View Full Version : The Welfare State/Job Search in Malaysia

CyberJaya
29-05-2004, 08:07 PM
I think that sometime in the future, it may be a good time for Malaysia to develop a welfare state? What do you guys think? A system where unemployed people and those with disabilities dont have to suffer. It is a long way away. I dont think Malaysia can afford it at the moment. I've always wondered what out of work Malaysians do to get by. What if a disability prevents you from working? How do you live? What if there are simply no jobs available? How do you apply for a job in Malaysia. Is there a Job Center run by the government with a database of jobs and help? I think it would be a good idea to set one up so that life can be easier for everybody. More civil servants and less hastle. More convienience for the average Malaysian job seeker.

The_Observer
31-05-2004, 10:44 PM
I love your spirit. But unless certain things change....

Too bad.

1. Eastern values don't appreciate the idea of giving out money (they will say 'hard-earned') to people who cannot contribute to society (means... give returns).

2. Our dear 'Tabung Kebajikan' will be under 1 of our minister's sons or daughters. You will see a few ppl getting some help just for the Press to see, then when the coverage is over, 30-40% will be siphoned out to Swiss or Cayman Islands banks.

3. The Government will come up with a new 'National' programme! All unnecessary funding will be stopped in order that this 'National' programme receive 'priority'!

4. Privatization?

5. The ppl at the counter for social welfare will scare or anger any1 who comes in...

6. Najib says its not a racial issue. That lying bastard....

7. A new M-16 or Steyr Gang will rob the 'Tabung' of its money?

8. The director of social welfare will be tried for sodomy and other offences?

9. The building 'runtuh' because unscrupulous contrators used defective material or built it on some abandoned tin mine!

10. Where do I find the time to write such things? My semester finals are next week......

01-06-2004, 12:46 AM
i dont like welfare state. sounds too close to socialism.

I think Europe is one of the examples where welfare state policies help increase unemployment level.

by reading your post, i dont really know what kind of job search you are having in mind.

however, i dont think if the conventional govt setup of a job search center or something is the same as being welfare state.

but from you post like this: I think it would be a good idea to set one up so that life can be easier for everybody. More civil servants and less hastle. More convienience for the average Malaysian job seeker.

i got the impression that you are talking achieving full employment which is only possible in communism.

Furthermore, more civil servants mean wasting more money, more bureaucracy, less efficiency. Wait! This sounds like malaysian govt!

morpheous
05-06-2004, 12:28 AM
this is an interesting topic for morpheous's humble opinion.
msia adopting social welfare program in the future?
msia government giving out food stamps to unemploy msians?
this food stamps or coupons applicable only to buy food from GLC/khazanah??

does this count as one of malay's special rights?
only for bumis to enjoy this benefits?
well..the day, msia government implement this, that will be the day, msia government's treasury will go down to drain...

western nations with social welfare programs can work becoz they practise meritocracy in building their societies.

.......another morpheous's 2 cents of thoughts.....

noneedname
10-11-2005, 03:39 AM
----------

letter from friend ------------

It is over in San Francisco and I love respond to the question. Emigration is very common. Our family had been emigrated to US (me), my elder brother (UK), my younger brother (Taiwan) and youngest brother (Canada).

All of them are doing very well. I am almost light year ahead of my Malaysian counterpart who did not move. Believe me, I do not have much grudge against the government.

As far as I am concerned, it is a matter of survival for our family. I just cannot wait for the 'system' to be totally fair. Because there is no such things. Even in many countries where there is only one race, there will be other self made problems such as left and right, and so on.

My vision from the point of Malaysian Chinese to be educated (real), not getting just a 'silly' diploma, diversify all portfolio internationally. You must understand that there are many Americans who are doing well, they always have some portfolio overseas, it does not mean that they are being disloyal.

The world is getting so small. I really do not see getting a job in Hong Kong or Taiwan or the US is such a big deal anymore. I am happy that we left, I do not think we could achieve in Malaysia 'even' if the system is totally fair. It is because we are lacking of vision for ourselves. We are always responding retroactively and try to catch up.

For example, Malaysia want to start the bio-tech, but I am worry that the educational level 'even' from the top university (UM, USM) is not good enough. I did research some of the top professors of said colleges. Sorry, I am not too impressed. We have to really catch up.

My wife is another brain drain. She just got a research grant from NIH by being the top 1% of all US scientists. Her boss always said: You must be the top 5% or above. Her group has a total of US$147000000 research grant (147 millions).

We have no clue what we can contribute to Malaysia's science if we return. We will be dealing with silly racial politics and intransigent bureaucrats.

Same thing happened to my brother in Taiwan, he is one of the top civil engineer in Taiwan and very successful one. It will be a torture for him to return home. What do you guys think?

You see, my wife's chancellor was the 1987 Nobel laureate in Medicine. He discovered the 'Oncogene'. They are the people who started companies like Genentech 'www.gene.com' or Chiron 'www.chiron.com', just to name a few.

My greatest concern is that if Malaysians are not serious about progress, I am a little pessimistic about the future. We will be seeing too tidal wave from China and India, and not to mention Japan, Korea or Taiwan.

