View Full Version : Discussion: Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan 2009

mitsukolyn
03-02-2009, 02:40 AM
hey..is there anyone here entering the Kuiz kimia?? i was quite worried as my teacher suddenly told me that i was selected with two other guys frm my sch for the quiz...so..im reli new to these and i need advices frm experienced seniors...hw must i prepare??

amoebaleong
03-02-2009, 10:28 AM
hey..is there anyone here entering the Kuiz kimia?? i was quite worried as my teacher suddenly told me that i was selected with two other guys frm my sch for the quiz...so..im reli new to these and i need advices frm experienced seniors...hw must i prepare??

Unlike Olimpiad Matematic Kebangsaan, the question from K3M is still in the school syllabus. If your are in F5 or Upper Six, just study your textbook or reference book is enough. Do work hard on it and aim for a High Distinction. Who knows, you might be selected to represent Malaysia in ICHO.

03-02-2009, 12:57 PM
Seconded. Basically the KKK it's just a "harder version" of your ordinary chemistry exams.

celestial_sacred
03-02-2009, 10:55 PM
If you weren't briefed, it's just an objective paper. It'll be slightly more difficult than your school syllabus but still manageable. Even if it's still early of the year, it's better to read everything in your Chemistry books, or try to just look through if you'd like to get a distinction certificate. The certificate is quite useful if you're pursuing Chemistry-oriented fields, I think. xD Just try your best. No harm entering it~

lawteoh
09-02-2009, 01:23 AM

Last year, I didn't even know the quiz was that particular day till someone inform and remind in school that very day.. lolz.. still manage to get distinction.. so, no need to worry la.. its all in syllabus. Just basically, you need to manage your time well, as time is limited. And hope u hv done ur revision consistently especially with physical chem. With that, you might be able to get high distinction..

sugarspice
09-02-2009, 05:41 AM
That means we need to study the whole STPM syllabus before taking KKK??

Glassylicious
09-02-2009, 06:13 AM
That means we need to study the whole STPM syllabus before taking KKK??

SPM level-lah. I don't think STPM stuff are asked. This is, after all, a quiz meant for Form Five students.

sugarspice
09-02-2009, 06:53 AM
Oh? That means we will be taking the same paper as Form 5 students?

I always thought there is another set for form6 de....

peihoon
09-02-2009, 11:28 AM
No, there is a different set... if not mistaken, it is advaced level...
i was only informed regarding this quiz in june or july...
i didnt have time to prepare but still managed to get a high distinction... =)

a lot of calculation, but overall not too hard... just solve the questions as fast as possible...
all the best to those who take part in this quiz...

Athersin
09-02-2009, 01:09 PM
Yup peihoon rite! there are 2 categories, SPM and STPM, The advancedone for sure is STPM lor:)

amoebaleong
09-02-2009, 04:44 PM
Just a reminder, K3M is quite competitive in the sense that it is easy to get high marks. Make some careless mistakes and you will find yourself getting a distinction rather than high distinction. Here (http://www.ikm.org.my/K3M.html) is the link to last year K3M report.

CCY_to_the_top
09-02-2009, 05:58 PM
K3m is very easy...just try to get all 50 right..u might pack urself with RM200 cash price..haha..got it last year..

sugarspice
09-02-2009, 07:57 PM
Which part of form6 chem syllabus do we need to really focus on?

You guys say calculations, that means it's more on physical chem?:huh

I just asked my teacher today. She said the the KKK will test all form6 physical and organic syllabus. Inorganic is not tested in KKK. Is there such thing?!

Senior please offer some tips as I really wanna get sth more than a merit.

mitsukolyn
09-02-2009, 10:39 PM
wah..thnks a lot,seniors..ur advices really helped alot...i would work hard frm now on...wish me luck^^

luminodreamer89
10-02-2009, 12:35 AM
hey guys...would like to ask a question..
erm..actually i have just completed my A-levels recently..am i still eligible to take part in the KKK for the form 6 group(Advanced level)?
hope that sum1 can clear my doubt..thanks in advance..^^

music_freak28
10-02-2009, 10:16 AM
Is it only open to STPM and SPM students?
What if I am currently an A-Level student? Am I still eligible to join? Because I am really interested to join.. How do I sign up for it?

peihoon
10-02-2009, 10:52 AM
Which part of form6 chem syllabus do we need to really focus on?

You guys say calculations, that means it's more on physical chem?:huh

I just asked my teacher today. She said the the KKK will test all form6 physical and organic syllabus. Inorganic is not tested in KKK. Is there such thing?!

Senior please offer some tips as I really wanna get sth more than a merit.

Basically it is more on physical chem. For sure there are quite a lot of complicated calculations but as long as you calculate carefully, they can be solved. However there are a few very simple questions which u might not expect. I can still remember one. The question is "What is an ideal solution?". You see, it is that simple =)

Also, there are actually organic and inorganic chem. Anyway, inorganic chem is not that important in the quiz. one or two questions only if i am not mistaken. I didnt study inorganic chem at all when i took part in the quiz, but still i managed to get something more than a merit i.e. high distinction. So dont worry. If you start preparing now, you might get something even higher than mine.

lawteoh
10-02-2009, 03:06 PM
Basically it is more on physical chem. For sure there are quite a lot of complicated calculations but as long as you calculate carefully, they can be solved. However there are a few very simple questions which u might not expect. I can still remember one. The question is "What is an ideal solution?". You see, it is that simple =)

Also, there are actually organic and inorganic chem. Anyway, inorganic chem is not that important in the quiz. one or two questions only if i am not mistaken. I didnt study inorganic chem at all when i took part in the quiz, but still i managed to get something more than a merit i.e. high distinction. So dont worry. If you start preparing now, you might get something even higher than mine.

I thought high distinction is the highest? still got higher than yours meh? lol

Glassylicious
10-02-2009, 03:15 PM
I thought high distinction is the highest? still got higher than yours meh? lol

He said he got a score which was higher than a merit. =) Which was a high distinction.

amoebaleong
10-02-2009, 05:10 PM
Just for clarification. There are three certs in K3M. Merit < Distinction < High Distinction. There are also a few top scorers who will get cash prize.

I think what lawteoh means is he is surprised that peihoon encourage sugarspice to aim higher than what he got, which is high distinction(Which is the highest already)

CCY_to_the_top
10-02-2009, 06:34 PM
its just about ur form5 syllabus..its quite easy compare to the quiz physic kebangsaan..physics is 10x harder..try it...

peihoon
11-02-2009, 06:11 PM
Just for clarification. There are three certs in K3M. Merit < Distinction < High Distinction. There are also a few top scorers who will get cash prize.

I think what lawteoh means is he is surprised that peihoon encourage sugarspice to aim higher than what he got, which is high distinction(Which is the highest already)

oh, sorry for that.
I actually mean to encourage sugarspice to aim higher to be one of the top scorers =)
and i'm "she", not "he"...

11-02-2009, 09:23 PM
its just about ur form5 syllabus..its quite easy compare to the quiz physic kebangsaan..physics is 10x harder..try it...

I agree with you. I got high distinction for K3M but only merit for Kuiz Fizik... But I'm pretty glad rather than getting nothing coz my school was far from completing the syllabus when the quiz came...:laugh

Age_2_Perfection
11-02-2009, 09:37 PM
i just got a letter a week ago from UM.. about Malaysia ICHo selection test pre finals.. this year apparently they are using this way to select. I heard that the past KKK papers were always leaked

amoebaleong
11-02-2009, 09:41 PM
i just got a letter a week ago from UM.. about Malaysia ICHo selection test pre finals.. this year apparently they are using this way to select. I heard that the past KKK papers were always leaked

Congratulations for being selected. You are now just a few steps away from being able to represent our country. This is a thread about previous few IChO selection.

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3496

Age_2_Perfection
11-02-2009, 09:44 PM
the things is 2mr.. need to check in to UM and stay for 3 days.
Lectures and the selection test is on the second day.
Interviews on Valentine's day.. sob....

But basically it's the whole form 6 syllabus and i just got to know abt it a week ago. been doing some crash course chemisty.

CCY_to_the_top
11-02-2009, 11:09 PM
I agree with you. I got high distinction for K3M but only merit for Kuiz Fizik... But I'm pretty glad rather than getting nothing coz my school was far from completing the syllabus when the quiz came...:laugh

got prize $$ for chem but bronze for phy..lol..

lawteoh
12-02-2009, 12:58 AM
oh, sorry for that.
I actually mean to encourage sugarspice to aim higher to be one of the top scorers =)
and i'm "she", not "he"...

yeap. Now I und. Dunno why they refer to you as 'he'. mayb because u 'sound' like a guy? lol

Kimayu
20-02-2009, 09:33 PM
Hi.I'm interested in joining the Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan 2009.However,I think that my school have never participated in this competition before.How do I ask my teacher to get the application form?
~Thanks~

CCY_to_the_top
20-02-2009, 10:43 PM
u can try the principal...u should really try the quiz...

