View Full Version : Law
mikimiaw
20-03-2009, 02:44 PM
Actually i'm here is to help my friend....she want to study Law...but ned to study A-level in Law or STPM...but she dun wan STPM...so she go for A-level...& she dun wan to study abroad
But the problem...she cant find any college or university tat study A-level in law...i got ask her about brickfields, KDU & Stamford college..she say...they not in full scholarship+expensive...
So i helping her to ask u all guys....which college/university study A-level in Law except tat 3 college?
I got recommend her to study IPTA..but most of the asasi offer to bumiputra..is any special way to let her into IPTA??...Can she study any kind of Pre-U course(like foundation in arts) then continue her Law degree??
Glassylicious
20-03-2009, 02:49 PM
1. You don't need to have done law in your pre-uni years at all to qualify for a Law degree. She can do a purely science A levels and still get accepted into a Law program. My A levels was Bio, Chem, Math and Psychology.
2. Law as a degree course has absolutely no prerequisites whatsoever, so she can do whatever she likes before applying for Law in university.
3. Studying Law in A levels will not really give you that much of a headstart once you start doing your actual degree.
4. If she still wishes to do Law, Taylor's also offers Law, and she may be qualified for full scholarship if she gets 11A1's, or 10A1's for her SPM, depending on how many subjects she chooses to take.
20-03-2009, 02:56 PM
4. If she still wishes to do Law, Taylor's also offers Law, and she may be qualified for full scholarship if she gets 11A1's, or 10A1's for her SPM, depending on how many subjects she chooses to take.
Yo, I'm taking Law as one of my subjects in my A levels in Taylor's Main Campus. All I can say is need to read a lot!!!! hahahhaa.. as for the price, i think it has rised to RM 30 000 this year for 4 subjects.. with scholarship from Taylor's it's cheaper but it's still expensive if u ask me.. How much.. don't ask me.. I'm not too sure but IF NOT MISTAKEN-I'm just shooting a figure here- 30% discount. If not wrong.
Glassylicious
20-03-2009, 03:03 PM
Yeah, to clarify, by "full scholarship" I meant you are free from paying any tuition fees, but you still need to pay tons of other fees. Library fees-lah, computer fees-lah, "miscellanous" fees-lah...
20-03-2009, 03:10 PM
Yeah, to clarify, by "full scholarship" I meant you are free from paying any tuition fees, but you still need to pay tons of other fees. Library fees-lah, computer fees-lah, "miscellanous" fees-lah...
LOL.. So sad right? My friend who acquired the Taylor's scholarship said she felt cheated as she ended up paying a lot more than what she had anticipated. So, before you sign the contract and agreement with Taylor's, make sure you are financially sound first, and read all terms in the contract before u enter into a contract with them. Haha..
mikimiaw
21-03-2009, 03:08 AM
1. You don't need to have done law in your pre-uni years at all to qualify for a Law degree. She can do a purely science A levels and still get accepted into a Law program. My A levels was Bio, Chem, Math and Psychology.
2. Law as a degree course has absolutely no prerequisites whatsoever, so she can do whatever she likes before applying for Law in university.
I'm not sure about her right now...if wat glassylicious said.....if she study wat/where ever pre-U course is not the problem rite??......cuz i got told her about UM...UM hav law course 2.....so if she done watever pre-U course in any college/university then..continue her degree law in UM.....can this possible to her??
Is it Taylor offer full schorlarship?? Her SPM results get straight A's in 9 subject(art stream only 9 subject in our skol..hehe)......
LOL.. So sad right? My friend who acquired the Taylor's scholarship said she felt cheated as she ended up paying a lot more than what she had anticipated. So, before you sign the contract and agreement with Taylor's, make sure you are financially sound first, and read all terms in the contract before u enter into a contract with them. Haha..
This is becuz economy is not good...College/university still ned money to build up the fame.....hahahaha
Glassylicious
21-03-2009, 05:27 AM
I'm not sure about her right now...if wat glassylicious said.....if she study wat/where ever pre-U course is not the problem rite??......cuz i got told her about UM...UM hav law course 2.....so if she done watever pre-U course in any college/university then..continue her degree law in UM.....can this possible to her??
Is it Taylor offer full schorlarship?? Her SPM results get straight A's in 9 subject(art stream only 9 subject in our skol..hehe)......
