to me like all the answers are all opinion besides the ones that involve art techniques. Any past year students have ideas on answering the paper to score more?

3. One more question. My teacher said... well, technically trainee teacher (he got 3A 1A- 1C for STPM '05... C for PSV) told us that only top 3 highest scores count towards the... GPA (please explain this as well cos it's a little fuzzy to me... I do know that it stands for grade point average but that's about all I know. I swear I wikipedia-ed it too but I don't really get the marking scheme for STPM...) so does that mean i can forget about PSV(I mean aim lower than an A) cause it's not gonna be counted overall?

4. OH and MUET. Hehe MUET. How to score for writing Question 2 (do I just keep writing until I have no more points?) and speaking (do I just keep talking until I have no more points)? I mean like how do the examiners give marks? The highest I ever got at school level is Band 5 but I know I can get higher but I just don't know how.

My mind works in a uniformed way. I can only score if I know exactly what examiners want and as of right now, I do not know what they want. I do know what they want in questions that involve counting though but that's about it.

Sorry if this post is too long. I think it is rather self indulgent but I think it is important to be self indulgent at this time of my life. I was never into studying and taking an interest in studies. I was the crammer in form 4 and 5. I managed to pass fine (only 1 A1) to get into form 6 and now I need to secure a place in uni because I know to what extent I can push myself.

markwongsk
19-03-2009, 12:02 AM
Hello my name is Marilyn. I am from Sabah. Currently Upper Six 2009. I am new here and I have 3217831234671 questions to ask about STPM mainly about scoring systems in the art stream. Hope you all can help me out.

1. I was wondering for arts stream, specifically Ekonomi and Geografi, do the questions go by the syllabus? My teacher printed out the syllabus for us so I was wondering if the questions were solely based on the syllabus and if we should ignore everything else not found in the syllabus?

2. Another question, regarding Pendidikan Seni Visual. The choice in my school was PSV/BM/Komputer. I really hated the other two options so I went for PSV. I have never gotten anything higher than a D for it. It's the essay questions I'm really having trouble with and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how PSV questions are answerred both in essay and subjective questions. It looks to me like all the answers are all opinion besides the ones that involve art techniques. Any past year students have ideas on answering the paper to score more?

3. One more question. My teacher said... well, technically trainee teacher (he got 3A 1A- 1C for STPM '05... C for PSV) told us that only top 3 highest scores count towards the... GPA (please explain this as well cos it's a little fuzzy to me... I do know that it stands for grade point average but that's about all I know. I swear I wikipedia-ed it too but I don't really get the marking scheme for STPM...) so does that mean i can forget about PSV(I mean aim lower than an A) cause it's not gonna be counted overall?

4. OH and MUET. Hehe MUET. How to score for writing Question 2 (do I just keep writing until I have no more points?) and speaking (do I just keep talking until I have no more points)? I mean like how do the examiners give marks? The highest I ever got at school level is Band 5 but I know I can get higher but I just don't know how.

My mind works in a uniformed way. I can only score if I know exactly what examiners want and as of right now, I do not know what they want. I do know what they want in questions that involve counting though but that's about it.

Sorry if this post is too long. I think it is rather self indulgent but I think it is important to be self indulgent at this time of my life. I was never into studying and taking an interest in studies. I was the crammer in form 4 and 5. I managed to pass fine (only 1 A1) to get into form 6 and now I need to secure a place in uni because I know to what extent I can push myself.

2. CGPA counts the highest 4. In your teachers case he would get (4.00 + 4.00 + 4.00 + 3.67)/4

Johnivan
19-03-2009, 11:53 PM

Nice to meet you. I'm from science stream, but I'll answer the questions that i know...

1. The questions are supposed to follow the syllabus, BUT, sometimes they don't. What i'm trying to say is, in STPM, the more you know, the better you do. There are examples that the questions for maths T are out of the syllabus, so maybe it may happen in Geo and Econs as well... But don't worry, its only a little bit, if it comes out...

3. Just to add on to Markwongsk, The grade counts the highest 4 subjects INCLUDING Pengajian Am. Which means, the top 3 elective subjects (Geo, Ekon, PSV, in you case, i think...) that you take plus the marks for PA. How many subjects are you taking?
GPA is the marks for 1 subject, ranging from 0.00 to 4.00 (A is 4.00, A- is 3.67, B+ is 3.33 & etc...)
CGPA is the average marks for the 4 subjects i mentioned, also from 0.00 to 4.00.

4. I have some tips on writing for question 2. Give me one week to finish my exams, and i'll post it. Hope you can wait...:wink

Hope that helps. :)

Just one more thing: All the best to those who will be having exams after the holidays...

Pris-C
20-03-2009, 09:30 PM
who knows how plp get cgpa 4 in stpm..
pls share.

sicknight
21-03-2009, 09:58 PM
who knows how plp get cgpa 4 in stpm..
pls share.

I don't really know how people get 4.0,because i'm not one of them:P,but one thing for sure,there's no easy way...(if there is,do share).
but,from the advice that i get,hardwork and consistency is important.and one more thing,never gives up.
Hope the seniors can share with us their experience of STPM that they went through.thanks.

marilynnnnn
22-03-2009, 12:52 AM
2. CGPA counts the highest 4. In your teachers case he would get (4.00 + 4.00 + 4.00 + 3.67)/4

Thanks! I spent like 20 minutes counting out all the possible CGPA results I could get in various diff combinations hehe. :p

Nice to meet you. I'm from science stream, but I'll answer the questions that i know...

1. The questions are supposed to follow the syllabus, BUT, sometimes they don't. What i'm trying to say is, in STPM, the more you know, the better you do. There are examples that the questions for maths T are out of the syllabus, so maybe it may happen in Geo and Econs as well... But don't worry, its only a little bit, if it comes out...

3. Just to add on to Markwongsk, The grade counts the highest 4 subjects INCLUDING Pengajian Am. Which means, the top 3 elective subjects (Geo, Ekon, PSV, in you case, i think...) that you take plus the marks for PA. How many subjects are you taking?
GPA is the marks for 1 subject, ranging from 0.00 to 4.00 (A is 4.00, A- is 3.67, B+ is 3.33 & etc...)
CGPA is the average marks for the 4 subjects i mentioned, also from 0.00 to 4.00.

4. I have some tips on writing for question 2. Give me one week to finish my exams, and i'll post it. Hope you can wait...:wink

Hope that helps. :)

Just one more thing: All the best to those who will be having exams after the holidays...

Oh thank you for your answer in Question 1. It makes things a little clearer for me. I've never quite thought about... studying in such an in depth manner before I discovered all these educations blogs and forums. :))

I am taking 4 subjects hehe.

Thank your for replying and looking forward to your post regarding MUET. :)

Hope you get good results for your exam.

mitsukolyn
22-03-2009, 02:06 PM
i have a chem quest...i hope anyone can help me to ans the quest...
The quest is....:

The following experiment was carried out to determine the overall ionic equation for the reaction between potassium manganate(VII) and a metal ion, M^2+.
" 25.0 cm^3 0.10 mol dm^-3 M^2+ reacts completely with 25.0cm^3 of acidified potassium manganate(VII) solution containing 3.16g KMnO4 per litre."

a) Acidified potassium manganate(VII) is usually prepared by adding sulphuric acid to a solution of potassium manganate(VII). State with reasons whether hydrochloric acid can be used to replace sulphuric acid.

b)ii) Determine the number of moles of M^2+ ions that reacts with 1.0 mole of manganate ions.
iii) Deduce a half eqn tor the oxidation of M^2+.
iv) Write an overall ionic eqn for the reaction between MnO4^- and M^2+.

markwongsk
22-03-2009, 07:47 PM
i have a chem quest...i hope anyone can help me to ans the quest...
The quest is....:

The following experiment was carried out to determine the overall ionic equation for the reaction between potassium manganate(VII) and a metal ion, M^2+.
" 25.0 cm^3 0.10 mol dm^-3 M^2+ reacts completely with 25.0cm^3 of acidified potassium manganate(VII) solution containing 3.16g KMnO4 per litre."

a) Acidified potassium manganate(VII) is usually prepared by adding sulphuric acid to a solution of potassium manganate(VII). State with reasons whether hydrochloric acid can be used to replace sulphuric acid.

b)ii) Determine the number of moles of M^2+ ions that reacts with 1.0 mole of manganate ions.
iii) Deduce a half eqn tor the oxidation of M^2+.
iv) Write an overall ionic eqn for the reaction between MnO4^- and M^2+.

(a) [P.S. I can't confirm the answer for this one because I am lazy to check my data booklet :P]

No. The oxidising power of manganate (VII) ions is stronger than that of chloride ions. If Hydrochloric acid was used instead, Chloride ions will be oxidised into chlorine gas. On the other hand, sulphuric acid is a stronger oxidising agent than potassium manganate. No chemical reaction will occur.

(b)(ii)
moles of M^2+ = MV/1000 = (0.1)(25)(0.001) = 0.0025
moles of manganate (VII) ions = MV/1000

but M = mol dm^-3 and mol = mass/molar mass
there fore M = 3.16/(39 + 55 + 4(16)) = 0.02 mol dm^-3

moles of manganate (VII) ions = (0.02)(25)(0.001) = 0.0005

0.0025 moles of M^2+ reacts with 0.0005 moles of manganate (VII) ions
Therefore 5 moles of M^2+ reacts with 1 mole of manganate (VII) ions

(iii)

Manganate (VII) is reduced to manganese (II) therefore it accepts 5 electrons. Since 5 moles of M^2+ reduces 1 mole of manganate (VII) ions, each mole of M^2+ ions releases one mole of electrons.

Therefore the oxidation half equation:

M^2+(aq) --> M^3(aq) + + e

(iv)
5M^2+(aq) +MnO4^-(aq) +8H^+(aq)-->5M^3+(aq) +4H2O(l) +Mn^2+(aq)

(you did not give the mark allocation so I don't know how much to explain. If you have problem with question (b)(iv) you can ask :) )

mitsukolyn
22-03-2009, 07:57 PM
A newly discovered fuel cell uses the electrocemical oxidation of ethanol to produce electrical energy.

i) Using ethanolic NaOH, aqueous NaOH, oxygen gas, graphite electrodes and a permeable membrane, sketch the set up of the fuel cell. Label the anode and the cathode and indicate the flow of electrons.
ii) What is the role played by the oxygen gas and the NaOH solution??

daisylady
25-03-2009, 12:11 AM
can anyone here inform me what are the changes that have been made for lower form 6 students this year?? i'm like so curious and i'm entering form 6 this year. i've been going through a hard time accepting my mum's decision but now i think i can accept it already. btw, i'm super duper new here.

lawteoh
30-03-2009, 09:33 PM
Just for anyone who is interested.. my fren jz upload chem 08 and bio 08 papers. So, just get it from this website..

http://www.scribd.com/doc/13771687/Chemistry-2008-STPM

and

http://www.scribd.com/doc/13771662/Biology-2008-STPM

Johnivan
02-04-2009, 04:34 PM
I'm back from exams! Glad to have 42 for speaking... Just a little tips for Extended writing for MUET:

Thesis Statement (T/S):
A very important sentence to be added in your introduction. It tells the examiner what you?re going to write.

Eg: The increase in pocket money, peer pressure and the influence of TV advertisements could cause young people to overspend. (It's best to list out all that you are going to say before you start writing.)