Kimayu
21-02-2009, 07:07 PM
Hey...
But where is my principal supposed to apply for that prograM?
Who is organising this program?
And is it too late to register?

21-02-2009, 09:46 PM
Hey don't worry, just go through SUCCESS Chemistry Form 5..
That's what I did and I got high distinction and top scorer of 95%...:))

Its all SPM syllabus and perhaps might require more thinking approach and application. After all, it's just a piece of cake. Trust me.:wink

Scrmath
07-03-2009, 03:39 PM
This quiz is just a bit harder than yr normal exam.For spm level one, i take it in 2008.To prepare, u should revise all spm syllabus chem.And during the quiz,be calm and if u encounter too hard question,skip it first.Normally, if u can get 45/50 or higher in yr normal exam, it should b ok for u to get high distinction grade.(32 or above)

choogirl
07-03-2009, 06:30 PM
Remember to train your speed. I had time to finish but no time to re-check (unlike normal exams)

sarahcsm
13-03-2009, 05:07 PM
Well, the chemistry quiz was relatively easy in 2008 if you compare it to the past year questions. But on the whole, it seems like ox/red is quite important. The frequency of carbon chemistry questions were rather high too. You'll have to read up your entire F5 syllabus. All the best to those taking! =)

han72890
13-03-2009, 05:49 PM
When can we register for the quiz?
I am looking forward to it...Got higd distinction during F5..kaka...

amoebaleong
13-03-2009, 08:45 PM
The brochure and form for K3M 2009 is out. You can find them in this webpage
http://www.ikm.org.my/K3M.html. Your school should receive the letter soon. If in case your school does not receive any letter, print the form out and persuade your teacher to register for you. The deadline is 22 Mei 2009.

chubbycow
15-03-2009, 04:40 PM
um, talking about quizzes. what about the national science challenge?
i heard that it is based on general knowledge. i'm representing my school for this one, and i don't really know what to focus on. so, a lil' help please? thnx.

sookfun
04-04-2009, 01:16 PM
I also got a certificate of distinction last year... actually not quite difficult la...
I didn't prepare...ang straight away take the test...ha ha:wink

sugan
17-04-2009, 02:30 PM
hello, i enter K3M and only got merit in my f5. now ,I,would-to-be F6, i would like to take the test again First is it possible?
second, should take the spm level or advance level ?

reply as soon as possible ASAP
Curvy live (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/curvy/)

slayer
17-04-2009, 03:52 PM
I got a high distinction in form 5 last year...
Seriously, it wasn't really that hard...
Just focus on some crucial topics like salts, acids and alkali & carbon compounds.

sugarspice
17-04-2009, 04:33 PM
hello, i enter K3M and only got merit in my f5. now ,I,would-to-be F6, i would like to take the test again First is it possible?
second, should take the spm level or advance level ?

reply as soon as possible ASAP

Yes, it's possible. This quiz is divided into two categories, i.e. elementary level and advanced level. Elementary one is for SPM pupils while the latter is for STPMers. Both have different syllabuses.

So if you're doing form6, definitely you have to take the advanced level quiz.

sugan
17-04-2009, 04:40 PM
yes, it's possible. This quiz is divided into two categories, i.e. Elementary level and advanced level. Elementary one is for spm pupils while the latter is for stpmers. Both have different syllabuses.

So if you're doing form6, definitely you have to take the advanced level quiz.
so i can sit k3m this year but i have to take advance level,
(REMEMBER, IAM GOING TOBE IN LOWER 6)
HotMonic live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/HotMonic)

amoebaleong
17-04-2009, 07:55 PM
so i can sit k3m this year but i have to take advance level,
(REMEMBER, IAM GOING TOBE IN LOWER 6)

Yes, as a form6 student, you must take the advance level. Therefore, I advise you not to take it this year. The quiz will ask about STPM Chemistry which you have not learned yet. It is better for you to study in lower 6 first then take this quiz when you are at upper 6. You will be more prepared and have a higher chance of getting a good score. Moreover, the deadline for registration is 22 Mei. By the time you are enrolled in form 6, most probably your school has already sent the application form.

17-04-2009, 08:04 PM
Haha KKK is just a quix. I totally suck at chem n didnt prepare. I just tembak and get a 'merit'. Of course dun follow my example, but what wat im trying to say just put effort in u'll easily get high distinction.

choogirl
18-04-2009, 09:25 PM
Yeap, its advisable to take the test in upper six because the test includes a few inorganic ques as well.

Btw, why do u get to choose whether you want to take this test anot? My school selects the students for this test

18-04-2009, 10:37 PM
Nah, in my school whoever wants to participate can participate...

chongkeat
18-04-2009, 11:50 PM
Nah, in my school whoever wants to participate can participate...

Mine too. Like half of my class participated. (You know la, "Penglibatan Peringkat Kebangsaan")

RheBA
18-04-2009, 11:53 PM
I got a high distinction in form 5 last year...
Seriously, it wasn't really that hard...
Just focus on some crucial topics like salts, acids and alkali & carbon compounds.

agreed...nuff said..

Speeddemon
19-04-2009, 12:02 AM

I took part in the quiz last year and got a high distinction...

The quiz is not that hard...most, of not all, of the questions are in your F4 & F5 syllabus...which means you can prepare well for it...a few questions might be out of syllabus, so it's normal if you see unfamiliar questions

Seek past year questions from your school teacher...if you manage to get it all correct (by the way, 40 questions), you stand a very high chance to be one of the top scorers and be chosen to represent our country to the International Chemistry Olympiad...

All the best :)

SapphireDragon
19-04-2009, 01:15 AM
The K3 is quite easy...everything is in the syllabus. By the way, I got a high distinction last year.

19-04-2009, 01:33 AM
Beware though for this year, because my teacher said 2008's quiz was surprisingly very much based on the school syllabus compared to previous years...

ZIXIN
22-04-2009, 10:43 AM
Beware though for this year, because my teacher said 2008's quiz was surprisingly very much based on the school syllabus compared to previous years...
last year i took d test..i came to knw d date of test 2 days b4 d test ><
no time revision+chem was my worst subject within d 3 sciences..bt i stil get a merit of that,so,u say leh..?:nod

all d question r within spm level,a little bit complicating ,that's it..nting more..so,dun wory..

VivienChen
12-05-2009, 11:37 AM
o0 selected? i tot it was the student's desire to enter cz our sch works that way.
will there be any advantages if we got distinction in the quiz for applying Scholarships?

choogirl
12-05-2009, 11:50 AM
Yeap. It can also be considered when applyin for sg uni. Btw, aim for high distinction laaa. LOL.

12-05-2009, 01:17 PM
Yeap. It can also be considered when applyin for sg uni. Btw, aim for high distinction laaa. LOL.
You should not only aim for high distinction as it is very easy to achieve. One must try to get all right in the exam so that you can represent our country at international level.

Speeddemon
12-05-2009, 01:22 PM
o0 selected? i tot it was the student's desire to enter cz our sch works that way.
will there be any advantages if we got distinction in the quiz for applying Scholarships?

it will be very important in terms of cocu achievement in scholarships applications because it's a national competition and you'll definitely get marks for your participation in such major competition....

like what boyz zoo said, aim for getting it all right....i got 1 or 2 wrongs and wasn't selected as one of the top scorers...for your info, if you get all right you'll be selected as one of the top scorers...you'll get cash and most importantly, you'll receive training to take part in the IChO which will be held next year for your batch....

12-05-2009, 01:26 PM
it will be very important in terms of cocu achievement in scholarships applications because it's a national competition and you'll definitely get marks for your participation in such major competition....

like what boyz zoo said, aim for getting it all right....i got 1 or 2 wrongs and wasn't selected as one of the top scorers...for your info, if you get all right you'll be selected as one of the top scorers...you'll get cash and most importantly, you'll receive training to take part in the IChO which will be held next year for your batch....
However, National Chemistry Competition is not recognized as koku as it is academic achievements. That is what she said and I agree with her cause I have worked hard for my koku marks and some inactive people in koku can just gain free marks from taking academic exam, it is so unfair.

lawteoh
12-05-2009, 01:58 PM
In my school, K3M is recognized (got the kementerian chop there anyway), and I can tell you my PK koko follows the scheme strictly! For those who participated in the drama production(a very active activity), they get 8 for participation mark and 0 for pencapaian..So, not worth it to be so active unless u are going for the experience.. and note: Only those activities endorsed by the kementerian will be taken into account. yeah, it's unfair but sadly, that's the fact since the kementerian have stated clearly in that matter.

