View Full Version : Survey: Law JPA 2009
darina4srk
27-03-2009, 02:53 AM
Anyone applying for law here? When are your interviews? What do you guys expect to happen during the interview? Any current issues or debate topics in mind?
Mine is on the 3rd apr. 2.45 pm. anyone same with me?
very nervous!
Langzhongyue
28-03-2009, 11:11 AM
i am applying law
but i am a sarawakian
8p.m
who else?
angel_tnp29
28-03-2009, 02:03 PM
i am applying law
but i am a sarawakian
8p.m
who else?
Sorry I didn't see any option for law but I will have my interview on 2/4 8am at Pustaka Negeri. We are on the same day and time but not sure the place. Anyway I'm taking social science..
Langzhongyue
28-03-2009, 09:15 PM
no
i hv my interview in sibu
wisma sanyan
i really not sure
all of the senior said that dont wear dark
but i decide to wear black shirt and pant with white tie
senior said that it is too dull
but in my opinion
the law applicant should look more serious and professional
what do other law applicants think?
my another shirt is a white shirt with light yellow and light blue stripes(very thin one)
which one is better?
angel_tnp29
28-03-2009, 10:44 PM
no
wisma sanyan
i really not sure
but in my opinion
my another shirt is a white shirt with light yellow and light blue stripes(very thin one)
which one is better?
ouch! I thought I can meet someone here for my interview..well ,I think black shirt will be ok. I can't imagine how the other shirt looks like, so better wear dark. Look more formal and pro..I'm going to Cbu tomorrow..huh...'qingming'..
I didn't see any law course offer by JPA..Are you taking social science? Because Law is sub-subject under social science..That is what I got from Wiki..
crazy91
29-03-2009, 12:54 AM
HI...
i'm from Johor n i'm also applying LAW...
haha..i'm so scared...my interview will be on this thursday...
wish me luck,ok....
wat do u think they will ask to the law applicants and which country are all of u interested to go?UK and AUSTRALIA will be my choices but i prefer to go to UK as many people say UK is the best country for our field.
Langzhongyue
29-03-2009, 03:51 PM
ouch! I thought I can meet someone here for my interview..well ,I think black shirt will be ok. I can't imagine how the other shirt looks like, so better wear dark. Look more formal and pro..I'm going to Cbu tomorrow..huh...'qingming'..
I didn't see any law course offer by JPA..Are you taking social science? Because Law is sub-subject under social science..That is what I got from Wiki..
initially, i phoned to the JPA hotline, they also said that law is under social science
however, my senior advised me not to believe them
as every year will appear in the option suddenly
i decided to believe my senior
and three days after the starting day of application
LAW really suddenly appeared in the list and option
so i apply for law
not under social science
29-03-2009, 06:32 PM
Well, just wanna tell u guys sthg.. for JPA law they'll normally send to 2 places only UK or Australia. Difference is if u go Australia, you'll be taking SAM and if u go UK, u'll be doing A levels. Another major difference is UK studies the English Legal System & Australia studies the Australian Legal System. Well, I can tell u guys a little about English Law as I'm taking Law as one of my subjects for A levels-well, that is if u really wanna know-
*NOTE:To Kuchingnians taking interview don't forget to try out the teh c peng special at the cafe at the Pustaka Negeri. RM 2 only and it totally rox and can get you totally addicted to it!!!! One of the best in Kuching!!
Langzhongyue
29-03-2009, 07:37 PM
then can you tell us the basic of english legal system
so that we can answer the question of interviewers
Ling24
29-03-2009, 09:13 PM
I aply for law too!!!
my interview is on 2 April at 2:00p.m.
I'm from Kedah. Is there any1 that same with me???
I want to ask that will the interviewers ask us question about law????????
Can any1 tell me?????:wtf
29-03-2009, 09:41 PM
Bwahahhaa... I don't think they'll even ask a question about English Law.. LOL... hmmm so wad do u want me to tell about?? Well, generally, there are two types of court proceedings. The first is through Criminal Proceedings and the other is the Civil proceedings.
In Criminal process, generally, it will be handled by the CPS(Crown Prosecution Service)-headed by the Director of Public Prosecution(DPP). That's why u will see cases such as C v DPP. Because it's a criminal proceeding. Well, firstly, the defendent will be brought to the Magistrates for EAH(Early Administrative Hearing) to be decided on what level of offence his crime is. There are three levels. From the lowest is summary offences, followed by triable either way and lastly indictible offences. Well, this is the basic of Criminal Law i guess..
As for Civil proceedings, it will be started by a claimant by filling up the 'Claim Form' first. Then, the other defendent have three options which is to (1) admit the claim (2) answer the claim (3) File a defence. This must be done within 14 days or else it will be considered JID(Judgement In Default). Well, in civil cases pre-action protocols will be taken ADR(Alternative Dispute Resolution) will be encouraged. If this doesn't works, then only the courts will listen to the case. From the lowest, cases can be classified to 3 tracks, Small Claim, Fast Track and Multi Track.
Ok, i think i'll stop here.. this is the basics i guess u guys should know.. haha!!!
joyce91
29-03-2009, 10:18 PM
Bwahahhaa... I don't think they'll even ask a question about English Law.. LOL... hmmm so wad do u want me to tell about?? Well, generally, there are two types of court proceedings. The first is through Criminal Proceedings and the other is the Civil proceedings.
In Criminal process, generally, it will be handled by the CPS(Crown Prosecution Service)-headed by the Director of Public Prosecution(DPP). That's why u will see cases such as C v DPP. Because it's a criminal proceeding. Well, firstly, the defendent will be brought to the Magistrates for EAH(Early Administrative Hearing) to be decided on what level of offence his crime is. There are three levels. From the lowest is summary offences, followed by triable either way and lastly indictible offences. Well, this is the basic of Criminal Law i guess..
