View Full Version : Kyou no tango (Word of the Day)
Let's start a word-of-the-day thread ... hope sensei-tachi and everyone else will contribute :)
Days of the week
月曜日 Getsuyoubi - Monday
火曜日 Kayoubi - Tuesday
水曜日 Suiyoubi - Wednesday
木曜日 Mokuyoubi - Thursday
金曜日 Kinyoubi - Friday
土曜日 Doyoubi - Saturday
日曜日 Nichiyoubi - Sunday
Getsuyoubi ni kimasu - I'll come on Monday
Kyou, kinyoubi desu ne? - Today is Friday, right?
ha, mou do you desu yo.
ichi ji 1時 1 o' clock
ni ji 2時 2 o'clock
san ji 3時
yo ji 4時
go ji 5時
roku ji 6時
shichi ji 7時
hachi ji 8時
ku ji 9時
jyuu ji 10時
jyuu ichi ji 11時
jyuu ni ji 12時
Have fun!
I'm planning to make this thread a thread for beginners because I sense people not participating in learning nihongo because we used to discuss only advanced stuff ...
Common verbs
root - past - negative - meaning
example = literal meaning (translated meaning)
(note: these 2 are irregular)
suru - shita - shinai - to do
tenisu o suru = I do tennis (i.e I play tennis)
kuru - kita - konai - to come
koko ni kuru = I'll come here
aru - atta - nai - to exist (inanimate)
jikan ga aru = There is time (i.e I have time)
iru - itta - iranai - to need / to be needed
pen ga iru = A pen is needed (i.e I need a pen)
wakaru - wakatta - wakaranai - to understand / to be understood
sukoshi wa wakaru = At least a little is understood (i.e I understand a little)
tomaru - tomatta - tomaranai - to come to a stop
kuruma ga tomaru = The car is going to stop
tsukuru - tsukutta - tsukuranai - to make
keeki o tsukuru = A cake will be made (i.e I'll make a cake)
iku - itta - ikanai - to go
kiku - kiita - kikanai - to ask/listen
kaku - kaita - kakanai - to write
nomu - nonda - nomanai - to drink
yomu - yonda - yomanai - to read
yobu - yonda - yobanai - to call/summon
hanasu - hanashita - hanasanai - to speak/converse
iu - itta - iwanai - to say
au - atta - awanai - to meet
kau - katta - kawanai - to buy
tsukau - tsukatta - tsukawanai - to use
matsu - matta - matanai - to wait
iru - ita - inai - to exist (animate)
tomodachi ga iru = there are friends (i.e I have friends)
miru - mita - minai - to see
anime o miru = I'm going to watch anime :)
dekiru - dekita - dekinai - can do / capable / to be possible
tenisu ga dekiru = Tennis is possible (i.e I can play tennis)
deru - deta - denai - to exit
uchi o deru = My house is exited (I exit from my house)
taberu - tabeta - tabenai - to eat
tomeru - tometa - tomenai - to stop (something)
Mental note:
For an operative verb (i.e an action that we can take control of), the root form of it usually carries the meaning of either a habitual action or the future tense.
ramen o taberu = I eat ramen (everyday).
kore o taberu = I'm going to eat this.
(we can control the act of eating)
On the other hand, for a change-of-state verb (i.e a verb that explains the state of the subject), the root form carries the present tense.
okane ga aru = There is money.
okane ga iru = Money is needed.
(we cannot control whether or not money exists, or whether or not we need it)
01-06-2004, 02:41 PM
sugoii!
hey! cool idea. anyway, definitely a good start for beginners like me!
oh yaa...i finished my BTN exam in bout 20 mins..hihihih
Greetings :)
ohayou [gozaimasu] - Good morning!
konnichiwa - Good day!
konbanwa - Good evening!
oyasumi [nasai] - Good night!
Self-Intro :D
Konbanwa. Miyako de gozaimasu. Hajimemashite.
(Good evening. I'm Miyako. Nice to meet you.)
Konbanwa. Kazuki to moushimasu. Yoroshiku onegai-shimasu.
(Good evening. I'm called Kazuki. Please be nice to me.)
Some nouns ;)
gohan - meal (usually refers to rice) - this has nothing to do with San Gohan in DragonBall :P
tabemono - food
nomimono - drink
uchi - house (refers to the speaker's house)
otaku - house (refers to anyone but the speaker's house)
hito - person
tomodachi - friend
asa - morning
ban - evening
yoru - night
ame - rain
yuki - snow
denwa - telephone
kuruma - car
densya - electric train
jitensya - bicycle
neko - cat
inu - dog
hon - book
tosyoukan - library
mise - shop
yuubinkyoku - post office
byouin - hospital
gakkou - school
koukou - high school
daigaku - university
kyoushitsu - classroom
kaisya - office
shigoto - job
arubaito - part-time job
syukudai - homework
rensyu - practice
.. tsutzuku (to be continued)
Miyako de gozaimasu :lol: Whoa..super polite. You may get a few good laughs and strange stares if you introduce yourself like this (among friends). Rarely used nowadays.
今日の単語のパネルはよくできたですよね、LUKE君。頑張ってね。ちなみに、7月1日はマレーシアに帰ります。TAZZYちゃん、一緒にご飯を食べない?
02-06-2004, 02:37 PM
帰るの?
そうしたら会えないじゃん?
7月5日つくばへ受験しに行くのに?
残念 ?
sOuL-X
03-06-2004, 02:12 AM
at last, there's a thread that give me chance to learn nihongo from the bottom .. i hope this thread will help people like me who have no basic in nihongo to learn something ... :D
帰るの?
そうしたら会えないじゃん?
7月5日つくばへ受験しに行くのに?
残念 ?
大丈夫ですよ。いつでもどうぞ、つくばに来てください。
ちなみに、筑波大に受験できたら、イツでも合えるよ。
今日の単語。
食べ物ーたべもの-tabemono-food
海鮮ーかいせん-kaisen-seafood
魚ーさかな-sakana-fish
海老ーえび-ebi-prawn
鶏ーとり-tori-chicken
肉ーにく-niku-meat
牛肉ーぎゅにく-gyuniku-beef
鶏肉ーとりにく-toriniku-chicken meat
蟹ーかに-kani-crab
野菜ーやさい-yasai-vegetable
にんにく-nin niku-garlic
人参ーにんじん-ninjin-carrot
ピマン-piman-bell pepper
大根ーだいこん-daikon-radish(white Japanese radish)
ほうれん草ーほうれんそう-hourensou-spinach
きのこ-kinoko-mushroom
枝豆ーえだまめ-edamame-green soybeans
じゃがいま-jyagaimo-potato
サツマイモ-satsumaimo-sweet potato
生姜ーしょうが-shouga-ginger
調味料-choumiryou-flavoring
味噌ーみそ-miso
マヨネーズ-mayonaise
一味、七味-ichimi,shichimi-my favourite Japanese style paprika
コショウ-koshou-white pepper
塩-shio-salt
砂糖-satou-sugar
味の素-ajinomoto-does this need explaination?
飲み物-nomimono-drinks
ジュース-juice
コーヒー-coffee
ヨーグルト-yoghurt
水ーみず-mizu-water
果物ーくだもの-kudamono-fruits
苺ーいちご-ichigo-strawberry
マンゴ-mango
柿ーかき-kaki-persimmon
りんご-ringo-apple
グレープフルーツ-gurepufurutsu-grape fruit
葡萄ーぶどう-budou-grape
The Japanese people really likes to eat grape fruit alot. Probably because they believe that eating grape fruits can cause them to slim down.
Cik Tazzy,
Why don't you try some of the words you had learnt in class here.
10-06-2004, 04:39 PM
haha....i learned a lot more fr here than in class..hihih..takpe..will come up w some stuff...seriously, atashi no nihongo no jugyou tak berjln...serupa mcm dead jaa...i learned lg byk fr you guys in recom...
but yg i ingat..
mado - window
kuruma - car
dustbin - gamibako
pencil - empitsu
paper - kami
specs - megane
and some other stuff...heh...nanti i'll do some more reading, then i contribute okie! love you guys, keep up the good work! *smooch*
mado - window
kuruma - car
dustbin - gamibako
pencil - empitsu
paper - kami
specs - megane
Ahh... she rose to the challenge. Hey, dustbin is gomibako. But well done! :D
11-06-2004, 12:29 PM
mata = again
kaki = persimmon/oyster
cyawan = teacup/rice bowl
some words which are similiar with BM.... cant think of anymore for the moment...
S.O.S. to others...
mata = again
kaki = persimmon/oyster
cyawan = teacup/rice bowl
some words which are similiar with BM.... cant think of anymore for the moment...
S.O.S. to others...
Besides that, don't ever say cincin loudly in Japan
retroque
11-06-2004, 05:44 PM
Besides that, don't ever say cincin loudly in Japan
and also "mangkuk".when asking for a bowl,use "cawan".
lol
and also "mangkuk".when asking for a bowl,use "cawan".
huh? huh? why "mangkuk" cannot aaa? explain lor ... :)
Word of the day...words which are similar to Cantonese
1. 簡単 easy (kantan-J) kan tan - C
2.容易 easy (you i- J) yong i - C
3.薬局 pharmacy (ya kyo ku-J) yok kyok - C
4.散歩 stroll (san po - J) san po - C
5. 細胞 cell (sai bou-J) sai bau - C
6. 図書館 library (toshokan-J) tou shu kun - C
Can't think of any more now. Will update later.
19-06-2004, 10:01 AM
mangkuk n cincin...two very famous "must-not-say-to-japanese-ppl-ever" words LOL
i remember during my chem days in school. i got this teacher, damn cool lady, she studied in japan n a whole loada other places...beside chem, we learned a bit of jap also during chem.
she told us, of "never ever, say these two words." but she us gurls what they mean..n not the boys..hahah...sorry, Luke..can't tell you hihihi...
fish-sensei, but i forgot which is for which. PM me w the info LOL :lol:
retroque
20-06-2004, 05:11 PM
sorry la...i can only tell that ..those are the words u should not use...(at least not in public)......but i cant tell u why....openly that is.
kalau nak tau...pm me...or...open up the dictionary...should be there.
or...tanye kerek..or fish...or schye..hehe..
hazukashisugiru...
mangkuk? cincin?
perempuan? lelaki?
mender korang cakap nih? :P
hahaha tgk hentai anime ada pekdahnya
21-06-2004, 07:39 AM
hentai?
haha..Luke said i'm a hentai coz i watch Chobits hihih...
Hmm..Luke..nmpknya..seems like you hv to "widen" your vocab a bit more hihih :lol:
anymore words ppl?
hah, idea besh nih...words on LOOOOOveee...... *calling senseitachi yg hebat in matters of heart - sila kongsi kepakaran anda LOL * :lol:
Why words on love?
