View Full Version : Discussion: JPA vs PETRONAS scholars
26-03-2009, 10:15 PM
Obviously, more people will be favouring JPA for it accommodates more scholars. However, as a PETRONAS scholar myself, at times, I do feel left out from JPA scholars. Why is this so? Well, partly because we don't take the same programme. I'm taking CAL whereelse all JPA scholars in my college are taking SAM and ICPU programme. To be honest, I sometimes feel inferior to JPA scholars as they come in groups and numbers. At times, I want to be their friend, but often I will shy away as we don't speak the same agenda at all. However, back to the main point of this thread, JPA vs PETRONAS. Given the choice, which will you chose? With PETRONAS, you'll earn yourself a rich contract-but lesser friends-. With JPA, you'll have less money but lots of friends. So which is more important to you? The money or the friends? You decide.
26-03-2009, 10:20 PM
How much is the difference between the amount of allowance given by JPA and Petronas?
26-03-2009, 10:31 PM
Well, I'm not too sure myself. But for pre-us, PETRONAS offers RM 500. Not only that, we are given RM 3500 for laptop, every year we can claim for air tickets, book allowance RM 300, Starting allowance-forgotten how much- and I'm not too sure about overseas but my seniors-JPA, said they are damn jealous of PETRONAS scholars as PETRONAS scholars are being paid much much more. How true? I don't know.. We'll just have to wait and see..
26-03-2009, 10:52 PM
It's really a lot for preparatory courses in Malaysia, JPA allowance is just enough to sustain life if you spend accordingly...
eugenetoh91
26-03-2009, 11:03 PM
for me, i'm not particular interested with the contract which gives so-called quite an amount of money. it is evident that all petronas scholars who graduated mz work for Petronas for about 10 years..my gosh..thats about 33 years old already..im more intended to work on my own after my graduation. when im studying overseas,i wont come back during the summer holiday as i need to work in order to gain experience. its kind of sad actually..but no choice, i want to work and make money for myself, not for others~~~
markwongsk
27-03-2009, 12:13 AM
for me, i'm not particular interested with the contract which gives so-called quite an amount of money. it is evident that all petronas scholars who graduated mz work for Petronas for about 10 years..my gosh..thats about 33 years old already..im more intended to work on my own after my graduation. when im studying overseas,i wont come back during the summer holiday as i need to work in order to gain experience. its kind of sad actually..but no choice, i want to work and make money for myself, not for others~~~
I rejected PETRONAS! High 5 man! :)) 10 years... very long woooooooorrrrr
27-03-2009, 01:22 AM
Well, I'm not too sure myself. But for pre-us, PETRONAS offers RM 500. Not only that, we are given RM 3500 for laptop, every year we can claim for air tickets, book allowance RM 300, Starting allowance-forgotten how much- and I'm not too sure about overseas but my seniors-JPA, said they are damn jealous of PETRONAS scholars as PETRONAS scholars are being paid much much more. How true? I don't know.. We'll just have to wait and see..
The book allowance is RM600 per year and stationery allowance of RM150 per year.
Contrary to what you are experiencing, senksiang90, I am getting quite a lot of friends here in UTP; perhaps it is because most of the UTP students are PETRONAS scholars. By joining some societies like the English Language Club and the Chinese orchestra here, I have managed to get to know more people. Through the orchestra, I have managed to form some bonds with other orchestras from different schools. It certainly makes travelling for me easier, knowing that I have contacts at various places for me to communicate with.
But it is really your own personal choice whether you want to take PETRONAS or JPA. If I were offered a PETRONAS sponsorship in UTP but a JPA scholarship that allows me to study overseas, I would definitely pick JPA (simply because it's overseas, hehe...) but if both sponsors were to provide me with an overseas scholarship, then I would have to think carefully about choosing which side.
As for the ten-year contract with PETRONAS, I could break it whenever I want, as long as I reimburse PETRONAS the total amount of money lavished on my studies. (OK, please don't start a debate about students not being loyal, grateful, etc. for breaking the contract; that has been debated in another thread.)
