View Full Version : Muet 2009
mitsukolyn
06-03-2009, 11:29 PM
Hie...MUET exam are cuming,....I'm sure some of you had done some exercises or practices...Well, any idea what's going to come out for exam? My friends and I have a sense that sex education may come out....So what you all think?
Johnivan
09-03-2009, 10:36 PM
Hie...MUET exam are cuming,....I'm sure some of you had done some exercises or practices...Well, any idea what's going to come out for exam? My friends and I have a sense that sex education may come out....So what you all think?
Sex education?? Is he kidding or what... It'll be interesting, though...
It's hard to guess what's coming out, but all we need to do is to read a lot... I hope i can hear the CD clearly this time...
mitsukolyn
14-03-2009, 11:14 PM
hey....muet is soon...anyone any ideas what may come out for exam??come let's discuss...y this thread seems so dead?? come on...STPM-ers....kickstart the discussion and share ur views...~~
Johnivan
16-03-2009, 06:59 PM
Seems funny, as if no one is taking MUET this year...
I got a tip for Listening:
During the 1 minute given for us to read the questions, its best to read through question1 & 3 first. Leave question 2 last, just in case you don't have enough time. Because it is the easiest. And also, use short hand writings...
As for speaking, during discussion, always start with everyone giving their own points for the first round. For the second round, then only start to agree with others. Don't ever SWITCH points unconvincingly. What i mean is, make sure you have something to say after switching the points. It's not necessary to conclude. It's better not to conclude than making yourself a fool by switching points without being giving a good reason. Examiners can actually read our mind...
chongkeat
16-03-2009, 10:04 PM
As for speaking, during discussion, always start with everyone giving their own points for the first round. For the second round, then only start to agree with others. Don't ever SWITCH points unconvincingly. What i mean is, make sure you have something to say after switching the points. It's not necessary to conclude. It's better not to conclude than making yourself a fool by switching points without being giving a good reason. Examiners can actually read our mind...
Actually, during the second round of speaking, it might just be better to reach a consensus. During my last speaking test, my group cannot agree on one main point. The examiners didn't look to impressed.
All of us got really low marks. It may not be the consensus thingy, but better safe than sorry, eh?
Just make sure you guys are prepared beforehand to be able to identify when are your teammates converging on a point. That didn't happen with my group, and we all were looking at each other helplessly......
Miriam
16-03-2009, 10:30 PM
Seems funny, as if no one is taking MUET this year...
I got a tip for Listening:
During the 1 minute given for us to read the questions, its best to read through question1 & 3 first. Leave question 2 last, just in case you don't have enough time. Because it is the easiest. And also, use short hand writings...
You mean you think that it is better to support your own point before switching to another point? Does anyone know how to interupt the discussion without sounding rude? Because two of my group members tend to debate between them for a long time. This causes me to have difficulties interupting because i'm afraid i'll sound rude.
Johnivan
17-03-2009, 11:31 PM
You mean you think that it is better to support your own point before switching to another point?
It is actually meant to kill time... Because if we come to a conclusion too fast, it may make us speechless. By the time everyone speaks about his own points, it'll be about 6 minutes. Then just quickly agree with the most logic point.
Actually, during the second round of speaking, it might just be better to reach a consensus. During my last speaking test, my group cannot agree on one main point. The examiners didn't look to impressed.
All of us got really low marks. It may not be the consensus thingy, but better safe than sorry, eh?
I think you have a point there. It means that we must try to conclude on one point, but not abruptly.
markwongsk
18-03-2009, 01:08 AM
You mean you think that it is better to support your own point before switching to another point? Does anyone know how to interupt the discussion without sounding rude? Because two of my group members tend to debate between them for a long time. This causes me to have difficulties interupting because i'm afraid i'll sound rude.
arrange beforehand that you all must give each other chances to speak. If one person is being neglected, the whole group will be marked down because the speakers are NOT emphatic enough to noticed that somebody is being ostracized.
Do practice more among yourselves. And try to appoint someone as the leader, normally a debater/public speaker, who can twist and turn the motion of the discussion without much fuss.
pinknotebook
18-03-2009, 10:42 AM
In my school, I think many people underestimated MUET (because everyone could speak decent English) Especially for the objective grammar paper. Some were so confident they would leave the hall 45 minutes before the paper ended etc. Do it slowly and extremely carefully. Weigh your answers because many of them are very close :)
I got quite a low writing mark (53) compared to my friends but my objective paper and listening paper managed to pull my band to 6! :D
For speaking, the most important thing to do is to relax and smile :)
If you cannot reach a conclusion, have the whole group elect someone beforehand who, when the time is up, will gather the most reasonable points and reach a conclusion for the whole group.
Something simple like "Hmmm, in conclusion I think it is safe to say that the majority of the group agree that (...........) is the best way to (........) because (.......), thank you!"
While saying this I would establish eye contact with each and every group member in my team and they would do some sort of a "Yeah I agree" nod of approval and that worked for my MUET teacher who is an examiner. Body language is just as important as your speech during speaking
Good luck! :)
FORD NUCLEON SPECIFICATIONS (http://www.ford-wiki.com/wiki/Ford_Nucleon)
mitsukolyn
18-03-2009, 06:49 PM
Well, if u wanna interrupt, you may as well just say that :
M1:" Excuse me, can I say something?"
M2: "Excuse me, can you please repeat what you have just said?"
M3: "Excuse me, can you please clarify your points when you say ....?"