Probably these will come in handy:
Yamenasai: Please stop
Yamenai de: Please don't stop (whatever love scences in the background is up to your imagination)
tsuki atte kudasai: Please take me as your beloved (hah, will girls have to say this?)
suki desu: no further explaination needed; a positive answer for tsuki atte kudasai
chotto,gomen nasai: negative response
mou sukoshi kangae sasete kudasai: Please let me think, for people whom are still unsure
watashi/boku/ore to sei katsu shiyou: let's live together
shiawase kazoku wo tsukuru: Let's build a happy family
For singles:
1.de ai wa mada atte nai: I have not met the right one
2. en ga nai: I have no destiny/fate
3. isogashii desu: I am always busy
4. hotto oku: leave the situation (i.e: give up on "tepuk sebelah tangan")
Haha. That is all for this time. Correct me if I am wrong as I personally had not used these words many times myself but had often heard it from friends and sappy Japanese soaps.
22-06-2004, 09:34 AM
wee!!! i know can always count on you fish-sensei! doesnt matter whether u r single or double, as long as we are happy that's what counts right? :D
actually feeling a bit confused right now. matters of heart laa nih..that's why sj asking bout words on luv...
hmm..i'd love to say this *though might be a bit face-not-shy one haha*
tsuki atte kudasai :wink:
hmm..i'd love to say this *though might be a bit face-not-shy one haha*
tsuki atte kudasai :wink:
now that's fishy .. mesti fish-sensei punye penyakit dah berjangkit ... :twisted: :twisted:
病気?恋の病?
ない。
Chotto gomen nasai. 私とKERREKと付き合いのはいけない。LUKE君とKEREKのひと組の方が合うじゃない。
I am healthy! I can't go out with a girl! I think Luke and Kerek are better of together. :D
23-06-2004, 11:16 AM
hey, i meant i'd like to say it to a guy i like, not to fish-sensei... :x
heh, me and luke better off not being together. coz together = perang!! :lol:
LUKE君+KERREKちゃん=世界第三戦争
世界第三戦争:せかいだいさんせんそう
WWIII
23-06-2004, 12:38 PM
haha....let's NUKE LUKE! :lol:
ewah ewah sedap2 je nuke orang ...
anyway, b4 we go off into a wider angle of divergence, nihongo wo benkyou shimayou!
recently while I was translating a song for my music video (will be out soon :)), I came across a word "wakariaezu" ... I know "wakariaeru" means "to understand each other" but why "-zu"? is it another verb forms? what does it mean?
Isn't this kyou no tango forum?
Oh.. what about word of the day
LUKE ni NUKU shimashou
LUKE君にヌーク(NUKE)しましょう!
Luke君に核兵器で破壊しましょう! :twisted:
Nuke Luke..... :D :D
BTW, 'wakariaezu' is the negative form of 'wakariaeru'. In Japanese, we have another form of writting when we are doung sakubun or essay composition. We can put it in this way:
Positive Negative Positive connective
wakariaeru wakariaenai wakariaete
wakariae(sakubun form)
Negative connective
wakariaenakute/wakariaenaide
wakariaezu
Isn't this kyou no tango forum?
ayark! silap! hahaha .. gomen gomen .. 気をつけなきゃ ...
tapi kan .. tak paham la menatang "sakubun" tu ... 難しそう ...
25-06-2004, 08:17 AM
sakubun? essay writing? :?:
anyway, anyone gimme some words related to "confusion" and if possible, provide an example (in sentences laa). thanks! :wink:
25-06-2004, 10:32 AM
____ zu (-ve form)
= ______ naide (-ve form)
= ______ mama (+ve form)
= a continuous situation without doing something.
Going to school without eating a meal(breakfast etc.)
<= the situation of no eating continues when you go to school
gohan wo tabezu ni gakkou ni ikimashita.
gohan wo tabenaide gakkou ni ikimashita.
<= pergi sekolah tanpa makan
gohan wo tabenai mama gakkou ni ikimashita.
<= pergi ke sekolah dalam keaadaan tak makan(?)
Sleep without closing the windows
<= the windows remain open even after you sleep
mado wo shimezu ni neteshimaimashita.
mado wo aketa mama neteshimaimashita.
mado wo shimenaide netehimaimashita. (FALSE statement)
basically -zu and -mama means the same as both means "(unwanter/bad)action/situation which happened that we cant control or were force to do so "while -naide is a bit different in the sense of "the action is being done purposely".
sasuga schye
yoroshikune minna
Welcome to the forum Arap. Judging from your avatar, you could be great friends with Kerek :D
30-06-2004, 11:41 AM
haha...gollum? hey, welcome aboard...irashai!
make sur you behave aa , encik gollum..if x, you wont get any fish for dinner LOL :D
who kerek...x kenal sasape pon..i know only schye..but in the game only..heheheh
doumo doumo :D
02-07-2004, 08:24 AM
atashi no namae wo, budakkerek.
hehe...
hey..more words ppl!!! 8O
hai hai tazzy-chan,
kore wo chanto oboe nasai ne ;)
Family terms
Father => chichi => otousan
Mother => haha => okaasan
Son => musuko => musukosan or bocchan
Daughter => musume => musumesan or ojousan
Child => ko => okosan
Husband => shuujin => goshuujin
Wife => tsuma or kanai => okusan
Older brother => ani => oniisan
Younger brother => otouto => otoutosan
Older sister => ane => oneesan
Younger sister => imouto => imoutosan
Uncle => oji => ojisan
Aunt => oba => obasan
Grandfather => sofu => ojiisan
Grandmother => sobo => obaasan
Note: The 1st terms are used to refer to own's family when talking to other people, while the 2nd terms are used when refering to others' family or when talking to the family members addressed by the terms (i.e you should address you mom using "okaasan" etc)
02-07-2004, 09:20 AM
hehe...can always trust Luke-kun to be super efficient! thanks! :wink:
More words!!! :lol:
motto shiritai no? oboeru koto wa dekiru no?
Building / Places
School = gakkou
High school = koukou
Middle school = chuugaku
Primary school = shougakkou
University = daigaku
Hotel (Western style) = hoteru :P
Hotel (Japanese style) = ryokan
Bank = ginko
Post office = yuubinkyoku
Book store = hon'ya
Stationery shop = bunbouguya
Hospital = byouin
Library (building) = tosyokan
Library (room) = tosyoshitsu
Classroom = kyoushitsu
Restroom = otearai
Kiosk = baiten
Entrance = iriguchi
Exit = deguchi
Police box = koban
Park = kouen
Embassy = taishikan
Consulate = ryoujikan
Airport = kuukou
Station = eki
Supermarket = suupa (from suupaamaaketto)
Florist shop = hanaya
Tea shop = kissaten
err ... will post more when I remember :P
next:
Direction / Navigational terms
Left of X = X no hidari
Right of X = X no migi
In front of X = X no mae
Behind X = X no ushiro
Beyond X = X no mukou
Nearby X = X no sugu soba
After X (along a road) = X no saki
In the direction of X = X no hou
Road = michi
T-junction = tsukiatari (normally use if we are on the secondary road i.e the ending road)
Intersection = kousaten
Traffic light = shingou
Corner = kado
examples:
"go straight" - massugu itte
"turn left" - hidari e magatte
"go straight on this road and turn right at the next intersection and stop in front of the post office over there"
- kono michi wo massugu itte, tsugi no kousaten de migi e magatte, asoko no yuubinkyoku no mae ni tomatte.
dou? :)
02-07-2004, 10:16 AM
a bit confusing 8O esp the direction part..but will learn with time
this sem, got 2 jap classes yey!
hmm...pls clarify:
if you wanna pluralize thing, eg mado (single) to windows how? does it become madotachi? or does tachi applies to ppl only? thanks! :wink:
02-07-2004, 10:33 AM
hmm...pls clarify:
if you wanna pluralize thing, eg mado (single) to windows how? does it become madotachi? or does tachi applies to ppl only? thanks! :wink:
Yups...tachi is applied mostly to people only but it can be used for animal and plants too (in stories used to tipu budak kicik).
I think we used ot for living things only... that means no MADO tachi...
WELCOME my lovely ARAP...:)
finally you are here.
Well, let me introduce the mighty Arap who is VERY CUTE.
I know him online cos we played the same online game last time...
"lovely"??? "very cute" ??? 8O
mmm so, fish and kerek, schye and arap ... live happily ever after ..
thanks goodness I'm still straight ... :lol:
btw I finally understood that "mangkuk" and "cincin" thingy ... aiya you guys bad la .. teaching all that stuff .. worse than GTO ... haha now we have BTF and CTS -> Bad Teacher Fish and Crooked Teacher Schye .. :lol: :lol:
??mangkuk'' and `cincin` what mean? :oops:
actually i do not understand jap language...come here to benkyo jap :roll:
watashi ha nihongo tabemasendeshita
dareka ga nihongo wo tabesaseraremasu
schye uso bakari...i`m not cute
LOL...
check any japanese dictionary for まんこ(manko) and ちんちん(chinchin) .. sugu wakarimasu (you'll understand instantly) :twisted:
anyway, since this is Words of the Day thread, I can ask question about words, right? So, senseitachi-sama, okiki shitai no desu ga ...
what's the differences between "dake - bakari", "neru - nemuru" and "mezameru - okiru"?
"lovely"??? "very cute" ??? 8O
mmm so, fish and kerek, schye and arap ... live happily ever after ..
thanks goodness I'm still straight ... :lol:
btw I finally understood that "mangkuk" and "cincin" thingy ... aiya you guys bad la .. teaching all that stuff .. worse than GTO ... haha now we have BTF and CTS -> Bad Teacher Fish and Crooked Teacher Schye .. :lol: :lol:
How could we live happilly without you Luke? ihih.
We are not bad, I guess this is called educational or enlightment....
what's the differences between "dake - bakari", "neru - nemuru" and "mezameru - okiru"?
dake- Carries the meaning only but it means that you only have one choice. It is like shika-nai but shika-nai (negative form) is more specific.
For ex: ima 10 000 yen dake ageru
(I am only giving you 10 000Y)--The giver probably has more money to give but only gives 10 000 Y.
but "bakari" carries the meaning that you continuosly do something and normally the meaning is not very good.
Ex: kare ha benkyou shinai de, asonde bakari iru.
He does not study but play all day. You can use dake shi te iru but bakari is more suitable for cases which doesn't carry very good meaning.
Bakari could also be used for something which is happening right away
For ex: okita bakari de, mada kao mo aratte inai.
This is quite useful when your friends call you early in the morning, and you can talk a bit grumpily and say "okita bakari na node..." and they will sort of "understand" and leave you alone.
