View Full Version : waiting for uni to start

CyberJaya
29-05-2004, 06:49 PM
Is there anyone like me who is waiting for university to start in september? I'm just waisting playing Championshp Manager, reading recom and checking out planet football. I cant work because i have benefit over in the UK. It is good i suppose to have it. Does anyone know of any cool websites? Or anything to do in the UK. life without Uni is certainly boring. At the moment the semester B is still going on and is in exam period. The sports hall is taken over by study desks so i cant play badminton or anything. I just wish that september was tomorrow. I know a break is good but i've had too much of a break already. I want to get into those activities such as the monday night football team, etc. We have the European Championships and the olympics on tv. I could go to the Olympics and watch some Malaysian athletes if i knew of somebody to go with. I'd have to come off benefits and get a job. Oh how time goes so slowly.

29-05-2004, 07:30 PM
... I cant work because i have benefit over in the UK .... I'd have to come off benefits and get a job. Oh how time goes so slowly.
mind to explain to us what is this UK "benefit" thingy? :)

CyberJaya
29-05-2004, 08:01 PM
If you're unemployed or suffer from a disability you can receive payments each week. I'm in the latter class. I'm not an invalid or anything. I'm functional but i suffer from a disability . You receive about 40 pounds a week which is not bad considering that i'm living at home and i dont have any major expenses apart from the cable tv and internet connection.

ydho_6
30-05-2004, 06:57 PM
hey cyberjaya... can consider doing volunteer work... i normally participate in volunteer network thru my school but there are also a lot of organizations around which provide chances of volunteering..

i got into the Circles thru the Students with disability society in my school.. quite nice network, u help each other with ur strength and u get help with other fields. i have been providing help like note taking n assignments.. but sometimes we just come out to hang out...

other alternatives... Duke of edinburgh award... for me i doubt i can finish all the components but doing part of the components is quite fun.. www.doe.org.uk

oso can look up for the millenium volunteer award scheme.. these schemes give a goal to achieve to fill up ur time. but dont pressure too much. i just took it for time relaxing n filling up gaps...

or... if u r an outdoor person.. go around places n take pics... haha that applies for me.. i can walk around london whole day just to capture some really nice pics. share with u next time.

31-05-2004, 07:50 AM
do something that you can't do without a semester break.
play RO, play GB day and night... haha...
or travelling around.... ^.^

31-05-2004, 03:20 PM
damn, 40 pounds a week? what about rent? Student housing is free?

i collected unemployement once, for 3 weeks and i was getting $411 a week. I wonder how you get food, is that free too?

Well, atleast in the UK people get all these benefit, free medical etc. I guess its worth paying tax over there in UK.

Over here i still had to pay tax on the unemployement check. Pay for medical insurance as well. What the hell happen to the tax money i wonder.

The_Observer
31-05-2004, 05:45 PM
Are you on broadband? If you are... I recommend Legacy Online (LO)!!! Guarantee you plus 2 year warranty you can be stick to your com 24/7!!!

BTW, which team you taking on CM?

aquila
01-06-2004, 12:52 AM
Anyone who finds too much free time in their hands and knows Flash please contact me! I have a wonderful project for you!

The email's sallyong_84@<hidden>

windy_city
01-06-2004, 01:33 AM
Anyone who finds too much free time in their hands and knows Flash please contact me! I have a wonderful project for you!

The email's sallyong_84@<hidden>

Sally, you are realy that desperate for help??
why don't you ask your friends in Duke doing CS to help you out??

aquila
01-06-2004, 03:06 AM
LOL. I am rather desperate. If I were not on this God forsaken island, I would probably have more access to CS kids.

Kidding. THought you knew I am in the Marine Lab for now. Most kids here are Bio majors. Bio people know nuts about computers. I don't really know any CS majors. Hmm, perhaps I should look on campus next time.

CyberJaya
01-06-2004, 03:32 AM
damn, 40 pounds a week? what about rent? Student housing is free?

I'm living at home and comuting to university at the moment which is good. Rent is all free. Food is Free :D

As for volunteering i've never done it before but i've applied for one post yesterday. Hopefully i'll get a reply. My friend was doing a Doe award when he was 16 or 17. Back then i wasnt interested but i might give it ago now that i have all this free time.

What is RO and GB? I'm on broadband and I might try Legacy online. What is it all about? Is it similar to comand and conquer? As for Cm i play with Monaco. I usually sell the fringe players and buy kallstrom, kristiansen, alpay. So far i've just made it to fourth place in the year one. [/quote]

01-06-2004, 07:52 PM
hehe... RO is Ragnarok Online, GB is GunBound.
I had been addictted to these 2 games for months ago.
I will get back to RO soon after my exam later, but this time I will try with Korean server and play with my Korean classmates here... :lol:
Oh yeah.... one more entertainment which a lot of my friends and juniors here addict with now..
hear NARUTO before? a Japanese animation... you can get it by downloading it from internet.
I only watch it with the CDs that my friend burn when I really got nothing to do. 8)