M4: " Allow me to interrupt..."
M5: "I am sorry to interrupt but I have to say that ...."
M6: " I am sorry. May I add something here? "
Actually there are many ways of interrupting a conversation but the most important thing is that it is better to interrupt only after the candidate has stopped talking. It is a NO-NO to interrupt when she's not finished...You might not impress the examiner as well...
In my school, I think many people underestimated MUET (because everyone could speak decent English) Especially for the objective grammar paper. Some were so confident they would leave the hall 45 minutes before the paper ended etc. Do it slowly and extremely carefully. Weigh your answers because many of them are very close :)
I got quite a low writing mark (53) compared to my friends but my objective paper and listening paper managed to pull my band to 6! :D
If you cannot reach a conclusion, have the whole group elect someone beforehand who, when the time is up, will gather the most reasonable points and reach a conclusion for the whole group.
Something simple like "Hmmm, in conclusion I think it is safe to say that the majority of the group agree that (...........) is the best way to (........) because (.......), thank you!"
While saying this I would establish eye contact with each and every group member in my team and they would do some sort of a "Yeah I agree" nod of approval and that worked for my MUET teacher who is an examiner. Body language is just as important as your speech during speaking
Wow!!! Did you do a lot of exercises before the exam? And I would also like to enquire about listening...I'm not sure if the prob is with me or the CD...When I'm listening to the radio or TV,I can listen very clearly...But when it comes to doing listening exercises in school, Im having problem of catching the words and phrases...What if in the real exam I'm having this kind of problem?? I'm so worrried...Can anyone enlighten me??
lawteoh
20-03-2009, 04:28 PM
Wow!!! Did you do a lot of exercises before the exam? And I would also like to enquire about listening...I'm not sure if the prob is with me or the CD...When I'm listening to the radio or TV,I can listen very clearly...But when it comes to doing listening exercises in school, Im having problem of catching the words and phrases...What if in the real exam I'm having this kind of problem?? I'm so worrried...Can anyone enlighten me??
For listening, I think the best way is to do practice even while at home.. Just get a cd and the answer script. In my case, I try to write some important phrases which I hear on paper (with pencil), and then later only I figure out how to rephrase it into 3/5 words. Perhaps there's a better way. If you do it my way, u have to write very fast.
Last year, since I was the only person in my class who took MUET (end-year), the teacher didn't really care about me. So, I have to do some self-study, and drill on listening since listening is something new for me that time. Oh, and I think last year listening is really difficult. U hv to rephrase the sentence especially in part C, and its not DIRECT at all.. Luckily, still manage to get 38/45. :)
mitsukolyn
21-03-2009, 01:37 PM
Ic..But sometimes I think the person who speaks in the CD is either spoke too fast or unclear which made it difficult for us to catch the sentences and phrases...So,does it means that only through practice can help us?
I hope for the real MUET the speaker speaks clearly and not too fast lo....Btw,u took MUET twice???
celestial_sacred
21-03-2009, 02:46 PM
You can actually take three times if you know when to apply. xD Every year, the test is held twice. You only take as a school candidate once which is usually for the mid-year test when you're in upper six.
chongkeat
21-03-2009, 06:14 PM
Ic..But sometimes I think the person who speaks in the CD is either spoke too fast or unclear which made it difficult for us to catch the sentences and phrases...So,does it means that only through practice can help us?
I hope for the real MUET the speaker speaks clearly and not too fast lo....Btw,u took MUET twice???
Erm, I not sure how you guys do things over at your school, but for my MUET exam, we listened over the PA system, and it sounds like they were just playing a recording from a CD. Not too sure, but it sure sounds like what i usually hear during class practice.
And we can actually take MUET three times, as a Form Six student.
The first time is during our Lower Six year, sometime around November.
The second time is in Mid-May, during our Upper Six year.
The third time, which only a handful would take, if they are still not satisfied with their results, would be during the end of the year, together with the new Lower Six class.
At least, that's what my school does. Not sure about the other schools.
lawteoh
21-03-2009, 10:25 PM
Yup, took MUET twice.. I am so disappointed with my first time (old format). Essay got 32/75, which results in getting band 4(very close to 5) Couldn't accept it, and its impossible as I always did well in school..
So, I take risk lor in sitting for end-year, which is very near STPM. Plus, the fact that its new format make things difficult..
Hmm.. Unclear? I mean if only some words are unclear, then its understood lor.. Normal. :) u will get a chance to hear that again, but please control ur emotions that time, like dun be nervous or panic.. or else chances are you will not be able to hear that part again.. Or is it the slang which make u unable to hear? hmm..
And if you are good, try practicing by listening through without taking any notes.. try to REALLY understand the passage. then later, only answer the questions with ur understanding.. (U hv to change or summarize some of the words anyway to reach 3/5 words) I haven't reach that stage yet cause no time at all to practice. And practice makes perfect.. :) when u r free, just play any cd, and practice lor.. it would take abt 30 minutes for one exercise, cause I doubt in school, you will always have listening practice right?
Just asking, when ur friend converse with you, how's the speed which he/she is talking that time? Could hear all the words clearly? Cause the speed is a bit like that.. So mainly, I just scribble as fast as I can. :)
mitsukolyn
21-03-2009, 10:39 PM
uhm...ic...well,when my friends speak to me, i can actually hears clearly and their speed is average...So I can actually understand what they talked to me...But I just don't understand why when it comes to doin the practice, I started having problems...I hope the prob is not with me...Or else I'd be landed into deep shit...LOl....