Neru-nemuru: the kanji is different but I can't type it here. Neru is the usual one which we use when we sleep but nemuru carries the meaning of deep sleep. It can mean that one has loss consiousness or dead.
okiru- mezameru
okiru carries the meaning stay up or wake up but in a sense that you really get up and move about
mezameru also means wake up. In this case, we regain our senses(after anaesthesia/ sedatives) or during sleep
The difference is small (or myou na kanji) but the usage is different.
‘‘mangkuk'' and `cincin` what mean? :oops:
actually i do not understand jap language...come here to benkyo jap :roll:
watashi ha nihongo tabemasendeshita
dareka ga nihongo wo tabesaseraremasu
schye uso bakari...i`m not cute
LOL...
Gee for a beginner you did use uso bakari quite well, Luke add this in the example sentences for bakari....
Schye, exams should be over today, omedetou. What are you gonna do this summer vacation?
06-07-2004, 11:05 AM
[Yups...tachi is applied mostly to people only but it can be used for animal and plants too (in stories used to tipu budak kicik).
finally you are here.
So...how do we pluralize things/inanimate objects, since tachi is used for living things only?
Niisang, :wink: i sense some kinda "weird" relationship here..hehe....you dont usually use "lovely" and "very cute" to describe another guy, unless u are a gurl..or you like guys.... 8O hmmm
Luke-kun, hmmm...how straight are you LOL :lol:
uso bakari mean always lie...
honto ni= hommani(loghat osaka)=betul ke
sorry BI teruk :oops:
i`m in japan now.. 8O
right now 3rd year in univ..yeyeye..will finish my study next year if no ryunen :?
07-07-2004, 08:59 AM
which uni are you in? i forgot already.
yey!! Fish-sensei n me are on the same bumi - Malaysia tercinta *smooch* (the motherland, not Fish - though i dont mind giving her a smooch hehe) :wink:
Fish, meeting ah beng aa? :lol:
ah beng ah? chotto ne.... dou shiyou? ikimashou ka?
shall we go? :lol:
uso bakari mean always lie...
honto ni= hommani(loghat osaka)=betul ke
sorry BI teruk :oops:
i`m in japan now.. 8O
right now 3rd year in univ..yeyeye..will finish my study next year if no ryunen :?
Arap san, if you are in Japan for such a long time, please do not tell us that you are still a beginner in Japanese ok? You much teach me Japanese in turn...bayaran for telling me that you are a beginner :D
i can`t be a good teacher..becoz u see my english berterabur..i saw you and budakkerek post about japanase tango really good..but i will post some word to :P
i in ehime univ..
kamoku=subjek
butsuri=pysic
kagaku=cemistry
sugaku=math
denkikairou=electric circuit
seigyo=control system
aho=baka=stupid :twisted: hehehe
08-07-2004, 02:34 PM
[Yups...tachi is applied mostly to people only but it can be used for animal and plants too (in stories used to tipu budak kicik).
finally you are here.
So...how do we pluralize things/inanimate objects, since tachi is used for living things only?
Niisang, :wink: i sense some kinda "weird" relationship here..hehe....you dont usually use "lovely" and "very cute" to describe another guy, unless u are a gurl..or you like guys.... 8O hmmm
Luke-kun, hmmm...how straight are you LOL :lol:
Who cares....love has no boundaries ... and in fact, those who can "accept" both have more choices ..haha
Just came back from Fish sensei university yesterday... and i have learned that Fish sensei has a "CUTE" name too... rite ,Sherry?
8)
Luke si CUTE too rite ....according to Kerek :)
Schye! Watashi no namae ha himitsu desu yo!!
retroque
09-07-2004, 03:27 PM
huiyooo...sherryy!
hehe..."fish" yori mo...sono houga zutto ii to omou kedo saa..
-verryy hot...n sticky weather.....hurmnn-
09-07-2004, 07:22 PM
hahaha....gomen ne....
however that is not your "full-name" ..so dun worry that some stalkers will follow and pick up your personal info ... erm... you are moderator in this SIG...so if you really mind it, please dun feel hesitate to delete it or replce it with ***** :wink:
Shah@<hidden>:
yupe...
i HATE Japan expecially its summer and winter (except the beach in summer and snowboarding in winter....huhuh)
hmmm fish-san, you might want to change your email then :P
12-07-2004, 12:26 PM
hehehe....fish sensei...got rahsia ke?
anyway, what else is new? today in class, learn how to say, "jemput mkn...asa gohan, tabe masu/ tabe ni" which i already learned from here hahahah...shows how effective our forum is...
arap, you're not coming back for summer?
fish living in 'water' also kena flu lol :wink:
dunno yet la..if i have money i back la...if no money no balik la..
gohan wo tabeni iku?
gi mkn..hehehehe in BM..
obake=ghost
yurei=spirit(roh)
kowai no hanashi=fear story
last night i and my friend watch japanase ghost story..heheheh..that why i put that word..
arghhhh exam..1 day have 4 paper..pe la nasib...help me.. :?
13-07-2004, 07:03 AM
haha....ghost? in tamil it's peiyi lol
k, late for lecture..cant talk much..but will do so this afternoon, when i'm free :wink:
14-07-2004, 01:32 PM
dunno yet la..if i have money i back la...if no money no balik la..
gohan wo tabeni iku?
gi mkn..hehehehe in BM..
obake=ghost
yurei=spirit(roh)
kowai no hanashi=fear story
last night i and my friend watch japanase ghost story..heheheh..that why i put that word..
arghhhh exam..1 day have 4 paper..pe la nasib...help me.. :?
GOtcha..arap :P
Kowai hanashi ....
we dont use NO at the back of i-adjectives...huhuuh
crap... :oops:
kowai is i=adjective or na-adj??arghh confuse..
15-07-2004, 07:35 AM
gohan wo, tabeni ikimasyou ka?
haha...met fish-sensei smlm! konoja...super kawaii! i got omiyagi from her..hehe (hint..hint..Niisang, you didnt get me one pun sob sob)
arap, you 3rd year uni pun masih pening lg kaa? haha...
anyway, can i hv words for:
drink
purchase
drive
umm...dh xingat...ape lg me want...anyway, juz gimme more words oke...arigato, senseitachi!
ps: i learn fr you guys more than i learn from sensei hehehe
drink = nomu/nomimasu
purchase = kau/kaimasu
I haven't learnt the word for "drive" so ... sappari wakarimasen ...
gohan wo, tabeni ikimasyou ka?
haha...met fish-sensei smlm! konoja...super kawaii! i got omiyagi from her..hehe (hint..hint..Niisang, you didnt get me one pun sob sob)
arap, you 3rd year uni pun masih pening lg kaa? haha...
It's kanajo....
Yeah, kerek is soo different from my imagination...Luke, you must be friendlier to Kerek, ok? :wink:
15-07-2004, 08:23 AM
hahaha....hait..hait..luke-kun, kimi forou Obasan (fish) no jogon :lol: dijamin berbaloi! :lol:
It's kanajo....
aik? bukan "kanojo" ke? areare? dochira no hou ga seikai na no?
15-07-2004, 10:43 AM
i got this from one dictionary link on Luke-kun no home site:
she - kanojo, senpou, anokata, doushi, aitsu, anohito
hmm...
then fish-sensei, salah?
retroque
15-07-2004, 11:33 AM
fish sensei silap type le tu
kanojo-彼女
translated as "she".can also means "awek"
kanojo iru no?
u have girlfriend?
15-07-2004, 12:49 PM
i notice japanese uses a lot of 'no', 'nee' at the end. why is that? i like it though..it sounds cute :wink:
"nee" is a sentence ending particle .. some examples of sentence ending particles:
yo
give emphasis to the sentence like when you are saying something new or you want to give a different opinion. similar to the use of exclamation mark in other languages ..
example:
shitteru yo = I know!
ie, ashita kimasu yo! = no, I'll come tomorrow!
ne?
when we want to confirm something
example:
ashita kimasu ne? = you'll come tomorrow, right?
nee
when we are expecting the other person to agree with us
example:
taihen desu nee = terrible, don't you think so?
ka?
when we want to ask a question
example:
nan desu ka? = what is it?
on the other hand, the explanation for "no" that ends a sentence is quite complicated. I'll try my best to explain it here ..
first there are 2 concepts that you have to understand before you can grasp the idea behind the sentence ending "no":
<hr>
normal predicate vs. extended predicate
first, "predicate" in japanese is any expression that can give meaning. example
"kimasu" = I'll come
"kuruma" = a car
"takai" = expensive
by this definition, all verbals, adjectivals and nominals(nouns) are predicates. particles and prenominals are not predicate.
normal predicate is the natural way of expressing things. normally we use normal predicate to express things that are independent (i.e the idea you are expressing does not explain/describe/elaborate/rationalize other idea). when we use a normal predicate, the focus is in the action/object expressed.
example:
kuruma desu yo = it's a car! (you are trying to say that 'it' is a car, not a bicycle, bus etc)
on the other hand, extended predicate is normally used to explain/describe/elaborate/rationalize other idea. when we use an extended predicate, the focus is on the truth of the expression.
example:
A: takai desu nee = it's expensive, don't you think so?
B: kuruma na n desu yo = it's that it is a car! (you are trying to emphasize that the fact that the thing in question is a car explains why it is expensive)
to form extended predicate:
1) verbals/adjectives: rootform + "n desu"
--> ikimasu -> iku (root) -> iku n desu
2) nouns: noun + "na n desu"
--> kuruma -> kuruma na n desu
when used in questions, extended predicates also change the focus of the inquiries ..
example (yes/no question):
(normal) ikimasu ka? = are you going to go?
(extended) iku n desu ka? = is it that you are going to go?
in the 2nd example, the person the question is asked to already shows that he is planning to do something (maybe he is changing clothes when the 2nd person comes in). the question asks whether the thing he is planning is to go somewhere.
example (inquisitive question):
(normal) doko e ikimasu ka? = where are you going to go (if you want to go somewhere)?
(extended) doko e iku n desu ka? = where are you going to go?
in the 1st question, you are not sure if the person you ask wants to go somewhere (it's like: if you want to go somewhere, where do you want to go?) but in the 2nd question, you already know he is going to go somewhere so you want to know about his destination ...
<hr>
distal speech vs direct speech
when you want to say something in japanese, there are at least 2 ways how you want to say it : using distal speech or using direct speech ..
when you use distal speech, your sentences will end with
1) verbals that end with a "masu" (e.g ikimasu, arimasu, tabemasu)
2) nouns or adjectivals + "desu"
with or without sentence ending particles ..
on the other hand, when you use direct speech, you sentences will end with
1) root form of verbals (e.g iku, aru, taberu) + 'wa' in some situations if you are a female (or if you want to sound feminine)
2) nouns or adjectives + 'da' in some situations if you are a male (or if you want to sound masculine)
with or without sentence ending particles ..
so when should we use distal speech or direct speech?
that depends on with whom you speak to .. you use distal speech for formality and to talk to someone deserving respect or to stranger .. you use direct speech when you talk to close friends, family members, when fighting etc .. think of the difference as the difference in way we talk to friends and to the elders in malay language: "jom balik" vs "mari kita pulang, pak cik" ...
so how do we use direct or distal speech with an extended predicate?
