View Full Version : Championship Manager
CyberJaya
29-05-2004, 06:07 PM
Hi. I'm really into playing championship manager on the pc. However i cant seem to get the game running fast enough. I've tried the medium database but that takes away too many good players. It really is frustrating but it is so addictive. Has anyone got any good stories from Championship Manager to share? Or do you have any reports of players to watch out for or tips.
15-06-2004, 02:14 PM
I'm bringing life to this thread...hehe...
Ok, anyone know which is the latest version of this game?
I've played since the 2000-2001 version....
This game is really addictive..but of cos..strictly for football fans only!
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:05 PM
I'm bringing life to this thread...hehe...
Ok, anyone know which is the latest version of this game?
I've played since the 2000-2001 version....
This game is really addictive..but of cos..strictly for football fans only!
The latest version of the game is Championship Manager 4 season 2003/2004. Championship Manager 4 introduced a 2d match engine where you could view the game in full or highlights. The makers of the game Eidos and Sports Interactive have split so now There are no plans for an updated version of Championship Manager 4. What will happen however is two new versions of a football management sim will be made. One is by Sports Interactive and will have all the statistics and match engine of Championship Manager 4, that is called Football manager 2005. The other is made by eidos and will be a continuation of the championship manager series although a new feel and statistics involved. It will be called championship manager 5.
15-06-2004, 05:11 PM
Wow.....
So that is the latest championship manager..
i have that game....championship manager 4...
i tot there is a later version...
Two new games? that will be confusing..whcih to choose then?
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:19 PM
The latest version is Cm 2003/2004. It has the same match engine as cm 4 but it has updated stats and more other items. People are saying the one to go for will be football manager 2005 because they have all the stats and match engine from the old game while eidos have retained simply the name and a few lesser bits and pieces. It was sports interactive that really made championsihp manager what it is and not eidos so. If you're looking for a game similar to championship manager 4 then i suggest go for football manager 2005. But if you're looking for a new game go for championship manager 2005 or 5. Or simply go for both.
15-06-2004, 05:25 PM
ooo...ok. thanks cyberjaya for ur comments.
by the way, how come this thread is only for both of us.. LOL
And the tips....buy KAKA...he's good.... :)
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:28 PM
I can only buy him if i'm playing for Chelsea or Real Madrid which i dont. I always play for teams with potential and not the teams who are made already. two guys i like to buy is Kallstrom and jan kristensen.
15-06-2004, 05:32 PM
I can only buy him if i'm playing for Chelsea or Real Madrid which i dont. I always play for teams with potential and not the teams who are made already. two guys i like to buy is Kallstrom and jan kristensen.
yeah...kallstrom is good...i used to buy him too..
there's another one...his name start with M... an egyptian...
can u rmember?
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:37 PM
I think it is Mido.
15-06-2004, 05:40 PM
I believe you're talking about Mido. He plays for Marseille, right? Anyway, my computer isn't fast enough, so I can't play CM 4 on it. I've been sticking to CM 01/02 with only patches from www.thedugout.net to update the player database.
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 05:48 PM
Do you have any stories from cm 01/02 to tell us about? I'm sorry about your computer. If you're interested, I'm selling my 1.2 ghz p3 laptop. It runs well on that.
15-06-2004, 05:54 PM
CM01/02 stories? Well its mostly the usual stuff...taking control of MU and winning everything there is to win. The only memorable moment I can think of was the only time I won the treble ever in the game. That season, I won everything I contested for and won all my league games. Don't think it would be possible to do that in CM4 though. Heard that it has a better AI.
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 06:02 PM
I just won the french league with both psg and bordeux. I havent started my second season yet. Thats as far as i've got.
15-06-2004, 06:54 PM
Yeah...Mido is good. It's been so long since i played CM4. Personally, I like Lazio way back to the CM 01-02 . I dont know why, i just like the team.... ^_^
I'm going to get back to CM 4 this holiday...arrggh.. My fingers are itchy now... haha..
15-06-2004, 07:08 PM
Get Lee Holmes...young guy from Derby with pretty good stats...good winger =)
And Cerci from Roma Reserves, excellent striker and young and also this 19-year old guy in Atalanta,...also get Supat Rungratsamee (Thai/English) very pacy...Kakalov/Todorov from Litex
Yeah...that's all i can remember now off my head...note it's for CM 03/04 =)
CyberJaya
15-06-2004, 07:14 PM
roncatto is also good. and simonetta.