For my school, if u participate in K3M, u get 14 marks, but with a condition.. u must achieve distinction/high distinction. For distinction, 13, and high distinction 14. If u get merit or pass, ur participation marks go down to 8.

12-05-2009, 02:00 PM
In my school, K3M is recognized (got the kementerian chop there anyway), and I can tell you my PK koko follows the scheme strictly! For those who participated in the drama production(a very active activity), they get 8 for participation mark and 0 for pencapaian..So, not worth it to be so active unless u are going for the experience.. and note: Only those activities endorsed by the kementerian will be taken into account. yeah, it's unfair but sadly, that's the fact since the kementerian have stated clearly in that matter.

For my school, if u participate in K3M, u get 14 marks, but with a condition.. u must achieve distinction/high distinction. For distinction, 13, and high distinction 14. If u get merit or pass, ur participation marks go down to 8.
Then, how much will they give you for achievement?

lawteoh
12-05-2009, 02:49 PM
achievement - high distinction 14, distinction 13.. And its under persatuan section. =)

VivienChen
12-05-2009, 02:51 PM
Thx a million for all the information ^_^

skyranger
19-05-2009, 11:15 PM
anyone can send to me past year question kuis kimia paper?

choogirl
19-05-2009, 11:40 PM
Oh btw, I just wanna add that the marks is quite different from every school. My school doesn't give any marks for pencapaian for this quiz.

19-05-2009, 11:43 PM
Oh btw, I just wanna add that the marks is quite different from every school. My school doesn't give any marks for pencapaian for this quiz.
same here. My school don't recognise it as koku as it is academic. personally, i support my school system as giving mark based on this comp is totally unfair for those who is really active in koku.

19-05-2009, 11:51 PM
yes some schools may not give marks but sometimes you may get the marks under the club (eg Science and Maths club) u join...

donutello
20-05-2009, 12:13 AM
ow,i don even know there were marks given by entering the kuiz bcoz it'z compulsory for all f5 students in my skool to take the quiz(laz year la).
the funny thing is i got the highest mark for my skool(92 i think) and when i want to go to take the certificate on stage,everyone seemed extremely shocked bcoz i'm not the type of hardworking stdnt n my name alwayz being gossiped in the teacher's room as i really love to sleep in klas.hahaha.juz luck i think.

gundamseedw
21-05-2009, 08:05 PM
i's not really hard ... that time i was not prepared at all, never read anything but i got the highest mark in my school (high distinction), i forgot what's my score already.

but that cert (High distinction) is quite useful if u're going to apply scholarships and others.

chopiex
21-05-2009, 08:23 PM
i's not really hard ... that time i was not prepared at all, never read anything but i got the highest mark in my school (high distinction), i forgot what's my score already.

but that cert (High distinction) is quite useful if u're going to apply scholarships and others.

Indeed, it is very useful. Best of luck to those who are going to sit for the quiz this year :wink:wink:wink:laugh

sugarspice
23-05-2009, 06:13 AM
High Distinction means one or two mistakes only issit?

23-05-2009, 10:25 AM
High Distinction means one or two mistakes only issit?
Nope, it means must 80% and above. Thus, I think there only around 40-50 questions, do the math. It clearly shows that getting High Distinction is a piece of cake but getting all right or one wrong is very tough. That is how they chose people to represent our country in Chemistry.

choogirl
23-05-2009, 10:01 PM
Nope. It's usually 80 but I'm not sure why my year (2008 Upper Six) was 70. Lucky I guess.

skyranger
25-05-2009, 11:08 PM
anyone have the past year paper? i want to try in. if u have can send it to me?

lawteoh
26-05-2009, 03:26 PM
I got last year paper, but I have already mark down my answers n conteng almost everywhere.. u still want it? lolz.. remember, no answer wan ah.. :P if u want, i can scan it cz im still keeping the paper..

skyranger
26-05-2009, 05:56 PM
it ok, i want see the question, can send it and send to my email : [email address censored - please use private messaging to exchange email addresses]
Thank You.

VivienChen
26-05-2009, 08:36 PM
my teacher only tell us after the expire date =.='' !!!!!! GERAM !!!

lawteoh
27-05-2009, 06:43 PM
it ok, i want see the question, can send it and send to my email : [email address censored - please use private messaging to exchange email addresses]
Thank You.

Okay.. Just uploaded last year paper on mediafire..

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=d72f85d1cdf331bb1bee9a6e9edd9c76bae87b1866092d18b8eada0a1ae8665a

enjoy! =)

P.S: No answers. So, if you don't know, just ask your teacher. And one more thing, I scribble a lot that time. However, since the purpose of this upload is to share with ppl, I suppose its okay. So, yeah, enjoy the questions. Its not that difficult. :P

skyranger
27-05-2009, 07:10 PM
Thank You.
anyone still have other past year paper?

27-05-2009, 07:15 PM
I wonder what is the point of taking the exams if you are going to take it as if you are taking the exams anyway? It should be a test on your knowledge on chemistry, not your skill in memorizing past year questions and their answers...

skyranger
27-05-2009, 07:32 PM
i want to see the past year question la, not to remember the answer la. but i want the secondary level, not the form6 , anyone have k3m for secondary level for the year 2008?

lilynda
28-05-2009, 04:18 PM
so easy meh??so i need to study ALL the chapters is it? a lot of calculation or r facts? physics quiz harder or this? thanx

Eurytos
28-05-2009, 04:24 PM
so easy meh??so i need to study ALL the chapters is it? a lot of calculation or r facts? physics quiz harder or this? thanx

I would say chemistry is a little bit easier because they have objective questions. Anyway you should focus more on physical chemistry, I noticed there were alot of calculations for the chemistry quiz last year. Anyway if you are aiming for the top awards, I think they are equally difficult. . . Just try your best lar... No need worry too much..

Study first, think about results later.

28-05-2009, 04:25 PM
Chemistry quiz is very easy one. yes you have to study the whole syllabus but rarely they asked questions at the final few chapters.

Physics quiz is different. You really need to think as its standard is higher than SPM.

lilynda
28-05-2009, 05:25 PM
anyone has past year paper form 5??really appreciate if u can give me..sorry for any inconvenience.

28-05-2009, 10:39 PM
The whole syllabus? Any chapters to focus on? as in physical chemistry? I'm taking the quiz this year too... and geee.. u guys are making me nervous... xD

[form 5 section here.. =)]

michelle_k
28-05-2009, 10:54 PM
The whole syllabus? Any chapters to focus on? as in physical chemistry? I'm taking the quiz this year too... and geee.. u guys are making me nervous... xD

[form 5 section here.. =)]

I took the test last year.
I think you can focus on wat u hv learnt at school in form 4 and form 5.
There are quite a lot of question on carbon compounds topic as well as calculations.:wink But, I dunno whether it will be the same for this year.

The questions are only slightly harder than SPM.The question pattern is also the same as spm.
You can get distinction too if you are willing to study for it.:nod If you understand the right concept, I don't think you will face any difficulties. Don't worry.

Chem quiz is definitely much easier than physics.

Dont wori abt the calculations. They are quite easy.:amuse
Just rmb those important concepts and u shud be able to answer well.

sugarspice
29-05-2009, 02:54 PM
I have the actual answers for both KKK Aras Asas (O-level) & Aras Lanjutan (A-level) 2008. My dedicated teacher gave it to me =). You guys can ask for past year papers from your teachers, I am sure they will have a copy of it. - I have only the KKK 2008 aras lanjutan one.

Answers for KKK 2008 Aras Asas

1 D
2 D
3 B
4 B
5 C

6 D
7 B
8 D
9 C
10 C

11 D
12 B
13 D
14 B
15 A

16 B
17 A
18 A
19 C
20 D

21 B
22 C
23 C
24 B
25 C

26 D
27 D
28 C
29 B
30 B

31 D
32 D
33 C
34 B
35 B

36 A
37 C
38 B
39 C
40 A

Answers for KKK 2008 Aras Lanjutan

1 C
2 D
3 A
4 B
5 B

6 D
7 B
8 C
9 B
10 C

11 B
12 A
13 A
14 B
15 A

16 A
17 C
18 A
19 B
20 C

21 C
22 C
23 B
24 D
25 D

26 B
27 C
28 C
29 A
30 C

31 A
32 C
33 A
34 B
35 A

36 C
37 D
38 A
39 D
40 A

lawteoh
29-05-2009, 03:55 PM
I have the actual answers for both KKK Aras Asas (O-level) & Aras Lanjutan (A-level) 2008. My dedicated teacher gave it to me =). You guys can ask for past year papers from your teachers, I am sure they will have a copy of it. - I have only the KKK 2008 aras lanjutan one.