(distal)
iku n desu
takai n desu
kuruma nan n desu
(direct)
iku n da (masculine) / iku no (feminine)
takai n da / takai no
kuruma na n da / kuruma na no
it is also worth knowing that the "n" in "kuruma na n desu", "iku n da" etc is actually the contracted version of "no" ... so in some cases, people would use the uncontracted version, thus they say "kuruma na no desu", "iku no da" etc ...
here are some conversion examples:
A: takai desu nee
---> takai da nee
B: kuruma na n desu yo
---> kuruma na no yo
you can probably guess that A is a male and B is a female :)
however, in extended predicate questions in direct speech usually follow the feminine forms and used even by males (except when you really want to sound masculine e.g in a fight)
thus, when we want to say "kanojo iru n desu ka?" in direct speech, we say "kanojo iru no?" .. that's how "no" gets to the end of the sentence ...
<hr>
I took one hour to type this .. hope this helps :)
wow subarashiiiiii luke kun....
i always use bahasa pasar la in here...that why still blur with that..
16-07-2004, 10:36 AM
wow!
again..you never fail to amaze me Luke-kun!
I am sooo sooo...(at loss of words at how hebat a teacher Luke-kun is)
thanks..now i know why (though hv to read it again n again since it's so complicated for a beginner like me :D )
16-07-2004, 10:41 AM
I took one hour to type this .. hope this helps :)
Wow...sasuga...
I think basically the sentence sounds more polite with the "n" and it maybe from the word "no de" too.
17-07-2004, 02:08 PM
Ohayou gozaimasu.
Sensei, please translate the following sentences for me.
"Oretaci, epuke. R natai eret kuru tapah. Oretaci matemas."
Doumo arigatou gozaimasu.
17-07-2004, 02:34 PM
Here are some words/sentences I learnt in my class. Enjoy.
たってください tatte kudasai Please stand up
すわってください suwatte kudasai Please sit down
しつもんありますか shitsumon arimasuka Any question?
はい、いいえ hai, iie Yes, No
おはようございます ohayou gozaimasu Good Morning/Good day
- short forms; ohayou, osu ?used with friends
- gozaimasu is used for politeness; used with elder/higher status person
- greeting for first meeting of the day(anytime)
- wishing for starting a new day(anytime)
こんにちは konnichiwa Good afternoon/Good day
-?secondary greeting?; used to say hello for second meeting of the day
- used as long as the sun is shining after morning (10am-7pm)
こんばんは konbanwa Good evening
おやすみなさい oyasuminasai Good night/Take a good
rest
- short form; oyasumi ? used with friends
さようなら sayounara Good bye
じゃまた あいましょ ja mata aimasho Okay see you again
じゃまた あした ja mata ashita Okay see you tomorrow
again
じゃまたらいしゅう ja mata raishuu Okay see you next week
again
- short form; ja mata, ja ne
すみません sumimasen Sorry / excuse me
ごめんなさい gomen nasai Sorry (for serious mistake)
- short form; gomen, gomen nai
いいですか ii desuka Is everything okay?
?Hello? はどういいますか dou iimasuka How to say ?Hello??
こいびといますか koibito imasuka Lover?
こい koi Love
いいよ ii yo Okay
もしもし moshi moshi Hello hello (on phone)
そうすか soudesuka I see/Is it?
good job yekban81! but here are some corrections:
こんにちは konnichiwa
こんばんは konbanwa
?Hello? はどういいますか dou iimasuka
いいよ ii yo
そうですか soudesuka
in the 1st three, the "wa" there are the particle "wa" and are spelled using hiragana "ha" ...
"Oretaci, epuke. R natai eret kuru tapah. Oretaci matemas."
is this a valid japanese sentence?
18-07-2004, 07:16 AM
Arigatou gozaimashita. I have corrected them.
Does "Oretaci, epuke. R natai eret kuru tapah. Oretaci matemas." have any meaning? I dont think it is a gramatically valid sentence but I believe it's in the form of broken japanese language or other language possibly. I don't know.
18-07-2004, 07:57 AM
Ohayou gozaimasu,
ありがとうございます arigatou gozaimasu Thank you
- short form; arigatou, doumo (used with friend)
- most polite form; doumo arigatou gozaimasu
- Past tense; arigatou gozaimashita; Very likely that Japanese is the only language which has a past tense for ?thank you?. The past tense of ?thank you? exists due to the Japanese culture. They always say thank you again upon the next meeting. For example, your colleague bought you a drink and you said arigatou gozaimasu. The next day when you meet that guy again, you want to thank him again for the drink yesterday by saying arigatou gozaimashita. We don?t do that here but Japanese does that in their daily life. Both present and past tense of ?thank you?can be used to express your gratitude immediately after someone has offerred help to you.
どういたしまして dou itashimashite It?s ok (reply thank you)
-short form; Iie (never mind);literal meaning=no
おめでとございます omedeto gozaimasu Congratulation
たんじょうびおめでとございますtanjoubi omedeto?Happy birthday
おげんきですか ogenki desuka How are you?
げんき genki Health
はい、げんきです hai, genki desu Yes, I am fine
いいえ、げんきでわありません
iie,genki dewa arimasen No, I am not fine
がんばってください ganbatte kudasai please do your best
はい、がんばります hai,ganbarimasu Yes, I will do my best
だいじょうぶですか daijoubu desuka Are you alright?
はい、だいじょうぶです hai,daijoubu desu Yes, I am alright
いいえ、だいじょうぶでわありません
iie,daijoubu dewa arimasen No, I am not alright
Does "Oretaci, epuke. R natai eret kuru tapah. Oretaci matemas." have any meaning? I dont think it is a gramatically valid sentence but I believe it's in the form of broken japanese language or other language possibly. I don't know.
"oretachi" = we
"mattemasu" = is/are waiting
"kuru" = come
but how do you pronounce single "R" as a word (in japanese, malay, chinese, english etc) ? 8O
18-07-2004, 09:27 AM
The translation will be, " We,xxx. xxxx come to Tapah. We are waiting.
How about the meaning of epuke and eret?
I think may be R is pronounced as A,
R natai = anatai?
xxxx come to Tapah = are you coming to Tapah?
other than the three words I listed, all other words don't have meanings in japanese .. "eret" shouldn't exist because no consonant except 'n' can end a japanese word ..
and if you want to say "XXXX comes to Tapah" it should be "XXXX tapah e kuru" ("tapah" comes before "kuru") ... where did you get that sentence from? sounds like fake/madeup to me ... don't tell me you heard it from anime ...
18-07-2004, 10:02 AM
A friend send this to my sister through sms. She asked me for translation.
I learnt that Japanese sentence is in the form of Subject-Object-Verb (SOV) structure.
So I guess "R natai eret kuru tapah" violates this rule.
18-07-2004, 03:51 PM
erm...I think it is Manese (Malaysian Japanese ?!) @<hidden> Manis?!
19-07-2004, 08:00 AM
or maybe the R = are ? :?:
boo .... :twisted:
anyway, got questions here:
1) please explain how to use "you ni". (japanese "you ni", not the malaysian english one :P)
2) what is the difference between "kantan" and "yasashii"?
3) (grammar question .. gomen) i've learnt in class how to say "I stopped X" where X is a verbal (example: I stopped smoking) which is by changing the ending -nai from the verbal into "naku narimashita".
For example: I stopped smoking = suwanaku narimashita
but my sensei told me that to say "I started X" is slightly different and he said he would only teach how to say it in the next next course .. I don't want to wait so can anyone teach me how to say "I started X"?
21-07-2004, 10:46 AM
1) please explain how to use "you ni". (japanese "you ni", not the malaysian english one :P)
it has a lot of meanings:
1.It is used when we want to show that a habit/action has changed and is different from before.Details at the bottom.
2.like
kare ha tori no youni utau. (he sings like a bird )
watashi no youni shinasai.(do as i do)
sukina youni shinasai.(do as you wish)
kare ha byouki no youni mieru. (he looks as if he were ill.)
3.so that
nido to shinai youni ganbattekudasai.(please work hard so that you repeat it(mistakes etc) again)
densya ni maniau youni hayaku okita. (woke up early so that i will be in time for the train)
4.may(is used when we are wishing or praying)
daigaku ni goukaku dekiru(must be in potential form) youni ... (may i pass the university (exam)...)
kanojyo ga dekiru youni (may i get a gf...)
5. tell/do as
Luke ni ikanai youni to itta. (I told Luke not to go.)
iwareta youni shinasai. (do as i said) similiar with no.2
2) what is the difference between "kantan" and "yasashii"?
Erm...
-yasashii is the subset of kantan :)
-yasashii is an "i" adjective while kantann is a "na" adj.
To put it shortly...
簡単にいえば ○
やさしくいえば ?(not being used in common...)
3) (grammar question .. gomen) i've learnt in class how to say "I stopped X" where X is a verbal (example: I stopped smoking) which is by changing the ending -nai from the verbal into "naku narimashita".
For example: I stopped smoking = suwanaku narimashita
but my sensei told me that to say "I started X" is slightly different and he said he would only teach how to say it in the next next course .. I don't want to wait so can anyone teach me how to say "I started X"?
I think i will just write down sentences i have in my mind now:
watashi ha tabako wo suu youni narimashita.(i dont smoke before)
atama ga baka ni narimashita. (not an action so we dont use youni)
ashita on pa-ti he ikeru you ni narimashita.(cant get the permission before)
suugaku ga dekiru youni narimashita.
22-07-2004, 08:40 PM
Miyako de gozaimasu :lol: Whoa..super polite. You may get a few good laughs and strange stares if you introduce yourself like this (among friends). Rarely used nowadays.
How about this, "Hajimemashita. Watashi wa Liew desu. Douzo yoroshiku."? Is this a much better way(secondary to that super polite form quoted above) to greet someone for first meeting. Or else what greeting is used nowadays?
My sensei taught us that "Douzo yoroshiku" means please help with each other although its general meaning is "nice to meet you".
One of my ways of enjoying japanese language is figuring out what all those rituals utterance mean and then how do they relate to the occassion they are used for ...
<hr>
"yoroshiku" comes from the adjective "yoroshii", which is the polite version of the adjective "ii", which in turn means "good/nice" ... one of the functions of the -ku form of an adjective is to act as adverb .. so "yoroshiku" means "nicely", "with good" ..
"onegaishimasu" is the humble version "negaimasu", which means "I'm making a request/wish" ..
so when used together, "yoroshiku onegaishimasu" means "I'm kindly and humbly making a request/wish to you" ... in the occassion when you first meet a person, saying this implies that you are humbly asking him to treat you nicely ... when used to greet a person with whom you will be working together, you are asking him to treat you well ...