As for Civil proceedings, it will be started by a claimant by filling up the 'Claim Form' first. Then, the other defendent have three options which is to (1) admit the claim (2) answer the claim (3) File a defence. This must be done within 14 days or else it will be considered JID(Judgement In Default). Well, in civil cases pre-action protocols will be taken ADR(Alternative Dispute Resolution) will be encouraged. If this doesn't works, then only the courts will listen to the case. From the lowest, cases can be classified to 3 tracks, Small Claim, Fast Track and Multi Track.
Ok, i think i'll stop here.. this is the basics i guess u guys should know.. haha!!!
walau e.......y r u so excellent???u're seem knowing everything in every field...
29-03-2009, 10:40 PM
walau e.......y r u so excellent???u're seem knowing everything in every field...
Dude, I'm not excellent. I only reply to topics which I I know that's why it seems like I know a lot.. But the fact is that I'm not all that great.
Besides, this is really the basic of English Law... can't get any simpler than this once u study english legal system.
angel_tnp29
30-03-2009, 09:01 AM
initially, i phoned to the JPA hotline, they also said that law is under social science
however, my senior advised me not to believe them
as every year will appear in the option suddenly
i decided to believe my senior
and three days after the starting day of application
LAW really suddenly appeared in the list and option
so i apply for law
not under social science
OMG! I reffered to the pdf doc from JPA when I choosed the course and there is no law is offered to applicant! :cry I missed it! :cry :cry I should choose from the option...
andromedaEtchize
30-03-2009, 03:06 PM
I apply for law too
My interview is on the 1 April in Putrajaya at 2 PM
Lonely91
31-03-2009, 11:08 PM
no
wisma sanyan
i really not sure
but in my opinion
which one is better?
Hi, I'm from Sibu too and my course, time and date same as urs.
preferable for you to wear baju batik. You know la, like teachers, they have to wear baju batik every thursday to promote batik...
That's what our teacher told us. Depends on you...:)
ash91
31-03-2009, 11:13 PM
ling24.mine is the same with you except for the time.where is your place of interview? sungai petani/arau? anything that you recommend to read up?
Ling24
01-04-2009, 12:21 AM
ling24.mine is the same with you except for the time.where is your place of interview? sungai petani/arau? anything that you recommend to read up?
mine is at Sungai Petani. I just read some basic law knowledge in malaysia, just for sure. Who knows what they will ask.
darina4srk
01-04-2009, 12:59 AM
I apply for law too
My interview is on the 1 April in Putrajaya at 2 PM
good luck for the interview! :wink
do u think u can share with us what the interviewers will commonly ask during the interview? the topic of discussion? when u get back?
Langzhongyue
01-04-2009, 04:03 AM
Hi, I'm from Sibu too and my course, time and date same as urs.
preferable for you to wear baju batik. You know la, like teachers, they have to wear baju batik every thursday to promote batik...
That's what our teacher told us. Depends on you...:)
yup
i think i will wear batik as all of my friend advised me to do so
how is your preparation
i have no idea what question will be come out
so
you r frm methodist?
andromedaEtchize
01-04-2009, 09:09 AM
good luck for the interview! :wink
do u think u can share with us what the interviewers will commonly ask during the interview? the topic of discussion? when u get back?
sure do.:nod
i'm freaking out like hell now.:nuts5 more hours to go for the interview
anislutfi
01-04-2009, 11:00 AM
like im beginning to think im the only kuchingite that has an interview today(01/04/09) at 2 which is in 3 more hours. and i dont think im ready. alah so scary. its too late to be sorry already haha. help~ :(
ohmygod. you have an interview today too? im so nervous right now. waah.
sure do.:nod
i'm freaking out like hell now.:nuts5 more hours to go for the interview
waah you have an interview today too?? i wish we werent the first. it would be nicer to know what the questions are first. dont you think so? well good luck. and hope it all goes well for the both of us. :D
Joveen
01-04-2009, 12:50 PM
What are the criterias to be a good lawyer?Good debater? expert in networking? able to speak persuasively? able to influence others? I just dont have any of these qualities...might consider law since medicine is too competitive for dumb ppl like me..>.<.. n which country is reputable for law?
Lonely91
01-04-2009, 01:20 PM
yup
i think i will wear batik as all of my friend advised me to do so
how is your preparation
i have no idea what question will be come out
so
you r frm methodist?
yupe, I'm from methodist... u?
i have no idea too... juz prepare wat i should prepare, read more books(essay), get points from there...it's all general knowledge so i tink essay would help a lot...factual 1...
01-04-2009, 05:25 PM
What are the criterias to be a good lawyer?Good debater? expert in networking? able to speak persuasively? able to influence others? I just dont have any of these qualities...might consider law since medicine is too competitive for dumb ppl like me..>.<.. n which country is reputable for law?
One thing u should ask urself first. Where do u want to practice law? Is it in UK or Malaysia? If u practice law in UK, one thing u should know is that there's a separate body of law there. Once is known as a solicitor and the other is a barrister. UK is now still in a transition to combining both bodies into one entity.
Well, the difference between solicitors and barristers is that solicitors normally do paper job only. This in a way means that u don't get to talk in court. Instead, u'll meet up with clients and collect all necessary evidence for either defence or prosecution. And once u've filed up all the docs, u have to find a barrister to fight out the case in court.
Hwever, with new rules now, there are solicitors who are given what we call 'Rights of Audience' whereby these special Solicitors can practice both paper work or advocacy.