This is becuz economy is not good...College/university still ned money to build up the fame.....hahahaha
If she wants to go to a public university [like UM] then she can't do A levels or any private foundation. She needs to either do STPM or get in through the matric program. If she does A levels or SAM or any other foundation, she's confined to private institutions; public universities are out of the question.
Taylor's "full scholarship" refers to a scholarship of school fees. She'll still need to pay for her registration fees, library fees, computer fees and all the other fees every semester.
mikimiaw
21-03-2009, 05:40 PM
Yesterday i found 2 college tat is Multimedia university & Management & science university(MSU)..this 2 hav law course....but dunno is it good or not...She got ask me if she study any pre-U course in KTAR/Utar(cuz my frenz r there..haha) then confined in public universities(UM)..i say is quite hard & not so sure.....if study foundation/a-level in Ktar/Utar then to UM is it possible??.......
Any suggestion college/university is cheapest 1 for her to study law....she really dun wan study STPM....
Glassylicious
21-03-2009, 06:02 PM
Yesterday i found 2 college tat is Multimedia university & Management & science university(MSU)..this 2 hav law course....but dunno is it good or not...She got ask me if she study any pre-U course in KTAR/Utar(cuz my frenz r there..haha) then confined in public universities(UM)..i say is quite hard & not so sure.....if study foundation/a-level in Ktar/Utar then to UM is it possible??.......
Any suggestion college/university is cheapest 1 for her to study law....she really dun wan study STPM....
Where is your friend getting all her information? =/
If she's just asking around her friends I don't think that's advisable given the ideas that she is getting. As far as I'm concerned, if you want to enter public universities, you need to go through the public way. In Malaysia's education system at least, it's kinda hard to criss-cross from private to public or vice versa at this stage. Ask her to e-mail UM's admissions officer for clarification.
I've never heard of MSU so I can't comment on whether it's good or not. MMU is pretty okay from what I heard, BUT their Law degree has yet to receive recognition. Apparently they're in the process of getting approved, but just so you know.
If you want cheap, then private universities/colleges are mostly out of her league unless your friend is willing to work hard enough to secure some form of tuition waiver. How much is your friend willing to pay for fees? How cheap is "cheap"? If she can't afford to pay the other fees [miscellanous, library, computer fees, etc] after a full tuition waiver in a private college then she may also have trouble paying full fees in a public university. Public universities are cheap, but at the same time I'd like to remind you that they're not free either.
So yes. You need to ask her what she means by "cheap". How much money is she willing to put aside for fees if she wants to go down the private line? If she still wants to do it in a public university, there are three options. She can either do STPM, do matriculation or get in through a public university's diploma or foundation in Law/arts/whatever program.
21-03-2009, 06:39 PM
how about Advance Tertiary College (ATC)? not sure about the fees though.
vikraman
21-03-2009, 06:56 PM
Here are a list of options for your friend. Much as I despise helping "education" requests on Recom, I feel compelled to help because I may be helping to create another lawyer to defeat this evil regime.
Step 1: Pre-University Programs.
A-Levels ~ RM 20,000+- (KTAR nearly free with 9A's in SPM)
STPM ~ Nearly Free.
University Foundation Programs ~ Depends on University.
SAM/AUSMAT/IB/ICPU etc ~ RM 12,000 - RM 30,000
Step 2: University
With A-levels, STPM, IB, SAM/AUSMAT one is able to go to most overseas universities. Maybe your friend can apply for a scholarship after finishing her Pre-U. With good results, a scholarship to study Law is definitely obtainable.
STPM - Public Universities, Overseas Universities (Singapore?), Local Private Colleges.
Non-STPM Pre-University Courses - Local Private Colleges, Overseas Universities AND Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
As long as your friend is studying in Malaysia, fees should be her last concern has she can always obtain a loan from PTPTN. PTPTN loans are hassle-free, (nearly) interest-free, payable after graduation in installments AND payments are tax-deductible. PTPTN loans can be obtained to study in BOTH Public and Private institutes of higher learning.
If she wants to study overseas, then she can always opt to attempt to get a scholarship.