Sighhh...if wanna retake means have to pay another RM60 and it's gonna be around STPM time...Wow...Im still not sure about that....I'll see first what's my result...But I just wanna clarify that after the Muet test, when do u guys usually get ur result??? A month after the test or ...???
Sighhhh,.,....Its been 3 days I'm finding for ways to promote tourism in Msia but yet I couldnt find any relevant facts....SOB SOB....I think that tourism-related topics could be one of the topic for speaking...who knws...just an opinion la...BTw...Can anyone provide me any websites which can help me to solve my prob?? I'm not asking anyone to help me do any homework...although my lazy MUET sir didn't give us any homework...Sighh...I have to do own my own...Sob sob sob...I wondered why my sir so lazy...One essay has took him almost a month to correct...I still havent got my book yet...Sigh...how good if I have a dedicated MUET teacher...Anyone else has any other essay or speaking exercises to share???
lawteoh
21-03-2009, 11:21 PM
oh.. I got it in January.. around 10-15 la.. make me nervous especially when I was in camp that time!! and if u get band 5, dun retake.. cause quite a number of ppl get band 4 last year, and band 5 also kinda difficult to get. Mayb ur batch more ppl wud get 5 and 6.. lolz..
promote tourism? Normal stuffs- campaign (cuti-cuti malaysia), presentation/performances by different ethnic (lion dance, etc), education-where students are drilled to be polite to foreign visitors), nice public amenities- like public toilet.. :) then just elaborate la..
Speaking anything can also come out la.. but normally, they will ask u on recent issues or issues which u already know dy.. Just read the newspaper daily and you will do alright wan..
Last year..
For first day, first session, the topic is something like this..
What have impact/transform our life greatly in our world..
A: Forms of transport
B: Forms of telecommunication
C: Electrical appliance
D: Modern medicine
The topic won't repeat but no harm practicing it rite? :)
mitsukolyn
01-04-2009, 11:13 PM
ooh...ic...thnks a lot for ur information and advices...bout the tourism part...i've done it myself....talk a lot of nonsense like what does msia offers whch attracts the tourists...eg foods,events&festivals,.....hm....guess that i need a lot of touch up to do...my teacher told me that usually the topics given is based on current issues...She told me bout the current debate bout the ETEMS(PPSMI)...or perhaps consumerism....
By the way,lawteoh,in ur opinion, which part of muet is the hardest? Is Comprehension &writing tough??
to everyone whois taking muet this month,
U can check bout the dates for ur speaking test in the mpm webbie d....
mine is on 12th mAY...lolx...second last day...^^
lawteoh
04-04-2009, 12:45 AM
Comprehension should be the easiest la, I feel.. :) Don't do careless, can score dy..
Hmm.. Last time, I thought listening is the toughest.. Just concentrate on listening and writing la.. this 2 is the toughest.. =) Comprehension can't be drilled wan.. U can only do on the spot. Good luck in ur speaking test.
mitsukolyn
04-04-2009, 10:35 PM
haha...thnks...guess tht u dun comment much on speaking...it means its quite ok??can score?? sighh...nxt wed got muet trial...im not prepared at all...im in dead meat...
lawteoh
05-04-2009, 08:33 PM
haha...thnks...guess tht u dun comment much on speaking...it means its quite ok??can score?? sighh...nxt wed got muet trial...im not prepared at all...im in dead meat...
Speaking ah? Last time, I just speak what came to my mind. Normally, it will work out.. But of course if you have nothing else to talk and ur time still like got 30 sec left, try 'repeating your points' but in a different way or you can reaffirm ur stand lor.. this wan is for individual task.
For group task, it depends on ur group.. Normally, I will just crap in, and elaborate on the points which my group members are presenting that time.. So, no stress for me la.. Cause even if you hv nothing else to talk, you could just pass your turn to your other members and then you generate a bit of your points within that short period of time. Of course, a bit of team work and co-operation is needed. =)
And hmm.. last time, my teacher didn't even inform me that my trial is on a particular day.. and she only inform me one day before it.. -.- still manage to get a 242 without preparing..
Well, just take it easy la.. of cz, u hv to read newspaper daily.. u noe the nst 'letters' section.. See how they write.. =)
Good luck.. oh yeah, what r u targeting? Band 6? :)
mitsukolyn
13-04-2009, 12:17 AM
uhm...lol..i dun dare to target too high...i just target band 5...but i still hope can get band 6 lo...thnks a lot for the advices...lol...my muet trial suckkxx....
my grades is so low...!!omg...
speaking was okay...my teacher just told me that for individual presentation i got mid band 5,but for group discuss got high band 5...lol...and my compre..just 29/45...im such a loser....and the writing part sure teruk wan..i dun even know what to write...
the title is :
"First class facilities, third class mentality"
This is described by a prominent politicial figure on Malaysians. Write an essay about this statement.
*correcting my typing error...i think it is described by a .....about Malaysians...
lawteoh
17-04-2009, 12:54 PM
oh yeah.. this is my school trial this year for speaking.. my junior posted it up.. lolz..
Topic: Malaysia's greatest achievement.