Barristers on the other hand are normally for those at 'their-own-class'. Most are high standard and only dine among themselves.Most likely if u do law in UK, u'll have a basic law degree which allows u to be like a solicitor in UK but as a normal lawyer in Malaysia.-correct me if I'm wrong here, my guess at this point-
Anyway, being a lawyer is seriously not like in the movie whereby they argue out cases all the time. You have to remember there are also land lawyers, business lawyers, will lawyers, so many more types for you to chose!! So, you don't have to be good at debating to be a lawyer. You just have to have the interest, and ability to reason out that's all. So far, one year of law has taught me that the law is so wide, ambiguous, and there's no right or wrong at all in it.
So, knowing all these, ask urself now this question. Are you still interested in law knowing that u don't have to be a 'squawkbox' all the time?? LOL
alyssa30691
01-04-2009, 05:50 PM
I aply for law too!!!
my interview is on 2 April at 2:00p.m.
I'm from Kedah. Is there any1 that same with me???
I want to ask that will the interviewers ask us question about law????????
Can any1 tell me?????:wtf
Hi Ling! my interview is at the same place(SP), same date and same time! Nice to meet you!
Hope to see you there!:))
Yeah, will the interviewers ask us questions about the law??
I'm so nervous right now!!!
anislutfi
01-04-2009, 09:05 PM
just got back from the interview:
these were the questions:
1) do you think facebook and friendster is a must to youngsters??
the first and second guy were like saying yes its a must and gave out their points and all. it was okay and impressive. but i wanted to make my answer one of a kind, you know? so i started with.
me: you know, i dont think facebook is a must only to youngsters. its a must to older people as well.
panel: yes i do agree. like i have facebook as well.
so i got my first point, well, kinda, haha. dont know if it was that impressive or anything. i finished my answer by stating almost all the applications in facebook just to prove my point. see? thank god i have facebook haha :D
2) crimes commited to children are increasing each day. whats your take on this? what do you think everyone should do to prevent this?
the first guy and the last girl said something like parents should be more careful and stuff. and like they are more at fault, you know? my opinion is that, the PENALS, i bet theyre parents and i dont think they would like to be blamed for these things especially from us, who have never been parents bah.
and the 2nd guy was impressive. hes applying for engineering btw, so its no wonder he suggested having a GPS located in phones and stuff. i mean, when you have so many eyes staring at you, its hard to think of that, you know? but he did. TABIK. :D
me: i dont think most parents are to blame. like, how many beribu they say something, halang their kids to do things and stuff. teenagers and kids would still want to do their things their own way. so my take is, that we should show them the effects of talking to strangers and do this dangerous stuff. dont just tell them anymore. show them. do something to them. so that theyll really know. and i have to agree on his take abt the TELCO thing. its quite good. but still, phones can be just thrown anywhere. you still can lose the location.
and the rest was like, what if we give you this course? what if we send you here? and stuff. so thats abt it. good luck everyone.
and in case, the name of AG of malaysia is ABDUL GANI PATAIL haha :D
andromedaEtchize
02-04-2009, 08:40 AM
sorry for the late post,i should post it last night but my internet connection went gila last night.
my group was the last group on panel 2 that was interview.
20 people per panel,but at my panel yesterday,3 people didn't come for that interview.
and there was 7 of us in that group instead of the normal 5.
so we went inside the room around 4.30 and finish around 5.45 to 6.
the people in my group are all doing differnt kind of courses.
i'm the only one in my group who's applying for law.the rest all applied for engineering,accounts and actuarial.
the first part of the interview was done completely in malay.a boy in my group did ask to do the first part of the interview in english,but the panel didn't let him to do so.the first part is the introduction.just talk about yourself,family background,koko activities and so on.and they will ask you why you want to do law and why you chose to study for example in the UK.
the second part of the interview was done in english.the question was 'does a person academic excellence in school and university will reflect on the person success in his working life.my panel gave us 5 minutes to discuss about this.and that's it,they only asked us two questions.
my friends in another panel was asked about how to promote malaysia and why should the JPA sponsor students to study overseas during the recessions.
i think i did quite good in my interview.but i would prefer if the interview was done in english all the way.i'm a malay but my malay is not that good because who often you speak the 'bahasa malaysia baku' anyway?
wish you all good luck and don't panic ok.the panels won't eat you la
darina4srk
02-04-2009, 08:51 AM
thank you so much for writing ur experience as my interview will be held tomorrow afternoon,, 2.45 pm. so, i gess it should end around 4 pm right? what did u answer for the ques like why do u choose law? i mean, i have that interest in law but it seems that i can't put it into words. you're lucky, to be the only in ur group to choose law. did they ask anything about law? e.g how many types of law there is or blablabla...did they ask u guys about jpa? regarding the coco activities, do we talk about our involvement in coco since form 1 or form 4?
anislutfi
02-04-2009, 08:06 PM
thank you so much for writing ur experience as my interview will be held tomorrow afternoon,, 2.45 pm. so, i gess it should end around 4 pm right? what did u answer for the ques like why do u choose law? i mean, i have that interest in law but it seems that i can't put it into words. you're lucky, to be the only in ur group to choose law. did they ask anything about law? e.g how many types of law there is or blablabla...did they ask u guys about jpa? regarding the coco activities, do we talk about our involvement in coco since form 1 or form 4?
trust me. i cant put it into words either. but i told them, i have liked reading law-related stuff since forever. i dont necessarily want to become a lawyer. but i do want to talk abt law. i do want to write abt law and all those stuff. i told them i love memorizing all the AKTA'a haha which was pretty funny. i was the only one who applied law too in my group. honestly i think there arent too many people who are applying for law. there are 2000 scholarships that are given away, haha. so good luck to you guys. they didnt ask anything abt law. i think most panels give the same questions to each person in that certain group. so dont worry. if youre not the first candidate in the group, youll have more time to think. but if youre the last, well, do expect for your ideas to be taken by the others before you. i think they expect to talk abt your coco activities since form 4 only. and no, they didnt ask abt jpa. but just be prepared because you might never know. :D. GOOD LUCK. :DD
Lonely91
02-04-2009, 08:22 PM
8a.m on 2/4 in Sibu
course-law
topic-is it a proper way for children to send their parents to old folks home
why you like law?
which country u want to go? why?
why jpa needs to give you tis scholarship?