Answers for KKK 2008 Aras Asas

1 D
2 D
3 B
4 B
5 C

6 D
7 B
8 D
9 C
10 C

11 D
12 B
13 D
14 B
15 A

16 B
17 A
18 A
19 C
20 D

21 B
22 C
23 C
24 B
25 C

26 D
27 D
28 C
29 B
30 B

31 D
32 D
33 C
34 B
35 B

36 A
37 C
38 B
39 C
40 A

Answers for KKK 2008 Aras Lanjutan

1 C
2 D
3 A
4 B
5 B

6 D
7 B
8 C
9 B
10 C

11 B
12 A
13 A
14 B
15 A

16 A
17 C
18 A
19 B
20 C

21 C
22 C
23 B
24 D
25 D

26 B
27 C
28 C
29 A
30 C

31 A
32 C
33 A
34 B
35 A

36 C
37 D
38 A
39 D
40 A

wow.. that's a good wan.. for aras lanjutan, how ur teacher gets the answer? im curious to know.. =) thanks for sharing.. at least, now I can know how many mistakes i did last year for k3M.. =)

choogirl
29-05-2009, 09:14 PM
eh, lawteoh, we would have known what our marks is when we get our certs. It's printed on a paper for the teacher in charge

lawteoh
29-05-2009, 09:42 PM
eh, lawteoh, we would have known what our marks is when we get our certs. It's printed on a paper for the teacher in charge

lol.. but we dunno where we got wrong rite? =)

sugarspice
31-05-2009, 06:29 AM
wow.. that's a good wan.. for aras lanjutan, how ur teacher gets the answer? im curious to know.. =) thanks for sharing.. at least, now I can know how many mistakes i did last year for k3M.. =)

The answer was sent my KKK department to my teacher.

Agreed. The teacher in charge, usually the panitia, will receive a sheet of statistics of participants' score together with the answers. It's sth like the UNSW international test, you know, where there are detailed data of the percentile getting the answers correct, yada yada. The same goes for the Nan Yang Chemistry Concept test. You can ask your teacher in charge for this.

lilynda
23-06-2009, 03:46 PM
Are the questions in English for peringkat asas last year? Thanks

23-06-2009, 04:08 PM

Yes...it's either in english or bilingual...don't remember

lilynda
23-06-2009, 04:36 PM
because my syllabus now is in english, so i hope it's not 20 questions in english and others in BM

23-06-2009, 04:52 PM
because my syllabus now is in english, so i hope it's not 20 questions in english and others in BM

no it wont be like that...

Speeddemon
23-06-2009, 05:56 PM

It was fully in English last year

unsolvedcryptex
28-06-2009, 11:47 AM
wats the date of the kuiz this year?

15 or 16 june?
got a bit confused..hehe

any1 knows?

joining..but sighz..blur la..haha

lilynda
28-06-2009, 06:06 PM
How can u dont know? 16 June

28-06-2009, 08:23 PM
I too wasn't certain with the date. x]
By the way, does anyone here have last year's KKK questions?
My school started conducting the quiz this year, so we are quite new with it.
If anyone has it, mind to share? =) (for the aras aras level)

unsolvedcryptex
29-06-2009, 12:00 AM
How can u dont know? 16 June

got a bit mixed up with district quiz

29-06-2009, 04:24 PM
July, my dear not June.

unsolvedcryptex
29-06-2009, 07:01 PM
July, my dear not June.

lolz..din see that.hahaha

29-06-2009, 07:09 PM
National Chemistry Quiz for foundation level is quite is easy as it is like SPM Chemistry. Just make sure you study before you go and sit for the test.

In order to get High Distinction, you must get 80% of the questions right. If you want to try to represent our country at international level, you have to try to get 100% to do so and the government only chooses 3 students.

Eurytos
29-06-2009, 07:49 PM
National Chemistry Quiz for foundation level is quite is easy as it is like SPM Chemistry. Just make sure you study before you go and sit for the test.

In order to get High Distinction, you must get 80% of the questions right. If you want to try to represent our country at international level, you have to try to get 100% to do so and the government only chooses 3 students.

I guess you really deserve the award lord of spammers. The information you provided above is so inaccurate I hope none of the juniors read it. In the future, I hope statements that you provide will be backed with facts and not your own assumptions.

To qualify for the International Chemistry Olympiad national team, you first need to obtain High Distinction at Pre-University level (though exemptions may be made to promising students from secondary level ). You DONT have to obtain 100 marks to get into the team. Also, every year the Chemistry Institute of Malaysia (IKM) shortlists students across the country to attend a qualifying workshop. From the workshop, the IKM will then choose 4-5 students to participate in the IChO.

http://www.myicho.org/malaysia.html

29-06-2009, 07:53 PM
I guess you really deserve the award lord of spammers. The information you provided above is so inaccurate I hope none of the juniors read it. In the future, I hope statements that you provide will be backed with facts and not your own assumptions.

To qualify for the International Chemistry Olympiad national team, you first need to obtain High Distinction at Pre-University level (though exemptions may be made to promising students from secondary level ). You DONT have to obtain 100 marks to get into the team. Also, every year the Chemistry Institute of Malaysia (IKM) shortlists students across the country to attend a qualifying workshop. From the workshop, the IKM will then choose 4-5 students to participate in the IChO.

http://www.myicho.org/malaysia.html
well, I am sorry, that my facts might be wrong but it isn't an assumption. I heard this from my Chemistry teacher. How do I know that my chemistry teacher gave me the wrong info since he should be the who should be teaching us the right things?

P/S: I got the title for other reasons.

29-06-2009, 08:12 PM
Moderator Note: Please do not add personal attacks when you are pointing out the inaccuracy of fellow members' posts. Personal attacks are not welcome in our forum.

Dominant
29-06-2009, 08:52 PM
hi, i took part this quiz last year. actually the quiz is not very difficult if u are good in chemistry. like me, i am not good in chemistry.
once u take part this quiz , u will get a sijil penyertaan. then u will get another sijil depends on your result. there are 50 questions. like my friend got sijil kebangsaan.
good luck and all the best.

unsolvedcryptex
30-06-2009, 02:33 PM
hi, i took part this quiz last year. actually the quiz is not very difficult if u are good in chemistry. like me, i am not good in chemistry.
once u take part this quiz , u will get a sijil penyertaan. then u will get another sijil depends on your result. there are 50 questions. like my friend got sijil kebangsaan.

so wat did u get last yr?

Dominant
03-07-2009, 01:25 AM
so wat did u get last yr?

i got nothing

unsolvedcryptex
03-07-2009, 06:47 AM
ooh..wats the meaning of sijil kebangsaan?sijil peringkat kebangsaan or result ?

03-07-2009, 07:00 PM

ooh..wats the meaning of sijil kebangsaan?sijil peringkat kebangsaan or result ?
I can't understand Dominant's words fully but this the story. For participating in the quiz, everyone will get the certificate of participation.

When the results are out, you will be awarded a certificate of achievement depending on your results. I got the Certificate of High Distinction last year which is the highest. The next in the sequence is Certificate of Distinction and then Certificate of Merit, Those who didn't do well, will not receive any award certificates.

unsolvedcryptex
03-07-2009, 07:48 PM
I can't understand Dominant's words fully but this the story. For participating in the quiz, everyone will get the certificate of participation.

When the results are out, you will be awarded a certificate of achievement depending on your results. I got the Certificate of High Distinction last year which is the highest. The next in the sequence is Certificate of Distinction and then Certificate of Merit, Those who didn't do well, will not receive any award certificates.

ooh..thx..i guess dominant meant every1 gets a participation cert.
thx

how long is the quiz?1 hr?

03-07-2009, 07:59 PM
thx

around there. sorry, forgotten already.

04-07-2009, 11:44 AM
thx

For more info, see here (http://www.ikm.org.my/K3M2009.pdf).

Kimayu
04-07-2009, 11:52 AM
When is the quiz?

Johnivan
04-07-2009, 03:52 PM
When is the quiz?

16 July. :)

unsolvedcryptex
04-07-2009, 04:05 PM
thx for link.but i cant see any time stated

any1 else knows?

lilynda
04-07-2009, 06:25 PM
thx for link.but i cant see any time stated

any1 else knows?
it starts at 10 am until 11.20am

unsolvedcryptex
04-07-2009, 08:25 PM
it starts at 10 am until 11.20am

waaa..haha.ok ok..thx..

i sure dead d..haven start studying..

04-07-2009, 11:09 PM
16 July??? It's only 1 week plus more. Gotta start study!!! physical, organic and inorganic all included?

04-07-2009, 11:12 PM
16 July??? It's only 1 week plus more. Gotta start study!!! physical, organic and inorganic all included?