<hr>
"hajimemashite" is the distal -te form of the verb "hajimeru", which means "to begin/start something" .. one of the functions of -te verbal is to combine two sentences together (similar to the conjunction "and" in english) ...
example:
migi e magatte kuruma wo tomemashita.
I turned right and I stopped the car.
it's common practice to say something in japanese and end it with a -te form when you are implying that you want to say more but maybe it's understood by both of you .. so when you say "hajimemashite", literally you are saying "I'm going to start it" .. what is 'it'? it can mean your friendship or your acquaintanceship with the other person ... in this ritual utterance it is already understood, thus it ends with a -te form ..
22-07-2004, 09:48 PM
Yeah, in general, hajimemashite means "how do you do?" as what can be seen in japanese-english dictionary but its literal meaning is "this is our first meeting". Hence it can only be used to greet someone whom you meet for the first time.
The second person can reply as "Douzo yoroshiku. Watashi wa [his name] desu."
minnasan ha shiken ga nai desuka?
(u all do not have exam?)
minnasan ha shiken ga nai desuka?
(u all do not have exam?)
doushite kiita n desu ka?
(why did you ask?)
24-07-2004, 12:13 PM
it's common practice to say something in japanese and end it with a -te form when you are implying that you want to say more but maybe it's understood by both of you .. so when you say "hajimemashite", literally you are saying "I'm going to start it" .. what is 'it'? it can mean your friendship or your acquaintanceship with the other person ... in this ritual utterance it is already understood, thus it ends with a -te form ..
はじめまして(hajimemashite) here is actually 初めまして and not 始めまして, so it will means "firstly/first time". In fact, hajimemashite is a fixed phrase which is being used when we first meet someone.
25-07-2004, 10:04 AM
おはよう,
Here's what I learnt from my previous class. Please do correct me if I am wrong. Thank you.
いただきます (戴きます) itadakimasu
- used to thank god for the food before meal/when receiving food/things from other
ごちそうさまでした gochisousamadeshita
- used after finishing meal
- can be used to thank a friend for treating you a dinner, etc.
- shortform: gochisousama
ごめんください gomen kudasai Excuse me, please
- used when you are knocking someone?s door (house only)
しつれいします shitsurei shimasu I am coming to disturb you
- used when you enter someone?s room.
しつれいしました shitsurei shimashita I have finished disturbing
- used when you want to leave someone?s room.
いってきます itte(go) kimasu(come) I?ll go and come back
- used when you are going out
いっていらっしゃい itte irasshai go and come back(polite way)
- used to reply someone who said ittekimasu when he/she is going out
ただいま tadaima I am back
- used when you come back home
おかえり okaeri Welcome back
- used to reply someone who said tadaima when he/she comes back
- okaeri nasai;more polite form
え e Photo
お o Tail
あい ai Love / meeting
あいしてる aishiteru I love you
あう au Meet
いい ii Good
いえ ie House
うえ ue Up
あお ao Blue
か ka Mosquito
き ki Tree
け ke Hair
いか ika Shrimp
かお kao Face
こえ koe Voice
こい koi Love / Koi fish
えき eki Station (Train)
きかい (器械) kikai Machine
けいき keiki Business condition
え e Photo
お o Tail
あい ai Love / meeting
あいしている aishiteiru I love you
あう au Meet
いい ii Good
いえ ie House
うえ ue Up
あお ao Blue
か ka Mosquito
き ki Tree
け ke Hair
いか ika Shrimp
かお kao Face
こえ koe Voice
こい koi Love / Koi fish
えき eki Station (Train)
きかい (器械) kikai Machine
けいき keiki Business condition
btw, for words with only one syllabus, it's better to learn their kanjis (if they have kanjis) instead of just the hiraganas ... because か (ka) is a question particle and 蚊 (ka) is mosquito ... 恋 (koi) is love and 鯉 (koi) is carp fish .. 木 (ki) is tree and 気 (ki) is spirit ... 会い (ai) is meeting and 愛 (ai) is love ... you get what I mean?
25-07-2004, 11:42 AM
Nice Job Yekban...
I think it takes you quite some time to type out this long post. Hope that you will keep on sharing what you have learnt.
25-07-2004, 11:56 AM
I make note(my own dictionary) on what I've learnt from my japanese lesson. Instead of keeping it for my own study, I post them here to share with others. (and to check whether I made mistake or not..haha:) )
26-07-2004, 05:23 PM
あさごはんをたべましたか asagohan wo tabemashitaka Have you eaten breakfast
だいじょうびですか daijoubi desuka Is it ok?
- used to ask someone who fall down, get wet,etc.
いいですか ii desuka Is it ok?
- used to ask permission
おなまえわなんですか onamae wa nan desuka What?s your name?
- short form; anamae wa
Liew ですね Liew desu ne Liew?
Perak からきました Perak kara kimashita I am from Perak
UTM のがくせいです UTM no gakusei desu I am UTM?s student
Country name
マレシア mareshia Malaysia
シンガポ-ル shingapooru Singapore
インドネシア indoneshia Indonesia
たい tai Thailand
フィリピン firipin Philipine
印度 indo India
日本 nihon Japan
韓国 kankoku Korea
中国 chuugoku China
米国 beikoku America
インギリス ingirisu England
ブラジル burajiru Brazil
でんき工学 denki kougaku Electrical engineering
器械工学 kikai kougaku Mechanical engineering
どぼく工学 doboku kougaku Civil engineering
化学工学 kagaku kougaku Chemical engineering
こんぴゅたあ工学 konpyutaa kougaku Computer engineering
ガソリン工学 gasorin kougaku Petroleum engineering
けんじく(建築)工学 kenchiku kougaku Architecture
ぎじっつでさいん gijittsu desain Industrial design
きょいくがく kyoikugaku Education
What is tai (thailand)'s katakana?
- used to ask permission
おなまえはなんですか onamae wa nan desuka What?s your name?
- short form; onamae wa
シンガポール shingapooru Singapore (katakana uses a dash for long vowels)
タイ tai Thailand
韓国 kankoku Korea ("監獄 kangoku" means "prison")
米国 beikoku America ("米" alone means "uncooked rice")
retroque
27-07-2004, 12:08 AM
hmn...i don't know how true this is .but a few weeks back i had a talk with a jap classmate,which went on like this..
me:hey...i've got a question...do u spell konnichiwa(good day) as こんにちは 、or こんにちわ?
uehara(bukan nama sebenar lol):aa....that kind of question.well...it's like this.the old nihongo (like sastera melayu eh?) ..used こんにちは..where sometimes a letter is not pronounce as it should be,just like the english letter h in hour,or honour.
as times passes,the japanese people began to think,。。。hey why not use a letter as it should be?so some of us uses こんにちわ
me: owh reallly?didn't know that.well actually i ask this because i remembered once a friend of mine misread 今日は..as kyouwa which usually means "today" .but the article my friend was reading 今日は...was pronounced as konnichiwa.Didn't know konnichiwa has its own kanji.hehe
so i noticed ,it uses は、not わ.when writing konnichiwa.
uehara:aaa.....yappari ko iu tokoro wa muzukashi nee..nihongo...(aa..these kinds of things are difficult ....for japanese language)
ahaha...結局(kekyoku-in the end)...im also confused.but..considering the fact that i once corrected his kanji (attn..this is not showing off eh...remember ..kanji is my weakest point).......i can quite understand him...
以上、今日の無駄な話でした。.[/b]
27-07-2004, 08:17 AM
あさごはんをたべましたか asagohan wo tabemashitaka Have you eaten breakfast
だいじょうぶですか daijoubi desuka Is it ok?
- used to ask someone who fall down, get wet,etc.
- used to ask permission
おなまえはなんですか onamae wa nan desuka What?s your name?
- short form; anamae wa
Liew ですね<---we dont use ne here Liew desu ne Liew?
Perak からきました Perak kara kimashita I am from Perak
UTM のがくせいです UTM no gakusei desu I am UTM?s student
Country name
マレーシア mareshia Malaysia
シンガポ-ル shingapooru Singapore
インドネシア indoneshia Indonesia
タイ tai Thailand
フィリピン firipin Philipine
印度 indo India
日本 nihon Japan
韓国 kankoku Korea
中国 chuugoku China
米国 beikoku America
イギリス igirisu England
ブラジル burajiru Brazil
でんき工学 電気 denki kougaku Electrical engineering
機械工学 kikai kougaku Mechanical engineering
どぼく工学 土木 doboku kougaku Civil engineering
化学工学 kagaku kougaku Chemical engineering
コンピュータ工学 konpyutaa kougaku Computer engineering
ガソリン工学 gasorin kougaku Petroleum engineering
建築工学 kenchiku kougaku Architecture
:?: ぎじっつでさいん<- maybe 技術デザイン gijyutsu dezainn but then industrial should be 産業sangyou or 工業kougyou gijittsu desain Industrial design
教育学 kyouikugaku Education
What is tai (thailand)'s katakana?
corrected some mistakes in kanji ... ganbare yakban... You are learning fast...
27-07-2004, 07:55 PM
girls who go "Anta no kao ga mabushi.."
What does the sentence above mean?
Doumo arigatou gozaimasu to Luke and Schye. So weird, I couldn't find the kanji for tai in NJSTAR.
28-07-2004, 08:41 AM
girls who go "Anta no kao ga mabushi.."
What does the sentence above mean?
Doumo arigatou gozaimasu to Luke and Schye. So weird, I couldn't find the kanji for tai in NJSTAR.
Anta no kao ga mabushii
あんた の 顔 が 眩しい。
your face is glaring/dazzling/bright.
Tai for Thailand has no kanji ....
bubblesgirl
30-07-2004, 07:34 PM
retroque wrote:
me:hey...i've got a question...do u spell konnichiwa(good day) as こんにちは 、or こんにちわ?
mm...well,i think it should be こんにちは :wink:
endoru
30-07-2004, 07:49 PM
It is こんにちは 100% GUARANTEED !
Peace !
NO!
it's spelled 今日は! :P :P :P
Peace out 8)
endoru
30-07-2004, 08:28 PM
That is also correct, Luke !
But, usually when we write "Konnichiha", we usually only use the Hiragana. Even, the Japanese would find writing the Kanji out a bit troublesome. There are many other words which have their very own Kanjis but they are usually written plainly in Hiragana.
For example :
1. 出来る ⇔ できる ( can be done )
2. 何処 ⇔ どこ ( where )
3. 明後日 ⇔ あさって (the day after tomorrow)
4. 今晩は ⇔ こんばんは ( Good evening ! )
Cannot think of any other right now though. But, if I do recall any others. Let me add them here.
Anyway, a new topic from me here in this SIG.