Guys, just tel them how good is tis scholarship, give logical reason, not for your own but our country, our nation. The interviewers are kind and friendly. Be well prepared and try to convince them. Good luck! :))
Langzhongyue
03-04-2009, 12:21 AM
me too
Sibu
a very easy topic: way to reduce the crime
each person need to present one point
conducted in forum style
i am also the only one who apply law in my group
lonely91
you r a boy or a girl
maybe we met in the morning but didnt noe each other
darina4srk
03-04-2009, 12:53 AM
me too
Sibu
conducted in forum style
lonely91
you r a boy or a girl
wow, u r very lucky man..
mine is tomorrow.
lub-dub lub-dub lub-dub
Joveen
05-04-2009, 02:53 PM
One thing u should ask urself first. Where do u want to practice law? Is it in UK or Malaysia? If u practice law in UK, one thing u should know is that there's a separate body of law there. Once is known as a solicitor and the other is a barrister. UK is now still in a transition to combining both bodies into one entity.
Well, the difference between solicitors and barristers is that solicitors normally do paper job only. This in a way means that u don't get to talk in court. Instead, u'll meet up with clients and collect all necessary evidence for either defence or prosecution. And once u've filed up all the docs, u have to find a barrister to fight out the case in court.
Hwever, with new rules now, there are solicitors who are given what we call 'Rights of Audience' whereby these special Solicitors can practice both paper work or advocacy.
Barristers on the other hand are normally for those at 'their-own-class'. Most are high standard and only dine among themselves.Most likely if u do law in UK, u'll have a basic law degree which allows u to be like a solicitor in UK but as a normal lawyer in Malaysia.-correct me if I'm wrong here, my guess at this point-
Anyway, being a lawyer is seriously not like in the movie whereby they argue out cases all the time. You have to remember there are also land lawyers, business lawyers, will lawyers, so many more types for you to chose!! So, you don't have to be good at debating to be a lawyer. You just have to have the interest, and ability to reason out that's all. So far, one year of law has taught me that the law is so wide, ambiguous, and there's no right or wrong at all in it.
So, knowing all these, ask urself now this question. Are you still interested in law knowing that u don't have to be a 'squawkbox' all the time?? LOL
lolx.. thanks for the insightful advices ,senksiang.. I think I would prefer a solicitor to a barrister >.<.. entering the corporate world has always been my ambition.. doing paper work, handling will, advicing a corporation is so much more challenging than prosecuting a murderer... that's what I feel..
06-04-2009, 12:02 AM
there's no solicitor-barrister system in Malaysia.
Glassylicious
06-04-2009, 04:43 AM
Most of the questions here have already been answered so I will just add one more thing to the topic: Remember that you haven't even started doing Law at university level yet, so don't expect tough Law questions about how the courts work, what a barrister/solicitor is, legal acts and statutes, etc. Don't stress out about that; you're a lot better off brushing up on your general knowledge and current issues.
Oh yeah, and remember that Law is a highly academic degree, NOT a professional one. For the professional bit you'll need to sit for the CLP paper.
Joveen
06-04-2009, 01:47 PM
there's no solicitor-barrister system in Malaysia. >.<.. pardon my ignorance .. haha.. nvr really done any research on that...all I know about law is.. a set of rules and regulations which everyone must abide by .. that's all.. nothing more.......guess glassy is right too.. no point stressing out for something I have yet to know.. thanks ..am lazing at home >.<.. help me to kick off this habit !
06-04-2009, 02:25 PM
Oh yeah, and remember that Law is a highly academic degree, NOT a professional one. For the professional bit you'll need to sit for the CLP paper.
Are u sitting for ur CLP anytime soon?
Glassylicious
07-04-2009, 03:08 AM
Are u sitting for ur CLP anytime soon?
I?m not even through with my first year in university. Might go back to Malaysia for the CLP or to work off the bond if I get called for the job. But otherwise, I?m shooting for summer internships at London law firms during vacation time, which lays the foundation for getting hired at said firm.
darina4srk
07-04-2009, 04:41 AM
I?m not even through with my first year in university. Might go back to Malaysia for the CLP or to work off the bond if I get called for the job. But otherwise, I?m shooting for summer internships at London law firms during vacation time, which lays the foundation for getting hired at said firm.
u r spm leaver from which year? where did u do ur pre-u or foundation?
Glassylicious
07-04-2009, 06:50 AM
u r spm leaver from which year? where did u do ur pre-u or foundation?
Had my SPM in 2006. Did A levels in Taylor's, family funded until I got a scholarship for my pricey university degree.
07-04-2009, 12:14 PM
Aaahhh.. I see i see.... That makes the 2 of us being Taylorians here. Muahahhaha.. but my lecturers are Mrs Ong and Miss Maugarite.
Lonely91
11-04-2009, 06:15 PM
me too
Sibu
conducted in forum style
lonely91
you r a boy or a girl
Sorry for late reply...:amuse
Haha...Ya, mayb...
I'm a gal... lol...
you were in wat panel n which group?
i was panel 1, group 4...
in my group, i'm the only one who apply law...
Langzhongyue
14-04-2009, 09:53 PM
Sorry for late reply...:amuse
Haha...Ya, mayb...
I'm a gal... lol...
you were in wat panel n which group?
i was panel 1, group 4...
in my group, i'm the only one who apply law...
sorry for the late reply too
i am in panel 1 group 1
also the only one who apply for law
pray hard now......