Topic Sentences (TS)
The first sentence of each paragraph.

Eg: Firstly, i would like to elaborate on the influence of TV advertisements which caused overspending among the teens. ...... (You must be clear when stating what are you going to say after each paragraph.... )

These are the 2 main components to be in the essays. Then, read a lot. You must try to have attractive introductions. Use as much vocab as possible, and make sure that every point makes sense, and that they show that you are MATURED.:)

can anyone here inform me what are the changes that have been made for lower form 6 students this year?? i'm like so curious and i'm entering form 6 this year. i've been going through a hard time accepting my mum's decision but now i think i can accept it already. btw, i'm super duper new here.

Nothing will be different for you, i think, cos the new stuff will only be coming in the next batch of form 6 students...
The only differences are the differences done by certain schools (like mine, having lecture systems...)
You must always keep yourself updated with the school that you are about to be in...:)

mitsukolyn
04-04-2009, 10:43 PM
thnks for the useful post...wow...ur sch carried out muet exam?? mind to share what speaking n writing exe u all do?? wow...u got 42...ur sure a good speaker....

Li Shan Shung
05-04-2009, 04:32 PM
i get a band 5 in school 10 marks short of band 6
can tell me how to boost my essay writing?

markwongsk
05-04-2009, 06:49 PM
i get a band 5 in school 10 marks short of band 6
can tell me how to boost my essay writing?

How much you got for your exams? Out of?

Steven7
06-04-2009, 12:39 AM
Does anyone mind to supply me with some past year questions? Chemistry 2005-2007. Well it would be kind if included with suggested answers.

superdupree
06-04-2009, 12:47 AM
thnks for the useful post...wow...ur sch carried out muet exam?? mind to share what speaking n writing exe u all do?? wow...u got 42...ur sure a good speaker....

hello! i was your ex class mate. can you guess who am i?:)

Xon : Please cut thread to the minumum. :)

Johnivan
06-04-2009, 09:52 PM

My speaking topic was:
Suggest the most important factor when choosing a part time job while waiting for the entrance to University.
a. Salary
b. Location
c. Working hours
d. type of job

While my writing was to comment on materialism (Last year's MUET question...)

I did well in speaking but my reading was bad (34/45) and my listening wasn't good either... I don't really pay attention...:P I just hope that this time their reading will be easy, and their listening more straight-forward...

Li Shan Shung
10-04-2009, 08:20 PM
How much you got for your exams? Out of?

249 out of 300.
In the previous MUET, I scored merely 238/300.
Two weeks to MUET and I'm still worried about my writing and reading.

sugarspice
10-04-2009, 09:16 PM
My teacher is a MUET examiner. She says they will be stricter in marking the coming MUET examssss........especially in listening part.

last year it was extremely lenient (that's what i felt). I screwed my section C and could still get 41. Gotta work harder this time.

mitsukolyn
13-04-2009, 12:29 AM
hello! i was your ex class mate. can you guess who am i?:)

Xon : Please cut thread to the minumum. :)

huh?? yea ar?? my ex class mate? in hua lian????? u know who i am?

hey...just wanna share...my ttn teacher said tht she's positive that consumerism would b out....pls kindly share ur teachers' opinion on wad's cuming out... perhaps we can gather info and then find for more information so tht we can do well ....Ergh...still left only a week plus to the REAL Exam...kinda nervous...

yeeyong
13-04-2009, 09:05 PM
gosh... u all have to help me...
my teacher in school, he barely come to class during muet periods....

last yr muet exam i oni get band 4... actually, to be honest, till now i still hav no idea how to write the question 2 in writing paper... teacher juz briefly talk about it and said it's exactly like pengajian am... T.T

can anyone tell me how to write tt question??

and beside consumerism what topics tt hav a higher chance of coming out in the coming muet exam?

[i'm damn worry... i have to get band 5 and above, better atil if band 6... :cry]

markwongsk
13-04-2009, 09:34 PM
249 out of 300.
In the previous MUET, I scored merely 238/300.
Two weeks to MUET and I'm still worried about my writing and reading.

um, writing (I am old format candidate, sat for it during my lower six two years ago) as far as I know, we should focus on articulating it as a university thesis (short form of a thesis). This means at the start of the essay we should clearly provide a glimpse into the contents with a relevant introduction and thesis statement.

We then proceed to provide three/four points based on our thesis statement, starting each of with our topical sentence. We should provide concrete examples and avoid abusing pompous, bombastic sentence just to show our vocabulary - use where appropriate only.

Ex:

The rain in spain stays mainly in the plain (courtesy of My Fair Lady :)))

The crystallized aquae in the country of Spaniards forms droplets which chose not the mountaineous terrain, little knolls nor the bustling city but rather the meadows for their daily ritual.

(clumsy, long-winded and utterly superficial. Not to mention grammatical errors then to rise without much notice. Example: aquae = plural, forms = singular and therefore there's already a mistake in the sentence).

Of course that's a very bad exaggeration but you get the picture. Try to refrain such sentences as it gives a very bad impression.

yeeyong
13-04-2009, 09:42 PM
i'm so sorry that i didn't realise i typed 2 instead of 1....
is the question 1 i don know how....
and to my knowledge, if not mistaken the question 2, that essay writing, all r writing bout facts rite??? correct me if i'm wrong..

how to interpret the graph and the table? i have read questions that contain few graphs and table in one question... how to start? how to write?

sugarspice
14-04-2009, 05:33 AM
Yes for essay part 1 we have to INTERGRATE the stimuli given besides identifying major trends.

Sometimes it's really tough as we can't see the link between the stimuli, and so we can't intergrate much...

the essay in 2nd part is always the argumentative type.

lawteoh
15-04-2009, 11:38 AM
Anyway, if you guys free, try out this question. Maths question. I ought to be able to do it, but somehow got stuck.. actually, just helping my friend out only.. lolz.

log(base2)y = 3 + log(base2)x + log(base2)(x+1)

It says to write X in terms of Y...

I got until here.

y/ [x(x+1)] = 8

Guess there must be another special method to do it..

tsar
15-04-2009, 12:55 PM
Very interesting question lol. I'm no maths expert, but may I suggest

x = (-8 +- (64+32y)^1/2)/16

lawteoh
15-04-2009, 02:11 PM
Very interesting question lol. I'm no maths expert, but may I suggest

x = (-8 +- (64+32y)^1/2)/16

lolz.. u actually square root it? can wan meh? haha.. i nv see this in my stpm book also last time.. mayb the ques is type wrongly la..

uoykcuf
15-04-2009, 02:22 PM
use (-b+-(sqrt(b^2-4ac)))/2a after got y/ [x(x+1)] = 8

lawteoh
15-04-2009, 02:31 PM
use (-b+-(sqrt(b^2-4ac)))/2a after got y/ [x(x+1)] = 8

If use ur method,

8 x^2 +8x -y= 0

and after the formula , u will get x = [-8 +- sqrt (64+32y)] / 16 .. got the y in the square root.. can solve meh? hmm..

tsar
15-04-2009, 03:26 PM
Lol his method is my method.

I thought the requirement of the question was to put x in terms of y? If you want to go for a solution you'll need 2 equations for 2 unknowns.

uoykcuf
15-04-2009, 03:29 PM
If use ur method,

8 x^2 +8x -y= 0

and after the formula , u will get x = [-8 +- sqrt (64+32y)] / 16 .. got the y in the square root.. can solve meh? hmm..

ya can
if you don't want use tat formula, you can use completing the square which will give you same thing.
y/ [x(x+1)] = 8
y=8[x(x+1)]
y=8((x+1/2)^2-1/4)

Lol his method is my method.

I thought the requirement of the question was to put x in terms of y? If you want to go for a solution you'll need 2 equations for 2 unknowns.

i also just know that :oops:

markwongsk
15-04-2009, 05:35 PM
log(base 2)y = 3 + log(base 2)x + log(Base 2)(x+1)
log(base 2)y = log(base 2)[(8x)(x+1)]
y/8 = x(x+1)
y/8 = x^2 + x
y/8 = x^2 + x + 1/4 - 1/4
y/8 = (x+1/2)^2 - 1/4
(y/8 + 1/4)^1/2 = x + 1/2 [y>0 since it's a logarithm]
therefore

X = (y/8 + 1/4)^1/2 - 1/2

lawteoh
15-04-2009, 11:17 PM
I feel embarrassed.. lolz.. guess that will happen if one din touch maths for like 5 months?

markwongsk
16-04-2009, 12:18 AM
I feel embarrassed.. lolz.. guess that will happen if one din touch maths for like 5 months?

your answer is the same :)) try to factorize 32 out of the square root and you will see =) (I think, lazy to check but intuition tells me is the same)

yeeyong
16-04-2009, 08:30 PM
is there any hot topic for essay???

tsar
16-04-2009, 10:22 PM
Read up on the latest issues. As of now, it's our beloved PM's 1Malaysia concept.

Johnivan
18-04-2009, 08:13 AM
My teacher is a MUET examiner. She says they will be stricter in marking the coming MUET examssss........especially in listening part.

last year it was extremely lenient (that's what i felt). I screwed my section C and could still get 41. Gotta work harder this time.

I agree with you. In fact, they said that if you take MUET starting this April, your cert will last you for 5 years, and you no need to take other English exams (TOEFL, IELTS?). You can just take MUET into other countries. Some sort of naik taraf... Of course, harder to get band 6... Haiz...:(

i'm so sorry that i didn't realise i typed 2 instead of 1....
is the question 1 i don know how....
and to my knowledge, if not mistaken the question 2, that essay writing, all r writing bout facts rite??? correct me if i'm wrong..

how to interpret the graph and the table? i have read questions that contain few graphs and table in one question... how to start? how to write?

Hi Yee Yong... I think i posted some tips on how to answer Writing question 1 somewhere in this thread... You try check it out and see...

lawteoh
18-04-2009, 12:57 PM
I agree with you. In fact, they said that if you take MUET starting this April, your cert will last you for 5 years, and you no need to take other English exams (TOEFL, IELTS?). You can just take MUET into other countries. Some sort of naik taraf... Of course, harder to get band 6... Haiz...:(

Where did u get that info? Well, that means if u get band 6, u r the best. In a way, it's an advantage.. :) The Nov test 2008 (first batch) also difficult to get band 6 liao..

sugarspice
20-04-2009, 05:34 AM
Well I haven scanned through some of the overseas universities' 2010 undergraduate prospectus and found out that MUET is still not recognised as an international english proficiency test.

Eurytos
20-04-2009, 08:18 AM
MUET isn't even recognized by Australian National University. Why don't any of the good Universities recognize MUET as a English proficiency test ???

Johnivan
20-04-2009, 09:53 PM
Where did u get that info? Well, that means if u get band 6, u r the best. In a way, it's an advantage.. :) The Nov test 2008 (first batch) also difficult to get band 6 liao..

My teacher told me that. Whether it is true or not, i'll know it after my STPM this year... In fact, my teacher also said that STPM will be changing into a semester system, which means that the term "STPM" might become history in two years time...

By the way, just wondering whether do all the form 6 students here enjoy your study life. If you are too stressed with your studies, i would like to ask you to take a rest. Enjoy this sketch done by my class during 'Bulan Kemanusiaan'. We acted a sketch entitled "Trustworthiness" (despite all the unfinished homework...).

