View Full Version : Survey: Anyone applied for tourism under JPA scholarship??
sky_blue15
25-03-2009, 09:37 PM
seem like nobody apply for toursim under jpa scholarship??
can i noe mostly if apply tourism where it will be send to which country??
there is no country option in the application form....
anyone applying for tourism???
can let me know...so that i wont be so lonely..hahaha...:))
poonie
26-03-2009, 09:26 PM
Haha...
Hi, u had found a friend!
I did apply for tourism but i know nothing about it, like where is good or others...
Sorry can't help u...
sky_blue15
26-03-2009, 10:18 PM
u going to interview tis year??
poonie
27-03-2009, 02:01 PM
yes, i am... actually i apply for this course is not because i want it... i choose it just because my results fits this the most... but, i will try my best for the interview...
sorry for this... when apply for tourism, we din get a chance to choose country, is it like that? i already forgot what is in the application form as i applied for too many things after the SPM result came out....
27-03-2009, 02:06 PM
yes, i am... actually i apply for this course is not because i want it... i choose it just because my results fits this the most... but, i will try my best for the interview...
Do know what are you doing? Are you that desperate for scholarship till you want to sacrifice your interest ?
Have you considered how would you suffer doing something dont like? you most likely end up suffering and regretting later.
amulet
27-03-2009, 02:15 PM
sorry for this... when apply for tourism, we din get a chance to choose country, is it like that? i already forgot what is in the application form as i applied for too many things after the SPM result came out....
how's ur result?mind to tell?:)
sky_blue15
27-03-2009, 05:11 PM
omg...r u reali desperate for de jpa scholarship???
r u interested in this course??
Zulhelmi
27-03-2009, 10:48 PM
It's not really Tourism course but I applied for Social Science which has the same requirement as Tourism.
I just read a Wiki article on Social Science.... God!
poonie
28-03-2009, 12:47 AM
thanks so much for all your concern.
my spm results is only 4A1, 3A2, 3B3...
all subjects that i got B3 is science ( phy, bio, che )
So, i m not so good in science...
actually, i did not hate tourism n i m not desperate in taking scholarship..
i choose tourism is just because my result fits this the most n i m quite interest in this & the most important point, it is not so related to science that i m not good at...
i just think tat if there is a chance for me to get a scholarship, y din i try my best to go for it?? who knows what will happen next...
u going to interview tis year??
when r u goin for the interview???
sky_blue15
28-03-2009, 11:25 AM
i going to interview on 1st april~2pm...u?
poonie
28-03-2009, 11:20 PM
i going to interview on 1st april~2pm...u?
oh.. i m later than u ... i m going on 2nd april ...8am...at kepala batas...
sky_blue15
29-03-2009, 03:11 PM
Oooic...good luck ya~~
fadazaz
29-03-2009, 11:14 PM
erm...i also choose tourism...
going for interview same as sky_blue15....
btw, bout da question, i dun know if we can choose or not 4 da country, but one thing i know is there are 4 country to further study in tourism....UK,US, Australia and Canada...
sky_blue15
29-03-2009, 11:27 PM
haha...i thought nobody v apply tourism de..haha
glad to hear u all gt applied...
i noe there are 4 country listed..haha..
anyway..all de best in ur interview ya~
u interview at penang ar
fadazaz
29-03-2009, 11:47 PM
yup
kpala batas.....
on april fo0l day...huhu
2 pm...
30-03-2009, 12:50 AM
yup
kpala batas.....
on april fo0l day...huhu
2 pm...
Hey, do we really need to discuss about interview dates and venue to find friends over here? Please utilize this thread for a better purpose like discussing about tourism, at least cuti cuti malaysia. I can bet you people, these are the questions they going to ask you.
Friendly warning. Stop discussing about interview dates and venue especially the newbies.
ssky32
31-03-2009, 05:31 PM
i applied for tousim too!
09-04-2009, 12:07 AM
oh?
can like this ah?
first time i heard that
then it's your luck
hope you will succeed in that interview :)
sky_blue15
09-04-2009, 12:34 PM
oh?
can like this ah?
first time i heard that
then it's your luck
hope you will succeed in that interview :)
u 1st time heard what???
09-04-2009, 12:48 PM
u 1st time heard what???
somebody said he/she has been called for the jpa interview on 15/4 ( or what date i forget) for tourism course though he/she didnt shortlisted when he/she checked on 25/3.
but he/ she has deleted his/her post here.
so u dont know what i meant
u get me?
selamat
09-04-2009, 01:01 PM
when the result will be released
09-04-2009, 01:05 PM
i think it will be released around third week of may
sky_blue15
09-04-2009, 07:30 PM
ooic...yalo...
tat one interview de scholarship is under mara de rite?
if nt mistaken..
kikimi
09-04-2009, 10:11 PM
to:
skyblue15,poonie others who went for interview(tourism)
what is the ques asked in interview?
and group discussion..
hope u guys can share ur experience.:))
09-04-2009, 10:38 PM
really?