Lonely91
17-04-2009, 06:05 PM
sorry for the late reply too
i am in panel 1 group 1
also the only one who apply for law
pray hard now......
ya...
pray hard...:laugh
crazy91
21-04-2009, 08:40 PM
hi,do you know when will JPA announce their final call?
i mean for Law 2009 course?
many of them say it is on the 3rd week of May...is it true?
SapphireDragon
21-04-2009, 08:42 PM
hi,do you know when will JPA announce their final call?
i mean for Law 2009 course?
many of them say it is on the 3rd week of May...is it true?
i thought EVERY course that hasn't been annonced will come out on the 3rd week of May?
Langzhongyue
23-04-2009, 01:42 AM
yup
3rd week of may
Saikit
23-04-2009, 01:48 AM
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/images/banner_iklan2008/iklan_PILN09_jpn_perancis.jpg
minggu ketiga (3) :D
Ling24
23-04-2009, 07:10 PM
lor...still have a long way to go.. i almost have grey hair already..
Langzhongyue
28-04-2009, 08:54 PM
me too....still need to wait two more weeks....
SapphireDragon
05-05-2009, 01:11 AM
Hey, why there are no more people chattin about JPA law?
05-05-2009, 01:20 AM
Hey, why there are no more people chattin about JPA law?
All of them are chatting at JPA thread. Don't worry. Trying to push them to their respective course so, that there will be more facts than spams.
SapphireDragon
05-05-2009, 01:26 AM
Law, law, law anyone? Please debate here and polish your dashing oratary prowess!!!
05-05-2009, 01:28 AM
Law, law, law anyone? Please debate here and polish your dashing oratary prowess!!!
Say, did you come to Melaka to do your JPA interview?
SapphireDragon
05-05-2009, 01:32 AM
Ya. Why? U know me?
05-05-2009, 01:33 AM
Ya. Why? U know me?
In your interview, there is another one applying for law besides you right?
SapphireDragon
05-05-2009, 01:38 AM
In your interview, there is another one applying for law besides you right?
Errr, no. Mine is Panel A. Around 9 I think. I'm the only one applying law in the group. Another recomer in my group is eugenetoh91
05-05-2009, 01:40 AM
Errr, no. Mine is Panel A. Around 9 I think. I'm the only one applying law in the group. Another recomer in my group is eugenetoh91
Ok, then wrong person. As a friend of mine who attended the interview stated two person who applied for law did very well in the interview in his panel.
SapphireDragon
05-05-2009, 01:42 AM
Wahhhh, since when so many people apply for law? i thought its an arts subject and many people will go for the traditional medicine.
Ling24
05-05-2009, 08:17 PM
is it a usual case for a science stream student to apply law???bcos when i tell my teacher that i apply for law, they tell me that if i want to become a lawyer then i should change to art stream in the first place. is it true?
ash91
05-05-2009, 08:27 PM
1. You don't need to have done law in your pre-uni years at all to qualify for a Law degree. She can do a purely science A levels and still get accepted into a Law program. My A levels was Bio, Chem, Math and Psychology.
2. Law as a degree course has absolutely no prerequisites whatsoever, so she can do whatever she likes before applying for Law in university.
3. Studying Law in A levels will not really give you that much of a headstart once you start doing your actual degree.
4. If she still wishes to do Law, Taylor's also offers Law, and she may be qualified for full scholarship if she gets 11A1's, or 10A1's for her SPM, depending on how many subjects she chooses to take.
i think this can help you.:))
although this one specifically imply about a-level,i think it is applicable too in your case.
Glassylicious
05-05-2009, 08:31 PM
Yep. =) Glad to know that people have been reading.
In addition to that, science students have an advantage as well because their science classes teach them to reason and think critically, which is a valuable skill when reading Law in university.
Langzhongyue
05-05-2009, 11:04 PM
hehe...i am also a science stream student but my dream is to become a lawyer......
erm....i think there are less than 10 ppl who apply for law in my interview centre
i am also the only one who apply for law in my group
Ling24
05-05-2009, 11:47 PM
hehe...i am also a science stream student but my dream is to become a lawyer......
erm....i think there are less than 10 ppl who apply for law in my interview centre
i am also the only one who apply for law in my group
i am the only applicant for law in my group also ,most of the people apply for engineering, actuarial science , architecture n so on (on the day i interview lar :)))
Langzhongyue
06-05-2009, 02:51 PM
then how is you interview?
Ling24
06-05-2009, 06:38 PM
then how is you interview?
very bad...:cry
bcos i was very nervous at that time, so some of the points that i gave is not logic...
Langzhongyue
06-05-2009, 08:16 PM
erm...
during my interview, my interviewer asked us to give one point only (forum style)
as he said that they juz wan to see we can speak fluently or not
he even said wrong points also didnt matter....
be confident with yourself!!!!!
in my group
a guy who apply for france engineering
his father passed away
family income less than 1000 10A1
he was so nervous
even couldnt speak well (he couldnt think of the words that he needed)
i helped him a few time throughout the interview
by murmuring the words to him (interviewers difinitely knew)
guess wat???
he got the scholarship
so nothing is impossible
interview only hv 5 marks
i dunnoe wat is ur religion
but pray hard and let god to help you
inadilemma
06-05-2009, 08:22 PM
erm...
during my interview, my interviewer asked us to give one point only (forum style)
as he said that they juz wan to see we can speak fluently or not
he even said wrong points also didnt matter....
be confident with yourself!!!!!
in my group
a guy who apply for france engineering
his father passed away
family income less than 1000 10A1
he was so nervous
even couldnt speak well (he couldnt think of the words that he needed)
i helped him a few time throughout the interview
by murmuring the words to him (interviewers difinitely knew)
guess wat???
he got the scholarship
so nothing is impossible
interview only hv 5 marks
i dunnoe wat is ur religion
but pray hard and let god to help you
wow...thats is really kind of you....i am sure that boy must be very grateful for what you have done ...may god bless you, Good Samaritan!:)
SapphireDragon
06-05-2009, 08:40 PM
is it a usual case for a science stream student to apply law???bcos when i tell my teacher that i apply for law, they tell me that if i want to become a lawyer then i should change to art stream in the first place. is it true?
