View Full Version : JPA interview: Actuarial Science
asyraff91
26-03-2009, 01:02 PM
Can someone help me...
which one is better for this course: US or UK??? and why???????:cry
Cadence_hope
26-03-2009, 01:20 PM
I've chosen actuarial science too. :) I think US is better because there are many world's leading universities in the field of actuarial studies, such as Drake Universities, U of Michigan Ann Arbor, Ioaw State U, U of Wisconsin and many more..
jazzmaniac00
26-03-2009, 01:31 PM
Me too. I've heard that pursuing an actuarial science degree in UK is equally good. As for Australia, I've heard that there are exemption on certain papers but I'm not pretty sure how true is that.
26-03-2009, 01:37 PM
Seriously, you guys are opening a new thread for this? There are plenty of actuarial science thread in Recom, go check them out. Besides, JPA'll choose for you, not vice versa. And you'll either go to US or Australia, not UK as it's too expensive.
asyraff91
26-03-2009, 02:24 PM
i know that there are threads about actuarial science...but i still want to open new thread...hehe...
btw...i just want to know which country is the best...because i am afraid if they ask me which country n why.....????
one more question....If they ask why you want to take this course...for me it is challenging n more to logical thinking....n i like it...^_^
If u have any other information about AS...please share it...thank you
jazzmaniac00
26-03-2009, 05:09 PM
Seriously, you guys are opening a new thread for this? There are plenty of actuarial science thread in Recom, go check them out. Besides, JPA'll choose for you, not vice versa. And you'll either go to US or Australia, not UK as it's too expensive.
Is this really true? I mean JPA doesn't grant any sponsorship to students who wanna go to UK for ac. sc. ? I've heard that bank negara does. So if I mention UK during the interview, is there anything wrong with that?
eddielau
26-03-2009, 05:13 PM
Me too.I also choose Actuarial sc when applying JPA..
Im quite scared since this course is quite competitive n has limited places.
anyone has idea about what type of question they will ask?
Angel01
28-03-2009, 06:27 PM
die lor...
asyraff91
29-03-2009, 12:43 PM
i have no idea....sob
29-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Me too.I also choose Actuarial sc when applying JPA..
Im quite scared since this course is quite competitive n has limited places.
anyone has idea about what type of question they will ask?
Google for actuarial science. I have been to BNM interview for actuarial science. Those question, you cant even answer them if you do not do your homework.
eddielau
29-03-2009, 06:09 PM
Google for actuarial science. I have been to BNM interview for actuarial science. Those question, you cant even answer them if you do not do your homework.
can u tell the sample question?
at least i will hv a idea about what they will ask.
well, i have never been to the new jpa interview in which people of your major will interview you, but i believe there are a few logical uestions that come to mind such as:
- why did you choose this field
- where would you like to pursue this course
- what do you think actuarial science is all about
- what do people in this course study
- how do you become a certified actuary
- what are the professional papers that need to be taken
- can you handle the pressure and rigour of pursuing this career as a large persentage of people drop out
these are a few that i can think of. hope it helps.
Cadence_hope
29-03-2009, 10:48 PM
When did u go for the BNM interview? Omg i'd applied for it but they had never contact me until now. I think I'd been rejected. :cry:cry:cry
29-03-2009, 11:02 PM
When did u go for the BNM interview? Omg i'd applied for it but they had never contact me until now. I think I'd been rejected. :cry:cry:cry
I went last year.
Cadence_hope
31-03-2009, 01:02 PM
Oh phew.. Then last year when was your interview? :huh
asyraff91
31-03-2009, 08:33 PM
nervous....
2 more days....ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh....any ideas????
khangsheng91
31-03-2009, 10:37 PM
Haiz.. I too scare now.tmr 2pm my turn to interview for AS d.Realy hope can get it.As u all say, alot of ppl applying tis course.I jz get 9a1 2a2 nia..oso duno can get anot.worried!
AlvinLee91
18-04-2009, 01:24 AM
N do u get the BNM scholarships?
Now r u studying overseas for Actuarial S.?
Thanks a lot !