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Se6GUhLTvUY
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NPNxp6-BQE

School life can be interesting, if you know how to have fun in the midst of studying.

Try guessing which one is me as well...:P

sugarspice
21-04-2009, 05:31 AM
My teacher told me that. Whether it is true or not, i'll know it after my STPM this year... In fact, my teacher also said that STPM will be changing into a semester system, which means that the term "STPM" might become history in two years time...

by that time, most overseas universities applications (except Aussie, perhaps) are probably closed.

eugenetoh91
21-04-2009, 10:19 AM
Well, I hope STPM is my last backup plan if every scholarship that I applied rejected me. Therefore, I certainly need to know how is the syllabus of STPM like. Im difinitely interested in Physics. So, there will be 4 subjects:Physics, Math, Chemistry and Pengajian Am. Besides that, Im interested in taking Economics too. Can anyone of you explain some of details of those subjects to me? Thanks. Everyone says that STPM is indeed a toughy, I really need to know how tough is the tough. Is the STPM marking system always changing? How can we guarantee ourself to score 5A in STPM?? Thanks once again.
What is a criteria of a person to strike 5A in STPM??:)

lawteoh
21-04-2009, 02:17 PM
Well, I hope STPM is my last backup plan if every scholarship that I applied rejected me. Therefore, I certainly need to know how is the syllabus of STPM like. Im difinitely interested in Physics. So, there will be 4 subjects:Physics, Math, Chemistry and Pengajian Am. Besides that, Im interested in taking Economics too. Can anyone of you explain some of details of those subjects to me? Thanks. Everyone says that STPM is indeed a toughy, I really need to know how tough is the tough. Is the STPM marking system always changing? How can we guarantee ourself to score 5A in STPM?? Thanks once again.

ur choice kinda weird. physics, maths, chem, PA and Economy.. I doubt there wud be this package. Btw, i think the toughness of STPM have already been discussed in other threads. read it somewhere b4. :)

Anyway, I would say Chem is the toughest. lolz..

tsar
21-04-2009, 02:23 PM
The first and foremost criteria would be to take 5 subjects in STPM :amuse.

STPM has a very wide syllabus. We basically study everything under the sun that one can study at a Pre University Level. At the end of it all, we sit for one exam which has less than 20 questions. Each question usually tests one particular section of the syllabus, meaning a very small subtopic.

There are no textbooks for STPM. So the ones in the market are the publishers' interpretation of the syllabus. Hence, nobody knows what the syllabus actually wants, only make educated guesses based on past year questions.

That said, STPM gives the most opportunities to a person. From STPM, one can always go to IPTA, IPTS or Overseas. :)

Economics STPM would be great at helping you secure a place overseas in Economics course. Business Studies (Pengajian Perniagaan) is also useful. Mathematics is a must.

cuppycake
21-04-2009, 04:11 PM
That said, STPM gives the most opportunities to a person. From STPM, one can always go to IPTA, IPTS or Overseas. :)

Economics STPM would be great at helping you secure a place overseas in Economics course. Business Studies (Pengajian Perniagaan) is also useful. Mathematics is a must.

a lot of people mention that u can go to overseas universities with stpm. So that means, you can even apply to UK universities through ucas with your stpm?

like eugene, stpm is also my last backup plan.

tsar
21-04-2009, 07:00 PM
cuppycake, STPM and Cambridge A Levels have the same ancestor - the HSC. So UK universities do recognise STPM.

eugenetoh91, the Cambridge website says that Mathematics is compulsory for Economics, while A Level Economics is desired. A Level Business Studies may also be helpful. For Computer Science and Engineering, A Level Further Math is highly desired alongside Physics and Mathematics. For Mathematics, A Level Further Maths is a must alongside Mathematics.

21-04-2009, 07:09 PM

I never heard of such a combo before usually the extra would be physics if u r bio student n vise versa or further maths.

Toughness? its one of the hardest in the world, syllabus wider and more in-depth than a-level=study more. in my school, only two ppl got 4 flat

How tough is tough? All my seniors adviced me not to take even some teachers too.
Just give u example, my bro said uni was a breeze compared to form 6. So relaxing...

Criteria? Um...just take five subjects...

Eugenetoh, since u decide to take engineering maybe u better stick to 4 cuz it ain't spm where u can take 15 subs n passed with flying colours. It s a whole different ball game for Stpm. I like econs too (took it for spm) but i dun think i should spread myself too thin.

Ultimately ur choice, go for 5 subjects if u think u have the self discipline n good time-management ...(i don't, haha)

tsar
21-04-2009, 08:46 PM
eugenetoh91, first of all I very much support your desire to take 5 subjects.

That said, the combination of subjects you proposed would only be useful if you wanted to do Economics. Are you sure that is the course you want to do in university? If you're set on Engineering, Economics at STPM level won't be of any use. Scoring an A in Economics would definitely show you have breadth, but not scoring an A would become an anchor around your neck.

STPM Economics is not a walk in the park unlike SPM level. There are many things to study. Just make sure this is what you're interested in. :)

SapphireDragon
21-04-2009, 09:03 PM
eugenetoh91, first of all I very much support your desire to take 5 subjects.

That said, the combination of subjects you proposed would only be useful if you wanted to do Economics. Are you sure that is the course you want to do in university? If you're set on Engineering, Economics at STPM level won't be of any use. Scoring an A in Economics would definitely show you have breadth, but not scoring an A would become an anchor around your neck.

STPM Economics is not a walk in the park unlike SPM level. There are many things to study. Just make sure this is what you're interested in. :)

I know eugenetoh.He wants to take economics becuz one day he wants to take an MBA after engineering, right? Then he wants to become a CEO of his own comopany...haha

21-04-2009, 09:49 PM

:nod yeah there's like micro and macro economy which r pretty different stuff.

I know eugenetoh.He wants to take economics becuz one day he wants to take an MBA after engineering, right? Then he wants to become a CEO of his own comopany...haha

Not necessary to take for stpm even if u want to take an mba.

One thing though, i salute u eugenetoh u're very ambitious n dat's good... (I'm more of a cross-bridges-when-i-come-to-it person..LOL)

Rag3x
22-04-2009, 08:11 AM
Owh gosh, MUET is on this 25th April (Reading, Writing, & Listening). Good luck to all candidates~.

Hereby to wish you all good luck.

eugenetoh91
22-04-2009, 10:14 AM
Haha.. Thanks everyone. That was really helpful. My first choice of study is mechanical engineering. So, actually I too know that it is advisable and commendable to take further maths rather than ecomonics. The thing is my school doesn't cater Further Maths this subject, hence I'm rather afraid that if I will study it on my own, my brain will be blank for most of the time. Has anyone taken Further Maths before? Kindly share some of the superiority and specialities in the further maths. haha. "Further" makes the maths seems much tougher.:)

SapphireDragon
22-04-2009, 10:26 AM
To me, you don't need further maths to study mechanical engineering. Unless u want to impress someone with it. Because further maths is for those who really enjoy maths and will probably take up actuarial science in the future. That's my opinion only.

tsar
22-04-2009, 10:58 AM

An engineering graduate can do MBA anytime. I think STPM level subjects are no longer considered when you do a postgraduate degree.

sugan
22-04-2009, 12:45 PM
hi, i going for stpm this year and want to take chemical engineering and mechanical engineering.

what subject should i take?

should i take futhermaths?
Ceramic Bongs (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com/ceramic-bongs)

22-04-2009, 01:33 PM
Well, there's 4 subjects : pengajian am, maths t, physics n chemistry. chemistry n pengajian am is a must if u r in science stream. since u wan engineering, take phusics.
I'm not sure abt further maths but i dun think its necessary (though it'll be impressive) My school dun offer further maths but many seniors r studying engineering after their stpm

tsar
22-04-2009, 01:41 PM
Mathematics T and Physics - compulsory

Further Mathematics - not required, but if you want to apply places like Cambridge it's 'highly desired'.

22-04-2009, 02:14 PM
What's the difference between Additional Mathematics and Further Mathematics?

If we take Add Maths, then do we need to take Further Maths again?

tsar
22-04-2009, 02:32 PM
I think the most important difference is Add Math is SPM level, Further Maths T is STPM level. ^_^

22-04-2009, 02:43 PM
Huh? No Add Maths in Form 6 ah? Hehe. Please forgive my stupidity.

I thought we must take Further Maths? Because there's no choice.

Pengajian Am+Chemistry+Biology/Physics+Further Maths

sugan
22-04-2009, 04:15 PM
THANK GUYS for the info. i'm going to take for sure PA, Maths T , Physics, Chemistry , and(if my school allows,i have a good teacher, and a good resourse of books) i will consider taking futher maths T ( see first, still thinking)

last year , i was in melaka and now i shifted to negeri sembilan.
when will lower 6 start?
what are the procedure shift school?
what is the best stpm school in Negeri sembilan?
any futher math T tuition in n9?
real estate in Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

uoykcuf
22-04-2009, 04:24 PM
eurytos and i took further math before and both of us get A for it.

in my opinion, this subject is for those who really good in maths. there is no teacher will teach you. everything is on your own. you have to buy the books yourself, teach yourself, do exercise yourself... the most important thing is discipline.

well it is not necessary to take it as only 4 subject is required, but you can take it if you feel STPM is very easy for you and you have a lot of free time. lol. many ppl call it a suicidal mission.

for many student, spm math= stpm math T chapter 1, spm add math= stpm math T
not spm math= stpm math T, spm add math= stpm further math

sugan
22-04-2009, 04:25 PM
Mathematics T and Physics - compulsory

Further Mathematics - not required, but if you want to apply places like Cambridge it's 'highly desired'.

wah , we can go to UK with stpm !!! :amazed
which other country recognises stpm ?
which other country recognises Muet?

these are precious information
Ocean View Condos (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

uoykcuf
22-04-2009, 04:35 PM

i think many country recognises stpm as it is one of the toughest exam in the world. singapore, australia, us (with sat along) is among of those countries.

only singapore recognises muet. you have to take ielts to go to other country. for us you have to take sat

tsar
22-04-2009, 07:20 PM

STPM is recognised by the whole world. Whatever A Level students can do, we can do as well, perhaps even better since STPM students are so underrepresented in the international arena. :)

MUET sadly does not enjoy as much recognition. If you want to go overseas an English qualification like Certificate of Proficiency, IELTS, SAT1, TOEFL is required. Sometimes a GCE 1119 English A1 will do. It all depends on the university concerned. :)

cuppycake
22-04-2009, 07:47 PM
but I saw on the UCAS website that MUET is on the list of english proficiency test that is recognised for non-UK students.

tsar
22-04-2009, 10:29 PM
Like I said, it depends on the university concerned. Most of the more prestigious ones usually don't accept it.

22-04-2009, 10:56 PM
THANK GUYS for the info. i'm going to take for sure PA, Maths T , Physics, Chemistry , and(if my school allows,i have a good teacher, and a good resourse of books) i will consider taking futher maths T ( see first, still thinking)

last year , i was in melaka and now i shifted to negeri sembilan.
when will lower 6 start?
what are the procedure shift school?
what is the best stpm school in Negeri sembilan?

Start 11 may same as matrix same as jpa result. AAAhhh!