haha... i know nothing about mara scholarship. i dont know the interview will be held so late.
i think this thread is about jpa???
there's also a possibility that... perhaps seldom people applied for tourism?
so they re-call tha applicants to be interviewed?
lol... just my opinion, dont know how true it's.
sky_blue15
11-04-2009, 07:52 PM
to:
skyblue15,poonie others who went for interview(tourism)
what is the ques asked in interview?
and group discussion..
hope u guys can share ur experience.:))
refer to my blog~~
http://skyskyblue9115.spaces.live.com/
twinkle4_ever
11-05-2009, 12:21 AM
i applied n i got it.
kikimi
12-05-2009, 12:29 PM
how's ur result?
anyone else get it?
twinkle4_ever
13-05-2009, 12:22 AM
i got 6A1, 3A2, 2B3, 1B4 in spm. i think only 2 recomers got it including me coz sum1 else had said so in another thread.
hey, the guest who is viewing this, do u got it?
13-05-2009, 12:23 AM
Just out of curiosity, why did you all apply for tourism? What made you all interest in the course?
sky_blue15
13-05-2009, 08:45 PM
i applied...but i didnt get it
twinkle4_ever
03-06-2009, 11:05 PM
this is the first year jpa scholarship is being offered for tourism. i will update this thread with all the information which i know for next year scholars. tourism students will be snt to usa, uk , canada, or australia. ok, i am going to canada next year. i have to do international canadian pre-university (ICPU) for 1 year at Taylor's university college, Subang Jaya.
edcac
28-05-2010, 05:35 PM
twinkle4 ever, I'm curious about the syllabus of the tourism course, do you mind enlightening me about what is being studied under this course?
edcac
31-05-2010, 08:22 PM
Isn't there anyone here that could help me? Nvm then, I'll be paying a visit to Taylors soon..
Dominant
03-06-2010, 11:09 PM
Isn't there anyone here that could help me? Nvm then, I'll be paying a visit to Taylors soon..
hi, will u come to taylors? what course will you do in taylors?
my major is tourism too. i am currently doing american degree transfer program in taylors.
edcac
04-06-2010, 02:33 PM
hi, will u come to taylors? what course will you do in taylors?
my major is tourism too. i am currently doing american degree transfer program in taylors.
thank goodness someone showed up. In my application form they said i'm doing American Credit Transfer Programme. a little weird cause when I visit Taylors' website there's no ACTP only ADTP. You're in your second year right?
tata_k
04-06-2010, 03:24 PM
hey,,i got ACTP too..
erm,,i'm stil blur blur about ACTP..
do u have any info bout ACTP ?
edcac
04-06-2010, 03:42 PM
hey,,i got ACTP too..
erm,,i'm stil blur blur about ACTP..
do u have any info bout ACTP ?
ACTP for what course? I think they write wrongly gua, cause at Taylors' website only got ADTP... :(
oh, you're doing econs in uniten.. you should check out uniten's website then, I'm doing ACTP in Taylors. But I'm offered to go to the US after my pre-u too!
tata_k
05-06-2010, 11:03 PM
i'd checked uniten website,,nothing tells me bout actp or adtp..
as i check last week,,i got actp in uniten..
wow,,u got usa? we are same !
did u get the letter yet ?
Dominant
06-06-2010, 01:02 AM
thank goodness someone showed up. In my application form they said i'm doing American Credit Transfer Programme. a little weird cause when I visit Taylors' website there's no ACTP only ADTP. You're in your second year right?
i am now in my 3rd sem. after this sem, i will enter my 2nd year. when u will come?
edcac
06-06-2010, 01:45 PM
i'd checked uniten website,,nothing tells me bout actp or adtp..
as i check last week,,i got actp in uniten..
wow,,u got usa? we are same !
did u get the letter yet ?
Ur studying econs then going to us too? Nice, well, still haven't got the letter yet.
i am now in my 3rd sem. after this sem, i will enter my 2nd year. when u will come?
Oh, 10th of July. Can you tell me about the subjects one takes etc etc.
Dominant
07-06-2010, 12:12 AM
Ur studying econs then going to us too? Nice, well, still haven't got the letter yet.
since we are under amecrican degree program, so we need to study english, math, business, social science, arts, humanities.....
hope to see u soon! ^-^
cmt26
07-06-2010, 07:41 PM
since we are under amecrican degree program, so we need to study english, math, business, social science, arts, humanities.....
hope to see u soon! ^-^
KHIM YONG!!!!!!!!!!!
i nv know u are a recommer!
hey edcac.
cool to hear that you are coming to adp. worry less, cz u have three seniors here taking tourism. and FYI, they are friendly. so, any questions, you can refer to them. i am also in adp but taking diff course. anyway, hope to see you in taylors.
edcac
07-06-2010, 08:45 PM
hey edcac.
cool to hear that you are coming to adp. worry less, cz u have three seniors here taking tourism. and FYI, they are friendly. so, any questions, you can refer to them. i am also in adp but taking diff course. anyway, hope to see you in taylors.
they're jpa scholars too? maybe I'll meet them during registration.
cmt26
07-06-2010, 11:11 PM
they're jpa scholars too? maybe I'll meet them during registration.