A = educational opportunities
B = modern transport system
C = Malaysian made products
D = famous national landmarks
u can practice.. =)
What happened to me was, we made a pact to defend our own points unless absolutely necessary in the second round, so we ended up having a lively discussion where everybody could speak. One of my group members got a point that was so weak he immediately hijacked another person's point and kick started the whole discussion. The examiners were quite impressed, and they told us we needn't conclude, just take the discussion outside! :)
Johnivan
18-04-2009, 09:54 AM
MUET is next Saturday! I won't be touching my computer from now till 26th... Well, i can't give you anymore tips cos it seems the more exercises i do, the more wrong i get... (Quite frustrating, you know...) Just read more, use more 'appropriate' bombastic words, then, get your ears cleaned...
Anyway, all the best to Mitsukolyn (sounds like a Japanese name...) and others!
sakuraf4
22-04-2009, 03:24 PM
er hi..well i'm a private candidate for muet..
so i want 2 ask about the writing paper...if we need to write an article do we need to give a title as well?
I don't think you'll be penalised for giving one even if it's not required.
trivngan90
23-04-2009, 10:51 PM
but for my school, it is compulsory to write the title n must write By:.....(your name)
chongkeat
24-04-2009, 04:16 PM
Good luck to all the MUET candidates tomorrow!
Oh, and for my school, you will be penalized if you don't write a title.
sugarspice
24-04-2009, 04:41 PM
How to improve the reading part? I did exercises on Oxford Fajar book but everytime I still get quite a number of mistakes. I did badly in my MUET last year, in reading and writing part - only 85 and 54 respectively. =( I seriously wanna improve my reading!
the last dusun
24-04-2009, 04:49 PM
Hello everyone, i would like to share a few of my experience regarding MUET here. I just finished my matriculation and finished my MUET examination recently. You know what?....I didn't prepare that much for MUET, i didn't prepare very well for MUET. I only revise about the format of writing essay and summary, i didn't even read any materials in order to prepare my self for the exam. But still, i managed to get band 4. However, if you intend to take medicine or engineering later on in University, band 5 is a must. Did you know about this? the minimum requirements to enter medicine or engineering is band 3, which is the passing band. If you got band 2 or lower, u are considered, failed, i believe everyone know about this. Let's say u got a band 3 in MUET and you plan to take medicine. Will there be any chance for u to be accepted?....of course , Yes!....However, later on once you are about to graduate, you must repeat the MUET examination in order to get a minimum of band 5. Hope this post is useful....try asking about your MUET teacher.
OrenDUTz
24-04-2009, 10:44 PM
ei dusun...if get band 3 in muet the chance for getting into medic in uni will getting less or not? cuz i am quite worry about muet and even though if i go to matrix i also hav to test for it....haiz..
Johnivan
25-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Yay! the three papers are over...
Writing:
Q2 Information and communications technology (ICT) is the cause of today's many social ills. What is your opinion? Support your answer with examples. You should write at least 350 words.
This is a nice question, except that i shouldn't have put too much emphasis on health before this...
Overall, everything has its standard. I'm glad its over. It was fun to answer the questionaire too, I commented that the writing time should be extended, and they should reconsider the true-false-not-stated questions in reading... Now it's speaking on the 7th...
According to my teacher, a band 6 speaker must have a very good vocabulary and is able to use idiomatic phrases. They are to speak as if they were speaking naturally. It seems like its not that easy this year. Got to do a lot of ground work...
You guys know anything about nanotech, biotech, or vision 2020? It's good to find out, just in case...
mitsukolyn
25-04-2009, 08:11 PM
lolxxx..johnivan,wad's ur opinion on tht essay?u agree or disagree with it??wad are ur points?? and d directed writin,hw to link the graphs?? im in dead meat d...i dun even link them...
lawteoh
25-04-2009, 09:49 PM
lolxxx..johnivan,wad's ur opinion on tht essay?u agree or disagree with it??wad are ur points?? and d directed writin,hw to link the graphs?? im in dead meat d...i dun even link them...
oh.. your teacher din give u practice on how to link the graphs meh? Anyway, its over now.. better concentrate on speaking. =)
Johnivan
29-04-2009, 11:04 PM
Well, I wanted to agree totally, but i lacked of points... I said that it causes sex crimes, frauds and cheats, strains family relationship, and i think the other point is just nonsense...
Oh, the other question, i did 2 mistakes: 1, i didn't see the word "link", 2, I didn't write a conclusion... Oh gosh... It will pull down my band... I hope i still could get a band 5 somewhere...
My speaking is on the 7th. Good luck!:)
mitsukolyn
02-05-2009, 12:19 AM
good luck to ur all..mine on 12...do share who has done
sicknight
05-05-2009, 07:58 PM
good luck to ur all..mine on 12...do share who has done
done my speaking test today,just to share with others.
(the question is something like this,couldn't remember word by word).
There is shortage of donated organs.Who should be given the priority to receive the organ.
(a)Child
(b)Senior Citizen
(c)those who are seriously ill
(d)those who have money
this question is for the first session.What i heard from others in the second session is,
loyal and patriotic to our country at(a)individual,(b)community,(c)national,(d)international level.
task A:elaborate patriotisme at the selected level
task B:which is the most effective way.
Hope this will help,although it will not come out again.but,just for practise.
Good luck to those who haven't take the test.
sugarspice
06-05-2009, 05:15 AM
done my speaking test today,just to share with others.
(the question is something like this,couldn't remember word by word).
There is shortage of donated organs.Who should be given the priority to receive the organ.