Wow, glad to know there are quite a few recomers applying law. Hey, who says science students can't apply law? i did think of changing o the art stream but I guess I' just too curious to know more bout science and gain that exposure. I also didn't want to sacrifice my education with arts stream teachers who are not THAT good. Not trying to criticies anyone here, but sadly its the case in Malaysia that arts stream studnets are tend to be looked down and the good teachers will teach science classes Sorry if I offend any arts student here.
Ling24
07-05-2009, 12:16 AM
Wow, glad to know there are quite a few recomers applying law. Hey, who says science students can't apply law? i did think of changing o the art stream but I guess I' just too curious to know more bout science and gain that exposure. I also didn't want to sacrifice my education with arts stream teachers who are not THAT good. Not trying to criticies anyone here, but sadly its the case in Malaysia that arts stream studnets are tend to be looked down and the good teachers will teach science classes Sorry if I offend any arts student here.
i agree with you. in my school, the art stream students are always 'abandoned' by the teachers. quite not fair...
07-05-2009, 12:19 AM
i agree with you. in my school, the art stream students are always 'abandoned' by the teachers. quite not fair...
What to do? People nowadays only see your grade regardless to your attitude and so on. Thank to our education system. Where is the part all students are treated equally by the teachers?
SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 12:28 AM
In other countries, arts stream is treated equally well. why the segregation of science and arts students in terms of the quality of education and the image from the public? When u tell a man on the street or yur uncles that u choose arts stream, they will surely formed a negative impression immediately. This is what Malaysia is.
Langzhongyue
07-05-2009, 07:26 AM
initially...i really did think to study in art stream
but my parents and relatives not allow
hahahaha
in malaysia.....
teacher always think that only the student in science stream want to study
and the students in art stream
are 'rubbish'(seriously)
SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 11:50 PM
Hello? Anybody apply law for JPA? Let's chat.
Langzhongyue
09-05-2009, 01:31 AM
i get it!!
i get the offer of JPA....
gugulam
09-05-2009, 11:08 PM
i got jpa offer for law too!!!!
09-05-2009, 11:15 PM
Yeah.... Tell me if u are comin' to Taylor's University College. We'll have a nice little chat I guess..
Langzhongyue
09-05-2009, 11:38 PM
actually i already at taylor's now
sam student...wakaka
i got jpa offer for law too!!!!
where r u frm???
i am a chinese
and
actually my result not that outstanding
8A1 2A2(est and chinise) 1B3(bio)
you?
gugulam
10-05-2009, 01:39 AM
actually i already at taylor's now
sam student...wakaka
where r u frm???
i am a chinese
and
actually my result not that outstanding
8A1 2A2(est and chinise) 1B3(bio)
you?
actually my hometown is perak but i had my secondary education in penang. i'm a chinese too.. my result ....12A1 (include GCE-O)
hmm... what are you doing in taylor's now?
Langzhongyue
10-05-2009, 11:57 PM
wau
your result really much better than me
the scholarship really is a grace and gift tat god gives me
i am taking South Australian Matriculation(SAM)
last year i used my forecast result to apply for the
principal's award and i managed to get it
my parents and relatives told me to grab the opportunity
so i went here to study since 1.1.2009 lorh
hehehehehe
so now i am waiting for my offer letter
and might give up SAM in taylors
nice you meet you at here
hope that we can meet on the registration date
and i hope that we can be classmate...
wakaka
jocinda
12-05-2009, 11:08 PM
i got jpa law too!!! hi5!! add me please!! my msn is jwong_2004@<hidden>
Langzhongyue
13-05-2009, 03:21 PM
yup
i already add you
crazy91
16-05-2009, 12:44 PM
hi guys,i failed 2 get d JPA scholar...so sad...i applied 4 law too....may i know,they are sending you guys to which country and for how many years?anyone of u are going 2 UK?
reply me da.....
Langzhongyue
16-05-2009, 03:15 PM
hi guys,i failed 2 get d JPA scholar...so sad...i applied 4 law too....may i know,they are sending you guys to which country and for how many years?anyone of u are going 2 UK?
reply me da.....
do you try to appeal?
we still wait for our offer letter
we will be sent to UK or Australia
1.5 - 2 foundation in m'sia
then do our degree pragramme in the country appointed....:))
crazy91
16-05-2009, 04:38 PM
do you try to appeal?
we still wait for our offer letter
we will be sent to UK or Australia
1.5 - 2 foundation in m'sia
then do our degree pragramme in the country appointed....:))
i did the appeal on last thursday....
really hope that i can get the feedback 4m JPA....
do u have to wait until the end of ur foundation yr 2 know which country u are heading to?
u all are so lucky 2 gt the scholar....haha...i got PETRONAS offer 4 petroleum engineering...but i prefer 2 tk law....
