View Full Version : Q:Recognition/ accreditation?? of Dental schools(PIDC).. the importance.. and etc..
pettybimbo
22-03-2009, 04:00 AM
Well i just finished my stpm. and i got average results *dont ask*=p.. i had to choose a field of studies based on my interest.. So i searched.. wrote down what i like and dislike.. and then decided to get into the dental line..
Then i had to search for the universities and all those...* kinda stressful especialy when u have average or borderline results.
Then i found out about Penang International Dental college.Its a twinning programe with this Vinayaka Missions University.Its kinda new.The first batch hasn't even graduate .I checked with MQA and its under provation i think.. cause i called up MOHE too.
Then i checked JPA and guess what it isnt recognised by JPA!!!!The twinning programme isnt recognized!!! But if i did full 5 years in VMU, then it would be recognized. but i diddnt take physics for my stpm..So i could only opt for the twinning programme.. So does it mean i wont be able to work in Malaysia??
I mean the fellow working in PIDC told me i could work in any common wealth countries.. but... can i trust her? how do i check?
I went to VMU's website and here is what i got from the accreditation part..
Vinayaka Mission was conferred a University status by Ministry of HRD, Government of India on approval from UGC as per the section 3 of the University Grants Commision (UGC) Act 1956 of the Government of India.
GOVERNMENT OF INDIA NOTIFICATIONS
PUBLISHED IN THE GAZETTE OF INDIA PART-I SECTION-I
No.F.9-7/2002-U-3 Government of India,Ministry of Human Resource Development,New Delhi,dt.1st March 2001.
No.F.9-7/2002-U-3 Government of India,Ministry of Human Resource Development,New Delhi,dt.21st April 2004.
No.F.9-7/2002-U-3 Government of India,Ministry of Human Resource Development,New Delhi,dt.19th August 2004.
No.F.9-7/2002-U-3 Government of India,Ministry of Human Resource Development,New Delhi,dt.10th November 2004.
Association
Member of Association of Indian Universities.
Member of Association of Common Wealth Universities.
Member Of Confederation of Indian Industries.
Rangsit University, Thailand.
Central America Health Sciences University, Belize.
Centennial College, Canada
But it is just for the Full 5 years programme there? Does it include the twinning programme with PIDc??
Should i still go for it??
Hopefully some could help me out here...
Oh ya. i did think about gooing to padjajaran in indonesia but my friend there told me.. tha there is some sort of chaneg in system and that it might not be recognized by Malaysia?? is it true???
Thanks so much...
22-03-2009, 12:28 PM
It's quite normal that a new college is not yet recognised because the first batch if students has not graduated, just as some medical colleges/universities in Malaysia, such as UMS, AIMST, which were only recognised starting last two years even though their medical courses existed few more years back.
pettybimbo
24-03-2009, 02:24 AM
Hey thanks for at least writting something here... *eyes brimming with tears* been hoping for some replies...
ERm... yeah i understand...But would it be recognized later on?? I am kinda worried....
24-03-2009, 03:20 PM
Normally colleges based in Malaysia will be recognised, since they have clinical years here. However, it is better for you to check with both sides to confirm...
pettybimbo
04-04-2009, 10:37 PM
yeah.. thats the troublesome part!!!! T_T....
Anyway.. any where else can I go to do study dentistry?? any recommendation? i got 3.08 only for my STPM.. T_T(kinda embarrassed)
I GOT Pa B+ , Math B+ ,biology B- , chemistry B.. i didnt take physics...
But i am really interested in dentistry,... so any suggestions? anywhere i can go? pls leave some advice? thanks...
cheanrocks
05-04-2009, 11:58 PM
yeah.. thats the troublesome part!!!! T_T....
Anyway.. any where else can I go to do study dentistry?? any recommendation? i got 3.08 only for my STPM.. T_T(kinda embarrassed)
I GOT Pa B+ , Math B+ ,biology B- , chemistry B.. i didnt take physics...
But i am really interested in dentistry,... so any suggestions? anywhere i can go? pls leave some advice? thanks...
Don't be embarrassed by your results! :) Since you're really interested in dentistry, I'll believe you'll do well for your degree.