(a)Child
(b)Senior Citizen
(c)those who are seriously ill
(d)those who have money
correction: (d) people who can pay more.
imforumer
06-05-2009, 10:15 AM
I had done my Speaking test this morning too, not well-done btw. The topic is not so contentious.
Question:
Shopping complexes are getting popular these days. Discuss why they are crowded by people.
A: ~ is a convenient place to stay.
B: ~ has a lots activities.
C: ~ good facilities available.
D: ~ can have good relationship with friends and families.
Johnivan
08-05-2009, 03:27 PM
Yay, my speaking is over! It was an easy topic, yet some of the points are hard to elaborate...
Q: Why does Malaysia need foreign workers? What is the main reason for it?
A. for more manpower
B. They are cheap to employ
C. They are willing to take up the unpopular jobs
D. To enable women in Malaysia join the workforce of the country
I was candidate C. Lots of points to elaborate. I think A and D are the ones who will suffer...:cry
mitsukolyn
08-05-2009, 11:10 PM
lol...task A for candidate D was so tough!!! I don't know what is the point and what's the relation btw the foreign workers with the women to join workforce ...lol...such a tough task!!zzZzz...hopefully dis quest wont repeat and hope tht my task would be easier...lol...wish me luck ya!!
wuenwuen
09-05-2009, 01:31 AM
if the hsekeepers are being hire at home, womens may not be feel troublesome for their hse chores, including cooking and kids welfare. this is becoz maids are there.
So, women can have more time to join in work force, being insurance agent, full-timed teachers, doc. etc
SjPark
18-05-2009, 09:31 PM
CAN I NOE WHEN is the deadline for may muet registration???
markwongsk
18-05-2009, 10:57 PM
May is over >_< do you mean October?
sugarspice
19-05-2009, 05:33 AM
If you mean May 2010, then the deadline should be around January 2010.
louis8_8wang
05-06-2009, 01:15 PM
huh? I think your teacher purposely chooses some difficult tracks so that you will go extra miles to improve yourself because most of tracks which I have bought from the market are loud and clear. Moreover, they speak quite slow if compared to the radio Deejay...
Zwitterion
13-06-2009, 01:14 AM
Does anyone know when the MUET results for Mid Year exam will be out?
13-06-2009, 06:23 AM
most probably will be out in July. the exact date has not been announced yet.
Johnivan
04-07-2009, 03:42 PM
Hey people, I'm just guessing... I think the MUET results will be out before 16 July. I guess so because my teacher says that normally after getting the results, there will be 1 week for a person to decide before he signs up for the next MUET test, which the closing date is 23 July.
Just guessing...:P
sugarspice
05-07-2009, 05:50 AM
Hey people, I'm just guessing... I think the MUET results will be out before 16 July. I guess so because my teacher says that normally after getting the results, there will be 1 week for a person to decide before he signs up for the next MUET test, which the closing date is 23 July.
Just guessing...:P
a week? wow....last year we were given only a day...anyway I guess it will sure be out before the dateline for registering for the MUET End of year 2009. >Excited!
lawteoh
09-07-2009, 12:02 AM
All the best to u guys... Results will be out on the 13 July. :)
Source: www.mpm.edu.my
khuanoz
10-07-2009, 04:26 PM
Lol yup just got to know from my class teacher..cant wait for it..quite anxious since i did so badly in writing ><
excerpt from mpm website
2009 MID YEAR MUET RESULT
13 July 2009
Check by SMS from 12:01 am, 13 July 2009:
type MUET><I/C No. and send to 36363
On-Line : www.mpm.edu.my
from 8:30 am, 13 July 2009
sugarspice
10-07-2009, 04:50 PM
Just something to share, the results gotten via SMS was not 100% accurate last year. Some of my friends they checked via SMS that they got band 5, but the next day when they got the result slip, it was a band 4....
khuanoz
10-07-2009, 06:23 PM
Just something to share, the results gotten via SMS was not 100% accurate last year. Some of my friends they checked via SMS that they got band 5, but the next day when they got the result slip, it was a band 4....
whoa wat a let down..if its the other way round it'd be great..sms band 1 and result slip band 6..lol if only that is possible
Johnivan
13-07-2009, 04:20 PM
Hey everybody, how's your MUET results?
I am quite happy yet quite unsatisfied...
Happy because I got band 5, sad, because, it's 2 more marks to a band 6!!!! ARRRRRRR......
lawteoh
13-07-2009, 05:32 PM
Happy because I got band 5, sad, because, it's 2 more marks to a band 6!!!! ARRRRRRR......
2 more marks to band 6? wow.. a pity that u din get the 2 marks.. haha..
Anyway.. how many students in ur school gt band 6?
chongkeat
13-07-2009, 05:42 PM
I, too, have two more marks till Band 4.....
Anyway, we have one Band-Sixer here at my school. So, spared from total embarassment at least. No one had a Band 6 the first time around.....
So, anyone still considering a retake?
imforumer
13-07-2009, 06:24 PM
What a waste...
Mine too, 3 more marks to get Band 5 T_T. I found that the overall performance goes down in my school, 3 of my friends was expected to get band 6 but came out as high Band 4, =.=
Anyway, my teacher advises me not to retake it again since it is a waste of time.
markwongsk
13-07-2009, 06:37 PM
You should take it again to make amends with your feelings - provided you don't compromise your main subjects.
Anyway why do you all know the results already? My friend says his school hasn't given him the slip yet. He could only check through SMS
What a waste...
