pls help me to solve this.........my school exam question
integrate ln(x+2) (5 marks)
uoykcuf
12-03-2009, 06:53 PM
try integration by part :D
int ln(x+2)= int 1.ln(x+2)=......
lawteoh
18-03-2009, 01:05 AM
I think that question is quite basic.. yeah, integrate by parts. Let u=1 and dv/dx=ln(x+2). I am sure u noe the formula right? Then solve it. =)
sTuPiDdgAl
24-05-2009, 12:19 PM
hi....pls help me to solve this question...thanks!!!
Mathematics T
No.1.Solve the following simultaneous equations:
2^x - 5^y = 3
2^x-3 + 5^y-2 = 21
ChristopherCWL
24-05-2009, 05:33 PM
Mathematics T
2^x - 5^y = 3
2^x-3 + 5^y-2 = 21
Try to get the value of 2^x by dragging the 5^y towards the right side...then substitute it into the number two equation...be sure to open the 2^X-3 first....
* im not pretty sure this really works if there are anythings wrong, please correct me..
lawteoh
24-05-2009, 08:29 PM
Mathematics T
2^x - 5^y = 3
2^x-3 + 5^y-2 = 21
quite easy.. y =3 and x = 7.
for the second equation, just put 1/8 (2^x) + 1/25 (5^y) = 21 .. I put this as equation 3.
From equation 1, u can rearrange it to become 3 + 5^y = 2^x ..... equation 4
substitute 4 into 3.
1/8 ( 3+ 5^y) +1/25 (5^y) = 21
in the end, u will get 5^y = 1425/11
y = 3 .. then u shud noe how to get x..
24-05-2009, 08:35 PM
For some problems, you can now get the solutions and the working easily in Wolfram|Alpha :)
http://www.wolframalpha.com
For example:
integrate ln(x+2) - Wolfram|Alpha (http://www90.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=integrate+ln%28x%2B2%29&asynchronous=false&equal=Submit)
markwongsk
25-05-2009, 12:13 AM
Mathematics T
2^x - 5^y = 3
2^x-3 + 5^y-2 = 21
Another method which I find quite useful teaching students is:
Let 2^x = a and 5^y = b
Therefore a - b = 3
and a/8 + b/4 = 21
I'm sure you can solve this =) just don't forget to find x and y!
anbbly
25-05-2009, 11:02 PM
quite easy.. y =3 and x = 7.
for the second equation, just put 1/8 (2^x) + 1/25 (5^y) = 21 .. I put this as equation 3.
From equation 1, u can rearrange it to become 3 + 5^y = 2^x ..... equation 4
substitute 4 into 3.
in the end, u will get 5^y = 1425/11
y = 3 .. then u shud noe how to get x..
i don noe where m i wrong..pls correct me..
2.5^y=(21x200)-3
5^y=4197/2
then i use log to find out y..d answer is y=4.75
== i m nt talent in math T..sobb..:(
markwongsk
25-05-2009, 11:19 PM
i don noe where m i wrong..pls correct me..
2.5^y=(21x200)-3
5^y=4197/2
then i use log to find out y..d answer is y=4.75
== i m nt talent in math T..sobb..:(
When you multiplied the left by 200, you need to know that you only multiply 1/25 by 200 therefore it should be
25 (3+5^y) + 8 (5^y) = 21X200
anbbly
26-05-2009, 12:01 AM
When you multiplied the left by 200, you need to know that you only multiply 1/25 by 200 therefore it should be
25 (3+5^y) + 8 (5^y) = 21X200
opps..i forget to times d upper parts as well..:P
paiseh..wat a careless mistake..:notrust
thx =)
ChristopherCWL
26-05-2009, 04:45 PM
Another method which I find quite useful teaching students is:
Let 2^x = a and 5^y = b
Therefore a - b = 3
and a/8 + b/4 = 21
I'm sure you can solve this =) just don't forget to find x and y!
Buddy!! THX!!! u helped me alot even though im not asking this question!! i like ur method!! it is very useful to me :) WEll done Teacher!!!