Rishy
10-07-2004, 12:30 PM
ill try to get a friend of mine to join. He's crazy over this game..I think he's entering his 11th or 12th season... :lol: :lol:
The_Observer
10-07-2004, 03:02 PM
For veteran players, try to use a 3rd division team all the way to the Premiership and win it...I used Hull and I managed to win the Premiership and the Champions League the following season. Teaches a lesson in buying good players w/o spending much...hehehe.
Kevinlim
11-07-2004, 07:37 AM
Hello there, I'm also a CM fan here.. playing the CM 01/02... started playing after SPM and I tell u, I can play that game from morning till evening. Only leave the com when I need to go to the toilet. Even eat my breakfast, lunch n dinner in front of the com at some times... :oops: Usually I take MU coz got most funds in EPL and easier to get players to come to the club. Tried Rushden from 3rd dvision also. brought it up to premier league in 3 seasons.. :P such a great game they had came up with. when managing MU won 11 premier league titles in 11 seasons.. and around half of the champions cup. Players I muz have in amy club is Dionisis Chiotis and Totti.
saser_sp
26-07-2004, 02:25 PM
hoho just find this column~~~ hola all :p
i also an avid gamer of CM ~~~ haha i just halt my progress coz CM4 IS TOO SLOW!!!! :cry:
anyway i manage to find few good player like ..... (just forget it ...)
~~~
Wan_G
26-07-2004, 02:43 PM
hurm.. i am already in 2010/2011 ... huhu..with my chelsea...
erm.. well... the player who is currently the STAR... (in this new era)
daniele de rossi... (roma)
the one i really love in my team...huhu..
n also c ronaldo... joaquin also has developed into a good player.. n also sanly tuncay... i think he's from fenerbahce... or what... but i'm surely he's the turkish...
torres also is a good one... erm..
i just wanna tell u... though i just entered that season... i'mnot yet bored with da game... ekeke...
WA
saser_sp
28-07-2004, 09:46 AM
huhu~~ i love torres ,,,,there also ricardo quaresma (ronaldo buddy in his ex-club porto) ~~ mmm chevaton also not bad ....
and raul tamudo ~~ huhu :wink:
28-07-2004, 10:11 AM
Hey ppl.... actually we dont have to buy every version of championship manager each year rite? Can we like...use an old version (say CM 4) and then update with a patch or something? What i mean update...is .... update with the current stats in the real world....with all the new transfers of players and coach? Is this possible?
28-07-2004, 02:09 PM
You can do that but the data isnt real data that has been scouted although it is very similar to that realeased by the official version in the first place.
saser_sp
28-07-2004, 03:16 PM
ngee .... dunno ... (i just bought the pirated one) :oops:
karimaka
28-07-2004, 03:27 PM
i would like to take an opportunity to show off that i am one of the assistant researchers of cm4... you can find me in the credits.
under malaysia..
Adrian Ng
and to those cm freaks.. come to www.fmxchange.com
saser_sp
28-07-2004, 03:50 PM
wow ~~~ :o
great stuffS!!! how u get there.... ?
02-08-2004, 01:56 PM
You can do that but the data isnt real data that has been scouted although it is very similar to that realeased by the official version in the first place.
How to update? I try searching websites...but dont know which to download. :roll:
02-08-2004, 02:58 PM
the best site to go to is the dugout . There you will see a downloads sections with a sub-section data updates. Then select your version of cm and you will be given a list of updates for that version. I reccomend the sorted update although it might contain a few bugs. It depends. If it does then you should reinstall the game again. remember to save your games. Once it downloads it should have an interface that will update the files automatically. hope this helps.
zchen
07-05-2005, 05:06 PM
for cm<newer version>,i tink the young players are pretty good.watch out for
1 arouna kone<drogba's strike partner in ivory coast>
2 james mc eveley<blackburn>
3 james mc fadden<everton> - a must
4 mark van bommel
5 allesandro pistone<everton>
6 david di michele<italian,4got from where>
7 tote
8 thomas graveson
9 tim cahill
all these players are below 10 million pounds...real investment.
for fm 2005,i tink when u declare interest in a player,he tends to stall on his contract.sign him on a free transfer the next season.
btw,im taking over roma now.just guided everton to CL tittle the previous season.really addictive..
mediator
07-05-2005, 09:16 PM
before suggesting which players are good,please specify which cm are you talking about!! btw,i'm playing cm05 now.... :D
mediator
07-05-2005, 09:17 PM
before suggesting which players are good,please specify which cm are you talking about!! btw,i'm playing cm05 now.... :D
zchen
08-05-2005, 08:12 PM
i played every cm since the 99-00.currently playing FM2005.
u dun expect me to remember wat i played 2yrs ago rite?my previous post is more about FM2005,though there are players like james mc fadden who's a real deal in any cm since the 03-04 one,if im not mistaken.