*goes bonkers :nuts

Eurytos
23-04-2009, 12:35 AM
eurytos and i took further math before and both of us get A for it.

in my opinion, this subject is for those who really good in maths. there is no teacher will teach you. everything is on your own. you have to buy the books yourself, teach yourself, do exercise yourself... the most important thing is discipline.

well it is not necessary to take it as only 4 subject is required, but you can take it if you feel STPM is very easy for you and you have a lot of free time. lol. many ppl call it a suicidal mission.

for many student, spm math= stpm math T chapter 1, spm add math= stpm math T
not spm math= stpm math T, spm add math= stpm further math

Haiya uoykcuf exaggerate abit already lar, actually further maths not that difficult though u must have the discipline to do exercises by yourself. Also you have to strategize how you want to score in further maths. For example, if you are weak in pure maths you would want to focus on statistics to compensate for your weakness in paper 1. Perhaps this might not be the right way to study but it might turn out to be the most effective way.

Further mathematics lacks resources too, which probably explains why this year there are no students in the top scorers list ( Not to take away credit from choogirl and co. ) If you have the resources and the determination to take Further maths, DON"T let anyone deter you from taking it.

"People can't do somethin' themselves, they wanna tell you you can't do it. If you want somethin', go get it." Pursuit of happiness (2006)

So don't let anyone tell you, you can't do it.

I am sure uoykcuf, choogirl, mark, tsar and all the other top scorers will tell you the same.

tsar
23-04-2009, 07:45 AM
Agreed! If you want something, just take it up and do it. Don't let anyone shoot you down. There's bound to be someone who supports you, so draw your strength from them. The only real supporters that matters are your parents, and I think they'll be more than happy that their child wants to study more things. :)

sugan
23-04-2009, 01:18 PM
Haiya uoykcuf exaggerate abit already lar, actually further maths not that difficult though u must have the discipline to do exercises by yourself. Also you have to strategize how you want to score in further maths. For example, if you are weak in pure maths you would want to focus on statistics to compensate for your weakness in paper 1. Perhaps this might not be the right way to study but it might turn out to be the most effective way.

Further mathematics lacks resources too, which probably explains why this year there are no students in the top scorers list ( Not to take away credit from choogirl and co. ) If you have the resources and the determination to take Further maths, DON"T let anyone deter you from taking it.

"People can't do somethin' themselves, they wanna tell you you can't do it. If you want somethin', go get it." Pursuit of happiness (2006)

So don't let anyone tell you, you can't do it.

I am sure uoykcuf, choogirl, mark, tsar and all the other top scorers will tell you the same.

no offense,do we really have ENOUGH TIME TO COVER UP 5 subject.(to score A in all the subject). is the any tuition or futher math teacher in negeri sembilan? what are the syallabus ? where to get thethe syllabus ? any book you recomend?

:nuts

guys , could you recomend some books for PA, physics,maths t , chemistry(organic, inorganic, physical) that suit my character or any book you think is really good

i prefer booksthat explain from basic to advance(morethan needed)(i prefer some extra because it help to enhance understanding)

guys , could you recomend some books for PA, physics,maths t , chemistry(organic, inorganic, physical) that suit my character or any book you think is really good

i prefer booksthat explain from basic to advance(morethan needed)(i prefer some extra because it help to enhance understanding)

moreover, iwish to enter kuiz chemistry and physics nextyear, any books would you recomend?
BBWClau live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/BBWClau)

markwongsk
23-04-2009, 05:00 PM
STPM is recognised by the whole world. Whatever A Level students can do, we can do as well, perhaps even better since STPM students are so underrepresented in the international arena. :)

MUET sadly does not enjoy as much recognition. If you want to go overseas an English qualification like Certificate of Proficiency, IELTS, SAT1, TOEFL is required. Sometimes a GCE 1119 English A1 will do. It all depends on the university concerned. :)

I think they have elevated MUET. I heard that there was a survey done by the UK on MUET and they decided they would recognize it if more emphasis was put on writing, hence the change of format in 2008

tsar
23-04-2009, 06:00 PM
I think they have elevated MUET. I heard that there was a survey done by the UK on MUET and they decided they would recognize it if more emphasis was put on writing, hence the change of format in 2008

That's very interesting. Too bad our MUET certs are pretty much still unrecognised :cry.

sugan, if you want good reading material go for Oxford Fajar. Their books (out of the local publishers) contain the most information. Most students find their books hard to understand because they use proper sentences and paragraphs but it should be alright! :) This applies especially to Chemistry TYT books.

choogirl
23-04-2009, 06:02 PM
Are you serious? So far, my new-format MUET slip has not been as useful as you said

Johnivan
25-04-2009, 03:31 PM

I wonder why many seniors of mine and juniors of mine either took or will take further maths, but none of my same year taking further maths...:cry

Hi Sugan, I don't think there are any tuitions around town, unless if you live in PJ or KL. Do you know that last year only less than 40 people took further maths? That explains why nobody wants to teach: if you divide 40 by 13 states, and districts, you can imagine how many people took further maths in just a state! (Provided that they are evenly distributed...)

If you would have noticed my thread, you can check out "STPM Further Maths T 2009" for more details on what are the books to buy... They are expensive, and without them you better don't study that subject.

I'm taking it this year, and be prepared to fight with your school teachers if you don't have time to finish their homework. It's good to try, i would say, because it helped my Maths T a lot. The sad thing is, you learn a lot of super formulas, but couldn't even use them in Maths T...

Start researching now...

choogirl
25-04-2009, 06:09 PM
I'm from PJ. And even that, it's hard for me to find further math tuitions. I managed to find one in the end but it was too late to register for it. Besides, since not many people wanna take further math, most tuitions are one to one = A LOT OF MONEY

sugan
26-04-2009, 11:48 PM
I wonder why many seniors of mine and juniors of mine either took or will take further maths, but none of my same year taking further maths...:cry

Hi Sugan, I don't think there are any tuitions around town, unless if you live in PJ or KL. Do you know that last year only less than 40 people took further maths? That explains why nobody wants to teach: if you divide 40 by 13 states, and districts, you can imagine how many people took further maths in just a state! (Provided that they are evenly distributed...)

If you would have noticed my thread, you can check out "STPM Further Maths T 2009" for more details on what are the books to buy... They are expensive, and without them you better don't study that subject.

I'm taking it this year, and be prepared to fight with your school teachers if you don't have time to finish their homework. It's good to try, i would say, because it helped my Maths T a lot. The sad thing is, you learn a lot of super formulas, but couldn't even use them in Maths T...

Start researching now...

thank for the advise, to be frank iam taking stpm because i believe it the only option to study at oversea( no money) specially in NUS in SOLAR TECHNOLOGY(probably some engineering still not sure chemical or mechanical):nuts
Nicki (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/Nicki)

kid
26-04-2009, 11:50 PM
thank for the advise, to be frank iam taking stpm because i believe it the only option to study at oversea( no money) specially in NUS in SOLAT TECHNOLOGY(probably some engineering still not surechemical or mechanical):nuts

hey, wat is SOLAT TECH? never heard lah!?

sugan
27-04-2009, 12:09 AM
hey, wat is solat tech? Never heard lah!?

read back my post
Paxil Lawsuit Information (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)

choogirl
27-04-2009, 03:41 PM
Hey, people. I have a few states trial papers stpm 2008. PA was especially useful because it has marking schemes. I have other subjects as well. I took Bio, Chem, Phy, Math and PA. If you want the papers, I'll send them to you thru MSN. JHui[dot]neo[at]gmail[dot]com

If you have any enquiries about STPM subjects or tuitions numbers you want (I'm from PJ), I'll be glad to help.

markwongsk
27-04-2009, 11:24 PM
Hey, people. I have a few states trial papers stpm 2008. PA was especially useful because it has marking schemes. I have other subjects as well. I took Bio, Chem, Phy, Math and PA. If you want the papers, I'll send them to you thru MSN. JHui[dot]neo[at]gmail[dot]com

If you have any enquiries about STPM subjects or tuitions numbers you want (I'm from PJ), I'll be glad to help.

sounds like doing an advertisement, how much did the tuition school pay you?? :laugh

Few people in Bintulu on recom and take STPM AND read this post, so I guess I no need to say anything =)

tsar
28-04-2009, 12:19 AM
Well, anyone in Kuching can ask me for whatever tuition advice they might want to have. XD Though I must stress that tuition only enhances one's own effort and skills. :)

sugarspice
28-04-2009, 05:40 AM
hey, wat is SOLAT TECH? never heard lah!?

he probably meant photovoltaic engineering?

choogirl
28-04-2009, 06:53 PM
sounds like doing an advertisement, how much did the tuition school pay you?? :laugh

Few people in Bintulu on recom and take STPM AND read this post, so I guess I no need to say anything =)

RM500 per student enrolled.

Kidding XD XD

Wahhh are you saying that since there's only a few people, they are not worth being helped? *fans fire* XD

markwongsk
28-04-2009, 08:59 PM
RM500 per student enrolled.

Kidding XD XD

Wahhh are you saying that since there's only a few people, they are not worth being helped? *fans fire* XD

wat i mean is, there are few people in Bintulu who takes form six AND read this thread... so what's the use telling them I know what tuition centre to go...

Btw, Bintulu has only two tuition centres for form six... One is in the town and another is in my house! :P Joking... I do coach some of my friends though =)

SjPark
28-04-2009, 09:00 PM
i heard tat there r some changes in the method to examine stpm students...anyone know exactly wats going on?? i scared if the exam is conducted by semester, singapore gov ll not regconise our stpm cert anymore..

choogirl
28-04-2009, 09:20 PM
Yeap, there could be. But most likely it won't hit the STPM 2009 batch. So your first and foremost worry should be whether you can score in the exam. LOL

bubblezlott3
28-04-2009, 11:30 PM
i heard tat there r some changes in the method to examine stpm students...anyone know exactly wats going on?? i scared if the exam is conducted by semester, singapore gov ll not regconise our stpm cert anymore..

they are still in the debating stages. heck, they even want to have a form six college. it would take at least a few more years for these to get implemented. trust me.

yeeyong
29-04-2009, 02:19 PM

i'm currently in upper six, and i taking 5 subjects too... just that instead of physic, i took biology... (bio, math, pa, econ, chem) is not that i dislike physic, physic is kind a tough compared to biology, this can be proved by the results get by all the other seniors. but, taking physic also have some advantages as some of the math questions include some of the physic concepts inside... chemistry, tough subject but its one of my favourite. ^^ need some imaginary... you have to imagine in head that this solution and this solution get what colour and the reaction all that... need practices... actually every subjects need many many practices, you will find that you don't have enough time to play.... ^^

sugan
29-04-2009, 02:36 PM
DEAR ANYONE WHO IS READIND MY POST,

if you have to know any good stpm school in Negeri Sembilan, i please share with me any information on the school

Thank You
yours sincerely ,
sugan
INFANT PAXIL (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)

markwongsk
29-04-2009, 05:06 PM
DEAR ANYONE WHO IS READIND MY POST,

if you have to know any good stpm school in Negeri Sembilan, i please share with me any information on the school

Thank You
yours sincerely ,
sugan

I think there's a post on this no? Please don't double post things if they are not helpful :oh

Also, why hasn't anyone started a STPM 2010 thread? The lower six guys are coming in soon =)

sugan
29-04-2009, 05:48 PM
I think there's a post on this no? Please don't double post things if they are not helpful :oh

Also, why hasn't anyone started a STPM 2010 thread? The lower six guys are coming in soon =)

should I start the the stpm 2010 this year?
i found a thread titled school for stpm, i think is good for future lower six student
MELISAJANEX CAM (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/melisajanex)

choogirl
29-04-2009, 08:29 PM
Hmm.. Let the incoming lower six start the stpm 2010 thread. They should take the initiative and not letting us spoon feed them :)

sugan
29-04-2009, 09:43 PM
Hmm.. Let the incoming lower six start the stpm 2010 thread. They should take the initiative and not letting us spoon feed them :)

sorry to say choogirl, I am going to be in lower six this year
IOLITE VAPORIZER REVIEW (http://www.vaporizers.net/)

Johnivan
29-04-2009, 11:14 PM
they are still in the debating stages. heck, they even want to have a form six college. it would take at least a few more years for these to get implemented. trust me.