Mine too, 3 more marks to get Band 5 T_T. I found that the overall performance goes down in my school, 3 of my friends was expected to get band 6 but came out as high Band 4, =.=
Anyway, my teacher advises me not to retake it again since it is a waste of time.
If you're considering Singapore you should seriously rethink about retaking
989Lee
13-07-2009, 06:56 PM
hey guys, how will the muet results affect the chances of being admitted into a university? Other things being equal, will a person get higher chance if he has a higher band than the other one? Or is it just a gauge of your english proficiency that if you have passed, then it doesn't matter anymore?
lawteoh
13-07-2009, 07:13 PM
What a waste...
agree with mark in this issue. If u wanna go sg, must try to get at least 5. If not, chances are v low unless u manage to get full A's in STPM. However, if u r aiming local u, band 4 is enuf. :)
khuanoz
13-07-2009, 07:38 PM
i got a 5 lol..this early morning 12.05am but discovered it was a borderline band 5..haha 220 marks..God's blessings must be abundant for me
anyways, anyone else got band 6 besides the one posted by chongkeat? none in my school where at least 7 are supposed to get it
13-07-2009, 07:57 PM
I got a 5 but i am considering to retake. Anyone wanna retake?
joyce_limyp
13-07-2009, 08:05 PM
i think the result for muet dropped terribly this time as this is the 2nd batch for the new format. the listening and writing especially, total change. my school only one had band5 and many band2s.
SapphireDragon
13-07-2009, 09:11 PM
So the format will be the same for this October's MUET? But by the looks of what my teacher has shown me, it isn't that hard....I dunno.
989Lee
13-07-2009, 09:45 PM
hey guys, how will the muet results affect the chances of being admitted into a university? Other things being equal, will a person get higher chance if he has a higher band than the other one? Or is it just a gauge of your english proficiency that if you have passed, then it doesn't matter anymore?
any insight?
markwongsk
13-07-2009, 10:25 PM
any insight?
Let's just put it this way... you go into a computer shop and notice a computer model you like which is worth Rm2000. And you noticed another model which is exactly the same as the previous one you saw but with an enhanced feature, but at the same price. I think we all know which computer we'll choose if we were in that computer shop don't we?
989Lee
13-07-2009, 10:42 PM
i am just wondering whether MUET works exactly with TOEFL or not. The latter's purpose is just to gauge a student's proficiency in English. If a University requires 80 on TOEFL, then a student scoring 100 will not have an advantage over another one who scores 80 since both have demonstrated their ability in communicating in English. So, does the MUET work the same way?
I would appreciate it if you guys could give me prompt answers as my friend will need to decide whether she needs to retake the test. She aims to apply for dietician or nutritionist program and scored band 3
Thank you very much in advance.
markwongsk
13-07-2009, 10:57 PM
of course when the program requirement is 80... and you have two candidates with 4As but one with TOEFL 80 and another 115... who do you choose?
989Lee
13-07-2009, 11:17 PM
markwongsk, thank you very much for your reply. =)
the TOEFL, as i have said, is just to gauge your english proficiency. so the two candidates you mentioned with not have an edge over another since they have 'passed' the requirement. As in who will be chosen, then other factors will need to be calculated (not the TOEFL score).
So, sorry for spamming the page, just wonder whether MUET is the same? Since MUET is under Malaysian system while the TOEFL under USA, they might not be same?
sugarspice
14-07-2009, 05:44 AM
agree with mark in this issue. If u wanna go sg, must try to get at least 5. If not, chances are v low unless u manage to get full A's in STPM. However, if u r aiming local u, band 4 is enuf. :)
If you don't wanna do MUET, you can take IELTS later, perhaps after STPM, as by that time you will have time to gear up your english language proficiency.
i think the result for muet dropped terribly this time as this is the 2nd batch for the new format. the listening and writing especially, total change. my school only one had band5 and many band2s.
Yes, indeed. I was astounded when I saw my marks for Listening as I was confident to get 44-45. And they pressed down the marks for speaking too...the overall performance in my school has dropped ....many got band 2 - can't enter local uni already...must retake I guess.
Do you guys think this somehow has got sth to do with reverting the PPSMI? My friend said maybe the government wants to prove that studying Maths and Science in English does and will not improve students' english language proficiency...
So the format will be the same for this October's MUET? But by the looks of what my teacher has shown me, it isn't that hard....I dunno.
It's in November, if I'm not wrong. Yes, the format will be the same. Well, many people said Nov paper will be easier than the mid year one, but I felt last year's Nov paper was tougher than this year's mid year paper...lol
markwongsk, thank you very much for your reply. =)
the TOEFL, as i have said, is just to gauge your english proficiency. so the two candidates you mentioned with not have an edge over another since they have 'passed' the requirement. As in who will be chosen, then other factors will need to be calculated (not the TOEFL score).
So, sorry for spamming the page, just wonder whether MUET is the same? Since MUET is under Malaysian system while the TOEFL under USA, they might not be same?
I don't think so. MUET is just a requirement. According to my headmaster, if you get a band lower than band 5, you need to take extra english classes in uni (local uni). The lower your band, the more classes you need to take, and those are compulsory. But things are different when it comes to singapore unis, of course.