How about AIMST? I might be studying Dentistry there too. :D Heh. There's IMU also, but it's very expensive, about 400k for the whole course and there's only one intake, the next one is next year.
pettybimbo
06-04-2009, 07:11 PM
aimst can i get in??? yeah IMU is abit too expensive.. got budget..= p
i was thinking of PIDC.. what do u think about it.. anyway since ur a dental student.. how is it... i mean life as a dental student/ is it as scary as they say?
sprint
16-04-2009, 10:08 PM
what university rejected u? actually i also think of Mahsa or PIDC only... cause AIMST nowadays seems like got trouble... so better don't... then Mahsa can fully study here... without going overseas... but PIDC need 2 years in India... by the way... India life.. not easy... quite suffer... still different people got different perception... so please correct me if there are any mistake...
Yan5735
30-10-2009, 08:53 PM
Is there anyone noe about the language qualification for PIDC? Is muet required?
wyeth_10
07-11-2009, 11:01 PM
Ah don't worry, their language qualification is average. Heck they'll accept you as long you got a B and above. They recognize STPM, then ESL (english as second language), MUET not required But I think they focus more on ur 3 main subjects; chemistry,bio,math.
yes the 2 years in India is quite tough, since it is a way different culture than us. Plus, not that I'm looking down on them, but they're like 30 years behind malaysia. But, now things ARE looking far better after more and more msian students are going there [ 8th batch currently there]. I think you need a wicked sense of humor and really strong will plus perseverance to take up this course in PIDC. Take it from one who has survived the !@<hidden>#$ there.
Yan5735
08-11-2009, 01:47 AM
Wyeth_10, thank you for ur reply. Are u a PIDC student?
wyeth_10
08-11-2009, 07:20 AM
:) yes I am.
Yan5735
08-11-2009, 08:53 PM
Haha~ are u currently studying in India? Is it nice to study dentistry in PIDC? And is it recognized by IMED and FAIMER? I am currently preparing the document to apply next year march intake~
wyeth_10
09-11-2009, 09:30 PM
:laugh No no, I'm done with my twinning in India. Haha, now I'm already halfway through my 3rd Year in Butterworth. I think to ask if its "nice" to study in someplace, its really vague.What is your idea of a "nice" to study ____ in _____? No its not yet recognized by MDA, cuz the 1st batch haven't graduated yet. Right now we're under supervision of MDA. They come yearly to see how we're doing.However I'm not aware bout the recognition by IMED oR FAIMER.
Yan5735
09-11-2009, 09:43 PM
oic, the BDS in PIDC is awarded by VMU rite? How is the hostel condition in India?
wyeth_10
10-11-2009, 04:08 PM
The ones where I stayed in, it was kinda like a hse, octagonal shaped...erm, 2 person to a room. Basically a double single room. Equipped with AC unit, 1 fan, 1 light.Attached bathroom with sink, toilet with shower+water heater. 1 common cupboard, 2 study table, and 2 small cupboard. Its situated right next to entrance of road towards VMU. 5 mins walk to hospital/ Uni.
Then there's common pantry with 1 microwave, 2 fridge, water dispenser. That was when I was still studyin there. Now i've heard the msian hostel is not longer that, its been taken over by local students, and their new msian hostel is wayyyy back behind the Uni, like in the jungle area with the villagers rearing cow,goats plus farms...:amuse FYI the hostel is NOT PIDC owned hostel, its a malaysian hostel where JPA students are there too, and china students who's taking engineering courses there too?
wyeth_10
13-11-2009, 07:59 PM
does that help in your decision whether to apply for PIDC?
well if u want to see pictures, I think you'd be able to find in google?
Yan5735
14-11-2009, 09:22 PM
Haha, I already sent my application form to them, now juz waiting for the reply XD. thank you~ In ur opinion is it very stressful to study dentistry? are there a lot of assignment included?
wyeth_10
15-11-2009, 08:00 PM
Well, there'll always be stress, no doubt. Studying any subject is just as hard and stressful as any other field.We just have to be REEEAAALLLYYY patient. Yeah, you'll get assignments...its nothing really, you just need to find out some stuffs all from textbooks, then re-copy it into paper and pass up. Sometimes drawings are required too...u can practice ur soft skills then. They'll give you lots of tests la...test every month/week [till you get sick & tired of it]:wink. My batch got that..they gave us so many exams that when the finals came, to us we just treat it as any other test we had..nothing special...that much it was.:amuse Don't know if they'd get that hardcore with ur batch.
yhcheang
15-12-2009, 01:31 AM
Well, there'll always be stress, no doubt. Studying any subject is just as hard and stressful as any other field.We just have to be REEEAAALLLYYY patient. Yeah, you'll get assignments...its nothing really, you just need to find out some stuffs all from textbooks, then re-copy it into paper and pass up. Sometimes drawings are required too...u can practice ur soft skills then. They'll give you lots of tests la...test every month/week [till you get sick & tired of it]:wink. My batch got that..they gave us so many exams that when the finals came, to us we just treat it as any other test we had..nothing special...that much it was.:amuse Don't know if they'd get that hardcore with ur batch.