27-03-2009, 03:27 AM
long live petronas!hehe...
darina4srk
27-03-2009, 03:46 AM
I am really jealous! I did apply for PETRONAS but I don't know if they have released the result of interviewee for this year. Help me, I wanna know!
27-03-2009, 09:43 AM
I am really jealous! I did apply for PETRONAS but I don't know if they have released the result of interviewee for this year. Help me, I wanna know!
Be patient, the results should be out around now or early to mid-April. When you know that you have been shortlisted, you will be asked to attend the EduCamp. And finally, if you are successful in obtaining the sponsorship, you will be given the contract and also be asked to report to whichever institution of higher learning that you are assigned to.
27-03-2009, 10:00 AM
Well, on the contrary to UTP Henry, we PETRONAs are out-numbered here in taylors.there are only 17 PETRONAS scholars taking CAL and what-200 plus JPA scholars taking ICPU and SAM?? Well, my book allowance is only RM 300.. hehe.. cuz its pre-u only i guess..
As for the PETRONAS release date I think somewhere on the 10th of April plus minus 3 days. Last year, I got the result one week prior to the educamp on 16-17 April.
i think i know why the JPA seniors were jealous of the Petronas scholars, senksiang. i think it is because JPA scholars only receive RM430 per month as living allowance with no laptop allowance, no book allowance, no settling allowance, and no stationery allowance. And air tickets are only paid for at the beginning and at the end of your duration of study.
I believe those statements just made the petronas financial perks dwarf those of jpa...
27-03-2009, 04:54 PM
LOL... well, at least JPA has lots of people.. I seriously feel so timid around them... imagine when i went to the talk to study in australia.. the speaker asked.. hw many scholars here doin SAM? Everybody lifted their hands. Then they asked, ok, who here doing CAL? ......................Only one hand raised-mine-............hahhahahahah!!!!! U should have seen it for urself! The oddddditty if there's such word.. I dunno why also I feel seriosuly felt so left out.. others all happily chatting away with their friends with me alone..*sobs*.. i tried to engage into a conversation with a malay boy... but all he did was answer all my questions and tatsz it. no connectivity..LOL.. kesiannya saya..
27-03-2009, 05:07 PM
LOL... well, at least JPA has lots of people.. I seriously feel so timid around them... imagine when i went to the talk to study in australia.. the speaker asked.. hw many scholars here doin SAM? Everybody lifted their hands. Then they asked, ok, who here doing CAL? ......................Only one hand raised-mine-............hahhahahahah!!!!! U should have seen it for urself! The oddddditty if there's such word.. I dunno why also I feel seriosuly felt so left out.. others all happily chatting away with their friends with me alone..*sobs*.. i tried to engage into a conversation with a malay boy... but all he did was answer all my questions and tatsz it. no connectivity..LOL.. kesiannya saya..
chill lah...make friends with private students dude...they're way cooler,and richer.hehe.at least that's what i do here.the ones im really close to are private students.and a few of my jpa friends oso lah,but try not to stick with just scholarship holders.dun tell me taylor's only have scholarship holder as their students.
markwongsk
27-03-2009, 05:51 PM
yes there's such a word as oddity and that is viewing people differently according to their sponsorship. C'mon lar, Petronas did not choose you to be totally "petronas"... you should forgo the "scholarship background". Enjoy that you have more money than them, and make more friends with others. I don't think Petronas put "must only made friends with petronas scholars" as a condition? :laugh
long live petronas!hehe...
not quite sure about that...once petroleum runs out...Petronas gotta do more than oil (which i'm sure they are doing). Problem is, only not fast enough ...
smile!
27-03-2009, 06:00 PM
hmm...i dont think that you should categorize making friends merely by scholarships like Petronas, Jpa.. If can, do try to mix around.. maybe you might want to know more about their course and they might in return, want to know yours more too.. and also, imagine those private students who may just go to college alone and start their whole social cycle there with people that does not share common stuff with them.. friendship take time to form.. :)