View Full Version : What does it take to be a CEO????

windy_city
30-05-2004, 01:17 AM
I found this interesting article about a boy who sent letters to the top CEOs in the US and asked them, ?What does it take to be a CEO?? Surprisingly, many of them replied.

Apparently the 7 most important qualities to be a CEO have nothing to do with 4 flat CGPA or being the president of the student government.

The top 7:
? Respect: ?I believe in treating people with respect. My style is to speak to people, be available to them and willing to answer their questions. This also means being straightforward and honest with them.? ?Sanford I. Weill, Chairman and Co-CEO, Citigroup, Inc.
? Passion: ?Passionate people get things done. Passion for doing what you?re called to do resonates in every fiber of a true leader. Passionate people energize other people and build enthusiasm. And as you surely know, enthusiasm is contagious.? ?Leonard Roberts, Chairman and CEO, RadioShack Corp.
? Vision: ?One of the key qualities that any CEO (or successful person) needs?a willingness to stretch yourself and go after goals that others think are too visionary, too hard, or too ambitious to accomplish.? ?Richard A. McGinn, Chairman and CEO, Lucent Technologies.
? Humanity: ?Actions need to go beyond the letter of the law to a spirit of trust and integrity, and a willingness to lead on issues where the needs are greatest. This also includes a commitment to give back to make the world a better place?both as a corporation and by providing opportunities for employees to give their time and talents to help others.??Betsy Holden, President and CEO, Kraft Foods North America.
? Curiosity: ?I am curious and interested in just about everything. So, I am always learning and working at the margin of my ignorance.? ?Harvey Golub, CEO, American Express.
? Integrity: ?It is critically important to be determined to do the right thing?to commit to conducting yourself with the highest standards of ethics and integrity. It will inspire people?s confidence and trust in you. And people, as a result, will help you in ways that you would never expect, and maybe never even know about.? ?Raymond V. Gilmartin, Chairman, President and CEO, Merck & Co.
? Pragmatism: ?An important mark of a good leader [is] to know you don?t know it all and never will.? ?Anne M. Mulcahy, CEO, Xerox Corp.

For the full article please to http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/5068562/

30-05-2004, 02:07 AM
Not trying to be rude, just being my usual cynical self (plus... I'm high on weed!)

The boy is going to be in for a shock when he enters the real world because the CEO's forgot to mention:

1. Sleeping with your boss
2. Stepping on hands and neck of your colleagues
3. Smoking three packs of cigerettes a day
4. Needing Viagra at the age of 40
5. Wife cheats as CEO goes overseas

Ho ho.. this is sooo funny... but true... ho ho... I'm so high...
Live sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

tzuohann
30-05-2004, 02:41 AM
CEO needs: BALLS, lots of balls.

No offence to the fairer sex, please replace balls with courage if neccessary. Balls is symbolical, it dun contain courage, it just contains trouble.

Tzuo Hann

30-05-2004, 07:52 AM
In fact, I think based on my personal interactions with about 20 CEOs and about 50 VPs of various multinational companies, I agree that those elements are crucial.

Grades are not what really matter. In fact, one of them, which I can't remember which one, mentioned that he would preferably not accept those above 3.8 to work in his multinational companies, because he thinks that they are not balanced in life. Perhaps that may be some kind of stereotyping, but he mentioned about balanced achievement. He mentioned that 3.2 to 3.8 would be an ideal CGPA, with creating a niche of yourself. You don't need to be President of Student Government or any important post, but you need to do something significant that helps bring in some results, be it the end means or the process means.

aquila
30-05-2004, 08:19 AM
LOL. Encouragement indeed to the slackers in college. ;P

I think that is BS. No offense. People with the best CGPAs get into the best business schools. Who wouldn't want students from the best business schools?

3.8 CGPA is perhaps for premed and prelaw students then?

tzuohann
30-05-2004, 08:58 AM
If i were a CEO, I will take anyone, so long he like to eat the kueh teow gorieng near my house. Man, im bored. but yeah, when anyone of you CEO, please remember to employ me.

30-05-2004, 09:24 AM
In fact, top Business schools in US, do not necessarily look at CGPA as the main criteria. I took a look at the mean CGPA of top 2 MBA programs in US, as given by US News. Harvard MBA average CGPA is 3.60, Stanford 3.57.

I don't have recent data, but this is taken from Richard Montauk's book "How to get into the Top MBA Programs" written in 1997 and average CGPA for Wharton is 3.51, UCLA is 3.50 and Darden is 3.20.

I quote a friend of mine, Tan Ying Ying. She has just graduated with double major/degree from Boston University in Electrical Engineering and Business Administration (Finance). SHe has gotten permanent job offer from JP Morgan this July. She mentioned that grade is mainly to get visibility. An average grade of about 3.6 or so would do the job as well as CGPA of 4.0 .

And to get jobs from top multi national companies, often it is through networks. You can get jobs through referrence, course presentations, involvements in activities, even going for dinner with those CEOs and VPs and chat with them. It is communication, leadership and teamwork at play.

While I am not encouraging ReComers or any readers to be slackers, but I am trying to make a point that grade is not the most important thing.

30-05-2004, 03:25 PM
you guys, It takes a lot of ass kissing. Once you get in the inner circle of the owners or the directors board your set for life.