Yeah. JPA scholars too. We'll meet you on registration. I and the other senior of your major, Dominant will be there. :)
edcac
08-06-2010, 01:24 PM
Yeah. JPA scholars too. We'll meet you on registration. I and the other senior of your major, Dominant will be there. :)
Nice, at least there'll be seniors to guide us through.
twinkle4_ever
30-07-2010, 04:00 PM
twinkle4 ever, I'm curious about the syllabus of the tourism course, do you mind enlightening me about what is being studied under this course?
Sorry.. sorry for not helping...
Message me for any instantaneous help.
I only know about Canadian Tourism studies and also about ICPU. So, I am sorry.
Any JPA tourism scholars to Canada (2010 batch)?
twinkle4_ever
09-04-2011, 12:37 AM
It will be that time of the year again soon. I can imagine all those questions that you will think about. Firstly, go with the flow. Your life will change quite drastically. It will be a good and worthy experience at last. If you got ICPU, I can say that you will meet some of the most awesome people in the world. Days at Taylor's were the most memorable ones at least for me.
Okay, about your studies. If you got Tourism and Canada, you only have 5 choices to choose from.
1. Bachelor of Arts in Recreation, Sport, and Tourism - University of Alberta.
2. Bachelor of Arts (Recreation and Leisure Studies) - University of Waterloo.
3. Bachelor of Commerce (Tourism Management) - University of Guelph.
4. Bachelor of Commerce (Hospitality and Tourism Management) - Ryerson University, Toronto.
5. Bachelor of Arts (Tourism and Environment) - Brock University, St.Catharines.
I am at Brock University. We do have seniors in University of Alberta and University of Guelph. If you are thinking of Brock University, I would suggest to take International Business Fundamentals, Economics and World Issues. World Issues would be the choice to make if you only have one choice (This applies to Brock University only). However, if you are not quite sure, please check out the application requirement for all universities and choose courses which will get you into many universities. Requirements for University of Alberta differs a bit from other universities, as the other universities is located in the Province of Ontario.
Finally, remember that university education is not all about acquiring a degree. It is more about exploring yourself and reaching beyond your limits.
May all your wishes come true. Send me a message if you want a quick reply.
lihuitan56
10-04-2011, 12:32 PM
hi guys..do they limit how many scholarships they are giving out for each courses?
Because obviously there are lesser ppl applying for tourism compared to engineering/medic and I have yet to find any friends who applied for tourism.
And besides that,I'm currently doing my diploma in Hospitality management at Taylors.I'm afraid they won't even consider me as I'm already studying T.T
10-04-2011, 08:39 PM
hi guys..do they limit how many scholarships they are giving out for each courses?
Because obviously there are lesser ppl applying for tourism compared to engineering/medic and I have yet to find any friends who applied for tourism.
And besides that,I'm currently doing my diploma in Hospitality management at Taylors.I'm afraid they won't even consider me as I'm already studying T.T
ya, they hv a limit for each course dependin on its popularity. Engineering courses has more allocation compared to tourism. Dun wry, jpa do offer students who r already enrolled in uni as long as they deserve it n lucky enough 2 get it. So, gud luc. :)
lihuitan56
16-05-2011, 07:14 PM
Just wondering if anyone in recom who applied for this course and manage to get it too? I doubt JPA gives scholarship for tourism this year :notrust Cause it seems to me like no one who applied and no one who gets it lol.Initially I was still keeping up my hope as this is not a hot-picked course,and it is definitely cheaper than all other courses available.
And of course I didn't get it *sigh*
I got 7A+,2As in my SPM :cry
16-05-2011, 07:53 PM
My friend's sister applied and got UK. I really envy her. :-P
yes, i have a friend who gt it.. to canada..
edcac
16-05-2011, 08:53 PM
I got it. Currently in Taylor's ADP. Transferring to the States next year. I have 2 seniors and 3 other course-mates doing it.
lihuitan56
16-05-2011, 08:59 PM
My friend's sister applied and got UK. I really envy her. :-P
wow!That's soooo lucky of her!Then she must have more than 8A+?
Though I have settle down and love what I'm doing now,I was praying hard before this to get the scholarship.But maybe God has a better plan for me. =)
By the way I'm currently doing dip in Hospitality Management in Taylors.
The only thing I hope for is to do very well in my diploma so that I'll get sponsored to continue my degree overseas.:(
edcac
16-05-2011, 09:06 PM
wow!That's soooo lucky of her!Then she must have more than 8A+?
Though I have settle down and love what I'm doing now,I was praying hard before this to get the scholarship.But maybe God has a better plan for me. =)
By the way I'm currently doing dip in Hospitality Management in Taylors.
The only thing I hope for is to do very well in my diploma so that I'll get sponsored to continue my degree overseas.:(
ooo, good luck then! :D