What bubblezlott3 and others said are true, according to our teachers. It will definitely not hit the 2009 and 2010 batches, but there will be a high probability that they will start the semester system in the years to come. So sad, STPM will be history next time...:cry

choogirl
30-04-2009, 02:52 PM
sorry to say choogirl, I am going to be in lower six this year

Oh, I'm sorry I didnt know! I thought people here are generally stpm 2008 and 2009. Very good of you to take initiative to learn from here.

Starting a new thread will be good :D

What bubblezlott3 and others said are true, according to our teachers. It will definitely not hit the 2009 and 2010 batches, but there will be a high probability that they will start the semester system in the years to come. So sad, STPM will be history next time...:cry

Oh... You can never be too sure. You should know how the government works. Besides, what if the other party takes over? *shrugs* the future is still undetermind. I'm not supporting any sides. Just my two cents here :)

sugan
30-04-2009, 04:05 PM
Oh, I'm sorry I didnt know! I thought people here are generally stpm 2008 and 2009. Very good of you to take initiative to learn from here.

Starting a new thread will be good :D

Oh... You can never be too sure. You should know how the government works. Besides, what if the other party takes over? *shrugs* the future is still undetermind. I'm not supporting any sides. Just my two cents here :)

so , probably stpm 2010 maybe the last
condos for sale Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

markwongsk
30-04-2009, 07:23 PM

I wont be too sad, at least we'll be remembered as the last warriors to fight the victorious battle and be forever epitomized as the vigilant soldiers who attempted the "highly impossible" (as much of my friends say... STPM is too hard -.- Of course they maybe just comforting you who is getting stuck in STPM so it's up to you :P)

twinkle4_ever
06-05-2009, 01:45 AM
anybody from smk hua lian taiping? wat does i need to wear for registration on 11th ma 2009.

sugan
06-05-2009, 01:49 AM
anyone here from negerisembilan? please tell me more on stpm schools inthere
VAPORIZER VOLCANO (http://volcanovaporizer.net/)

choogirl
06-05-2009, 10:59 AM
anybody from smk hua lian taiping? wat does i need to wear for registration on 11th ma 2009.

usually for registration, we wear our form six school uniform. Some schools might give you a short briefing after the registration or you can go home after that.

anbbly
06-05-2009, 11:57 PM
hihi~i m a newbie here~~
i hav some questions to ask all d seniors here~
hmm..i gt 10a1 n 2a2 in my spm..
n i gt offer fr matriculation..
but actually my dream is going to sg 4 chemical engineering..
so i decide to giv up matric n study F6..
but as we all noe..F6 is a tough path to take,isn't it?
m i too naive to giv up matric?
did anyone here ever face d same problem v me?

markwongsk
07-05-2009, 12:06 AM
hihi~i m a newbie here~~

If going to Singapore is your dream and you have chosen F6, do not waver in your decision. You are not naive to give up matric. On the contrary, you're mature enough to take risks and (hopefully) be responsible for whatever outcome F6 offers you. Therefore, start studying hard from today!

choogirl
07-05-2009, 09:29 AM
hihi~i m a newbie here~~

Very wise decision. I seriously think that STPM is SO MUCH better than matriks. An advice, since you are probably eyeing NUS, consider taking 5 subjects? My friend got 3A (a mixture of A and A-) and 2 B (B+ and B) got into NUS chemical engineering.

anbbly
07-05-2009, 01:38 PM
In fact, my teacher also said that STPM will be changing into a semester system, which means that the term "STPM" might become history in two years time...

ya..i heard abt tat tis year..but don noe when wil the system start??
hopefully it wil start tis year..haha :P
i haven prepare anything n F6 is going to begin nex monday..
haha~ :nod

07-05-2009, 01:40 PM
In fact, my teacher also said that STPM will be changing into a semester system, which means that the term "STPM" might become history in two years time...

That bill to change form 6 into junior college has been passed in the Parliament years ago. Until now, the implementation of the bill haven't started yet. So, it depends on the new Education Minister whether he want it to do it this year.

anbbly
07-05-2009, 01:48 PM
Very wise decision. I seriously think that STPM is SO MUCH better than matriks. An advice, since you are probably eyeing NUS, consider taking 5 subjects? My friend got 3A (a mixture of A and A-) and 2 B (B+ and B) got into NUS chemical engineering.

ya~i m going to take 5 subjects~
feel worry abt tat~but i wil try my best~
if really to hard 4 me than i wil drop it..
i m a physics class student but i wil take bio tuition outside~
simply do my exp in sch only~there wil b 20 exp hav to b done rite?:(
n actually..i wish to go in NTU~
i lov their holistic campus lifestyle compared to NUS~ha..:nod

That bill to change form 6 into junior college has been passed in the Parliament years ago. Until now, the implementation of the bill haven't started yet. So, it depends on the new Education Minister whether he want it to do it this year.

omg..hope it wil begin tis year~~
god bless me(n us perhaps)~~~:P

choogirl
07-05-2009, 02:44 PM
ya~i m going to take 5 subjects~
feel worry abt tat~but i wil try my best~
if really to hard 4 me than i wil drop it..
i m a physics class student but i wil take bio tuition outside~
simply do my exp in sch only~there wil b 20 exp hav to b done rite?:(
n actually..i wish to go in NTU~
i lov their holistic campus lifestyle compared to NUS~ha..:nod

omg..hope it wil begin tis year~~
god bless me(n us perhaps)~~~:P

Err... no no. I suggest you take physics tuition outside and do the bio class. The bio experiments involve dissection of rats and group work like collecting insects and plants.

tsar
07-05-2009, 09:52 PM
I concur with choogirl. Dissection maybe not so bad, but the ecology experiments are are grouped based and involve a lot of planning outside the lab. It's best if you're working with classmates with the same schedule. That said, if you're already close to your bio-mates (as former classmates or club members) perhaps it's still achieveable.

anbbly
07-05-2009, 11:51 PM
Err... no no. I suggest you take physics tuition outside and do the bio class. The bio experiments involve dissection of rats and group work like collecting insects and plants.

but wat i wan to study is engineering..
so i should take physics rite?
i don noe how tough as i take 5 subjects..
then if i do bio class wil it b too risky?
physics class oso need to do exp..
wat r d differents between bio exp n physics exp?

omg~~wat class should i enter??help~~~~:cry

I concur with choogirl. Dissection maybe not so bad, but the ecology experiments are are grouped based and involve a lot of planning outside the lab. It's best if you're working with classmates with the same schedule. That said, if you're already close to your bio-mates (as former classmates or club members) perhaps it's still achieveable.

tsar,u r a F6 student now?
bio class o physics class?
hmm..most of my former classmates(i mean gd frens)wil do bio class..
so..arrrgh...i stil don noe which class should i take..
SOBB..

If going to Singapore is your dream and you have chosen F6, do not waver in your decision. You are not naive to give up matric. On the contrary, you're mature enough to take risks and (hopefully) be responsible for whatever outcome F6 offers you. Therefore, start studying hard from today!

markwongsk~thx 4 ur encourage :)
i wil put my best feet forward to pursue my dream~~
may i ask one question..a level wil b much easier than stp?
actually i oso gt full scholarship fr inti for its a level..
i din go 4 it bcos of d high living expenses..
n i wish to take an extra subject which i hav to pay myself..
so abt rm15000++ for d whole program..hmm..:(

Eurytos
08-05-2009, 12:01 AM
but wat i wan to study is engineering..
so i should take physics rite?
i don noe how tough as i take 5 subjects..
then if i do bio class wil it b too risky?
physics class oso need to do exp..
wat r d differents between bio exp n physics exp?

omg~~wat class should i enter??help~~~~:cry

tsar,u r a F6 student now?
bio class o physics class?
hmm..most of my former classmates(i mean gd frens)wil do bio class..
so..arrrgh...i stil don noe which class should i take..
SOBB..

markwongsk~thx 4 ur encourage :)
i wil put my best feet forward to pursue my dream~~
may i ask one question..a level wil b much easier than stp?
actually i oso gt full scholarship fr inti for its a level..
i din go 4 it bcos of d high living expenses..
n i wish to take an extra subject which i hav to pay myself..
so abt rm15000++ for d whole program..hmm..:(

If you are looking to study engineering, I think you could consider taking Further Mathematics. Also if you have financial problems, the cost of living and tuition fee in Singapore are quite high too. You might want to secure a scholarship by getting 5 A's ? or even improve on ur co-curricular activities and resume. In the unfortunate event you fail to secure a scholarship, the tuition fee loan and study loan won't be able to completely cover your expenses there. You will still need at the very least 850 per month to fund you studies there ( which is the Bare Minimum ).

Anyway you could take biology as an optional subject, or you could study something more relevant to your future degree eg. Further Mathematics. Anyway good luck and all the best in your future endeavours. Hope that you will eventually fulfill your dream of studying in Singapore!!! : ) ) ) ) )

choogirl
08-05-2009, 12:02 AM
I suggest you take the bio class. The experiments for physics can be done solo (actually there are group wan too but it's not as bad as the bio group wan). Yes you need physics if you wanna do engineering, especially in NUS.

I think you should do bio class then take physics experiments after school. It's also a wise thing to talk to the school administration or perhaps someone in school who can advise you on what to do.

You might wanna ask tsar and markwongsk since they both did the bio class and took physics as an extra =) Mine was the 5 subjects combination so it wasn't a problem for me

A-level will be easier than STPM. But since you are FIRM in going into NUS chemical engineering, STPM has an edge compared to A-level even if you score lower in STPM.

PS: Is there no schools that offer 5 subject combination where you can go around ur area?

anbbly
08-05-2009, 12:24 AM
I suggest you take the bio class. The experiments for physics can be done solo (actually there are group wan too but it's not as bad as the bio group wan). Yes you need physics if you wanna do engineering, especially in NUS.

I think you should do bio class then take physics experiments after school. It's also a wise thing to talk to the school administration or perhaps someone in school who can advise you on what to do.

You might wanna ask tsar and markwongsk since they both did the bio class and took physics as an extra =) Mine was the 5 subjects combination so it wasn't a problem for me

A-level will be easier than STPM. But since you are FIRM in going into NUS chemical engineering, STPM has an edge compared to A-level even if you score lower in STPM.