MMU is a good option though it is NOT CLP exempt yet. So for the same fees it would make more sense to join ATC/BAC etc. for UoL Law (Hons) [External].
mikimiaw
21-03-2009, 11:14 PM
how about Advance Tertiary College (ATC)? not sure about the fees though.Em..i already check in the Study Malaysia website....eh...quite expensive+the exam body is in UK....i'm not sure whether the exam body is study abroad or exam paper is in UK....Cuz she dun wan study abroad...
So yes. You need to ask her what she means by "cheap". How much money is she willing to put aside for fees if she wants to go down the private line? If she still wants to do it in a public university, there are three options. She can either do STPM, do matriculation or get in through a public university's diploma or foundation in Law/arts/whatever program.I got go through checking of this IPTA thing....mostly all the foundation courses is only for bumiputra(she non-bumiputra).....Matriculation...i think the application is closed already...i will ask her wat is her budget...and come here to this discuss again...
Step 1: Pre-University Programs.
A-Levels ~ RM 20,000+- (KTAR nearly free with 9A's in SPM)
STPM ~ Nearly Free.
University Foundation Programs ~ Depends on University.
SAM/AUSMAT/IB/ICPU etc ~ RM 12,000 - RM 30,000
Step 2: University
With A-levels, STPM, IB, SAM/AUSMAT one is able to go to most overseas universities. Maybe your friend can apply for a scholarship after finishing her Pre-U. With good results, a scholarship to study Law is definitely obtainable.
STPM - Public Universities, Overseas Universities (Singapore?), Local Private Colleges.
Non-STPM Pre-University Courses - Local Private Colleges, Overseas Universities AND Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
O i never noe USM hav faculty of law...tats mean if she study any Non-STPM Pre-U course she can continue either in local overseas, overseas or USM...em..tats sound okie....can u comfirm a little about USM...cuz USM is public uni..can she do tat if she study Non-STPM Pre-U course then continue in USM??is this possible??
PTPTN loans are hassle-free, (nearly) interest-free, payable after graduation in installments AND payments are tax-deductible. PTPTN loans can be obtained to study in BOTH Public and Private institutes of higher learning.
This for me...i noe is out of topic but just want to noe more about PTPTN loans......is it PTPTN loans is offer to undergradutes.....cuz i'm goin to study foundation in Utar leading to my degree...i wonder can i start to apply the loan for my foundation till the end of my degree..cuz i heard tat if we wan to apply PTPTN loan..we have to wait until our degree...is it correct??..please correct me...
i saw in the study malaysia website the MSU exam body is in internal exam body...+ is at least 35K.....emmm...not sure about her right now......i tried to concern about her law study....
vikraman
22-03-2009, 11:09 AM
Em..i already check in the Study Malaysia website....eh...quite expensive+the exam body is in UK....i'm not sure whether the exam body is study abroad or exam paper is in UK....Cuz she dun wan study abroad...
The exam body is University of London. The course can be done 100% in Malaysia including all lectures, tutorials, exams and even graduation is in Malaysia.
O i never noe USM hav faculty of law...tats mean if she study any Non-STPM Pre-U course she can continue either in local overseas, overseas or USM...em..tats sound okie....can u comfirm a little about USM...cuz USM is public uni..can she do tat if she study Non-STPM Pre-U course then continue in USM??is this possible??
Sorry for mis-information, after fact-checking I have realised that USM does not have a Law Faculty. However for other courses, what I said earlier is true.
This for me...i noe is out of topic but just want to noe more about PTPTN loans......is it PTPTN loans is offer to undergradutes.....cuz i'm goin to study foundation in Utar leading to my degree...i wonder can i start to apply the loan for my foundation till the end of my degree..cuz i heard tat if we wan to apply PTPTN loan..we have to wait until our degree...is it correct??..please correct me...
i saw in the study malaysia website the MSU exam body is in internal exam body...+ is at least 35K.....emmm...not sure about her right now......i tried to concern about her law study....
If I'm not mistaken PTPTN loan can be obtained for any level of study although you should check their website for more details.
mikimiaw
22-03-2009, 10:26 PM
emm..2day i meet my friend finally she made up her choice...and she had up her mind to go brickfields.....thx for the information every1...at least i can noe smtg interesting from every1....
If I'm not mistaken PTPTN loan can be obtained for any level of study although you should check their website for more details.
I tried to check out the information.....but i got check the UTAR but they say i can only apply when i starting my degree.....em....i shud check out the PTPTN....
By the way ....thx guys...