Thanks for your explanation senior, yes, currently we're staying way back far behind the VM hospital with those cows and goats of course. China students have been moved out but there's another small batch of 5 VMU students moved in past 2 week. It's no doubt the "hardcore" traditional has been passed to us^^ Few more days to go and we'll be on our holiday:)
Yan5735
08-03-2010, 05:09 PM
I already got the offer from PIDC for april intake. However, i am quite confusing about the visa application, the staff asking me to post my original passport to them is it alright? Is there anyone here cn gv me a clear instruction about visa and how are we going to india. THANK YOU~
wyeth_10
17-04-2010, 01:27 PM
post your passport to them? crazy ah, its YOUR passport. You don't just mail it over to them. Either they come to get it from your hands or you go over to the office and ask what exactly they want to do with your passport.If they want to do visa, they don't need the real thing. just photocopy the passport, and give them photos. I don't remember giving them my original passport.
may i noe here gt pidc students ma?
i wan to ask,3rd year for sure get ptptn 20k? after v pay the tuition fees, gt any other fees nid to pay ? text book nid hw many ringgit ?
i wan ask... if i study at india , hw much i nid to pay for the text books n the dental materials? 3rd year when bac to penang for sure wil gt the ptptn loan ? i nid u all help .... coz i nid to do for payment le .. thx ...
chongcy
05-08-2010, 11:39 AM
i wan ask... if i study at india , hw much i nid to pay for the text books n the dental materials? 3rd year when bac to penang for sure wil gt the ptptn loan ? i nid u all help .... coz i nid to do for payment le .. thx ...
hey...when are u going for the sept intake???
erm...i also not sure about their ptptn stuff...
if u got that info can you pm me also....
i need to know too
thanks!!!!
pettybimbo
11-08-2010, 02:54 AM
LOL...anyway.. so how is life in PIDC??
wyeth_10
11-08-2010, 07:38 PM
not sure bout ptptn loan. i didn't apply for it. tuition fees 1st year only cover books in 1st year. 2nd year books not covered. they got provide some dental instruments and materials in 1st year, but if need more u have to go out buy urself
kaaleong
19-09-2010, 12:58 PM
Yan5735:i think u can send the passport thru courier to them(ur agent),cos i sent it too with my frends,cos we have no choice as my home is far from KL~wat u need is just to really make sure that the person in charge is really from PIDC.BUt,u are april intake~see u soon in India,
weyth_10 senior:Eh,bro,in Pidc,is anyone get ptptn loan?cos i really hope for it~or,can we apply for any scholarship to reduce my parents' burden?like Jpa?
choncy:Hey~~u mean sept2010 intake?2nd oct will be going to India?
walts
02-05-2011, 01:52 AM
So is the certificate awarded by Vinakaya mission university or PIDC? Is it recognize by commonwealth countries? If yes, is it recognize by UK as well? Thank you
melindaL
03-05-2011, 12:44 AM
What is the total tuition fees for the entire duration of studies and is there any financial assistance available other than PTPTN and JPA schl?
khaiyen92
12-05-2011, 07:31 PM
What is the total tuition fees for the entire duration of studies and is there any financial assistance available other than PTPTN and JPA schl?
it's about 247,000..i think jz ptptn n jpa..have u asked at the office? n are you sure you wanna join this sep intake? :)
melindaL
12-05-2011, 11:31 PM
khaiyen:would love to join the intake but no $$$$$$. :(
khaiyen92
13-05-2011, 02:06 PM
khaiyen:would love to join the intake but no $$$$$$. :(
cant agree more with you..$$ is really a big problem..i was trying to find loan and scholar for that,but to no avail..:( did u try to find? where are you going to study then?
choonhou
16-08-2011, 05:53 PM
The students department havent decide on the date of starting the course rite? for the sept intake this year...>.<