We are so spoon fed by the government, we can't think anymore. You look, I have little respect for the governments (Malaysia, Taiwan or US) because they are run by a lot of incompetent peoples especially in science. For example, all the chancellors in the university in Malaysia are from royal family. I am skeptical of their scientific achievement except they are great in giving themselves all the meaningless titles.

Final suggestion: Education, I mean real. I accept only doctorate level. My wife has two, PhD and MD as well. Compete internationally.

Sorry for the bragging.

------------

nick_khaw
10-11-2005, 03:55 AM
Social Welfare. Ugh. I don't mind if the government provides welfare for the people who CANNOT work, but to provide welfare for the unemployed, that's just bad. For people who earn below the welfare level, they might as well just quit their job and just take welfare money.

We should encourage ppl to get jobs. And if truly there aren't any jobs, instead of giving welfare, why not create jobs?

10-11-2005, 06:01 AM
abt creating jobs... i think our government has created too 'much' jobs... few years back, I've read something about Malaysia government having the highest government servant to population ratio in the world... although not really sure how reliable it is, but i don't think it is off the mark... when the gov is creating jobs for the sake of creating jobs, it kinda reduce the average productivity of the worker... unless the government expands other factor(capital, human capital...) of labor equally...

as i don't think the government is expanding all factors of labor input equally..., it will only result in lower efficiency... which doesn't really help...

(example: government office playing the ball-kicking game... exceptionally long waiting line, exceptionally complicated paper process, exceptionally long coffee break... )

nick_khaw
10-11-2005, 06:13 AM
Oh, certainly we can't create jobs just for the sake of creating jobs. My point is that if there are no jobs left (possible reason for unemplyment), we should create jobs.

If we were to create jobs just for the sake of creating jobs, efficiency levels would certainly go down. And considering our current state of efficiency, we can't allow that to happen.

Maxforce
10-11-2005, 08:24 PM
nahhh i believe no one will starve in malaysia, so there is no need for these "free jobs" or unemployment income

23-11-2005, 07:42 PM
One question? if someone has no job and no family in malaysia then how do they eat?

Salvation
23-11-2005, 10:04 PM
One question? if someone has no job and no family in malaysia then how do they eat?

Find one job then, it isn't that hard.
Or if that person is really unable to find a job, there are always those religious establishment and jabatan kebajikan...

Maxforce
23-11-2005, 10:27 PM
Use the last penny to buy one big card board, a string and a marker pen
Hand the board written by the marker pen over the neck with a string that says "WILL WORK FOR FOOD!"
PJKru, sorry that phenomenon, is unimaginable!!!
Havent happen in Msia yet, other country perhaps, not Msia. And for example - can always go McD and work - free lunch somemore or alternatively some kedai kopi or some shop which need hard labor - jadi kuli to have food - since it is an EXTREME situation you re talking about...

koopai
23-11-2005, 11:36 PM
I agree. That is an extreme case. Btw, speaking of helping starving people, You might want to help this ngo (food not bombs):
More details here: http://www.fnbkl.cjb.net/

Wedko
24-11-2005, 04:01 AM
One has to work to earn a living as long as it is not due to medical reason.

In the UK, there are many parents who PREFERRED not to work because they want to take care of their children and saying that childcare is a full-time job.

Watching the TV programme (WIFE SWAP), my blood is boiling 'HOT', thinking that all my hard earn money suck by the government to provide benefit to those idiots and parasites.

Sometimes, I toally agree with my clients who do not want to pay tax by swifting all their money to tax haven like Bermuda pr Monaco.

It is because there is no point to give so much money to the government to support those parasites.

Only poor people like me, who is working full-time (& earning peanut money) has no chance of exploiting tax loop hole in the UK.

nick_khaw
24-11-2005, 07:38 AM
This is why we should all say "Down with social welfare!"

ck
25-11-2005, 12:18 PM
In Malaysia, I do not believe that if you have a pair of hands, legs and a good health, you will starve to death. As long as you are willing to work (even washing plate), you still be able to get through the day... only not living comfortably.

But I think there should be some degree of social welfare. My mom is into this NGO called Hospice. Monthly, I could see that they are assisting those that are dying of cancer or have insufficient money to go for cancer treatment. You cannot work, you have no money... when you hear their stories, it just make you feel sad.

I do agree, that some are social parasites that thread on the welfare benefits. But every singles cents or effort that you contribute, you could be helping those that are really in need. That is the difference that we could make. I do believe, that is what they intent to do.

However in Malaysia, I don't think such system will work. Never will... totally agree with Morpheous and The_Observer

05-12-2006, 11:01 PM
You know even in china they have a form of welfare state for those people who pay their tax credits and live below the breadline. welfare is paid below minimum wage but is more than acceptble level on which to live on.

I know there is that feeling that it will be abused by some people but then you know sometimes especially in times of economic hardship things can get very desparate. you have to virtually beg from family members.

I think in a developed society people have a certain level of economic dignity which they need to maintain.

However i do think that maybe the welfare state is probably a long way from taking place in malaysia. Firstly it will need a huge increase in the budget of the country to fund it.

Finally there is the sense that Malays who have been stereotyped to be lazy may fall back into these old ways with the introduction of the welfare state. However despite the concerns of the government in the sense that it may have the effect of reversing the years of growth in equity of the bumiputeras i think it would be a popular move with many of the disadvantaged in the country such as those living on the breadline, etc.