Univ. Students --> Entry level --> Senior --> Retire. Some get lucky and get to be a VP for the last 2 years of employment and then retire. Some will be an Executive but most of you guys would end up being a senior.

It's ultra competitive out there. THe best way to get a super job is not from hardwork but rather ass kissing. So good luck people.

30-05-2004, 04:44 PM
I have a book on that too :) Forgot who gave it to me some time ago haha.. inside got 50 steps to be a good CEO.

Anyway, granted that what they say is true, maybe one can start practising it on yourself first. Afterall, you're always the CEO of yourself, and the way you carry yourself, will be exactly the way you carry the company when you're a CEO. So why not start paying attention to these values and see if you live today with the following:

Respect, Passion, Vision, Humanity, Curiosity, Integrity, and Pragmatism.

(RPVHCIP)

There.. :D

The_Observer
31-05-2004, 10:27 PM
I would have loved to preach moral scruples and responsiblity but in this dam heck of a materialistic world...to become a CEO...forget your scruples and put on a farce.

Make friends 1st then backstab later.
Arse-kiss all the way to the top.
Always cover your arse.
Be a guy <---Feminists have a point here!
Knowing the boss' daughter always helps ;P
Keep up to date about the latest yuppie trends.
Learn golf and how to lose when playing with the big guns.

Just a sample of a long-list.... /(><)\
What is the world coming to.......?

31-05-2004, 11:00 PM
what does it take to be a CEO?

hate ceo after watching The Apprentice.go Omarosa!!

01-06-2004, 10:27 PM
Know how to take shit from your workers, multiply them, and throw back at them...

mictiong85
19-06-2004, 09:32 AM
who care about it.
as long as u live happily with good health....
dun bother about who will become CEO
As long as u have the desire to become CEO, u can make it...(in my opinion)
no anyone can predict others future... even the one with the lowzy grade can become CEO in the next ten years....Do u know Warrent BUffet? He couldnt enter the Harvard University as he was young...but now he is one of the greatest CEO around the world....if u invest thousand dollars in his company around 1960 , u will hav 200 million dollar now...

Steppe
19-06-2004, 11:39 AM
This is a very interesting topic.

From my parents (working in international company), I have heard, gathered and observed the followings:

1. Their various CEOs (kept on being changed/posted very few years), are really very, very smart, have a very sharp mind (very good memories, can remember what they have said, agreed etc ), very committed (in fact almost like married to the company), learn and pick up new things/learnings very fast, rounded person in academic, activities, etc. etc., all those qualities that we usually lack in one or another.

2. Surprisingly, all these leaders have shown a whole range of great leadership consistently through secondary schools, colleges, Uni etc.

3. They are also top scorers as well like first class honours from Imperial college etc. in their discipline. They have to be good in the discipline as that is one of the main core company business. One needs to be well versed in the subject and then plus good management of assets, people, resources, etc.. enables them to be CEO to manage such a big company and mobilise the resources for the company business.

4. The CEO, including the various directors, general mangers seem to be working almost 24 hours a day, no need to sleep or need very little hours of sleep. They will reply one's email even at 3 a.m if one sends the email at that time.

5. Incidentally/surprisingly, they all enjoy what they are doing and as this is what they can do very well, hence there is no pressure in them and some of them look so young. They are so good in their performance that they expect other people to be like them. Hence the pressure is felt by people who work for them.

19-06-2004, 09:58 PM
indeed the CEOland is generally run almost always by meritocracy. the key word is competition, for that is the only way to survive this de facto warfare. no bellicose tendencies intended, but the truth is, companies look for aggressiveness in a candidate for a ceo. you need to make quick (and correct) decisions under tremendous pressure and still be able to appear unperturbed when in contact with clients.

you know a lot of you mentioned the 'positive' attributes that a candidate must have, but sadly those negative ones like ass-kissing and back stabbing holds some water too. it's what being streetwise is like - there comes a point when relationships will be sacrificed, friends made and lost, enemies .. ahem i mean competitors that collude against you, oftentimes fellow candidates.

just be street smart lah. you know what will be a good idea for training? go intern with the guys at petaling street - seriously. it teaches you aggression, product sales warfare, client smooching, etc. let's go sign up...

Randomphantom
20-06-2004, 02:36 PM
In the old days i've heard:
Working your a.s.s up the corporate ladder company for looong years
Having friends (relatives?) in high places
Being the right colour/right personality
A good honours degree with masters rather later

These days, Top CGPA, superb extracurricular, social networking, job experience... thats usually only to qualify for the entry point - after that its strictly your performance that counts...not to mention loads of ass smooching, shit taking, and backstabbing... there are so many variables, and what you end up as, you really never know.

I wonder how many of these CEOs have had MBAs from top business schools before they started their careers in their company? I believe most people nowadays pursue top biz MBAs with the sole intent of networking rahter then qualifications. MBAs are really a dime a dozen nowadays and those from top biz schools charge so much they become a 'rich man's club' of sorts.

Selling stuff at petaling street - yeah those peddlers really know their sales talk. Sales is seriously tough, especially when situations force you to tell a lie. My conscious can't take that...

kucingbiru
20-06-2004, 03:09 PM
What does it take to be a CEO?

among others, having an Orang Besar or even Kerabat diRaja daddy should help.