PS: Is there no schools that offer 5 subject combination where you can go around ur area?

actually i heard my senior said tat d F6 sch which i m going to enter quite loose in control..i mean teachers r nt so strict..they oways did d exp in group(even it is a individual exp..)ha..:P
if i do bio class but in d half way i feel hard to cope v it n wan to drop d extra subject..how!?
physics is more important than bio if i wan engineering...
but don noe..i never study b4...so u think it is easier for me to do bio class instead of physics class..even wat i wan to study later is engineering??

tsar and markwongsk both took 5 subjects?
wow~cool man~how's their results?:nuts
so choogirl r u their former classmate?

but y STPM has an edge compared to A-level ??
bcos their gov noe tat stpm is tougher than a level?
hmm..actually i live in kulai so d onli sch i can go doesn't offer 5 subject combination..haiz..:(

choogirl
08-05-2009, 11:07 AM
actually i heard my senior said tat d F6 sch which i m going to enter quite loose in control..i mean teachers r nt so strict..they oways did d exp in group(even it is a individual exp..)ha..:P
if i do bio class but in d half way i feel hard to cope v it n wan to drop d extra subject..how!?
physics is more important than bio if i wan engineering...
but don noe..i never study b4...so u think it is easier for me to do bio class instead of physics class..even wat i wan to study later is engineering??

tsar and markwongsk both took 5 subjects?
wow~cool man~how's their results?:nuts
so choogirl r u their former classmate?

but y STPM has an edge compared to A-level ??
bcos their gov noe tat stpm is tougher than a level?
hmm..actually i live in kulai so d onli sch i can go doesn't offer 5 subject combination..haiz..:(

Hmm.. I see. If you are absolutely certain you wanna do five subjects, then it's bio class. But seriously, if all you want is a place in NUS, you don't have to do 5 subjects. You can get CGPA 4.0 in four subjects and be offered a place in NUS for chem engineering.

You can also try taking 5 subjects in the bio class first. If you can't cope, drop bio later on and then transfer to Physics class (check first whether the school allows you to do so).

So, it's seriously down to what you want.

LOL. they both are national top scorers. Nope, I'm not their former classmate. LOL.

yes, because their gov knows that. STPM top scorers are notified earlier about the uni offer compared to those who have done A-levels, including the singapore a-level. I think that says something =)

PS: reading the other threads of STPM might be helpful =)

anbbly
08-05-2009, 01:34 PM
Hmm.. I see. If you are absolutely certain you wanna do five subjects, then it's bio class. But seriously, if all you want is a place in NUS, you don't have to do 5 subjects. You can get CGPA 4.0 in four subjects and be offered a place in NUS for chem engineering.

You can also try taking 5 subjects in the bio class first. If you can't cope, drop bio later on and then transfer to Physics class (check first whether the school allows you to do so).

So, it's seriously down to what you want.

LOL. they both are national top scorers. Nope, I'm not their former classmate. LOL.

yes, because their gov knows that. STPM top scorers are notified earlier about the uni offer compared to those who have done A-levels, including the singapore a-level. I think that says something =)

PS: reading the other threads of STPM might be helpful =)

huu..i jus settle d F6 things today..
d PPD officer told me to wait 4 d offer letter to go F6..:notrust
but d orientation is going to start on monday..
so i approach d sch directly n meet d principal..:nod
i m going to start my F6 life on d coming monday~~hooray~~:))

isn't it easier to get into NTU v 5 subjects?
oh ya.i prefer NTU than NUS..hehe..
i had asked the teacher there abt tat..
she said better do physics class as wat i wan to study is engineering..
but seem like she don noe the different between exps done in two classes..
thx for ur advise again~~
it helps me a lot~~:)
u r a grad fr stpm?so wat r u studying now?

choogirl
08-05-2009, 02:47 PM
I thought you can print the letter from the internet. That was what I did.

Hooray~~ I also wanna go form six again T.T

Not sure about that. Why NTU more than NUS? NUS is top 30 in the whole world.

Yeap, I did stpm last year. Waiting for university now :)

Johnivan
08-05-2009, 04:49 PM

It will definitely not start this year... But 1 to 2 years to come, if nothing extraordinary happens...

but seem like she don noe the different between exps done in two classes..

Talking about experiments:
Physics experiments are the easiest among all the experiments. All you need is to sit down and observe the stuff go moving up and down, heat up and cool down, plot graphs, and find gradients. But it is depressing to sit down and listen to the audio generator (Eeeeeeeeee...) just to get the resonance frequency...

Biology experiments are the hardest among all. They are hands-on and you need to somehow "get dirty" and have the courage to do them. Disecting rats, catching bugs and butterflies during lower six year end holidays (we physics students were enjoying our holidays, by the way...), Aww... A little disgusting, that's why i didn't take Bio...

Chemistry experiments are somewhere in between, but requires a person to be careful when taking readings, significant figures, pouring chemicals, etc. It requires your patience and 'carefulness'. Be careful not to stain your white uniforms with potassium manganate or silver nitrate... I pity my school pants...:cry

tsar
08-05-2009, 09:30 PM
Ha ha Johnivan you have no idea what you missed in Biology.

anbbly before I say anything let me give you a pat on the back for wanting to take five subjects :).

Personally, I think it's not practical to take up 5 subjects and then decide to drop or not later. The mind will be conditioned with too many IFs, and an aura of uncertainty will always surround the person. It's best if one can decide yes or no from the start, and work the way from there.

Though I agree with you about staying in Physics class for the sake of your engineering dream. If you're confident about maintaining a close rapport with your bio-mates, by all means. :))

anbbly
09-05-2009, 04:06 AM
I thought you can print the letter from the internet. That was what I did.

Hooray~~ I also wanna go form six again T.T

Not sure about that. Why NTU more than NUS? NUS is top 30 in the whole world.

Yeap, I did stpm last year. Waiting for university now :)

i got d offer for matric..so my name is automatically cancelled from d F6 list..
haha..so it's really troublesome..:P
i ever visited both uni..i prefer NTU enviroment..it's nt abt d ranking..
n i heard tat NTU has a more holistic campus lifestyle compared to NUS..:nod
so which uni r u waiting for..?

It will definitely not start this year... But 1 to 2 years to come, if nothing extraordinary happens...

Be careful not to stain your white uniforms with potassium manganate or silver nitrate... I pity my school pants...:cry

thx for ur explanation~n i wil try to b careful while doing my chemis exp~haha:))

Ha ha Johnivan you have no idea what you missed in Biology.

Though I agree with you about staying in Physics class for the sake of your engineering dream. If you're confident about maintaining a close rapport with your bio-mates, by all means. :))

hmm..but i never study b4..how i noe how tough they r..?
but i agree v wat u said..
actually most of my gd frens r going to do bio class..:amuse
so in relative,i may hav d problem if i wan to do physics exp then..
i mean if i do bio class..

choogirl
10-05-2009, 10:07 AM
You shouldnt have apply for matriks then. Waiting for LSE.

amanda_wong
10-05-2009, 01:18 PM
Hi all!I'm a STPM leaver..currently studying in UPM..wish you guys all the best in your STPM! =)

By the way, there is a MIRACLE Youthe Conference 2009 from 1st - 5th June 2009 in UPM Serdang, anyone interested to join?
In year 2006, when I was a form 6 student, I joined this conference, it was really cool and it helps in my co-curriculum marks, I got the international level marks and it's really high. It might help alot in your application for local uni.
go to www.miracleupm.blogspot.com (http://www.miracleupm.blogspot.com) for more details alright?
GOOD LUCK! =)

Band 5 is high right??

Dear all,

I'm a form 6 leaver and is currently studying in UPM. I have something great for all form sixers (especially lower six students).

There is a 5-day conference (MIRACLE Youth Conference 2009) from 1-5 June 2009 in UPM Serdang.

It is a great exposure to all of you and it contribute alot to your co-curriculum marks. I attended this conference in year 2006, and I obtained international level marks for this activity for my co-cu marks.

Be more active in lower six, so you can concentrate in your studies more during upper six.

go to www.miracleupm.blogspot.com (http://www.miracleupm.blogspot.com) for more details on the conference.

tsar
10-05-2009, 09:53 PM
In my year, they started a system whereby only programmes approved by the ministry of education carry co-curricular marks. I'm not sure how wide is the implementation though. Anyone encountered this?

13-05-2009, 10:28 PM
Ummm. Do you guy realise this is "STPM 2009" ? "Matrikulasi Vs STPM".

Johnivan
14-05-2009, 04:25 PM
Ummm. Do you guy realise this is "STPM 2009" ? "Matrikulasi Vs STPM".

Yes, Xon... I wanted to say the same thing too: Please don't treat this thread as a diary for lower six students for 2009. If i had the chance, i would have wanted to drag all your posts here to somewhere more relevant. This is supposed to be for STPM 2009! Please make it clear... You can start a new thread and continue your discussions there.

We don't mind helping, but please don't make us read all your diaries...

mitsukolyn
15-05-2009, 09:26 PM
i agree with johnivan...it makes me felt bored reading those posts too...i mean...u guys can create a new thread and talk bout ur experiences there...xmake us read wad u guys felt ur first day at sch and stuff...anyway...johnivan,wen's ur mid term?

15-05-2009, 11:07 PM
Friendly reminder was given,but it was being ignored. I am the one who removed all the not-so-related-to-STPM-2009 posts to http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=244340#post244340

I apologize to Johnivan/Mitsukolyn etc for the delay in action.

Johnivan
17-05-2009, 11:13 PM
i agree with johnivan...it makes me felt bored reading those posts too...i mean...u guys can create a new thread and talk bout ur experiences there...xmake us read wad u guys felt ur first day at sch and stuff...anyway...johnivan,wen's ur mid term?

Oh... It's on the 25th of May... One week...

Oh gosh, leaving me 1 week to study... I was busy helping the committee welcoming the lower six students, and now got to get back to the grind of studying... Our Chemistry is whole of Physical and 1st Chapter of Organic... Physics whole Volume 1 and 5 chapters of electric...

How about you? hope you did well for your speaking that day...

By the way, thanks Xon. Do study hard too... :)

yna2gatorade
18-05-2009, 07:58 PM
anyone here is taking accounts? i was from science stream. now im in arts. hell yes i know nothing. and my teacher showed me the pengajian am thingy. the markings and stuff. fewhhh. guys we better dig it in. :D

markwongsk
18-05-2009, 10:49 PM
anyone here is taking accounts? i was from science stream. now im in arts. hell yes i know nothing. and my teacher showed me the pengajian am thingy. the markings and stuff. fewhhh. guys we better dig it in. :D

I sat for SPM Accounts... Maybe I can help a bit =)

Nickel
18-05-2009, 10:56 PM
har??? hahax....

deanboy
22-05-2009, 03:20 PM
Hi,im a newbie here.im studying lower six tis year.can any1 tell me wat problems will i face if i change from science stream 2 art stream n hw 2 handle these problems?

By the way,d semester system will b starting after june holiday:cry.8am-1pm 4 studies,after lunch is 4 co-curiculum...

tsar
22-05-2009, 07:19 PM
So does that mean no more STPM from 2010 onwards?

anbbly
23-05-2009, 12:54 AM
So does that mean no more STPM from 2010 onwards?
huh?wat does it mean??after my badge no more F6?

Miriam
01-06-2009, 11:32 PM

The essay must have:

Synthesis (S):

Conclusion (C):

Assumptions (Assm):

150 to 200 words:

Your tips sounds very familiar....is it from kasturi?