40 questions.
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes.
I think all included. Not sure...

unsolvedcryptex
05-07-2009, 01:36 AM
40 questions.
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes.
I think all included. Not sure...

wat might come out form form 5 lvl?any idea?u all talk bout physical inorganic all those i dunno wat stuff la..haha

05-07-2009, 02:22 AM
wat might come out form form 5 lvl?any idea?u all talk bout physical inorganic all those i dunno wat stuff la..haha

Form 5 level is similar to school syllabus. Maybe slightly more difficult. The physical, organic, inorganic stuffs mentioned are referring to form 6 level.

unsolvedcryptex
05-07-2009, 11:11 AM
Form 5 level is similar to school syllabus. Maybe slightly more difficult. The physical, organic, inorganic stuffs mentioned are referring to form 6 level.

ok thx!
one week more to go and i haven study.sighz

Speeddemon
05-07-2009, 03:58 PM
You should know everything in the textbook from bonding to redox reaction to thermodynamics to salt (first chapter excluded, since it's pretty useless). It's even better if you can read extra, since some of them came out last year. But getting at least a distinction shouldn't be a problem, unless u study last minute.

unsolvedcryptex
05-07-2009, 04:53 PM
You should know everything in the textbook from bonding to redox reaction to thermodynamics to salt (first chapter excluded, since it's pretty useless). It's even better if you can read extra, since some of them came out last year. But getting at least a distinction shouldn't be a problem, unless u study last minute.

ok..haha..hopefully one week of preparation get me hi D

05-07-2009, 08:36 PM
ok thx!
one week more to go and i haven study.sighz

I only managed to find time to study the day before the quiz last year. I just quickly scanned through the textbook... Don't be like me... :P
Good luck to you!

unsolvedcryptex
05-07-2009, 09:34 PM
I only managed to find time to study the day before the quiz last year. I just quickly scanned through the textbook... Don't be like me... :P
Good luck to you!

lolz..hahaha..wat did u get?

Johnivan
06-07-2009, 10:04 PM
Hey, check out the details from this link.
K3M2009.pdf (application/pdf Object) (http://www.ikm.org.my/K3M2009.pdf)

06-07-2009, 10:13 PM
lolz..hahaha..wat did u get?

High Distinction, heh. Aim for prize!

unsolvedcryptex
06-07-2009, 10:42 PM
High Distinction, heh. Aim for prize!

hahaha...waa pro man..
is it 80% of total marks get high D?as said by boyz zoo

06-07-2009, 11:04 PM
hahaha...waa pro man..
is it 80% of total marks get high D?as said by boyz zoo

Thanks, but no need to flatter me, haha... If the Last-Minute-Study girl can get it, I think it won't be a problem for you to achieve that, or even better. Just try to do your best. :)
As for the minimum marks to get high distinction, I've forgotten already, sorry. But you can try asking your teacher.

unsolvedcryptex
07-07-2009, 07:55 PM
Thanks, but no need to flatter me, haha... If the Last-Minute-Study girl can get it, I think it won't be a problem for you to achieve that, or even better. Just try to do your best. :)
As for the minimum marks to get high distinction, I've forgotten already, sorry. But you can try asking your teacher.

ooh..is it like fizik where they see the highest score and then count the marks to get ?

or its set d wan?

07-07-2009, 09:30 PM
Hmm... I don't quite understand your question...

unsolvedcryptex
08-07-2009, 03:25 PM
for eg,in physics,those who get around 60%-70% of the top score will receive a merit cert.means lets say top score is 70/70(lets sat..but its actually way lower than that) then those eligible to get a merit cert are around 42 to 49 out of 70.it depends on wat the top score is.if top score is 60/70 then it drops to 36 to 42 out of 70.

or is it set that those who get 80% and above in chemistry will get a High D regardless of the top score.

top score refers to the highest score obtains by other students sitting the same test

08-07-2009, 04:27 PM
Oh I see, I see... For K3M, I think it's set already.

AlvinLee91
08-07-2009, 05:02 PM
Good luck to all the participators in K3M.
Actually I had taken it for two years.
For Form 4 students, try to do the Form 4 Qs and take some experiences.
As for Form 5, do your best and try to see the subtopic in chapters behind, perhaps you can have some images b4 you take the test.
Good luck!! Gambatae!:-)

08-07-2009, 06:31 PM
for eg,in physics,those who get around 60%-70% of the top score will receive a merit cert.means lets say top score is 70/70(lets sat..but its actually way lower than that) then those eligible to get a merit cert are around 42 to 49 out of 70.it depends on wat the top score is.if top score is 60/70 then it drops to 36 to 42 out of 70.

or is it set that those who get 80% and above in chemistry will get a High D regardless of the top score.

top score refers to the highest score obtains by other students sitting the same test
I believe Chemistry one is set.

For physics competition, you will not only have merit certificate. For the top scorers will get special award. The others will get either Gold Certificate, Silver Certificate, Bronze Certificate or Merit certificate. However, those who didn't do well, will only have Certificate of Participation.

P/S - there are such things Gold, Silver and Bronze certificate as I have sat the test before and was awarded Bronze Certificate. This whole thing applies for form 5 level. I am not sure about form 6.

unsolvedcryptex
08-07-2009, 07:26 PM
set??ok ok thx..

hope its not that hard...dunno wat to revise la for chemistry..felt so bored wanna revise.and lazy as well.as usual la me

boyz,rly 80% onli can get high D?

08-07-2009, 07:33 PM
set??ok ok thx..

hope its not that hard...dunno wat to revise la for chemistry..felt so bored wanna revise.and lazy as well.as usual la me

boyz,rly 80% onli can get high D?
that's what said by Chemistry teacher. Anyway, I believe it is very easy to get High Distinction as it is just the same as doing objective question for Chemistry Paper 1 in my opinion for the foundation level.

unsolvedcryptex
08-07-2009, 08:03 PM
that's what said by Chemistry teacher. Anyway, I believe it is very easy to get High Distinction as it is just the same as doing objective question for Chemistry Paper 1 in my opinion for the foundation level.

foundation?u mean pre-u or easy level?

08-07-2009, 08:17 PM
foundation?u mean pre-u or easy level?
foundation is for spm level. pre-u is very different.

unsolvedcryptex
09-07-2009, 08:47 PM
ooh..ok thx

i saw the 2006 paper today.it seems like first half is in bm and the rest in eng.

why is that so?
this yr the same?

10-07-2009, 12:04 AM
ooh..ok thx

i saw the 2006 paper today.it seems like first half is in bm and the rest in eng.

why is that so?
this yr the same?

2008 was fully in English if I'm not mistaken. So most likely this year will be fully in English as well. Heh, but when 2012 comes... Dunnolah.

Speeddemon
10-07-2009, 12:23 AM
ooh..ok thx

why is that so?
this yr the same?

2008 was fully in English if I'm not mistaken. So most likely this year will be fully in English as well. Heh, but when 2012 comes... Dunnolah.

unsolvedcryptex, i supposed what you've seen is previous year paper. Yanno yamster is right - it's fully in English last year when i took it. No worries, just prepare well and you'll be great. If you're good enough, you might be one of the top scorers.

By the way, don't take it too seriously cause lots of people are going to get high distinction and so on. So, just take it to gain some experience and in some ways, boost ur CV :P

unsolvedcryptex
10-07-2009, 06:42 PM
unsolvedcryptex, i supposed what you've seen is previous year paper. Yanno yamster is right - it's fully in English last year when i took it. No worries, just prepare well and you'll be great. If you're good enough, you might be one of the top scorers.

By the way, don't take it too seriously cause lots of people are going to get high distinction and so on. So, just take it to gain some experience and in some ways, boost ur CV :P
alot of ppl get high D?how a lot?haha

10-07-2009, 06:44 PM
well, quite a number get High Distinction. Thus, just study hard and you will get it. It is not like Physics Competition which is tougher.

Speeddemon
10-07-2009, 06:50 PM

I know at least 4 in our class last year including me...i got 1 wrong dammit :P

skyranger
14-07-2009, 09:20 AM
is k3m has contain GCSE O level from other country? or it only contain the question from our school syllabus?

unsolvedcryptex
14-07-2009, 01:50 PM
is k3m has contain GCSE O level from other country? or it only contain the question from our school syllabus?

i saw some of the questions.most of them from skul syllabus

chuan
14-07-2009, 02:43 PM
hehe...i got high distinction last year...
so, perhaps i can answer some of ur que...

Speeddemon
14-07-2009, 05:02 PM

Most, if not all of them, are within your school syllabus. However, do get prepared for extra stuff. Last year, a few questions were out of the syllabus. If you're good enough in chemistry, you could still use common sense to answer them.