"ALPHA to OMEGA : EVERYTHING UNDER THE SUN OF THE LAND OF THE RISING SUN"
Come visit to know more about Japan.
Peace !
30-07-2004, 08:43 PM
あさはなんですか asa wa nan desuka What is asa?
あさ asa Morning
かさ kasa Umbrella
いす isu Chair
さけ sake Wheat wine
あし ashi Leg
うそ uso Lie
すいか suika Water melon
あそこ asoko There
せかい (世界) sekai World
きそく kisoku Rule
て te hand
ちち chichi father
- Mohamed wa Azlin no chichi desu = Mohamed is my father (Azlin said)
しち (七) shi chi seven
たこ tako octopus
した shita down
うた uta
つくえ tsukue table
くつ kutsu shoe
がんばれ ganbare All the best
- short form of ganbatte.
だいじょうぶです daijoubu desu
ざんねんです zannen desu What a pity you miss
- used for someone who lost/failed (match, interview, exam etc)
こちらはLiewです kochirawa Liew desu This is Liew
わたしはマレイシアじんです watashiwa mareishia jindesu I am a Malaysian
わたしはマレイシアの中国系です
watashiwa mareishia no chuugoku kei desu I am a Malaysian Chinese
- の no functions as ?s or to change a noun into an adjective
あさはなんですか asa wa nan desuka What is asa? (again, please use は for particle 'wa' !!!!)
ちち chichi father
- Mohamed wa Azlin no chichi desu = Mohamed is my father (Azlin said)
Note: no -san if you are refering to your ingroup when talking to outgroup. this idea of ingroup and outgroup is itself a huge and important topic in japanese language and culture so it is encouraged to grasp this concept if you want to make your learning japanese perfect
also, using own name to refer to own self? trying to sound cute, huh? ("mummy, alice want that!", whimpered alice :D)
がんばれ ganbare All the best
- short form of ganbatte.
Note: it's not really a short form of ganbatte. try reading thru some of our nihongo forums. there are some discussions regarding different kinds of instructional expression in japanese. to put it briefly, "ganbare" is more blunt and maybe patronizing than "ganbatte" but they are two different constructions altogether ...
だいじょうぶです daijoubu desu
こちらはLiewです kochira wa Liew desu This is Liew
わたしはマレーシアじんです watashi wa mareishia jindesu I am a Malaysian
わたしはマレーシアの中国系です
watashiwa mareishia no chuugoku kei desu I am a Malaysian Chinese
- の no functions as ?s or to change a noun into an adjective
Note: since you already use the kanji 中国 for "chuugoku", why not using the kanji 系 for the remaining 'kei'? I don't think it's a good practice to use half kanji and half hiragana for a word that has established kanjis unless such variant is already recognized (e.g 出来る vs 出きる)
anyway good job :)
endoru
31-07-2004, 07:26 AM
Luke, perfect corrections !
31-07-2004, 06:31 PM
Thanks Luke for reminding me about particle wa=は. I always make that mistake.
I miss out the meaning for うた (uta)? What does it mean?
どうもありがとうございます :D
endoru
31-07-2004, 07:09 PM
Uta = 歌 = うた
A Chinese boy would understand the Kanji above.
But for those who don't.
歌 = うた = Song
Peace !
utada-san, uta wo utaimasyou :D
uh, don't mind me ... I just woke up .. P
endoru
31-07-2004, 07:20 PM
宇多田ヒカルが君の部屋に毎日来ているみたいな感じで言っていますね。
Utada Hikaru ga kimi no heya ni mainichi kiteiru mitai na kanji de itteimasune.
Haha.
"You sound as if that Utada Hikaru goes to your room every single day."
Peace !
14-08-2004, 11:26 AM
ばんごはんをたべましたか bangohan wo tabemashitaka Have you had your dinner?
-bangohan = dinner, hirugohan = lunch
-reply: はい、たべました hai, tabemashita
いいえ、まだです iie, madadesu
Inquiring a person?s detail:
しつれいですが shitsurei desu ga Excuse me
あなたはJackですか anatawa Jack desuka Are you Jack?
Reply:
はい、わたしはJackです hai,watashiwa Jack desu Yes, I am Jack
はい、そうです hai,sou desu Yes, I am
いいえ、わたしはJackではありません
iie,watashiwa Jack dewa arimasen No, I am not Jack
いいえ、そうではありません
iie,sou dewa arimasen No, I am not
JackさんはUTMのがくせいですか
Jack san wa UTM no gakusei desuka Are you UTM student?
-We use person name in the replacement of anata after we know a person?s name
Reply:
はい、わたしはUTMのがくせいです
hai,watashiwa UTM no gakusei desu Yes,I am a UTM student
いいえ、わたしはUTMのがくせいではありません
iie,watashiwa UTM no gakusei dewa arimasen
No,I am not a UTM student
いいえ、わたしはUMのがくせいです
iie,watashiwa UM no gakusei desu No, I am a UM student
-We may say no and at the same time provide the answer.
いぬ inu Dog
くに kuni Country
かに kani Crab
ねつ netsu Fever
ぬの nuno Cloth
あに ani Elder brother
さかな sakana Fish
あした ashita Tomorrow
すくない sukunai Few
たのしい tanoshii Happy
いいえ、まだです iie, madadesu
"ii" (いい) means "good"
"iie" (いいえ) means "no"
so, in your list, change all "ii" to "iie" ...
anyway good job in using "は" for the particle "wa" .. I'm glad you finally get it right :) :) :)
14-08-2004, 02:34 PM
Oops..I got confused from my mistake done for iidesuka (iiedesuka which is wrong).
What's the different between hajimemasu and hajimemashita? Interestingly I notice the same characteristic for arigatou gozaimasu (present tense) and arigatou gozaimashita (past tense), of which either one can be used to thank someone immediately after receiving his/her help. Then the past tense of japanese thank-you is only used to re- thank someone for his/her past deeds.
hajimemasu is present tense; hajimemashita is past tense .. use present tense for the present; use past tense for the past ...
/hajimeru/ v. trans to begin, to start
jugyou wo hajimemasu = I'm going to start the class.
jugyou wo hajimemashita = I started the class.
don't get confused with "hajimemashite", which has become a ritual expression.
Idiomatic expressions
Note: I only know some. senseitachi please add more idiomatic expressions.
tonikaku: anyhow, in any case
tonikaku, denwa shite kudasai
in any case, please call me
toriaezu: for the time being, for now
toriaezu, nomimasyou
for the time being, let's drink! (kita minum dulu :P)
kekkyoku: in the end, eventually, after all
kekkyoku, minna jugyou wo sabota n da
in the end, everyone skipped class!
nanimokamo: anything and everything
nanimokamo, itsuka kowarichau yo
anything, you name it, will break someday
sorezore: each one, respectively
sorezore chigau michi wo eranda
each of us chose a different road
senseitachi, add more please ...
retroque
22-08-2004, 11:23 AM
ともかく-tomokaku:
at any rate; anyhow; anyway; in any case; at all events; 《別として》apart from; regardless of.
eg:
彼女の顔はともかく、声がきれいなんだよ。
(kanojou no kao wa tomokaku,koega kirei nandayo)
-regardless of her face,her voice is beautiful.
新幹線は料金とかお金はともかく、早くて楽しい経験になるんだよ
(shinkansen wa ryoukin toka okane wa tomokaku, hayakute tanoshii keiken ni narundayo)
-the shinkansen,regardless of its price and money,its fast and will be a fun experience>>>>>>>>>>>>luke kunへ:D
いちおう 一応..ichiou:
《ひととおり》by and large; 《仮に》tentatively; 《差し当たり》for the time being; 《万一に備えて》just in case.
・~話は通してあるから I've already mentioned it (to him).
this is a bit hard.there are quite a few types of ichiou.u'll notice it if u watch anime.
1.この荷物は一応あそこに置いて
(kono nimotsu wa ichiou asoko ni oite)
-for the time being..put this luggage there
2.彼は一応......私の彼氏です
(kare wa ichiou watashi no kareshi desu)
-he is for the time being/in a way/officially my boyfriend....
but that doesnt mean that i cant go out with you......(maksud sebenar...cakap dlm hati...the art of nihongo...ayat tergantung).
3.sleeping bagは一応もって行った方がいいんじゃない
(sleeping bag wa ichiou motte itta hou ga iinjyanai)
-isnt it better to bring sleeping...just in case.>>>mata luke kunへ
ooops...forgot.good job luke.
doumo arigatou gozaimashita, retroque-sensei ...
ok, I have compiled a list of interesting words:
本当 hontou = real/really
Someone says something
You say "hontou?" = "really?"
"hontou no koto" = "real matter"
大切 taisetsu = important (also a /na/ adjective)
Someone insists on something
You ask "taisetsu na no?" = "is it important?"
"taisetsu na hito" = "important person"
意味 imi = meaning/significance
Someone says something to you.
You reply "imi wa?" = "Meaning?"
積もり tsumori = intention/plan
Something has happened.
You ask "dou tsumori?" = "what are you going to do?"
興味 kyoumi = interest (in something)
Something interesting is about to happen.
You ask "kyoumi ga aru?" = "are you interested?"
Or "kyoumi ga nai?" = "aren't you interested?"
必要 hitsuyou = necessary
Someone insists on something
You ask "hitsuyou na no?" = "is it necessary?"
kore o yonde kurete arigatou ..
03-09-2004, 12:40 PM
i dont know why..but this sentence has been like in my mind, for like the past few months. I'm sure it means sthing but not sure what and whether it's really a valid sentence or juz sthing i came up w *i always make up my own words hahah*
Well..anyone knows what this is?
"mou ichi dou"
arigato gozaimashita!
"mou ichi dou"
arigato gozaimashita!
mou ichido = one more time (hit me baby one more time :P)
03-09-2004, 01:13 PM
huh, serious? hahah...aite...aite..shall do so *hit Luke one more time with a big bear* :p
03-09-2004, 02:46 PM
eh...kawaii desu kaa, qedx-kun?
04-09-2004, 02:26 PM
"mou ichi dou"
I use it whenever I cannot hear what other said. Generally it is equivalent to "I beg your pardon". I hope that I am not wrong.
Here are some japanese sentences/words which I have learnt recently:
おそくて、ごめんなさい osokute, gomen nasai Sorry for being late
1: あきこさんは日本じんです Akiko san wa nihon jin desu Akiko is a Japanese
2: あきこさんは先生です Akiko san wa sensei desu Akiko is a teacher
1+2: あきこさんは日本じんで先生です
- で:de is used to join sentences (not noun or verb) of which the first sentence has desu (です) at its end.