Johnivan
02-06-2009, 11:15 PM
Your tips sounds very familiar....is it from kasturi?

Kasturi? No idea who is it or where is it... The tips are from my own MUET teacher. Anybody knows when will the results be out? I hope i could at least get above 240...

sugarspice
02-06-2009, 11:44 PM
Kasturi? No idea who is it or where is it... The tips are from my own MUET teacher. Anybody knows when will the results be out? I hope i could at least get above 240...

It usually takes around two months, so it will be around late June or early July.

daisylady
03-06-2009, 04:50 PM
Hi,im a newbie here.im studying lower six tis year.can any1 tell me wat problems will i face if i change from science stream 2 art stream n hw 2 handle these problems?

By the way,d semester system will b starting after june holiday:cry.8am-1pm 4 studies,after lunch is 4 co-curiculum...

start at 8?? how cum ive nvr hear of dis. or maybe the system here in sabah is quite different?

03-06-2009, 07:29 PM
actually it depends on the school itself. my school for example is 7.30 until 3.45. and my school involves this year upper six students too.

mitsukolyn
03-06-2009, 09:38 PM
Oh... It's on the 25th of May... One week...

Oh gosh, leaving me 1 week to study... I was busy helping the committee welcoming the lower six students, and now got to get back to the grind of studying... Our Chemistry is whole of Physical and 1st Chapter of Organic... Physics whole Volume 1 and 5 chapters of electric...

How about you? hope you did well for your speaking that day...

By the way, thanks Xon. Do study hard too... :)

oops...so sorry for the late reply...was busy with mid exam last few weeks...haha..same as urs...my chem? comprises whole physical and organic till phenol...sigh...i guess i did badly this exam...tend to forgotten so many things during the exam..sigh...

sugarspice
15-06-2009, 09:06 PM
My school is confirmed to have the 'college system' or whatsoever it's called starting from July onwards. School will dismiss at 4pm on Monday to Thursday, and 12pm on Friday. Classes end at 2pm, after that is coco/revision.

Too bad, upper sixers are affected too. So bad, so bad...gotta stay back at school...I hate it. =(((

16-06-2009, 06:29 PM
My school is confirmed to have the 'college system' or whatsoever it's called starting from July onwards. School will dismiss at 4pm on Monday to Thursday, and 12pm on Friday. Classes end at 2pm, after that is coco/revision.

Too bad, upper sixers are affected too. So bad, so bad...gotta stay back at school...I hate it. =(((

Same here. Just that our afternoon session is just like a normal class, not coco.

rightthru
16-06-2009, 09:19 PM

is this really happening? it would mess up my time big time!!!
why cant the government just leave us alone, first is the english in sc and mx, then spm students cannot take more than ten subjects, then this???

why cant they just focus on politics and the economic crisis?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

WTF!!!:mad:mad:mad:mad:mad:mad:mad:mad:mad

mitsukolyn
16-06-2009, 10:57 PM
Lolx...this thread has to be kick-start again...Anyway,does anyone here know when is our STPM trial?? Can anyone enlighten me? How's ur preparation for trial?
Sighh...I got real bad results for my Mid year Exam...SOB SOB SOB...

tsar
16-06-2009, 11:11 PM
There is a STPM 2010 thread going on. One might find some interesting information there as well. :)

sugarspice
17-06-2009, 05:34 AM
STPM 2009 Trial should be around September, which is abt 3 more months to go. Jia You!

And that "college system" differs from school to school. Some schools in my area did not even opt for it. So, their form 6 continues as usual. My school very hiao =.=

lordblood
17-06-2009, 12:02 PM
i don't see the point of the college system.. my fren goes to college and he studies 5 hours a day, not from morning till evening.. research has shown studying longer doesn't make u better, it's the method of studying.. and if u actually start studying in the morning, say 7.30am, by noon u'll run out of steam and will just be floating in and out of class.. =p

sugarspice
17-06-2009, 02:39 PM
^Agreed. But obviously we can't do anything about it.

Btw, my school's PK1 just told us that upper six this year will not be affected. (The teacher who told me the other day was sotong de) Thanks God! Huu Huu~~

Johnivan
19-06-2009, 03:48 PM
Yay... It's the second half of the year!
How's everyone's results? I'm quite satisfied with Maths Chem & Phy, but sad to get a B+ for PA... I got only 9 marks for laras sastera and 6 marks for Bahagian E... Bad Bad Bad :cry... Anybody has good tips for PA? I really got to brush up my PA...

Anyway,does anyone here know when is our STPM trial?? Can anyone enlighten me? How's ur preparation for trial?

My Pengetua said that the trials is 11 weeks to go, which i think is 1 September 2009, right after the holidays. Gosh, It's so fast... Still have to face my Penilaian Ke-2 4 weeks after this...

One more thing... I heard that MUET is either coming out next week or week after...

sugarspice
20-06-2009, 12:23 PM
11 weeks! that sounds fast!

How bt the actual STPM, when is it?

Johnivan
23-06-2009, 08:50 PM
11 weeks! that sounds fast!

How bt the actual STPM, when is it?

It's 18 November to 10 December.:)

Can anyone share a little on how to tackle PA Bahagian E questions? Like how to choose whether it's alasan berkaitan or alasan tidak berkaitan etc etc...

sugarspice
23-06-2009, 09:15 PM
^ What do you mean by 'alasan'?

mitsukolyn
23-06-2009, 11:47 PM
my ttn teacher said this year most likely to cum out either both carta or one carta,one jadual....

uhm...abt the alasan thing i oso not so sure....

anbbly
24-06-2009, 11:03 PM
in bahagian E,d alasan is smth like huraian..just some reasons for y does it happen?d importance of something..blarblarblar..correct me if i m wrong..:P

sugarspice
25-06-2009, 09:44 PM
Oh, it's usually either 'sebab' or 'langkah' or 'kesan'. There's no such thing as 'alasan', as far as I know...

There are different techniques to write those, depending on how the question is phrased. Your PA teacher should teach you de...

saintbear
02-07-2009, 10:00 PM
Hi there. I am just wondering if u guys are aware that our syllabus for STPM was actually revised (which I don't know how and when). We are learning less than our seniors,tat's for sure. So I wonder if any of you can let me know if your teacher is teaching according to the latest syllabus or the old ones? =/

Johnivan
03-07-2009, 11:02 PM
Hi there. I am just wondering if u guys are aware that our syllabus for STPM was actually revised (which I don't know how and when). We are learning less than our seniors,tat's for sure. So I wonder if any of you can let me know if your teacher is teaching according to the latest syllabus or the old ones? =/

Hmmm... It was revised in 2002. It's true that we are learning lesser than the seniors before 2002... My teachers are all teacher according the new ones, except that sometimes they will tell us a little about the older syllabus...

Oh, sorry, I didn't explain...
Well, actually i don't know when i should i use the sebab/faktor/kesan stuff in another paragraph, and when should it be put in the same paragraph... Then there are times I don't know how many Isi from each part is needed... Because my PA teacher is 'hopeless'...

yeeyong
06-07-2009, 10:36 PM
do anyone know when's the trial exam???

sugarspice
07-07-2009, 05:25 AM
Early september.

Johnivan
08-07-2009, 11:10 PM
After the Raya Holidays.

sugarspice
09-07-2009, 05:38 AM
Wah, I think diff school has diff dates bah, my school wants it early....

Johnivan
10-07-2009, 10:54 PM
Oops, I think i got it wrong, It's not after the Raya Holidays, that's too late dy...
It's after August Holidays. Hehe...:))

saintbear
12-07-2009, 07:30 PM
Oops, I think i got it wrong, It's not after the Raya Holidays, that's too late dy...
It's after August Holidays. Hehe...:))

ours is b4 the august holiday.. which is less than a month to go :cry

by the way,guys... MUET results out in abt 4 hours and 38 minutes!!! =x

imforumer
12-07-2009, 09:02 PM
About the MUET, ya, the results will be out tomorrow. I'm so anxious about it, hope to get Band 4 and above.

However, our MUET class is still on as usual -_-, eventhough we get band 6. How about you guys?

sugarspice
13-07-2009, 05:29 AM
lol.....our MUET teacher had never enter the class since we had our Mid Year MUET.

By the way, have you guys (those who sat for SPM2007) gotten your GCE O cert?

13-07-2009, 07:52 PM
Same here. My teacher too, had never enter the class since we had our Mid Year MUET. GCE O cert? There's such cert? I didn't know leh.

sugarspice
14-07-2009, 05:45 AM
Yes, there is.

Li Shan Shung
17-07-2009, 01:43 PM
Yes, there is.

I retrieved it last year from my form 5 school office. They insisted everyone pick it up personally. Can't imagine the reason...

About the MUET, ya, the results will be out tomorrow. I'm so anxious about it, hope to get Band 4 and above.

However, our MUET class is still on as usual -_-, eventhough we get band 6. How about you guys?

All MUET periods taken up by other subject teachers. Those who wish to resit for the test will compile in 1 class and study under a MUET teacher during MUET periods. (all classes have MUET periods at the same time)

sugarspice
18-07-2009, 06:08 AM
I retrieved it last year from my form 5 school office. They insisted everyone pick it up personally. Can't imagine the reason...

OMG! That means mine is still in the school office? but last year my school only asked us to take our STPM cert, and they said that the GCE O cert hasnt arrived yet. Until now still there's still no news about it...

vaduz
18-07-2009, 02:20 PM
hi there:).. we are gonna hv to face the battle soon... just wondering whether are you all prepared for it??haha...

mitsukolyn
20-07-2009, 08:57 PM
guys....when's ur trial?

vaduz
20-07-2009, 09:01 PM
mine starts on 2nd september.. wat bout urs??

sailah
22-07-2009, 09:54 AM
i'm newbie here and taking stpm in sc stream.
need yours exam questions from first assessment until trial.
e-mail me at sailah_e2s@<hidden>

sugarspice
26-07-2009, 08:53 AM
Seniors, issit okay to write using pencil for STPM Maths paper?

I am used to answering with pencil for maths paper at school...as I need to erase my answers quite often...

vaduz
26-07-2009, 10:57 AM
me too.. im used to answer my maths paper in pencil.. is it allowed??
AND.. to those taking stpm this year WHICH IS COMING REALLLY SOON...
for curiosity sake... how long do you study per day??

tsar
26-07-2009, 11:20 AM
I don't recall a specific rule prohibiting the use of pencils...but I'd recommend using ball point pens over pencils for a few reasons.

1. Pencil marks smudge. The examiner can't mark what he/she can't read. Besides that, the journey from the exam hall to the examiner's hands is not exactly first class.
2. Rubbing does not erase the pencil mark completely. Writing a new answer over it will again, make your answer harder to read.
3. Time. Why spend time rubbing away a wrong answer when you can just tap for a new piece of paper?
4. Psychology. Using an "unerasable" pen shows you have confidence in your answers.
5. Pencil marks are erasable - I don't like the thought of that.

vaduz
26-07-2009, 01:03 PM
tsar, are you an stpm student as well??

lowxuan
26-07-2009, 01:36 PM
I don't recall a specific rule prohibiting the use of pencils...but I'd recommend using ball point pens over pencils for a few reasons.