Langzhongyue
16-05-2009, 07:20 PM
do u have to wait until the end of ur foundation yr 2 know which country u are heading to?
u all are so lucky 2 gt the scholar....haha...i got PETRONAS offer 4 petroleum engineering...but i prefer 2 tk law....
hmmmm......
the country tat we appointed will be stated in the offer letter
guys
nak tanya kpd yg dpt law schoalrship jpa ni
korang kene bond utk kerja dgn governement tak ? berapa tahun ?
jocinda
21-05-2009, 12:12 PM
hmmmm......
the country tat we appointed will be stated in the offer letter
hey zhong yue. Where do they usually send us to? i mean for pre u course
reply me da.....
they will let us know through the official letter. What i heard is we spend about 4 years in overseas. I applied for UK. I think most of the law applicants apply for UK as well.
guys
nak tanya kpd yg dpt law schoalrship jpa ni
korang kene bond utk kerja dgn governement tak ? berapa tahun ?
what i heard is "the years that we study *2"
pureint91
21-05-2009, 12:29 PM
I think the reason u din gt jpa law is becos u gt petronas overseas dy
ash91
21-05-2009, 10:24 PM
[QUOTE=jocinda;246803]hey zhong yue. Where do they usually send us to? i mean for pre u course
sorry for budging in.:P.hehe.usually we are sent to taylor`s college for law if i`m not mistaken.that`s seems to be the case with last year`s jpa law scholars.:))
check on the JPA LAW thread.(last year`s one):))
21-05-2009, 10:57 PM
I do have friends being sent to UK for law last year... but if u are coming to Taylor's u are most probably learning Australian Legal System under SAM... I cannot tell u guys much about ALS since I learnt English legal System..
jocinda
21-05-2009, 11:24 PM
I do have friends being sent to UK for law last year... but if u are coming to Taylor's u are most probably learning Australian Legal System under SAM... I cannot tell u guys much about ALS since I learnt English legal System..
Oh i see. If i were to study A levels, which college will i be sent to?? I heard there is a college called KOLEJ TEKNOLOGI TIMUR which some law applicants were sent to.
And how about our hostel? Do we have our own hostel?? Or we have to find it on our own.
21-05-2009, 11:46 PM
And how about our hostel? Do we have our own hostel?? Or we have to find it on our own.
LOL. Don't worry. Hostel will be solved by JPA. Your job is just to study hard and well. :)
najl91
22-05-2009, 05:36 PM
hi..i'm d new here..r u all had got offer letter?
Langzhongyue
25-05-2009, 03:00 AM
they will let us know through the official letter. What i heard is we spend about 4 years in overseas. I applied for UK. I think most of the law applicants apply for UK as well.
what do you mean by "apply for UK"
in our online form
didnt mention the country tat we want to apply for......:P
jocinda
25-05-2009, 02:34 PM
what do you mean by "apply for UK"
in our online form
didnt mention the country tat we want to apply for......:P
i mean we mentioned it during our interview.
Langzhongyue
25-05-2009, 04:27 PM
i dun think they will consider it lorh...hehehehe
as most of the law course applicants will say UK
i read the post of "law 2008"
all the recommers who offered law course last year
were sent to taylors(SAM programme)
i wonder why nobody got UK one.......
ash91
01-06-2009, 04:41 PM
anybody that already got the offer letter?:nuts
i`ll be doing SAM at taylor`s college (subang jaya).:))
anybody.....
yugathes
01-06-2009, 05:20 PM
I got JPA Law as well.. But i'm still waiting for the offer letter which I dun know when it gona arrive.. So i juz have to wait now i guess..
najl91
02-06-2009, 09:10 PM
me oso jus got ofr lter...
jocinda
02-06-2009, 10:59 PM
anybody that already got the offer letter?:nuts
i`ll be doing SAM at taylor`s college (subang jaya).:))
anybody.....
same here. :(
02-06-2009, 11:02 PM
same here. :(
why the sad face? i think u'll have a great time here!! get to meet lotsa foreigners.. koreans especially..
jocinda
02-06-2009, 11:14 PM
why the sad face? i think u'll have a great time here!! get to meet lotsa foreigners.. koreans especially..
You guys must be thinking that I'm greedy. But its just that, i wanted to go UK so badly...cause law in UK is better compared to Aus...(am i right?)
I know I shouldn't grumble.. I would have to accept the fact. :oh
02-06-2009, 11:22 PM
Erm... well, after what I studied from the English Legal System about the UK law, I find it quite enjoyable yet torchering in a way that there's no right or wrong answers.. i didnt touch anything about Australian Legal System so i am not so sure.. i only study certain cases from ALS in Contract Law though... but yeah.. the highest degree for law is indeed from UK, but dude, cheer up man. Look at the bright side!! You should be thankful that u got this scholarship which many people failed to get it!
jocinda
03-06-2009, 12:33 AM
Erm... well, after what I studied from the English Legal System about the UK law, I find it quite enjoyable yet torchering in a way that there's no right or wrong answers.. i didnt touch anything about Australian Legal System so i am not so sure.. i only study certain cases from ALS in Contract Law though... but yeah.. the highest degree for law is indeed from UK, but dude, cheer up man. Look at the bright side!! You should be thankful that u got this scholarship which many people failed to get it!
yeah thanks bro. i will take ur advice. :))
Langzhongyue
03-06-2009, 02:22 AM
Course: Law (Overseas)
College: Taylors
Pre-U: SAM
Registration Date: July 2009
State: sarawak
hahahahaha
i hv been sent back to taylors again
SAM again
but no longer study pure science
can meet my G1 classmates........
ash91
03-06-2009, 01:00 PM
so looks like everybody gonna be doing SAM in taylor`s like last year,huh.:wink
yugathes
03-06-2009, 01:37 PM
Walla!! Tats so great!! Meet u guys soon..:)
Langzhongyue
03-06-2009, 02:30 PM
no recommers who gt UK??
jocinda
03-06-2009, 07:06 PM
no recommers who gt UK??
my friend got UK. She's going to KDU DAMANSARA to study A level.
gugulam
03-06-2009, 10:24 PM
hi. i just got my letter yesterday. 2 years in KDU petaling jaya for A-level, then 3 years in UK. registration date is 20 of june. anybody same with me???
jocinda
04-06-2009, 03:20 PM
hi. i just got my letter yesterday. 2 years in KDU petaling jaya for A-level, then 3 years in UK. registration date is 20 of june. anybody same with me???
you're so lucky.