For people taking Biology, it's better to get a band 5, while for those in physics classes, a band 4 would suffice.
joyce_limyp
14-07-2009, 09:37 AM
if wanna take education course after stpm (for example teaching mathematics primary school) , a band 3 is ok right? minimum requirement to enter public university (since education is UPSI) is band 2 or band 3? more advisable to re-sit? i have a friend in this dilemma.
the listening turned into a harder version. when my time, it was all MCQ, so scoring full for listening is a very common thing. now, need to listen and write out the answers, what more need to be precise with the answer.
for those who wanna re-sit, better be quick. closing date : 23 July 09
the speaking will be on 6/7/8 Oct or 20/21/22 Oct
the other 3pprs will be on 7 Nov
ZhannaC
14-07-2009, 08:24 PM
Anyone can beat mine? 259. Hahahaha. Talk about frustrating. My score's breakdown: Listening 38/45, Speaking 30/45, Reading 112/120, Writing 79/90.
I was (and still am) quite upset over my speaking score, my teachers said that my school examiners were way too strict. Highest in my school is 33(that I've heard of so far), majority of us English-speaking people got 20+.
I'm retaking, for the sheer reason of satisfying myself and no one else. :amuse My teachers said that the next round of examiners(for speaking) would be different, I can only hope they are not as strict. :nod
To retake or not, that is the question many students are asking. If you achieved a band 4 or higher, it's really up to you. If you find MUET a stressful subject, then by all means DON'T retake it, especially if you're in upper 6 this year. If you're comfortable enough with English and don't need to do loads and loads of work to do well, then by all means give it another go. :-)
lawteoh
14-07-2009, 08:52 PM
Anyone can beat mine? 259. Hahahaha. Talk about frustrating. My score's breakdown: Listening 38/45, Speaking 30/45, Reading 112/120, Writing 79/90.
I was (and still am) quite upset over my speaking score, my teachers said that my school examiners were way too strict. Highest in my school is 33(that I've heard of so far), majority of us English-speaking people got 20+.
I'm retaking, for the sheer reason of satisfying myself and no one else. :amuse My teachers said that the next round of examiners(for speaking) would be different, I can only hope they are not as strict. :nod
To retake or not, that is the question many students are asking. If you achieved a band 4 or higher, it's really up to you. If you find MUET a stressful subject, then by all means DON'T retake it, especially if you're in upper 6 this year. If you're comfortable enough with English and don't need to do loads and loads of work to do well, then by all means give it another go. :-)
wao.. 259.. that must have really frustrated you to the max.. haha.. hmm.. and yup, if ur speaking score is just one mark higher, u will be in band 6.. hope u get a good examiner (not too strict) the next round.. =)
15-07-2009, 12:17 AM
Are you in upper six? When are you gonna retake it? This coming Nov or Next Year April? I am still ambivalent about it!!!
sugarspice
15-07-2009, 05:56 AM
my speaking was bad too...34....last year i got 40 =.= That examiner looked 'fierce'.
Are you in upper six? When are you gonna retake it? This coming Nov or Next Year April? I am still ambivalent about it!!!
If you take it in May next year, will you be in time to submit you MUET results during your application to local unis? Or can we submit our results AFTER our applications? the results will be out around July, like now, and by then all application will be closed...
lawteoh
15-07-2009, 02:57 PM
If you take it in May next year, will you be in time to submit you MUET results during your application to local unis? Or can we submit our results AFTER our applications? the results will be out around July, like now, and by then all application will be closed...
Its either u take it this nov or u don't.. cz the applications will be closed. However, if u r free during the 'long' holidays, u could consider taking IELTS or TOEFL (IF u want to apply for overseas uni.)
P.S: That applies for Upper 6 this year. For lower 6 this year, it's better to retake if u r nt satisfied with your band.
Johnivan
15-07-2009, 05:27 PM
2 more marks to band 6? wow.. a pity that u din get the 2 marks.. haha..
Anyway.. how many students in ur school gt band 6?
My school? None... I happen to be the highest... All because i screwed up my writing question 1...
You should take it again to make amends with your feelings - provided you don't compromise your main subjects.
I think i won't retake it, considering that I am already taking 5 subjects, and some more if it were meant for me to go for local u, I think it's enough, since firstly now there are really a few band sixer, secondly my course wouldn't require me to get band six...
Even if it's for overseas, I think after STPM, I'll take IELTS...
I'm slightly lower than you: 258. I shouted out when i opened my results slip, making all the teachers in the staff room turn their heads to me...
Listening: 38
Speaking 37
Reading 107
Writing 76
khuanoz
16-07-2009, 05:39 PM
hmm seems like alot of people are unlucky and just a few marks from band 6..must be quite frustrating eh?
im on the other end of the line..220
Listening- 43
Speaking- 35
Reading- 99
Writing- 43
almost everyone in my school flunked writing (<50) and scored high for listening (40+) lol malaysia really could be pushing down the standards just to justify the PPSMI switch to BM again..hmmm
oh well, all the best to those who plan to resit!
sugarspice
16-07-2009, 05:54 PM
Seriously how do you get such high scores in Reading and Writing?
Do you do practices on comprehension and writing very often?
Give some tips here...thanks :)
ZhannaC
16-07-2009, 09:30 PM
I'm retaking it this year, because I do not find it an added burden. It's not as if I do extra work to prepare for it. Actually, I've stopped buying books to read for these few months because they simply distract me waaaay to much. haha. All fun-reading put on hold till after STPM. :P
I'm slightly lower than you: 258. I shouted out when i opened my results slip, making all the teachers in the staff room turn their heads to me...