1. Pencil marks smudge. The examiner can't mark what he/she can't read. Besides that, the journey from the exam hall to the examiner's hands is not exactly first class.
2. Rubbing does not erase the pencil mark completely. Writing a new answer over it will again, make your answer harder to read.
3. Time. Why spend time rubbing away a wrong answer when you can just tap for a new piece of paper?
4. Psychology. Using an "unerasable" pen shows you have confidence in your answers.
5. Pencil marks are erasable - I don't like the thought of that.

Yeah..it's true...though there arent any rules stating that using pencil is illegal...but using pencil is not that good..coz in my teacher's opinion... there're cases that "some1" (dunno who) rub off the candidate's answer, who wrote it in pencil...sooooo...in the end...the candidate is marked wrong ..coz he/she has no answer in his/her paper...

vaduz
26-07-2009, 04:33 PM
seniors and stpm students...
i need help..
how do u study for subjects like chemistry and maths?
because i feel that no matter how much effort i put into these 2 subject, i cant get an A.. not even an A-. its disapointing..:(
and bio need a lot of memorising.. how did u all manage to memorise all the facts for stpm??

pls help... thanks in advance..

tsar
26-07-2009, 05:08 PM
Yeah..it's true...though there arent any rules stating that using pencil is illegal...but using pencil is not that good..coz in my teacher's opinion... there're cases that "some1" (dunno who) rub off the candidate's answer, who wrote it in pencil...sooooo...in the end...the candidate is marked wrong ..coz he/she has no answer in his/her paper...

I doubt there are such people these days, but again it highlights how an answer written in pencil is so open to tampering. :)

seniors and stpm students...
i need help..
how do u study for subjects like chemistry and maths?
because i feel that no matter how much effort i put into these 2 subject, i cant get an A.. not even an A-. its disapointing..:(
and bio need a lot of memorising.. how did u all manage to memorise all the facts for stpm??

pls help... thanks in advance..

Stop memorising and start understanding. Once understood, remember it. :)

sugarspice
27-07-2009, 05:39 AM
Alright, a big thank you to all, I think I need to start doing maths using a pen from now on...

Do the STPM answer sheets come in a booklet or sheets of papers?

tsar
27-07-2009, 12:25 PM
Sheets of paper, with green lines if I'm not mistaken. A yellow Cover will be provided. For those who have taken MUET Writing, if I recall correctly it's exactly the same as the ones used in MUET Writing.

vaduz
27-07-2009, 07:05 PM
thanks for your advices people!!! =)

rightthru
29-07-2009, 05:31 PM

never really thought of that, good one

i dont really trust your story:wink

vaduz
29-07-2009, 09:20 PM
you might never know what is true and what is not true in this world...

sugarspice
30-07-2009, 05:29 AM
Hey people,

For those who sat for SPM 2006/20007, did u receive your GCE O lvl English cert?

My PK 1 said that MPM does not issue this cert anymore since SPM2006 batch, but I still hear some seniors who got that cert....weird?

vaduz
30-07-2009, 06:32 AM
no i didnt receive any GCE O lvl English cert. in fact when i went back to school they didnt give me that cert.. only SPM cert..

chongkeat
30-07-2009, 09:22 PM
Nope, me neither. Just the SPM cert.

vaduz
31-07-2009, 08:03 PM
Guys...

How do you study for subjects like Mathematic T & Chemistry?
I mean how do you perpare yourself for exam in those 2 subjects??

Thank You

yixin
02-08-2009, 04:18 PM
whr cn I get STPM past year questions and schema for PA,Maths S,Eko,n Akaun??

sugarspice
04-08-2009, 10:02 PM
^For past year papers, you can try looking for books published by Longman or Oxford fajar

The marking scheme is 'sulit'. Therefore, the only way to know a little about the latest format and marking scheme is through very experienced marker(examiner). If your teacher is a marker of STPM, then you have no problem. If not, go and get one.

rightthru
05-08-2009, 08:30 PM
^

The marking scheme is 'sulit'. Therefore, the only way to know a little about the latest format and marking scheme is through very experienced marker(examiner). If your teacher is a marker of STPM, then you have no problem. If not, go and get one.

the marking scheme is "sulit"? :amazed,then how do we suppose to know how to answer the questions?
i think yixin was talking about the format of the actual stpm papers, sugarspice

i think you have to rephrase your question to make it clearer, yixin

anyway, anyone who knows about the format of stpm papers, please dont be shy to share it with us:laugh

mitsukolyn
07-08-2009, 11:38 PM
anyone knw when would the timetable for STPM will be out?

Johnivan
08-08-2009, 12:04 AM
Guys...

How do you study for subjects like Mathematic T & Chemistry?
I mean how do you perpare yourself for exam in those 2 subjects??

Thank You

For Maths T, I would say that I really STUDY! I read thru the text book and then understand how to go about. I seldom do exercises and it can make me get an average of 80 marks for every exam... Not recommended to ppl who are not so analytical... But what i'm trying to say is this: the only way to master Maths is to understand it!

For chemistry, I make short notes for Physical. I have a table of reactions for organic to make me remember the equations, conditions easier...

anyone knw when would the timetable for STPM will be out?

I'm waiting for it too... So curious to know what subject goes first and what comes next... But the trials timetable is out for Johor...

vaduz
08-08-2009, 08:48 AM
thank you johnivan...
Ill try my very very best..

Good Luck to u and all the best in your studies =)

chongkeat
08-08-2009, 05:00 PM
Trial timetables are out for my school, too!

kaiyi
09-08-2009, 06:41 PM
how about the syllabus, finish already?
im in Johor so trial only left 2 weeks n we still got 2 topic of Maths n 4 topics of Biology!
i heard the MPM still not set the STPM timetable yet...

vaduz
09-08-2009, 06:52 PM
Trial timetable is out for my school too!!
We are left with one topic for Math and are doing the last chapter of Bio now.

Good Luck everyone!!!

Johnivan
11-08-2009, 10:57 PM
Maths 2 we have our last chapter, Differential Equations...
Maths 1 simultaneously finishing Functions & C. Geometry...
Physics? Still a long way off... only until Atomic Structure...
Chemistry left inorganic + Carboxylic derivatives...

Man, i don't think we'll finish before the trials...

mitsukolyn
14-08-2009, 12:39 AM
sighh..i think im gonna phone up the person in charge of STPM to ask bout the timetable tomorrow...anyway...thnks for ur reply...sighh...trial...headache...!!!zZZZzz~~

but johnivan,ur so geng!! just studying math without exercises u still able to score 80 above...impressive...i reli need a math expert to teach me math..esp math 2....:(
math was so tough to me...
my math syllabus had been taught all...
chem left 3 more chapters of inorganic....
bio i gues 3 more...

14-08-2009, 08:16 PM
My trial is on 1st of sept. Only 2 weeks away.

Johnivan
14-08-2009, 11:09 PM
but johnivan,ur so geng!! just studying math without exercises u still able to score 80 above...impressive...i reli need a math expert to teach me math..esp math 2....:(
math was so tough to me...
my math syllabus had been taught all...

Haha, thanks for your compliments... But I'm not that super greatlah... the cons of not doing exercises is that I'll make a lot of careless mistakes... I would say that I know how to do almost 95% of the questions, but always end up being deducted marks because of carelessness... I think Further Maths helps too...

Ya, I agree that Maths 2 is getting tougher and tougher as we finish the whole syllabus... I hate geometry deduction and vectors... They give me the most headache...

chongkeat
16-08-2009, 05:30 PM
God! My trial is like 20 days away or something!

Let's see....
"Officially" the teaching is done with math, but I think most of the class are only about half way through,
Physics is somewhere around Optics, which I think is the most confusing chapter ever,
For Chem, there's still Inorganic and some Organic stuff,
And PA can go to hell, until 3 days before the exam, that is.
There. I am so dead.

Ya, I agree that Maths 2 is getting tougher and tougher as we finish the whole syllabus... I hate geometry deduction and vectors... They give me the most headache...
Hey, I like geometric deduction. And I think vectors are kinda easy compared with stuff like Integration and Coordinate Geometry, my least favourite topics. And another one I like is Probability, which is tedious but kinda cool.

And I think Polynomials are just about completely forgotten. My last polynomial question was like a year ago......

sailah
17-08-2009, 03:39 PM
help me!!
if u guys had past year trial or true stpm exam questions (bio especially),
e-mail me at Xon removed your email. SHARING IS FOR PUBLIC,NOT PERSONAL.

sugarspice
18-08-2009, 05:48 AM
Hey, I like geometric deduction. And I think vectors are kinda easy compared with stuff like Integration and Coordinate Geometry, my least favourite topics. And another one I like is Probability, which is tedious but kinda cool.

And I think Polynomials are just about completely forgotten. My last polynomial question was like a year ago......

I hate geometric deduction and vectors (especially those involving velocities....) but I like integration...lol. Polynomial is easy, you can do the question even tho you've forgotten evrything.

Anyway, I have something to ask about PA.

In bahagian E, lets say we are given 3 pie charts with three different 'jumlah' for year 1991, 1993 and 1995 showing the different percentages of 'kes aduan pencemaran' for different categories of 'pencemaran', how are we supposed to write?

Do we need to calculate the actual number or just write according to the percentages?

Because sometimes although the percentage increases, the actual number decreases.

How do your PA teacher tells you about this kind of question?

kaiyi
20-08-2009, 10:16 PM
write what you see.
so, you need to write the 'pola' according to percentage. nilai mutlak need to be calculated too.
if percentage show different pola with the nilai mutlak, that can be another idea.

our biology teacher gave us past year question since 1993 (though not complete set), so we'll do lotzzzzzzz of stuff.chemistry same thing too.the 'ancient' sets are all in BM.

Li Shan Shung
22-08-2009, 09:45 PM
My biology teacher gave out answers to past year trial questions. Physics still 7 chapters behind. I'm so dead. Maths.... i hate geometry deduction, why do i need to explain so much ...... coordinate and integration are way easier. PA essays are like gambling. keeping my fingers crossed for straightforward questions...

Trial in 12 days, i shudder to think about my results.

(unrelated question: I heard a friend's brother applied for Monash University using trial results and get AUD 20,000 scholarship. is that possible (using trial to apply for foreign uni)?

23-08-2009, 12:13 AM
Anyone have any idea when will the official timetable out? Anxious. August almost comes to the end,yet no news yet.

<DIGRESSION> yes,trial results are essential for certain universities.

mitsukolyn
24-08-2009, 09:33 AM
the timetable is actually out since 20 August...I've asked the minister in charge...u can check on their webbie...^^
Biology 2 would be the first day...*pengsan*

sigh...i think im going to be in dead meat for trials...do exchange papers after u guys finished it ya!! btw..wen is ur trial?

vaduz
25-08-2009, 03:04 PM
guys check out majlis peperiksaan website for the stpm timetable!!!

markwongsk
28-08-2009, 05:46 PM
the timetable is actually out since 20 August...I've asked the minister in charge...u can check on their webbie...^^
Biology 2 would be the first day...*pengsan*

sigh...i think im going to be in dead meat for trials...do exchange papers after u guys finished it ya!! btw..wen is ur trial?

That's good. Get the ones that need most memorizing over with first. =D

trivngan90
28-08-2009, 09:15 PM
whr cn I get STPM past year questions and schema for PA,Maths S,Eko,n Akaun??

i hav eko. past year question... frm year 2002 until 2008 (mikro & makro) but dun hav da answer...