15-07-2009, 08:13 PM
tomorrow is it right?
Good luck everyone! x)

unsolvedcryptex
16-07-2009, 06:51 AM
tomorrow is it right?
Good luck everyone! x)

today!!tq!~

lilynda
16-07-2009, 12:35 PM
How's the quiz ? i dont have much time to check my answers again. however, overall it is still ok.

unsolvedcryptex
16-07-2009, 01:42 PM
How's the quiz ? i dont have much time to check my answers again. however, overall it is still ok.

erm hard!!
i took a lot of time doing the questions of 3 different water with different temp.i still cant get it.i mean i used physics calculation but its way too illogic.so i just devised my own and get the answer.but its not the accurate answer.so resort to just choose the nearest one.
over all still ok.
confirm i wrong two questions d.the rest not sure.

and lost my calculator.zzzz

16-07-2009, 08:17 PM
hard for me too.
My teacher briefed us with the answers and i got like 8 questions wrong..T.T
I was stucked with the water temp too and did try to use physics' concept to solve it.
Though bad luck. xP

unsolvedcryptex
16-07-2009, 08:28 PM
hard for me too.
I was stucked with the water temp too and did try to use physics' concept to solve it.
Though bad luck. xP
me too.i used physics concept.but din work.

but can u solve it after that?

8 wrong?hmm..shud b still can get high D according to boyz zoo

dandelionxD
16-07-2009, 08:40 PM
im quite interested in joining this quiz next year O.O
May I know what's the syllabus?
What type of question they ask frequently for this year?

Speeddemon
16-07-2009, 08:48 PM
erm hard!!
i took a lot of time doing the questions of 3 different water with different temp.i still cant get it.i mean i used physics calculation but its way too illogic.so i just devised my own and get the answer.but its not the accurate answer.so resort to just choose the nearest one.
over all still ok.
confirm i wrong two questions d.the rest not sure.

and lost my calculator.zzzz

hard for me too.
Though bad luck. xP

The question on water temperature sounds interesting. Is it from thermodynamics? Anyone could post it here? Cause i feel like solving it :P.

16-07-2009, 09:12 PM
I got it. =)

A calorimeter contains 480.0g of water at 25.0 degreeC. To it are added together 380.0g of water at 53.5 degreeC and 525.0g water at 65.5 degreeC.
Assuming that the heat absorber by the calorimeter is negligible, calculate the highest temperature of the water in degreeC.
[Specific heat capacity of water= 4.2Jg-1dC-1: water density = 1g cm-3]

Speeddemon
16-07-2009, 10:05 PM
I got it. =)

A calorimeter contains 480.0g of water at 25.0 degreeC. To it are added together 380.0g of water at 53.5 degreeC and 525.0g water at 65.5 degreeC.
Assuming that the heat absorber by the calorimeter is negligible, calculate the highest temperature of the water in degreeC.

Would you mind to post the options of answer? Thanks in advance :amuse

khor_jennie
17-07-2009, 11:43 AM
quiz kimia..
haha..i took part this competition during my secondary live.erm, is quite easy for u if u had studied and understand them well..actually the questions came according to the syllabus..i got bronze certificate for it but i am sure u all can do it better!
good luck ya.

Kimayu
17-07-2009, 02:23 PM
Hey Restless...Mind posting the answers cause I would like to check...

17-07-2009, 03:23 PM
kkz

Options for the "water" question
A)38.2
B)48.2
C)67.6
D)88.7

chunkiat
17-07-2009, 05:44 PM
:))
just dropping by to see what you all have discussed here...
haha..

markwongsk
17-07-2009, 05:51 PM
I got it. =)

Q = mcT where Q = quantity of heat, m = mass of water, c = specific heat capacity of water, T1 = equilibrium temperature of first two waters, T2 = equilibrium temperature for second two waters.

(4.2)(480)(T1-25)=4.2(380)(53.5-T1)
480T1 - 12000 = 20330 - 380T1

T1 = 37.5930

(4.2)(860)(T2-T1)=4.2(525)(65.5-T2)

860T2 - 32330 = 34387.5 - 525T2

T2 = 48.17 = 48.2 Degrees

Guess my answer will be B...

unsolvedcryptex
17-07-2009, 07:21 PM
Q = mcT where Q = quantity of heat, m = mass of water, c = specific heat capacity of water, T1 = equilibrium temperature of first two waters, T2 = equilibrium temperature for second two waters.

(4.2)(480)(T1-25)=4.2(380)(53.5-T1)
480T1 - 12000 = 20330 - 380T1

T1 = 37.5930

(4.2)(860)(T2-T1)=4.2(525)(65.5-T2)

860T2 - 32330 = 34387.5 - 525T2

T2 = 48.17 = 48.2 Degrees

Guess my answer will be B...
rly??i doubt that working is correct la..hmm..i cant explain it now..but anyway i shooted "B"
haha so im praying its correct.coz i did another working that i thot correct.but cant find it.

amoebaleong
17-07-2009, 08:35 PM
rly??i doubt that working is correct la..hmm..i cant explain it now..but anyway i shooted "B"
haha so im praying its correct.coz i did another working that i thot correct.but cant find it.

Don't doubt Mark. He is the top student :)

Anyway, my working will be simpler.

T = temperature at equilibrium

480(T - 25) + 380(T - 53.5) + 525(T - 65.5) = 0
1385T = 66717.5
T = 48.2

In the question, the heat absorbed by the calorimeter is negligible. So the heat only transfers among the water until equilibrium is achieved. I assumed no heat enter or exit the system. Thats why Q = 0.

markwongsk
17-07-2009, 10:03 PM
Don't doubt Mark. He is the top student :)

Anyway, my working will be simpler.

T = temperature at equilibrium

480(T - 25) + 380(T - 53.5) + 525(T - 65.5) = 0
1385T = 66717.5
T = 48.2

In the question, the heat absorbed by the calorimeter is negligible. So the heat only transfers among the water until equilibrium is achieved. I assumed no heat enter or exit the system. Thats why Q = 0.

I initially thought of trying that =P But I got confused with the symbols of +ve -ve... now that you mentioned it it sounds logical that Q = 0 (Thermodynamics XD) Omgoodness my brain is rusting .... gotta sharpen it for uni term... let the questions roll :P

17-07-2009, 10:51 PM
I guessed "B" too. My luck. x]
Hmm.. let's see

What is the volume of oxygen gas produced at s.t.p. when 1.12 dm^3 of hydrogen peroxide, H2O2 is completely decomposed?
(1 mole of gas occupies a volume of 22.4 dm^3 at s.t.p.)

A)1.12
B)2.24
C)1.12x2.24
D)2.24x22.4

P.s. Strangely, my teacher chosen A). However she told us she would make mistakes, cause she just took glimpses of the paper.

unsolvedcryptex
17-07-2009, 11:09 PM
Hmm.. let's see

What is the volume of oxygen gas produced at s.t.p. when 1.12 dm^3 of hydrogen peroxide, H2O2 is completely decomposed?

A)1.12
B)2.24
C)1.12x2.24
D)2.24x22.4

P.s. Strangely, my teacher chosen A). However she told us she would make mistakes, cause she just took glimpses of the paper.

sure?
i think the answer is C u know.coz her answer is 1.12 mol.we r supposed to find VOLUME.
wats urs?

markwongsk
17-07-2009, 11:28 PM
actually... is there an answer?

Hydrogen peroxide decomposes according to the equation:

2 H2O2 --> 2 H2O + O2

2 moles of H2O2 produces 1 mole of O2

Therefore, 1.12 dm^3 = 0.05 mole of H2O2 will produce

0.025X22.4 = 0.56 dm^3??? hmmm I think I'm wrong... anyone care to enlighten me?

17-07-2009, 11:44 PM
I chose C too. =)
I did it this way.

2H2O2---> 2H2O + O2
ratio of hydrogen peroxide to oxygen gas= 2:1

no. of moles of H2O2:
1.12dm^3 x 2.0mol/dm^3 = 2.24 mol

no of moles of O2:
2.24/2 = 1.12 mol

Therefore vol. of O2 gas is
1.12 mol x 2.24dm^3

Answer C?

Kimayu
17-07-2009, 11:53 PM
I couldn't get the answer too...
So,I just choose B...

paradiselost9
18-07-2009, 10:27 AM
I did Q25 this way.

480(4.2)(25) = 50400
380(4.2)(53.5) = 85386
525(4.2)(65.5) = 144427.50

Total energy - 280213.5
Total mass = 480+380+525=1385

1385(4.2)(x) = 280213.50
x = 48.17

skyranger
18-07-2009, 10:31 AM
Hmm.. let's see

A)1.12
B)2.24
C)1.12x2.24
D)2.24x22.4

the answer of C not 1.12x22.4 dm^3?

unsolvedcryptex
18-07-2009, 03:06 PM
i hope its C haha..

rly 48 degree ??
thx man!!!i just shoot nia..coz i think thats the most logical wan.hehe

paradiselost9
18-07-2009, 03:22 PM
Whats the answer for this question???

The conversion of graphite to diamond has a small positive value of (delta)H.

C(graphite) -> C(diamond)
delta (H) = +2.1 kJ mol^-1

However, the production of synthetic diamonds is very difficult. Which of the following statements help explain this?