YiLyn91
06-06-2009, 02:03 PM
I got the Law scholarship from JPA and I'm going to b sent to UK. I'm gonna do my A Levels in KDU, PJ. Is there anyone who got the same offer???
you're so lucky.
yaya.. I got d same offer to..
I got the same offer as u. I'll be starting on the 20th too. Do u know anyone tat got the same offer??
actually my hometown is perak but i had my secondary education in penang. i'm a chinese too.. my result ....12A1 (include GCE-O)
hmm... what are you doing in taylor's now?
Hi.. I'll be going law in KDU too.. U r from Penang??? Which school??? I'm from Penang too...
WallJ
07-06-2009, 11:05 PM
hi everyone, as a jpa law student currently doing SAM at taylor's, i wish those australian-bound scholars all the best. Hopefully you will 'enjoy' SAM.... haha....anyway, i am sure you will get through it. Just make sure you all are motivated and highly spirited to do the program.
bros103
07-06-2009, 11:12 PM
'SAM' is formally known as South Australian Matriculasion. But as a scholar, who taking SAM... it would have other names which better suited it... find it out and you will be shocked...!!!
WallJ
07-06-2009, 11:15 PM
'SAM' is formally known as South Australian Matriculasion. But as a scholar, who taking SAM... it would have other names which better suited it... find it out and you will be shocked...!!!
yaya....guess what....there are two. 'Study Atau Mati' (SAM) and the more suitable and prominent one, 'Self-Abuse Matriculation'(SAM)......not to scare you all. But just to help you all understand a bit about SAM. Good Luck!!
07-06-2009, 11:46 PM
SAM is not that bad.. it's easier compared to CAL. Much easier.. particularly it's nearly impossible not to pass SAM under JPA unless u r really playing a fool..
WallJ
08-06-2009, 08:53 PM
CAL is not easy, indeed. But SAM is no less stressful than CAL. I am not so sure about A-level. But for SAM, we have to be prepared to face tonnes of assignments and tests during the whole course. So, it is not so appropriate to say SAM is easy. For one to understand how stressful SAM is, one would have to come and experience himself.
bros103
08-06-2009, 09:12 PM
CAL is not easy, indeed. But SAM is no less stressful than CAL. I am not so sure about A-level. But for SAM, we have to be prepared to face tonnes of assignments and tests during the whole course. So, it is not so appropriate to say SAM is easy. For one to understand how stressful SAM is, one would have to come and experience himself.
yea, we not only sit for exam like CAL do. SAM and CAL are different system, we cant blindly compare them.
Tzezumi
09-06-2009, 11:50 PM
Yo, JPA student here taking up SAM in Taylor's for law. Haven't been to this forum for a while, but just drop by to say 'hi' to you guys. Good luck in your 1st sem.
WallJ>> Wow, someone being an "abang" here already huh, XD
tacca
10-06-2009, 08:20 AM
I got the Law scholarship from JPA and I'm going to b sent to UK. I'm gonna do my A Levels in KDU, PJ. Is there anyone who got the same offer???
yaya.. I got d same offer to..
I got the same offer as u. I'll be starting on the 20th too. Do u know anyone tat got the same offer??
Hi.. I'll be going law in KDU too.. U r from Penang??? Which school??? I'm from Penang too...
hi, gugulam n YiLyn91... i got d same offer as u 2...i m going 2 kdu on 20 june ...bt i applied 4 acc course...
YiLyn91
10-06-2009, 05:13 PM
hi, gugulam n YiLyn91... i got d same offer as u 2...i m going 2 kdu on 20 june ...bt i applied 4 acc course...
Hi, where are you from??? I'm from Penang.
tacca
10-06-2009, 06:39 PM
Hi, where are you from??? I'm from Penang.
i m chinese frm swk...nice 2 meet u...c u then in kdu...
Pleiades
15-06-2009, 03:27 AM
Hi!
Just wondering, after SAM under JPA, are you supposed to apply to respective unis by yourself?
By the way, aren't most law courses in Australia 4 years, but the JPA covers only 3. So, how?
*hopefully all those previously under JPA and are Australian-bound can help me with this. Thanks!
Langzhongyue
15-06-2009, 10:55 PM
i know how stressful is it
before i accept JPA scholarship
i already study SAM in taylors
i took ESL,math,bio,phy and chem
pls imagine
for ESL you need to hand in a well-written 2000 words of report
bio, phy and chem report need 1000 words
all title are different
you need to find the sources, do a draft, citation........
and the all the deadlines are almost the same
really very stressed..........
but still ok for me
as i like to study under huge pressure
it will motivate me.....
SAM---
1) Self Abuse Matriculation
2)Super Annoying Matriculation
3) Super Atrocious Matriculation
4)"Siao Aaarr!!!" Matriculation
5)Scary Australian Madness
6)Seriously-need Aid Matriculation
7)Student Abuse Matriculation
8)Suffering Adolescents Matriculation
9)Semua Assignment Matriculation
10)Shockingly Abominable Matriculation
11)Saya Akan Mati
:)):))
Hi!
Just wondering, after SAM under JPA, are you supposed to apply to respective unis by yourself?
By the way, aren't most law courses in Australia 4 years, but the JPA covers only 3. So, how?
*hopefully all those previously under JPA and are Australian-bound can help me with this. Thanks!
yours only cover 3 years?
my offer letter states 4 years
i think we need to apply uni ourself
bros103
16-06-2009, 01:08 AM
Hi!
It will be four years, don worry. Trust me. About the uni, u will apply urself by the help from taylor's placement centre. By the time, u will know. chill