- Two to three sentences can be joined with desu
1: あきこさんは先生です Akiko san wa sensei desu Akiko is a teacher
2: ささきさんはかいしゃいんです Sasaki san wa kaishain desu Sasaki is an employee
1+2: あきこさんは先生でささきさんはかいしゃいんです
しんぶん(新聞) shin bun News
えんぴつ(鉛筆) enpitsu Pencil
かぎ kagi Key
とけい tokei Watch
ボオルぺん booru pen Ball pen
きって kitte Stamp
こちきっす kochikissu Stapler
けいしごむ keshigomu Eraser
ねこ(猫) neko Cat
じしょ(字書) jisho Dictionary
ほん(本) hon Book
めがね(眼鏡) megane Spectacle
せんぶうき senbuuki Ceiling fan
かばん kaban Bag
でんわ(電話) denwa Telephone
けいたい電話 keitai denwa Handphone
"mou ichi dou"
I use it whenever I cannot hear what other said. Generally it is equivalent to "I beg your pardon". I hope that I am not wrong.
"mou ichido" literally mean "one more time" ... can be used anywhere you want to ask for repetition ...
===============================
おそくて、ごめんなさい osokute, gomen nasai Sorry for being late
Note: "osokute" is one word .. no need for unnecessary space between "oso" and "kute" (single 't')
1: あきこさんは日本じんです Akiko san wa nihon jin desu Akiko is a Japanese
2: あきこさんは先生です Akiko san wa sensei desu Akiko is a teacher
1+2: あきこさんは日本じんで先生です
- で:de is used to join sentences (not noun or verb) of which the first sentence has desu (です) at its end.
the sentence you gave is grammatically correct but a bit impractical. instead of saying "Akiko is a japanese and a teacher", saying "Akiko is a japanese teacher" sound better => "Akiko-san wa nihonjin no sensei desu"
in most languages, when there are a number of sentences describing a single object, you can make them into one sentence by combining the descriptions, not the sentences
e.g English:
Jack is a boy.
Jack is an Irish.
Jack is very tall.
=> Jack is a boy, an Irish and very tall. (sounds weird)
=> Jack is a very tall Irish boy. (better)
instead of just bluntly stacking the sentences' predicates, you can use a bit creativity to weave the descriptions together into a neat one sentence.
"de" is used to connect two sentences that are usually related .. it is almost similar to using "and" to join 2 sentences in English .. normally you wouldn't use "and" to join 2 irrelevant sentences in English, would you? => "London is the capital of United Kingdom and tomorrow is Jack's birthday" -> grammatically correct but sociolinguitically insane ... it's the same with "de" in Japanese .. use sentence connecter "de" only when appropriate ..
ボールぺん booru pen Ball pen
"Learning language is not just about knowing its grammar rules and vocabulary, but also about knowing when to use them, and when not to use any of them."
05-09-2004, 01:03 PM
ボールぺん
ボオルペん
ー = オ ?
osokutte or osokute?
Usually in what condition does the "double effect" like tt occur?
How to say Akiko is a Japanese language teacher?
ボールぺん
ボオルペん
ー = オ ?
In katakana, long vowels are denoted by the ー symbol.
aa = アー
kaa = カー
osokutte or osokute?
Usually in what condition does the "double effect" like tt occur?
osokute. this word comes from "osoi" which means "slow" [explain:b1c33ec4a3]note: "osoi" does not mean "late", but can be use to indicate that you are late -- you are late because you are slow[/explain:b1c33ec4a3]. "osokute" is the gerund (or -te form) of "osoi".
double effect -tt occurs mostly in verb conjugations:
matsu => matte
aru => atta
kau => katta
to understand this effect requires understanding the verb classes and forms
How to say Akiko is a Japanese language teacher?
Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei desu
Note: try translating these into english:
Akiko-san wa nihonjin no nihongo no sensei desu.
Akiko-san wa nihongo no nihonjin no sensei desu.
Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei no nihonjin desu.
nihongo no sensei wa nihonjin no Akiko-san desu.
05-09-2004, 01:53 PM
1)Akiko-san wa nihonjin no nihongo no sensei.
Akiko is a Japanese's Japanese language teacher.
2)Akiko-san wa nihongo no nihonjin no sensei.
Akiko is a Japanese language's Japanese teacher
3)Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei no nihonjin.
Akiko is a Japanese language teacher's japanese
4)nihongo no sensei wa nihonjin no Akiko-san.
Japanese language teacher is Japanese's Akiko
Sentence(1) and (2) should be the only correct sentences in terms of grammar and social-linguistic to say that Akiko is a japanese and japanese language teacher. Sentence (3) and (4) sounds ridiculous. Please advise:)
Actually each of those 4 sentences *might* be OK depending on the focus of the sentences. Consider each of them as an answer of a specific question:
1)Akiko-san wa nihonjin no nihongo no sensei.
Akiko is a Japanese's Japanese language teacher.
Q: What kind of a japanese language teacher is Akiko? (we already know she is a japanese language teacher)
2)Akiko-san wa nihongo no nihonjin no sensei.
Akiko is a Japanese language's Japanese teacher
Q: What kind of a japanese teacher is Akiko? (we already know she is a japanese teacher)
3)Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei no nihonjin.
Akiko is a Japanese language teacher's japanese
Q: What kind of a japanese is Akiko? (we already know she is a japanese)
4)nihongo no sensei wa nihonjin no Akiko-san.
Japanese language teacher is Japanese's Akiko
Q: Who is the japanese language teacher? (we already know there is a japanese language teacher)
06-09-2004, 09:02 PM
Really we can express in that way for sentence (3). But I guess my sensei will get his shock of life if I were to say a sentence like (3). You know in Malay that sentence will sound:
Akiko ialah bahasa Jepun punya cikgu punya Jepun (bahasa pasar)
Sentence (2) will sound better:
Akiko ialah bahasa Jepun punya Jepun punya cikgu.
But I now feel that both sentences are impractical, if not wrong.
Unless I can use "no" as English"and".
Blurred...any further comment?
Really we can express in that way for sentence (3). But I guess my sensei will get his shock of life if I were to say a sentence like (3). You know in Malay that sentence will sound:
since we already know she is a japanese, what's wrong with asking about what kind of a japanese she is?
to illustrate, let's say there are a few japanese people in your neighborhood and Akiko is one of them ... now you want to know what else can describe Akiko other than the fact that she is a japanese .. you would ask "what kind of japanese is she?", wouldn't you? ... that's where the answer would be: "Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei no nihonjin." ... another related question which gives such answer would be: "which japanese is Akiko-san?"
of course, as I said, the (3) sentence is an answer to a specific question (like my examples above) and might not be appropriate for general out-of-blue statement ... and perhaps we shouldn't mix up language and racial sentiment ...
06-09-2004, 09:57 PM
I got it. Thanks Luke for your kind elaboration.
Following is what I learnt recently:
A: これはかぎです kore wa kigai desu This is a key
それは新聞ですか sore wa shin bun desuka Is that a newspaper?
B: はい、これは新聞です hai, kore wa shin bun desu Yes, this is a newspaper
A: あれは鉛筆です are wa enpitsu desu That is a pen
この鉛筆は小さいです kono enpitsu wa chiisai desu This pen is small
その車はたかいです sono kuruma wa takai desu That car is expensive
あの家は大きです ano ie wa ooki desu That house is big
The rule:
これ/この ? to define object which is located near to speaker
それ/その ? to define object which is located near to listener
あれ/あの ? to define object which is located far away from both speaker and listener
Usage
Subject
これ(Subject ) は 鉛筆 です(Predicate) kore wa enpitsu desu This is a pen
この鉛筆(Subject ) は 小さい です(Predicate) kono enpitsu wa chiisai desu This pen is small
め(眼) me Eye
ゆき(雪) yuki Snow
かみ(神) kami God
うま(馬) uma Horse
くま kuma Bear
むし(虫) mushi Insect
やすい yasui Cheap
やさい(野菜) yasai Vegetable
*it's funny, yasai in chinese hokkien means eat shit..haha:)
かみ(神) kami God
-------------------------
Just a note:
紙 paper
神 God
髪 hair
all three are pronounced as "kami" ;)
==============
やすい yasui Cheap
Hey, why did you not use kanji for this word? = 安い .. in fact its kanji is among the lowest in the level of difficultiness .. perhaps japanese kids in grade one learn it in their first kanji lesson :P
07-09-2004, 05:48 PM
since we already know she is a japanese, what's wrong with asking about what kind of a japanese she is?
to illustrate, let's say there are a few japanese people in your neighborhood and Akiko is one of them ... now you want to know what else can describe Akiko other than the fact that she is a japanese .. you would ask "what kind of japanese is she?", wouldn't you? ... that's where the answer would be: "Akiko-san wa nihongo no sensei no nihonjin." ... another related question which gives such answer would be: "which japanese is Akiko-san?"
of course, as I said, the (3) sentence is an answer to a specific question (like my examples above) and might not be appropriate for general out-of-blue statement ... and perhaps we shouldn't mix up language and racial sentiment ...
I think the sentence 3 will be better if we jsut said "Akiko ha nihongo no sensei desu" as we have known that she is a Japanese so I dont see any reason that we need to repeat it again.
10-09-2004, 01:25 PM
I learnt that the exception of は-as-wa is not only applied to the particle wa (joining subject and predicate) but also to the word dewa arimasen:
わたしはUTMのがくせいではありません
I have made the correction in my previous post:)
My Japanese test is around the corner... quite nervous cos I haven't memorised all the vocabs good enough.
How to write "kotak/box" in japanese and America (amerika instead of beikoku) in katakana?
kiku - kiita - kikanai - to ask/listen
How about kaiwa?
yomu - yonda - yomanai - to read
How about yumi?
hanasu - hanashita - hanasanai - to speak/converse
How about kaki?
kaku - kaita - kakanai - to write
Any other word for kaku like the rest above? Are they actually nouns?
I learnt that the exception of は-as-wa is not only applied to the particle wa (joining subject and predicate) but also to the word dewa arimasen
that 'wa' in 'dewa' arimasen is in fact the particle 'wa' ... 'dewa' is a combination of particle 'de' and particle 'wa' .. combination of particles is not unusual in japanese .. some examples:
sore de mo, yappari okashii desu yo
watashi ni wa dame desu
sore to mo ...
nani mo ka mo
tomodachi kara no tegami
midori no o ichi-mai onegai-shimasu
akai no to aoi no to dochira no hou ga suki desu ka
10-09-2004, 09:00 PM
watashi ni wa dame desu
sore to mo ...
nani mo ka mo
tomodachi kara no tegami
Please translate. I am interested to know more about the third sentence. There is two mo, mo means also/too right.
even that, it's still weird.
watashi ni wa dame desu
for me, it's not going to work.
sore to mo ...
or else .... (bla bla bla)
nani mo ka mo
anything and everything
tomodachi kara no tegami
a letter from a friend
I'm requesting for one piece of the green one.
the red one or the blue one -- which one do you like?