I. Activation energy of the reaction is very high.
II. Only exothermic reactions can be made to occur readily.
III. Diamonds convert to graphite spontaneously in nature.

A. I only
B. III only
C. I and II only
D. II and III only

unsolvedcryptex
18-07-2009, 05:00 PM

However, the production of synthetic diamonds is very difficult. Which of the following statements help explain this?

A. I only
B. III only
C. I and II only
D. II and III only

alamak..eh dun keep ask the questions here d ler..haha..later im sad that im wrong.this question im not sure its answer

markwongsk
18-07-2009, 05:07 PM

A. I only
B. III only
C. I and II only
D. II and III only

Answer is A

lawteoh
18-07-2009, 05:10 PM

A. I only
B. III only
C. I and II only
D. II and III only

I would say its I only (A). III is definitely out. :P

18-07-2009, 08:18 PM
My teacher said she isn't sure with the "diamond" question, but she chose "A". The same goes to the "volume" question. Then what about this?

32. Which of the following explains why liquid carbon dioxide is used in the process of making decaffeinated coffee and low-fat foods?

A) Liquid carbon dioxide reacts with caffeine and animal fats
B) Liquid carbon dioxide dissolves caffeine and animal fats
C) Liquid carbon dioxide slows down the reaction of caffeine and animal fats
D) Liquid carbon dioxide change caffeine and animal fats to other less harmful substances

unsolvedcryptex: haha, this'll be the last.

markwongsk
18-07-2009, 11:05 PM
My teacher said she isn't sure with the "diamond" question, but she chose "A". The same goes to the "volume" question. Then what about this?

32. Which of the following explains why liquid carbon dioxide is used in the process of making decaffeinated coffee and low-fat foods?

A) Liquid carbon dioxide reacts with caffeine and animal fats
B) Liquid carbon dioxide dissolves caffeine and animal fats
C) Liquid carbon dioxide slows down the reaction of caffeine and animal fats
D) Liquid carbon dioxide change caffeine and animal fats to other less harmful substances

unsolvedcryptex: haha, this'll be the last.

The answer is B liquid CO2 dissolves caffeine and animal fats to remove them

lilynda
19-07-2009, 05:32 PM
omg, i chose A :(

unsolvedcryptex
19-07-2009, 10:29 PM
omg, i chose A :(

for the question i shooted B

for the diamond question..A?
shit..i shooted C..haiz..coz i thot if wanna form synthetic,bond must b formed.so its exothermic.

markwongsk
19-07-2009, 11:28 PM
for the question i shooted B

for the diamond question..A?
shit..i shooted C..haiz..coz i thot if wanna form synthetic,bond must b formed.so its exothermic.

no, that's not a REASON. Besides, lots of things you want are synthesized from endothermic reactions... meaning to say you need to provide heat to make them occur (think about it XD )

also, although theoretically, diamond will become graphite due to the exo/endo relationship, the activation energy is too high for it too occur at a visible rate... (thank God) It will take about 1000000 years before some visible change occurs

unsolvedcryptex
20-07-2009, 06:34 PM
no, that's not a REASON. Besides, lots of things you want are synthesized from endothermic reactions... meaning to say you need to provide heat to make them occur (think about it XD )

also, although theoretically, diamond will become graphite due to the exo/endo relationship, the activation energy is too high for it too occur at a visible rate... (thank God) It will take about 1000000 years before some visible change occurs

swt...rly?sighz

jagandecapri
25-07-2009, 10:21 PM
does anyone can give example of questions in the kuiz fizik kebangsaan?

26-07-2009, 09:16 PM
Since I don't know how to create a new thread for the National Physic Competition, here's a question I would like to ask regarding it. (mind me for posting it in the chemistry column.>.<)

The pressure of an ideal gad in a fixed volume container changes from P0 to P1 when it is heated from 20'C to 40'C. Which of the following relation is true?

A. P1< P0
B. P0< P1
C. P1=2P0
D. P1> 2P0
E. P1< 2P0

withoutwax
27-07-2009, 05:54 PM
Answer is B. As it's ideal gas, PV=nRT is applicable. V,n are fixed. So, when T rises, P rises too.

You might ask why not D. Bear in mind that, T here we use temperature in Kelvin. So after converting the temperature 20 and 40 degree Celsius to Kelvin. You'll notice the temperature isn't twice the other.

Hope this might help you. :)

To add on, (Hee~) graphite is energetically more stable than diamond. Other words, diamond-->graphite is an exothermic reaction. But the reaction is freaking slow. So, yeah as Mark said, it takes 1000000 years to have your diamond on your hand perish to black stone. It seems like diamond is situated on a small flat land at the middle of mountain. Lol.
Patriciaa (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/Patriciaa/)

27-07-2009, 11:16 PM
Wow, thanks. =)
However, I can't really understand what's 'n' and 'R', but i think i get the rough idea of what you're trying to say. ;)

The National Physic Competition is on Thursday and I've loads of questions to ask. >.<
I dun like Chapter 5: Light especially. Gee, wish me luck!

markwongsk
27-07-2009, 11:43 PM
you don't need to know about PV=nRT (though it's probably best if you did)...

The knowledge you require is from Form 4 Chapter 4. In the part about gases, you learned about the Temperature Law where by P is directly proportional to T (in Kelvin)... so the reasoning starts from here

unsolvedcryptex
28-07-2009, 09:48 PM
Wow, thanks. =)
However, I can't really understand what's 'n' and 'R', but i think i get the rough idea of what you're trying to say. ;)

The National Physic Competition is on Thursday and I've loads of questions to ask. >.<
I dun like Chapter 5: Light especially. Gee, wish me luck!

im taking too!!!good luck..my brain kinda fused out d.haha..cant solve physics questions anymore ..too much stress.easy wan can do la..but those questions simliar to the npc i cant do anymore.haiz..sad

afifahbig
29-07-2009, 07:06 PM
please anyone explain how to understand chemia about redox reaction

unsolvedcryptex
29-07-2009, 10:43 PM

lolz..its bout accepting and donating electrons.

Speeddemon
29-07-2009, 11:21 PM

there r 4 things that u need to recall when it comes to redox

a. gaining or losing oxygen
b. gaining or losing hydrogen
c. gaining or losing electrons
d. change in oxidation number

do more exercises, and u'll understand what is meant.

unsolvedcryptex
30-07-2009, 03:06 PM
there r 4 things that u need to recall when it comes to redox

a. gaining or losing oxygen
b. gaining or losing hydrogen
c. gaining or losing electrons
d. change in oxidation number

do more exercises, and u'll understand what is meant.

lolz yeah four ways..but for me,im too lazy to understand all.so i just memorise the change in oxidation number.lolz

the rest like oxygen and hydrogen,i refer to oxidation number

For any1 who wish to discuss bout NPC this year (2009) u can follow the link here:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8509

im already there but no1 to talk to:(

i also hope those who took it today can discuss at there.esp restless!!haha i know u got take

restless,it seems like we r from the same place!haha..bah kut teh town eh?who knows mayb we actually knew each other.im sure u know me d as i edi stated my skul's name.

30-07-2009, 09:25 PM
haha, believe it or not, I was actually thinking about the same thing regarding you and I from the same school.
But I never knew you were from STK until now, and that means we aren't.
By the way, don't tell me you're going for the Austalian Maths Competition on next Tuesday too? x]

And for chemistry, I think recognising the increasing in oxidation number is important.
You need to memorize the oxidising agent and reducing agent too, like chlorine or potassium permanganate.
And remember that if an element experiences oxidation, it is the reducing agent for another element. The same goes for reduction : )

unsolvedcryptex
31-07-2009, 09:15 AM
haha, believe it or not, I was actually thinking about the same thing regarding you and I from the same school.
But I never knew you were from STK until now, and that means we aren't.
By the way, don't tell me you're going for the Austalian Maths Competition on next Tuesday too? x]

And for chemistry, I think recognising the increasing in oxidation number is important.
You need to memorize the oxidising agent and reducing agent too, like chlorine or potassium permanganate.
And remember that if an element experiences oxidation, it is the reducing agent for another element. The same goes for reduction : )

AMC is by Canberra i think.i din join AMC.coz my skul din join.we join UNSW wan.so ure either from kwang hwa or acs rite?haha

31-07-2009, 03:09 PM
Sheesh! You're stalking! xD Asking my school from discussions to discussions. By the way, I was wondering if I could post some AMC questions here for help.

The integers 1,2,3,....., 100 are written on the board. What is the smallest number of these integers that can be wiped off so that the product of the remaining integers ends in 2?
A. 20
B. 21
C. 22
D. 23
E. 24

unsolvedcryptex
31-07-2009, 04:46 PM
Sheesh! You're stalking! xD Asking my school from discussions to discussions. By the way, I was wondering if I could post some AMC questions here for help.