Listening: 38
Speaking 37
Reading 107
Writing 76
haha, I didn't have the suspense of opening my slip. My teacher openly announced that I was the highest in school, and that I had missed band 6 by ONE mark. So, no suspense lah. :amuse
Seriously how do you get such high scores in Reading and Writing?
Do you do practices on comprehension and writing very often?
Give some tips here...thanks :)
No, I never do practices on comprehension and writing, other than the ones my teacher gives us in class. For writing, no one would mark my extra work anyway, and I really hate spending time writing essays. Haha. I'm like a lazy fat tabby cat. :)) Er.. comprehension.. I don't know, I'm a book-gobbler? As mentioned earlier, I'm exercising restraint for these few months, or else it's bye bye STPM, and even a band 6 in MUET won't get me anywhere.
I suppose what one can do is read a lot. But if you are in upper 6 this year, I suggest you don't stress yourself up too much over the coming MUET exam. If you managed to get a band 4 and above, then really, there's nothing to worry about, channel your worries towards STPM. :)
khuanoz, you have POWDERFUL! listening skills! Really. haha. I'm pretty happy with my 38/45 for listening because my listening skills are nothing to boast about. I'm always going, "Huh??", "What???", "Repeat please!". :amuse
Li Shan Shung
17-07-2009, 02:34 PM
I think i won't retake it, considering that I am already taking 5 subjects, and some more if it were meant for me to go for local u, I think it's enough, since firstly now there are really a few band sixer, secondly my course wouldn't require me to get band six...
Even if it's for overseas, I think after STPM, I'll take IELTS...
Mid Band 5 for me. Considered lucky since I didn't even prepare much for MUET.
I plan to take IELTS too after STPM cuz I heard NUS would prefer IE results over MUET.
Any ways to improve english drastically in speaking, reading, writing? I came from a non-english background. Any ways?
Johnivan
18-07-2009, 02:30 PM
Mid Band 5 for me. Considered lucky since I didn't even prepare much for MUET.
I plan to take IELTS too after STPM cuz I heard NUS would prefer IE results over MUET.
Any ways to improve english drastically in speaking, reading, writing? I came from a non-english background. Any ways?
Hi, It's a long time since i heard from you...
Speaking: Listen to how others speak, then try to imitate them. I think start speaking using simple vocab will be good as a start...
Reading: Read books, magazines, then record down words/phrases that you think are interesting, or useful, then try to use them...
Writing: Almost the same as reading. When you do it, i think it helps both...
jjaiteng
04-12-2009, 03:13 AM
may I ask when will the end year result of muet out? ^^ thanks
sugarspice
04-12-2009, 06:11 AM
^early January 2010
mahira
11-01-2010, 11:06 AM
Hi, I just joined this website. Nice to meet you guys.
Actually I'm very dissappointed with my MUET result. It's unacceptable. I only get band 3 for MUET. I just check my result for the last couple of minutes.
Thus, could you guys give comments on my bad result? tq.
i oso got band 3....is band 3 consider ok or it is very bad??
purplesun90
11-01-2010, 11:49 AM
............i take twice already,still band 4,juz accept it ......
Feni2008
11-01-2010, 03:12 PM
............i take twice already,still band 4,juz accept it ......
cheer up. don't be sad.
sugarspice
11-01-2010, 03:57 PM
Hi, I just joined this website. Nice to meet you guys.
Actually I'm very dissappointed with my MUET result. It's unacceptable. I only get band 3 for MUET. I just check my result for the last couple of minutes.
Thus, could you guys give comments on my bad result? tq.
i oso got band 3....is band 3 consider ok or it is very bad??
no harm resitting. jia you! try to get at least a band 4 :)
if retake then get band 3...in uni v need to take extra bi course rite??
if band 4 ,v still need take bi course in uni or not?:huh
sugarspice
14-01-2010, 08:37 AM
if retake then get band 3...in uni v need to take extra bi course rite??
if band 4 ,v still need take bi course in uni or not?:huh
Different universities has different policies. But basically everyone has to take a minimum hours of English lessons, and the hours lengthened as your band score gets lower. If you want to know the exact number of hours, you should go to the uni's website and see.
Hope that helps.:)
p/s: If you wanna retake, then you gotta really work hard as May paper is usually harder to score (cuz less people take ma)
holy_spring
24-01-2010, 10:15 AM
same here~~ i just got band3~
really makes me sad and disappointed~~ T,T
i was so confident when im taking the exam and yet the result is out of my expectation~~
hiazz~~
so~~ im retaking for this may test~~
hope i can score this time~~ ^^
zarionette
29-01-2010, 11:53 PM
Is it encouraged or compulsory to take MUET at the end of the lower 6 year?
sugarspice
30-01-2010, 08:17 AM
Is it encouraged or compulsory to take MUET at the end of the lower 6 year?
encouraged, not compulsory
Thomson90
31-01-2010, 10:51 PM
U see, my school has this great improvement for those retaking one, the first time we took the test, the results were frustrating. More than half of my schoolmates including me have to retake.
The second time, the results are rather shocking than surprise, mainly coz the test is much tougher but the results turn out to be real good, especially my class. My friend and i hit a band5 from band4 while there is someone scored a band4 from band2.
To be honest, our english isnt that good, we are from this chinese school where students rarely speak english. So, don't u guys think there's an unbalanced, not saying bias, but isn't the way of marking too subjective? It's just whether you are lucky enough to meet a lenient examiner. Seem like i did...