How to write "kotak/box" in japanese
箱 / hako / はこ
America (amerika instead of beikoku) in katakana?
アメリカ
How about kaiwa?
How about yumi?
How about kaki?
I don't understand these ... what's the connection between these words and kiku/yomi/hanasu/kaku? why bringing them up?
10-09-2004, 10:32 PM
I learnt that:
kaiwa = listening
kaki = speaking
yumi = reading
and from your early post:
kiku = to listen
hanasu = to speak
yomu = to read
I am just curious to know whether the former three words are the nouns for the latter three words (verbs) respectively. Or are they too verbs which have the same meaning with the latter ones.
How to say short/rendah and low in jp? I mean like price is "low" instead of saying cheap (yasui). Thank you very much, sensei:)
kaiwa = listening
kaki = speaking
yumi = reading
kaiwa = conversation
kaki = summer / persimmon / fence / etc etc (none relates to speaking)
yumi = bow and arror
(reading = yomi)
11-09-2004, 07:22 AM
Mmm..I guess I need to find a dictionary liao. How come I can make such mistake? Now do I know why you are confused with my previous question?
But how to say short/rendah and low in jp? I mean like price is "low" instead of saying cheap (yasui). Thank you very much, sensei:)
Mmm..I guess I need to find a dictionary liao.
I recommend a dictionary software since you can do searching with it. I bought(!!!) the one I'm currently using from www.coolest.com
But how to say short/rendah and low in jp? I mean like price is "low" instead of saying cheap (yasui). Thank you very much, sensei:)
short is 短い (mijikai) but this 'short' is the antonym for long/panjang, not the antonym of tall/tinggi. I searched my dictionary for 'low' and got a list of tons of phrases starting with 'low', so I assume there's no exact single word that means 'low' in Japanese. here are the ones that correspond to 'low price':
renka
yasune
teika
teikakaku
anka
I don't know what word classes they are, thus I don't know how to use any of them ..
I found a great website if you want to check the meaning of words:
http://www.kantango.com/
15-09-2004, 11:27 PM
Thanks. I am using JpTranslator from coolest.com now.
Wish me good luck for tmrw jp language test :)
24-09-2004, 11:03 PM
i pass my testo very well..hihi. one more week towards the final exam:)
いそがしい(忙し) isogashi Busy
さる saru Monkey
かわ(河) kawa River
ひる hiru Noon
よる(夜) yoru Night
さくら sakura Sakura flower
そら(空) sora Sky
ひろい(広い / 寛い) hiroi Wide / Broadminded
せまい(狭い) semai Narrow
わるい(悪い) warui Bad
くろい(黒い) kuroi Black
しろい(白い) shiroi White
かんり(管理) がく(学) kanrigaku Management
みじか(短)い mijikai Short
25-09-2004, 09:00 AM
i pass my testo very well..hihi. one more week towards the final exam:)
かわ(河) kawa River
Japanese dont use the kanji 河 anymore except at the name of places or name of people. Normally they will use 川.
25-09-2004, 09:03 AM
oh yeah, I forgot to congratulate you on you exam ;)
Well done ... ganbare!!
lukeさん..u know where to get malay-japanase dictionary?my friends want that dictionory..
btw..hishashiburi dane minna..
nanka busy right now..peace
lukeさん..u know where to get malay-japanase dictionary?my friends want that dictionory..
Malay-Japanese? Mmmmm .. that's tough ...
but I'm using an English-Japanese dictionary software from http://www.coolest.com
26-09-2004, 10:43 AM
wahh...arap..long time no see..hehe...genki desu?
hurmm..they want learn our language..lol that why i need to find it..
budakkerek..genki dayo..no internet la when i at malaysia..that why can`t access here..hehe
26-09-2004, 03:19 PM
oho...where are you anyway? why are you not in japan? anyway, my exam is coming up..n not sure how i'm gonna fare in it..since it's gonna be an open note test n i havent been to class since like forever hehehe..
*bad cikgu nih*
:p
26-09-2004, 09:04 PM
Arap ponteng and go back to Malaysia to meet his ....err... someone.....
Word of the day :
ponteng = playing truant = 授業をさぼる = じゅぎょうをさぼる = jyugyou wo saboru
Arap ponteng and go back to Malaysia to meet his ....err... someone.....
Word of the day :
ponteng = playing truant = 授業をさぼる = じゅぎょうをさぼる = jyugyou wo saboru
isn't "saboru" spelled as katakana "sabo" + hiragana "ru"?
--> サボる
p/s: I wrote an elaborate entry about this word in my blog here: http://gaijinnoluke.blogspot.com/2004/09/katakana-kanji-katakana-hiragana.html
27-09-2004, 08:18 AM
haha...minna sama,
go visit Luke's blog - help him against the Every Villain Is Lemon *read:EVIL* Mr Roma...
*eiiksss..make me feel all yucky when i think of his nick - buat naik my bulu roma jaaa...*
Kan Luke kan....
hihih
:lol: :lol:
haha...minna sama,
go visit Luke's blog - help him against the Every Villain Is Lemon *read: EVIL* Mr Roma...
*eiiksss..make me feel all yucky when i think of his nick - buat naik my bulu roma jaaa...*
Kan Luke kan....
hihih
:lol: :lol:
oi oi .. kesian encik roma .. niat die baik, tp cara tegur die yg mcm style PAS yg buat meremang bulu roma ... ngeh ngeh
hai hai minna-sama ... watashi no blog ni irassyai! nihongo no blog desu yo :D
27-09-2004, 09:22 AM
ha ah...
tu la...masa berguru,
part tegur menegur tu dia tak pass...nak wat camne..
*dok pi tulis blog arab kot, tu yg dia xdpt dtg exam "camne nak tegur org"*
hehehe...
29-12-2004, 12:00 AM
wow, it seems that everyone has their own blog... hmm... maybe I should have a blog to talk about Earthquake in Japan too ....
30-12-2004, 09:04 PM
yeah..you should dfeinitely tell us, how it was when it happened..and how're things now...Schye.
11-01-2005, 11:51 AM
Argh, I dont even have time to check my mails now as I dont have internet access :( "maybe" next time :D
12-01-2005, 03:45 PM
I am back. I thought it will be a very long time before I can get back to this forum. In fact, the download time of all pages in this forum is very time consuming. I wonder why? Other forums are normal. I am back to further learning Nihongo in my Japanese class II. Here are my updates of what I learnt since December 2004:
ひとり
一人 hitori One person
ふたり
二人 futari Two person
さんにん
三人 sannin Three person
よにん yonin Four person
きゅうにん kyuunin Nine person
じゅうにん juunin Ten person
じゅういちにん juuichinin Eleven person
あなたのごかぞくはなんにんですか
あなたのご家族は何人ですか anatono gokazoku wa nan nin desuka How many your family member?
はちにんです hachi nin desu Eight
あなたのきょうだいはなんにんですか
あなたの兄弟は何人ですか anatano kyoudai wa nan nin desuka How many your sibling?
ろくにんです roku nin desu Six
すきvsすきじゃありません / きらい
好きvs好きじゃありません / 嫌い suki vs sukijaarimasen / kirai Like vs Dislike / Hate
わたしはdurianが好きじゃありません watashi wa durian ga sukijaarimasen I dislike durian
わたしはりんごが好きです watashi wa ringo ga suki desu I like apple
Aliさんはドリアンがいちばんすきです Alisan wa dorian ga ichiban sukidesu Ali like durian most
じょうずvsじょうずじゃありません
上手 vs上手じゃありません jouzu vs jouzu jaarimasen Skillful vs not skillful
わたしはうんてんが上手です watashi wa unten ga jouzu desu I am good in driving
かれはすうがくが上手じゃあっりません kare wa sugaku ga jouzu jaarimasen He is not good in maths
Position
うえ
上 ue Up
した
下 shita Down
なか
中 naka Inside
そと
外 soto Outside
まえ
前 mae Front
うしろ
後ろ ushiro Behind
ひだり
左 hidari Left
みぎ
右 migi Right
そば
側 / 傍 soba Near
となり
隣 tonari Near
あいだ
間 aida Between
Place に Object があります / います
クラスのそとにきがあります kurasu no soto ni ki ga arimasu There is a tree outside the class
つくえのうえにとけいがあります tsukue no shita ni tokei ga arimasu There is a match on the table
いすのしたにかばんがあります isu no shita ni kaban ga arimasu There is a bag under the table
かばんのなかにおかねがあります kaban no naka ni okane ga arimasu There is money inside the bag
クラスのなかにがくせいがいます kurasuno naka ni gakusei ga imasu There is a student inside the class
いちばのなかにさかながあります ichibano nakani sakana ga arimasu There is fish in the market
はこのなかにいろいろなものがあります hako no naka ni iroiro namono ga arimasu There is a variety of things inside the box
たとえば、はなやとけいやかみなどがあります tadoeba, hana ya tokei ya kami nado ga arimasu For example, flower, watch, paper and etc.
はこのなかにはなととけいとかみがあります hako no naka ni hana to tokei to kami ga arimasu There is flower, watch and paper inside the box
いちばのなかにおおぜいがいます ichiba no naka ni oozei ga imasu There is many people inside the market
That's all for now. Please do tell me if any mistake arises. Arigatou.
26-01-2005, 12:21 PM
Dialogue 1
A: きょうはぼくのおごりです (今日は僕の奢りです)
kyou wa boku no ogori desu
It?s on me today (literal meaning-My treat today)
B: わりかんでおねがいします (割り勘でお願いします)
warikan de onegaishimasu
Let?s go Dutch (literal meaning-Please do Dutch treat)
A: いいんです
iin desu
That?s all right
B: おことばにあまえて
okotaba ni amaete
Thank you, you are so kind
僕 boku I (masculine) / manservant
奢り ogori Extravagance / luxury
割り勘 / 割勘 warikan Dutch treat
願い negai Wish / desire / request
Dialogue 2
A : いいてんきですね
(いい天気ですね)
ii tenki desu ne
The weather is fine, isn?t it
B: ごごはあめがふるそうですよ
午後は雨が降るそうですよ
gogo wa ame ga furu so desu yo
I heard that it?s going to rain in the afternoon
A: ほんとうですか
hontou desuka
Really
いやだなあ
iya da naa
How depressing
ごご(午後) gogo afternoon
あめ(雨) ame rain
降る furu To fall (rain)
you are getting very advanced in japanese yekban81! keep up the great work!
and keep 'em coming! this thread is now yours :lol:
20-06-2005, 05:12 PM
Dialogue 1B: わりかんでおねがいします (割り勘でお願いします)
warikan de onegaishimasu
Let?s go Dutch (literal meaning-Please do Dutch treat)
割り勘 / 割勘 warikan Dutch treat
The below sentence have the same meaning.
別々でお願いします。
betsu betsu de onegaishimasu.
別々 = betsu betsu = seperate