The integers 1,2,3,....., 100 are written on the board. What is the smallest number of these integers that can be wiped off so that the product of the remaining integers ends in 2?
A. 20
B. 21
C. 22
D. 23
E. 24

hmm..hard!this is AMC?die la if i take.haha.
but i think it means after wiping that number,the rest multiply and will get a number end with 2 rite?

i dunno.i got fever rite now.cant really work out the calculation.but from wat i think.it must be 21.got the feeling.mayb bcz if 20 exist,then it might end with 0 as 20 got zero behind ma.so the smallest wan shud b 21.dunno.mayb im wrong.

imforumer
16-08-2009, 05:08 PM
Hi, I was wondering if anyone could share the answer for K3M 2009 (Aras Lanjutan)? Thanks in advance.

gman
16-08-2009, 06:28 PM

A. 20
B. 21
C. 22
D. 23
E. 24

wouldn't it be better to post this question in the olimpiad matematik kebangsaan or maths and iq problems threads?

by the way, i think the answer might be 21. this is because you need to get rid of all the numbers that end with zero (because any number that multiplies these numbers will end with 0) and the number that end with 5 (because any number that multiplies these numbers will end up with 0 or 5 at the end). then when you multiply the rest of the numbers in sets of tens ( 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9) you will get 2 at the end. since there are ten sets of these numbers, the end number will be the end number for 2^10 which is 4. so all you have to do is just eliminate another number that ends with 2 so that you can get an integer that ends with 2.

10+10+1=21

*i just posted the solution here for convenience purposes.

caretime
14-10-2009, 02:55 PM
Hello.. Today I received my Certificate of participation for the K3M. May I know when will we know what grade we got? As in I heard that we will be getting to certs rite?

cheecken0
14-10-2009, 06:57 PM
oh man.

my teacher said that K3M has a consistent tendency to be late when reporting the grades of the participants. sigh

lilynda
15-10-2009, 11:21 AM
i already get the cert of participation 2 months ago...

unsolvedcryptex
15-10-2009, 01:46 PM
i already get the cert of participation 2 months ago...
yeap same.i received in before sitting the test.and my frens joked that they can go out from the room d and it requires onli rm 5 instead of the original 10.

dun wry if u haven receive.i haven either and still got time la before spm.

15-10-2009, 11:16 PM
The certificate of participation can be given out that day, I even saw my teacher typing and printing it... xD Though i don't really know about the results.But if you guys say it will be coming late, will it be after SPM?

Weng
17-10-2009, 07:52 PM

A. 20
B. 21
C. 22
D. 23
E. 24

wat AMC is this...?
is it the Australia Maths Exam by University of New South Wales...?
is it tat ICAS, International Competition and Assessments for Schools ...?

17-10-2009, 11:51 PM
it's Australian Maths Competitian, ICAS. try it if you have the chance! =)

Weng
18-10-2009, 02:10 AM
it's Australian Maths Competitian, ICAS. try it if you have the chance! =)

i took English, Science, Maths, Computer Skills ICAS since form 2... but onli got distinction in English and Computer Skills... others all got credit...
tis year my maths, science, English all got credit...so sad...

how about you...??

19-10-2009, 12:59 PM
I only took UNSW English, UNSW Science and Australian Maths Competition. I got a credit for science this year and both distinction for English and Maths. I think AMC is different from UNSW Maths but I haven't got the cert to give you in details. Besides, we have the National Physics Competition and Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan too.

It's my first year participating in Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan, you? Since this is the KKK forum, do you think the KKK this year is hard? And can Form 4s participate in this quiz too?

unsolvedcryptex
21-10-2009, 07:59 AM
I only took UNSW English, UNSW Science and Australian Maths Competition. I got a credit for science this year and both distinction for English and Maths. I think AMC is different from UNSW Maths but I haven't got the cert to give you in details. Besides, we have the National Physics Competition and Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan too.

It's my first year participating in Kuiz Kimia Kebangsaan, you? Since this is the KKK forum, do you think the KKK this year is hard? And can Form 4s participate in this quiz too?
2 form 4 joined in my skul this yr

lilynda
09-11-2009, 01:45 PM
i get merit for kuiz kimia, so sad. one of my friends get 97.5. nvm, i will make sure i get A+ in spm.

unsolvedcryptex
09-11-2009, 04:53 PM
i get merit for kuiz kimia, so sad. one of my friends get 97.5. nvm, i will make sure i get A+ in spm.

i haven get back my results.sighz. My fren got high D. from other skul

09-11-2009, 05:19 PM
how do you see which 'grade' you are in? 90+ is high distinction, 80+ distinction, and 70+ merit?

lilynda
09-11-2009, 05:31 PM
60-70 is merit, 70-80 is distinction and >80 is high distinction if i have not mistaken

09-11-2009, 05:44 PM
i see. thanks! my teacher mailed me and if u r correct, i may get a high D!:grin

kaiyi
10-11-2009, 06:11 PM
i only got a merit...sad

unsolvedcryptex
11-11-2009, 02:59 PM
Just got my results today.Not what I expected. Just got high distinction. sighz

11-11-2009, 08:19 PM
You should be happy. High Distinction is very good and is the highest among all. Congrats. No need to sigh. For those who didn't do well, don't worry. Focus on things that are more important like doing well in SPM.

unsolvedcryptex
12-11-2009, 12:42 AM
You should be happy. High Distinction is very good and is the highest among all. Congrats. No need to sigh. For those who didn't do well, don't worry. Focus on things that are more important like doing well in SPM.

Thx for the motivation.Btw, do you know how many students normally get high distinction in a year?roughly. For peringkat Asas

12-11-2009, 08:18 PM
Thx for the motivation.Btw, do you know how many students normally get high distinction in a year?roughly. For peringkat Asas
No idea. It depends on the difficulty of the question and the smartness of students of each year.

12-11-2009, 08:45 PM

It's actually very good. Like what Boyz_Zoo said, don't sigh for it. If you feel that you could have done better, prove it in SPM :)

Feni2008
09-12-2009, 06:39 PM
can the sijil n the money just deliver to my home?i just dunno where it is the place for getting the prize....

Speeddemon
09-12-2009, 07:54 PM
Were you one of the top scorers for k3m 2009?

Feni2008
09-12-2009, 07:56 PM
Were you one of the top scorers for k3m 2009?

yes,i m.for aras lanjutan.

Speeddemon
09-12-2009, 09:12 PM
Congratz. I'm not sure how they distribute the prize, but one thing for sure - u'll get a certificate and some cash. Best of all, u'll be selected to take part in the IChO.

cfliang
10-12-2009, 11:11 AM

What's aras lanjutan o?
For pre-u?

unsolvedcryptex
10-12-2009, 02:35 PM
What's aras lanjutan o?
For pre-u?

STPM. im not sure if A level students can take. this test but in my skul, Lanjutan is for STPM Students. check out institut kimia website. at UKM if I'm not mistaken.

gjy677
16-01-2010, 11:34 PM

Hey... Did you get called for anything regarding chemistry?

Feni2008
16-01-2010, 11:55 PM
Hey... Did you get called for anything regarding chemistry?

huh?nope.why?u got that?

gjy677
17-01-2010, 09:54 AM
huh?nope.why?u got that?

Need more info from you. Would you mind to provide a more efficient way to communicate with you? Trust me. I'm good.

Feni2008
17-01-2010, 09:59 AM
Need more info from you. Would you mind to provide a more efficient way to communicate with you? Trust me. I'm good.

if u want i can give u my e-mail address and msn too.
i pm u ed.

gjy677
17-01-2010, 10:04 AM
if u want i can give u my e-mail address and msn too.
i pm u ed.

To my surprise, I know you already... And if you're free, pls go online on msn...

Feni2008
17-01-2010, 10:13 AM
Oh gosh,i didnt know is you.^^

ucanmakeit
04-03-2010, 09:51 PM
K3m is very easy...just try to get all 50 right..u might pack urself with RM200 cash price..haha..got it last year..

You are so excellent!

Weng
26-06-2010, 02:54 AM
I'm taking the advance level. Anyone here took the advance level before? Where could i get some past year questions to look at?

Btw, i'm currently taking A levels. What are the topics i need to cover?

Which is the syllabus that the quiz is going to cover? Since STPM, lower 6 students have only start for a month or more, will the quiz only cover abit of the form 6 syllabus?

gjy677
26-06-2010, 06:30 AM
I'm taking the advance level. Anyone here took the advance level before? Where could i get some past year questions to look at?

Btw, i'm currently taking A levels. What are the topics i need to cover?

Which is the syllabus that the quiz is going to cover? Since STPM, lower 6 students have only start for a month or more, will the quiz only cover abit of the form 6 syllabus?

Its upper 6 students... Therefore most of chem has been covered...